Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Addar Hotel

10 St. George's Street, Jerusalem, 97200, Israel

#104 of 106 hotels in Jerusalem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 791 hotel reviews

5.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    5.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    We love Israel, We love Jerusalem. Was grate some different test of the city.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the brakfast, no any cheese, or eggs.... Recommendation for owner add little bit something for

    Good property, old antic grate building design. Not so far from old city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    lovely room the second night. good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast air conditioning of lobby

    There was virtually no breakfast, no cereal or milk other than toast and jam. The air conditioning in the lobby appeared to be set above 80 degrees which made waiting in the lobby hot. The staff was very helpful and attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    2.5
    HORRIBLE STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING!

    Horrible place: air conditioning doesn't work-very old system, the whole hotel is very old, run down and dirty. paint comes off the walls. thick dust is everywhere. instant coffee is served in a dirty bowl. breakfast is just toast. It is horrible horrible place-DO NOT stay there. LOOK for something else!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel looks nice, placed within an walking distance from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was pretty basic.

    The hotel looks nice, placed within an walking distance from the old city. The room was big, clean and also we had a big terrace where you can sit for a beer. The internet is not great, but works. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which they give was very bad but after we ask them to change the room they did and give double big room very nice one ..the bed was very comfortable and we sleep good

    Nice bed..close to the old city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    beautiful cyulture experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could not drink the tap water

    overall great experience for the price; comfortable beds, good healthy breakfast , quiet and good filaffles down the road

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    2.9
    breakfast only coffee, bread and butter,olives .
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was looking for a place that would offer me security , in one word HONESTY , ESPECIALLY WITH ONE OF THE MEN OF THE FROM DESK.

    breakfast only coffee, bread and butter,olives . Dirty place, . but the worst is I reserve the room with you BOOKIN.COM for 495 dollars but in my statement of account is $945. IT WAS A ROBBERY . I HAVE MY DOCUMENTS AS PRUBE. TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    It’s fine for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very skimp, could have been much better comparing it to other hotels where breakfast is included. It’s a little old but it was fine.

    Staff were excellent, very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Quite good location (close to jerusalem tram and damascus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible breakfast - toasts, 3 types of spread, some olives. Tea and coffee. Didn’t look clean. Enough to „survive”. There was leaking window and leaking celling in our room (and mold). Bathroom smell a bit like urine. Just a bit.

    Quite good location (close to jerusalem tram and damascus gate and modern turkish shop) Clean linens. Everyday we got new towels. Good for people who hasn’t got sophisticated needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    Beautiful lobby and the receptionist was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the rest of the hotel isn't convincing. Sheets and floors were dirty. Breakfast is a joke.

    Beautiful lobby and the receptionist was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    It was adequate due to spending time sightseeing instead of in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is very dated and needs upgrades and maintenance badly. Chairs were broken down and bathrooms were in bad need of repairs. Mouldy caulking around tub. Flooring was cheap laminate and in poor repair. No breakfast other than toast with hummus.

    Location is excellent to see the Old City of Jerusalem and could be a great hotel with some tender loving care. One of the staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    good stay as per earlier plans
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking , I was informed by the staff but had to look and negotiate my parking place price with outside persons in the area. Groundfloor room was ok. Door key was hardly locking the door, needed to repair it.

    breakfast was very basic but I was prepared, good and helping staff,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    The place is ok for short stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breaksfast there is really lame and it even doesn't look nice. The Internet connection is really low in some rooms.

    The place has a good location and the staff is really nice and helps in any kind of issues/questions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Avoid it if possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the whole hotel is running on two recepnists namely Mr Hashim and Mr C Rahimi. Rest of them were dodgers especially one Mr Abraham - he was a compulsive liar too.

    many things were OK but the breakfast was poorest in the whole city. Only cheap bread slices with tea & coffee; no milk even. No jam / honey, no spread / butter, no juice, no cereal, no egg etc. Simply eat slice with humous and have tea / coffee without milk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    I was actually scared before coming to Addar, after reading...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the hotel staff could clean up rooms more properly, cause there was dust and dirt on the floors + balcony was in a mess :) also maybe it’s time to paint walls to refresh the rooms. But my stay at Addar was really nice and I have really nothing to complain about especially for that price :) So dear travelers, if you’re looking for an affordable hotel, with decent rooms, included breakfast and nice staff you can definitely stay at Addar.

    I was actually scared before coming to Addar, after reading some of the reviews, but common! It’s not a 5* Hotel, did you see the prices of other hotels/hostels in Jerusalem? Did you see the photos of them? Also, most of the day we spend outside sightseeing etc. We just need a comfortable bed and I had it here. Breakfast is really decent (not much of a choice), true, but it’s included in already small price! Staff is very helpful and nice especially if you’re also nice :) There was a good bathroom with hot water, comfortable bed, clean bed sheets, a little living room, balcony... I can’t complain about that at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.3
    Near center, big room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything, firstly rude guy on reception who didn’t know where is my reservation:/, he even don’t look at me when I was talking to him. Then when I finally get the key, I go to my room and it was dirty and someone left opened coca-cola inside the fridge. Then I go to breakfast and it was really poor, two type of olives,bread, 3 types of white cheese and hummus. For the price I paid it’s not much

    Near center, big room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    The place has perfect location for visitng Jerusalem,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    we didnt know that we have to reservate a parking slot, that should be more clear.

    The place has perfect location for visitng Jerusalem, Breakfest was a bit limited - only few sorts of cheese and humus - three sorts of olives and tea + coffee + water - thats it - but everything was delicous. Big rooms, nice decorations and really nice personel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Served a purpose and great location but would recommend only to people on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not very good. Just bread and hummus x 2 each morning. Could have had cheese or jams or meat. Also lots of chipped plates and always running our of cups so had cups with no handles. Wifi was also very fickle.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Surely nicer in summer time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cover of the bed was too small for 2 people, and even with the heather it was very cold in the room

    The balcony in the room, the big marble bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was clean.....,the staff tried to help when necessary.....the location was good....we could walk to most places of interest...or catch the bus as the bus stop was also in walking distance. the beds were clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked nothing.

    It is not badly situated but I would never stay there again. Worst place I have ever been. No real breakfast; no parking (lies); dirty; everything in the bathroom is broken or out of order. The cutlery consisted of a large soup spoon! No kettle (had to beg). No bath plug (had to beg). Dryer fell of the wall. Staff unhelpful and rude.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.4
    cheap, good beds, but the rest is bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    poor breakfast- hummus, cheese, bread, coffee (no milk), tea last day there was raining, so the ceiling was leaking, there was water in the whole room, the reception had no idea what to do and no intention to find a solution, then there was no electricity and no water

    comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Great room and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really poor, all the other customers went to buy on supermarket to bring for the breakfast table. Artificial juices, one type of tea, very small selection.

    The room was really good, with sofa, living room, bed was comfortable, everything great in the room! We love it out stay there and the location is perfect to explore the old Jerusalem, Tram is very close too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.5
    You show read the experience. Súper bad one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said “breakfast included” but it was a piece of bread and a black coffee. No more. Miserable. The walls were deteriorated, the wooden edges of the bathroom door felt, no soap just one towel in a 2 bed room. The service never showed worried and attentive to claims, negligent people. The price isn’t in acordance with the quality. Súper bad experience.

    Never stay at this hotel. Terrible experience. Everyone was concerned about the hotel, bad faces everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, moderate pricing, but do not expect anything else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, with blight everywhere. The upper part was missing from the door, so simply every little noise could infiltrated. The breakfast was a bad joke with some slices of dry bread and 4 different creams.

    Location is good, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Better go for an hostel in jaffa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fornitures, veeeeery dirty, found hairs within my bed sheets (disgusting). Location is 10min walk from the Damascus gate however the area has nothing to offer...

    Horrible

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    3.3
    Awful, dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior double room was dirty and smelt and had no balcony nor a safety deposit box even though the website said it does!!!! The breakfast was a joke. Bread and humus and orange juice. No other choice. There was coffee and tea but no milk and no toast.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.3
    Hotel with good location but terrible mattresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are very uncomfortable - mattresses are super soft and old (does not support body at all). Room was so so clean. Breakfast was not satisfying - no milk (even when we asked), only terrible coffee, tea and water. Bread and humus. That's it. I understand that it was cheap but if someone offering hotel with breakfast, it should be at least very basic incl. milk for coffee etc.

    Location is very good - convenient. Close to the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    You get what you expect with the rating. If you choose beause of breakfast - don't, location - yes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, air-condition smelly, the blankets were short, we asked for extra but they provided without the sheet. The breakfast is poor.

    The accommodation is in perfect location. If you travel by car you can park for free close by. Supermarket is near and the Damaskaus gate is cca 10 min walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    4.2
    Good location but everything else is aweful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First of all the rooms where really dirty and the cleaning personell didn't really clean. All they did was exchange the towels and put the duvet back on the bed. They also stole 400 shekel from our room and when I asked the manager about it he said he's talk to the people during the day. When I talked to him again he said they didn't see anything, which is natural because the incident happened inside our room. I also talked to the housekeeping staff and the man just laughed in my face telling me he didn't see anything and that something like this never happened at the hotel. When we researched other sites (which we should've done before booking) we found out that such things have happened before and when we confronted the manager about it he told us that the other case was resolved. Of course by then we didn't believe anything anymore and we ended up calling the police and filing charges... Also, the breakfast at the hotel was aweful. Cheap toast, disgusting hummus and baba ganoush and olives and beans from a can. That was the 'continental breakfast'. We went once and never again. In general, the hotel needs to be renovated. Our toilet seat was broken and the handles already came off the drawers inside the room. Luckily we were away all day, but we surely didn't feel like home when we got back. Don't book this hotel, there are much better options!

    The only good thing about this hotel is that it's cheap and only a 10 minute walk from the Old City. So for anyone who doesn't care about anything else, this would be a good choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.3
    The stay in hotel was not worth the money I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was equipped with king size bed, nice bathroom and flat TV, some things have disappointed me a lot. The doors to the balcony were blocked and sat in their frame somehow fasciated and the open slot between doors and frame was as big as fingers could be pushed outside. The wind blew inside and moved the curtains. So far the nights in November are quite chilly, it was extremely cold to sleep in the room. Nearly like outside. Additional cover in the wardrobe helped to solve the issue. The pipe from the toilet water tank was defect and the water was dripping on the toilet floor. Over the night the toilet was flooded.

    The location of property was in good location and accessible by public transport. It is quite near , about 5 min go, from the tramway stop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Dirty, old, unfriendly staff, breakfast (old bread with humus). Heater did not work, freezin cold. Did not in not in any way live up to it’s 4 star. Never again, be warned!

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Good quality for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building bears traces of age. Though, all essential equipment (bathroom, toilet, TV, wifi) was is in perfect functional shape.

    Addar Hotel is conveniently close to tramway station Shivtei Israel - just 3 min to walk. To the Damascus gate it is some 10 - 12 min. For lovers of recent history: Addar is close to former armistice line, some rooms still have blinded window shutters and doors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.3
    NOT A 4 STAR **** HOTEL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOT A 4 STAR **** HOTEL!!! Understaffed, furniture looks as if being used for Hercule Poirot movie set but is probably even older, beds are kind of fake (go figure) and jacuzzi is actualy just run down massage bath (wouldn't even use with that amount of hair in it). In general it is a very run down property and quality of accommodation and service is definitely below what a good hostel offers nowdays. AND BEWARE THE BREAKFAST! VERY PLAIN AND CHEAP.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.6
    I would recommend to stay somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean, and the cleaning through our stay was not either satisfactory. The floor dusty and toilet dirty. The breakfast was too simple and not satisfactory, only dry bread, some hummus and cheese and olives. Not worth the extra money. The hotel looks a bit unkept and withering.

    One of the receptionists on the evening shift provided exellent service and was very nice. Short distance to the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.0
    For that price it is not so bad, but not good either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, many things, first of all there is absolutely no parking, what is a problem when you have a disabled person with you.. you can pay 10€ per day to park on a parking lot located about 200m away from the hotel. Internet is slow as in 1995 or doesnt work at all most of the times. For extra bed they wanted to charge me 15$ more per night than stated in booking.com, in the end after several emails i paid the right price. The breakfast is really poor, there is hummus, baba ganoush and some cream cheese with a bread, caffee (after 2 days no more milk, because they said have a bad manager...), no toaster for the bread.. olives, thats is every day. The hotel could really use some reconstruction.

    For that price it is not so bad, but not good either.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    3.3
    Keep away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms very were dirty, especially the bathrooms were disgusting. The balcony windows haven't been cleaned for years. The breakfast was only cold bread, olives and black coffee.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    3.8
    Close to the old city, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, very old furniture, worst breskfast in my life- only three kinds of cheese and bread and olives, nothing more, no fridge in the room as promised, a door between rooms do we could here neighbours

    Close to the old city, comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    For me, working w/the Palestinian community, a great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast. Very minimal and the same 6 things everyday. But again, great value for the money

    Location, size of room, great value if one can overlook its lack of upgrades and not very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.6
    Hotel Commodore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked & paid well in advance. Arrived few days later when the booking was made for-notified the hotel all along the way. We assumed the room iš waiting for us, but we we're moved to a much cheaper hotel. Somehow Ithin

    Hotel Commodore.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    2.9
    Remove at least 3 stars. It`s maximum 1 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is a joke - just cold toast with hummus and coffe/tee, hotel doesn`t have knifes and little spoon. The rooms are not clean. First time ever we left without tips. The wifi did not work. We have booked deluxe room with balcony and it was small like a storage room with very small window. Absolutly I can not recommend this hotel.

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    NOT RECOMMENDED AS A 4 STAR; MORE LIKE A 2 STAR.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is a dump! Please beware! Do NOT get fooled by the 4 stars and low rates! This hotel is not even worth 2 stars. The staff, especially the old man sitting at the front desk, who looks like a character from a Hitchcock movie, was rude and discourteous. There was paint peeling off of walls, toilet seat broken, linen used and had spots, bedroom had a double vault door, and furniture...oh the furniture! My husband almost went through the upholstered chair when he sat on it! All it's insides were hanging out from the bottom! No drinking water or complimentary tea coffee sachets, not even a tissue box! AC works when it wants to, they turn it off in the middle of the night and no one picks up at the front desk! In the name of breakfast, there is just toast, Arabian style spreads and tea coffee! No drinking water again! When we checked in, the AC in the room wasn't working so on our request they changed our room, to my shock when I opened the faucet in the sink all the water fell straight down through the hole! There was no drain....and when I complained and said we want to leave this place the man at the front desk threatened that he won't let us leave, not even if we were willing to forfeit the money which by the way, they charged on our credit card as soon as we first entered the lobby! And last but not the least, the same old man, went through our bags we had brought down and stored behind the counter, while we were having breakfast!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told me they would make my special request ( I asked for 2 beds instead of a couple bed) and when I arrived there I was told they could not make that. When I asked why , the guy from the reception was really straight in his response, saying the hotel was full and I had tp ask next morning; I did so , and another guy was rude saying they could not do anything for me. I asked couple of times to talk to the manager, he never shown up.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.8
    Uncomfortable and rudeness of male day receptionist ruined our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning only available from about 15.00 ish until midnight. We had no air conditioning for the first 26 hours of our stay. Raised issue with the day receptionist - male - who was not interested and at one point said 'i have been suffering here for 10 years'. He was unprofessional, would not stand up when he spoke to guests and did not care we had no air conditioning. Temperature was over 32c - very hot.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.5
    The accommodation was dirty, the personnel not friendly at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was dirty, the personnel not friendly at all. The breakfast was bread with humus and olives ... and that's it! And the worst is that 300€ cash disappear from my suitcase that was in my room during my stay. My room was naturally locked. I share my issue with the receptionist and the management that assured me they have been working with honest cleaners for a long time. In my opinion the cleaners are living more than comfortably!!! There is really nothing to recommend to this hotel except maybe the location near to the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    2.9
    very old and shabby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is very old and rundown! the furniture is in a bad state, the carpet is dirty, everything is disgusting! the breakfast is very poor - only bread and hummus! they did not change or renovate anything since 20years!

    the location is quite good, about 15minutes walk to the old town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Not the best hotel I've stayed at
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yahya on reception was amazing really nice man

    It wasn't as clean as it hoped no kitchen so breakfast was not great i preferred to stay in my room and just have a snack

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyable location and handy for short trips, but needs a bit of updating.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms could have been cleaner. The furniture is old and not comfy. The walls need painting and carpets are not clean. The toilet had a broken chair. and the staff did not express great sense of welcome when I arrived, though other staff members were nicer. Breakfast was particularly bad.

    The location and the space in each room. The bed is comfortable too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice cheap hotel 5 or 10 minute walk from the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great breakfast selection for children, but for £40 a night that is only a small quibble

    Good location, big room and very reasonable room rates, would stay here again if I returned to Jerusamem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    was ok if you want to explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no sald for breakfest, sometimes no hot water in shower (for short time) air-condition was not super strong.

    low price, good location- close to the Old Town&bus terminals(easy to get to other cities), spacious room, traditional hotel decor, kind staff, nice garden,close to 24h super market with cool food. the atmoshpere was great. we had good time. However we were all the time sighseeing and walking 30 kilometers per day. it was good hotel to rest. comfortable enough.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel but not for the food lovers ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that should be improved is the fact that there is no variety of breakfast and poor amount of food. The breakfast is 7-10 a.m. and at 8.45 they stopped adding food so half of the plates were empty.

    Interesting style, big bed, nice room and bathroom, great location. Helpful men at the reception. Good price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    I stayed in this hotel with my family for few days , I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel requires updating and renovation , However running business under occupation is challenging .

    I stayed in this hotel with my family for few days , I was pleasantly surprise with the level of welcoming and staff generosity . Breakfast in hotel garden beneath an olive tree was amazing . Surely would stay there again .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    2.5
    I would never recommend this hotel for any one ,extremely poor conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    broken AC in the rooms& it was sweltering hot in the rooms Bugs &insects Breakfast very limited choices

    I liked nothing in this hotel it was really a bad experience the rooms where filled with ants and bugs the air condition was either not working or they turn it off and when you complain to the staff about it they tell you to open the windows ,there is no screen on the windows and all mosquitos get in the room ,simply it was a very poor experience staying at that hotel ill never stay in that hotel nor recommend it to any one

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, hotel is fine but needs a renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Our air conditioning didn't work. The interior of the hotel needs a renovation.

    The location and the traditional atmosphere of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service. We told them that we would be there at certain time but when we came to the hotel the rum wasn't ready so we have to wait an extra hour. When we came at night there were no one at the reception so after waiting ten minutes we went behind the desk to get our key. There were of course all the keys for the all hotel so that didn't feel save. Wifi was very poor and the "continental breakfast" was one of the saddest things we had seen in a hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    4.2
    Stay away from this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In 6 days, they never changed the towels, breakfast was verry verry poor and always the same... the waiter touched my slices of bread with dirty hands and the most important he completed with water, every time when cofee and juice are consummed.

    It has air conditioner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Very helpful staff- helped me with my car's problem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking space which I really hoped for.

    Very helpful staff- helped me with my car's problem. Nice simple breakfast that you can eat in a small and very nice garden. Good location. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    4.6
    The location and the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disappointed about the continental breakfast which meant toast, butter, jam, coffee or tea. No other option at all, other hotel guest went to the shop to buy breakfast and ate by the hotel table. We booked this hotel for four nights and it happened twice there wasn't any bread and butter for breakfast. When we asked to bring bread, the staff were not helpful at all. The recepcionist said, the order hasn't arrived this is why they have no bread and butter for breakfast. So we needed be satisfied with flat bread only which was dry, at least 3-4 days old and the staff did not appologies for the poor service. The airconditioner did not work too. The service did not rich the value of money.

    The location and the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Expected a clean, air-conditioned room with hot water for showers and was disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were expecting rooms with air conditioning. When we arrived, we were told the air conditioner worked. It did not. The next morning I asked that the air conditioner be repaired. It was not. We returned for the evening and I again asked for the air conditioner to be fixed, or at least leave fans in the rooms if not repaired. The air conditioner did not work, and there were no fans. No hot water for showers on the first day. We left after our second night, and I had already paid for three nights. No refund has been given. They said that they could move us to another room, but arrangements were already made for the third night. I entered a contract for a room with air conditioning, and was not given such. I know that the hotel will refund payment for the third night if the customer is important, and no refund will be given if money is more important.

    The breakfast was good, and the location was good. Hummus seemed to be fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The continental breakfast,- because of the cold coffee and we missed chease.

    The breakfast could have been a little bit better,- the coffee wasnt hot enough. The staff were evtemely friendly, thank you so much !!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    very dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In appareance this hotel looks very good, but once inside everything is done to drive away the gests. Breakfast is just done like an obligation they put the minimum minimum necessary to say that breakfast is included but the truth it doesn't worth to pay for it, to avoid! is not good at all. Room is very spacious but cleanliness is extremely unpleasant, dust every were, and the bathroom was the worst (pubic hair) toillet not clean arund and in general. Air conditionner didn't work and because of that we didn't sleep very well because of hot temperature. Placement is not bad but in general the hotel is very neglected... without doubth it was a very good hotel in the past but now is just shame how it looks like.

    Bed is very confortable and seeth too and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    2.5
    Do no go to this place. It'll ruin your vacation!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremelly dirty. Extremely expensive for what you get. This hotel is pure scam. The claim they offer continental breakfast but all what you get is a lousy local bread with butter and 2 types of jam. My room was cleaned before I arrived , it was cleaned during my stay and won't be cleaned for the coming months. Disguting place. It says it was fully renewed in 2013 but I have never seen a building to deteriorate itself in such a short period of time. Cable tv works on and off. In all honesty what bothered me the most was asking 85 euros for a room for a so called 4* hotel when the infrastructure was of a family home staying guesthouse in southeast Asia countryside. Which I could have easily paid 5 euros per person.

    Horrible hotel. Deceiving pictures. Dirty. Shameful blast and they dare to call it continental. It's a sad and horrible place and it's a pity cus it has a great potential.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Four star hotel is not a deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel very dirty and old, breakfast is jam and toast - hard to cup and coffee. The floor was sticky. Parking 300 meters from the Hotel not marked I did not receive a map how to get there. Internet works very slowly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    3.3
    Rooms were dirty, corridors stuffy, staff lacked basic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dirty, corridors stuffy, staff lacked basic customer service skills (except for one) they were blunt and abrupt, breakfast was just bread and tea/coffee. No tea making facilities in room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Could've been better, could've been worse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extremely poor - this included only toast and orange juice/tea/coffee. We had to buy additional food for breakfast, which was a shame. Also the air con was extremely poor. The quickest way to cool the room down was to open the balcony doors in the evening. I was particularly disappointed with the air con as the room was facing the sun during the hottest part of the day, so would heat up very quickly and with out of date air con, it could get too hot too quickly!

    The room was a perfect size and I was pleasantly surprised to have our own living room space, which was perfect for the evenings. The balcony had a nice view over part of the city and was perfect size for a drink in the evening. The transport links between the city and the hotel were brilliant and the area was lovely to walk around in the evening. The hotel was just outside the city, so you didn't have a lot of noise and people during the day or evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    3.3
    Great location and close to the Old city but very poor service and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old but it didn't bother us. The staffs are unfriendly and unhelpful. Though they change the towels, they don't clean the room. The breakfast is the same every morning and nothing special about it. Just slice bread, orange juice or tea and coffee and bread spread. I am very particular with the service and cleanliness and I don't care whether the hotel is old or new. And this hotel gets a very poor overall service for me.

    The location. It gives an easy access to the transportation and few minutes away from the Old City of Jerusalem (Damascus gate and Garden Tomb is just a 5-8 minutes walk away).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.0
    NOT THE BEST STAY I HAD... for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I'm sorry to say that it's been one of the worst places I've ever been staying at... To name few things: it's an old Arabic hotel (nice typical style), probably fancy in the past but certainly not anymore. The structure is quite old and uncared. Big issues with cleaning, room was dirty (cigarette buds, dirty carpets, dirty toilet etc.) since the start and I had to ask multiple times to clean it (3rd time they finally did...). Occasional insects in the room (bed...). Quite exhausting to be honest. Room cleaning barely happened on a daily basis. Breakfast is very very very basic. Internet generally working but not at all times. Sometimes water was just cold only. Little kitchen in the room, but with no pans and tools. Fridge rather nasty. Such a pity overall, as it wold probably be enough to put a little more effort to make it a much more decent space and experience. Considering all notes here above, totally overpriced of course... (for that cost you would expect a much better service).

    ...it has a roof and room is spacious. Not an easy place though (AT ALL!) Positive: - the staff is nice / friendly people - location is goo, pretty close to the old city (10 min) and walking distance to the center (about 20 min.)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.8
    Old hotel, basic amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows on the first night were awful lumpy foam bits, and only had a one narrow duvet for 2 people on the bed. The first night was very hot. When asked at the front desk for them to check if it was working they said it was set throughout the building to go on between 3-11pm. Truly bizarre as most people are out touring and having dinner at those times. Requested extra pillows and a sheet and another duvet the following morning and it still wasn't there when we got home at 9pm that night so had to request again. Breakfast was a basic offering: bread, jam and butter, tea/coffee.

    It was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    2.5
    Disaster of a stay at addar Hotel. Ruined our vacation totally!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This Hotel was a total disaster. We would like a full refund of the price paid of usd 175 for 2 nights. The Hotel room was in shambles, there was paint peeling on the walls, The Air conditioner did not work at all! The room was too hot and we did not sleep both nights. There was a very very old tv in one room that was from the 1950's, There was no remote control to use the tv. We could not turn on the tv. We could not locate the phone in the room to call the front desk! There were no glasses or cups in the room. The frig in the room has a freezer that the door was frozen shut! We could not open the freezer door. The Manager Mr Abraham was very rude and totally not helpful or cooperative. On the last day there was no water in the room. We could not take a shower or use the toilet. When we asked to speak to the manager, he said "I am the Manager" " If you don't like it you can complain to Booking.com! It is not my problem, you booked thru Booking .com , go complain to them." The continental breakfast was white bread with tea coffee and Artificial Orange drink! This was pathetic compared to what the website promised and compared to other similar places. We would like a full refund of the money we paid. This was a scam of a hotel. You should take it off booking .com immediately. 3 other hotel guests also complained about the air conditioning not working.

    Nothing. The place was totally disgusting!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.6
    Disappoitment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in starts at 14:00. We arrived at 14:15. They were not excited at the reception. They still rolled their eyes. Probably waiting for us to go with the luggage to sit down the street. The room was large. There was a kitchenette, bathroom, bedroom and 2 balconies. The kitchen was not equipped. Cooker was there, but without pots. The kettle did not work. We could not even make tea. When we said that on reception they said that someone else had to change it. No one never come. Absolute reluctance to resolve. The bathroom was not too clean. The bathtub has not a plug, so you can take a shower at the most, even if you pay a room with a bathtub. We had two televisions, but neither was a driver. At the reception they just shrugged. Breakfast was included, but no one said to as when and where. So we had to find it ourselves. This hotel features continental breakfasts of white bread, toaster, three kinds of jam and coffe, plastic cup. True ties. Second day we came to breakfast at 8:40. The reception is obviously disliked, because breakfast was until 9:00. So they watched us everywhere. The hotel was a great disappointment. Certainly do not recommend. We seemed to be deceived. Room deluxe, here it probably means you are stupid and we got fun from you. Never more.

    Near the Old city, good starting point to trip to Bethle or to the Dead sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    3.3
    They don't care about cleanliness or being friendly. Just don't care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was shocked at the poor cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel. Ripped wall paper and dirty. Dirty floor, not even vacuumed before arrival, dirty furniture, blood stains on my bed sheet. Breakfast was the poorest I ever seen. Just bread and butter and jam with coffee and orange juice. That's it. When asked the receptionist he said " so , you are not happy?". Of course not. I was expecting a real breakfast. With other words...just dirty.

    The location is near Damascus Gate, its 15 minutes walking and easy to go to the Old City.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.5
    Valued for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only available at lobby and other servies such as laundry were not in effect available. Breakfast was served at a cafeteria with bread, milk, coffee, tea, jams and butter, orange juice. We've brought tuna and other stuffs. It wasn't bad.

    It was way better than I expected. I saw a lot of reviews complaining about the hotel but overall it was nice and neat and cozy. Valued for price when considering this amount of money only can afford to dormitories in hostels.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    3.3
    Better find another hotel - there is a plenty of much better options in Jerusalem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking available - had to park outside and, obviously, got a parking fine. What they call 'continental breakfats' is in fact toast bread with three kinds of packaged jam. Fullstop. 'De luxe' rooms are spacious, yet their equipment and furniture has seen better days, chairs falling apart, carpets not really clean, bathroom obsolete.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accidentally entered a wrong card number, so the hotel might have just cancel my booking, but they didn't and they were super nice about it!The staff was just awesome! Especially the hotel owner or general manager. I got a great room with 2 balconies and they view was lovely. The best bit was the tram station just 5min walk away and from there too stops to the City Hall (main entrance to the old Jerusalem. I would stay at Addar again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money (the private room in suit pricing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    A non smoking room with an ashtray in the room and a smell of smoke Leak in the restroom

    Good value for money (the private room in suit pricing was equivalent of a large dormitory in a hostel) Large room Veranda Good location, 5 min walk from Damascus gate Teapot in the room (but no cups)

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Addar Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: