Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astoria Galilee Hotel

13 Bruriah St., Tiberias, 14366, Israel

#7 of 32 hotels in Tiberias

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Hotel had a kind of damp/dank smell/feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel had a kind of damp/dank smell/feeling. I think it's still undergoing renovation, but it didn't feel particularly clean. At least it was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast left a lot to be desired.

    Got exactly what we paid for. Nice hotel for the value. If we paid more, we would have been disappointed. Place is *Definitely* not a dump. It was clean and updated. No dust or coakroaches etc...Various tour groups use the hotel (birthright, group from china) so it's definitely a known spot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and modern room, kept clean daily thanks to good and friendly housekeeping personnel. Reception personnel was very friendly and helpfull, especially Amir who accommodated us with everything we needed. We recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Tiberias!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    The room was big and well furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The plasma of the room was of low quality. The breakfast was not tasty. The facilities were old and lacking maintenance.

    The room was big and well furnished.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    Very nice view, good breakfast, staff proposed us two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old part of the hotel is really old and need a renovation; far from the city center

    Very nice view, good breakfast, staff proposed us two rooms-we had a choice if we would stay in the old part of the hotel with a view or in the modern without the view of the Sea of Galilee. It was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Impeccable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was absolutely divine. The ambiance was beautiful, very tasteful, european and extremely comfortable bed and room with gorgeous view of Sea of Galilee. The staff were very kind and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely and omelettes made to order. This was the nicest hotel of all the hotels in Israel. A touch of class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Stay at Astoria Tiberias
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room security, doors, could be improved and smoking areas or smoking rooms for customers who smoke.

    A homely feel about it, and all staff were very friendly to us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is a bit old but it's nice and clean and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old but it's nice and clean and they have parking just outside. The breakfast had a lot of different things to offer and the staff was nice. Around 5-8 minutes walk from the hotel you find an area with different restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your location and the fact that you charged me tax even though I'm aUSA CITIZEN!

    I'm a USA citizen and I lived there for the past 26 years I only lived in Israel for few years and because of that they charged me tax!!! I was very upset you should definitely change your laws on that it's not fair nor right

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    A hill-side hidden gem in Tiberias!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very little. This is a family run hotel which deserves to do well.

    This hotel is a rare gem in Tiberias. On arrival we received upgraded rooms. On the first night we were disturbed by a large group late in the early hours, and the next day the manager offered us a free evening meal in compensation. We were most impressed. It was not the fault of the management that noise took place but we appreciated their response. The hotel setting is good, high above the main town, with most rooms having a balcony. The only issue for walkers is that it is a fair hike up from the bus station, but most will take a taxi anyway. Breakfasts were excellent, the air con worked very well, and the staff were attentive and friendly. A great place to stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel with a lovely pool! Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic hotel! Staff didn't mind us checking out later than expected as we wanted more time in the pool. They were very helpful and happy to oblige. Breakfast was great and the room was spacious and had a lovely view of the pool. I would happily stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast and dinner buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 min walk to city. Hotel is mainly frequented by bus groups and they can be quite noisy till very late at night.

    Good breakfast and dinner buffet. Friendly staff. Modern and well equipped rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    3.8
    Only book dinner if you enjoy school canteens!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the worst hotel restaurant I have ever been in. The restaurant was buffet only with no other option. My wife is allergic to garlic, we had informed the hotel about this the week before we travelled. We were presented with the driest piece of chicken I have ever seen, from the buffet we were given cold, rubbery chips and undercooked rice. The tour group in the restaurant (obviously had been there a few nights) took their deserts back to their table before they had their meal. By the time we went for ours there was very little left. We were not offered a drinks list and I had to walk through in to the bar to order some wine. The general atmosphere was more like a school canteen than a hotel restaurant, harsh lighting, hard chairs, crammed in tables (even though most were empty), had to sit where we were told, with the other 70% of the restaurant empty. Nowhere comfortable to sit after dinner. I noticed all the other guests ate their meal then left for the evening. Breakfast was no better.

    Our room had been re-furbished so it was reasonably modern and up to date.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, staff can be a bit more cheerful perhaps.
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was spotty. I had to go down to the lobby to get a decent connection in order to do some work. The front desk staff were a bit standoffish. But they were helpful when we needed them.

    Our rooms were upgraded to their new rooms. They were spacious, clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms were nice. The breakfast spread was very good and the man in charge of the breakfast room went out of his way to make us feel welcome, even offering to have omelettes cooked for us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Great home base for visiting the Galilee area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The buffet breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The dinner was the same--very good. There were some basics served at every meal, but each meal also had new and different offerings so that we were not having the eat the same thing at every meal the three days we were there. There is not decaf coffee out with the other tea/coffees, but we only had to ask one of the servers to get it delivered to our table. The desserts were fabulous. The rooms were large enough, bed very comfortable for our senior citizen backs; extra pillows. Everything was very clean. It was lovely to take a cup of the in-room coffee out to the room's balcony early each morning for my quiet time. If (when) we again visit Tiberias, we'd certainly stay here.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    ;;When we got to the dining room for breakfast the selection...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ;;When we got to the dining room for breakfast the selection was poor as several bus loads of guests were there before we got there and had alreadyleft.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and reasonable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complete lack of English programs on television (although some may argue this is an advantage). It is impractical to stay unless travelling by car as the hotel is not really in the centre of town.

    We appreciated the extremely helpful assistance of management in trying to resolved a difficult parking fine issue. The hotel's personnel were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Surprising gem in Tiberius
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have a view of the kinneret from our balcony

    Staff was friendly and helpful Room was large,immaculate, bright and comfortable Dinner buffet was excellent and a great value

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning staff apparently came into my room while I was getting breakfast and took towels though it was obvious I hadn't checked out. That was a bit creepy.

    I emailed the hotel a few weeks before my stay and asked for a room with a bathtub since I booked the stay for my birthday weekend. They not only gave me a bathtub but upgraded me to a brand new room, no extra charge. All the staff I encountered were very helpful and hospitable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    6.7
    we were upgraded to the new rooms which were nice but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we didn't have a nice view, the hotel is located uphill and it's a long way to the center of town (coming back from the center on foot will be upwards...). dining room is not nice - maybe it will be renovated?

    we were upgraded to the new rooms which were nice but no view at all. I really liked the staff which was very nice. good food choices. dinner was for 85 NIS (very good value and well cooked)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    The hotel is after reconstruction and the room was nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had only bad luck that pool has been closed when we arrived and opened only later in the morning :-) otherwise nothing.

    The hotel is after reconstruction and the room was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast had classic offer and therefore good. The location is not bad, but still more uphill from the center.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Worth staying at , and a great view of the Sea of Galilee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good, but very simple and basic, we personally don't like buffet style evening meals

    Rooms excellent, very clean staff very helpful, did not rush us , in checking out

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated

    Recommendable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel ever!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly, welcoming, and responsive staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, friendly, welcoming, and responsive staff, good breakfast, clean, incredible view from the balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.1
    The omelet at breakfast is very fluffy and nicely flavoured...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The omelet at breakfast is very fluffy and nicely flavoured with herbs. The restaurant staff members are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, good beds. Balcony in our room was a great bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice big room, friendly staff, breakfast Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was hard to get in our room and in the lobby

    Nice big room, friendly staff, breakfast Ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    5 stars...Hotel with character..all stuff Personal do best job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    best service....best buffet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Decent. No Frills. Staff are over the people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loads of coaches/people on tour groups. Loud with noise. Coach buses starting up early in the morning. No nearby parking

    Great Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Meals were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water. Beds were small and soft

    Meals were good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded at breakfast and check-in, big tourist groups were there

    Nice room with balcony, view was good, parking, cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Remarkable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love Astoria hotel.The staff,the food, the service, personal treatment,the atmosphere!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    New rooms, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was extremely slow. Unusable. Breakfast was terrible. Uneatable.

    New rooms, clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay, thank you!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, service over all. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Staff were lovely, rooms were clean, easy to park and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely, rooms were clean, easy to park and the place was in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    I stayed in a new wing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet outside my door had not been vacuumed.

    I stayed in a new wing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Small hotel in residential area with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in room on ground level

    Location breakfast all simple but adequate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.2
    Wifi is not real
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet was a joke. I ended up having to use my cell phone's personal hotspot the entire trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    3.8
    Look for somewhere else to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old and in need of some serious renovation

    It was reasonably clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    5.8
    Ok, not fantadtic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not near the major strip

    The room we got was new

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    The smell of the clean cool fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the clean cool fresh air. Nice comfy room and view. Food was great! I had a quiet room. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    night staff fantastic day staff a little miserable

    large room Try for 2nd floor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.9
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Environment. Food 8/10. Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    tiberias visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent friendly staff and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Reasonable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom - really outdated.

    Free parking for hotel guests. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    8.8
    They upgrade us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi did't work properly to make viber calls.

    They upgrade us. We were in completely renovated part of hotel. Room was excelent and during the day we had whole pool for ourselves

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    7.5
    Our room was just recently redone and was roomy, comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast had considerably less variety than any other hotel we visited on this and previous trips. The breakfast staff was inattentive and oblivious even though there were few guests at this slightly off season time. Only Micky, who was on afternoons and evenings, was friendly, helpful and greeted us with a smile.

    Our room was just recently redone and was roomy, comfortable and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    The receptionist was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The receptionist was fantastic. Great support in terms of giving us travel advice. Also helped a lot when we had to fix a flat tire on a Sunday morning directing us to the most appropriate place. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    5.0
    very dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    very dirty

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything was great

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: