Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The American Colony Hotel - The Leading Hotels of the World 5 stars

1 Louis Vincent Street, Jerusalem, 97200, Israel

#17 of 106 hotels in Jerusalem

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 740 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    in a 5 star hotel you better be extremely friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    super arrogant staff (besides very friendly pool people). receptionists and waiters extremely arrogant-not acceptable.

    beautiful hotel, wonderful garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was so kind and welcoming. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and food was delicious! Having breakfast at the garden was magical and relaxing. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    Unique but expensive, not so good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor WiFi always disconnects, mediocre breakfast, staff a bit inattentive and talkative among themselves, guess they are outstanding to the VIP that usually stay at the hotel. The seat cushions in the outdoor dining area was full of bird droppings.

    The bathroom was like a dream, the gardens was really nice, old quaint buildings, a friendly house cat. It's a really good hotel but for the money I expect a perfect hotel, not just really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.9
    good for business and tourists not for relaxing pleasure vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel for tourist / business . I went foe a fun weekend to get spoiled and relax and this is not the atmosphere of thw hotel. Breakfast was terrible.

    Swimming pool area was nice and the hotel customer service was great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Bedroom was lovely with huge bed and quality linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was lovely with huge bed and quality linen. Restaurant courtyard was a great place to sit and eat and the pool was great to come back and relax at after a busy day seeing the sights of Jerusalem. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pretty historic hotel with great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much stuff in the immediate area in terms of great places to eat/drink. Otherwise, short 10-15 min walk to Damascus gate into the old city for sightseeing.

    Great pool and very well kept and very pretty areas to relax in. Good restaurant in hotel (though closes quite early!) and nice cellar bar. Very nice staff, though some more helpful than others.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food in the courtyard restaurant could have been better.

    The pool is fantastic and the hotel has a really lovely traditional feel. We had a great room with a balcony which caught the evening sun. There is also a really nice bar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The American Colony hotel is minutes away from the Old City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The American Colony hotel is minutes away from the Old City of Jerusalem. Rooms are as described, very clean and bed very comfortable! The interior courtyard is absolutely stunning as is the pool! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel with lots of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with lots of history. Don't miss to go to the archive and talk with Rachel about the fascinating history of this hotel. Having breakfast in the beautiful courtyard is a dream. We stayed in the East House (# 57) which we got as a free upgrade and were very pleased. The tram is just 5 min away. This is the place to stay if you visit Jerusalem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    In our opinion THE place to stay, we really could not have been happier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the location was a problem when roads were closed on the 1st Friday of Ramadan-obviously not the fault of the Hotel

    this is a beautiful building with lovely rooms and the main courtyard in which meals are served is gorgeous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    This is a very special hotel - charming atmosphere, laid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a very special hotel - charming atmosphere, laid back but great personalised service. Well deserving of it's inclusion in the Leading Hotels of the world listing. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the pool provides a much needed oasis in the bustling atmosphere of Jerusalem. Eating in the hotel restaurant is a must and there are some exciting choices on the menu - incredible! The hotel bar is also wonderfully intimate. The hotel staff are wonderful. We will be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at times unenthusiastic. Expensive for what you get and not particularly well located for the average tourist

    Overall ambience and general feel is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    A quiet oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of my room made it difficult to do hair and make up. Only mirrors in bathroom - not at a desk and none full length. No plug near a mirror so couldn’t use hair curlers easily. A small point but it’s not a problem I’ve encountered anywhere else recently. I was only there a day so didn’t ask about it. But if I was staying longer I would as I like dressing up on holiday and appreciate feminine touches.

    The staff were friendly courteous and helpful. The outside restaurant is delightful, The breakfast was exceptional. The swimming pool lovely. A perfect oasis to complement the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem. Would love to stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Can't wait for my next stay at The American Colony Hotel in Jerusalem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The word "beautiful" does not begin to describe the hotel in terms of architecture, decoration and fairytale-like garden. The suite was luxurious; the breakfast buffet was generous and everything most delicious. I enjoyed dining in Val's Brasserie. Lastly, every single member of the staff contributed to making my stay simply dream-like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Stayed in the same hotel 22 years ago. Found it less charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant is extremely slow. Breakfast is expensive in comparison with other hotels of the same lèvel of standing. In order to get a room with walk in shower it was suggested that we would need to pay 120 dollars extra per day!

    This hotel offers a lot of comfort Food is very good . Convenient location for exploring the Old City

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The hotel is a delightful oasis of peace, style and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a delightful oasis of peace, style and fragrance amidst the hubbub of Jerusalem. It is very easy to walk from the hotel to the Old City (Damascus Gate). The service is attentive and gracious (unlike other so-called 5* hotels in Jerusalem). Definitely will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Jerusalem is amazing but staying at The American Colony makes it perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    LEAVING!

    The hotel is dreamy. The flower filled central garden smells beautiful. All the staff are excellent, especially the concierge, Yousuf, who manages to reply to one’s emails almost before you have finished typing. I hesitate to recommend it too highly for fear of letting the secret out. It’s my second, but not last visit. Just perfect ❤️

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.6
    Unique atmosphere of the hotel which has an own park-area in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unique atmosphere of the hotel which has an own park-area in the city of Jerusalem. Excellent service and entertainment facilities of high quality (restaurants, bar, fitness center, pool, shops, leisure corners). The rooms are historically but with modern equipment (bathroom, beds).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Israel bans swimming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No use of swimming pool. As travelling from -10 Denmark to +15-21 Jerusalem cheapskate hotel to not allow pool use especially when with 13 year children.

    Traditional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Impressive hotel with very personal service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not super central- 30 minutes to the old city but a nice walk

    Amazing hotel- great historical building, spacious and very well equipped rooms, delicious breakfast. The staff is very friendly, professional and willing to go the extra mile. We felt really welcomed and loved the personal service. We are very happy with this choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    I'm glad I tried it, but am unlikely to return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chipped cup that remained in the room for two days, broken chair when I first entered, vibrating pipes, high bath tub wall, no instructions on how to get hot water in the shower, mediocre club sandwich.

    The place is a wonderful historical building, but its maintenance and housekeeping leave a lot to be desired.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    A house with an interesting and long history.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The house needs a comprehensive renovation. Equipment and all furnishings are not on a five star level. The staff is likeable but not well trained. Please change the first generation of saving lamps all over the hotel, this cold light is horrible and don't fits to a historic house.

    A house with an interesting and long history. Located close to Jerusalem old town. Free and safe parking places where always available. We appreciated that all issues where treated very professional and to our full satisfaction.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great hotel in a good location if you wish to explore Jerusalem and the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main dining room is very traditional (not my taste) and service so, so.

    Friendly professional staff, good location, very comfortable room, great breakfast. The bar is the best! We came back every night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Loved this historic and elegant hotel which provides first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved this historic and elegant hotel which provides first class service while providing a view into Jerusalem's and the hotel's history for those who peruse the historic documents and photos throughout the establishment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was almost nothing not to like here. The hotel is an old world gem that lives up to its excellent reputation. Of special note: the staff was, without exception, helpful, courteous and very efficient. A five star hotel with great value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    This is an extraordinary hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast is a bit expensive but worth it.

    This is an extraordinary hotel.......great service and absolutely beautiful. The beds are incredibly comfortable......so much so we didn't want to leave our room because it was hard to get out of bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    American Colony was highly recommended by friends, and now we will highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is noisy at night. We slept with the windows open.

    Room was fabulous as was the overall hotel ambiance. Be sure to book breakfast with hotel reservation - a real feast and a great bargain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    An oasis of serenity in the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would not change a thing.

    The hotel is a wonderful, peaceful oasis in a bustling metropolis. We loved meals or just reading in the gardens or central courtyard. Rooms were large, quiet and furnished with many antique pieces. The hotel had character so often lacking in large modern hotels. The hotel has an interesting history and has contributed in substantial ways to the people of Jerusalem. Staff were attentive, parking was free on site, the free WiFi was the fastest that we experienced anywhere else in Israel, and a taxi was always stationed near the entrance for the convenience of patrons. Trips to many of the holy sites in and around Jerusalem require a five to ten minute taxi or bus ride to get to. The trade-off is between easy access to the Old City versus tranquility. This is one of our all-time favorite hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    beautiful hotel with exceptionally nice garden and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in October the restaurant should provide blankets as outside dinner is very romantic in the beautiful garden, but a little fresh.

    Beautiful historic hotel, fantastic garden for very romantic dinners and great food. Well located at 10 minutes from the old city centre. Excellent recommendation for walking tour in old Jerusalem with Hannah!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Authentic and classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like. The food/breakfast was fabulous.

    Highly cultural building with an authentic feel. Top class staff, discreet efficient and quiet. Wonderful room and service. Best location as one can walk to the Damascus Gate beyond which holds all the wonders of the old city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in quiet area close to the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The American Colony Hotel deserves its excellent reputation: it is like a crossing between a museum and a very comfortable manor house, pleasantly secluded from the busier areas of Jerusalem and yet close enough to the Old City of Jerusalem and all the main attractions. The building itself boasts gorgeous Oriental tiles, an elegant swimming pool and a pretty courtyard restaurant - no gilding or chintz, but plenty of discreet elegance. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, with plenty of quaint, old-fashioned furniture and fittings that somehow look just right in such a venerable building. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel, and food was invariably plentiful and delicious! As in many luxury hotels, the real stars at the American Colony are its staff: impeccably professional and always willing to help (especially the gentleman running the bar!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Terrible attitude - I have never had someone forge my signature before on a bill
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's tired and old school (we have heritage, so don't need worry about anything else, you have money and are too stupid to worry), not worth the money and they should stop signing for guests for breakfast - we were not told we had pay for breakfast for our two night trip, they signed for us the first night - which is pretty immoral and then slapped us with a bill for £100 on our departure. We were then told it was our fault we should have known we had pay - oh and our phone did not work in our room, so we had to go to the hall to use one there

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound of the generator

    .Special atmosphere, good vibe, (historical place) well preserved ,An island of sanity and beauty where time stands still, in the center of a busy and troubled world its perfect refuge.. two nights and I felt like a week's holiday... The staff is attentive... the place is very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad view from our room. It must have been the worse room in the hotel.

    Everything was nice, the pool, the restaurant and the service were all as expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Old school charm which makes it feel like you're somewhere very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst the staff were really friendly, the restaurant staff need to be more "on it" e.g. checking when things have run out at breakfast and just being more on top of things. There were enough of them to be able to do this. The outside bar closes quite early.

    This hotel has a lot of old school charm. The staff are super friendly, the facilities are great and it really does feel special. The outside courtyard attached to the restaurant is a gorgeous place to sit and eat and the buzzer system for calling a waiter when you want a drink by the pool is funny but works ;-)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Loved it. Thank you!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved our stay here. The hotel itself is stunning and the rooms and facilities are fantastic - but for me, the real stars are the staff - friendly, kind and helpful at all times. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful, old world charm hotel with unique character. But restrictibr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is in eastern side of Old Jerusalem. You have to go everywhere by taxi. No where to walk to do claustrophobic situation

    History and character of her hotel. Pool is gorgeous and terrace is magical.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Great actual physical building, worst hotel stay. Shouldn't be part of Leading Hotels of the World.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff/service and food were such a disappointment. The service was slow, they got orders wrong, forgot about things and never once apologised or acknowledged this. I slipped on food that was on the floor in the hall and it was still there an hour later. The food we ordered at the pool was horrible and overpriced and came late and didn't got the description on the menu and no one checked on us or offered us a drink and when I went to the fitness centre an hour later our food was still lying there and birds were eating it. The room layout was quite bad, no room to move and or sink leaked.

    Beautiful historical property with great amenities,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.3
    Pretends to be a really good hotel with facilities of the 70's in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are really old and not really updated. Not comfortables at all. Too expensive. Room service knoked more tan 3 times before 9 a.m. to clean up. True we forgot to hand the do not disturb, but I would have expected not to disturb before 10.

    the building is amazing and common areas really impressive. Old building well maintained and with a lot of charm. Service amazingly kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Elegant, historical hotel with all the modern conveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was elegant and comfortable, with an amazing view. Truly felt like a pasha in our pasha room! The buffet breakfast was incredible, as was dinner in the outdoor restaurant. Staff members were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    great breakfast indeed;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant service was not up to speed & attention;

    great breakfast indeed; pool was not accessible early in the morning (when I like to take a swim)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Great outdoor areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were fine. A bit tired. Food in hotel nothing to write home about.

    Great outdoor areas. The pool, summer garden and courtyard were all beautiful. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant & we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast would be better if there was someone cooking to order - e.g. omelettes or fried eggs. The Bain Marie method of keeping food warm dries it out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Stuff in nice, swimming pool is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at the room Food service at the swimming pool was sub optimal Could be a bit more clean at breakfast area

    Stuff in nice, swimming pool is nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    I'd love to come back to this great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes parking spot was hard to find.

    I felt like in an old eastern palace in this stunning room. The service and all stuff is top quality. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    The flowers in the garden and around the property are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no comment

    The flowers in the garden and around the property are amazingly beautiful. We had a spiritual experience in the Pasha room where my friend and me were staying. My friend woke up in the middle of the night by angelic choir singing and opened her eyes and saw light angelic beings in the doorway towards the outside terrace. Next evening I woke up by choir singing as well, after I fully woke up the singing faded away. But it was a beautiful exalting experience. We highly recommend this hotel and would defenitly return hoping to hear the angel choir sing again during the night :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Solid hotel in all areas.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room décor could have been better - needs updated....nasty couch and chair.

    Solid hotel in all areas. For Cleanliness - we would rate well below USA 4-5 star hotels like The Greenwich Hotel in New York (Tribeca) or for example compared to the Plaza Athenee in Paris. The grounds are beautiful and the outside dining/bar is outstanding.....staff is very helpful....polite....we would stay there again....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Stepping into a haven of calm and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The American Colony is a stunning touch of old world class and glamour nestled amongst the incredible bustle of Jerusalem. It's swimming pool and stunningly tendered courtyards are a dream, and the staff are happy to go above and beyond for your comfort.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    4.2
    Find another nicer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, I gave The American Colony another try and it was a mistake. The front staff were as rude as the first time and not helpful. The air conditioning in the room barely worked and I could not get anyone at the front desk to answer the phone at 10 pm at night to do anything about it. The glass of wine I requested at the pool was the smallest I have ever been served and was bad on top of the miniscule amount served. Don't bother staying here--there are many other better boutique hotels in Jerusalem!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Lovely history but unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the front desk and concierge staff were snobby and not very helpful. This was not the most expensive hotel we stayed in, but definitely had the most unfriendly staff. I do not believe in the theory that expensive hotels (or restaurants for that matter) should have snobby and unfriendly staff. That is from the 1950s and the American Colony needs to update its service philosophy and staff training. All the other boutique hotels we stayed in Israel had much friendlier and helpful staff. The service at the pool is nonexistent. In addition there is an extra charge for everything, so one feels nickeled and dimed. Also there is nothing in walking distance so one is stuck with having to take taxis everywhere. I would not recommend this Hotel for a trip to Jerusalem.

    The hotel and rooms are beautiful and the history of The American Colony is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Oasis
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather gruff and surly staff, some of them at least. One man was very pleasant, and he stood out from the others.

    The hotel is like an oasis in the midst of East Jerusalem. It is comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    A Memorable Hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is nice, but the menu is somewhat limited which is a bit of a problem for long-staying guests.

    The property is in an excellent location, close to the Old City and the Damascus and Herod Gates. The garden courtyard where meals are served is charming. In fact, every window in the public areas looks out onto flowering bushes and trees, which is not easy to do in Jerusalem! The breakfasts - served 'al fresco' when it's warm enough - are fabulous, as is the ambiance in all public areas and in most rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Awesome hotel with bags of individuality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I guess location was an issue seeing as the hotel was outside the main western area of Jerusalem. Around the hotel there was nothing to do or see. This more about location than the hotel itself.

    The character of the hotel is so intriguing and full of history. Unlike a number of modern hotels which are featureless. Great front off house staff couldn't do enough to make your stay very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    this hotel is highly recommended for people interested to visit jerusalem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    . luck of decent restaurants at walking distance . need to discuss price of taxy

    . walking distance from jerusalem historic area . very classy hotel: last issue of National Geographic in the room and excellent choice of Nespresso coffee . very nice and well maintained swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    A poetic place to stay in Jerusalem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are lovely and very clean. It has a fantastic book shop and an equally fabulous gift shop. The American Colony Hotel also has magnificent gardens where one can sit and have a drink or a coffee and there's a terrific pool. You are in good hands here. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.2
    Maybe not a Leading Hotel of the World. Certainly a Leading Breakfast of the World.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    À propos "tranquillity". When you reside in a room facing the inner yard holding the swimming pool, you are very likely to be awakened at dawn (in April: around 4:30 A.M.) by the local muezzin (or his voice on tape). There's a minaret right next to the hotel. Separate faucets for cold and hot water may be a nostalgic reminder of the venerability of the hotel; practical they are not. In our room (207), at least, not everything was in tip-top shape: a little chip there, a worn surface there, the room door would only close with considerable effort expended.

    One of the best breakfast buffets ever ! Everything you could wish for, including international favourites (mushrooms, bacon, even Rösti), local specialities, decent coffee, good cheese and bread, fruits and fruit salad, tasty croissants, your complimentary copy of the NYT, and so on and so forth. And all served in the wonderful courtyard, where you also may take dinner and lunch. Complimentary mineral water every day. All in all, the hotel (and especially its inner courtyard) is an oasis of peace and tranquillity in a sometimes very confusing and contended city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    6.3
    Hotel urgently needs to restore cleanliness guidelines and staff attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has cleanliness issues! Cigarette buds all over the place. The way to the client parking is pass by staff entrance and kitchen...it's discusting! You can wait for your coffee in the morning for 10-15 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent few days apart from the neighbour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room (?206) looked out onto the balcony of another room. The occupant seemed to have a severe chest problem and there was a lot of coughing and spitting. - not his fault but not pleasant either. He also smoked extensively on the balcony and it made our room smell of smoke

    The ambience was wonderful. Beautiful courtyard. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Awesome Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Pasha Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much... Everything was great

    Wonderful colonial buildings, friendly and helpful staff, great food at the restaurants, overall great experience at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great stay, close to the old city, perfect for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were pretty persistent that i provide my credit card details over email for booking the airport transfer. After 3 email i told them that i will not provide my details over email and they accommodated me by adding the cost of the transfer to my room bill.

    Staff were amazing and very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    peaceful and refined nest in Jerusalem: a must once in a life time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Pasha Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the gardens and structures outside should be kept more clean and in order Renewal of rooms and balconies is suggested

    Well American Colony it's an institution, one of the leading hotels in the world in the beautiful west bank Jerusalem. Staff is welcoming, atmosphere is refined, breakfast is sublime ... no words to describe this treasure in Jerusalem: a must in a life time! Prices are high, maybe a little overpriced but its worth going even for a single night

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    the building and courtyard are so beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems a little bit to be going into disrepair though it is fairly expensive The staff is very nice, polite and professional

    the building and courtyard are so beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing and poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping was very poor, public areas and back of house areas very poorly maintained and almost dirty. Our room was badly serviced on all days, front desk was disinterested at best. The hotel is over rated, over priced, offering poor value. I would not return or recommend unfortunately

    Food and beverage offering of high quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    6.7
    A nice hotel but not worthy of a Leading Hotels catagory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would not class the hotel as worthy of a Leading Hotels of the World. The sauna was not on one morning, the gym had no water cups and used towels and coffee cups were left in the gym, the bar staff got my bar bill wrong and when mentioning the gym not having any cups over the course for the whole day the receptionist shrugged her shoulders and said "well, what do you want me to say"

    A nice historic building

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    A colony in Israel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for a long weekend, I booked a Pasha Deluxe, when arrived was informed that we received an upgrade - we ended up in one of the hotel suites, room #61. The room was a dream, very spacious, clean, comfortable including a large size balcony. The bathroom was nearly the size of the room, the shower had a steam function and could be used as a steam sauna - which we enjoyed and truly did the trick. The staff was super friendly, we invited a large group of friends for breakfast one day, the service was again excellent, the breakfast offering ample and of good quality. The hotel in itself is a pearl and well off the beaten "hotel" path - do read up on its history. We had our own transport, the hotel car park was always available, all major Jerusalem sights were close by and easily accessible - but of course then there is the search for parking lots. All in all we had a super stay and I would return anytime.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Cozy Christmas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a lovely, peaceful oasis in chaotic Jerusalem! The staff are wonderful-attentive and professional; the facilities are very clean and well-maintained. Very festive and cozy at Christmas! If you have the opportunity-indulge at the American Colony!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    5.8
    lots of history but not much service and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff was not very charming (breakfast & front office). during the night there where other guest screaming and running on the floors for hours, it was very difficult to sleep and front office could not help and was not interested, we received the comment during the check out from front office staff that they are sorry but couldn’t do anything. i would not expect this reaction in a hotel like this one (5* and member of leading hotels of the world!).

    nice buffet breakfast, hotel with a lot of history, received a free upgrade,

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    A beautiful hotel with a lot of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is absolutely gorgeous. Located in Eastern Jerusalem, only a 10 min walk to the Old City. The room was comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, although more local options would have been welcome. It's an expensive place, but certainly worth it if you can afford it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    The best hotel on our recent trip to Israel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Pasha Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the call of the muezzin in the mosque next door, waking me up slightly after 5:00am in the morning

    An amazing and relaxing place. The suite we stayed in was absolutely marvelous with everything within reach and stocked with nice quality things. The art-deco huge bathroom was classy. Overall, everything about the place is classy. We liked the interior garden restaurant. Perfect food and service. The staff was courteous and helpful. It seemed to us that the hotel is a favorite spot for various Palestinian-causes related visitors, which at first made us slightly apprehensive, but the staff and ambiance made us relax and focus on the pleasurable experience of staying at the hotel. It's a place where Jewish and Arab cultures mix.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Good but not magical!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are dated and need brightening up. They feel depressing. The bathroom toiletries are not suitable for a 5 star hotel. You could use Dead Sea products instead of stuff that's made in China.

    The american Colony is a very stylish venue with great public facilities. The staff is friendly but the overall customer service can be better. Sadly that's a problem everywhere in Israel. The breakfast is good but not outstanding. The restaurant in the hotel is good. The swimming pool area is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    The American Colony Hotel is a true oasis, by itself a reason to visit Jerusalem again !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Pasha Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the fact that I had to leave again...

    When I entered this hotel, I immediately felt a bit like "Laurence of Arabia", about to meet important politicians and diplomats who stayed there in former times. Sitting in the wonderful, quiet and cool patio gave me peace, my thoughts were clear, and I had no more desire to go anywhere else. This "holodeck" experience was further enriched by a most enjoyable pool area, a cuisine blending local and international food and the old town, which can be reached by a 10 minute walk (in case you really wish to leave this place... )

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.9
    Charming but unfortunate locationp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slightly negative point is about the location: the hotel is a bit isolated from the city centre, which is not far away (less than 2km), but the area is not a nice one, if you feel like going for a short walk just outside the hotel, well, that would not be very enjoyable

    It's a beautiful hotel, with a unique atmosphere, very soft and relaxed; the structure, its facilities and rooms are very good and the service is impeccable; the restaurant is also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    A unique and stylish oasis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping and some staff were a bit surly.

    Incredibly stylish and exotic setting, with a very interesting history. Beautiful Gardens which we loved exploring with our toddler. Fantastic pool. Very comfortable bed. Gym looked excellent although we didn't use it. Some very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    perfect jerusalem hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the American colony hotel is a wonderful oasis just inside the west bank of Jerusalem. the gardens and setting are perfect to relax away from the craziness of the old city yet the hotel is only a 10 minute walk away from everything. our room was incredible (a free upgrade) the breakfast in the courtyard is amazing and the pool is great too. easily the best hotel in Jerusalem the Dan hotels are just too impersonal. there is even free parking here

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st nite the bottle neck of body lotion was dirty

    The garden in the hotel is marvelous. Bad mood since my luggage was lost due to airlines mistake, but hotel staff's hospitality made me feel very warm. Thank you American Colony.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The American Colony Hotel - The Leading Hotels of the World traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: