Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Israel hotel reviews
  3. Jerusalem District hotel reviews
  4. Jerusalem hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The David Citadel Hotel

Reviews of The David Citadel Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

7 King David Street, Jerusalem, 94101, Israel

#23 of 110 hotels in Jerusalem

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 380 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    6.3
    Not much to speak of, except unfriendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe the cooler wet weather added to sense of coolness of the place. Maybe customer service training could help. Who knows? We were very glad to leave.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.8
    Most servers at breakfast just plainly ignore you when you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Most servers at breakfast just plainly ignore you when you ask for coffee or water. Food was average at best. Line for omelette was always long. Some days they made pancakes other days no. Doormen ask what room you are staying in, but not for everyone. Housekeeping brought us soap whose wrapper was obviously soaked in soy sauce. Don’t know why. They no longer bring treats at turn down due to expense. Water is provided but only 2 bottles per day. So if you drink your water, oh well. Hotel overall is relatively new but it’s Ikea type furnishings. Nothing really to impress overall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely time. Will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely staff. Arrived very early in morning and was given my room straight away. What a treat. Also desk staff in particular Yazan. Concierge Eviator was excelllent, Breakfast staff also very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant Hotel but they should be more reasonable about the prices !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was very high : it's the 5 th or 6 th time that I was in this Hotel and the price is not so high from this year. Normally, I stay 4 days but this time , I only stay 2 nights.

    The place is incredible : just near the Mamilla and not far from the Kotel !!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.1
    The night staff House keeping department I think Husni and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The night staff House keeping department I think Husni and Mohammad were amazing bumped into them almost every night and they were always smiling and very helpful. The doorman in the evenings as you enter the hotel was a little miserable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful location, close to Mamilla Mall, Old City, etc.
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found a clump of hair on the shower floor, and [after I got over my revulsion] threw it in the toilet. I was not greatly impressed with the level of cleanliness, but otherwise, the cleanliness was fine

    The staff are brilliant; the food on Fri. dinner was wonderful. I love the location, since I'm moving in across the street this week.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    8.3
    Concierge staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast wasn't great. Also, the waitstaff in the restaurant are not at the same quality level as the concierge/front desk staff. Very slow and not attentive.

    Concierge staff were very helpful. The location is amazing if you're looking for a hotel close to the Mamilla and/or the Old City.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    5.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the bathroom the sink was blocked. It was gross. The staff was unfriendly. There was no coffee and limited food available, as it was Sabbath.

    The location was excellent. The family room was ok but only one space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.3
    Poor service, average food. Not welcoming to,guests.
    • Group
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very indifferent service, desk and concierge staff not friendly, sometimes rude. No one seemed to know answers to any questions or could not be bothered to find out. Breakfast buffet was sub par. Breads were stale, selection not good. Chef had no idea how to make a decent omelet. Overall, would not recommend except for location.

    Beautiful property, excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    9.2
    Room extremely comfortable and well appointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not like the birds coming so close during breakfast on the terrace

    Room extremely comfortable and well appointed Balcony view on the Citadel And lovely Terrace Very good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location to the Old City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was abundant but nothing was hot and choices not too much to our liking. Head conceige “off-putting” although everyone else nice. Simple requests for non-feather pillows (because my husband was allergic) became major problems.

    Perfect location to the Old City.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    6.3
    great location, awful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked through booking.com, chosen because of the well-advertised "view on the old city" after carefully selecting among different hotel of same level in the area. We get there, and the room is overlooking a high traffic street. We could not sleep because of the traffic noise. Also the second bed was highly uncomfortable (uneven mattress and net. When I ask to change the room to what I had booked, I am told that will cost me an extra $350. This is not acceptable for any 2-star hostel, much less for this kind of place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    6.3
    Service by staff requires major investment for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff offer 3-, not 5-star service. It's quite disheartening, because we all understand mistakes are made, but it is up to the hotel to train staff appropriately and make sure mistakes are acknowledged. Service was wanting during the whole stay. We were very glad to leave.

    Stately entrance and interiors, cool marble and wood. The security is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is sleek and beautiful, full of marble and wood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Contrary to the beautiful and impressive buildout, one finds the hotel staff wanting and negligent at all levels. Such a pity.

    The hotel is sleek and beautiful, full of marble and wood. It is built to impress. The pool, thought not a standard size, is large enough that one can comfortably swim laps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    10
    Carren, who is in charge of guest relations, personally...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carren, who is in charge of guest relations, personally checks in regularly with all guests to ensure every aspect of our stay is perfect, and when anything needs attention, she personally attends to it. She is the greatness behind this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.6
    Over stay was very good with a friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took 2 days to fix our air conditioning/ heat unit in our room. We had to call for toilet paper and Kleenex not replaced when room was cleaned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    6.7
    We liked the location.
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at check in should have been a sign.

    We liked the location. We found many of the staff rude. At the check in, in the dining room. When we requested a room for outsaughte on the same floor. They said this is impossible, they are overbooked. Miraculously, when her room was infected with hundreds of flies and had to be fumigated, they found a room on the same floor. Some of The waiters in the dining room were rude serving coffee etc. We paid for executive suite and it was very dismal in comparison to the many hotels we visited over the years. We try to visit every year but we’re very disappointed in the hotel this year. We and members of our family have stayed here before. As a matter of fact members of our family this year states at the King David but we insisted on staying with you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.2
    The lunch buffet for Shabbat was not worth the amount of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Outdoor pool was heated and very comfortable.

    The lunch buffet for Shabbat was not worth the amount of money we were charged. Over all however the food and service were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very expensive but you do get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real complaints but if I had to point out a relative negative I would say that the food is satisfactory but not as good as other similar hotels. Overall an excellent but very expensive hotel. I will go back.

    Great location. Beautiful very well kept facility. It isn't too big and is very manageable. Excellent staff. Convenient parking. Great outdoor heated pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    6.3
    Never going back there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place and location was pretty good but the service quality from the staff was inconsistent. At the price I am paying for a week’s stay, I expect honest and excellent service. The girl at the front desk was nice and accommodating and helped me through the process when I was encountering issues with my credit card (temporary hold as I was in foreign. Country). But herco-worker, a man, was upset that she took so long with ny check-in and when she upgraded me to a room with a balcony, he questioned her why she is giving me a room With a balcony! In addition, one fo the guy at the front entrance tried to rip me off with a taxi driver when I wanted to go to Jaffe Gate. The damn gaye was only a five minute walk but he didn’t tell me. He didn’t want me to get into the taxi that was in front of me but went and talk to another taxi driver behind behind, and told me to get in there. As I wasn’t sure how much it will be, I ask the door man how much should I expect to pay, he say around 30 shekel, I got into the taxi and the Frankie rode was only less then 1 minute! And he didn’t even dropped me off near the Damon place but opposite direction of the place and I had to walk back to the gate (same freaking walking disc) from the hotel to the gate if I walked! So I paid $20 shekel to the driver I was so upset and he didn’t turned on the meter! I told him that I am not paying $30 shekel and he was feeling bad and tried to make it up but asking me if it is “too expensive” ....I just walked out of the taxi and started to ask for directions back to the gate since he dropped me off somewhere else ! Also they don’t provide exchange for HOng Kong dollars

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After paying a huge amount of money for Friday night dinner, I found it absurd to be attempted to be charged for a corkage fee to open my already opened bottle of wine. I did not pay , but the experience ruined my shabbos dinner. I will think twice about returning to the citadel.and this is from a customer who has stayed at the citadel on five or six vacations

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel but issues with front desk on charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They made a mistake on room charges. Charged more than booked rate. Even worse, charged my credit card for the rooms plus $900 to cover incidentals. This was supposed to be an authorization only but appears as a charge.

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    5.4
    Totally overrated and not worth the price. The only good thing about the hotel is the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff treats guest like a number there is no personal connection with the gusts. When paying $400 a night for a room I expect a sofa or a comfortable arm chair in the room to sit down when not going to sleep or when receiving guests....Very disappointing... The Waldorf or the Mamila are much better choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    7.5
    noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noise. difficult to find a quiet place to eat . too many groups, babies, ...not for discret private clients...also we moved earlier and went to King David dispite extra costs. King David much better value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    6.3
    Nice but not worthy 5*, if you look at the whole picture!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But unfortunately the 5* level anywhere in Europe for the same price is just a whole different story, the staff is really not even 4*. And that really is annoying! I travel a lot and I travelled many times to Israel, I can't figure out yet, why service on that high standard, never meets international expectations. I would very much welcome if that changes in the future, otherwise - I don't see the point in paying those high prices!

    The rooms are nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    7.9
    THE LOCATION AND GENERAL FACILITIES ARE SUPERB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People at reception and at Concierge need to be taught how to receive well their guests and be MUCH MORE FRIENDLY. After all, they are doing no favor to their guests.

    Location!, garage!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    7.5
    Way too expensive with competition so close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stuck up desk and door people, services don’t understand English, my door keys never worked the plastic ones

    I liked the room cleanliness although the bathrooms could have been cleaned up better, just more towels is not the answer. Breakfast was excellent. Very snobby stuck up people from reservations to desk. Will probably do Waldorf next time!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    For a fabulous luxurious vacation, The Citadel is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shabbat elevator was extremely slow so we had to use stairs. Maybe this was really a godsend since the food was so fabulous we got some exercise.

    Jeremy the Manager was so helpful! He greeted us each day and asked if there was anything we needed. We appreciated his "personal touch"... The food..breakfast, and lunches were amazing with so many choices and the wait staff very accomodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    9.2
    Certainly recommend it, but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room wasn't great. only one chair and although it was brilliantly situated for me, the outside patio was not cleaned. Otherwise the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    8.8
    Well located luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The menu of the Pool Bar is too limited for such a big and luxury hotel. The quality of the food there is mediocre. The white wine was horrible. The boys that are working there lack professionality. There English is poor. The pool boys are lazy and not helpful. They don't accompany you to your sun bed and don't open up the parasol. This you have to do yourself! There is no water cooker in the room and there are no teabags. The hotel allows tour operators to bring their customers by tour coaches. This is not in accordance with the high standards you can expect. Therefore the hotel is overpriced.

    The front desk is professional. The concierges are very pleasant and extremely helpful. We had a The Luxe Room. The room was spacious with 2 flatscreen TVs and a TV in the mirrow of the bathroom. The toiletteries are of good quality. The room service was fast. The breakfast buffet is abundant. The hotel is extremely well located. Mamilla Avenue is at 2 minutes walking and the old town at 7 minutes. It was delightful to sit on the terrace of the room by evening time with splendid views over Old Jerusalem. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    8.8
    A Savvy Place to stay when visiting the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Rooms and bathroom were modern, pool and breakfast areas, both inside and outside locations were well thought out, in terms of layout, designed to make you just have a great start to your day and location, location, location can not be beat! We were walking distance of restaurant areas, shopping, yet had a neighborhood feel and 5 minute walk from old city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The concierge sent us to a restaurant and we decided to go to a different one across the street. He came to check up on us, or to collect his commissioon/ awkward. The restaurant we chose Katy's was excelllent

    Attention to detail. Staff on point. A I the manager made us feel like family. Even a hired a babysitter throigh the concierge and she was terrific. Pool is stunning. Room is stunning and spacious. Location is perfect. Felt very safe. All in all, one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in, and we travel a lot in 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.6
    The room was really beautiful and clean and felt very top of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At breakfast-there should be an additional staff person to help with the omelette station. One gentleman (who was great) was making the omelettes and then was also making the pancakes and waffles in between. Way too much for one person and created a long wait. Also my daughter who is studying in Israel surprised us a night early. I asked for a cot and was told it would be an additional fee. Given the expense of the room I think this was unnecessary to make kings worse-the staff came 'to bring the bed' but unbeknownst to us-he simply pulled out the trundle that was already in my room! So in fact I had to oaybfor a bed that was ALREADY in the room. I didn't have to say anything had I known the end was already there and felt it was very 'cheap' of this 5 star hotel to actually charge me to ah e my daughter sleep in the room in a bed that was already there! I even tried to explain his to the front desk a second time and got nowhere with it. Quite honestly I will be sure to tell my friends that that extra bed exists so they don't have to pay this ridiculous fee for nothing.

    The room was really beautiful and clean and felt very top of the line. The breakfast was good. Easy to get a cab right outside. All good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    6.3
    Poor service for a lot of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nobody greeted or helped me out of the car, when I arrived, I had to ask for everything. There was a huge yellow stain on the carpet in the room. Room service menu was poor, the person taking the order did not know the entrees, several were missing, fresh juice machine was broken. I could not get the towels at the pool - nobody was there to help me.

    The location is ideal next to the old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    6.3
    A disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room I was given faced King David Street. It was incredibly noisy with cars, so bad I could barely sleep. I complained and after three nights, the hotel gave me a nice room with a balcony facing the Old City. Bottom line, if you go to this hotel, insist on getting a room that doesn't face King David Street, otherwise you'll be in for an unpleasant experience -- and you'll be paying a lot for it -- this is an expensive hotel.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    7.5
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was one of the few right above a very busy roads junction. The noise from cars and buses horns was really loud and started at 5am. We came with 2 kids and the sofa bed was small for 2 kids and the mattress and springs were so soft that it was hard to sleep comfortly.

    Location is great. Hotel is very clean and nicely decorated. Pool is very inviting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful place to stay in Jerusalem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Jr. Suite comes with Nespresso Coffee Maker but hotel does not provide any half and half mini containers or even powdered milk. You have to order room service for this and they charge you. It was very frustrating every morning. Housekeeping does not speak English or Hebrew! Just Russian. Very difficult to communicate with them. Housekeeping occurs generally very late in the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    9.6
    Expensive but it is a 5 star hotel and staff very helpful as one would expect from such a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ordered in advance a room on 3rd floor or higher as these are renovated rooms Reconfirmed this by telephone but when we came was given a handicapped assisted room and thus had no bath only a shower which if you like a bath is a big NO NO Also shower overflowed onto bathroom floor However on checking out hotel management were most apologetic and offered us the room until we left for the airport which was 12 hours later Most helpful We left having overall a lovely stay at the hotel

    hotel service great, room good, food and position perfect. The view from the breakfast terrace is breathtaking looking onto the walls of the Old City The superb breakfast matches the wonderful view We would definitely stay and recommend the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    5.8
    Poor-overpriced food, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotels location was very ideal to old city and centrally located

    $450 for 3 adults and 2 kids at the buffet during first night of holiday. Horrible value, food was not good. I do not recommend eating on the hotels property.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Great night in Jerusalem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice and well-designed, I think they may have upgraded our room to a better level. We told the hotel we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were greeted with Cava, fruit and chocolates. Around 7pm someone actually knocked on our door to see if we needed anything! The spa and breakfast were also fabulous, overall we had a great visit. Wish we could've eaten more. Also, our booking.com Genius account allowed for a late check-out, which was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2017

    10
    Great value for pleasure vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't pre-pay and it took me about 5-7 phone calls and 7-10 emails to finally give the CC authorization. In 2017 I would expect a faster payment solution. At the end no one confirmed an email with me I yet didn't get any invoice and I probably have to call again to ask for an invoice. I would say something is wrong with the reservation process. Other than that and what i really care about is that my parents were very happy and pleased. Thank you!

    I got a room for my parents anniversary and dad's birthday. They loved it!! They can't stop talking about the hotel, they had a great weekend! Thank you :))! Everything they told me about the hotel was great, highly recommended for couples, families and kids who want to gift their parents a pleasure surprise present!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous accommodation but the food side needs a little tweaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the lounge menu (milky) somewhat restrictive. An old favourite (Mediterranean platter) enjoyed on several previous visits had been removed and we ended up preferring to eat out of the hotel. The Friday evening (eve of Shabbat) meal (meaty) was a truly magnificent buffet - however, we were quoted $92 per head and then charged over $100 per head, either price was difficult to rationalise as good value. Also I am diabetic and of the 25 desserts offered, the only one I could eat was melon pieces. I asked if there was anything sugar free and was told no. I also asked about sugar free or low sugar jam at breakfast and none was available.

    This is an extremely comfortable and fine hotel with all refinements. The hotel is well situated close to and within walking distance of the old city as well as many good restaurants. The rooms are well appointed, modern and with all amenities. Breakfast comprises an extensive buffet with cold and hot items.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Turn down did not happen two out of three nights. Did not bother me, but may be a problem for some people. Bed very firm.

    Breakfast was excellent. Bedding and bathroom facilities very good. Shabbat lifts very efficient.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2017

    9.6
    We were there for Shabbat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there for Shabbat. Friday night dinner/Shabbat breakfast and lunch were just amazing. The presentation/selection were incredible. The food was beyond delicious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.6
    Super hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No problems or complaints. Maybe could be less expensive but you get what you pay for.

    Great location. Excellent facilities and comfort. Very helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Good restaurant and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    8.8
    Disconnect between upper echelon staff and lower echelon staff. Not a good sign for the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff, all of them, were unfriendly. Not rude, but not far off. It was not a good start, but there seems to be a disconnect between the front of house staff - reception and the waiters and concierge. All the other staff were very pleasant indeed. We saw no management figures whatsoever on our two day stay. No one asked at any time, except at the breakfast room, whether all was well and whether we needed anything at all. Management seems to be coasting on the coattails of the wait staff and lower echelon staff. Pity. Parking - as stated is charged, but the procedure to get in and out of the garage was pathetic. Each time the card we had had to be re authorised and this was time consuming and very very annoying. It needs to be sorted out.Don't waste your money on the executive lounge. It really isn't worth it. The food has been there since the morning and if you want a snack in the afternoon, it all looks tired and unwanted. That said, it is a comfortable places to sit, but without any guests, unless you want to pay even more! The hotel provides L'occitane toiletries. I understand that they are costly. If you don't want guests to use them, then don't offer them. If you do want to allow guests to use them, please don't limit them to 2 teeny bottles of shower gel once a day and sigh on the phone when asking for more soap, shampoo etc. Not everyone travels with their own toiletries when going to a good hotel.

    Spotlessly clean rooms and general air of be well looked after. Pool area was clean, public areas were clean and sweet smelling, little touches of umbrellas for those who needed. Maitre D at breakfast room, Said, was absolutely wonderful. Sweet, attentive, but not intrusive. In general, the breakfast was good, not overpowering in quantity, but the quality was very good. It appears well run, with happy staff. Concierge was good, arranging newspapers for the morning. Pool is great - heated and outdoor leading to a lovely experience. Pool areas are clean and well kept.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2017

    10
    Comfortable, 5* hotel without bling but with super helpful staff.
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As older travellers we like well-lit bedrooms so would have appreciated extra lighting.

    The breakfasts were excellent and made better by the superb customer care of the waiters, in particular, Said who kept my coffee cup filled, suggested freshly cooked delights and generally kept us well cared for. The swimming pool's opening hours were convenient for us (6.30am to 6.30pm) and the lifeguard always helpful with plenty of towels.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    5.8
    Good but pricey business hotel NOT for leisure/fun vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a business hotel. I would not choose to stay there again based on this. It's sterile and lacking personality. Not worth the money. Stay at a smaller, funkier, boutique place unless you are traveling for work.

    Great location to check out the sites of the old city and for shopping if that is your thing. The buffet breakfast is extensive and has some tasty options.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2017

    9.2
    A nice stay, and good value compared to other nearby options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street access, views, parking, construction noise, pillows (too soft), mattress (to firm). None of which are by any means significant detractors from my returning.

    Just what you would expect, besides some minor construction noise. Clean, luxurious, and comfortable. Not quiet the view you get from the King David, but equally well located.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    10
    A well deserved 5 star rating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many children!! How about a dining area for families? And no cozy bar in the hotel?? Ridiculous!

    Excellent breakfast selection -- LOTS of choices! Great beds and luxurious bathrooms. Great service staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2016

    10
    great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    ‏We really enjoyed to stay at the David Citadel Hotel. Staff very courteous and professional mainly Revital Crmliast PR gave us the feeling she hosted us as guests unique and special. Samir because of which the breakfast was even better. the hotel keeps attention to every detail in the intention to give there guests a wonderful experience in every way. Indeed it is a luxury hotel in every sense.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friday night cold meals. Poor staff at meal times. Dusty room. Poor lighting in room.

    it was very central with good facilities.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Looking forward to come
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful bathroom, nice to swim in pool in winter,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful bathroom, nice to swim in pool in winter, toiletries.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location,interior

    bed is ok

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Extremely enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were excellent and security person Shalev was excellent in that he found my shawl that I left in a drawer in my room four days later

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.8
    great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price at time of booking was around $580 Canadian, but was charged US$527

    Breakfast was excellent as usual. Service at breakfast was great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    no coffee at breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no coffee at breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    8.3
    No complaints at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the executive lounge

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    9.6
    just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    perfekt sauber

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.3
    Location and views of the old city wonderful,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu in the eveing could be better no much choice.

    Location and views of the old city wonderful,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.8
    Bed not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed not comfortable. Shower small

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2018

    9.6
    Keep on going
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All is ok

    Friendly and supportive staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    8.8
    The room, THE location, THE view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    THE staff is not always good.

    The room, THE location, THE view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    9.2
    Institutional luxury hotel just in front of the Old City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Null

    Institutional luxury hotel just in front of the Old City. Amazing pool with a spectacular view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    Best location and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Alcove Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Took a while before they got me the correct room. A little annoying but worked out ok.

    Best location and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    Food,pool ,service,location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was small but new and clean

    Food,pool ,service,location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous time in Jerusalem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows in the room were too soft

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    Clean, modern, specious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like

    Clean, modern, specious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    View, location, rooms, breakfast, proximity to garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View, location, rooms, breakfast, proximity to garage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, central for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were dismissive. Also no English breakfast tea

    Excellent location, central for everything. We were upgraded on arrival . Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    Breakfast is nothing short of amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Deluxe with Balcony and Old City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is nothing short of amazing. Concierge service was outstanding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lack of foods (protein, grain and cooked vegetables) without flour and sugar

    Excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very positive experience. Attentive professional staff.
    • Couple
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking very expensive.

    Bed was extremely comfy. Breakfast was delicious though selection smaller than in other hotels. Great parking lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Nice hotel emanuel the manger and service pepole nice just make u feel home dont want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bsst of the best

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: