Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. India hotel reviews
  3. Kerala hotel reviews
  4. Alleppey hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Carpe Diem BnB

Reviews of Carpe Diem BnB

Cullen Rd, Sea View Ward, 688012 Alleppey, India

#10 of 161 hotels in Alleppey

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 186 hostel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    Absolute steal close to Alleppey Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, really.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts, they can organize backwater tours for you. Great location within walking distance of the beach. The dorm is spacious and clean, it has mosquito nets and you get a free breakfast consisting of an omlet, some toast and fresh fruit. Phenomenal for the price paid.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    10
    Good value for money, very clean bathrooms and cozy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was perfect

    The private room nice, clean and spacious. The beds were comfy and its a quiet neighbourhood, I slept very well. Paul was helping us with enthusiasm. The facilities are new, clean and tidy. I would stay again, its a great guesthouse, especially if you appreciate the facilities to be extremely clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Difficult to communicate with the housekeeper because he couldn't speak English.

    The host Paul is very helpful. Carrom, cards and all there. Close to the railway station. Spacious dorm and common area. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.8
    The hostel is so clean and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite far away from the town centre, not many tuk tuks around after 9.

    The hostel is so clean and well looked after. Close to the catamaran cafe, the beach and the lighthouse. One member of staff was very kind and was always smiling, he helped the best he could with limited English.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    9.2
    Would go there the next time, 100%
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much to do close except for the beach. Not a real problem cause you can get a tuktuk for like 60/80rp. to the shops/city.

    Cleanest hostel ive seen in India. Good breakfast. Helpfull staff. Im like 90kg and the bed was amazing. Good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2019

    9.6
    Nice complimentary breakfast, the host spoke good English...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice complimentary breakfast, the host spoke good English and was friendly. There was an europlug power socket and reading light next to each bed as well as big fans. There were two showers ensuite and the whole place was well looked after and fairly upmarket. Nice place!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is close to beach but a rickshaw ride from town centre where most restaurants and ferry etc are....

    Excellent environment and room. Good hospitality from the host.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2019

    8.8
    Great value for money and comfortable, clean beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot showers and no place to really chill in. But at the price that’s pretty acceptable.

    Great value for money and comfortable, clean beds. Nice manager and a good included breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2019

    8.3
    Spacious and layout of the rooms were really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was loads of mosquitoes in the room and although i covered up they still attacked our face. Repellent was available but they needed more for the space it was covering or change the tabs because it obviously wasnt working. You can also hear the trains pass but thats not a huge problem

    Spacious and layout of the rooms were really good. There were two bathrooms/showers so no fighting as well as. Nice balcony area.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    There was easy access to the beach from the accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have done with a mosquito net as there were a lot each night! Also although staff were accommodating our welcome to the property could have been improved with a hello and an explanation of what there was to do in the area.

    There was easy access to the beach from the accommodation. The room was quite affordable for a place with air con.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.9
    Good value for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquito issue due to poorly sealed doors and bathroom window.

    Friendly, helpful young host, close to beach and restaurants. Basic continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Please be reminded to bring mosquito repellent and all will be fine even at the beach.

    Staff helpful and supportive. Paul and family well organized a New Year eve party with a live music teenager band and a lot of crackers plus nice cakes. Highly recommend this place and I will come back next time.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    In the Dorm: Loads of mosquitos, hot, no AC, not dark at night because of the lights outside (not enough curtains). Most of reviews are saying that the mosquitos are a problem, with nets for all the beds the problem could be easily solved.

    Free breakfast was great, terrace was good, fridge and lockers available, clean, 2 bathrooms for the 10 bed dorm, close to beach, wifi in room was good, friendly staff, free christmas cake for christmas eve for the guests was nice, good atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    8.8
    Even though the dorm has ten beds there is a lot of space...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cleaned (Vakuum) while everyone was getting ready. A bit later would have been nicer.

    Even though the dorm has ten beds there is a lot of space and the ceiling is very high. The balcony is nice too (a bit narrow for a lot of Yoga) and has a nice view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay at in Alleppey
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a lot of mosquitos in both bathrooms of the dorm. The staff does try to eradicate them but still, there are many flying around (there are also some dead flies lying on the side of the windows which is not always nice). We didn't succeed at taking hot showers - which was okay since it was really hot outside but still.

    The dorm is huge and the design of the beds is really well thought. There is a really nice hanging out area just outside the dorm. We used to hang out with the other travellers and we really had an awesome time there. The staff helped us organize a backwaters tour. (₹1000 for one person for a tour with breakfast and lunch included, from 8am to 5pm - really nice). They also helped us with the booking of trains to go our next destination. Very good English, very efficient and nice :) The breakfast is also very pleasant. (Bread, butter and jam + omelette with cheese and spinach + coffee/tea) Overall a really nice experience - would recommend

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    8.3
    Very nice and clean hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The permanently present housekeeper hardly speaks English and also somewhat rude, though this might have been related to the difficulties in our communication. The manager is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, during my stay he, was hardly present at the hostel. So I had to deal with the houskeeper.

    Very nice and clean hostel!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    This was a great place to stay, there were places to relax...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good, my only small suggestion would be to not use butter/jam/coffee in plastic packaging for sustainability and maybe put a sign on the other side of the pathway so that you know where to turn.

    This was a great place to stay, there were places to relax and it was good value for money. The WiFi worked and it was close to the beach and station. Staff were very nice. The complimentary breakfast was good as well. Rooms were clean and comfortable. They were quite eco-friendly as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.1
    I like the cleanliness & space of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The one thing I did not like was that the website indicates you can pay by credit card & the hostel asked for cash (Rupees /INR). The manager said that the machine was not available to pay by credit card /debit card. I asked that he remove this option as courtesy to his business & customers bcuz not all the time people carry the Rupees /INR. The distance to the city centre is a little far.

    I like the cleanliness & space of the rooms. Continental Breakfast was included in the price of the room which is a bonus 24hr security was good as well. Distance to train station & beach is a short walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquito nets would be a great add on as I got eaten!

    The hostel is really great, especially for the price! Very clean and comfortable, with a great breakfast of an omelette, fruit and toast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay, modern, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Just simply too many mosquitos in dorm room, several dozen of mosquitos flying every day in the room. I got at least 20 bites all over my body. And all of the people who was staying in the room have to use the bed sheet to cover the whole body to avoid annoying mosquitos flying(you will be wake up all night) and bites. Although this is because of the environment problem, not hostels fault, but at least hostel can provide mosquitos net for every bed in the future, because there were some anti-mosquitos devices on the outlets, but obviously, it doesn't work at all. I didn't tell the manager this issue because I found out there are so many bites on my body after I left the hostel, that's why I try to write here and hope hostel owner can do something about it. 2. The stair to 1st floor is a bit dusty, but not a bit issue. 3. Dorm room doesn't have hot water, but it's very common all over India, just be prepared before you come.

    The owner is a really good guy and helpful. They can help you arrange whatever you want. The place is really new, modern design and comfortable. WIFI works very well. Provide drinking water which can refill your bottle!! (very good, so that I can reduce buying so many plastic bottles.) They have some sitting area on the 1st floor. Breakfast is very simple.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Next to Alleppey Beach. Must visit :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the place. The owner is very sweet and knows hindi which is a boon :) Close to Alleppey Beach. Quiet serene place. Thank you guys for making my stay pleasant :)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    6.7
    Overrated guesthouse.
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No safe box to keep my valuables( passport credits card and money) so you have to carry it with you all the time. No blanket and it was cold at night. No hot water in shower and it's pretty cold this time of the year. No mosquitoes net so I was an open buffet all night long for 3 nights.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    9.2
    Comfy beds, spacious room with good ventilation, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the time of visit cold showers only, often a blackout, no air con but it really is not needed, no hire bike facility, the backyard not utilised otherwise a great hostel.

    Comfy beds, spacious room with good ventilation, free breakfast, peaceful location near the beach two bathrooms per room as oppose one in some dorm rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Cool and Swaggy Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    I like everything. Ready to help nature of staff even before I arrive. They also helped me to get in contact with David who owns some shikara boat. He is also a nice person to talk to. Room facilities are perfect. I really like the living area ambience. If I come back, I will definitely stay here only.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    10
    cool place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The guys running the hostel were super nice and very helpful, it felt like hanging out at your friends place :) the rooms and bathrooms were super clean and modern, the kitchen had everything I needed, the balcony is super cosy and made it hard for me to go out and do things, instead of hanging out there all day. great place, i would come again! Thank you guys! love, Gerrit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    Great place - highly recommend staying here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Good size private rooms with ensure bathrooms. Good shower. Paul is very friendly and hospitable. Good breakfast. Shame we were only staying one night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful and peaceful accommodation at budget prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shelves to put things on, not even in the bathroom. Don't accept credit card, as advertised on Booking.com. Also, the canoe trip they offer was good in as much that it was quiet but they didn't show any choir or oil making as promised and the walk along the rice paddies was in a rush for no apparent reason.

    The peace and quiet; beautiful balcony to sit on, great value for money. Good 10ppl bedrooms. I'd stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Affordable And Awesome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everyone Must Definitely Visit This Place. The Staff Is Really Very Good. They Will Tell You About Everything You Need. The Only Con Is There Are No Restaurants Nearby So You Need To Go The Beach Everytime If You Are Hungry. Bt If You Cook There Should Be No Problem. The Complimentary Breakfast Is Awesome. It Was The Best Part Of The Stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    Memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wi-Fi was very poor

    My stay was good. staff was very helpful and everything is beyond my expectations.i had a pretty good stay there.thank you mr.paul and sanjo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Modern and clean hostel, minutes from the Backwaters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place is incredible ! So new, so fresh, so clean. Staff is beyond amazing, they can arrange cheap tours of the backwaters, help you with anything really. This might be the best (and cleanest) place I've been to in India.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, it was fantastic!

    Paul was a great host and was very helpful and friendly from the start. The location is right by the beach, which normally would be great, however at the moment there is a lot of construction. It’s no fault of the property and I’m sure in a few months it’ll be back to normal, if not a lot nicer than it was. The internet was good and the rooms were very clean. There’s a nice balcony to relax on outside the rooms on the second floor. If you’re looking for a super helpful and friendly guide on the backwaters, Nippy is your man! He speaks great English and organises canoeing. He can also help you find a great coffee in town if you’re feeling a bit deprived. Highly recommend contacting him. Nippy +91 98465 92545‬ Instagram: nippyboyhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    A newish place that is on its way to greatness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think if the dorm was full the lack of AC would have been unpleasent.

    Amazing omlette for breakfast. Would go back just for that. Being given clean sheets to make ones own bed is a nice touch so you can be certain they are clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water pressure in the showers upstairs (dorm and one private) was way to low. Takes ages to wash your hair.

    Quite a new building, clean, nice atmosphere, great AC in the private rooms..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    They were very helpful with my train booking and travelling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They were very helpful with my train booking and travelling tips. They also arranged my backwaters'trip. And breakfast cheese omelette was delicious :-). Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a bit on the firm side for me (personal preference), and there's a frosted window in the room that has no curtain, so early morning light beams in.

    Paul was very helpful and friendly, and our room was clean and comfortable with good-quality bedsheets and towels, as well as basic toiletries. The AC and fan in the room both functioned well, and in the social areas downstairs the fans helped alleviate some of the suffocating April heat. Breakfast was a good size (eggs, melon, toast, coffee), and water is available for free all day long from a filter so you don't need to purchase wasteful plastic bottles from shops. We also appreciated having somewhere to sit all day prior to our evening train.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location, great host, and clean bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a tad hard, even for Indian standards. But this is a question of preference, I guess.

    Our host Paul was incredibly helpful and accommodating; his English was also excellent, which is a bonus. He arranged trips for us in rickshaw and boat at a very reasonable price. The room was very clean. Very good value. Totally recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed could have been more comfy had a stiff back during next morning,no safety locker and cupboards also autorickhaws are too expensive charge a bomb so be careful and do bargain well.

    The hostel was near to the Alleppey beach about 500 mtrs,so thumbs up for location,property is very clean with kind of service apartment feel where you have kitchen available for private rooms. overall good stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic new hostel with amazing staff and comfy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor shower water pressure

    Really nice new property, super friendly staff that were willing to help with organising extras and recommending restaurants, and a good location to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we had was on the ground floor next to the living room/communal area so was a little noisy at times.

    Clean and comfortable. Close to beach and some lovely little restaurants (try Cafe Catamaran). Great place to stay for exploring the backwaters!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was close to the breakfast area and seating area so we would be woken up quite early in the morning. The nearest restaurants were a 15 minute walk.

    The room was a good size and had aircon and a fan. It was about a 15 minute walk to the beach. The breakfast was lovely! The hosts were great and helped us with anything we needed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.6
    Eager to go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was a lil quizzed up while finding the location of the house; limited breakfast!!

    The host was really helpful and courteous!! Right from the time we booked the room till we stepped out.!! Superb ambience inside the house with games and music..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    10
    One of the best places I’ve ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the best places I’ve ever stayed. Paul is so helpful and kind. He puts a lot of love into his place and taking care of his guests, and it shows. The location is wonderful (so close to the beach) and it’s nice and quiet. Feels like home. Everything was clean and the breakfast was great! Would absolutely go back :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all was great.

    The room was large, very clean and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom was clean and a good size, not a tiny closet with the shower over the toilet you sometimes get. The AC was very efficient and it was nice escape from the heat of Alleppey. There was a small kitchen so we could make tea and coffee which was great. Overall it was great value for what we got. The host was very helpful and extremely friendly. We could not find fault.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    10
    Loved this hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dorm was one of the best layouts I've seen in India and even though it was 10 beds there was so much space and not the traditional bunk bed style and had 2 bathrooms. Very clean and lovely new hostel. Paul and Anina are so kind and friendly and always around to help or for a chat and they create a very warm and welcoming atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.6
    Best hostel I’ve stayed in India!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It did not feel like a hostel but someone’s house, a really new and comfortable house! Everything was new, super clean and the breakfast was good too! It’s located on the beach side of town, in a quiet street, but only 10 minutes by tuk tuk to the jetty. Paul and his sister were great hosts too! Overall, lovely stay, thank you :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.6
    Great value close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far to walk to the bus station (but on the other hand, the property is closer to the beach and is in a quieter area).

    Double room was immaculately clean. Great AC, comfy bed, light breakfast served in the morning, good place to meet other travellers and socialize. Paul and his sister were excellent hosts and created a welcome environment for their guests. They can arrange a tour to the Backwaters for a good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    10
    Fantastic value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Had a great time in Carpe Diem BnB. (We were in a double room rather than the dorm) Value for money Good location Helpful and friendly staff Very clean Comfortable bed Would definitely stay here again if passing through Alleppey.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    10
    Friendly warm welcoming stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If I had to say something, only thing would be the water pressure a little low in the shower. Nothing else.

    The staff and the amazing breakfast. The clean rooms. The clean house overall - immaculate. Welcoming, helpful, informative. Also free water refills which is great. Combat plastic use!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    Absolutely amazing!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Spotless, clean property with a good complementary breakfast. Very close to the main road and 5 min walk to the beach. The people who run this place are awesome and very helpful. Obviously it's worth for the money you spend. Good luck

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    6.7
    Avoid the canoe tour!! Early curfew!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The canoe tour they suggested/booked was pretty naff, definitely book elsewhere! Also very early curfew which was frustrating!

    Spotlessly clean great facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    Nice, large dorms near the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was just basic but still okay considering the price.

    Great, large dorms with good facilities. The host was very welcoming and eager to help us with our trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    6.7
    Nice building, but service has to get improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bunk Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of mosquitos in the dorm, they didn’t do anything to get rid of them, at least they could equip the beds with mosquito nets. Breakfast was very poor, better to go outside to have a proper one. It seams that the two children are managing the property. They seem to be nice , but they charged us 200 rupee more for the backwater tour than the other tourists. When he says something negative he still smiles as it would be an advantage, bit strange.

    New building, comfy beds, clean, big dorm

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.6
    It's awesome place to stay for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If digital payment process(Card or paytm) is available, it would be very good.

    It's awesome place to stay for family.. Reasonable price, walkable distance to beach, Friendly staff..A hotel management graduate is running by own.. So, It's up to expectation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    10
    Great place, can clearly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Mosquitos. Like in the rest of Aleppey, there were so many. They want to install nets over the beds soon.

    - First things first: the host is one of the nicest people I have met in India! He helped me with many things and could give me some tips for restaurants and places to visit. He even brought me to stores with his own scooter. - Everything is brand new and in great shape - The place is clean - The place is calm - Close to the beach - Close to the railway station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    10
    What a lovely little home stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What a lovely little home stay! Paul and Anina were lovely hosts - so polite and kind and would help out with anything and everything! They made my sisters 30th birthday so special by going out and getting a cake for us, decorating the outside with banners and balloons etc. As you walk in the fresh clean jasmine smell hits you and the AC is lovely! Great location would highly recommend this great value for money home stay! We stayed in both private room and in the dorm and you couldn’t fault :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    9.2
    Tidiest homestay in India
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only slight negative is that the breakfast is a little weak, not super substantial for a day of sight seeing - maybe add some eggs and a yogurt pot and maybe some fresh juice.

    Really neat and tidy. Immaculate! Nicest place in India we've stayed so far. Owners smiley and nice. Very modern and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water from shower. Patchy WiFi, but they were in the process of fixing this.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. We booked a day trip on a canoe for R1000 which was fantastic. Very clean and new.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Beautiful place with 5 star amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ambience of hostel is so mersmerising and peaceful. The tidiest hostel ever with beach at vicinity. The caretakers are very friendly and supportive. The breakfast cooked by ex-hotel chef Paul is worth. Keep up the good work Paul. You gave me a reason to visit Alleppy again. Indian Bagackers should try it once.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower system is like playing a round of the Crystal Maze. Couldn’t for the life of me get hot water.

    Paul and his cousin Paul were lovely to chat. Location is near the beach and a couple of nice restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    10
    Brand new hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed 2 nights in the 10 bed dorm. Specious dorm with two clean washrooms and comfortable beds. Hosts were very friendly and tried to help us with ours questions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    8.8
    Good management and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Plenty of mosquitos because of the water bodies nearby, carry bug repellent. Rooms have Indian/European plug points, so carry your adapter if needed.

    Good management, makes you feel welcomed and at home. Very clean rooms and well maintained. The mixed dormitory is spacious and well ventilated. I forgot my US to India adapter and Paul was very kind to lend me his.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    7.9
    The place has opened only a few weeks ago and is very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it’s a very new place, not everything is the way it should be. There weren’t any lockers or even hooks to put some of your stuff. But I’d recommend staying there nonetheless!

    The place has opened only a few weeks ago and is very clean and tidy. Location is good, some nice cafes are within walking distance. I slept very well although the beds are rather indian style... hard 😉 The manager reminded me of Sunil from “Best Exotic Marigold Hotel” - very nice and trying to make you as comfortable as possible!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.6
    Give it a go, could be great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As they’re just starting out, it was a little quiet, not many people there yet. Which could have been fine, but I was travelling alone and after a bit of a party ;-)

    Staff member Paul was super friendly and helpful. It’s a new build and everything was spotless and high quality. Super quiet location, and right next to the beach and decent restaurants/beer and wine parlours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    9.2
    The owner was very nice and helped with everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There werent any mosquito nets and so it is hard to keep them away at night. Better bring a ton of insect repellent.

    The owner was very nice and helped with everything. It is a brand new house so everything is pretty clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2017

    9.2
    Much better than Whiteshore Homestay next door
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is operating informally so the staff didn't provide a receipt. The entrance road is narrow.

    This is a brand new clean accomodation with stylish architecture and fittings. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, decent included breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, decent included breakfast. Paul was incredibly helpful and friend, organising a boat trip and taxis for me.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.2
    Really nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Really nice staff Clean dorm and common areas

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    9.6
    Very spacey dorm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very spacey dorm

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    8.3
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No

    Enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2019

    6.3
    Value for money, location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was not polite. I can't even tell how many mosquitoes were there in the room. Bring your own repellent.

    Value for money, location is good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    10
    Friendly staff, beautiful and comfortable accomodation and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly staff, beautiful and comfortable accomodation and good location close to the beach.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    6.7
    The staff was very very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very very bad...he got drunk and was telling that North Indian people are not good. This hostel was only for foreigners...Very bad

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.9
    The manager Paul was so helpful and kind!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location from the river is quite far

    The manager Paul was so helpful and kind! Room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    10
    Spacious, clean,amazing staff, nearby the beach, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious, clean,amazing staff, nearby the beach, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    10
    Nice place to stay secure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice place to stay secure

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!