Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Fisherman’s Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai 5 stars

Covelong Beach, Kancheepuram District, 603112 Covelong, India

#3 of 7 hotels in Covelong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.2
    Excellent food what ever i had was very tasty , please maintain the same for the years to come .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wished you had Buffet for dinner at a good price and some activity arranged in your vacant areas to involve all the guests.

    I liked everything breakfast spread, hospitality of the staff and response from them for our request was excellent .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely stunning property, fab location and service was top notch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing to not like.

    The service was exemplary. Every single staff member served from the heart and was there to delight you. A special mention of Patrick, Kannan and the chefs Meril and Tapan. Outstanding food.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.3
    On the whole..it was a nice comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite with Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lights inside the swimming pool after 6pm !!

    The extra effort taken by the staff at the restaurant when we didnt like a dish in particular..was really sweet !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Taj staff has always been courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs renovation. ACs were not effective, bathroom condition: shower cubicle looks old, And right now Jiva Spa is not at all at a good shape. Drilling Work was going on so lot of noise around. Standards are not upto the level in any way.

    Taj staff has always been courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Hi there,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Privacy: The villa should have a extension of door bell to porch area also, we had ordered few water bottles, to our surprise the waiter instead of using the front door, showed up directly behind, it was night time and we were completely shocked, definitely our privacy was breached. Management should look into solutions to avoid such things. 2. Pest Control: Though everything indide the rooms is in good condition, but the garden backside was full of leeches, our one year old was playing in the same lawn!! It is difficult to get rid of them but it is unacceptable to have them in the lawn of one of the most expensive rooms you have. 3. Safety of Valuables!! I know at the end of the day it's customers responsibility to keep their valuables safe, but you do not expect things (Wallet and Rayban) missing from your room that too in a five star property. Though we got the things back, but we went through lot of mental trauma ( before checking out self and wife had checked each and every drawer for any missing items, we couldn't find any, after one hour of toiling in sun up and down from reception to room, checking the rooms thrice, when we had given up the hope, things were found at lost and found department, the relief of finding the timgs back stopped me from further investigating the matter) and ended up wasting 2 hours of our time. It's important that management should look into this seriously. We have been to many such properties in India and abroad and rated Taj in top, but this particular incident has put a dent into it. Overall i would like to thank the Fishermen Cove team for making my sons first birthday memorable. However the should seriously look into the glaring things highlighted above. Will look forward to visit you again. Cheers

    Hi there, It was my second time here at Fisherman Cove and it was my sons first birthday. We had a great start, all our rooms were upgraded one tier up. Edwin was helpful will all formalities. I will appreciate the how beautifully the entire place was maintained. Lovely grass cover, clean beach. Good quality food Courteous staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    The service, breakfast buffet, well laid out landscape areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet ventilation - was nil. Room Ac - Not to my expectations.

    The service, breakfast buffet, well laid out landscape areas, the pool and the beach front.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    We really like the stay and of-course the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the Sandal pairs were same. I guess they provided both the pairs for women.

    We really like the stay and of-course the place. We like the hospitality of the staff and all your staffs are very friendly and much assistance. Must visit place. Great location, really pleasant and clean rooms, but the thing that makes this such a good place to stay are the staff. All of the people are incredibly helpful and generous with their time and advice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Lovely get away destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very well mantained, staff is helpful, rooms and public areas are clean. The beach is kept nice, clean and safe with lifeguards even in the monsoon season. The swimming pool gives you possibility to cool down if you do not want to deep in to the sea. Loveley breakfasts with live kitchen. Fresh& nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive.. specially the breakfast should always be included in all the packages..Property should have Kota for non-corporate private citizens. As the corporates occupy all the villas and cottages , others are left with minimum options

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All Taj hotel restaurants uniquely define the cuisines. However, Taj cove chefs may blend South India's traditional food and Taj's cutsom recipe . Ubiquitous menu designs will be more appealing.

    Taj cove's key resources are its staff. The staff are well focused on addressing the customers. Being prompt and punctual, The staff enriches the hotel's experience. The hotel is as beautiful as pristine nature !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    great resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately being part of the TAJ group, one expects things to be perfect and unfortunately they were not up to the standard i would expect from a TAJ hotel but were much better than most other hotels. The hotel is very runed down compared to my last stay there, maintenance in the rooms were not properly supervised before a guest enters the room for the first time, i do need to say is that all the repairs i asked for were done quickly and were controlled by the management. It seem that firefighting issues is their way of doing maintenance now, I would expect preventive maintenance to be in place in a TAJ hotel. Pool was great but small things like the lights inside the pool that even though they are with 12 volt, they should not be dangling inside the pool but should be properly placed, this made my wife very nervous.

    the location is wonderful, at the upper deck restaurant I had two fo the best meal i had in Tamil Nadu, the chef and the serving staff were top rate. at the other two restaurants restaurants the meals were OK but the staff was too hovering. All in all we had a great relaxing experience in the hotel, there were some setbacks but this did not interfere with enjoying 5 great days at the resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    A little touch of paradise outside of Chennai
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While the resort was very nice, the quality-price ratio was average, especially if you go with pets. Pet surcharge is quite expensive.

    Gorgeous facility with extremely friendly staff that makes you feel like you are at home. The setting is really special - very well maintained and scenic. Dinner overlooking the beach is something that can't be enjoyed in many places... The cabins are large and comfortable and make you feel like you truly are staying at an exotic getaway. As a sidenote, this is the hotel used by my company when upper management comes to visit Chennai since it is the best place in the area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Getaway from the bustle of Chennai
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Beautiful place. Service was great - everyone dies their best to ensure that your stay is comfortable. Food was very good and they will change or personalize anything on the menu. Pool was gorgeous. We just loved the beach - good waves. Access to beach and pool is awesome. Lifeguard on the beach is very helpful. We were in the pool late one night and they made sure they left us extra towels on the chairs near our flip flops. Spa was great. We just loved our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Serenity indulged with hospitality at its best!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we always have high hopes while booking Taj properties but this property exceeds all your expectation. We wanted to spend our son Adyah’s first birthday at Tirupati and Chennai was our base. We had initially booked Taj Club house in the vicinity of the city but didn’t like the property much after check in. Immediately we decided to move to Taj Vivanta Fisherman’s cove. We were overwhelmed by the welcoming nature of each and every staff. Special mention is Vinita at the front desk - she is an asset to the property and definitely to the guests as well. We just had to put a word to her and things were done. We are touched by the warmth this property has to offer in today’s era of professionalism. They went and extra mile to decorate the room providing us with a complimentary cake for his birthday. We are really moved and would highly recommend this property. Thanks to the Group who maintain such high standards and have motivated guest service employees that touches the life. Thank you team Taj Vivanta Fisherman’s cove👍🏼 You guys did a great job in creating a memoir for our lifetime.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    The attentiveness of the staff and their ability to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The attentiveness of the staff and their ability to anticipate your need was par excellent. My wife and I being vegetarians, the Chefs, in all the outlets, went out of the way to provide us some delectable dishes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Not a great experience for a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chekin took more than an hour. Did not get both rooms at 2. Got one at 02:30 and other at 03:00. Master double bed is good but not the additional one.

    Ambience and the villa location is awesome.,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    You need to be here to experience this!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Cottage Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited in-room dining menu options (we were told the restaurants were under renovation. Would like to give it a shot during next stay).

    Pet friendly. Top points for this! Very clean, accessible beach. Courteous staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall comfortable and refreshing stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet spread in dinner can be improved and food very expensive too

    Nice beach and swimming pool.. Stay was very comfortable and good activity zone for kids

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend this property to anyone holidaying in Chennai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All the 4 of us loved the property. The luxury, the comfort, the ambience, the yummy food and the sea made our holiday wonderful. The staff - administrative and in the restaurant were amazing. Special thanks to Saksham Saini, who went out of his way from the time we checked in to make our stay pleasant and comfortable, always paying attention to the finer details. Special thanks to Mr. Nagavel, in the restaurant who made sure the dish was exactly what we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Dream come true.......
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of north indian food items in menu is less. Although the preparations are excellent.

    I liked the location of resort , ambience of room, the architecture of resort ,the hospitality of staff, the beach and almost everything. Planning to visit again...... A special thanx to Mr Rajesh kumar who went out of the way to help us and made our stay comfortable and memorable..... Another thanx to Mr Satya who also helped us in the hour of need....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    It’s a beautiful location with a private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a bit of TLC. Both phones in my room didn’t work. The faucet on the tub leaked. The shower drain was plugged. The drapery hooks were not connected. It was a lot of little things... nothing to ruin your stay.

    It’s a beautiful location with a private beach. Very nice pool & facilities. You could spend your weekend there & have a relaxing time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all is perfect

    This hotel is just perfect! The staff is absoltly nice and the equipment perfect. The decoration of the room is beautiful and the restaurant really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Really nice resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice resort. Spacious rooms with comfortable bed. Staff is excellent. friendly and welcoming. Food in both restaurants is great. Beach and location are ok. Overall a really good hotel for a short visit if you just want to relax by the pool and maybe enjoy the well equipped gym.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Regret booking there for 3 nights and staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, from the room, the furnishing is very poor and just does not qualify to be called a luxury property. Food was pathetic right from breakfast choices to the roomservices.

    I just liked the location Only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Very good, but disappointed that I was not made aware of the renovations going on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe the normal dining room was under construction so the breakfast was in a sort of convention hall that was very far away from my room in another building and not very charming. The breakfast buffet was very extensive but many of the items were not very good, I think they should just concentrate on the breakfast items that they can do well.

    The room was very comfortable, clean and nice. The shower was very good. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Stunning location. Heartwarming people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Wandered around and found the tennis and badminton court looking a bit neglected with lots of junk piled off to the side. But this is v isolated.

    Prime beach location and constructed true to typical Tamil culture - save for the reception building! Stunning well maintained grounds and accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Blissful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was awesome

    The Front Staff: Edwin. Absolutely superb. Got us an upgrade and was very kind enough to help us out with queries and concerns immediately. Simply loved the stay. Might not have been same without him being there to attend to us. The beach alongside the property is super clean. The Rooms are spacious and overall the property is very nicely laid out. It was an unplanned trip for a day and it turned out to be a memorable one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    A great get away from the tintinnabulation of the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation work - (now completed) ! (Check).

    I have been to this hotel a few times - sadly, on this occasion I had not been informed about their major renovation work. I thought it wouldn't matter as we are far away in the new Deluxe wing - and perhaps it wouldn't have mattered if you're happy for your peace and quiet to be destroyed by drilling noise. Anyway - everything else is fine - and the work is nearly done - and the hotel gave me a discount and handled my complaint with grace. Well done Patrick. So don't be put off - it's a loverly spot - with two good - if pricey restaurants - Upper Deck in particular if you fancy something continental.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing and good fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Current building and refurb was a bit noisy by the pool.

    Excellent modern and comfortable room. Lovely big pool. Very much enjoyed Beach View restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful and Excellent pick for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    In-room Mini bar could have been better! Biscuit packets was opened at entry and no prize chart given. It took some time to sort things out and could have been better

    Liked the overall property and it's maintained well. There has been a renovation that is happening but that's not disturbing and a good overall stay altogether. Staff was very friendly and they have given goodies like chocolates to my kid which is heart warming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    the location is right on secludee section of the Beach, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is right on secludee section of the Beach, and ofcourse its the Taj Hospitality one receives which is the golden standard, makes your stay an absolute bliss

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is now looking old & worn the excellent staff made it a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The building work & the bar was closed it's not really the hotels fault but the beach is absolutely disgusting old cloths ETC ETC dead fish & turtles washed up on the shore line

    Superb helpful staff especially at the pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Good short stay but marred by some problems of a very old hotel property..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs in the cottage. Mosquitoes in the bathroom. Laid back responses by house keeping. Very old air conditioning equipment. The buggies to move around take a lot of waiting to arrive. Front office behaves quite like small hotel staff with the sole exception of Aditi Diwakaran who is just impressive in demeanour and behaviour.

    Nice location with a good private beach. Old property that needs good staff to maintain. Needs renovation for sure

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Best resort in ECR on weekend and vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dnt like the bed quality , extra bed was also very discomfortab .. battery car driver morning around 9am from restarunt to room c 14 ... was driving fast and turning like a rollo cost while kids in veichle ( veichle name whale )

    Cottage , swimming , restraints .. staff curtesy near pool was very good ( crow ate our food staff came up with another food even without asking )

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    Staff were woefully short of training to be part of the hospitality industry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and overall experience at the poolside restaurant was terrrible. I’d call it 3 star experience at 5 star rates.

    Dinner at the Upper deck restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Good leisure stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at bay Restuarant limited options for vegetarians. Waiter was reluctant to explain when questioned. Food taste below average and we returned some.

    Location ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    Great staycation n villa, offer basic amenities free when the guests are staying at villas atleast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pest control should be handled by the management. Requesting the guests to keep the doors closed is not convincing.

    I stayed at a villa. If this had been USA, at premium rates coffee and basic breakfast would have been offered as complimentary.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    fab hotel but that's what you are paying for - spent 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fab hotel but that's what you are paying for - spent 2 chill-down days there before coming home to UK. lovely swimming pool, bar and good restaurants - the canteen-type restaurants was ok but other restaurants better. no much round in area but its a holiday resort so good for relaxing on site. husband pleased that he could get English football on tv!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.7
    Could be fantastic with a little more love and care
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Construction work outside our bedroom at 1:30am. Pool towels stained and frayed. Bedroom linens disappointing

    Lovely gardens. Great pool. Friendly staff. Bay view restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent for a few days of relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe some sports facilities.

    Great place. A little dated but definitely in the amazing category. The surrounding area is quiet so perfect to a relaxed time but not great if you want action packed stuff. It was off season though so maybe things pick up.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    Hotel rooms and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During checkout, faced a atrocious behaviour of reception staff. The bills were not settled properly. Extra bills were added in our receipt. When asked about this, the behaviour of the staffs was very arrogant towards me. Never expected this kind of service from India’s most prestigious hotel chain.

    Hotel rooms and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    its very peaceful and nice to get away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is dated and if Taj want to keep up with the local competition (Radison and InterC) they need serious upgrading and renovation. It is overpriced for what you get and staff need to improve their service

    its very peaceful and nice to get away from the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing seaside stay in elegant resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise in main building and at pool from major refurbishment works - it would have been good to be forewarned (but it was a good gesture to give us a room upgrade). Front Desk staff all charming and helpful but need to be briefed not to convert final bill into foreign currency without guest consent - fortunately a supervisor quickly resolved the problem for us

    Excellent and friendly service throughout. Lovely beachside grounds. Vast pool and beach. Great seafood restaurant overlooking sea. Delicious breakfasts. Upgraded to deluxe room with balcony - spacious and elegant. Laundry beautifully presented (though costs a bit high). Easy access to wonderful Mammalipuram stone carvings and Chennai airport - good hotel drivers especially Mr Maria . Security staff notably alert and helpful (eg lighting paths at night and taking photos)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    My cottage was located at the extreme end of the property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My cottage was located at the extreme end of the property which was adjacent to a village. Practically through the day the villagers used to play loud music, church prayers and mosque prayers were audiable. We felt at home :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Excellent, relaxing, peaceful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Note: when sitting at the Upper Deck for dinner, please wear full pants. This is because the mosquitoes are quite vicious and can disturb the dining experience.

    The swimming pool was excellent. The cheesecake was freshly baked. The ambiance was charming with minimal noise around. The bedding and toiletries were of excellent standards. The staff being polite as always.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Over priced and outdated. Needs a serious makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so run down and old. One of the worst bathroooms I have ever seen in a 5 star property. Straight from the 1980's. Serious refurbishing required. Also they did not provide me a car drop off service when I needed one. Being a 5 star hotel I couldn't believe when they told me that they did not have even one car available and they couldn't even call for one. The room was so terrible and run down for a whopping 15000 Rs per night. 3 star hotel rooms are better honestly. Terrible stay and it out a big dent in my pocket.

    Pool, Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location and property as well as amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower curtains at the tub.

    The reception staff Ms Aditi and Jeini knew about my wife's neck condition and showed genuine care for her health and made all arrangements posisble to make our stay comfotable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Memorable, Luxurious and Pampered to the hilt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough Question!

    Service was exemplary. Food was outstanding (Fettucine was fab and the pesto was perfectly balanced unlike most other local Italian restaurants). Staff were courteous to a fault and made us feel very welcome indeed. We're already planning another (longer) trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and very spacious place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was overwhelmed with guest due to long weekend and could not cope with breakfast seating. ☹️ The rooms in the main building could do with some renovations.

    Nice place for a weekend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    We had an Excellent Time !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Since everything needs to come from the main facility and rooms are scattered around the property, at times it takes time to get simple things like few additional glasses, ice flasks, coffee from the restaurant, etc.,. There is not even a broom and a mop in the room (please keep it in a hidden area) that guest can use to clean the room themselves. Particularly after a beach visit, the entire room is bound to get dirty and I wish I had basic cleaning materials in the room for us to do basic cleaning ourselves. 2) I hate the valet parking system as practiced in India (particularly Chennai). People don't take care of valuable things such as a car, like you would on your own. Also there is a heavy expectation on tips by the valets and as the economy is becoming cashless it will become very difficult to satisfy this type of work / service providers. You should just DISPLAY a sign saying VALET PARKING AVAILABLE and bring out these guys only if requested. I hated when someone kept running to my car every time i drove thru the lobby area. You can divert these resources to something more useful in the property or cut down on cost and make rooms more affordable so your business will grow even better.

    The staff and their attitude towards their work was the most impressive. Added to that a well maintained property and the attractive facilities. In a city where most people are not interested to do a good job and be engaged in what they are doing, the property management stands out to have built a good team of staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.3
    Family staycation at Fisherman's cover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at 4 top-end sea view villas with family members. Many stray dogs roamed around through the beach area and were barking outside the balcony and made full mess of the sun chairs/towels in one of the 2 nights we stayed Coffee was below par (room service) except when requested for South Indian coffee at Seagull restaurant Instructions was there to keep the balcony doors closed to prevent insects/mosquitoes and indeed, there were - so could not enjoy sea view villa and sea breeze with this constraint Two of the four room had bathroom overflow issues which were rectified but it is too late as one of two days was already gone. Overall, the property and furniture seem very dated and is in need of a refresh as well as the white bath towels - hard are nearly discolored

    Staff were amazing, very friendly and always smiling, and quite responsive Despite what we didn't like (mostly minor), it impacted the experience for the money spent but was still enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Good for a family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional fun amenities for kids like swimming pool ball or bow and arrow were very expensive. The snacks in the mini bar was about to expire in a month and tasted bad

    Everything was perfect and very good staff response

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at Vivanta by Taj fishermancove
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    We loved the property sea view queen size bed & thanks a lot to all thr staff. We would like to appreciate John Chef who has cooked the most delicious food and for giving us the aroma of all Indian and international menu. We look forward to stay again at vivanta by Taj fishermen and to taste the good food cooked by John Chef. His humbleness and polite nature is appreciated by all my family members.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Good weekend getaway from Chennai !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is vast, so it feels pretty peaceful even on a busy weekend. Also, the dinner @Upperdeck restaurant with candle light and sea breeze on your face and good Italian food was a memorable experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    4.6
    We had booked the premium indulgence sea view cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Cottage Sea View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been to other Taj hotels by Vivanta Group. But i would say the hospitality and the service of the staff, cleanliness, food everything was not up to the standard of the other hotels.

    We had booked the premium indulgence sea view cottage. The cottage was good with a good view of the sea and it had an open shower with full privacy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty old property. Hence slightly worn out accessories, especially in the washroom. Water supply in the bathroom was erratic. Had to call for the plumber. Quite surprising for a upscale property like this.

    Excellent location, beautiful views from the sea facing rooms. Breakfast buffet had a very good spread. Very clean and serene (almost) private beach.check in and check out staff were very friendly and efficient despite a sizable crowd.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Great stay, lovely location, great staff will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom fittings were hard to use & overall look of the room was a bit dated... Lack. Of. Small modern amenities found in new Taj's... Small things... Weather is hot in April & May

    The property had lovely views & gardens on the beach.. The villas well designed to enjoy outdoors. Pool was nice... sufficient extra hotel activities available ..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.4
    Swimming pool,beach and taste of food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Made us to wait more than 15 minutes for check in. To get a carry bag ,we called the reception and room service more than 10 times and waited for half an hour. Welcome chain made of shells not given to us. Children got frustrated.

    Swimming pool,beach and taste of food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.7
    Great property, let down by very un-Taj like management and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property let down by staff and management who could not handle the crowd over the long weekend. Breakfast at overflow room was lousy, food was not refilled and I had to wait 15 min for a clean plate

    Excellent location, great beach, awesome facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    7.5
    Not great, not bad either
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They allotted our rooms nearly 1.5 hrs after we arrived. Linens were not changed. Could see a cobweb in one of our rooms. AC was down for an hour.

    Great ambience, nice maintenance, good food, nice pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Perfect short family gateway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be some water activities by the beach and some family activities should be there . Cycles should not be charged, Cricket & Lawn tennis should be arranged. If beach could not be accessed after 6, some musical event should be arranged by the beachside.

    Loved the garden view room, the bathroom, the bed.....the food....all were upto the mark!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Awesome beach side experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping is a bit laid back.

    The easily accessible beach, wide variety of menu selection at the restaurants, wide variety of beverages selection. Staff is very courteous and serves the guests well. Excellent view of the sea and beach from the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    GOOD. memorable visit. nothing more to complain. food was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in took 1 hour. made to wait in the lobby after a long drive. but still we were taken care by your gr staff

    beds were quite comfy and serene. good sleep generator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.7
    A great memorable time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities can be more modernised and better maintained given Taj brand name. Not enough variety in breakfast buffet and staff should be trained better to handle crowded weekends

    Scenic, quiet and good location. Food was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    Loved our stay and we will cherish our memories with the fisherman's cove:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing at all that I did not like.

    We loved the ambiance the sea view, bayview restaurant the kind and helpful staff. We have had a very memorable stay with the fisherman's cove. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking out for a break from the monotony and relax in luxury:) I am looking forward to visiting them more often:)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Super stay at Fishcove
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Increase the spread in your french restaurant

    Breakfast spread was amazing. The restaurants served good quality food. The bar was super and overall property is absolutely well maintained

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Great Holiday experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Spa experience was good not great. It was my first time and I didn't get the service i was expecting as I seem to have chosen the wrong package. So discuss your requirements clearly before deciding the package.

    Great views, experience, Hospitality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Not the Taj quality you would have expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the swimming pool was 4 foot deep with the majority of the pool tiles cracked or replaced with missed matched tiles. Also if you ask hotel to book you a taxi you have to pay 3,000R to the airport were as when you arrived it only cost 1,000R.

    Very comfy bed, but as for the garden view it was a terrace with terracotta pots

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    10
    An excellent place to enjoy your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    CommuNication to and from the city centre, and absence of airport pickup and drop service

    The friendly staff, location, restaurant and food, accommodation, ambiance and environment, and every thing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Amazing beach location, excellent facilities and staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor shower was amazing, though the water didn't drain very well and pooled

    Amazing beach location, excellent facilities and staff, great restaurants and breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    The hospitality was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality was great!! Thomas was very helpful during check in and check out. Also the food was very good. Nice big property to take walks. The beach by the property was also reasonably clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely break from the huzzle and buzzled life and forget the world around once you are in the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Cottage Garden View - King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could add more activities

    Amazing food especially the breakfast choice and smiling servers and mostly friendly and happy staff and calm serene and safe surrounds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Family wedding visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bay View restaurant food was decent - could improve a bit. Would have been good to actually have a bar at the pool vs calling it up and coming up with them 10-15 mins (or with a group of 5-6 about 25-30 mins) later.

    Very picturesque view of the pool, palm trees and Bay of Bengal from my room. Pool was very good for families with different sections catering to each member. The pool bar was nice as well! Food organized for the wedding party was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay😇😇😇
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast taste was ok...have to improve taste

    Overall ambience is good.... warm welcome n staff greeting was nice....really enjoyed with room comfort n cleanliness....can feel privacy👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Luxury resort at waterside
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Villa Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drift of the sea in front of the bungalows is not communicated in advance as danger; no rescue boat disposable.

    Exellent hotel directly at the beach; bungalow with sea view was perfect. Good food at the romantic candellight sea view fish restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taj Fisherman’s Cove Resort & Spa, Chennai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: