Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. India hotel reviews
  3. Kerala hotel reviews
  4. Kottayam hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of GK`s Riverview Homestay

Reviews of GK`s Riverview Homestay 3 stars

GK`s Riverview Homestay,Pulikkuttyssery, 686015 Kottayam, India

#3 of 23 hotels in Kottayam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 25 B&B reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.6

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 24

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2019

    10
    Wonderful homestay with a delightful family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful homestay with a delightful family. George was extremely welcoming, gracious, and knowledgeable. Great food. Beautiful area for roaming endlessly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2019

    8.8
    Warm & welcoming Homestay with great hosts & food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    George and his family were great hosts at this excellent homestay.All meals were tasty and were made with local ingredients.Local ferry boat trip across the lagoon that George suggested was a great way of seeing the backwaters. He also arranged an early morning canoe trip along the waterways which run along in front of his home. The location is so tranquil & relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2018

    10
    Perfect short stay in a serene, peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect short stay in a serene, peaceful location. George, Dai and family have been fabulous hosts and the food was wonderful. A special stay that we will not forget. The coffee in our room was a nice bonus also! Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2018

    10
    An amazing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing experience. George was a fantastic host and we felt at home right away. We had hot water powered by solar and WiFi. Beautiful and very quiet place, made so special by George who looked after us so well (even rescuing us when we got lost !)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Homestay. Best ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are few infrastructure issues. But that's ok since its not a hotel

    Excellent hospitality. Very friendly environment. You get good guidance about surrounding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    very nice place in a quiet location. Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming place, George and his family made you feel at home right away. The home cooking was a nice touch and they were super useful for showing us directions & helping us get in touch with the next place we were staying. P.s sorry I didn’t get a chance to write in your guest book!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Excellent short stay in idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the idyllic location of this homestay, a very peaceful and relaxing setting. George and his family were extremely welcoming, showing us around their garden to see all types of fruits, vegetables and coffee beans. The meals served were very good and varied. The rooms are basic but very clean and include fridge, kettle, tea/coffee, water and towels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect, silent harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The palce as well as the hosts are amazing! Just in front of rice field, quiet, in the middle of small chanells of Backwaters. George and his wife are grate hosts, who will sevre you amazing home grown coffee and excellent food, as well as organise any local trips.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.4
    super and quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    far away from all if you need things, food is nice but pretty basic for its price, proposed canoe-ride is nice but truly expensive (900 ruppies), noisy airco (if one of residents uses it)

    beautiful location, very kind and helpful owner

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    George and his family are super friendly and take really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    George and his family are super friendly and take really good care of their guests. The location is very tranquil and the view around is stunning. Highly recommended is you are OK with basic, yet comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    very quiet place in middle of trees, next to small lake with plenty of birds to hear and see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very warm reception by Georg and his wife. Breakfast and dinner is served in their own house, all local food, prepared by his wife. Georg is very helpful, organises boots tour on nearby backwater channels. Many different food plants grow in his property, banana, passion fruit, coffee, and many more. Georg prepares a very tasty coffee with his own coffee grains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    If you dont mind basic facilities and love nature, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic but it had a kettle and a small fridge which was unexpected, a table fan at the porch was great. Wifi available too. Great place to just sit back and relax with a view of a massive rice paddy. The hosts are very warm and hospitable people. Home cooked food is great too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.2
    Unique homestay in the backwaters
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little hard by Western standards which might not suit everyone.

    A unique stay somewhat off the beaten track with host George providing a fabulous insight into life on the backwaters. Also the cooking was exceptional and all local produce much of it home grown. The existing reviews already tell the story: really not to miss.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Incredible experience and homestay. It touched our souls
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    This is one of the most incredible homestays. the owners - George and his wife Di couldn't do enough for you! The introduction into kerala village life, serenity and ambiance touched our souls. One of the nicest family we have met - a treasure within paradise. Food amazing and kids loved hearing about the wildlife and plants. Great canoe trip around backwaters!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    George and his family were excellent host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    George and his family were excellent host. He suggested many things to do and help organise them

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    great place if you need peace and want to be with local people excellentople
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in room dark

    Home cooking. The most peaceful place I've been in Munnar able to meet local culture little tourism

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Really nice view view and comfortable hamac.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice view view and comfortable hamac.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    10
    The location is simply beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location is simply beautiful. It's peaceful and relaxing. George is a wonderful host who is genuinely interested in his guests and will do all he can to ensure you enjoy your stay. The home cooking was great and forget all those expensive house boat trips; George sends you out on the local ferry for 54 rupees! He also organised a canoe trip for us (brilliant), massages, local walks, sorted our bus journey out and helped me with some lost property I had left on the plane. Well worth a visit

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    10
    In the middle of the scenic Kerala rice fields we found an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the middle of the scenic Kerala rice fields we found an extraordinary oasis. George and his lovely family did everything to truley make us feel at home. For us it was the perfect place to cherish nature and escape from India's hectic cities. And above all we've met warm-hearted people who supported us in any way and spoilt us with delicious meals... Perfect for those who seek inspiring, welcoming simplicity instead of anonymous, expansive luxury.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    10
    We had a wonderful stay with George and his family, and were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a beautiful quiet, low key village, not a tourist destination, which suited us, but if you are looking for entertainment near by, perhaps try elsewhere or opt for a shorter stay.

    We had a wonderful stay with George and his family, and were made to feel very at home. The rooms are clean, comfortable, equipped with fridge, tea, (home made) coffee facilities, and have a great view over the rice paddy. George looked after us, helping organise canoe trips, ferries, tuk tuks, umbrellas etc! We would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    7.9
    Very warm, welcoming host - willing to go the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need to eat in, as no nearby facilities. Well out in country, so access complicated along poor road. Not suitable length walks for visitors with mobility problems. Lack of access to "tourist" activities, but worth it for Georges outstanding personal helpfulness.

    Very warm, welcoming host - willing to go the extra mile. George was a fund of information,and never tired of answering our questions. Breakfast varied and tasty. Good sized room with verandah overlooking rice fields. Interesting local walks and reasonable access to ferries. Bird and wildlife.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    George is an exceptional host and we were made to feel part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    George is an exceptional host and we were made to feel part of his family. We experienced the warmest hospitality, and his ability to organise activities is second to none. This is living in the Backwaters so don't expect all western comforts.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    9.6
    It is like an ideal homestay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The option of canoeing instead of walking for city folk accustomed to driving, when not out for a stroll. :) A higher speed wifi.

    It is like an ideal homestay. You feel very comfortable with the GK family household. The food is as authentic as it can get, in Kerala. The lush green and vibrant surroundings and the laidback people make for perfect leasurely strolls in the village. Fertile ground for bird watchers and naturalists.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.2
    GK gave me some great tips and I have already recommended to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi but this is India!

    GK gave me some great tips and I have already recommended to others. Ideal for a 2 day stay if you are travelling.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 24

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: