Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Coromandel 5 stars

No 37, M.G Road, Nungambakkam, Egmore-Nungambakam, 600034 Chennai, India

#5 of 269 hotels in Chennai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    a/c was bad in the room i stayed.in the ealy morning we were sweating due to heat.too lazy in the early hours to complain and get the room changed. infact i have mentioned it verbally during the checkout.

    awesome spread of breakfast.jiva spa was class apart.gym needs lots of update.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really old . Shower mixer wasn’t working. Lot of construction noise. Food in golden dragon was pathetic. The salon service needs to be to the JIVA standard. It a Taj property but feels like a Vivanta.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost nothing

    I found this hotel the BEST ever among tens of hotels I have visited. The staff is very caring and welcoming to an amazing level. All facilities inside the room are in best conditions. Beds covers are very soft, comfort and clean. The Toilet is equipped with all what gust requires even exceeds expectations. Food is excellent with different varieties. In Spa, I used massage service, it was great experience and real value of money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small and a bit tired looking, generally I think the rooms need refurbishing including the bathrooms. Also, if you’re a smoker it would be nice to have a small sitting area to accommodating this instead of providing a smoking room just off the car park which made you feel like a parasite!

    We had a nice stay at this hotel, the restaurants are very good and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They initially gave me a room outside which there was a loud sound of repairs going on. When asked they said, “ Yes — repairs are going on from 10-6 everyday” and they changed the room. Clearly they knew there was a problem when they alotted the room but didn’t mention it and after I realised also But I didn’t hear anyone use the word sorry. They did change the room promptly though.

    Lovely property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the second time I stayed in Taj Cormandel. Very comfortable, helpful staff, good facilities, several restaurants, swimming pool, quiet garden and excellent spa. An oasis to retreat to after a busy day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's pretty rundown inside. Rooms need a lot of refurbishing and the staff just nit properly trained. Very unlike a Taj experience. We had problems from check in to check out. Real let down.

    Just that it is a Taj Property so expected to be good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were exceptional. Breakfast included Indian and Continental/English. Loved the sweets/cakes we received every evening. Good variety of restaurants The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the overall stay experience i can only say: wow , its amazing............ since we stepped into hotel, from the services of doorman, traditional welcome ceremony, efficient check in, high modern and cleanes of room condition, very professional staffs, all the staffs we confronted with were very nice, they can simply address your name and pay highly attention of your desires and meet your needs, the food quality is definitely match the high international standard, in additional to that Sauna experience was amazing. we were so impressed by the services of Taj Hotel, its highly recommend to all of you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked this hotel for my father as I have stayed 2 years back and have respected the level of service provided especially taking care of my tradition as a Muslim guest. The breakfast was an amazing international standard that I have not expected and the room was always clean and nice smell with few gesturrs that have made my and my father start in this trip quite enjoyable. My father always have one to two trip every year and based on my recommendation Taj has become the first choice for his next trip. Thanks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I could stay a month here. The staff in this hotel are the best of all the Taj properties I’ve been to.

    My room. Superb service by the bell captains, front office, southern spice and anise restaurants. Waiters Ganesh, Subbu and Cyrus spoilt me. Fantastic cakes from the lobby lounge as presents. Great hairdresser Ester. Chef Kishore and Jerry in particular.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Break fast could have been included with the price!

    the chk in experience with jasmine garland and kum kum was quite impressive .The way I was guided to the room was also fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are awfully soft though the Matress was improved by adding a harder layer. The inability to checkout before. I was in a hurry in the morning and wanted to have the bill settled the night before.

    Very clean, facilities was good. Onsite restaurants was grand. People very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    May be the room was a bit small for 3 people cause converted the sofa to a bed is not suitable for a big size people.

    The facilities. the breakfast was superb. all the people and the hospitality given was very warm and welcoming. Responses to our needs was attended immediately without any hesitation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise iin the corridor, while cleaning the other guest rooms, the building looks very old, from outside didn’t look like 5star hotel.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine

    Staff were superp. Really made you feel welcome. There was a generous ity of spirit regarding small meals Vs buffets in the restaurant and a regular supply of fresh fruit chocolates and water to the room f.o.c. Also some nice farewell gifts

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI WAS VERY POOR. and ROOM KEY DIDNT WORK LAST NIGHT. I WAS TIRED BUT HAD TO DOING DOWN AND CHANGED CARD KEY.

    IT WAS VERY NICE ESPECIALLY HOUSE KEEPING.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is limited to the devices up to 4. Coffee area space is very limited. Flowing water at coffee area is too noisy.

    Shower was excellent and room had enough space to move around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I STAYED FOR TWO NIGHTS AND ON THE THIRD DAY I HAD TO LEAVE AROUND 7.30 P.M SO I REQUESTED THEM TO REDUCE MY ROOM TARIFF TO HALF DAY BUT THE MANAGER IN CHARGE ON THAT DAY RIGHT OUT REFUSED. THIS WAS EVE3N THOUGH APART FROM MY ROOM RENT I PAID A BILL OF ABOUT RS 3000/-

    THE ROOM WAS TO 5 STAR STANDARDS AND QUALLITY OF FOOD

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps you could include a chicken curry or fish curry to go with idli, thosai and puri .

    Breakfast was excellent. We loved the safety considerations. Thank you especially to Mr. Siddartha, Mr.Saravanan and Mr.Subbu from breakfast for their excellent suggestions, care and consideration to ensure that guests have a comfortable and enriching experience in the hotel and Chennai central.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything

    Nothing much, centraly located other than this Nothing is excited. Room's are small in size, tariff is ubnormally high. Reciption staff are not trained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent service. Good clean and spacious room. Good quality toiletories. Great pool and sauna/steam/chill shower area. Good breakfast spread. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was dated and dull. bed good, bathroom ancient. Wifi not good - kept dropping.

    Staff very helpful from the Concierge - who deserves a pat on the back - to the person who serviced my room and added some extra things and tidied my computer wires with grips.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like Chennai! a hectic city with very few sights worth observing - not somewhere you want to spend any time as a tourist!

    KInd of older style hotel but the staff were just so amazing you did not notice! Taj staff training and hospitality at its very best. The food in the Spice Route was some of the best we have ever eaten in India with the most attentive staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Every guy here so friendly and kind. I'm so impressed about the house keepers here name "Vasu"...that he took care of my room very very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast service was terrible. Tables were not cleared, food was not replenished and general service was not good.

    Service at the pool was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was fine, but lacked a venting system. Also the hotel location is such that there is no possibility of green spaces.

    The staff is truly extraordinary. Simply the best hotel staff we have experienced ever anywhere. Professional, kind, attentive and going many extra miles to help in any possible way.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transportation high priced and not well organised. Asked for pickup from hospital but transportation didn't come. And there was no direct contact number to communicate.

    Open buffet lunch at anis was great Clean and quiet room Room service excellent Reception disk polite and very fast Friendly staff nice. View from the room not bad

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the Taj Coromandel have made this a memorable stay in a Chennai. Their hospitality and guidance as to what to do and how to navigate Madras has been most appreciated. There has been no request too troublesome for them and they are all exceptionally nice. We have stayed at the hotel for little over one week and it already feels like a home from home. The facilities are very good and the hotel is very well maintained. I thoroughly look forward to coming back again soon!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything!

    The room was very comfortable . Of course I was upgraded . I like the idea of two toilets in the suite, Did not stay long enough to appreciate more. However the sauna and steam bath facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite One Bedroom with King Bed
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit poor. You need to pay to get a good connection.

    Individual attention from staff. Attention to detail. When things go wrong they are fixed quickly. Excellent executive lounge on floor 6. Great location. Good restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service!!! The breakfast buffet was just average, patisseries tasted like those were from last week! We requested for a few things (twice) but the staff didn't bother to be of any help! The room was good but the noice from the corridor was quite disturbing!

    The restaurant southern spice is really amazing and it's a must try.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    n/a

    everything was just perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    really professional service nice swimingool tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff are kind and cooperative. Good ambiance

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None to state

    The Brand Brings in the success while conducting Business

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Brand Never disappointed

    Good hotel, in good location Staff are very courteous and quick in responding

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction activities which creates noise

    The hospitality was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hospitality present all over the hotel ! take care of Syed Thaheer ! he is very good !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best adress to stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was mouth watering, the staff were over whelming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Restaurants were great so with location. Staff doing there best to please u . Dosa is the best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable staff, from the time I checked till I left they took care of my every request

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't really understand the tipping culture , which made me feel uncomfortable.

    Was a lovely stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was amazing, staff was so polite and cooperative and the best part was cleanliness.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu was good , the service was also very prompt

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful experience with amazing attention to detail at every level. They couldn’t have done more for us. A very personal experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pizza

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT WAS GOOD COMFORTABLE STAY AND VERY GOOD FOOD.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    distance from airport in the rain

    we liked everything !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet speed can be better .....

    All the staff and services.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms&restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had forgotten an item in the room. And they had promptly agreed to courier it to my house. I am grateful to them for this.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalised service of Mr Dharmesh

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect.

    Attention to detail.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Southern spice restaurant and its staff were great - especially Mr. Sivakumar. They looked after us very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite One Bedroom with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It was nice experience to stay there..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the standard free wifi is slow and not useful

    The staff is pleasing polite and the facilities are good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very snooty reception person called Himani.

    Front office Shobanaji was very warm and caring.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice ambient, restaurants all looks good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    service is amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Club Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is not well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spread for breakfast

    Lobby and room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bath room faculties like bodget etc

    Staff courtesy , good general care and help in arranging our trip

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely pleasant and hospitable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff @ reception were very caring n supportive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was extraordinary. The pool was exquisite and the room was Grand.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The filter coffee was awesome. The restaurant "Southern spice" - food and the staff were extremely nice and hospitable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed and bathroom/shower were incredibly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect

    Food test is too good n specialy Mr subus specialy very good...his service too excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: