Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Deccan 5 stars

Road # 1 Banjara Hills , Banjara Hills, 500034 Hyderabad, India

#10 of 215 hotels in Hyderabad

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 641 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.6
    Disgusting staff behavior, probably only that person with a racist mindset
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting staff behavior, especially receptionist Ms Pooja, had 3 guests visiting me, invited them to my room to hand over some gifts, one woman and 2 men, in daylight, hotel rule says guests cannot go in the room, I felt very insulting after repeatedly requesting for 15 minutes, but the receptionist came with a security guard to stop, it was a kind of intimidating and insulting experience. Afterwards I watched from the ground and from for sometime, I found several people going up and whom I have good reason to believe that they are guests of residents including some westerners, people walking up to the reception and seeing off their friends. There was no security intervention or verification done at the lift. Maybe partly the problem may be from a racist mindset of the particular staff, there isn't an option even to sit in the same floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    A memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had a very nice stay in this hotel. The welcome was very friendly and this first impression continued over the whole stay. The staff made every effort to meet my needs. I had a spacious, very clean room and a bed with a comfortable mattress. The hotel is already a bit old, but this gives it a special cosy atmosphere, I liked. The breakfast buffet was big with a wide variety of choices with both Indian and international food. There were live counters for pancakes and coffee. Especially watching the cook preparing the delicious coffee was an experience of its own. You should not miss it. I also enjoyed lunch and dinner there, both of which was delicious. But what set this hotel really apart from all other hotels I have been before was how I was being cared for by the Chefs Srinivasa and even more B.Kumar. They took their time to introduce me to the delights of the (South) Indian cuisine. This made my stay here a really memorable experience that exceeded all my expectations. Next time in Hyderabad I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the room for my parents and they were terribly disappointed. After stating that they will settle the bill at checkout, without any permission, they charged the card I had used to book the room claiming that it is hotel policy. My family has traveled extensively and this is the first time we've heard of this. Also, on the day of the checkout, at 10 am, my parents return to the room after breakfast and find the concierge, without their permission, checking the mini-bar and the room. When they have my credit card on file, why do they need to check the mini-bar while my parents are having breakfast. Very inappropriate behavior and shocking attitude towards hotel guests. Honestly, never staying at a Taj branded hotel ever again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.3
    Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s 3 star hotel, with dirty bathroom, old room, improper room service, worst guest service. The Room charge does not deserve this level. With the same amount of money, I could have stay in real 5 star hotel. It’s worst Taj hotel ever seen.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable business hotel in Banjara Hills area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Concierge tried to rip me off with hotel cab--charged me 1500 rupee to go just a few km (I am white), and charged my friend who looks more indian < 500 RS for the same drive. Suggest to avoid their recommendations and just use Uber for transportation. Off of a busy road so must take a tuk-tuk at least to get anywhere, not at all walkable. Whole design outside of the main entrance feels a bit old and dim--more of a business hotel than a 5 star resort. Business center is a very sad place to be. Free wifi almost useless without a VPN because of heavy packet-blocking and connectivity issues, so it's basically pay for the upgrade to get work done. You'll be happier sitting in the restaurant with a strong drink and an LTE connection.

    Lovely checkin experience. Comfortable rooms. Location great to get between city center and Jubilee Hills/Hitech city with several malls nearby. Staff extremely friendly, professional, and accommodating for the most part. Food buffet pretty good with lots of options. Included breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building with huge open indoor area with an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful building with huge open indoor area with an incredible stained glass roof and glass elevators to see it all. Very comfortable rooms with tasty bar snacks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great Taj Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room had a very musty smell, but we asked for a change, and got a new room

    Nice location, beautiful property. Good spread for breakfast. Helpful staff, we asked to change our room, and the we got a new one straight away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, always smiling and ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is not child friendly, jacuzzi is worn out an need to be replaced.

    Very friendly staff, always smiling and ready to help. The property was very clean, in a very good location and definitely was great value for money. Good choice of food for breakfast and many thanks to Jr. Sous chef Mr B. Kumar who made sure my kids had some take away everyday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    A happy relaxed atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a warm welcoming helpful atmosphere right from the impressive turbaned doorman to all staff in the hotel. The complimentary service extended by lobby manager to drop us and pick us up from Taj Krishna is very helpful and time saving

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Extremely attentive personnel, the chef went to the extent...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Extremely attentive personnel, the chef went to the extent of asking my son what he liked and having it served for breakfast. And the choice was excellent as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Not very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Corridors and room were very dirty and stinky. We had to request the staff to change our room. Fortunately they found us another room, which was slightly better, but not what you would expect in a 5star hotel. Definitely not the kind of hotel that I would recommend to others

    Location is best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    The air conditioning was not good at all.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was not good at all. We had advised staff to clean our room before leaving but was not taken care off, leading us to sleep in a dirty room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.0
    Lot of improvement of greeting understanding customer needs and also agility of staff is needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff awareness and agility lacked a lot. Felt for a moment that in staff was themselves lost in their world. Let alone how will guest feel

    Loved the Sushi at Syn restaurant inside the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Stayed here for the first time and also first experience...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here for the first time and also first experience with a Taj Group hotel. Very beautiful property and well maintained.Staff were very helpful and ready to attend the guests at anytime.Food was good and overall the experience was fantastic.Special mention of Sr Chef Srinivas . Thanks to Taj Deccan team for your great hospitality .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Simply the best hotel experience we have ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Taj Deccan is beautiful and the staff were simply amazing. The staff were friendly, kind and attentive and made our stay the very best my husband and I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. We really enjoyed our day with Aijaz the driver who helped us by recommending best tourist sites and great shopping and eating. The attentiveness of Srinivasa the chef and the stewards was amazing. It was my birthday on our last day and we were overwhelmed with the care mand the generosity of staff especially Kumar the chef who designed a special South Indian birthday lunch menu and made the most delicious cake and Hema from housekeeping who delivered special gifts and flowers to my room! All staff were easy to talk to and provided excellent service, the staff are a true testament to the quality of this first class hotel! It was a truly unforgettable experience. Thank you all for being so kind and caring, we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful Indian sojourn, luxurious, great coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room. Delicious buffet breakfast and dinners. Lovely outdoor swimming pool. All staff kind and efficient. We had a delightful five day stay at very reasonable cost.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant but sometimes frustrating due to inefficient table service.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Residency Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast time seemed inefficient. A cup of tea or a cup of orange juice took 10-15mins to come every morning.

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.1
    Good location with friendly staff but certainly room for improvement with the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could be better. They are not bad but they are rather small for a luxury hotel. Fitness center small and not available late hours. No slippers in the room.

    Value for money. Good service with friendly staff. Reasonable restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Very hospitable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable and comfortable. The staff was more than accommodating and the room was very well kept. I enjoyed the room service and the breakfast spread. I hired a car with a driver for a day, the driver was extremely helpful and the hotel's charge for this service was extremely reasonable. The front desk staff were very friendly. I will definitely stay here for all my future travels to Hyderabad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Travelling with small kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No chance to find something negative about Taj Deccan.

    Extremely friendly staff. They even arranged baby cot for our baby from a different hotel because their cots were taken. And fresh seasonal fruit in the evening was just what we needed after a busy day :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    A very comfortable, friendly hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated, especially the bathroom. The breakfast buffet selection is not quite as varied as other Taj hotels but still good.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly upon arrival and during my stay. Happy to help with any requests and prompt in doing so. The rooms are very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel and courteous staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast setup was a total mess.Seating was not adequate and totally understaffed.the breakfast setup in Banjara and Taj Krishna are very organised.This was the only disappointment

    Clean hotel and courteous staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    4.6
    Below par service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall below par service. Felt like the senior staff did not care. E.g very disappointed by the service @ breakfast on the 28th. When pointed out, staff wanted to have an argument !!Same with checking in, allotted 2 rooms on different floors, while we had booked for family, promised to fix it, but tomorrow never came. The welcome letter was a formality, with no follow thru. Overall very poor experience, will not stay again or recommend

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    My stay at Taj Deccan was pleasant and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little soft for me, causing slight back discomfort by the morning. My partner had no issues with the matress

    I loved the cleanliness and friendly and courteous staffThe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    A memorable and happy experience in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Residency Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was at times a bad of our lingering in my bathroom.

    Great and comfortable classic which we enjoyed very much. The restaurant and particularly the breakfasts were excellent. Staff courtesy, care and attention were outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly
    • Group
    • Residency Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I feel that the evening buffet does not cater for the EU visitor sufficiently and the cost of having just a soup is extortionate, three times the price of soup in the U.K.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.7
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked room well in advance to extend from wedding stay but couldnt get key until 5pm, waited till 10:30pm for bags to be brought up from other room despite numerous calls and visits to reception. Room was dirty, empty pringles tube in drawer, litter on bathroom floor.

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Will not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't allowed to have anyone in my room after 7 pm because I'm a single "woman" - This is ridiculous. I am an adult who was visiting friends and if my friend wanted to sit in my room while we wait to go out for dinner, I'm not sure what the problem is. We had to pay extra to change the room to double occupancy just so my friend could sit in my room for a 1-2 hours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cold. We had to change it because of that. Look like they don't have a good temperature control. Evening time you can hear music from outside parties in your room due to poor soundproof.

    The hotel is very clean. All stuff are professional. The restaurant is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.0
    Will not repeat our stay or recommend the Taj Deccan, Hyderabad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 rooms out of the 6 we'd booked, we were able to check-in only between 5.15 - 6 p.m. on the day of arrival which is more than 3 hours after confirmed check-in time and 2 hours after we arrived at the property! They had no logical explanation, no preemptive apology, no suitable compensation for the messy situation. Front desk as well as restaurant service was very slow though they were all pleasant to deal with. Overall we were wondering if this was really a Taj hotel!

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Excellent service, kid friendly, value for money. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Residency Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There didn’t seem to be an expert on the numerous sights of Hyderabad. So you will need to do your own planning.

    I liked that there was a wide variety of food and so, if you didn’t like something you wouldn’t be hungry.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    in room dining was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    requested for a nonsmoking room with 2 double beds- but was given room with single bed- have to explain to the staff that I did ask for 2 double beds & not the single bed- after an hour or so- finally we got the room with 2 double beds- this experience made me not comfortable with this hotel

    in room dining was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Super friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As others have written before: Super friendly and helpful staff; literally everyone. Lovely atmosphere. Excellent food. Reasonably priced - generous - received b/f and one additional meal even complimentary.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    I loved the personalised service, and the particularly...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There really was nothing I didn't like.

    I loved the personalised service, and the particularly friendly and obliging staff at the Taj Deccan. I had only just arrived in India and this was my first hotel which somewhat set the standard for the rest of my stay. As I was traveling alone the attitude of staff is important to me and I have to say that from the restaurant to room service to the front desk, the manner was always polite offering the best service with a smile! The breakfasts were amazing and I was even delivered a juice that I requested of beetroot, carrot and celery with a little ginger! I got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff at Taj Deccan, (including security at the front gate), for helping to make my stay so enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.6
    Taj Deccan - unpleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. The property is very old, yet good and spacious. But the maintenance of carpet and more over the odour is absolutely bad. It's stinks literally and does not suit image of Taj properties. I have stayed in many properties but Taj Deccan was stark deviation.

    Accessibility is the only positive aspect along good team.a

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Luxurious and restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all absolutely wonderful. They did their utmost to make me feel welcomed and comfortable. The food was quite good and it was heart-warming to have the chefs come and chat with me everyday whilst serving me a great breakfast. Many thanks to Palash, Theresa, excellent chefs, and very importantly Wahab the chauffeur, for all your excellent work and help, making my stay in Hyderabad memorable. I thoroughly enjoyed the delightfully lush experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Good but not great. Discourteous Late night Staff. Staff doesnt know their own process. Average Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checked in late at night with my wife. Staff was discourteous and did not even profer a "hello SIr or Good evening" The breakfast was good for the most part however, toast was burnt and the bacon was made in stale oil While checking out (I made the booking on Booking.com), the staff argued that the rate from booking.com was not accurate and I had to pay whatever fees they decided. Till I had to explain that I will pay whatever the site I booked from charged me and they relented. Pathetic experience and very unprofessional and humiliating. Tgough after they realised their mistake they were polite - which does not help one bit.

    Nice room, decent property. Part of the breakfast ordered at room service was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice, quality hotel, with a local Indian feel and great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevators were strange - one requires a staff member with card to work, the other goes to any rooms without using the room card. It is very difficult to go anywhere by foot in the area, but not impossible. A bit of renovation/sky roof cleaning is due. If you have business in the HITEC City, expect 1-1.5 hours car rides each direction.

    Great service and staff, nice restaurants (especially the Asian fusion one); a hotel with personality and with a local Indian feel. Although far, it gives a better feel, quality and surroundings than the sterile business hotels in HITEC City.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    comfortable and large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the dining staff should be more accomodative , which should reflect the exclusive Taj hospitality

    comfortable and large room value for money excellent valet service cordial front office and house keeping staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Great food & location. Courteous staff. Change of room and slack service was of some concern.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The room had some electrical problem that was not checked while I was out for the whole day. It once took them 15mins to get a bottle of water and the apology was fake. Expected better from Taj!

    The restaurant (Arena), the ambiance, staff and food was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    overall good stay. might try other similar hotels in the area for future stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bedsheet had holes that were hand stitched (really surprised). the age of the room / hotel (furnitures, walls) was visible.

    loved the breakfast and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    3.8
    ZERO VALUE FOR MONEY SPENT !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible room ambience. Felt cheated for the money spent. The room service was very poor especially the person who was asked to set the TV ; get the slippers was very rude. Recommend people to check out the rooms before check in. OVERALL FELT LIKE WE HAD BEEN ACCOMODATED IN A STORE ROOM. CLAUSTROPHOBIC EXPERIENCE NOT EXPECTED OF TAJ.

    Very dissapointing. Only the experience at the reception was good. Hated the time spent there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    The service was par excellence.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was par excellence. Breakfast was great. Location was extremely central and easy to travel. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a mall close by and shopping was also close. Overall a great stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall no complaints except the ambience in the restaurant wasn’t nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience in the main restaurant is a little poor. Would be a great improvement to make it more warm and welcoming. It feels like sitting in twilight zone.

    Bed was extra comfy !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing, fun and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had requested a late checkout for 1 room, which was confirmed by the property a week before the trip. On the day of checkout, a staff member called and rudely told us to vacate before the committed checkout time. Caused a lot of unpleasantness. Barring that, all good.

    Large and spacious rooms! A rarity with newer hotels. Doormen, waiters, restaurant staff were all very courteous and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location and friendly staff but the rooms not upto the standard of Taj.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has become old. Requires overhauling. I was surprised at the leakage in bathroom inspite of being Taj !

    Staff very friendly. Breakfast quite good !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Housekeeper Ram was v.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise at night.security people came to my room post 10pm!not nice.bathroom was not clean on check in in the evening.

    Housekeeper Ram was v.efficient n hospitable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money Taj hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has all of the standard Taj hospitality, but at an excellent price. The breakfast was also good , maybe not very extensive but with everything you need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    our choice in hyderabad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    please...do something with the doors between rooms..it is like there is no privacy at all. one can hear everything from the other room..EVERYTHING! also, the overall insulation of the rooms needs to be improved. the prices at the hotel's restaurant are extremely high..but the quality of the food is very good!!

    almost everything. without neighbors could be the perfect stay!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for the lone business/tourist woman traveler. Safe and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A few staff who don't smile !! Taj is about warm and smiles...

    Duty Manager Mr.Rao was extremely helpful to all my issues!! on departure , too , he gave me a delightful send off ! for a lone woman traveler , this property looked after me and that is really important. We need to feel safe at all times. Thank you and will surely visit Taj Deccan again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room neighbors a little noisy and with loud TV.

    Mr. Srinivasa , the Sr. Chef De Partie is a very very very good cook. He and bis team prepare the best meal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    HICC conference attendance
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that didn't work for me was the Hotel room safe as I didn't follow the instructions exactly! I realise that the going rate for hotel transfers to the airport is at a certain level but it would be nice if this price could be rounded down somewhat.

    The hotel is visually impressive and the front hall is one of the most nicest that I have seen in a couple of years. It is expansive and pleasing to the eye. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a good range on offer. I usually had the omelette and some fried/cooked foods. I dined every night at the Spice Junxion rather than the buffet supper and had a wide range of delightful Indian foods over the three nights. I was very well looked after by the waiter Mr. Sanju Mondal and the Chef on duty for the three evenings. The front desk staff were very helpful and organised metered cabs (the best option) for me very quickly and these were always Ola cabs that got me to meetings in HICC promptly. Mr. Nagesh was especially helpful - he went out of his way to ensure that everything ran smoothly. The two barmen (in the Syn bar) that I talked with were also very knowledgeable on Indian tourism and their insights and advice proved invaluable to me during my time in Hyderabad. The room was a decent size and with plenty of room and one did not get the feeling of claustrophobia. Overall, it was an excellent experience and thoroughly enjoyable. I will return to this hotel again the next time I am in Hyderabad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    An average 4 star hotel that needs a good clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time I've stayed in a Taj this month and again I left thinking it was not a five star resort. It is a commendable four star. The building is old, not well cleaned and the massage room was a broom closet in the gym. Taj does itself a disfavour by pretending it's name can cover up the fact that not all of it's properties live up to the 5 star standards that other hotels consistently achieve.

    The staff were lovely and seemed genuinely committed to making my stay comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom fittings are cheap and old, needs improvement. Health faucet is missing in the bathroom, for those who do not like to wipe, a good old plastic mug is provided. I find this very odd for an Indian hotel.

    Excellent property, a complete Taj experience. Staff is well mannered, rooms are comfortable, food is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable but dated decor needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite old and the decor is dated and tired. It would definitely do with a refresh. The room had a slightly musty smell which I think came from the air conditioning system. Breakfast was quite limited.

    Good location and spacious rooms. Staff were polite and helpful. Room service food was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location and if booking is all correct reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However, the booking I made whether this is an issue with bookings or mis-adverstisement by the hotel I did not get what I paid for with the booking. Also and again this may be a technical error but I booked for a family occupancy room and the hotel insisted I booked single so if travelling with family please double check first before travelling. I booked this hotel with 3 days notice so this was also my mistake even though I did advise by email to the hotel I was travelling with family when I booked a cot so they could have rasied this with me as well. Very dissappointed that for the second Indian hotel in 4 weeks I have booked a room that states executive lounge access and there is no such lounge or the hotel staff simply didnt like the look of my family anddidnt want to grant us access. When I raised this at reception I am not clear if they pretended they did not understand or did not want to give me access to the lounge but neverless I paid extra for a room to have lounge access for no reason, as the lesser room rates would have sufficed. As several hotels locally also had lounges (Krishna/Radison Blu) I highlighted the receptionist that I would not have booked this rate had I known (with current exchange rate nearly £30 difference). She provided me with a complimentary drinks voucher which was nice but this for me was not really acceptable given I was misleaded and would have rather stayed else where or saved the money. Also to note when affordable I pay for lounge access for the sheer convenience with kids to have the option of afternoon tea and drinks drinks; yet when I paid for my son to have a milkshake (with tax it) cost nearly £7. The fact is if there is no lounge then dont advertise it with the booking then there will be no issue. I paid extra for the covenience and the playing dumb like they dont know what I am talking about is very frustrating as I showed them the booking which clearly stated it.

    Accomodation was nice, bed was comfy and the hotel is a an old fashioned style 5 star which adds great character. The pool was a great size. It is around the corner from 2 shopping malls so you can save money eating out with short 10 minutes walks. The Hard Rock Cafe is very reasonably price for this brand and the food along with serivce was great. If wanting to stay 5*, in a good location then I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Good Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food from one of the restaurants caused me and my family food poisoning - I believe it was spice junction

    The Staff were really nice, the help desk were very helpful and the room and facilities were high quality

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Stay was comfortable as expected from Taj group..... more attention needs to be given to Food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying in room 240 and the bed was hard.....hard..... We had Buffet Dinner......the choice of menu was Not ok and also the Quality of food.....Liked the Mutton Curry and Chicken shorba soup.........The dinner was very Average.....Taj could do better.....It may be because of Occupancy......

    The Buffet Breakfast was standard.....Ok....Nothing extra ordinary......

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    In general nothing to make comment.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to pay extra for Breakfast.

    The service provided by the staff is excellent. Specially I like to thank Ms. Aditi, Ms. Dawa and Mr. Ujjwal for the service as well as guidance provided to me during my stay in Hyderabad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    The front desk staff are very helpful & friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Buffet Breakfast because I feel service at that part is not up-to the level, although I can understand you cannot make everyone happy but people should have responded the request rather then ignoring the same as I was looking for Poha and I have asked if its possible to prepare but they just ignored, this is quite surprising as I did not expect this kind of service with the brand like TAJ and keeping in mind your other department colleague are very professional, helpful and warm.

    The front desk staff are very helpful & friendly. Smooth check in completed by Mr Ujjwal. Great experience ,enjoyed my stay. A big thank you to Ujjwal & Dawa from the front office for making my stay comfortable and memorable. Thank you once again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Average place with few very good staff members
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelling and having mosquitoes.

    Mr Santu in Spice Junction and Ms Pooja at the reception were very supportive and deal with visitors with grace and warmth. Appreciable support from staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice location and interiors, rooms could be better for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are too simplistic for this price also the front of the hotel is quite old and shady which can be renovated.

    The hotel is nice and the interiors

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    The service was excellent.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amenities are very old . The facities very very limited . No sitting in the lobby.

    The service was excellent. The breakfast buffet was lovely . The staff went out of the way to give as breakfast everyday at 6.30

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    This Taj was great value for money!
    • Solo traveller
    • Residency Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was relatively small with limited seating. There was power failure a number of times.

    The hospitality extended by Chef Shrinivasa, G was much appreciated. He personally attended and chatted with the guests during breakfast, making sure they were happy with the fare provided. A true face of Taj hospitality!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.8
    ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were woken up at 3am in the night with water from the A/C flooding into the room .Not a nice way to begin our stay. The manager was a woman who had no courtesy to apologise or even make it up to us for this discomfort.

    ambience

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    classy hotel with reasonable price (in off-season)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel itself is within an isolated road - not easy to catch a cab; and hotel ordered cabs are expensive.

    Very elegant building complex, friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    ok , may not stay again even at this price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall room had a smell all the time -can improve on same.Should remove the carpet from the lobbies owing to the foul smell

    There was no disturbance in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Good Hospitality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe refreshing up the deco and the overall look of the rooms will be of a good added value

    Very nice Hotel, very friendly staff. We have spent a very pleasant 3 nights stay in that Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    5.8
    Good place to stay but not for food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gala dinner is awfully bad and service is even worse w.r.t the money they charged. At Rs 1700/- they serve Rs 500/- worth of value. If you are not from Hyderabad, believe me that there are much better option then this. And if you have a chioce of stay between Taj banjara & Taj Deccan, I suggest you choose Taj Banjara. Food & service are much better

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel for a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was good however we had an older traveller and having the shower in the bathtub was a little dangerous

    Breakfast and staff were excellent. Room was good to excellent. Room service and daily cleaning was excellent. Providing 4 bottles of water daily for free was the cherry on top.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    A stylish place in which I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---

    I loved my room in its old world charme as well as the views from it towards the garden, pool and the city. The layout of the lobby and the views towards it from above is stylish and beautiful. Breakfast was marvellous with also many healthy items to choose from and staff was perfect: attentive, kind, cooperative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    A Good Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be warned! If you don't ask for a quiet room, you will be placed in a hallway room, where loud music will be easily heard from your bed. They played until 11pm. I read previous reviews, so I knew, before I checked in.

    The reception and housekeeping staff were outstanding. The room was attractive and large. They had both firm and soft pillows, on the bed. Wifi was excellent. Breakfast was scrumptious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff, great location, comfort, cleanliness, non-opulent, great value for money!
    • Couple
    • Residency Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The included breakfast was absolutely fabulous, but the the service was slightly delayed as the number of staff was slightly less than optimal.

    Friendly and helpful staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hospitality, Guest Services
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed there for a night and I reached very late. The registration process was so simple and did not take more than 5 minutes. Room size was quite bigger and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Staff was so friendly and excellent customer service. Even before i reached the hotel, they had checked with me for my preference of food, room, bed etc. One of their staff in the Airport assisted me to get the taxi and was so helpful in the Airport. I would definitely stay again with Taj Deccan again when i visit Hyderabad !!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Good to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet available but not that good. Sometimes works, sometimes doesn't works, and slow

    Hotel is good, staff were good, furniture is good, security is good, restaurant is good and has multi-choices. Bathroom is clean and has water for cleaning (shattaf) I really recommend it for others specially Arabs

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taj Deccan traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: