Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gateway Hotel Ganges 5 stars

Nadesar Palace Grounds, 221002 Varanasi, India

#31 of 166 hotels in Varanasi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    Nice swiming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under construction without saying. The rooms are small. There was a urine smel in our floor. Food was bad

    Nice swiming pool. The outdoor of the hotel (gardens) are nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    I was overall delighted with my stay at The Gatewal Hotel Ganges Taj Group.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The requirement to each time pass even small items through the x-ray machine at the entrance.

    The hotel's location, the food in the two restaurants, the staff of the room service, the room cleanliness, the hotel's overall cleanliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    The best part about the property was where it’s built.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain staff at chowk Restaurant can be more polite, warm and positive.

    The best part about the property was where it’s built. It has a nice boundary with garden inside and ample space. I have always loved my stay at this property in Varanasi. Staff at Reception Mr. Shiva and a female duty officer were very courteous and helpful also Mr. Ananya and Mr. Adarsh. Greeting at the time of check in was very sweet. Bartender Mr. Binod was very energetic and positive as usual. His services I recommend at the bar. Ms. Akansha at chowk Restaurant ,where we were served the breakfast was very polite and perfect in her services. She makes some really good coffee. Anil at chowk restaurant was also very good. Room service guy Mr. Yadav (if not mistaken) on my floor was very good at his job.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Little bit of calm among a lot of chaos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite 1 Bedroom with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is still being renovated. It therefore still have an old neglected feel, but it is clearly changing very quickly

    You can retreat from the crazy Varanasi streets. The service is excellent and the renovated rooms are beautiful and to an acceptable standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    3 days in Varanasi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay by credit card, but is not possible just pay in INR. The hotel exchange INR to € and increases the bill a lot. The prices of the restaurante are like in Europe.

    The staff is very friendly. The location!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Memorable Stay At Varanasi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked Everything. Excellent Location, Property. Especially Duty Manger Vandana, Sarika,Dharmendra From Restaurant Should Be Promoted Rewarded.Front Office Manager Tamales Good.

    The Upkeep Of ThisLarge Property.Swimming Pool Needs To Be Maintained Further. I Had To Rush Back As My Far Was Hospitalized.Given A Chance I Would Visit Again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    The rooms especially the bathroom fittings are a bit old and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms especially the bathroom fittings are a bit old and worn out. (Although, to be fair, functioning well). The standard wi-fi is a bit slow (possibly due to low bandwidth allocation).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Bholenath Kashi-Vishweshwar Blesses you in the lap of Maa -Gangaji;while you are in this Heritage Ho
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reaching Property at night on Footwall.

    Quality & variety of the Breakfast(2)The smiling , quiet but informed young staff(3)The powered boat to Vishweshwar Ghat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Under renovation property but still managed excellent where we do not get chance to complain.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was great, Food quality was good, Ambience was good with good landscaping.

    Excellent landscaping, Perfect location, convenient for Airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Tranquilidad en medio de la ciudad ma intensa..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hay nada. Por decir algo los precios de los traslados...pero al ser un hotel 5* No cuenta.. There is nothing. To say something the prices of the transfers ... but being a hotel 5 * Does not count ..

    The Hotel is very good in every way. The comfort of its facilities, the quality of its staff and its great location make the hotel a true paradise in a very intense city. The hotel staff will welcome you with open arms so that your stay in the city is very pleasant. Thank you for receiving us as brothers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Loved the property, though my stay was for few hours we had...
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the property, though my stay was for few hours we had a pleasant stay and in spite of the renovation, the noise level was a bare minimum. All in all, I would love to go back to this property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Extreme politeness, thoughtful courtesy of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extreme politeness, thoughtful courtesy of the staff. We have been occasionally staying at this property over last 20 years and each time it has been a great experience. When we were coming down with our luggage, a senior officer of the hotel who saw us at the lift lobby, actually insisted on carrying our luggage down to reception by himself - he did what was way beyond the call of duty and left a lasting impression.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and peaceful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower temperature could not be controlled. Too hot or too cold but, in fairness, this was a common problem in many hotels in India. Restaurant staff were under trained - surprising in a Taj Hotel.

    Comfortable and peaceful hotel. Friendly staff. Good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Peaceful gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms a bit tired, need refresher. Gardens were not fully accessible. Breakfast expensive.

    Quiet & green location, pretty garden, very nice pool. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    I requested for delay check-out and manager allowed us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are bit casuals while dealing with guests.

    I requested for delay check-out and manager allowed us to stay upto 1PM. Since there was no crisis for rooms on 20.4.2018, Manager could easily accommodate us upto 2PM. Hotel management should be more liberal with regard to delay check-out in case rooms are vacant. By accomodating such requests,guests would be happy to recommend their friends to book this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great

    Great location and all the staff were very helpful especially concierge and lovely driver Neeraj who explained all the interesting facts about Varanasi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.2
    My experience with Gateway Hotel in Varanasi was a terrible...
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My experience with Gateway Hotel in Varanasi was a terrible one. 1. We've reached there on 9 April at 9 pm and the rooms were freezing cold. We had 3 rooms booked. Even if we turned the AC off, the room temperature was very low and next morning 4 out of 6 friends woke up with a terrible cold. There was no possibility to open a window so that some heat to come from outside. In the morning we asked the reception for the AC to stay off for all our stay there. In one of the rooms the cleaning team put it on again after they cleaned the room. In the next day they brought us an electric heater in the room and it started to be a little bit better, but still we did not have a cozy temperature for our condition. 2. After leaving the hotel I've checked my account and the amount charged was nearly double. I have sent by email a request for them to check and clear the issue and I am waiting for their answer. 3. The hotel, rated at 5 stars, is actually at the standard of a good 3 stars hotel in Europe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    The Gateway is set in pretty gardens, extending to the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gardens weren’t fully accessible and breakfast (if not pre-booked with the room) quite expensive.

    The Gateway is set in pretty gardens, extending to the old Maharajah house (which is currently being refurbished). The pool is lovely too and the bustle of busy and noisy Varanasi is barely heard. The general feeling in the hotel is one of serenity. There are a few good restaurants nearby as well and the gift shop is well-stocked. Free yoga class was offered and was lovely too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    The most nature friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Before I booked this hotel I was reading some reviews about not having a 5 star status. In fact it is true, taking into account the amenities , it cannot be considered as a 5 stars hotel.And so what?When you book this hotel in Varanasi, don’t think about number of stars,just enjoy the spacious room,the tasteful and varied breakfast and relax in the beautiful gardens maybe doing a free yoga class which is held at 7 am. It is in the city but protected by its chaos and dust , not close to Gange but I always took a tuk tuk to reach it and also I used their reliable airport transfer or hire service.The driver, Mr. Neeraj, was very kind and professional. ATM(5 minutes walking) or the shopping center(15minutes walking)are both in the hotel neighborhood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Travel agent utterly useless. Breakfast very normal. Level of languages for Front office and Concierge should be better. Not up to what it is expected. Mediocre management.

    First class Indian Food restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.4
    3* property charging 5* rates
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service and limited amenities. Bad dining experience, limited help in tour bookings, coffee machine not working... Where do i stop... Should be classified as a 3* property and should charge accordingly.

    Away from the old city in a calmer place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for quiet room and had builders infront of my room with hammer drill all day. Next day they cleaned the windows!!!. The hotel was full and had a wedding, so they chose my room away from the party but unfortunately outside the premises was the building work.

    Food was excellent, staff great, nice room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    High-standing hotel with lots of facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was of poor quality. They offer a better service... for a fee. I think that such a hotel, and for such a price, should include in the charged priced a god connection.

    The hotel is a high quality one and it does not deceive at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Definitely worth staying at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only one minor issue: our door lock/keys were manfunctioning - we had to have these re coded at least twice a day. However, Shiva on the front desk did his best to assist.

    We were in a newly refurbished room (since the takeover by the Taj group) which was beautiful, spacious and with a fantastic bathroom. Very clean and excellent facilities. Beautiful food and very safe for foreigners - we ate most of our meals in the Chowk restaurant during our 3 night stay. Special thanks to Anil in Chowk for his excellent service and care. Lovely foyer and garden area. The lush gardens of the hotel were a nice break from the city. Great chauffer service Neeraj - half day for 1,200 rupees. Neeraj facilitated our trips to the Ganges and Sarnath.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in a quite large garden area. Staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant looked a little aseptic, but the buffet and a-la-card food was very good. The pool is very big, but was currently under maintenance. Walking distance to Ganges about 1h.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.3
    A luxurious jail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the upholstery of the restaurant chairs It was full of unacceptable spots for a five-star hotel

    The hotel and the room was very good .Difficult to walk around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    A COMFORTABLE STAY IN THE GATEWAY HOTEL GANGES
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The restaurant wait times. For example we ordered french fries, it took them 30 mins to get it out to us. Second day we ordered Margarita Pizza and it took them 40 mins. Not an acceptable timeframe. 2. Food and soft drinks is way overpriced. Example, a small chips on plate cost us $9 AUD, small can of coke 200ml was $5AUD. On the restaurants outside hotel you can get it for $0.70c AUD.

    The overall customer service level of staff was top notch! Due to having bad experience in another hotel, staff allowed us to check in 4 hours earlier than allocated check in time and checked out at 3pm which is 3 hours after allocated check out time due to wife'sickness - Well done and appreciate the kind gesture and thought The Gateway Hotel. Hotel is situated in a very nice place with palm tree and lots of green land around it including a pool and tennis court. The room was one of the renovated rooms which we got and it was very comfortable and posh style room. Highly recommend to any one that wants a comfortable stay in Varanasi. Felt like a good 5 star hotel which in my thought you must get in Varanasi to get away from all the rush and outside population of Varanasi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and modern. Great for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation work on-going in same corridor as our room - very noisy. Plus, strong smell of solvents.

    Hotel rooms being renovated to a modern standard. Kids enjoyed the pool (although very shallow) and playing badminton.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.3
    Luxurious but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations were on going on our floor while we were there. I got a headache from the glue. We were moved when we complained but there was no improvement. The travel desk gave exorbitant prices. The hotel was more like a sausage factory.

    The fine dining Indian restaurant is excellent. The gardens are lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels in Varanasi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't think of anything.

    The front desk people, restaurants, food, and the servers at the restaurants were excellent. They were helpful and cordial. Housekeeping staff were excellent too; whenever we needed something, they provided it promptly. The travel desk person was very helpful. The hotel ground is very pretty and peaceful. If we visit Varanasi again, we will stay in this hotel for sure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Ticks all the boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were not as warm and friendly as the rest of the hotel staff. Location was a bit out, not easy to walk to places but quick to get an Ola.

    The room was small but very tastefully done and spotlessly clean. Excellent service from the breakfast service staff, breakfast was also good. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the work in the hotel. I don’t think I was informed of the work being carries out

    The staff very very helpful and polite. The Hotel was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    AWESOME AND ALWAYS THE BEST STAY WHEN IN VARANASI
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite 1 Bedroom with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    Have stayed at this hotel 5 times. My favorite Varanasi Hotel. The staff whether at the front desk or outside as security or inside their restaurant or the household cleaning staff, makes you feel comfortable, relaxed and safe in a bustling city called Varanasi which is changing to enter the 21st century. And who can believe the beautiful grounds to walk and to enjoy nature without fear as a single female in a foreign country.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    The most polite staff combined with the most relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I don't have any criticisms as such, the only thing I found odd were the air-conditioners that would cool the room way too quickly to the point that it'd be freezing in the room and despite adjusting the temperature, it would still be hard to regulate the cold in the room.

    The staff was extremely friendly and extra polite. They were intuitive about most of our needs and things would promptly get taken care of. I was travelling with my parents and grandparents and they each had a few specific requirements when it came to food and because of the staff, it was never an issue. In fact, on the day of Diwali, we inquired about possibly booking massages at the spa and even though they were short on staff, they managed to get us appointments, and quite promptly might I add. After a day of having climbed massive steps and a lot of walking in the heat, my grandparents could not have been happier after the spa treatment. Kudos to the hotel and their extra-professional employees!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked a city view room which we did not get and we viewed three rooms before we liked the one we accepted, the musty smell of the first room offered was awful and the standard of the first room offered was not good, flooring scuffed and not nice furniture, thus we asked to see other rooms.

    The food & Pool were excellent, the staff were professional and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Varanasi is a bustling and chaotic city and the Taj is an oasis of calm and peace in its midsts.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The staff is really well trained and attentive, from the restaurants to room service and front desk. The hotel is really clean and immaculate. The gym is well-equipped and tidy. The restaurants serve very good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    A relaxing retreat within Varanasi's hustle and bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the services – including the city-sightseeing trip booked with the hotel – were quite pricey.

    This is one of the most prestigious properties in Varanasi, according to many of the local residents. Even thought the rooms don't boast the freshest design, they are well-maintained with detail-oriented service from all members of the staff, including reception, concierge, restaurant personnel, spa attendants, personal guide, and driver - just to name a few I was in touch with during my stay. Part of the hotel was undergoing renovations during my stay, so future guests can expect staying in upgraded rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Overall very pleasant stay. Staff was welcoming, and helpful at all times. Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture was old. In need for upgrade.Not sufficient lighting in the room. Could have done with more lighting.

    Good breakfast, excellent service, very welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    We spent 3 nights and had a great stay. Thankful to the hotel for early check in and late checkout
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wished the Indian restaurants had larger capacity as the weekends were very busy and also wished the bar had a happy hour.

    We liked the over all atmosphere. The Indian food was great and the staff were always available even if you are having a buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    3.8
    Needs improvement.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was in renovation. I was not made aware of it when I booked. Carpets corridors etc are not up to the mark I booked for may family of 4 adults 2 rooms x 2 adults. The booking was made just for 2 adults 2 rooms x 2 adults. Then they charged me additional costs for my son and daughter. Then Taj Innercircle did give points for my entire spending on the room rate. They also charged me for mini bar which I did not use but I did not notice it while checking out I also did not get option to include the breakfast in the room rate. May be booking .com was trying to show the lowest price but not a good way to do business

    Inside the room everything was comfortable and perfect Restaurant was excellent staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    This is the place to stay😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    🤔🤔🤔🤔

    FOOD!! If one doesn't have the taste of street food but still wants to try local delicacies, Chowk is the place for you. Poori bhaji, kulhad chai, nimona, seekh kabab, desserts.... you can't miss anything. Apart from food the ambience, the heritage feel, warm welcome n helping staff, everything is great. There were some alien families staying on our floor with 3 rooms n lots of kids, who did not had the decency of keeping their doors closed or keeping their volumes low, even at midnight hours. The staff tried to explain them about others getting disturbed. But since they were from alien planet, it all got wasted. Front desk offered us another room just for sleeping purpose, so that we can have peaceful night. Can't really say anything about amenities as all day we were out. But stay at our hotel n Varanasi is unforgettable 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Alone female traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the meals were excellent. I have many heavy allergies and they managed to bring on the table very tasty full, in agreement with all the food constraints that I have. The hotel shuttle was at the airport on time and they brought me back the next day to the airport on time. I took a tour wit them and the overall experience was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    go here if you're nostalgic about luxury of the colonial times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the sprawling landscape could be made prettier with better care for the garden and trees.

    the colonial feel of the hotel is to die for!! the warmth of the staff makes you feel at home away from home!! the food is delicious without overt fanciness and the property is placed nicely on the edge of town, away from the noise and congestion and yet close enough to get to the market conveniently.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel away from the hustle and bustle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A fair distance from the water but that was a good thing for us.

    Great hotel away from the hustle and bustle. I would recommend staying here. The room and the garden are lovely!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    Mixed feelings about TajGateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite 1 Bedroom with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are old and outdated, specially the bathroom and its fixtures. Also the food is not up to Taj standards- very bland and tasteless catering to the loads of foreign tourists who stay there

    The staff was wonderful and they even gave us flowers and a cake for our anniversary.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    4.2
    They have more potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite 1 Bedroom with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was extremely expensive according to what really is. It is a very old building, smell humidity and the bed was not comfort.

    Nice dinner and kind employees.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a really clean hotel, particularly after the chaos and dust outside. The breakfast is good, the rooms comfortable and the service (being a Taj operated property) is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.9
    Gateway to Varanasi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service is inefficient and half the time they do not take calls. And travel desk quite poor in information and claimed that they didnt know the city. Most young people claimed to be from outisde varanasi.

    Staff was very good and helpful. It made my stay even better

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.3
    The restaurant was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had called the day before to arrange an airport transfer but they did not come.

    The restaurant was very good. The front desk ,concierge and staff were very helpful. The rooms were are very tastefully done. Some of the finer hotels we have been staying in are very corporate but this has a nice feeling.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Great stay at Taj
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The taj hospitality is unbeatable. The staff at the restaurants is so attentive that we loved our stay there. The lunch buffet had a variety of Indian delicacys including some benarasi dishes. The morning breakfast had a good selection of South Indian, North Indian as well as continental fare. Throughly enjoyed our stay .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    A comfortable hotel to stay while visiting the Ganges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little far from the Ganges but it was an interesting walk.

    The restaurant buffet was great with a wide selection of Western and Indian food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Highly recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not best of the best from view of building, equipment and furniture. May be room is not western 5 stars. But everything covered with the people who works there.

    Service is very good. My respect to General Manager. Very polite, smiling, helpful staff. This hotel is oasis in Varanassi and India. Real hospitality how it should be. The hotel is situated not near the ghats which is also advantage for me. Food was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    8.8
    Staff was very helpfull and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite 1 Bedroom with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food.......I don't like Indian food and the continental food wasn't of quality. I got sick in the night and maybe it was because I was tired from travelling, maybe it was of the food......I don't know. I know it is difficult to cook for international public. So I don't wantto blame them.

    Staff was very helpfull and nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect. Vandhana at front desk was amazing and very helpful. All good :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Warm welcome, great stay, good bar!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing could have been better!

    The staff are amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One driver was not safe. Details given to Rohit Singh

    Rohit Singh was very helpful. Chef Nishant and Akshay gave us excellent food and service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    An overall comfortable stay at hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent hospitality,warmness from staff side, cleanliness of room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Taj - manpower is asset - excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    People providing service . Excellent!!!!!

    Taj provide excellent service understanding your needs and expectations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Room sizes are small
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room sizes are small

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Good relaxing location with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms. Good service. Good to be at at location a bit away from the city buzz after a full day in the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Very Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    family atmosphere with high quality meals.

    location,property & staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled a little musty

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Everything under the roof
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything under the roof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Every thing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Food quality amazing, very good hospitality,bed was really...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    LIKED EVERYTHING

    Food quality amazing, very good hospitality,bed was really comfy,room was nice too,overall very gud,vll always luv to stay here only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location...very nice property

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    It was a haven from the outside kaos
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say there was anything I didn't like

    It was a haven from the outside kaos

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay at the hotel and friendly staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant stay at the hotel and friendly staffs!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Gorgeous hotel in the middle of the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful location in the middle of nowhere. No alcohol served

    Everything about the hotel and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    There are not many choices in Varanasi, this one should be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel desk.

    There are not many choices in Varanasi, this one should be on your list.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    More 4 Star than 5 Star
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service was of fluctuating quality, sometime you got the feeling that you were more disturbing than being welcome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    3.0
    Does not live up til 5stars hotel :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It,s standart and personale does not live up to 5 stars hotel :(

    Does not live up til 5stars hotel :(

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Fair hotel. Old five stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sauna

    Gymn and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    A Good Hotel away from the Ganges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The renovated rooms. The friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: