Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Kumarakom Resort and Spa Kerala 5 stars

1/404, Kumarakom, Kottayam, 686563 Kumarakom, India

#7 of 30 hotels in Kumarakom

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Staff were extremely helpful and stretched themselves to...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were extremely helpful and stretched themselves to make anything Available to u - very polite, never say no and very smart Priya duty manger , Surjeet and Nabarun were some of the people who were providing Exemplary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and furniture need a facelift. The room needs to be redecorated and some of the furniture needs to be replaced. It isn't the standard one expects in a five star hotel!

    The location, staff, food and massage were amazing. Attention to detail was great. It was my mum's birthday and they brought a surprise birthday cake to our table. Very nice touch! Thank you! We will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with great food. Don’t miss if you’re in Kumarakom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took a 4 hour houseboat cruise with lunch. The boat goes along the lake and the not backwaters, so the scenery - while nice - is not very varied. The trip is also very expensive - 4 hours with lunch was 13,000 rupees plus tax. This is more than an Alleppey houseboat of same standard charges for an overnight trip with more meals. Feels like the hotel is making a lot of money out of this trip. Give it a miss and try overnight in Alleppey instead.

    Beautiful resort and stunning rooms. The food was amazing. Very friendly staff. This resort goes the extra mile to make your stay special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    Will give it a miss ! May be will stop considering Taj now ! After Goa this is second below par exp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Staff - they need more training on their communication skills . When they speak the politeness and service Orientation is Missing ! 2. Byceles kept for riding were old and not maintained . Either don’t keep them or maintain them . Can’t be a midway ! 3. Buffet options are less . 4. Beware - you book for the property but they try to sell you a package with some vendor for houseboat . Don’t think it’s correct on their part unless Client asks for it. It gives an impression you want to push your customer out of the property just because you are overbooked !

    Location / ambience / heritage look / look and feel of property !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay..even though it was short one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their Aryuveda massage needs to be improved upon had better massages at other Taj Properties...

    THE Breakfast was ok....however really tried local dishes over lunch and dinner and they were superb...for Non Veg you can have fresh Fish and Prawns

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.8
    Brilliant property for bird watching - saw over 25 species of birds . quaint touches like ☕️ by lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tatty , bathroom very poor quality , and the whole area by the pool by the pool old and run down .. especially compared with the properties we went to after which was at least half the price and very well maintained . TAJ is just working off it name .. time to re- think 🤔 also no reflection of any environmental friendly practises . While it was great to have towels changed twice a day this was wholly unnecessary .. considering the water and chemicals used to wash them .. the choice should be given to the client ..

    Wonderful location which was he highlight , good service and good food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    An excellent place to spend quiet holidays , very peaceful. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was quite small and shallow. Could have been made a bit bigger with more lounges considering the area of land available in the location. The shop selling artifacts is very expensive.

    Great place for a short vacation. Everything was nicely organized. Staff were very good and professional. Good facilities . Tea house in the afternoons and lighting of lamps in the evening are great ideas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff - Great Ayurveda Service - Excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff - Great Ayurveda Service - Excellent breakfast - Excellent facilities - Afternoon tea at the lakeside - sophisticated taste and organized delivery

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic;Fabulous &would definitely visit many times more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travel desk to be better (driver service needs better approach )&Lagoon boating needs attention (lever malfunction in one of the boats)

    Courteous Staff;professionalism;very well maintained property;serenity;nature@its best;good evening programs&food is good&caring people all around;As a family we had great time

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall a memorable experience but too expensive during the year end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many lizards in the common areas. Terrible sambhar. Cramped bathroom in the mansion room. Open Dining Area needs upgradation

    The Taj Hospitality. A La carte dishes. The cruise.The General Manager's pro-activeness. Excellent welcome and see-off. Very well trained and good staff strength

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect holiday in the backwaters of Gods Own Country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Delight Heritage Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but not sensational like everything Else in the resort

    The Meandering pool accessible from the rooms is superb and very convenient The Spa is great Staff is very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Great relaxed stay in a beautiful lakeside property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is due for some renovation to upgrade the toilet facilities

    The staff are super helpful - the hotel arranged for a full house boat complete with food and rink on very short notice and that turned out to be a very memorable experience complete with fresh fish and Blue scampi from the lake prepared and served piping hot to us !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Great overall experience - room could have been better for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom in our room - the shower kept blocking up and the cubicle was too small.

    food - especially the scampi and the currymeen fish. also liked the activities at the property.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect

    The staff was very good. Noel took excellent care of check in and booking us on the house boat. Surjit/Dutta took great care for us at the restaurant. Ravindran took care of the kids with interesting activities. Jayanta GM of the property took personal care in welcoming and helped us settle down fast. All of them made our holiday great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    MEMORABLE STAY AND TOPCLASS LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unaffordable food rates

    Unbelievable location Greatly developed property Courteous staff Beautiful access to venaband lake and to countryside villages

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    Run-down and disappointing service level and staff
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The public facilities are massively run-down and not taken care off: - the washroom in the main house is a dirty disaster - the washroom in the pool area is even worse (see pics) - the showers and steams in the spa are full of mould and really run-down - the “birds-nesting-area” is covered by I don’t know what - a plastic roof (see pics) - the path-lights at night are broken and not functioning - the souvenir shop reminds me of a favela plastic house but has nothing to do with heritage or Taj (see pics) - The pool is big but many tiles are broken and it’s very murky The staff is incompetent: - Prior to our stay, I called 3 times and asked whether I can reserve a houseboat lunch ride on Sunday - I was told 3 times that I can do reservation right at the property and that there’s no need to reserve in advance. When we arrived yesterday, everything was fully booked and only one slot at a time that doesn't work for us was available. We ended up doing it and it was nice (see pic), but it also came at a INR 13k price point and that did not include prawns or crabs, which we paid for extra. And to be fair - the boat was a local vendor, so that credit should not go to Taj in the first place. - Few people speak English - I know, Malayalam is the main local language, but in a 5-star and a Taj that too, I would expect folks to be capable to understand things like: “Would you have a diet coke?” instead of running away. It somewhat became a running gag - when my girlfriend called them to ask for a “razor” - it took 5 minutes to explain that we mean a “shaving kit”. That was only topped by me asking for “water” - which took 5 iterations until the person in the line (house keeping), got what I asked for. - The folks who do speak English somehow have that really strong need to communicate. It’s nice to have a brief smalltalk once in a while.

    - The room we got was actually decent and more or less recently renovated. That was the “deluxe lagoon view”, that came at INR 13.5k a night - around $210. - The property looks nice at night and gives a great heritage feel (see picture). - The spa-staff knows their stuff - while the spa-building is run-down and dirty, the masseurs and masseuses actually do a great job and give you a solid Ayurvedic massage at a decent price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This question is not valid,it was a fantastic stay for me and my wife . Even though I ll tell the management to make sure that enough pest control for the mosquitos

    Colleagues engagement was really nice , thay were willing to accommodate all our special needs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    The location, the Facility, their daily programs - were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel they can improve the quality of vegetarian food being served for the Lunch and Dinner. Even the quality of Break-fast was not up to my expectation. Quality of Dosa and Uthappam were very ordinary.

    The location, the Facility, their daily programs - were Fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Overall the stay was very good and comfortable with enriched experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Delight Heritage Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities like swimming pool, boats and cycles can be better maintained. Boats & bicycles were having some wear-n-tear which could have been fixed by minor maintenance. Swimming pool can also be cleaned multiple times to get rid of fallen leaves and some insects stick to them.

    The complementary back-waters boat tour followed by evening snacks by lake was very good. The evening cultural programmes of music & dance in out-door setting gave a different & enriching Indian experience. The property is nice with few good out-door activities options like cycling, boating, etc. The restaurent staff Mr. Surjit was very good. His attitude was very nice and he was playful with my young kids. He offered them some complementary dishes also of their liking. Another front desk staff Ms. Purvi was also very kids friendly and became friend to my young daughter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Property is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury villas with private pool king bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is very good. But little maintenance has to done..For private vechicle, place to park was not good and there should be some accommodation for drivers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue would be there is too much of crowding in the open restaurant during B fast especially when it rains. Prob ably Taj should look at it seriously.

    Excellent ambience and well maintained property.very courteous and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    6.7
    Not of TAJ standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained property. Sofas at the reception are dirty. Staff are pleasant and nice but lacks training. Very poor response over phone when called to ask about availability. Bathroom is not kept well. There was house lizard in the bathroom. Lot of mosquito in the property. Requires pest control and constant fumigatin. Ayurveda centre bathroom not kept clean as expected of a 4 star property. In a nutshell - not of TAJ standards. This is my first Vivanta experience and would probably be the last.

    Location. Good is reasonably good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.3
    The property is good and the massage at the Ayurvedic centre...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was average: although I had a reservation through bookings, I was told that no rooms were available and that there was no booking in my name. The restaurant was basic. There were no activities. It was not up to par with other Taj properties.

    The property is good and the massage at the Ayurvedic centre on the property is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Opulence in kumarakom! Sit back, relax and enjoy the calm, serene lagoons and backwaters in style!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super expensive ofcourse :) although the room was just 10k + taxes, I ended up paying 30k per night (food itself is super expensive, then comes the super-expensive extra bed and pet charges, etc.) So be careful and don't go by the low base price ;) although, it was definitely worth every penny!

    As already mentioned in all the reviews (which is what made us book this place in the first place), the place is beyond words amazing. A large lagoon in front of your room, ducks quacking and swimming in the lagoon, great food in the restaurant, huge 1 km long property, backwater shore on the far side of the property, bridges and water-ways spread throughout, extremely well-appointed room with all amenities, perfectly air-conditioned in the humid weather outside. Highly friendly staff, folk/cultural music/dance events in the evening. Diya lighting all around the property in the evening by local folks. Complimentary 1 hour house boat ride around vembanad lake. Golf cars to go around the huge place. Huge area for walking/playing with your dog and staff extra-friendly with the dog too! You can't go wrong with a Taj :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Exceptionally courteous staff and they were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything about the place and would recommend it to all!

    Exceptionally courteous staff and they were very helpful. The welcome drink was one the finest coco water I have had till date ;-) The property is full of lush green gardens/trees, they have cycling options, boat rides, cultural activities..everything you are looking for a relaxing holiday. We had to check out early in the morning and the staff helped us with a warm glass of milk at 6 am for our little one (which I really appreciate). They also arranged a big bag of food items for me and my husband too. I would like to specially thanks the security head, Mr. Sudhir. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see you in future too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful, but old property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium villas 1 bedroom pond view king bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping services are poor. Rooms and toilets need an upgrade and renovation. Food is good, but very overpriced.

    Beautiful property, with lots of activities, and excellent service from front end staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    3.8
    2stars for this 5 star P.O.S
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The promptness of the staff was terrible 2) The bed, the sofa and the toilet commode was covered with brown / black stains. I have taken pictures for reference. 3) My special request for a cake to celebrate my 1yr anniversary went unheard. 4) The hot water didn't work in our room. It looked like nobody used these taps because as soon as it was turned on mud and water flowed in. I had to call room service to clean up the mud in the bathtub. 5) The room had no charging points next to the bed. This is just a bad room design. 6) In an attempt to create a rustic and colonial style room, you are given an old creaky wood floored room with a dank smell in it. 7) The breakfast buffet served 1day old breads, cakes, donuts and cinnamon rolls. It was chewy and had no softness in it. 8) The breakfast buffet had only eggs, bacon and sausage as non veg dishes for a price of 1500/- per head. Me and the missus were both looking forward to the breakfast buffet at the Taj having​ eaten breakfast buffets at the Hilton and Oberoi. This breakfast buffet was just a major terrible let down. Regret the decision of having eaten breakfast at the Taj. I should have just looked for breakfast options outside the hotel. STAY AWAY FROM THE BREAKFAST BUFFET. Overall 2/5.

    The property was well maintained. The lake, the garden and surroundings were excellent The lunch sandwiches and the dinner at Curry Meen restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Taj Vivanta - Kumarakom is truly a Heaven on Earth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The delays caused by the Indian railways in getting to this place. We lost half a day and reached by night on the day of check in. The train was 5 hours late. We lost time of our stay.

    Lovely property with lovely staff that ensured they kept the guests comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice property with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant gets crowded for breakfast, this could be improved. Also, the rooms and bathrooms should be refurbished to get luxury feel.

    Good heritage property with good food (do have veg options) staff is attentive and hospitable. One hour boat ride was good. Kids do have activities within the property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    taj at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    it had all the charm of a village. place was vast with water bodies and trees. buildings were unobtrusive. pets like rabbits and geese for kids. magic in the evening when the diyas are lit on the banks and the traditional dance and song sequences. perfect staff. special mention to priya at the front desk. she is an asset to your organisation. the personal connect with my kids will make me come back to vembanad again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Great location with competent staff, but the place is showing age and breaking down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were made with a smaller size sheet, which exposed the actual mattress. Bedroom had wet foodsteps all over. Dirt found in corners of the room.

    Food and staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Delightful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FOOD, FOOD and FOOD! It beats me on how can they go wrong on the humble Idly and Dosas?? For godsake you are in the heart of Kerala!! Their idlies are everything an Idly should not be! Dosas served at the breakfast counter was kind of half cooked and took ages to arrive(obviously stone cold by the time) Most items we tried were mediocre at the best. Their website gives the impression that the three restaurants(Currymeen, EASY and OPEN) have different menus; but in reality, they have only one Menu, served in all the places. The property is fantastic, staff a delight, but food is apparently not their strength! I really wish they focus energies on enhancing the dining experience for thier own sake; afterall, way to man's wallet is through his stomach:)

    Staff, service and staff again! Every member of the staff right from the bell hop to the G.Manager are extremely professional, polite, enthusiastic, friendly and know their jobs. The location of the hotel is fantastic; One end is the main road and the other opens upto the lake front. The room is well maintained, functional and luxurious. Bathroom is spacious and luxurious. Room is a misnomer, it was actually a huge cottage with a lotus pond in the back yard. We loved the complimentary evening lake cruise and the subsequent Tea and Snacks at the "Chayakada". Hats off to them, the tea and the snacks served captured the essence of original "Chaya"(Tea) and "kadi"(Snacks) in village teashops. Nostalgic indeed! They got the taste RIGHT. My kid loved the activities like Pottery, Clay modelling, feeding the Geese, Rabbits and Fish. Swimming pool is well maintained. The hotel has a lagoon inside where pedal and row boats are available. Devi, Priya, Nab.Dutta, Noyal, Suresh(he served us tea and snacks at the Chayakada) and Jayantha;All of you performed your rolls extremely well, are sensitive to the needs of the Guests. I wish you well. The lady who taught clay modelling to my kid played her part well. My kid was very very happy. My regards to her. Sati, the lady who is part of the housekeeping ; She found and returned the valuable article I had lost in the huge compound; I salute her honesty! In toto, they have a fantastic team(service side) and one can keep going back for their service!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Location excellent, lake side within the property was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom there was no health faucet, only small mug provided. Bucket was given only when we complained. As being an Indian we did not expect no faucet in the bathroom. It was a shock for us. Washbasin water clogging and leakage. It continued despite repair work done. We had to leave at 5am in the morning due to strike called by BJP in Kotayam district on 12th May '17 our package included breakfast, despite of request to remove breakfast amount for that particular day was not accepted by the receptionist and full amount including breakfast was charged. I was told that it is for my convenience that we were asked to leave before dawn and money will be charged full which was really sad. If the above cons are resolved then it is worth the money spend.

    Location excellent, lake side within the property was very good, quiet and serene, well maintained, good facilities, complementary boat ride for 1 hour each day was a good surprise. All staffs were very courteous and good. Restaurant staff Nabarun Dutta was excellent in his service and helpful. Breakfast and Dinner was very good. Mr. Ravi, recreation staff was amazing and helpfull to kids and guests in different recreation activities. GM Mr. Jayanto Das interaction with all guests were commendable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Travelled with my wife and 1 year old daughter for the long...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium villas 1 bedroom pond view king bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Travelled with my wife and 1 year old daughter for the long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff are excellent and the property is great. Stayed at an Allure Villa and had a very relaxing break with excellent food and service. The hotel went out of their way to take care of food for the little one and any help we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Calm, relaxing retreat amidst greenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms did not have bath tub as shown on booking.com. Facilities for games need improving. Lack of 24 hour coffee shop/ F&B area.

    Heritage property, very serene, calm and quiet. Lagoon facing rooms are actually cottages and should be marketed as such! Good food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    8.8
    The overall ambience and the fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the rooms had good ac, absence of ceiling fans were strongly felt especially each time we enter the room after an outside stroll.

    The overall ambience and the fantastic location. The swimming pool times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    6.3
    Overpriced and not what I would have expected from Taj.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was dated. The over bath shower needs upgrading with a glass panel rather than a curtain. The plastic loo was very poor. The swimming pool appears tired and needs improving. The on site shop was full of the standard tourist tat I see everywhere. They should try and engage with local crafts people and sell genuine keralan fare and help their community. No atmosphere.

    the food and menu are good. Our room in the original property was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Charmed! Will definitely stay for longer next time:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, comfortable cottage with a private sit out, lovely property, lots of activities on site, friendly courteous staff, healthy breakfast spread, thoughtful arrangements for my 6 month old daughter-crib in the room, stroller, complimentary customised cake and decorations for her 6 month birthday! Totally love struck and in awe!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Location, activities, peaceful location, good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unlike other Taj or Vivanta properties, this one lacks the hospitality standards all together. Check in experience was pathetic.

    Location, activities, peaceful location, good staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    4.6
    Hotel surviving on the reputation of its setting and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Catering staff uniforms in appalling condition, senior staff disinterested. Staff managed to combine excess attention with highly inefficient outcomes. Could learn a lot from other hotels in the immediate vicinity.

    Location, only!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.1
    Very good location/property, very average service and bad food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad service, we asked them to fix the TV in our room, we called them twice, but no one showed up. Food was very bad, both our kids fell sick after eating there, they do not even know how to make good Vada. Restaurant service was very very slow, staff has no clue on handling full capacity.

    Location is very good, good property

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    Awesome stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent. No complaints. Yes Mr. Ravindran who was in charge of outdoor activities should me more courteous and supportive. His behaviour was more like a school teacher. 😒

    The ambience. Very good location. Lots of activities on the property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    Taj hospitality at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were multiple activities that the hotel offers to keep the patrons engaged.. Right from cooking class with the chef to a complimentary boat cruise on the Vembanad lake the day was packed with activities to choose from Every single employee was genuinely concerned regarding us having a good stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall Good Experience and Recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive food menu.

    Great location and good staffs..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium villas 1 bedroom pond view king bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    No notice given that they were refurbishments going on at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notice given that they were refurbishments going on at the property and areas were closed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Rooms and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 restaurant.... I strongly recommend lake view restaurant and lake side to be cleaned every fortnight...

    Rooms and cleanliness...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    It was awesome stay due to excellent rain and the neatural atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lagoon was not clean some time it was stinking

    Hospitality and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location and friendly saff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luxurious rooms and the beautiful view from the rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    An good but expensive place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as good as Coconut Lagoon nearby

    Nice place to be

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Dinner was gud, breakfast add more international items,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like that all gud

    Dinner was gud, breakfast add more international items, evening tea time add more South Indian snacks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Good one
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury villas with private pool king bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    For mind peace visit TAJ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lagoon surrounded greenish calm

    Good place to relax

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hospitality with smile. Good ambience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Privacy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Excellent memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent memories..im so glad we stayed here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Worth of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent recommended for all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are excellent, great hospitality, child enjoyed the pool very much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.4
    The ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be more cleanier

    The ambience..the nature beauty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t ask so many questions, we are not here to do Yr market survey

    All

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is a bit too high

    Lovely location...receptionist Puravi was a lovely lady.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Great property based on class Indian tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive

    Great property based on class Indian tradition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hospitality and personal attention
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather bad - reptiles around

    Pottery session good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Was a romantic destination every couple must visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Delight Heritage Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taste of food can improve

    Excelent and kind staffs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintainence, the hotel looks gloomy

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    great place for a family weekend .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a bit expensive for the place .

    great place for a family weekend . food is nice and staff is great .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Ambience and atmosphere was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining area could be bigger and the breakfast spread can have more variety.

    Ambience and atmosphere was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing and fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    The authentic Kerala Cuisine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed by the water !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Delight Heritage Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good !

    Lovely location.Great rooms with gorgeous sit outs.Awesome bathroom. Great beds, service. Lovely pool area and awesome breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Location and preservation of nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms slightly

    Location and preservation of nature

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    My family wanted to go back again especially kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe cottage Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family wanted to go back again especially kids. It was one of the best stay in Kerala during the trip. Compliments to the team

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good for family & children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good for family & children

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    The property on whole
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    The property on whole

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing property worth to visit, we enjoyed are stay ,staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Lagoon View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing property worth to visit, we enjoyed are stay ,staff are very helpfull,view is breathtaking

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: