Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Gateway Hotel Pasumalai Madurai 5 stars

No. 40 TPK Road, Pasumalai, 625004 Madurai, India

#2 of 63 hotels in Madurai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Eden on earth in Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So great and it feels si good that it is hard to leave the hotel to visit the city. Best place to stay during our 3 weeks trip in south india

    Everything: breakfast awesome, huge room away from others like in a park, the view on Madurai and its temples, the wild peacocks and squirrels all around, the kindness of everybody, the swimming pool in the middle of the park. Special mention to the spa and the masseur for men. Waouh!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    An amazing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place to stay. We had taken our 6 month old daughter and its the first trip of hers .The staff were so helpful in getting us a tub for bathing her and provided us with the whole baby hamper. The food was awesome and we enjoyed our time with the peacocks. The climate was pleasant with drizzles which added to the comfortable stay. Would love to stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    An ok place but poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old colonial hotel. Shabby around the edges. Quite expensive relative to much more spectacular places i stayed in South India. Food was far below the quality in other less expensive places

    Staff were lovely. Pretty location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the property is on a hill & the rooms are all located all over & the climb to the reception or the restaurant is quite exhausting,recommended you keep a few battery operated carts for transportation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Two unpleasant surprises (1) stale air (2) too many stairs for restaurants, rest is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room had windows opening into the corridor so had to be kept shut - its a colonial era construction. Room became very stale with a split airconditioner (not central) Also too much walking up/down for going to the restaurants - not expected and not desired for senior citizens

    Nice staff, clean large rooms, very good food, very good surroundings

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Definitely a place to return to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wished that I could have stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful grounds!

    The staff were amazingly helpful. I turned up very late after a long delay, but they made all the necessary arrangements for me for my onward travel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Our favourite hotel of 6 on our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer pocket sprung mattress or two singles stuck together rather than a 5ft with foam mattress. The airport run is more than double the normal rate for a taxi in Madurai from the airport.

    Great room, good pool, helpful staff & nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Hidden charges everywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our final bill was almost doubled with hidden taxes, we knew there would be some but being taxed for everything including on top of extra bed for child every day was a joke. The food is extremely expensive for the area and we were eating out with local people paying a fraction of the hotel prices and having the experience in doing so much to the disgust of some guests whose words were “that they couldn’t believe we would eat at such places!!” We have traveled all around India and even though it is a high quality hotel it was definitely the worst experience of our trip. Never again.

    It’s very clean and a high quality hotel for location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Lost glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lost glory. Probably once it has been very luxurious. The bathrooms are really getting old. The complex really needs renovation if it wants to hold his luxurious name. I personally wouldnt again stay here, because of the high price. A tuk tuk to the city centre/temple is comfortable and quite fast, around 20-25minutes. The breakfast was good, but the fresh juices were the worst I had in my holiday. Buffet in the evening was okay.

    Walking around in the nice garden is great. Also the pool is very nice. The staff is wonderful. The peacocks are a nice experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointing compared to our expectations from our stays in 1995 and 2004.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With a few exceptions the rooms, buildings and grounds are poorly maintained and greatly in need of major renovation. We refused to stay in the first room we were given.

    Staff and service, location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable rooms in a quiet and peaceful surroundings close to busy Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are large with a comfortable bed and a quiet airco. The hotel is located in a garden/park and provides a quiet and peaceful rest close to busy Madurai. The service is excellent and the food in the restaurant is delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay. Worth every penny spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better food menu.

    The staff was courteous and very helpful. The peacocks running around freely around the property is a beautiful spectacle to wake up to.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    An exclusive hill top location with a picture postcard view of the temple town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a couple of suggestions for some improvement, if possible, in the future. (1) The entry door to the bathroom should be widened(it is too narrow). (2)For easy passage and free movement between the bathroom wall and the "open" almirah doors, there should be a wider gap. When almirah doors are opened to access your hanging clothes, there is hardly any space for movement. You can consider converting these wooden almirah doors into "sliding" doors.

    We were allotted large rooms, which was really good; otherwise, we would have had to wait for too long for smaller "booked" rooms to get ready.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Quiet stay on my business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far from the city. It is an old time hotel so it is visible how long is it running. Shower was stucked with limescale and the glass doors and walls were not very clean. Some rooms are realy far from reception.

    It is very nice and green place. There are lot of facilities, but I have no time to use them.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent property but no Tajness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor service. Breakfast spread was not good. However I got the opportunity to speak for eh chef as well as the GM. They are receptive to feedback and hope they improvise in the future.

    Housekeeping was excellent and the property was maintained well. Peacocks roam around freely and it is such a lovely sight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    A peaceful haven overlooking the city of Madurai.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The grounds were spectacular peppered with peacocks and perfect for a leisurely evening stroll. There is a small but, impossible to resist, swiming pool. The hotel itself is a beautiful atmospheric old colonial building with large verandahs where I would sit and watch the sunset. Luxurious beautiful and relaxing. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay away from the crowd. Very peaceful and serene.
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This may not be true for all but the stairs too many because I have a bad right knee.

    The location on a hilltop. It was like staying in a forest resort Lovely seeing so many peacocks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Hotel and a Great Location away from town
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Service can improve; so can the house keeping.Needs refurbishment.

    The Location and the Ambience is great at this property.You will need a car to get here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and serene (with peacocks!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a bit murky, to be honest!

    Extremely peaceful and well-covered with trees. There are peacocks strolling about almost everywhere you turn, which was lovely! The staff were also very courteous and the restaurant's food was enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location, helpful staff, avg food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place can be tough on senior citizens or folks with mobility problems given that the property is perched on a hill slope. Would have helped if there was a buggy around.

    The resort style setting of the hotel, slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Very courteous staff who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable! The restaurant staff deserves a special mention! The hotel arranged a car for all our temple visits, including a visit to Rameshwaram - everything went off smoothly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Much better improvements over the 2 previous times.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chefs (Alvin Suresh Basker)were extremely skillfull and delighted in preparing special allergy free meals for my wife.The food preparation was excellent for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Best Gateway property so far
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property is one of the best I have seen of Taj/Gateway. Such a nice huge area and gives feeling that one is staying in some big estate. Peacocks roaming around in property, city view from the property, excellent views from room of property and greenery etc. This property is really nice. The rooms are located at different places unlike in a hotel where usually rooms are usually in one building but surprisingly the room service is faster than those of other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Paradise in Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been better and the menu in the restaurant more varied.

    Nice staff, room and swimming pool. Relaxing place not so far from Madurai. Amazing peacocks and buildings in the complex.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    The ambience was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could improve on the transferring of luggage to & fro reception and rooms. Perhaps a golf caddy would be helpful and efficient for the porter.

    The ambience was fabulous. It's a very peaceful place to be at. The breakfast was yummy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property on a hill where peacocks dance for you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower - had water just trickling down. Needs to revamp this. No facility to see around the property or to go to the main gate (which is 2 km away)

    Beautiful property on a hill where peacocks dance for you.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Awesome all around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Am a regular at this place and it is without doubt the best property in Madurai and one of the best in India. It's the peace-and-calm combined with great location that makes this property unbeatable. With peacocks, dense greenery around and magnificent views from the hotel, it's a surreal experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Peace & Serenity minutes from City noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should be included. Our breakfast was as expensive as dinner.

    The grounds are exquisite, quiet and serene. Beautiful peacocks roaming around, hilly and overlooks the city of Madurai. We both loved it. Room was clean, spacious with old world charm.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.9
    Peacocks, Hills and Away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room had 3 windows. One big and two small. Two of the windows had to be curtained as one of them overlooked the road and hence foot traffic. The bigger window I kept curtain closed as it overlooked garden but you end up seeing a bit of water bottles and debris - not a pleasant sight.

    Shout outs: Manigandan and Sakthivel omelette counter, Balwant, Akhil and Bakkya servers - breakfast buffet Babu - room service Sony Thomas - Nalam massage Bathroom notes: No q tips These toiletries were present - Shower cap, comb, moisturizer, shampoo, conditioner, body soap, face soap, shaving kit, toothpaste and tooth brush Room notes: I stayed in Room # 35 No common walls with any other room and is on the second floor (Indian first floor) - Absolutely no noise except the peacocks and the late evening thunderstorms - a delight! (Stayed end April and it was super hot) Ac was good in room. No issues with water pressure or water temperature in the bathroom. No insects or mosquitoes - possibly too hot for them to survive! I did see some reviews where they mention that they paid my head higher than what was quoted. One should be aware that the pricing does not include some taxes which is roughly 9 % for the room base rate and a city tax per night which is roughly 1000 Rs a night. The services too have an additional 15 % - example for a massage. Wifi: Sporadic wifi issues, but in general good enough. Google FI worked flawlessly. Swimming pool: Not Olympic size but big enough for lap swimming or just have fun in. Varies in depth from 3.5 feet to 6.5 feet. It is well maintained and you don't feel the chlorine too much in your eyes. I was afraid of falling sick swimming in the water but none of that happened - quite safe! Breakfast buffet tips: Breakfast is included usually in the room rate. You can also order things like bacon and poached eggs that you don't see in the buffet or some other nuts like walnuts and cashews that is not present by default. Also filter coffee, masala chai etc. Lots and lots of peacocks and birds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    5.4
    Poor value for money, extortionate extras!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff quite indifferent to customers (very unusual in India) Extortionate prices on all extras, hotel taxis 4 times going rate, all extras more in line with expensive London hotels, and overcharging for extras that were supposed to be free at time of booking on this site such as "free wifi" charged at 700 rupees!

    Nice location, pleasant colonial architecture

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    The Gateway Pasumali...............The best place to stay in Madurai!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yoga classes in the evening would have been great, as everyone is not an early riser.

    The hotel was an oasis of peace away from the city. A special thanks to Mr.Valan and Mr.Vinpugal for their attention to detail and going the extra mile!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice scenery, but hidden prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most expensive place we stayed in India. I guess you're paying for the location and ambiance because the staff, food, drinks, accommodations were pretty much the same everywhere else throughout North and South India. Meals and drinks were on par for a hotel in the US. Lots of added fees at checkout pushed the price higher than quoted online. Two nights and six meals was about $660 USD, rate was quoted at $108 USD/night. The wifi situation was spotty. We couldn't get a signal in our room or the balcony outside the room but we had great wifi at the pool. The water situation in the room was poor. First night, the shower and sink were fine. Next day, only air and rapid bursts of water would shoot out of the sink, the shower wouldn't even come on. A maintenance person came to fix and then disappeared for a long time so we left for the day with the water not working, luckily this was just a pool day. Later the water was working but only the cold water. Next day, same air/spitting combination but it was fixed by the evening. Tailor outside the restaurant selling hand made shirts. I expect this kind of thing in town or at the end of a guided tour, not while leaving breakfast at a five star resort on a secluded hilltop. Unannounced dry day!

    The swimming pool!! And the property in general. It's a hilltop jungle oasis. Huge property! Monkeys, peacocks, bats, squirrels that look like chipmunks and that is just by the pool! Seriously, we chose this location so that we could chill out after a gnarly local train ride from Kumbokonam. Our friends went to the temples and we stayed poolside all day ordering food and drinks. The drinks menu was quite diverse for India and the food was great. Monkeys, peacocks, and squirrels helped to finish our food by the pool even though we weren't finished. The pool attendant quickly helped usher away the monkeys as they are apparently NOT friendly. We were the only two people at the pool all day!! The bartender at the main house was really nice and helped me and my friend learn how to play snooker; although I've since looked up the rules and we were playing it completely wrong, he was still very helpful. Laundry service was excellent. They pressed our clothes even though we indicated just a wash and fold. Furthermore; they patched a tear in my girlfriends pants without charge.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    A peaceful and lovely stay at The Gateaway Pasumalai Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on a hill, outside of the city itself. The drive to the temple takes about half an hour. You should take that into account.

    We booked ahead The Gateaway Hotel at Pasumalai, as the first accommodation in our two weeks South India tour. It was like a peaceful heaven above all the hassle of Madurai (a charming and heart-beating city). It was so nice to have a peaceful and delightful breakfast at the restaurant, than drive into the action at city center, markets and temple, and finally have the great buffet dinner at the same restaurant, as a closure for the day. The room was ample, the bed made us feel like a royal couple, room service was excellent and the whole resort was spotlessly clean and charming (look for the peacocks).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Chill out in beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful property overlooking the city (about a mile away) - first class staff and facilities - enjoyed two massages for a sore back at the Spa. Lovely pool and sooooo peaceful. We were there for Valentines and had a lovely meal in the garden overlooking the city. Lots of Peacocks in the acres of garden. And to top it all we got a free upgrade!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Perfect family-friendly holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and did everything to make the stay most comfortable for us and our baby, including carrying the baby around and look in at the moon with him while we were eating dinner, hunting mosquitoes in the night in our room, providing extra freshly-made non spicey baby food. Even they transported the watch to thekkady, which I forgot in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    What's not to admire !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet avoidable as in many Taj properties , be aware cheap room rates can mean your given a sub standard bedroom ! We weren't impressed , however if it's not full you can change room to there credit we were offered this choice .

    What's not to admire !! 60 acres on a hill overlooking Madurai , spectacular views of the city , peacocks running wild beautiful gardens and great refreshing pool ... oh and a la carte menu superb .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Nice overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff serving dinner could be better

    The yoga session early morning was nice. Could not expect such a huge property in the middle of such a busy town, Overall clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    Peacocks and people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful setting and experience. Maybe the hotel could consider offering a complimentary simple tea service followed by a cultural program (discussion on temples/history of Madurai).

    Front desk welcome and excellent staff service overall. People make all the difference -- Taj has great people representing Gateway Madurai. And the peacocks! What a joy!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.2
    The place to stay in Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't count on the wifi, but 4G mobile data reception is good. Be sure to organize any early morning taxi/transfer well in advance.

    The whole team are remarkably proactive and friendly. The breezy hilltop location comes as an oasis from the hot and hectic city below. Just understand this is a mid-tier property in the India market, not luxe. Thus it is well worn. Bed comfortable, room clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.4
    If you can afford a little more pay it and stay elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a good feel about it. Woman with stall outside entrance to restaurant who hassled you to buy material/make clothes etc when you went in and out. We needed to get away from that for a while...didn't expect to find it at hotel too!!

    Very pleasant staff at pool, doors, cleaning etc. Unfortunately the higher the position held the less customer friendly the staff became. Especially on reception. They could learn customer care from the youngsters they employ!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    A little bit of luxury out of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Teeny bit worn around the edges. First room we were given stank of cigarettes but we were promptly moved as soon as I asked.

    Fabulous breakfast, lovely pool and huge comfortable bed. We were given a free late check out (3pm).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.3
    decent hotel needs updating & bad bar & restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    restaurant was terrible & bar did not have any wines by the glass. Facilities needs updating. People were working with hammer & making a lot of noise and was unable to rest in my room.

    Nice location to visit temples

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    6.7
    Thumbs up & down of Taj Gateway hotel, Madurai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way too expensive for such a hotel in a city like Madurai. I guess everything was priced equivalent to USD and not in Indian Rupees. TATA's business gives "made-in-china" teddy bear to little kids on check-in (nice gesture though). The spa's hair therapist was not available !!! Game room stinks..!!

    The lush green location: nature, peacocks, etc; the room layout, interior, were excellent. Breakfast buffet had good varieties. Staff are quite friendly. Game room had good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.2
    The hotel more than lived up to its reputation and we really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I have a slight issue with in hindsight, is that we asked the hotel to organise a car to take us from Madurai to Thekkady. The price the hotel quoted and that we paid turned out to be more than double the price that we paid from Thekkady to Kumarakom-a very similar journey.

    The hotel more than lived up to its reputation and we really liked the setting and history of the property. It was calm and peaceful away from the main city and the staff were extremely helpful at all times. The food in the restaurant was great and the rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean. The rate we paid was extremely reasonable for such a high calibre hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Paradise resurrected with Eden Garden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guests are pampered toooo much that they are not reprimanded at least in words when they fail to take shower before swimming.. Booking.com site is not friendly to load photographs of food...bad management

    Overall.... a kingly stay with a princely care ..Chef Alwyn crafted Omlette blended with cabbage+capsicum+beans+Onion+coriander+curryleaves+Tomato+green chilly+++ a feat to your gastronomic indulgence

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A C temperature.

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Just wonderful. Hopefully will do it again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is stunning. All members of staff are very good. Lots of personal attention is given by everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    One of the best location for leisure in Madurai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was amazing views, cleanness, infrastructure, and very friendly and helpful staffs, 24/7 helpline service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safety rings is needed in swimming pool for children

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upkeep

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Location and the staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food could have been much better

    The location, greenery and peacocks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Heritage Hotel with excellent service and good F&B
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outdated rooms. But it is a Heritage hotel

    The service and the food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality

    Ambience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A very comfortable stay
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular to point out.

    Hospitality extended by staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel with a beautiful view down to Madurai!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a most relaxing stay after the big loud indian town! We were made most welcome and also the meals at the restaurant were exellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Excellent service and good comfortable zone for family celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    the pillows were not vey good at all, quite hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the pillows were not vey good at all, quite hard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    5.4
    Good location but in poor state of repair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room and poor service in restaurant.

    Location overlooking the city

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    Okay stay. Not bad but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu could have been better.

    The hotel was below expectations. Breakfast buffet was okay. Nothing great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting in the hills above Madurai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    swimming pool water was quite cold

    It was lovely they even had peacocks wondering around the garden

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Quietness. Welcoming Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quietness. Welcoming Staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Stay was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Very nicely located with excellent view of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel. We really enjoyed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect!

    Very Nice place. Big and clean room. Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice surroundings. Excellent place. We really enjoyed!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Great place seperate from the hustle and bustle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Party in house next door till late, however management intervened fast and descisive

    Beautiful location on the hill above the city, peaceful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel which doesn't their possibilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was better years ago

    Without a good driver you are lost there Ask for Murty driver, he is the best there and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Only in an emergency would I stsy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally grubby

    Remote from pollution &noise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Peaceful and rejuvenating stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city of Madurai was very congested - the Hotel was superb

    Peaceful and rejuvenating stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    It was a memorable stay
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & environment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff courtrsy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintaince of property

    Staff courtrsy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    Service was average, and maintenance was also average.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was average, and maintenance was also average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower very bad even after changing the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    The stay was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ambience is excellent and you enjoy the nature. The food quality is good and even in buffet the menu varies

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel and stunning views

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: