Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Green Cove Resort and Spa Kovalam 5 stars

G.V. Raja Vattapara Road, Trivandrum, 695527 Kovalam, India

#3 of 64 hotels in Kovalam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 280 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing hotel and friendly staffs. Was lucky to have a complimentary upgrade. All the staffs at the hotel very very helpful and amazing. The best in Trivandrum

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    To start with we stayed both Taj in Mumbai and Kovalam. Both are rated 5*. But the difference is immence, in everything- quality of the rooms, service, food served, especially breakfast. When arrived and looked at our initially booked Superior cottage Garden view room, we were utterly dissapointed. Room was very ‘tired’. Second - bathroom with very poor sound proof and an open closet IN the bathroom. So when your partner uses bathroom, you cannot get to the closet. And your cloth is dump all the time due to moisture from the shower. Who ingeniously had created such a design?? But the hotel team has showed us a Suite that was available as of next day and we have moved at extra charge. The room was in a much better shape and second bathroom has helped a lot (though soundproof and closet problems have partially remained) Overall service, though nice and approachable, is overall slow and command of English is quite poor in general. Breakfast choices are totally focused on Indian clientele. Comparing to Mumbai Taj - very limited choice of fresh fruits, dairy, breads, cereals This was noted already in other feedbacks - as hotel doesn’t have own beach, the pool area really could be bigger. We have been at the season close but could imagine how crowded it is during peak occupation!! The last but not least - if you want to dry your swimsuit outside on the balcony, do not do it by any means is you do not want to spoil it forewer! Both railings and chairs have left brown marks, which we did not manage to wash away even after returning home! So my wife had to throw away her linen beach dress because of this

    SPA is a bliss, all treatments were really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our family of four had an amazing stay at Taj Green Cove, thanks to the professional, attentive and friendly staff. Our twins had their birthday during our stay, and they were absolutely delighted by all the special surprises the staff had in store for them throughout the day, and were amazed that many of them seemed to know it was their birthday! Early evening tea service offered by the sea (10-15min walk or a short buggy ride away) was wonderful. The intense heat was gone by that time of day, and it was quite pleasant by the water. Beautiful sunset over the ocean as well. We'd also like to thank the chef that gave us a cooking demonstration of 3 traditional Keralan dishes. It was well organized and absolutely delicious. We cannot wait to try it at home!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the service was a bit slow but this is only to make some remarks. In fact they could not have done better. And, though the pool is beautiful, we missed the beach just to see and watch even when the sea is too rough to take a bath.

    Architecture and garden very very beautiful. The room with garden view really set like in a dschungle with very spacy bathroom. Excellent sea side restaurant, worth every minute sitting there. The Spa is a treatment, people there were very friendly and skilled.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe was missing from the room, this took an hour or two to get installed. The bathroom had mould and could have done with renovation, but we didn’t mind this so much as it felt a bit more authentic. Didn’t feel like we were staying in a Taj branded hotel - note it is Vivanta by Taj.

    Access to hotel grounds with mini backwaters - this was breathtaking. Beautiful view to see as you walk around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swimming pool was not very clean. There are some red and itchy spots on my two kids' skin which is because of the pool water (as their physician said after two days of returning from hotel).

    Facilities, services, and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dint give late checkout even though I had a late check in because of a Kerla bandh... They didn't owe it to me since they were not responsible for the late check in... However would have appreciated the kind gesture especially since rooms were available that day

    Location... Private beach front... Food.. Great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were some problems with our room door lock so we had to get it fixed twice but it was a minor issue

    Staff is very nice. Spa treatments are really good, we took different treatments and all masseuses were expert in the different massages. We also really liked that the kitchen staff understood our non-spicy requirements so we really enjoyed the food as well. The pool is really nice and the room was also very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was catering mainly to Indian guests, not the usual choice of fresh salads, fruits, or cereals. No meat or cheese cuts. Staff was friendly, but not the standard we are used to from the taj. No swimming No beach - just rock/ stone barriers Closest beach in Kovalam is 4 kn away and not very nice But still had an amazing time

    We had an excellent stay. Beautiful resort with mazing views, lovely gardens, set on the hills overlooking the sea, fantastic large pool, great restaurant, brilliant spa facilities, stunning chalets - very charming and spacious Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would prefer that taxes were included in the price - be careful!

    The staff at the Taj are a cut above. The rooms are lovely and a good size. The sea front restaurant is gorgeous and has a fantastic setting and serene atmosphere. The food is good, too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no access for swimming in the ocean, resort location near to town, so noise is directly at the pool, the area for the houses for accomodation is rather small and thus noise from the environment and neighbours the result, the restaurant is too small for the number of rooms, the area around the pool is also very small and particularly when many guests are there, the distance between the sunbeds is so small like in a cheap hotel, performance and prize do not fit despite the garden character of the area between the houses

    a pool area with a nice view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in service Information on the website is misleading.. Property not available on taj website was available on other site like booking.com that does not give specific details of the rooms. Roll on bed was poor The garden view cottages were poor, literally no view..we changed from garden view to premium sea view fir a very high price.

    The aesthetic aspects of the resort. View from the jasmine bay was wonderful. Club car service was efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    The property was so beautiful. Lush greenery and calming views of the ocean. Once you're there you just switch off from the world and are transported into a serene space. It was very relaxing and refreshing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Suites Sea view with Plunge Pool King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report.

    We have stayed here twice before and love the overall experience. The hotel is tranquil and the location and views are superb. Staff are amazing, rooms are exceptionally clean and we would not stay anywhere else in Kovalam. We will be returning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and overall experience is just superb. The premises are well taken care off, the staff is friendly and helpful. It follows the principle of eco hotels: natural materials are used and you feel a little lost I the jungle, yet our accommodation was very comforting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    did not get various pric offers wwhen I booked

    the beautiful setting Inclusion f Yoga classes with calming view of watefrall lovely swimming pool jacuzzi in the rocks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The In-room dining menu was cery limited for a place which has to offer so much. Chef needs to look into this

    The landscaping and overall setup of resort is very romantic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach and no swimming in the sea. On week-ends the pool area is too crowded and noisy.

    Fantastic spa (Jiva spa) and very friendly staff. Nice gardens, jacuzzis. Good show in the evening ( Kathakali performance). Good restaurant by the sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The entertainment provided for the Christmas party was mixed. The local Keralan dancers were excellent - however, the hostess/MC and singers were embarrasingly awful - would have been booed off the stage at a karaoke Bar.

    High level of unpushy but considerate personal attention by the Jasmine Restaurant staff and the Housekeeping Team added a level or warmth and comfort to our visit. Chinky, Nikki, Pragtati, Naresh, Sathyaraj and Venkatesh all deserve honourable mentions in the former as do Ranjini, Anadnapal and Bharat in the latter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very relaxing stay. Spacious room and good shower and bath. Three very good restaurants. Great spa and yoga lessons. Great view from the pool. Short drive - 10-15 mins - to the beach. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How i wish you had told us before that there is no beach for the property. Wouldn't have paid a bomb to just get a view of the sea....not worth.

    The pool, the warmth of the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regular staff is heavily dependent on Trainees and they try to take care of your needs . Understanding the customer requirements is a great problem here. Taj is my favourite but here I felt lack of professionalism. You must take care

    Great location, great facilities . But there is something which was missing here ( although I am still staying here for one more day with a separate reservation)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tiny details - breads and pastries could be better, as could the TV and remote in the rooms. It's difficult if you're not mobile because of the cobbled hills, but they'll do everything they can to help. Don't expect a typical vast 5 star resort - go to the Leela if you want that - this is more of a charming boutique hotel. There isn't a huge amount on site but for a wonderfully relaxed, quiet holiday with exceptional service, you can't beat the Taj Green Cove.

    Superb service - no one does it better. Every single member of staff is genuinely warm, courteous and friendly and couldn't do enough to make your stay better. I travelled with my elderly mum, husband and toddler so really appreciated the extra mile they all went to. The beautiful decor, great food, stunning views from the infinity pool, and cosy boutique feel add to the charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate number and quality of room towels very poor, no bathrobes in room. Veranda door needed fixing. The entire hotel had run out of gin. The service by the pool was at times very slow (30 minutes wait and 4 times we had to ask for the bill once). Fish restaurant very expensive. We asked for twin beds to be put together. Not a good outcome so we sorted ourselves. I could go on. I just expect more to be right first time at this price than heartfelt apologies when lapses are pointed out.

    Location, views, buildings all fabulous. Some of the service was very good and up to Taj standard we expect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com quote had taxes already included in price but when settling the bill with hotel we were charged taxes again at a lesser amount

    The facilities available Amazing spa Great pool with nice view Room was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I took the hotel limo at 3 times the price of a conventional taxi to be sure to be drop at the place I wanted to be for a business meeting; I did informed the hotel staff of my reason but it appears that the driver didn't know to reach the place , his phone wasn't able to reach my client, I did using my own international phone. The client eventually gave instruction to the driver. It took me 4 international phone calls to the hotel to get duty manager, who didn't return my call, to report my case and get the invoice that they haven't email me despite my request; he did not gave a word of apology.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor but our room smelled musty. I suppose hard to avoid in that climate and because they are separate bungalows.

    The staff were lovely, free yoga in the morning in such a tranquil setting was idyllic. The grounds are gorgeous. We have such special memories of our holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s one the most clam and peaceful resort in Kovalam... being there itself make you feel relaxed. It’s nature everywhere. Room was nice with a great view. It’s really nice to walk around the property but you can always call in a hotel buggy to take you around. Staff were every friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The best that I noticed is the warmth of the staff which puts all other things in perspective. It is not always that one can afford the luxury of staying in such wonderful property, and the experience has been really refreshing and memorable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful location to relax with views over the sea and lagoon. Food was excellent, both in Bait where you sit with the waves crashing outside, and in the main building. Spa was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff was extremely friendly - especially in the restaurant (Naresh, Nikki, Upendra) and at the child care facilities, where I had to drag the children away each day. The room service was also very good, always helpful, and I have never seen such artistic towel designs before. All in all a place to relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    From the moment you arrive until the minute you leave, this place and the staff make you feel special. The hotel has a secluded and very beautiful elevated location, in amazing tropical gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think the other pool was under renovation.

    Amazing hotel and would definitely go back!! The views are incredible and the hotel oozes luxury - the rooms, swimming pool and all. The Indian restaurant was one of the best restaurants we have been too! And the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - special thanks to Upendra, Naresh, Pragati, Chinky and Roshni. Nothing was a bother to them as they really made our stay special with them. Hopefully we will plan our wedding here as it was just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too distant at the management level.

    Very courteous and solicitous staff. Small but good gym and yoga facilities. Good views. Excellent, discreet location, beautiful sea side restaurant, but food there needs improvement.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No flipflops and bathrobes in the room. But considering the overall experience this is negligible

    Awesome place to stay. Great atmosphere, wonderful facilities and excellent service. Certainly full value for money. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom lighting could be improved and the shower remodeled and enlarged.

    I've stayed here on several occasions. The property is lovely and well-maintained; staff is generally excellent; and the rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive as it might be as . Food is not out of the world as you would expect neither is the menu. We booked Sea view room a Sea View Room (308 i believe). You can view the sea if you stick you neck out from room (the trees have all grown taller blocking the view) and this is supposed to be the room with the best view in this category. Neverthless dont regret booking the room as its way better than the garden view. Had rain and lightning the night we stayed so it was worth the extra money spent ;-)

    Nice place to spend a night. SPA was the best part. Well maintained property. Wonderful staff. Complementary boat ride. Room service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just mentioned as above.

    Over all a very comfortable stay. As I had mentioned, only flaw I found was a Charge on Drop off to the airport at the end of the stay. I felt that as a lapse in 'courtesy and dedicated customer focus'! It is not the money(just minidcule compared to the total hotel charges) it is the professionalism that raised a red flag. I have been a world traveler, as such I am an observer and can discern what is great and what is poor! Hope my message is clear!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were little soggy(may be due to rainy season), Towels not extra clean, Mosquito problem,as sliding doors were not mosquito proof.

    Overall good, Yoga session was best

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The premium wifi trend in India is disappointing, having seen this at several 5* hotels, however having said that the free throttled wifi was good enough to get emails and the odd facebook update. Don't expect youtube though.

    Staff are very attentive, nothing too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful resort, exceptional service, wonderful food, lovely spa, complimentary river boat cruise and tea was a lovely touch. As always at Taj properties you feel very well taken care of.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boat ride and snacks that are served closed at 6pm while we reached at 6:05pm and our request for tea was turned down. Also, one can't take a boat ride while the sun is still up !! The pleasure of experiencing back waters in a boat is at the time close to sunset .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What could have been better was maybe a trip to the authentic handicrafts, such as the weaving of the traditional sarees and dhoti sets of Kerala, or maybe a show of the handicrafts/ sale of these at the gift shop- I sure would have liked to invest in the small jars used in the restuarant.

    The restuarants served very good preparations. But the property was very well done up- the water feature was beautiful, the strategic facility for transportation to the beach front and the staff involved in maintaining and more importantly ensuring the safety of visitors did a commendable job. The staff prticularly those manning the fornt desk were helpful and obliging. On a sprawling property maintenance is likely to be difficult- but the staff were available to handle all glitches and so this is commendable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Super awesome.. liked the property and service alot.. specially want to mention 2 names for the outstanding service... One is jeevan & Senti.. both was very good. Cheers guys..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This is an amazing property. Right from the beautiful landscaped gardens to the luxurious rooms and the fantastic views of the lagoon and the sea, we were charmed. The lovely pool and the restaurant next to it are wonderful to escape the heat and the staff make sure that your stay is absolutely perfect. The afternoon tea by the sea, the little boat ride and the birds all around, made for a lovely stay. Oh and the jacuzzi in the middle of the gardens is just beautiful. Thanks a million to the whole staff including Mani, Ghan Shyam, Chinky, and all the others whose names I don't remember, for their welcome. Our children were thrilled with all the little attentions including the fantastic chocolate cake to say goodbye!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shop man was overzealous

    It was perfect food, service, friendly, comfy, we could not have wanted more our every need was surpassed and it's so beautiful ,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * More Spa rooms * Bigger swarming pool * No excess to the sea

    The Chef wonder is d Jwele of Vivanta's kitchen ! The cleaning boys Aanondo, Shrawan, Rajesh( are so kind,Sincere, understand our need n hard working !! Spa is excellent but prices are bit high :( At the spa, Helena is Awesome ! I wd love to hv a massage from her again n again !!Sivamani is a wonderful loving person to handle the staff as well Guests needs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much going on directly outside the hotel.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and genuine. The gardens and pool area beautiful. Free yoga class each morning excellent and suitable for beginners too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound proofing between rooms should be better. If you end up with a noisy family next door it's no fun. And Internet is hit and (more often) miss, and of unacceptable quality for a five-star hotel. Perhaps it's nice to be forced to stay away form work though I still would rather set my own agenda.

    Lovely hotel, wonderful location and very attentive staff. Ajay and his supervisor at the Bait restaurant went out of their way to make for a very special moonlit birthday dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea food restaurant was nothing great. Could do with some improvements.

    The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The property is beautiful and has a serene look.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi limited speed for download (there is a paid version to overcome this), some complimentary activities are only available in the afternoon (it would be great to have in the morning as well)

    Staff, view, facilities, food

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi limited speed for download (there is a paid version to overcome this), some complimentary activities are only available in the afternoon (it would be great to have in the morning as well)

    Facilities, view, food, staff, pool!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 9 nights

    initial welcome service was a bit disorganised. They got our booking mixed up - but then pulled out all the stops to make things right.

    Room was colonial style, delightfully furnished and very practical with separate bathrooms ,shower and bath. Great views. room service was good and service teams were excellent. Bait Restaurant was excellent - by the Arabian Sea. wonderful service and great sea food choices

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk declined our request for genius discounts. Disappointed as we have done so many bookings via booking Com Otherwise no other comments.

    Staff were outstanding. Food was good and facilities as expected.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    set top box didn't function properly, substandard food in the curry restaurant, lizard in the room & surprisingly they went wrong with a grilled ham & cheese sandwich...

    mingled with the nature perfectly ... very very well mannered and highly efficient staff , the check in / out was very smooth

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach...That's all I could think of and it wasn't huge.

    Honestly, if I could give this place an 11, I would. The staff were amazing, all throughout the facility. The restaurants were great (must check out Bait if you go). Pool makes up for lack of ocean Beach access. This place makes you feel like a prince. Has everything you could ever need. Hope I have a chance to stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not a 5 star property in my opinion and the steep price paid is not reflected in the rooms and the flawless service. The rooms are small and badly insulated against sound. The beds are very short (for tall Dutch guy) and the staff is not "spot on" trained for 5 star service. Absolutely not a bad place to stay but in my opinion not the correct value for money.

    The Vivanta by Taj is a nice hotel at a good location in Kovalam. The staff is friendly and do their best to make your stay enjoyable. We were not happy with our stay and the staff were very helpful in accepting an early departure notwithstanding the cancellation policy.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temple close by had a 2 day festival which started at 5 am and finished at midnight, the noise was unbearable. It would have been good to have known about this in advance as I would have stayed somewhere else as it was not relaxing.

    Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, comfortable and lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Offered water at breakfast, said yes and then was presented with a bill for it at the end of the meal! Breakfast was included in my room rate - they should have explained charge before offering water!

    Spa facilities were excellent and very good value. View from pool very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    New year party was a let down for us as we specifically went there for celebrating the New year's eve. Emcee was not great at all. Also we were not asked about our seating preference in advance given that we were resident guests. We had to sit as per their allotment plan which was not very convenient to us since we had a baby with us (we could have sat farther from speakers). There was no baby chair for the new year party despite our request. Also golf course had no golf clubs to play with and was not even well maintained. Reservation staff was not very receptive about our request to provide us with a bigger room with fewer steps because of the baby (we offered to pay extra) but not only our request was accommodated , we were not even communicated about it.

    Excellent service by the staff- always welcomed us with a warm and genuine smile during our 5-day stay. Baby food was provided promptly on request and the lady at the creche facility was very gentle and sweet with my baby. Room was cleaned twice a day - housekeeping department (Special mention to Ramesh) are awesome. All dishes of each meal were so tasty and had amazing taste. Chefs are passionate about cooking - LOVE LOVE LOVE the food. Food quality was also amazing. Spa staff is excellent and provided quality service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Presidential Villa with Private Pool King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never thought that could exist such a thing as a very bad Yoga class, well, there is. Massages are not so great too, but the oil they use are great.

    Stayed at the presidential Villa with another couple of friends and we loved it! The food of all 3 restaurants was amazing! The private beach with the facilities were great.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I find it difficult to fault the whole experience.

    Resort was in beautiful tropical gardens Staff were unfailingly helpful and smiling Good choice of food You could walk to the beach and Kovalam was within walking distance along the beach paths Lovely rooms with air con and all comforts that you could wish for

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine and beer expensive even by UK standards. Buffet breakfast excellent but expensive if you have chosen 'room only'!

    Everything was superb. Bait restaurant, right by the beach was especially atmospheric. Breakfasts superb, but expensive.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suites Sea View with Balcony King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location,we couldn't get down to the sea beach,it was full of rock.It is not a resort where you can enjoy the beach and have bath in the sea.

    Cleanliness was good,food was good,service was exce4,room was cozy and nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Cottages Garden View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints but it was a bit odd that I didn't get charged either after booking or after checking out but randomly about one month before arrival.

    Excellent staff and stunningly beautiful grounds. The staff were constantly at our disposal, the grounds and pool were lovely. Considering the quality of the hotel the price was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality of the staff. Landscaping of the property, interiors of the room. Buffet Breakfast was served in the restaurant till 11 am (so late risers and guests with small kids can still enjoy the most important meal of the day!)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the taxes but this is standard

    Staff were excellent and the resort was very comfortable. The food was very nice but we felt our experience at Bait was average.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The airport transfers were slightly pricey - 1,300 rs each way. I'd suggest lowering the prices because taxis are hard to find around the property.

    The staff (Chinky, Satya, Upendra) were courteous and extremely hospitable. Our pillows were changed per our request immediately, food was great, service even better and real value for money! Especially recommend the spa services.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast selection. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Rooms clean and well designed. Beautiful grounds just minutes from the ocean. Very impressed overall and would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed here for two nights to celebrate my birthday. And I enjoyed it so much! Good location, nice, clean and comfortable room, great view from the balcony, very friendly and helpful staff. As a birthday special they gifted me a delicious chocolade cake along with a greetingcard from the manager. What a nice surprise! The pool offers a fantastic view, but unfortunately it is located direct at the main restaurant area which gives one only a very little privacy. But overall I felt really happy and hope to come back soon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The swimming pool was closed for renovation works. After our arrival we realized that the small letter conditions specified that, but they should have warned us in a more clear way. Luckily, they have a small zone with outside jacuzzis that saved our stay (for us the swimming pool in a deluxe resort is essential). - The so-called "private beach" is not a beach. It's a stretch of coastline with a rocky breakwater and it's impossible to swim or sunbathe there. Only suitable to walk and see the sea. Kovalam beach is not an option either, as it's dirty, shabby and full of gawkers. - The hotel is quite boring and too familiar. Ideal for relax, but it was impossible to have a cocktail in the beautiful beach restaurant (they only have mocktails), the hotel bar closes at 22:00 and there are no evening activities like live music, dancing... - The spa prices are really expensive, they charge for a 1 hour massage more than twice the amount I pay in some cozy massage places in Europe (more than 50 € taxes included).

    - The spot is amazing: the ambience and decoration are perfect, and the beautiful cottages are lost in the middle of the jungle, surrounded by palms and all type of vegetation, with wonderful views of the sea. - The rooms are fantastic: big, beautiful, decorated with taste and with all kind of details. - The service is great: everybody is really kind and they are always ready to help you and solve anything. - The food is really yummy: we tried here the best curries of the whole trip.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Suites Sea view with Plunge Pool King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!!

    The hotel staff were excellent, especially their F&B staff Chinky, Naresh, Mani, Upendra, Chef Dhas who all made our stay one of our most memorable ones! We loved the special dinner table they set up for us the night before we left ... We loved it! The Premium Villa with Pool was quite spacious and had a very nice view of the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Villa with Private Pool King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage has wooden elements with wooden staircase, wood floors et al. Looks amazing. It's just a tad slippery with bare feet. The lovely jute slippers provided by Vivanta help. The steps to climb up is slightly tough for older people, but even the grandparents enjoyed their stay. There is a complementary buggy service for those who would like it. All was good. Would just recommended that the thatch look of the roof be retouched, as well as some of the upholstery to perk the interiors up a bit.:-)

    The Presidential Suite was excellent. Perfect for 2 families with kids. Amazing bathrooms overlooking a green yard. The overall property is exceptional and stunning. Lush tropical green, like none other! Hats off to the gardeners and maintenance team!! Various activities for kids were available (which we did not use as we made full use of the infinity pool!) Our 5 year old loved it. Complimentary small backwater ride too. Good food. Helpful staff and service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Sea View King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking for some thai soups and little more variety in chinese & thai cuisines which was not available, they can have a variety added in menu.

    Staff ia just too good and that makes the stay all the more pleasant. Chef Niksan @ jasmine bay is a genuine, he will ensure u get food served to your satisfactory taste & choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Cottages Garden View King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taj Green Cove Resort and Spa Kovalam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: