Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Lake Palace 5 stars

P O Box No 5 Pichola Lake, 313001 Udaipur, India

#2 of 173 hotels in Udaipur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 438 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    How wonderful stay in Taj lake palace. The best experience in Udaipur. I recommend it if you have stay in Udaipur. A picture is worth a thousand words.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel. I’ve stayed at Hyatt, Ritz and Aman around Asia. This one is by far my best experience at a hotel. Consider it an investment in your trip. Definitely worth staying for a least one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel should be on every traveller’s bucket list. It’s unique in its location and history. The staff make it memorable: they are the epitome of perfect Indian hospitality and the excellent service Taj hotels are known for. It doesn’t get any better than this, can’t wait to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    I literally liked everything in this stay It's expensive but worth the price ure paying obviously, you enjoy the feeling of royalty being a guest of the Royal family in their property accessible only to residents and you enjoy the experience of luxury of Taj group. Everyone is giving you a full attention you get full help and u feel great company. I appreciate that they give us an upgrade it was a surprise and our view was amazing on the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out Argument over minibar Putting us in wrong taxi to airport and then turning round to give taxi to others also going to airport and we get dumpedi in another not so good taxi despite having paid the hotel extortionate rate for their taxi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel the Palace is a little tired!, one is paying a lot to stay in the middle of the lake and it is considered 5 star but our rooms were "tired" and the lunch time catering could be better - I had the long awaited caesar salad , but wasn't impressed as some of the ingredients we missing (not 5 star). The evening meal was much better.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so good and accommodative, specially Navneet and Rhea. We informed the hotel about the special occasion and they totally took care of the rest. Upgraded room, courteous staff and dinner at terrace made the stay much more special than we expected. In the end we can only say, Wah Taj.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym was small, bikes missing, pool also a bit small, as well as the rooms. A good desk was missing (being on a business trip this is valued). The dining room is made of marble, this creates unpleasant noise. The management may look into this by putting sound absorbing ceilings and perhaps curtains in the corners.

    The service was extraordinary good, not just servants everyway (there are too many), but intelligent servants, With a very Sharp eye on what one likes, does. Also genuine interest from the management. This I have not seen to this extent in India so far. Congratulations. Food was also excellent and clean. I felt safe eating there. Beds also good. The Place was quite, no noise from celebrations going on (which is typical even in business hotels in India).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My second visit after three years. As before, very nice staff and terrific services, besides wonderful facilities. Most impressive is the staff's kind attention to guests, and great teamwork all around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I could not stay there longer.

    It was amazing to stay in a palace on the lake which was built some 300 years ago. The second oldest Taj property after the one in Mumbai and comfort, service and quality of everything you see of high end. The tours and in house music and dance show was spectacular! Loved the morning yoga while the sun rose over the city palace and also the man playing the flute from overhead in the mornings and evenings. With only 80 rooms and no non residents allowed, you never felt that there were too many people around. Having said that, we met some lovely people while on the heritage tour around the palace. Touch of class!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful palace scenery Staffs are very accommodating Excellent service Food is superb Highly recommend : this place made you feel like ROYALTY

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful palace, very well maintained. Felt like we are in Venice. Customer service is exemplary, we felt like royals visiting this palace. Boat ride back and forth from the palace is awesome. Taj provides free sunset tour which was amazing, cultural dance performances in the evening was great. Food at the restaurants was delicious. We loved the palace so much and will definitely come back soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Faultless

    Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They even spotted that our toothpaste tube was almost empty and another one magically appeared. The noticed I was wearing spectacles and a lens polishing cloth appeared on the desk. Wonderful breakfasts in an idyllic location overlooking a large pond of waterlilies - or over the lake itself - and accompanied by a flautist playing from a tiny pagoda overlooking the outdoor tables. Wonderful traditional music and dance each evening - not to be missed. The evening lake cruise on a comfortable launch with an informative guide was well worth taking as an option.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, service and location. It was a excellent and memorable visit. Quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Excellent food! Expensive but totally worth it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs some work; too many pigeons and staff not as helpful as elsewhere in the hotel.

    One of the truly great hotels in the world. Great attention to detail, well trained, knowledgable and courteous staff. A most romantic setting and delightful food too. Our fourth visit and it gets better each time!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    We have defined it as sweet embrace of luxury. It is one of the best properties in India.It is authentic to the core. Taj has really done justice to that palace. Most palatial experience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is exclusive as no one can visit unless they have a room ... but we had friends we had met on our Indian trip staying in the town who could not join us for a drink....

    As the most famous hotel in Udaipur (probably Rajasthan) We did have some expectations of it - and it did not disappoint - from the first contact on the shore to arriving with the ceremony they give it - as well as the exceptional welcome talk and tour to the room and the dancing show put on it is obviously a beautiful hotel.. But I felt one night was enough and a nice experience - but in terms of luxury not of the real India... The room was fine - not large but good. The hotel have lots of pigeons who sleep across the roof and they have put nets up in some areas to stop them coming down. The food is fine. Lots of choice at Breakfast! Worth going as a one off treat if you fancy it....

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best hotel in the world: what can you say....boat transfer, welcomed by man with umbrella who leads you under the shower of rose petals into the cool lobby. Smooth slick check in, wonderful gardens, charming room. Nice small pool area. 3 restaurants but we ate in the main one which had a far nicer view than the upmarket (expensive) Indian one. Good breakfast. Push the boat out and stay here once in your life.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    We stayed at taj lake palace for a couple of nights in December. We had a lovely lake facing room with a gorgeus view of the jaga mandir. Would rate this stay as one of my most memorable experiences. The hospitality is probably the best in the world. Staff is well trained and they treat you like Kings and queens. The food is top notch and everything we ate was well crafted and looked so beautiful. The jetty rides from the mainland to the Taj island are serene and very romantic. Will come back again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a little confusion with the 2 rooms initially and they said they didn't have double rooms even though it was on the confirmation. The situation was resolved.

    Very nice staff. the hotel tour, boat ride and happy hour entertainment were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    to leave the place ( maybe the speed of the standard internet service)

    There is a time when a 10 is a 10 and this hotel ( situation and services) indeed have the merit of this number. it is probably what you can expexct in a 6 star place, where the all comes together and you feel that you made the right choice to be at the right place. the setting of the hotel ( we were upgraded to a palace room - view on city palace) and the umost trained personel who is so absolut attentive to all your wishes and remarks (sometimes they know it before you said it) and the indian understading of quality service makes the departure....a torture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food in the rooftop restaurant in the hotel is average by western standards and is wildly overpriced. While he hotel is wonderful I do believe the cost per night is too high for what you get.

    The whole place is like nothing else you will stay in - a beautiful place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Palace Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only criticism is the rooftop European restaurant. The food was very ordinary and overpriced .my daughters lamb was poor, our pork was ok . The starter was very ordinary.

    The lake palace is a fabulous experience. Breakfast was excellent as was the Indian restaurant for dinner. The evening sunset cruise and dance was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    From the moment we arrived at their jetty, we knew we were in for an overload of pampering. From all the smiling faces of each and every staff member greeting us to the captivating scenic views surrounding us...everything helped to make it a lifetimes experience!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to watch a movie, we gave them a time and when they came they could not start the DVDS, took 4 to 5 staff etc. Then they changed my dad player! All took an hour and I was then not really in the mood to watch. I think all this needs to be pre checked, especially as we had pre ordered it!

    Location, historical building, staff, some entertainment items. Manager of daily restaurant and his staff just excellent. In fact pool staff just about everyone, helpful and curteous. Some inconveniences could be over looked because of that. Hotel room facilities could be better but that is due to historical building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool area is somewhat dated and even tho renovations are restricted more comfortable sun beds would be great

    Perfect service, beautiful palace and great rooms. The breakfast was the best we've had at a hotel. The boat trip and heritage walk around the palace we greatly enjoyed. The setting is magical and the sunsets unforgettable. A truly memorable honeymoon experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historical Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old property !!! Needs care to be sold as a palace.

    Was in a Grand palace suite !!Awesome food and services!!! the staff pampers you like a spoilt king!!! Will definite gain in weight and for that of course they will give you a scale in the bathroom!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pigeons, they should really do something about it... They are everywhere!!

    An incredible and unforgettable experience in such a unique place. Yes the price is expensive (For India) but it's SO much worth it from the perfect service to the rooms and the facilities. They also have many free activities (History tour around the Palace & dance performance). I felt like a Maharaja at least for a day. You would really miss so much if you would go to Udaipur without going there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The initial welcome. The gift given at the time of departure did not seem relevant to the place( I mean Rajasthan or Udaipur).

    Overall hospitality n curtsy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the first time we are rating a hotel 10/10. We have never experienced such a warm and professional staff. Special kudos to Teresa and Priyal. Exceptionally kind and efficient!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paradise on Earth! Top location, luxury place, personnel looking for excellent service, good food, boat cruise, vintage car tour,.... It was an incredible experience: no one should miss it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like

    The location is spectacular in the middle of the lake; the staff are the best in the world for efficiency, kindness and helpfulness; the choice of restaurants and the food served is exquisite. Nothing is too much trouble - even down to placing scented bags in trainers. And the whole hotel has the subtle aroma of jasmine. It's heaven on earth!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about it, from the time I was collected from the airport to when I finally set foot on the palace grounds. The attention to detail, the excellent level of service, the courteous staff, and the outstanding facilities. I will definitely go back. Being on the lake makes it also gives it a serene ambiance, away from the city's busy feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some towels have bad smill

    The hotel look for details very will. Iniur Eid they put flowers in our rooms, and they give us cake, Gift. realy we enjoyed in our Eid in Taj Lake. Thanks so much for the amazing hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel is a one of a kind, in the middle of Pichola Lake. Staff is super attentive a ready to fulfill any request. Breakfast is excellent, with many different choices of vegetarian, indian, continental, healthy kind of dishes. Spa treatments are worth every penny (we did a couple massage followed by a rose petals bath - a bottle of champagne is included in the package). Also restaurants are very good. Room is amazing as the whole property, surrounded by a positive vibe and peace. This was the first time I felt sad to leave an hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The structure is a bit old and could be a bit revamped. The service compared to other 5 star Taj hotel has to be improved: our luggage were left 4 hours outside while it was raining, not the kind of care that we would expect from a hotel of this level. In addition our room had a bad smell: being the structure on a lake the management should know the rooms have to be refreshed more often than a standard hotel. When we ask for support it was midnight and the only thing the could do was offer us to leave our room and our stuff and sleep in another one. They should have taken this sort of issues more seriously and refresh it earlier. They compensated this with a free breakfast but our general feeling is that our stay was not worth the price paid.

    Amazing location. It's a must in Udaipur. The breakfast with the view by the city palace is amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One day wasn't enough to enjoy this property, could have stayed longer.

    Excellent service, extraordinary food. We were awed how personally we were served for breakfast & dinner. Staff was truly amazing. we were upgraded to higher room to accommodate us 4 .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's fantastic location provides an amazing experience!! Despite it's natural location, the hotel is old and is requering for some refurbishments workings... At the end, we felt that the hotel was extremely overpriced!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    IT WAS GREAT EXPERIENCE, WE LOVED SERVICES AND APPRECIATE THAT YOU ARE CHERISHING THIS 200 YEARS OLD PROPERTY. ALSO LOVED FOOD. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YOU FOR SURPRISE YOU GAVE US WITH SPECIAL CAKE FOR MY WIFE'S BIRTHDAY.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The transfer back to the airport lacked the level of hospitality found during the rest of our stay.

    Staff was so kind and professional... they really make you feel special! The hotel offers fun activities (yoga, dance performances, tours, etc). Food and drink prices were reasonable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub in the room is quite small. The Jacuzzi near the swimming pool could be better maintained.

    All staff was very helpful. Complimentary chocolate in the room was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was perfect.

    This place was like no where I have ever been before. The smiles were real and the energy soothing and beautiful. The rooms were stunning, pool was delightful, food was outstanding, staff were unbelievably marvellous and the place itself out of this world. The little extras just keep coming, me and my Mother were upgraded to a lake view and given a free chocolate cake, fresh fruit juice, extras to try at breakfast, a tour of the palace with the history and I can't forget the memorable Indian dancing after the sunset boat trip. Also being showered with flower petals on arrival made me feel like a princess. Truly a life time experience I'll never forget.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike with the hotel.

    Everything was just perfect; the royal treatment and the countless smallest attentions given. It was simply WOW. I totally loved my stay and I'm looking forward to go back again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off course the location .It was a unique one surrounded by water and the structure of the palace.We yourself were feeling like Maharaja of that palace for 2 days...

    The hospitality, always smiling and ready to help staff right from cleaner to manager . Overall the experience was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    If there was a 10+ score, we would give it to this hotel! From the moment we arrived at the City Palace jetty to board our boat for the trip across the lake to the hotel, we knew this was going to be a very special experience. Don't want to give away the customer service highlights of this amazing property, but be assured that this is the venue to celebrate your special event. Staff literally cannot do enough for you. A unique and truly memorable time for us. Thank you to everyone who made it so.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NIL

    EVERYTHING FROM RECEPTION, HOSPITALITY, PERSONAL TOUCH TO CARE AT ALL LEVELS,THE AMBIENCE, THE CHEERFULNESS AT THE RESTAURANTS WERE VERY COMMENDABLE AND COURTEOUS.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were treated like princesses the whole time. All of the staff went out of their way to do everything they could to make our visit fabulous. A friend had to drop out of the last minute due to family illness. They let us change our booking and gave us a wonderful upgrade. Every small detail is finely thought out. yes it is very expensive but definitely worth it. It was a dream weekend

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent.

    Service was superb. Christina at the front desk and the captain at the more casual restaurant gave the extra mile so we could enjoy our stay to the fullest. 🙏Namaste.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This is certainly one of the world's best hotels. It is exquisite, and stunningly located, and its welcoming personalised service is beyond exceptional. It is very expensive but even so seems good value, because everything - food, staff, ambience, facilities etc. - is truly memorable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patch garden around the Lili pond were a bit poor and neglected. The sound of the flut playing was a bit lowed and disturbing a soft sound could have made it pleasant.

    The efficency of the personels and the well aranged programs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I must say their service and personal attention is somthing to appreciate. Authentic food and cultural activities, that was entertaining plus the boat ride. Rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    Luxury, class and outstanding service. The taj lake hotel completely surpassed all my expectations. We were made to feel special from the minute we were met at the airport and right through to our departure. Our rooms were beautiful and the grounds are just spectacular. The staff are so attentive and try their absolute best to make your trip memorable. It has made me want to return to Udiapur again and again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to maintain exterior because of birds.

    The location and setting fantastic. Very quiet and peaceful atmosphere. Outstanding staff - extremely friendly and efficient with hreat service.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The desk staff notably, Rahul Metha, was not very helpful, nor gracious at such a nice (and incredibly expensive property, they didn't even smile if thank us when we paid. Most interactions we had were unpleasant with the front staff.

    Beautiful property, wonderful views everywhere. very nice and warm and considerate dining staff! Nitin in food service was excellent, so were Pradeep and Gopal in the main dining room. Shivcharan Singh in housekeeping was so thoughtful he even gave us a lense cleaner next to our glasses. IT support was promt when the wifi wasnt working and they fixed it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size poses as a challenge however since its a palace converted to Hotel. There's nothing much which the management can do about it

    The staff has an eye for detail and ensure they exceed expectations.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff were so attentive but just occasionally it was a bit too intrusive

    Fabulous breakfast - if they didn't offer it they would get it. A truly beautiful environment to celebrate a ruby wedding. We will be back for the Gold celebrations

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is really nice place,everyone should try this hotel if staying in Udaipur and could take the charge. It will be a amazing day in your life.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It's the best hotel I have ever visited bar none. Expensive but worth every penny....

    The rose petal shower as we stepped off the boat and into the Palace. Very romantic!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel couldn't be better. From the moment we arrived with rose petals falling on you from above to the minute we left with staff waving you goodbye from the little boat dock this is a place I know I would come back to Udaipuh for. I couldn't think of anything they could improve on. The staff, the service, the welcome, the food, the room-- everything -- just left us in a constant state of awe, it really exceeded already high expectations.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The extra special care taken by the hotel staff to make our silver anniversary very special. The rose petal shower, the special cake for us, the exquisite ambience - all will be a memory to be cherished for ever. Certainly plan to visit again :)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. This is a very unique and special place, that must be seen. We did not dare leave the hotel during out stay as it was simply breathtaking - every element from the dining areas, the pool, the jacuzis, our fantastic room and the 5* service. Great water preasure in the rooms, stable and fast wifi, luxury amenities, very comfortable beds. The pickup service was efficient and the extra tours and shows/entertainment they offer was just the icing on the cake. We would love and hope one day to return.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievable hotel and cannot recommend enough- if you can then do make sure you stay at this hotel. You will not regret it. Utterly stunning and the staff go out of their way to help. Hotel events- evening dancing show, sunset cruise etc and the ability to have a dinner on the roof overlooking the city at night make it all feel so special. Pictures do not do this place justice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - magical location, heritage tour with complimentary drink, sunset lake boat ride, evening dance performance, wonderfully greeting at palace entrance and superb guest rooms during our stay, amazing pool and gym, great breakfast and dinners

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What can I say about Taj Lake Palace? It must be experienced - you just can´t imagine it! We spent two perfect days there, which we full of surprises. I am afraid that after this no hotel will be nice enough...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - A lot of doves around, surprised why they haven't got a falcon to manage this - drinks and food is ridiculously expensive with a 30% tax!!!

    - Beautiful location and characterful hotel for special occasions or to just get away from the city - we were upgraded to the special suite and enjoyed it very much

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic with this hotel. There was nothing which could have been better, from the taxi at the airport to the boatride, nights at the hotel, the entertainment, the restaurants, the spa and the hairdresser.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    One of the best hotels I have stayed. It is a beautiful place where you can get an idea of the former living in a palace. In particular the outstanding staff contributes to this experience with its attentiveness and friendlyness. If you can afford it it is the must stay in Udaipur.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view & great upkeep of the hotel

    Generous room size of the historical suites, exceptionally well maintained grounds and a great if not a bit over the top service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was a bit small but very clean and comfy.

    Beautiful property on the lake. Staff were warm and friendly and made it feel like a second home. Very efficient service. Excellent food - we stuck with Indian cuisine. Truly a royal treatment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I do not think it is value for money. They should include a meal discount per day. So you can sit and enjoy a dinner there.

    Just spectacular ! The whole feel and the whole experience was so regal. They honestly make you feel like royalty.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More written information of sight seeing places with distances.

    Excellent Food and Service. Great Comfort and courtesy Adaptable to requirements of guests. Leisure activities and transportation to meet guest requirement. Pleasent Welcome and departure with gift.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Totally disappointing in every way. The location, though in the middle of the lake totally isolates you if you do not take a boat to the mainland and as the place is totally built up and there is not much private space other than the room. The lake view room that we had was spacious enough though the bathroom was tiny and the bathtub not big enough for a normal sized person. The strange thing is that all the windows are locked as per hotel policy though smoking is allowed so smokers like us end up in a fogged up prison atmosphere. The personal butler is a joke, just a guy who looks after one section of rooms and does almost nothing. The staff is highly variable with some well trained ones but some totally raw and clueless. The mini bar contains a strange assortment of miniatures and red bull, when we asked the "Butler" for some white wine he informed us that the bar is closed.... Strange sort of 5 star service. The food is beyond ordinary in both the restaurants. The use fancy words like "Rosemary infused lamb ragout" which turns out to be spaghetti bolognese. They also serve dishes without the key ingredients because they "don't have any". When you complain about food they offer you free dessert as a standard solution to all ills. The worst part was that though they repeatedly assured us that they would credit the points for ourstay to our Taj account, they refused to do so after we had left saying that we could not get points as we had booked via Booking.com instead of directly. The rates were exactly the same as the Taj site, the only reason we used Booking is because the Taj website is totally awful to use. This is straightforward dishonesty. Overall not at all worth the awesome cost of the stay and we found ourselves looking wistfully across the lake at the Oberoi with its huge grounds and greenery and wishing we had stayed there instead.

    The room cleaning was one of the best I've seen, everything neatly arranged. The location is nice enough as it is in the middle of the lake. The spa is clean and nice though too expensive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe it would be advisable to renovate the showers and they look a little old style.

    Wonderfull experience!! The hotel is incredible, and the staff of the hotel were amazing. The Front Desk was super nice and helpful. In the restaurants, as I'am lactose intolerant, they were always trying their best to fulfill my needs, with plenty of details and extra services. We also made cooking clases that will always remember. Thank you very much Lake Palace!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff goes out of their way to make the stay memorable. The property is gorgeous! Breakfast is WOW!! We had one of our best holidays ever!!! Must stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Palace Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very bad exchange rate applied for payment at end of stay, whether paying by debit card or foreign currency. Suggest paying in Rupees, otherwise bill will be about 10 per cent higher.

    Excellent location, very attentive staff, luxury service all round, great food and evening entertainment. Very relaxing break after two weeks of hard travelling around India. Quick boat service across the lake with boats always waiting at either end. Great spa facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Taj Lake Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: