Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Malabar Resort & Spa, Cochin.

Willingdon Island, Cochin, 682009 Cochin, India

#11 of 158 hotels in Cochin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 470 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The service we received by each and every member of the staff was just unparalleled to any other hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service we received by each and every member of the staff was just unparalleled to any other hotel/ resort we have ever stayed at across the globe. We were a group of 19 people and each one of us were looked after extraordinarily by all the staff during our entire stay. All departments, from the reception to the room service to the restaurants went out of their way to make us have a good time which in turn turned out to be an amazing stay because of the service. The property is beautiful but what really makes the place stand out is the Staff. We would like to mention all of their name but it would be a long list however Sunil, Prashant, Dinesh and Jenson deserve a special thank you, with Service like theirs our faith is restored in genuine customer service as never once did they make us feel like any request was too much (even though we asked for some outrageous stuff and really had alot of requests considering we were 19 people)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Thank you Taj Malabar for making my stay in Kochi memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you Taj Malabar for making my stay in Kochi memorable. Excellent service, excellent room, excellent food. I will definitely recommend Taj Malabar to anyone coming to Kochi. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    GREAT STAY ...WILL RELISH IT FOR A LONG TIME
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing ...everything perfect

    Great colonial style hotel absolutely fantastic. Beautiful view of the harbor really enjoyed my stay Restaurant. staff. excellent !!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Incredibly comfortable and made our stay at kochi memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a bit cut away from the city but still, no complaints as we looked forward to unwinding in the true Taj manner!!!

    The service, food, stay and hospitality was par excellent!!! Lovely entertainment in the evening by way of a kuchipudi dancer and boat rides provided by the hotel. Would like to mention Mr sunil who went out of his way to ensure our comfort and Mr Mathew too who made my husband s birthday special with a complimentary cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The service was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was amazing. They know exactly how to treat guests. Our stay was beyond amazing and we didn't have the heart to go from there. Due to some misunderstanding I had to ask the hotel to send their car at morning 4.30 and this request was made the previous night 11.30. They promptly made sure the car was there on time. We also changed the room like 4 times, and each time they obliged whole heartedly. Such a warm and welcome stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Most amazing experience with hotel nd staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Norhing

    Everything from pick up from airport to end of trip most amazing staff/management I would recommend to everyone to stay at taj a special thank you to soja for taking care of us very humble people I m going back v soon thank you to the chef 👨‍🍳 nd management and Armani he was a lovely young lad

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Must visit property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible pre arrival experience. The lady who answered the fone could not understand that I was calling in to confirm that my room was ready.She kept transferring my call. It was frustrating.

    The ocean views on three sides of my room made my stay fabulous. The food is a delight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Hotel, very romantic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Harbour View Tower Wing
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Trying to get a taxi or Rickshaw at night was impossible. the service for request from the room was slow at times.

    Lovely hotel placed on the backwaters. The food was amazing, but it was very expensive. The room was great, lovely décor, very Taj style.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay. Fantastic food. Superlative service. Value for money. Must visit heritage property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no health faucet in the bathroom. We tried to use the bathtub but the water was murky. The facilities like spa, pool etc. are good but may need a makeover with modernization. Location has amazing views but have to keep in mind that we are smack in the middle of the port and industrial area and slightly difficult to access.

    Almost everything is great! Superb stay. Fantastic food. Superlative service. Value for money. Must visit heritage property. Must spend at least one weekend to get pampered by the exquisite Taj service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Oasis in Cochin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel did seem to attract business conventions, which was not an issue for us, but may not set the right mood for a romantic getaway.

    We had been upgraded to a beautiful ocean view suite, and had the most relaxing stay. The local ferry dock is just a 5min walk away, where we took a ride to Fort Cochin. The departure dock and the arrival dock on your way back are actually not the same, so be sure to ask the hotel staff before leaving (so you won't get a little lost like we did!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Most amazing and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and clean with great facilities inside. What made real impact however was the staff. Super friendly and extremely helpful. One of the best services I received so far.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Loved the time we spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfy

    Everything about the place/location, staff, facilities was very good. The location itself beside the waterfront was really stunning. The boat ride in the evening was a welcome surprise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable rooms,Delicious food,Scenic beauty of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I tried a lot to find but staff of Taj never left an option where you could say "I don't like it"

    Comfortable rooms,Delicious food,Scenic beauty of the property,Ever smiling and courteous staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and a fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly they charged me for one night in advance although the booking clearly said 'book now and pay at hotel'. Which was inconvenient for many reasons.

    Great location and a fabulous hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    A home away from home and fit place for rest and recuperation
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing in special

    The food was excellent, the service was very good, room was very comfortable and staff very cordial , helpful, friendly and extended very good service. Above all he ambiance was very wonderful . There could be more entertainments. Overall everything satisfies a guest . Since we had come for the wedding function of our daughter , we were happy with the co operation extended . Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Extremely comfortable rooms, wonderful staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi a little on and off...but appreciated being able to have it on several devices..

    Extremely comfortable rooms, wonderful staff and great food....loved the infinity pool and location next to ferry made it easy to pop across to Fort Cochin or Manachetty where there are lots of restaurants . Salmon who cleaned our room and Mr Ashwin who helped us with taxis were great thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Top quality hotel, excellent service, but a little isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, taxi ride necessary for any sightseeing etc.

    Comfort of rooms, especially the pillow menu. Excellent food, quality and choice. High standard of fittings and fixtures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb stay at a very well run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Harbour View Tower Wing
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service was first class and the food was fab.

    Excellent staff, the food was superb and we had a great time. The hotel rooms a bit tired but overall we had a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    3.3
    Worst family holiday, thanks to Discriminatory staff at Taj Malabar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Sunset Room Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is pathetic and rude. They discriminate among guests and Dont serve fellow countrymen. They still seem to be living in the Raj era. The sunset room with windows on two side was musty and a big lizard in the washroom. We had to change the room. Totally disappointed by Taj. I regret taking the Innercircle membership. Will not renew. Never going back there again.

    Only Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little off the beaten track but cheap to get taxis etc. Expensive for India.

    Staff great, especially Sojan who made our stay very special. Staff by the pool fantastic. Sun lounger ready for us, water provided and fresh watermelon on every occasion. Great massages by Tibetan ladies at spa. Food at hotel beautiful. A fantastic hotel. We loved the fact it was by a port as you could watch everyday life while lying at the pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Good quality hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good.

    Great position right on the water's edge, good dual aspect room with sea on both sides. Well run and managed hotel with efficient and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- it was superb!

    Complimentary upgrade (to the Presidential Suite! Not sure why but we loved it!), pool area, free evening boat ride, friendly staff, great food!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    A most relaxing and enjoyable stay which made us feel extremely privileged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough for us. I loved the Spa facility and my therapist Saicey deserves a particular mention as she was excellent. She gave me a Facial, Manicure and Pedicure which were superb

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very surprising for a Taj hotel. In the middle of an industrial estate. If you weren't lucky enough to have a room with a seaview, you would be extremely disappointed with your view of the industrial estate.

    The staff were very attentive. There were 3 restaurant choices and the food was very good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    a once perfect retreat now just another corporate venue for team building
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    used to be a cosy luxury hotel but has started taking huge corporate bookings and let the groups book out the nice restaurants (we had to eat outside with the mosquitos) and the hoards noisily crowd the place, the lawns, pool side, the lobby, doing team building games; tiring after a while. A friend who went there on our recommendation said they do this a lot now; sad.

    still beautiful; local staff trying to cope with what must be a head office mistake in bookings; not a one off though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserving sun beds when some guests didn’t turn up until the afternoon . There are not enough sun beds to allow this.

    We loved the location and the whole ambience of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Spectacular, comfortable, and accommodating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to get to Fort Kochin and the hotel felt very remote on Willingdon Island. Taxi drivers gouge for trips out there at night

    The staff were incredibly friendly and personable, they were great at their jobs and also a joy to interact with. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    A welcome relief from the noise, crowds and dirt of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were several different restaurants including an outdoor BBQ by the river that provided a very romantic setting at night. There was a beautiful over the horizon swimming pool and the service at the pool was excellent with staff providing towels and iced water as we arrived. The hotel is set at the end of India’s longest man made island and is isolated from the hustle and bustle of the city being in a restricted port area. It is possible to catch a ferry from the Taj to Fort Kochi. A much quicker and more pleasant way to travel than by road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    The best hotel to stay in kochi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room on the first floor facing a roof of the internal building.

    A very nice hotel with colonial decorations and large rooms. The location on Williams island is nice, away from the crowd but with good access via ferry or 15 minutes drive to forth kochi. The stuff was very friendly and they have a very good choise of restaurents.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    Great view and location but a very average property in terms of food service . Not worth the money .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very old and dilapidated . The food at the restaurants was very average almost bordering to below average . Everything at the property was too too expensive and you don’t mind paying if it’s worth it but the quality and level of service certainly did not match the money paid for it . The spa , rated as one of the top spa s , was extremely below average as compared to any class spa . Massages were priced same as any top spa in India but the quality of treatment was very poor .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Very good hotel, bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to drive everywhere from the hotel.

    A good hotel and the location is enjoyable, once you are in the compound. The hotel is situated at the end of a dock area and there is very little to see and do outside the hotel grounds. The restaurant is very good and the free boat trip is worth going on.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    A lovely start to our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is unusual - a long-way by road from either Cochin Old Town or Ernakulam New Town - Ferries compensate for this - hotel should/could do more to explain how to use the ferries to make the most out a visit here.

    Typically for a TAJ - very attentive staff all demonstrably keen to ensure that you have a good time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    All in all was OK, but not outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sunset Room Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows cannot be opened, bath tubs would be welcome instead of showers only.

    Nice view, sometimes a bit noisy though, due to the ships, location off the main traffic, offering acces to downtown by shuttle boat, price too high for the quality of the hotel, compared to other 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    6.7
    Average experience - not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The staff is okay but doesn’t go the extra mile. - Located in front of the harbor area with all the industrial cranes and ships. - Poolarea could be cleaner and better staffed

    - The design of the lobby and the restaurants are great. - Sunset cruise on the boat was fun

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with wonderful staff and facilities, located in a really gorgeous spot in Cochin!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi facilities could have been better. Firstly, we had to renew the premium wifi every 24 hours during our 4 night stay which was annoying. We couldn't just buy it for all the days at once. The coverage was good in the living room in our suite but not great in the bedroom. And the speed was slower than we expected for a premium purchase

    The staff was very courteous and helpful. We were a group of 6 adults with two kids (5 and 1.5 years) in total with three adjoining rooms. The accommodations were excellent. The food was great, even for the kids, and they also enjoyed the pools.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Top service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great, the food selection was good and the food we had was really nice. Room and bathroom was as expected. The bar some fantastic cocktails.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Overall very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff at the Restaurant need training as they were unable to service orders. They were confused. They took details of the order, but what was served was not the same, then they changed it. By which time the other dishes went cold. All this could have been avoided if the staff was trained well. The internet was quite poor.

    Overall, the hotel was good and offered comfortable stay. The staff was generally good, except for at a point. The facilities were good. The food quality was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really can't fault the hotel

    The hotel is beautiful, The staff and particularly, the manager, Sunil was amazingly helpful. Breakfast was superb and the afternoon tea was a real bonus. I would really recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful, relaxing and beautiful but expensive and a bit isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very expensive in the hotel, London prices which is very dear for India. Although the hotel location had great views there was nothing you could walk to on Willingdon Island, there were industrial ports and that was all. You have to get taxi or ferry to get to any other places to eat etc. Taxis organised by the hotel also very expensive indeed.

    The hotel, staff, and facilities are amazing. Beautiful pool, spa, views, room, food, everyone so friendly and helpful and polite. Luxury.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing quiet hotel, close to some very good outdoor restaurants if you search for them!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good quality but rather limited choice and very expensive for rather ordinary meals. Morning coffee and bread were not up to 5 star standard! Would rate this as a 4 star

    Small friendly luxury hotel. Well positioned. Lovely pool area. Very helpful staff. Rooms immaculate and serviced well every day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    A very historic and distinctive gem of a small hotel overlooking the harbour. Great experience!.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to mention

    The Rice Boat restaurant was fantastic. We went there two times and really enjoyed the fresh fish and service. Enjoyed the bar but prices were a bit steep especially for wine. We enjoyed the Yoga session and booked special massages that were excellent. The staff at the spa deserve special thanks and praise!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.8
    Good for zero work, terrible for work
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - terrible, atrocious internet connectivity. It runs at 80kbps or less. Even the upgraded pack runs at 1-2 mbps. - staff are courteous, but not knowledgeable or trained. They keep pointing from one person to the next. - uber availability is very bad.

    Beautiful and relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely location. What a shame that the food lets them down so badly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food extremely disappointing. When I last stayed in 2014 we had a fabulous meal at the Pavillion. This stay it was mediocre at best. The afternoon tea last time was really delicious. Proper cake, pastries, sandwiches. I made my husband book this hotel simply because the 2014 banana bread was so delicious, I wanted to ask for the recipe. This year, I did not bother to ask as it was very poor. The pakorah were foul. Fried in old oil, thick gluggy batter. It was mass catering done on the cheap. If you're going to be that penny pinching just dont bother. For heavens sake get some decent tea and coffee. The English Breakfast tea was ok, but the Tetly in the rooms awful. Your coffee was cold, bitter and tasted of chicory. You can doo much better! We stayed at the Spice Tree in Munnar during the same break. Their tea and coffee were delicious. I drank a whole pot of coffee at breakfast. I couldnt drink one cup of yours. Suggest you use them as abenchmark and find out what they use. Taj Malabar has certainly gone downhill. Will not be staying again in a hurry,

    Beautiful hotel. Lovely pool area. Lovely lobby. Great views. Staff attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    My stay was relaxing ,i enjoyed complimentary tea and a great boat trip.The staff were so polite and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff always helpful and informative.Concierge,housekeeping excellent. I recently stayed at Sheraton Delhi Sakat and would highly recommend Taj in preference

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable and delightful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaint really. Dining a little expensive.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Architecture and detail. Complimentary sunset boat trip. Diverse range of food. Beautiful garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    A perfect getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the pool and the view thoroughly but the water wasn't very clean.

    The bed was so comfortable, none of us wanted to leave it. And the food was amazing. View, fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The best hotel in Kochi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, a perfect place to stay!

    Excellent, stuff incredibly helpful and caring, Indian hospitality at its best level, great room with wooden floor, welcome drink and fruits on arrival, a special gift on departure, regret I was able to stay only one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Always a pleasure. Always a must when on a visit to Cochin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Sea View Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Property is dated and tired and have mentioned this before although I am told they are refurbishing it in parts. Although this has nothing to with the hotel, it must be made aware that there is a whopping 28% tax on the room rates published, which I believe ( Not sure about this) is imposed by the state government.

    The staff are exceptionally friendly warm and efficient. The foyer/lounge and bar area had a lovely feel about it. The highlight of the Mattencherry Bar is Jaimon, a member of the staff who is friendly and who makes it a point to move from guest to guest with expert ease and warm conversation. Taj Malabar, it's like coming home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Tajness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not to the standard we generally enjoy for the prices they were charging but it was ok. The area is a little odd with the port and large industrial plant but that is the same for all of Cochin and, in fairness, the location of The Vivanta blocks it out very well.

    We were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely stunning. The hotel itself is also lovely and the staff are very attentive and helpful. The spa/gym and pool are good too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    One of the best hotels in Kochi if not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything slightly hugger price on food & beverages but quality is very good

    Very nice view, where you can see dolphins. Loven the food and pool as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    Simply beautiful!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (a) Too far from the airport...you cannot do anything about it! (b) Bathroom floor is VERY slippery. We are in our late 60's and any fall in the bathroom could cause severe issues. Please place anti-slip mats in the bathroom.

    Everything. My wife and would love to stay here for much longer. The complementary tea/snacks and boat tour is MUCH appreciated. The Aug 15 flag hoisting was a pleasant bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    would like to take family along next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very pleasant stay, comfortable rooms, good spread of food (breakfast, lunch buffet & dinner) and pleasant boat ride in the evening. The staff are always ready to help you and very courteous. Also live music in the bar was very enchanting, good music and a great voice. Property very well placed far off from city and at the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Simply Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing At All

    Taj Malabar is a master class hotel, A to Z everything is so perfect and amazing. The location is so relaxing and beautiful. Simply Amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Definitely worth going back to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is a little far from centre of town, but one you get to the property you really don't feel like stepping out.

    Taj properties are all very good, but the Taj Malabar at Kochi was exceptional - even if rather far from the airport , the location is great. Surrounded by water and trees - the premises are spotlessly maintained, the staff efficient and attentive yet not in your face. Good leadership I guess. The breakfast is hearty and wholesome and highly recommended. Mattancherry (Jew Town) and Fort Kochi are a 5-10 min ferry ride away. It is a public Ferry but clean and safe and very cheap. I found this the best way to go to these places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms require renovation. The decor is old however the rooms facing the sea were comfortable.

    The food was excellent. The staff were very friendly. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    I want to have a dejavu @Taj Vivanta at wellingdon Island
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ferry ride, The coffee shop experience and the food. The veg biryani and the dessert. Only the gajar ka halwa was very sweet and cud have been less sweeter

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Sunset Room Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unfortunately, since its an old building, the sound insulation is not that great so, you can hear kids of other guests screaming while running around the corridors.

    Everything about this hotel makes you smile; staff, food, location and ambiance. This is not my first stay and I would recommend it always. It's a bit far from the city but that's ok since you will use the car to go around. The operation manager Mr. Saneej is very kind, respectful and helpful. Mr. Jickson, who mostly cleans our room is just perfect with his fancy and creative towel sculptures filled with rose petals fills you with joy every time you enter you room. Very homey and friendly atmosphere in the hotel and you feel loved and respected and taken care of all the time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    A cool family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything......

    The staff were excellent, courteous and helpful. A beautiful and comfortable experience I had with my family during our 5 night stay. The food was tasty and delicious at Peppers - especially the Breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    The best hotel in my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    Vivanta Taji was the definitely the best hotels in my life. I stayed 2 nights alone, after 6 weeks traveling in India. It was very clean, spacious, beautiful room, with wonderful service. The staffs were all friendly and smiley, and always made sure everything fine for the guests, gave me a nice tips about good shops/restaurants to go outside when I went out, and asked how was it when I came back. When I stayed in the room in the afternoon, they offered me some fruits, and laundry services finished in the day. It was so pleasant stay above my expectation. When I checked in the hotel --- it was the early morning after my first sleeping train experience, and I was tired and hungry, even I came the hotel by tuktuk --- may not acceptable for a very luxury hotel, they welcomed me with warm smile and laughed at my story, then offered me their breakfast without charging. Breakfast was so delicious, full of fruits and vegetables, very good Indian cuisine, and western both. They also offered Coffee cafe time at 5pm, Boat riding at 5:30 pm, Kerala Dance show at 7 pm for free. I met nice guests in these events and enjoyed the moment very much. There were Yoga session in the morning at 7:15 as well, and I was only one student so the teacher made a special private session for me for a longer time. What is the most impressed thing is here -- the Deputy Manager Mr. Soby gave me his name card just in case if I had some problem/question outside during the stay. After leaving Taji, I moved to Fort Cochin and I had been cheated by some shop.... it was a lot of money. I called him and immediately he called back me on Face time, connected with the next hotel staff boy, told me how to do, and made me feel reassured, even he was off and relaxing at his home.... through the day he advised me many times on the phone and even offered sending a Taji staff to my place... and I could make my money back...... I cannot thank him enough about this.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel under renovation
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was just painted- smelly corridor, bathroom fittings not working, only very large pillows. Taj, with their brand, should not give out rooms if they are not fully done.

    Friendly staff, excellent location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    one of the best hotels in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sea View Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch and breakfast great but evening cuisine only Ok; not up to standard of the rest of the hotel

    traditional Kerala savouries for breakfast:excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Excelent stay, would totally recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was amazing. The service and staff were fantastic. Free boat cruise, high tea, cultural events, etc, offered complementary. Best banana bread. We totally loved the moksha drink offered at reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    It was really peaceful the spa was great the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area needs a little tlc it's a bit shabby

    It was really peaceful the spa was great the staff were friendly but didn't really understand English the food was lovely the room was small but comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    9.2
    Great, indulgent way to end a holiday in Kerala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside to the location is that once there you are a bit stuck. There are public ferries but otherwise getting out is expensive. Everything - food, drink, transport - was at least twice the price we paid in other good Kerala hotels.

    Actually the location is fantastic. We enjoyed the complementary boat trip and the wonderful waterside setting for dinner. It was also good to finally find a hotel with a bar (albeit expensive) that served decent cocktails. Spending two nights there at the end of our Kerala travels was great but that was enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel for a few days to finish off a tour of southern India
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Standard wifi was slow and I could not get certain websites. To upgrade was 1,000 rupees (£12) per day!

    The staff were very friendly, service was great and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Great idea for a short break !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Sunset Room Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size is very small. The bed is queen size and we had to put a cot for my toddler, which took over the entire room.

    The staff is very courteous and friendly. Great pool and spa. They have great variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    The property is located in a beautiful old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit isolated (this could be seen as a good thing, depends on what you are looking for). There is really nothing nearby. You need to take a taxi or a short ferry ride to get to any attractions or restaurants.

    The property is located in a beautiful old building. The grounds on the common areas are very nice, classic colonial decor. The rooms in the tower have very nice views. The hotel is located at the point of an island so you are mostly surrounded by water. The free sunset cruise is also a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    OK overall, but expensive relative to other options in the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Sea View Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly dated. Far from the centre and seemed to be situated in harbour/ industrial area.

    OK overall, but expensive relative to other options in the area. Great restaurants and food. Duty Manager was very helpful. Other staff not as much.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi is quite slow - and the fast option is somewhat expensive (800 rupees/24 hours)

    Exceptional choice of delicious food; very nicely appointed rooms;very helpful and friendly staff; quite convenient for the Willingdon Island ferry stops, which means Fort Kochi is very close by

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.9
    Excellent view, the tranquility worth soaking in.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the property is small hence the rooms and the facilities limited. The hotel is cut off from the main town/ city and hence a wee bit of a let down.

    The Location of the property is superb, sitting majestically on the banks of the back-waters of the Arabian Sea. The infinity swimming pool, the outdoor restaurant both a treat as one soaks in the sun and the majestic view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.6
    staff very polite and nice, very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite Sea View Tower Wing
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in process and check out my details were wrong and it didn't get corrected even after two reminders they take passports for check in and don't come back for 30 minutes -- why dod they need that time -- nobody explained

    staff very polite and nice, very helpful always ready to help food very good bed and room amazing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Sea View Twin Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of alcohol (including Indian) was exhorbitant (even compared to othe "5*" hotels on our trip ) restaurant food pricy but nowhere nearby to walk to, hotel is effectively in the middle of a working port area.

    Staff Breakfast Pool Evening cruise Room comfort

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. Accommodations, facilities and all amenities excellent. Decor meticulous; and great attention paid to this. Hotel location is isolated in dock area of town hence no restaurants or other facilities in close proximity. This fact should be known by all guests at booking. Food quality excellent. Barbecue outdoors exorbitantly expensive at 2800 rupees per person. Staff attention in breakfast varied. Had to ask few times for coffee everyday, otherwise breakfast is excellent. Otherwise excellent stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    A delightful time at Taj Vivanta was had by us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Sunset Room Tower Wing Queen Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faster WiFi is always preferred in this day and age. The bar does not stay open late enough.

    The food choice was excellent. The staff were polite and attentive. All queries were addressed promptly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice breakfast spread
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room Heritage Wing King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit hard to get to if you want to visit the city. Also Uber and taxis/autos are hard to get near the hotel. The taxi service provided the hotel is super expensive and not worth it.

    Very nice breakfast spread Hotel itself looks amazing Sunset by the pool is beautiful Also staff upgraded us to a Sea View room

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: