Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive 5 stars

Marine Drive, Ernakulam, 682011 Cochin, India

#27 of 158 hotels in Cochin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 495 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Removal of broken umbrella at pool, made good pool area look a bit run down.

    Location, friendly staff, view from room, complimentary water always available, complimentary boat trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My fifth time with family - true treasured time with Taj- immaculate rooms and fantastic location and good and healthy break fast. child friendly and amazing staff on every outlets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nope 😊

    As a solo traveller, I loved to stay in tis property again. They made my day d BEST.. Excellent staff, service, ambience, food & infrastructure. Amazing complimentary sunset cruise. Comfortable location for shopping.. It saved my time & petrol. All amenities r wonderful. Worth for each penny.. 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The in room food was good but could have been a tad better, it would have been the cherry on top of the icing! (However restaurant experience was great!).

    The Hotel is located at possibly the best location in Kochi. The team at Gateway was eager to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We even had a complimentary sunset ride - which was a pleasant surprise. The room was easily better than what we expected. Excellent breakfast as well. Kids enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was not readily available through the hotel. (gym) And every time I went back to my room it was difficult to connect with the wifi. And this was AFTER I had upgraded to the premium pack. Fortunately the hotel was kind not to charge me for the upgrade. Thanks you very much

    Staff are very friendly and as I have been coming back fro many years it is more like my family now as they all know me . Great food and location. Lovely bar and evening music

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small and congested. Rooms are still old and need to refurbished.

    Nice view. Good food. Very friendly staff. Stayed here before and will come back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was damp and had an old stale smell. Not pleasant. The linen on the bed was torn and it appeared that the room had not been used for a period of time. I travelled with colleagues and at least half of them complained. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the bathroom

    Excellent location, with an amazing view of the sea from the room. The breakfast spread was very wide and catered to all needs -- good selection of smoothies and juices as well as freshly made Dosas, Appam, eggs, pancakes, waffles etc. The evening cruise (free of cost) was not only a great idea but also an opportunity to interact with other guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is modern, located next to the water in a central area. Facilities are in perfect condition and staff always eager to help. The restaurant offers a very calm and relaxing environment, a wide list of choices and reasonable prices. The staff is always eager to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to check in around 9pm after a long journey. The reception staff did not have much idea about the process of checking in customers. Took for ever. Handed over passport as identification document. Three men standing on the side of the receptionist started reading our passport details and visa details. These are confidential documents which need to filed , not left around for anybody to read. We had to warn the staff from doing such things. The key fob did not work, took them another 15-20 minutes to sort that. All in all poor reception staff on the day we reached there.

    The dining hall staff were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made the stay feel so welcoming and at home. Every day the bed was changed and the room tidied and cleaned with a bottle of water next to the bed. When sunbathing near the pool towels are changed and fresh water given and all the staff were so friendly and approachable. Having breakfast in the cafe was always a pleasant experience - great food and smiling staff made me feel I wasn’t alone. Even the cleaners were so kind and respectful and all talked English. It was like home to home and felt so safe looked after and secure. The views were amazing and the bed so comfortable - a wonderful experience of India in a beautiful hotel with the best staff making you feel so happy and comfortable. Will recommend and will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I expect a Taj Hotel to be very good, we were not disappointed. The staff, food and room were all excellent. The location is perfect for the ferry to Fort Kochi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No sunlight round pool so some of the shrubbery could do with a trim.

    Excellent location facing the lake and within very easy walking distance of Ernakulum and 2 minutes from the ferry port to Fort Cochin. Lovely complimentary sunset cruise on first night and helpful staff . All areas of the hotel were spotless,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was was excellent. The cafe was very good, including excellent breakfasts. The ala carte restaurant on floor "U" was excellent. The room was very nice, the TV had many selections, the WIFI was good, though it did require a visit from housekeeping to get it to work properly. The swimming pool was fine. The location is excellent, being right near the water, and the hotel provide a free boat ride lasting about 1 1/2 hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    148.5% tax on alcoholic drinks

    Location was good, ferry was a short walk. Restaurant and bar were very nice. Beds comfortable, rooms clean and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just for prices they charge it needs an upgrade just to old and full of mosquitoes Booked out after our stay and booked into the Marriott at 2000 rupees less The gateway is in no way the same class or ambiance as the Marriott Maybe u should advise customers off the high GST charged as its almost 30% of the bill That’s a bit crazy highest in the world a

    Just polite staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelt damp and the bedding had an uncomfortable smell had to ask the bedding to be changed on the first night

    Breakfast was very good and the sunset cruise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner food was bland. Kerala is spice country. Where was the spice?!! If they are adhering to the stereotype that all westerners don’t like spicy food then they are making a big mistake.

    Breakfasts were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was tired, old and needs updating. The rooms were smelly and damp. A number of my colleagues were forced to change rooms. The lifts reflected the hotel and were extremely slow.

    Location was wonderful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was too high in the restaurant so I had to wear a shawl most days to keep warm. I was not the only guest who had the same problem. A wake up call was missed and we nearly missed our trip to Munnar. I think when staff are notified of an early call they must make sure who ever is on dutie are made aware of an early morning call. The room we where located initially was dark but we where moved to a better room.

    The hotel was located in an ideal position for getting around on the ferries.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The indian restaurant. Most of the dishes were not up to the authentic level. Tasted very ordinery. Exception was Alleppey Fish curry and appam.

    Goodlocation and friendly staff.The Chinese/Japanese restaurant is excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool facilities were poor as well as transportation options. The gentlemen’s at the travel desk did not deliver on arranging transportation and his attitude did not align with the remainder of the staff members who have made an effort to ensure a great stay.

    The staff was very friendly and Accomodation to my needs whether was rooms our dietary concerns. Sanghita was very welcoming at our arrival and fond at departure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very tired, dated and lacked the normal holiday amenities. This was disappointing as it looked fairly new and modern on it's website. The main restaurant only did Thai & Chinese & Japanese cuisine, which we don't like. Not sure if there was a swimming pool or not, (but nothing to tell us in hotel communal areas, lifts or room.) Location was not great as it was a 20 min ferry across the water into Fort Kochi - ferries run every 30 - 60 mins depending on time of day and last one back is about 21.30 - ferry only costs 4 rupees each way per person, though! We booked this hotel for our last night in Kerala because we thought we would be close to the airport for an early morning flight - not so! - hotel is 35kms from the airport and hotel travel desk told us it would take an hour to get there (even given we were leaving at 5.30am!). In fact it took only 30 mins as roads were clear at that time but they charged us a stonking R1,800 for this.....which was nearly as much as the taxi from our beach hotel charged from Alleppy with journey time of 2 hrs!!! Learning points - - you're probably better off going to airport directly from your Kerala beach hotel, even if it is a long journey & early rise. - If you do decide to go via a stay in Kochi, book a nice boutique hotel in Fort Kochi area - it's much nicer, close to all the key sights, shops, nice restaurants etc - much nicer and more worthwhile.

    The room was just about OK - clean, but tired décor and very small for a double/twin room. Would not have liked to stay any longer than 1 night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary Ferry ride didn't stop.at fort Kochi..though I had understood that it would stop at 3 islands including fort Kochi...wouldn't have taken the ride.if.I knew it...couldn't visit fort Kochi due to the misunderstanding..

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything

    The decor was tired looking. Sheets and towels did not look or smell clean. The choice of foods at lunch or breakfast did not seem particularly appetising. The restaurant staff were not very helpful either. All in all we did not enjoy our stay. We expected so much more from a Taj hotel. The location is very good and the views were fantastic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional situations like Strike by Taxi and Auto required better handling.

    Wonderful location, excellent services. Special thanks to Chief Chef for personal attention to guest and their food requirement.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in particular

    i really liked the bar, room furniture and the wooden tables, bath furniture and toiletries, the big and crystal shower. the hotel is very nice, fine, elegant, the staff very friendly. parking easy. promenade in front of the hotel nice for a walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated furnishings and property.

    Best location in town, on the marina. Have stayed here several times. Always very friendly staff, warm service. Great value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from the water, however, not hotels fault.

    Welcoming staff. Laundry collected, laundered and returned quickly.Room made up couple of times a day. Complimentary sunset boat trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mint clean and sweet smelling would have made it for me.

    I wish the hotel was mint clean. It was okay for me for the one night stay, and yes, I will possibly stay at the same place next time too. It is convenient and easy to approach. However, when I reached the room, I was shown to the wrong room first, where there was another occupant who had not cleared the room. Mistake! Then they apologized profusely and took me to a room on the opposite side, not facing the ocean. Then upon request they did give me a good sea facing room. The room was not mint clean, but reasonably clean. The food was good, and the staff was polite and good. Still I felt I could have a better sweet smelling, lavender fresh room for the money I paid. Anyway, will recommend this property to all who are practical and wish to stay at the center of activity...Thanks!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good in all the restaurants. Breakfast buffet was arranged well, a both South Indian Items, western food were kept ready

    Beautiful view of Vembanadu Lake and boating. Nice walking path around the lake. And Various facilities for tourists.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was excellent! Staff friendly, bed very comfortable, and very close to boat to fort Cochin. Didn't realise that fort Cochin was the hip part so next time I'll stay there but this place was reasonably priced and had everything we needed!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was loaded with guests and they did not have adequate staffs to handle these many guests. This was very much visible at the Bubble Cafe restaurant, often with long waiting time, multiple chase etc.

    Nice property at a very good location on the backwater. Sunset cruise was really good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the bed was a little uncomfortable, a bit to firm for my liking .

    Great location, superb breakfast in the very nice bubble restaurant. Conveniently located to get to all the sights around kochi. The staff where all very attentive and couldn’t do enough for you. The concierge service was excellent also, they arranged a variety of trips for us which helped make our stay a memorable one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They offered a free evening cruise on Cochin backwaters which was wonderful. Staff courteous as in all Taj Hotels and restaurants offered good variety at breakfast and lunch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    location of the hotel and service quality of hotel staff. hotel also provides ferry for site seeing in evening which very attractive arrangement and staff also provide lot many useful information about city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were excellent but more importantly the staff were really really friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and always smiling particularly reception and the welcoming ladies in saris. The hotel is right by a market area so last minute shopping is easy. The harbour cruise was good too and it is nice that it is complimentary. The commentator should speak more cleary and perhaps have a few more lessons in English but it was understandable and he was very enthusiastic. The rooms were really good . It was amazingly good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    mediocre hotel. Room is nice. bathroom not so so. Restaurant is mediocre. we walked along the marine drive and did not feel secure.

    mediocre hotel. Room is nice. bathroom not so so. Restaurant is mediocre. we walked along the marine drive and did not fell secure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are old fashion and smell of humidity and mould. Beds and pillows are not at all confortable. The bed linen is not to the standards of a 5*

    location & staff and asian restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an air-conditioning leak in room 205. But since I was in the room just for a short while, I didn't report (I am sure they would resolve it as soon as I inform them). Bedsheets could be a little neater.

    Cleanliness, great view, well maintained for such an old hotel, staff at every part of the hotel couldn't be nicer, and the food is the best for any hotel that I have ever been to (I would visit again just for the food!). WiFi is good enough to keep in touch. Great value for suites. More than luxury, the hotel works towards providing a smooth and memorable experience for the guests. And they seem to be able to achieve it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Airconditioning was not functioning. Rooms need renovation. Not a Five star in my opinion. unnecessary expensive and food was OK and Not great. During my trip, I have stayed at other Five Star Hotel in Bangalore and Four Star in Mangalore before I came to this Hotel. I was really disappointed.

    Staff is very helpful and do their best.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Access to other things require transport

    Food - good selection, buffet meals variety is very good catering for all tastes. Rooms are spacious and staff were all excellent and very attentive. Sunset harbour cruise - very nice touch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the website needs reviewing as some of the rooms shown do not quite meet what you expect from viewing them on the site. I.E. some rooms offered as Sea view are more next apartment block plus small side view of the water. Nothing major just not quite as described. The rooms themselves are well appointed and comfortable.

    the staff were super helpful. hotel has good amenities, nice size swimming pool, good restaurants, a bar, spa and fitness room. Overall a hotel we would book again should we be fortunate enough to visit Kerala again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee was terrible!

    Staff were excellent in every department. Room was very comfortable and restaurant good. Wi fi good. Complimentary boat trip which was a friendly gesture!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved it at The Gateway Hotel Marina Drive. The breakfast buffet is AMAZING and so is the asian restaurant. The rooms are nice, and the staff superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our breakfast we had fresh fruits, we found insects in that, we reported to them but their response was not convincing . We report it to direct to GM of the Hotel through mail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we were dissatisfied with.

    The hotel was well located with easy access to public transport. The staff were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful. The food was excellent. The travel desk organized our tours in an extremely efficient manner. We enjoyed every bit of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a great place to stay. The spa is awesome in particular Mr Noribu is the therapist I have seen . He is good and I to details. Walk around the property is great. It's like staying at home hospitality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The prices are outrageous, especially the restaurant. Western food costs nearly 1,000 rupees and isn't prepared that well. Additionally, the Indian food is way overpriced and I would just rate its quality as average.

    the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are not up to a five star hotel. Few basic things can be added such as bathroom chappals / bathrobe/ shaving mirror etc. In the restaurant, it appears like many trainee chefs are trying their talents.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Closing/ Opening the Bathroom door was not quite smooth.

    The bed was comfortable & the room had a great view of the harbor/sea. We enjoyed the food & the restaurant had live music which was very pleasant. Staff was very polite & cordial as expected.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a major let down. Dowdy and decrepit almost. Way below standards of a Taj, even if a scaled down version. Some rooms are being renovated but the structure inside and of the entire hotel is in dire need of a makeover. Truly depressing staying in this hotel. Even the sea views are a dampener with silly concrete obstructions across the windows. The rooms are 1980s design. Terrible yellow pallor on the walls, sliding doors for toilets, awful drapes - it looks like one of the old style government owned and run hotels of the nineties. The dinner buffet was so unimaginative, we stepped out to eat at the corner side basement eatery - far more exciting fare any day. The pool is kiddish. The spa rates outlandish. The staff is raw, and just not oriented to please. A small request for a late check out was thwarted even though they had rooms. And we had the last flight out of Kochi. So, there. Basically, unredeemable.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv would work only on some days however we were out daily so not a biggy but was nice to have music channels run in background while getting ready.

    Staff were friendly from porters to front desk to the gym and massage staff too. Was able to book 2 massages immediately and has great conversations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to notice

    Very hospitable and helping staff. Hotel arranged backwater cruise . The hotel has good culture and makes comfortable if you happen to be with good lady. Perfect choice for Indianised minds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds in the Double Room are small Sofas and chairs in the room are stained Carpets in the lobby smell musty The air-conditioner should be switched on in the corridor and lobbies, very hot and stuffy when you step out of your room

    I recommend both the restaurants Bubble Cafe and Sian for their excellent quality and gracious staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful piped music music in all public areas. Some signs of refurbishment required.

    Friendly, helpful, professional staff. Good breakfast. Nice complimentary sunset cruise. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was not overly clean. Dust all round the phone. TV was not working well. Had to ask staff for help. Also wifi would not initially work. Again had to ask the staff

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Views are stunning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    all perfect, the sunset cruise was excellent provided by the hotel complimentary with coffee and snacks

    staff were excellent in all departments , will stay again when we visit

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing as of now.

    The front desk was very warm and the lady at the reception (Sharmila or Shyamali? - I forgot her name - she is very professional and a dedicated staff) facilitated a smooth check in, upgraded my room to see view (from city view). Complimentary boat ride was really interesting and unexpected - enjoyed well. Housekeeping was prompt. Room was clean and had a very good dinner and breakfast. Food is yummy and the menu has lot of options. Security and other staff are also well behaved, helpful and warm in their greetings. Overall, it was a nice stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected driver's quarters. But it was not there. We checked in late at night after 10 pm and we just wanted to settle in as we had to leave early to visit nearby temples. But after 15 mins our doorbell was rung although we did not call for any service.

    The overall ambience of the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and similar areas could have been better-maintained. You could see the age of the property because the cleanliness was lacking. The bathroom in my room needed to be cleaned of mould in the showerhead. The bathroom in the spa was dirty, and the towels in the spa smelled of ayurvedic oil even though they had been laundered. It was poor.

    Considerate and forthcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are marked "executive" only for the reason that they have a sea view ! But neither the size of the room and bathroom nor the quality of the beddings nor the decoration would, in my opinion qualify the room I had as an Executive room ! Far below international standards. Furthermore, and that was the biggest inconvenience, the room had a constant and very uncomfortable bad smell. A smell of damp close. Since you can not open the window this room should at least be equipped with an air purifier and the AC system cleanest verified.

    The staff's kindness The Sian Restaurant The Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't really pin point on anything .May be the laundry could be a little more cheaper. But it's left to your imagination ?

    Everything about the Hotel was good. The staff at the entrance were very well mannered and caring. The breakfast was always a treat ! We felt pampered at the breakfast area !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it was confortable, my room was looking a little tired and it could really do with an upgrade.

    A nice friendly hotel in a nice location next to the water. Ideal for the business traveller to relax in after a hard day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor, untimely and no response to emails and enquiries. No airport shuttle bus like other class hotels provides in Ernakulam.

    Excellent location, good view, few but nice restaurants, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were given a room that was not satisfactory. The Mgr was able to find one that met our expectations. Thank you.

    Location is the best ever! Near to all amenities. Complementary boat ride is a bonus. Breakfast is a Taj signature -- outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should include break fast in the package for people who book it from apps like Trivago.

    The boat safari was excellent & especially the person / guide ( Mark ) who has accompanied to explain was too good. He explained each & every location in detail & had lot of passion in going so.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the plan your room charges withour breakfast.

    Good. Brekfast not included in the room charges. Check-in is very fast and from receiption my room was promoted to Executive Class without my request.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No negative feedback.

    The staff were extremely courteous and friendly. The daily sunset cruise by the hotel was great and the commentary by the staff on the cruise was excellent. The property is conveniently located and public transport is easily accessible. The sea view from the room is awesome. Food at the various restaurants were excellent and service was great. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel suited our needs. We were just there for 2 nights. Very short visit before heading into Kerala.

    The hotel staff were wonderful. The daily breakfast was gorgeous - ask for the Indian. We were all very impressed. The hotel is situated very close to the ferry to Fort Kochi. 5 minutes walk along the river.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centrally located with an open view to the sea and tiny islands that make Kochi "the Queen of Arabian Sea"! A beautiful seaside walk on one side and an endless shopping arcade on the other!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The genius perks were never realised. The cleanliness of this room which needed a general make-over. The cleanliness was not as good as we had experienced in another room e.g. mould in bathroom and chipped stained paint as well as stains on sofa and grubby telephones.

    The location and general ambience of the hotel was very nice. The staff at reception, in restaurant and everywhere else in the hotel were very attentive. The breakfast and dinner were very good although there could have been greater choice for people who don't tolerate spicy food. The room was of a good size with good amenities.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better in terms of taste and mix of the spread. The rooms are slightly small.

    The free kochi harbor tour with Mark was fantastic. The taste and quality of in room dining items were exceptional. Outstanding service, location and experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordinary main dining. Bar closes at 2130 so get a drinks order in early.

    Great hotel. Fantastic specialty restaurant on the first floor. Good facilities all round. Nice bar. Close to ferry to get to Fort Kochi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxes added on when you checked out-should have been more up front about this as there were so nany extra taxes

    Incredible views Luxurious rooms Huge bed Great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: