Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vivanta Ambassador New Delhi 5 stars

Sujan Singh Park, Subramania Bharti Marg, 110003 New Delhi, India

#53 of 611 hotels in New Delhi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 350 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    Very ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first the balcony doors would not open. The housekeeping team fixed that quickly after we mentioned it. We showered in the evening and the next morning the water had still not drained completely from the shower (clogged?). We did not complain about that, thus this stayed as it was. Seems to me the room was not properly checked/not used for a while before we arrived.

    We really liked the design and layout of the room, comfortable and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The gym has an attached spa treatment room where they offer very reasonably priced massages by excellent therapists. The hotel has two restaurants and a bar with long opening hours.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic hotel, accommodating service, wonderful staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Massage services could be advertised and administered a little bit more prominently

    Large and beautiful room, great breakfast, fantastic location, immediately available car service, helpful and kind staff! Everything you need for a successful business trip. I want to thank Vijay Lakshmi in particular who was kind enough to ship a suit to me which I had forgotten in my room - absolutely impeccable service!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel in the heart of Delhi.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, a stones throw from Khan Market where you find nice restaurants and bars. Large rooms and bathrooms. Very good breakfast. Above all, excellent service from very friendly and helpful staff. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    A very good stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cafe decor and furniture could have been better. Juices were overpriced.

    The staff was very friendly and the breakfast very good. The location was superb.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice service and location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never said: - The swimmng pool was closed and I was told after arriving. That would changed my decission to stay there. - That there is a low cost menu at their restaurant if you stay for a long period. They only told me the last night. Also, restaurant there is super expensive and you have Khan Market at 100 mts with grrat options. Their laundry service is also veeery expensive. You can call a delivery service and for one third they do it in 24 hours. Oh, don't take the taxi service they offer, it was 2600 r taxes inc, and it really costs between 400/500!!!

    I liked their service. Almost every day, the left a nice pastry at my room and fruits (I spent 16 nights there!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    My dream hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is centrally located in the heart of New Delhi - most convenient if you have business or sightseeing in India Gate area. The room was perfect- it had AC, even a ceiling fan and had everything I wanted - a bath tub, tea/coffee machine/minibar - in a nutshell, the best hotel I have stayed in so far!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    We were given rooms on the 4th floor and our stay was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rugs next to the bed are super slippery and a hazard if you’re sleepy and want to use the washroom in the middle of the night - they could use an anti slip underneath.

    Manphool ji at the travel desk is an ever smiling beacon of pleasantries. He was warm and displayed a humanity that five stars usually lack.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful, a definite repeat next time with family as well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did not have a pool, which i was looking forward to in the Delhi summer of 40 degrees C plus.

    Taj exceeds my service expectations. The staff were more than warm and made me feel at home.The breakfast & dinner was a treat as it was bundled in the price.The location is bang next to Khan market and the property is heritage with a fireplace in my room .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Good property; definitely coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit dated; would like to see them renovate their bathrooms and beds.

    Location is amazing. Food - particularly Indian food. Staff is friendly, they go the extra mile to make you comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Stop looking and book this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, spacious apartment size rooms with spa bathroom!! My home away from home! Staff was amazing and focused on customer service! Love this place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    not great though the service staff on the floor is good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. the bathroom was extremely wet everywhere. it's dangerous and also impractical. The counter by the bathtub was flooded with water. 2. By the time we checked out, we needed receipt for company's name and address in Taiwan, the staff would not allow. All the hotels i stayed in north or south india did not have this problem. This time i can not claim.

    I was sick and asked for advice on the clinic. The staff was helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Unacceptable wait to meet the reception staff to check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unacceptable wait to meet the reception staff to check in(lack of adequate staff). Tiny lift which accommodates only 2 and long walk from the lift to our room on a different corridor with no lift access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Unacceptable wait to meet the reception staff to check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unacceptable wait to meet the reception staff to check in(lack of adequate staff). Tiny lift which accommodates only 2 and long walk from the lift to our room on a different corridor with no lift access.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    A nice hotel to start your stay in India.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat aged (e.g. carpets in room). And overpriced for what it offers. But nothing really to complain about.

    A nice hotel to start your stay in India.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.5
    very enjoyable,especially the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fabulous location near the khan market, lots of good restaurants and good quality shops, both western and ethnic style. Hotel had excellent security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable bed, good working AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More refills on coffee/tea would have been appreciated. This was only offered on one day. Mostly, we received one half a cup. Other than that, everything was excellent.

    Very comfortable bed, good working AC. Our room was the quietest I have ever slept in in Delhi. Tasteful decor. Hot water was available at any time. The shower worked well. The housekeeping was excellent and done promptly every day. Very clean and luxurious linens. Wifi worked well. The breakfast was very good with a nice selection of Indian and non-Indian food. Great baked goods.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    no one can beat taj hospitality other then Taj itself
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no one can beat taj hospitality other then Taj itself .Amazing personalized services. beyond expectations ,amazingly beautiful ,very old property worth experiencing .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    I stayed four nights at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed four nights at this hotel. In that period, one large wedding party and one large dinner event were held at the hotel, making it a very noisy place to be and keeping me awake in the night. My request for a reduced room rate due to the noice was declined, and I was mereley offered a free ride to the airport. I would have expected more from a hotel of the Taj Group.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable rooms in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pleasant garden / outdoor area in which to sit. Pool not available

    The spacious comfortable room and excellent location close to Khan Market, a metro stop and Lodhi Gardens

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Room was large, was actually a little suite with a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little dated and more like a 3 to 4 star, rather than 5 star hotel. Not much close to hotel.

    Room was large, was actually a little suite with a small sitting room and a dressing area. Bathrobes were a nice touch. Breakfast was excellent in a very pleasant environment, very good western and traditional Indian choices. Staff was helpful and friendly. Located very close to metro.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Classy experience and I could feel the 'Tajness' though I would prefer a better word be coined
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Some of the Staff must learn to smile more and be more proactive 2. Travel desk could not help with my queries on where to do immigration on my Delhi - Bangalore-Colombo flight 3. The helpline on Jet Airways took 15 min to navigate before I got the answer 4. Business center staff did not look keen to print my Boarding pass - (small matter) 4. In the room suggest a small shelf with charging point to place the phone or book near the WC 5. lamp above the full length mirror 6. liquid soap in the loo 7. Coasters on the wooden Tables to avoid stains

    I was upgraded I believe because of maybe my repeat usage though they did not explicitly say so at the Front desk. 1. Newly renovated room on 3rd floor 2. huge room with Sofa set 3. super food at breakfast and dinner 4. my hotel staffer from Nanital at the breakfast buffet immediately acknowledged me and I got a love place outside in the chilly Delhi winter air (18-20deg C) at 10 am - he suggested I have a south Indian Filter coffee simply super 5. Security and Lobby staff were superb

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent short stay. Just enjoyed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn’t have other modern day facilities like shopping complex, spacious pool etc.

    It was a small but beautiful Boutique Hotel without crowd but with Taj tag. Complimentary breakfast was just sumptuous. Great stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Served the purpose but I expect more attention to user details in the features of the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Room heating was non existent 2. No Paan/Beeda (digestive) after a nice combo meal on Sunday afternoon 3. Small noisy and cubby holed restaurant (Yellow brick) 4. No health faucet in toilet 5. No full length mirror in the room 6. No light near the baggage rack in the room 7. Bad view from the window (rooftops)

    1. Fast check in - check out 2. Late check out at 2 pm 3. Good breakfast service even though outside in the cold I had a charcoal heater next to me 4. Combo lunch was super 5. Polite staff at the Lobby and Security

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Rooms were very large- actually each superior room was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very large- actually each superior room was a suite with separate sitting room and bedroom. Every room, including bathroom, was spacious, clean, modern look. The long corridors leading to the rooms had very charming lithographs of the historical places and figures in Indian history. Breakfast room was small relative to size of hotel but service was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Great location; efficient & friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room doesn't work - didn't sweat despite spending 30 mins, after 20 mins of preheating. Spa is a one room affair. Bathroom in gym can be improved. Carpeting on entire first floor of hotel urgently needs to be changed: smelly, depressing & unclean. Paid wifi must be available in yellow street cafe, if not free wifi.

    Great location. Room service was fast; butter chicken needs improvement.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay in New Delhi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a lovely character and atmosphere. It's very close to Khan Market - walking distance in fact. Plus there's a really nice park for walking only a few blocks away

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.4
    It is not Taj by Vivanta! At all!! Do not be fooled by it`s name.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was not up to the quality at all, place for dinner was not restaurant but just tiny room with open kitchen with smell and noise and background music. On the reception we have overheard the comment of one client: It is not Vivanta by Taj! It does not meet the standard of Vivanta at all! We have agreed!

    Location - quiet and safe center of Delhi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very limited breakfast spread not matching to 5 star rating

    staff very cooperative and efficient. prime location. being old property requires changes in the door locking system. lifts are small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Friendly, reasonably priced and comfortable. Close to Khan Market and Lodi Gardens.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff and facilities were terrific. Accommodation spacious and comfortable. Special thanks to Swarti for her welcome and Manphoor for his attentiveness. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    This fabulous hotel helped make my weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no balcony furniture and the view from it was not very nice. I realize that pollution is often a factor to people not wanting to be outside, but even some folding chairs accessible to put out would have been nice.

    I loved that this is an older, more established hotel! It was quiet and quaint in a lovely neighborhood. The room was BIG and very spacious, we also had a big balcony, and I loved how light the bathroom was. It was easy walking distance to the Khan Market. Comfortable beds and some of the best pillows ever!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall enjoyable and memorable stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a bit too expensive

    The centrally located. For muslim, it is next to the Pandara road mosque. Also next to Khan market which is a very nice place for shopping with good restaurant such as Khan Chacha and good cafes. The staff of the hotel are very polite and courteous. Worth mention is Mr Manphool who seems to enjoy and passionate about his work and very knowledgeable and helpful. Also the trainee by the name ms mohita and few other receptionist who are very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.3
    I Ike India
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room serves Many taxis And by the way I found at many hotels that if we made a reservation by the hotels &/or the hostel itself it will be cheaper than booking No night life like disco or bar It’s a good choice for families and whole they likes the classical luxurious life

    Very quite , good helpful crew except the Room Serves It is a walking distance from Kan Market

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    A very pleasant hotel in Delhi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My hotel room was next to the lift, which was a bit noisy in the evening. I checked out in the morning, well before the official check-out time 12:00pm. I wanted to briefly use the Internet, in the hotel lobby. But then the staff said: "You now have to pay for the use of Internet." Even though it was before the official check-out time 12:00pm. I don't think this is correct. Would the hotel really prefer that guests only check out at 12:00pm?

    Comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. I also had lunch and dinner in the restaurant, which was likewise excellent. A beautiful location, next to Khan Market. I have stayed in much more expensive (Taj) hotels in Delhi, but this hotel is definitely my favourite!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Hotel and immediate Hotel Staff Delightful. Car rental company Pennypinchers of Comfort and Hydrat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car service company stingy with water every day. Last day on way to airport when very hot, car Supervisor looked in waterchest in front of me. I thought he was checking to be sure water in the icechest. But NO!!! At redlight,wanted water for very hot day. I went into icechest myself and NO Water!!! This was just too much!!! Everyday prior never enough water and each day Hot!!! NOW I am on way to airport on Hot day and NO Water. Not too Happy!!! Actually saw him look before car left as sated above!!! Could not believe the icechest empty!!! Disgusted me!!! Vivant Taj should do better. Last car company generous with water!!! This was 5th time at Vivanta and never have had such Bad Car Service!!!!!

    Staff excellent and make you feel welcomed. Enjoyed the Heritage Hotel ambience. Food excellent. Close to everything. Quiet for new Delhi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory and most unlike a Taj experience.
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked with breakfast (so I thought) and they charged me separately. On bringing it to their attention, even though my friend, who had booked through hotels.com had an all inclusive package, refused to make any concessions. It was most unlike a Taj interaction. In my experience, any other Taj, would have immediately understood the misunderstanding. Secondly, the breakfast ( which was charged) was not very child friendly and my child hardly ate anything. Thirdly, front office staff was not very informative or attentive and overall, I really did not care much for their attitude. All in all, a very unsatisfactory stay at this Taj Property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Not worth for the money I spent, break fast is not recommend to have it there for the money they cha
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper response from front office staff, even for check in also no bell boy accompanying,I have to luggage and also searching for the room, it was 4 the floor, but it is very difficult to identify the room, my room number is 408

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Stay was good at VBT but Booking. Com created lot of trust deficit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount shown was something 8.9 K per day but credit card no which was submitted shown debit amount of 11 k plus per day. The money was debited from my credit card much before we reached the venue.

    All was good except while booking with Booking.com my free breakfast was part of the deal but I had to pay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    High price to use the business center only to check some emails and catch up on work. No printing etc. Request a reduction but was not accommodated.

    The food was fantastic. It was very easy to arrange cars through hotel to go to various locations. Location was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    excellent and attentive staff, wonderful experience staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent and attentive staff, wonderful experience staying with family including two kids, location was very convenient with easy access to shopping and touristic locations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience since it was a business trip I was left exhausted which affected my work
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incomplete room - only one glass, not enough tea satchels, had to call for slippers shaving kit and toothbrushes, key lock to room not working had to be repaired at 10 pm, TV not working, Sockets to charge my phone not working, wifi not connecting, room given on back side when booked for city view, cleanliness in the room very poor as bathroom glasses not useable as they were unclean drainage pipes clogged so washbasin and bathroom water spilled out, bad experience very untrained staff though polite

    Staff was polite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Hidden conditions one should be careful of!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had made a booking in which it was clearly mentioned on the site that payment is not to be made, until I reach and take the room. However, I was forced to take the room as payment had been blocked on my credit card. This is uncalled for and should not have happened. It ended with I having to pay for nearly 10000 rupees for the night, which I needed to avoid.

    I've been staying in this property for number of years and find it to be excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location - right next to Khan market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location - right next to Khan market. The hotel is a little tired and is making the necessary changes and upgrades. This meant that we could not actually walk around the property. Furthermore, they do have an ant problem. Our bathroom floors were covered in dead black ants on two occasions which was not very pleasant. Hotel staff however were very quick to rectify this and cleaned our room. Ants aside, this is a great place to stay and is value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Good hotel, in such a good city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The elevators, they just have 2 and very small, and one of the elevator was failing with the open and close the door. 2. Some bad experience with transport coordination, it was just one night but anyways, the reception must be more in synch with the transport staff. 3. The bell man outside MUST know where will the host go if he decided to take a normal taxi, I have to return to reception to ask what is the name of the restaurant they reserved for me, because taxi driver didn´t know the destination and the man outside neither, it takes a long time just to double check again with receptionist the destinantion.

    The high level of all staff to attend in New Delhi..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Will be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was very quick and efficient. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Really good to have a kettle and iron in each room. The bar was very was good and the staff were great. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of Khan Market metro station and easy access to all areas of the city. Khan Market itself has lots of boutiques and restaurants of catering for all budgets. Will definitely return on our next trip.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Hotel In a good location. A lot more is expected from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We checked in at around 23:30 hrs and found many Mosquitoes in the room !! Didn't expect that from a Taj Hotel

    Location of the hotel is excellent. The staff are very helpful. Food is excellent !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location from Khan market
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I got upgraded to one of the suites which was quite a large room. This Vivanta hotel was a bit older than the other ones I've been to but the staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    First stay at the Ambassador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud voices in the room next door made me suggest they add an extra layer of sound proofing. A charming old hotel, a favourite of locals and a discovery for tourists. Highly recommend.

    First stay at the Ambassador. Very impressed with the food at the Yellow Brick Cafe. Staff was friendly and shared with enthusiasm their S Indian breakfast, and then provided a gift of special cooked foods to take when I checked out, lovely paranthas and kitcheree for the plane journey. Beauty Salon was good. Location near Khan Market, a favourite destination for many years was an easy walk. Beautiful spacious renovated room with large and wonderful bathroom and bath. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    5.0
    Living on past glories
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building work going on all day, with brickwork being hacked right outside the room. The hotel has been taken over by the Taj group and smartened up to some extent, but not enough to justify the prices charged.

    In the heart of New Delhi, with Khan Market next door.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location by Khan market but old building
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building, so let down by technology eg room-wide aircon system even on lowest setting blew cold air onto my face while sleeping. Needed help to get TV to work when instructions provided didn't make it work. Room lighting including reading lights are controlled by dated console but on one side of the large double bed only! Previously stayed in a just-modernised room where you couldn't turn the reading or bathroom lights on without turning on all the main room lights too. Needs a room revamp with customer expectations to the fore.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Location a few steps walk from Khan market. Excellent freshly cooked food in friendly in-house Brick Road restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel but poor staff service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, I left some clothes in my room. I only realised after arriving in Chennai. I called the hotel three times and was given no help at all to recover them. I left my phone number with reception and have never heard back from them. That's pretty disgraceful service. There were also issues with the bill and generally a poor attitude among some staff at reception

    The room was big, the building is amazing, and the location is perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Other than first night, stay was good. The staff were excellent and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have preferred queen size bed Bedroom next to lift very bad

    The bedroom was fine. Breakfast good Use of Taj Mahal hotel pool great Location good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.3
    Do Not Stay Here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    The photographs displayed on the website do not match the room supplied in any way. The facilities are mostly not offered. This hotel is a shambles and nothing but a foyer. The staff did their best under difficult circumstances.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    they have to be more international and polite regarding paying bills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Delight Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Is the third stay I stayed at Vivanta, and is the third time I complained about their policy to MAKE YOU PAY THE WHOLE STAY AS SOON AS YOU CHECK IN---- one thing is to leave your card number another is for them to make you pay!!! this happens every time I arrive and every single time I complain.... Another thing , this time internet was terrible. 2 days without internet AT ALl IN MY ROOM, but the charged me anyway

    staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Well maintenanced hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is not bad at all, but the room rate shown on Booking com does not include city tax and consumption tax. Adding these, in particular city tax per night $40 or more would make the room rate higher than expected.

    While somewhat old hotel, all the facilities in the room were well maintained, and really hot and plenty of water was provided at bath room, not like electrically heated water with limited hot water quantity.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    3.8
    This taj hotel was more than disapointing It was like going to faulty towers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Indulgence Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel shuttle taxi didn't arrive at airport on time .We had to wait for over half an hour and had to make several phone calls to hotel to ask where the taxi was Although the time and flight number had been sent the day before via email to the concierge .On arrival the the hotel was very disappointing with its presentation Its a very old hotel that has not been maintained very well .The photos on line are very misleading The bed was a double bed on arrival instead of two single beds . Then the front office staff offered us single beds in another room but the room wasn't ready. It took over an hour to change beds and get twin single beds into the original room. that was offered Then the pillows didnt have pillow cases . The check out today took over an hour although i requested a copy of the bill nearly two hours prior to save time .The staff at the front office are totally inefficient They need training . I Went to front desk specifically on the way to breakfast TO REQUEST final bill to be ready so i could get it on the way back from breakfast Well after breakfast i called past and it still wasn't available /ready nearly and hour later I requested again So when i would come down from room in another half an hour later I hoped it would be ready although the staff said they would do it earlier they didn't do so . So I lost time for shopping and getting cab to next destination . Would i recommend this hotel Definitely not value for service there was none .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    the hotel was very cozy, very good breakfast, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wasn't working good, the door key aswell. But the staffs did their best to make us confortable.

    the hotel was very cozy, very good breakfast, very good staff, nice cofee and good service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Well located hotel with excellent Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the expensive side

    A high level and very quiet hotel that is located literally right next door to the excellent Khan Market (good selection of restaurants/bars/shopping). We stayed at the hotel for 5 days and amazingly they had a different breakfast buffet spread each morning with a good choice of Indian and Western items. The quality of the breakfast service was very good and the staff were very efficient. The restaurant Manager appeared to run a tight ship. The room rates are on the high end and while our room was very clean and spacious, it was just a little dated, hence my 4 star rating instead of a 5. I would definitely stay here again when I'm next in Delhi.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    4.6
    Offered price under half the final bill!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price quoted on Booking.com was more than doubled, so this was no bargain. I understood that taxes would be added, but after the room and 3 simple vegetarian meals, the price offered of £172 somehow more than doubled to an extremely expensive £380! Not clear enough so not good enough, Booking.com. I shall not book through you again.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    5.0
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the inconvenience of the bathroom drain oveflowing and flooding the bathroom with sewer water we only received a verbal apology. Would have expected some discount on amount paid for two nights especially since we only arrived at two a.m first night and checked out 7:00 a.m on second day thus not aviling breakfast buffet or other facilities. Hotels staff tried their best to help but did not have authority to offer any compensation.

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.2
    Superb location. Excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter a bathroom showerhead with good pressure/flow would be welcome! Some patches of damp/mold need attention.

    Exceptional staff: Courteous. Helpful. Superb dining covering all styles and cuisine. Location is perfect -5 minutes to Khan market or the metro is right there!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.9
    Nice place in Delhi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing which was not likable but very dark in front of property couldn't locate it in one go

    They got lil late in providing room but they upgraded it to compensate

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    A great base to explore Delhi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi. Leaves a lot to be desired- reception patchy and unpredictable at best.

    Lovely location, staff very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean, bathroom impeccable and beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.6
    Quite good and pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing I noticed which irritated me was power cut.please work on it.

    Even I was in very compact visit don't have much more time to avail all the facility.but the gentry and the environment of the hotel was quite pleasant.and complementary breakfast was so good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.9
    Good rooms and bad rooms but service is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave me was pretty grim. Dirty and worn and very loud (above the bar on the interior courtyard). However I asked to be moved as soon as the music started (sleep would have been impossible) and I was moved to a lovely room on the 4th floor on the front of the building. This was the quality I would expect of the Taj chain.

    Service was excellent - the staff really made you feel welcomed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    Take The Good With the Bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Winter is picking up strength in Delhi, and as a result rooms are chilly. But the bed only had a thin quilt/blanket without the regular comforter one expects in a quality hotel. The pillows also were too soft and thin. There was no choice of pillows in the room. The worst part was the reddish brown water that filled my bathtub while showering. It looked positively toxic and heaven knows how much of it I imbibed before realizing. In any case _ and this may be unrelated _ I came down with a cold and chills on the second day. I pointed out the water issue to the front desk while checking out and showed them pictures of the colored water I collected in a mug. But of course there was not much they could do about it. Not a huge deal.

    It's a small hotel in a good location, next to the hip Khan Market with lots of food and shopping choices. Not too far from downtown and other places. The rooms are large. The staff are awesome. Very polite and caring, willing to go the extra mile to make guests feel valued. They even increased my internet speed (which is simply pathetic if you choose the free option) at no cost. That was really sweet of them. The breakfast is very good although not included in the room rent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.8
    This is an attractive historic hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi access in my room was very spotty, slow and kept cutting off. The staff were very helpful and interested in improving the access, but were not successful. However, the wifi access in the lobby was fast and efficient.

    The location is very good. The hotel was a historic hotel and has preserved a portion of the historic character of the place. However, some of the historic character is being smoothed away in favor of a bland modern renovation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Very nice stay, a bit expensive though
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Delight Room -Twin
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud during night because of working going on on the street, the final price is much higher than displayed on the platform, as so many different taxes have to be added.

    Very nice room, the location is great, just opposite Khanmarket. Friendly atmosphere. Breakfast room is very small, but the breakfast is excellent. So is the food in the restaurant Yellow Bricklane. Airport transfer worked very well, it is expensive though.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    3.8
    awful smell of chemicals and paint in hallways and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Indulgence Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room stank of fresh paint. The whole floor stank of paint and insecticide. After being out in Delhi all day - where the air was thick with pollution (this was days after Diwali and the air quality was particularly bad) my room did not offer relief from poor air quality because the chemical smell of paint was so strong. I called the front desk to let them know what the problem was and they suggested sending someone to the room to spray air freshener... (more chemicals) - I was too tired to get into it so I hung up and slept with the sheets around my nose and mouth. This hotel could be great if they paid more attention to detail. It is in need of updating - but they seem to be doing little bits here and there while guests are staying in the rooms and it is done in such a shoddy way which is too bad because with the location next to Khan market and the size of the rooms and bathrooms - it could be an amazing place to stay!

    The location is great. The size of my room was great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.3
    the location is extremely good, just next door to Khan...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Indulgence Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location is extremely good, just next door to Khan Market with shopping and restaurants. Hotel was friendly and very comfortable , with big spacious rooms.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Excellent location close to Kahn Market
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would love to have more room in the restaurant, particuarly around the breakfast buffet - food is good but the area cramped.

    Love the location near to Kahn Market Love the staff - always very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent and the hospitality was great!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent and the hospitality was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    My rendezvous with the Ambassador.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really loved the old world charm that surrounds this property, the non-interfering and non intrusive staff. Mr Manphool was superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    We felt very special from the moment we entered the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Centrally located. The staff are extremely courteous. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Charm Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    They treat you like family
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Charm Room - Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of dental care kit

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vivanta Ambassador New Delhi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: