Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Taj Usha Kiran Palace 4 stars

Jayendraganj Lashkar, , 474009 Gwalior, India

#2 of 22 hotels in Gwalior

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything! The welcome was great and makes you realise straight away you have chosen the perfect place to stay, the room was very large with a beautiful bathroom. The whole place was spotless, the food great and the staff very pleasant. I felt safe, the gardens were beautiful and the pool was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    It is a beautiful place but difficult to keep in perfect...
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Details here and there... the facilities by the restaurant, the fingers traces in the walls... I have been many times at the hotel

    It is a beautiful place but difficult to keep in perfect condition as one expects from a Taj Palace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    An excellant stay and will be back definitely. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accomodation was spacious and very elegant. The staff were excellant. The warmth and reception was fantastic. The entire staff were very accomodating and was a pleasure to spk to,always ready to help. To name a few Mr gagan at the reception,sivani , and mr sharma of the security detail were very good.Livika at the spa was excellant.kudos to the team.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Super awesome
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dull coffee shop cum restaurant It needs some live plants and new crockery to liven it up big time Sweaty staff are a turn off in dining areas

    The basic values of hospitality industry is inculcated firmly in all the employees. The warmth the respectful approach with a tinge of friendliness is impressive The immaculate greenery and the comfortable rooms all make a peaceful and serene impact on the mind A good word for the pleasant girl at the reception Sonal who surprised me with a parting gift of organic seeds That was so touching

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.9
    Reception is confused in a luxury Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the Service at Reception was crazy. The Lady did´t know how to printout a map from the area - she just knew the answer for everything "we can call a cab, Sir". She did ´t know where she was...why such a person at the reception for a luxury hotel?

    very nice place - luxury historic Palace with a nice garden and pool - perfect spa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    A memorable stay in Gwalior
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hope the hotel management will improve the entrance door to each guest room and replace the antiquated door locking system. I understand the locks are uniquely Indian and part of the experience but at times it is not very convenient. All lamps should have an on/off switch on the lamp and not at the outlet level. Please provide more American style outlets to minimize the use of adapters.

    All the staff is very friendly and helpful. They all have a smile on their face indicating they love working at Taj Usha Kiran Hotel. They made our stay very enjoyable and memorable. I would specially like to acknowledge the staff and management at the front desk, the dining area (breakfast) staff and specially our driver Mr. Dinesh for his friendliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.2
    Historical building 135years old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historical building 135years old. Friendly staff professionnal Wonderful park, quiet, far from the noisy town Whether the paradise exists it can be here

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Sumptuous palace hotel with service to match
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of this luxury doesn't come cheap! Food and drink prices are high as are hotel taxi services for sightseeing or transport to the train station. The most surprising deficiency however is the lack of a functioning bar! The bar itself is a beautiful Anglo-Indian club room, however the hotel does not have an alcohol license and so it sits unused. The staff however are very accommodating, and for a nominal fee will go outside the property to fetch whatever alcohol is desired.

    This hotel was the guest palace for the Maharajas in Gwalior, and my room was a sumptuous, high-ceilinged suite with period architectural details, all beautifully restored and maintained. The grounds, including landscaping, water courses and fountains are gorgeous as is the swimming pool and spa area. The dining room is cozy and luxurious, the Indian food is delicious, and musicians play classical Indian music at dinner time. Service at the hotel is friendly and engaging, and there is a hushed air of tranquility throughout. I had a late afternoon train, and the manager graciously let me keep my room until 3.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food!! Rakesh Kumar Gouniyal, executive chef helped us choose what he thought we would like: brilliant! The nights of very loud weddings we were offered another room: so very kind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.8
    Nice palace, but cold in winter, and rooms not matching description, and not a drop to drink!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The photos on the website did not match the first room offered. When we complained we were offered another room which was better. However, it was cold at night, and they put heaters in the room. After returning from dinner, the fuses blew in the room, and left us both cold and in the dark. We were then ready to move out, but were offered a 3rd room which was both warm and nicely appointed. 2) The hotel has no alcohol licence, which means that the bar is closed, and it is not possible to enjoy wines as stated in the restaurant. If I had known there was no alcohol available, we would not have selected this hotel

    Lovely building in spacious grounds.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful and stylish hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful property with stylish Art Deco interiors and gorgeous gardens and pool. We had a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The food is excellent and we enjoyed the spa facilities as well. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courteous staff, specially Ms Sanyogita who made our visit so memorable... beyond our expectation :-) The property is very beautiful & calm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    All, it was very GOOD!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All, it was very GOOD!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Ambience, staff very courteous, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambience, staff very courteous, value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A night like a king, a Great dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    all simply wonderful, great restaurant and chef, head waiter and Gagan. A dream. Room amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    a wonderful experience
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a wonderful experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Presentation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Presentation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Great welcome, rooms are very comfy and luxury, staff is awesome and helpful!
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-out was less good than expected. I would have love another juice 😄

    The great welcome at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    All in all it was good as always
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was leaking and the electric water jug was not functioning too.

    It has always been a relaxing experience staying at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Our stay was memorable and I ll recommend others also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambience, courtesy of the staff especially sonal and pramod was beyond praise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Relaxed and refreshing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much cross checking of any one visiting u.

    The Ambiance and serenity

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    all ae very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is very beautiful

    We not getting breakfast on complementary

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Its an exceptionally good hotel for family trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its an exceptionally good hotel for family trips.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Awasom
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    6.3
    Peaceful environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less and untrained staff.

    Peaceful environment Cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    A nice place, very quiet, in a large park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A nice place, very quiet, in a large park.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room little bit dark

    Nice charming place. Food was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent property. .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Location and beauty was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and beauty was good. Nice place to have a peaceful evening enjoying nature. Heritage walk with Sonal was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Loved the peace and quiet,the room was huge and the bed most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the peace and quiet,the room was huge and the bed most comfortable. A well kept property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Really nice staff ready to help you for all your questions...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice staff ready to help you for all your questions and needs. Amazing place with spa, gardens, Nice swimming pool. Extraordinary breakfast !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    We had Royal feeling during our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged GST @ 28% on room rent was 6750/- where as GST should have been @ 18%

    Food, courteous and helping staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Martha Nepali thali
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Martha Nepali thali

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    The property is located in the central place of the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is located in the central place of the city. nearby all required facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Great ambience
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been better

    Great ambience

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL IN ALL WAYS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cannot ask for more

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Hospitallity at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent, the staff friendly, the property well maintained

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    The place in Gwalior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very courteous and cooperative staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Reasonable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was nothing special and the buffet dinner was similar.

    The room was large and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    9.2
    Food was exceptionally good;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a shame that the bar was closed, but that is not what I will remember about the hotel - for me the peace, quiet, heritage buildings, food and staff more than made up for lack of bar

    Food was exceptionally good; beautiful room and very helpful & friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    6.3
    Great potential of the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Looked not up to standard for a Taj hotel, no water in any fountain, not enough care for garden and worst of all no license for alcohol. They suggested to get beer in the room!

    Great potential of the building.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful heritage building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk staff were not always that organised at arranging things (although they were very nice and it all worked out in the end)

    Wonderful heritage building. Excellent location for the palace museum and not far to fort and old town. Staff were very nice and food was very good. My room was huge.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    9.6
    The property is the best thing in Gwalior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maybe it would be better to update the sports equipment (all broken) and also have things which small children can handle like junior racquets, bats etc. Breakfast menu could be improved a bit as well.

    The property is the best thing in Gwalior. Only Taj is able to manage such properties else they turn filthy. The place is quiet,green and very clean. Our room was great, close to a sitout and the cafe. The staff is also very courteous and efficient. Special mention for Sandeep in the restaurant. All in all, it was a fabulous break for us.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.1
    Wonderful period building set in beautiful grounds with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unpleasant receptionist with attitude problem at check in. Some poorly trained staff at reception and in dining room who didn't seem to have a clue.

    Wonderful period building set in beautiful grounds with lovely swimming pool. Very nice manager, brilliant pool attendant, and they arranged excellent onward car transport for us.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Good property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a booking for 2 single occupancy rooms. When we reached there, we were told that just 1 room is available. Eventually, were accommodated to a villa after 30 mins. It could have been handled better. AC was not working in in the villa. Though the staff got it working, better service is expected from a Taj property.

    Good property. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    4.5
    Just the ambiance.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had booked 2 rooms. In one room air conditioning was not working, we complained , someone came, rectified and told us to wait for 30 minutes. No improvement, complained 2nd time again same thing happened. After 4 hours,I told my colleague in 2nd room to shift in my room, we were told by front desk, that as we had booked thru Bookings.com, we would still have to pay for 2 rooms, even if I 2nd room guest shifted to my room. Very rude. Why should guest pay for the hotels problems ! Breakfast- Nothing much at all !

    Just the ambiance.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    8.3
    The pool and the friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No hairdryer and when requested they gave an old and broken hairdryer and we had no view from our room although we booked a suite.

    The pool and the friendly and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    10
    To stay in a palace was so special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They host many weddings which were noisy but stopped by about 10.30. The water in the bathroom was not as hot as I would have liked but on balance what's a merely warm shower!

    To stay in a palace was so special. The views were magical and the staff most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    9.6
    The service was great, such charming staff, they could not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences.

    The service was great, such charming staff, they could not do enough for you. The food was very good in both the elegant dining room and the beautiful courtyard. The pool and garden were heavenly. I think it must be the most beautiful hotel in India.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    7.5
    The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place is like a maze. difficult to figure out your way around. a Valet would have been nice.

    The location is superb. Just next to Jai Vilas palace. The spa is Really nice. Ask for Narayan - for a heavenly experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful building. Splendid room. The security guard was very happy to go out to the local shops to get a bottle of wine as the hotel bar was shut.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    10
    comfortable and just like in home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    comfortable and just like in home

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    9.2
    Location , feel of living in a royal resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning and bedding in the room could have been better

    Location , feel of living in a royal resort

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    10
    Superb ambience,superb service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Superb ambience,superb service. Takes you back to the days of the Maharajas. Excellent breakfast. All in all a fabulous stay

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Everything about the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the journey to get there ...the only option is by train.

    Everything about the hotel.. you feel like true royalty. ....the staff there makes you

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.3
    Rooms,cleanliness,location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff,service.

    Rooms,cleanliness,location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Warm and cheerful welcome by all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mosquito is irritating. Can be improved by installing net door.

    Warm and cheerful welcome by all the staff. All the staff is very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The overall experience was not very pleasant as the room was full of moses, the staff not as courties as deemed of a Taj Hotel

    Location

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: