Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 4th Floor Hotel

Laugavegur 101, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#63 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1491 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Receptionist on arrival was not friendly and appeared more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist on arrival was not friendly and appeared more interested in something else. Receptionist on checkout was really lovely, with a nice smile.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    The excellent breakfast and accommodating staff at breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy location

    The excellent breakfast and accommodating staff at breakfast who allowed us in before the official start time for breakfast as we had an early flight to catch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Useful sink in the room, close to the city center (10-15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely room not well clean.

    Useful sink in the room, close to the city center (10-15 mins walking), big and good breakfast. Chance to store the logguage if the room is not yet ready (we arrived way before the check-in time, directly from the airport).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    4.2
    Very displeased, would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a store front with glass walls and door to the main street in Reykjavik. Loud, bright, all traffic and passerby were heard. We were on the 1st floor, and could not get WiFi. We ended up getting free unsecure WiFi from the business across the street. Very displeased with this location, especially given the price paid. The Aurora Borealis door and window cover in the photo was our room, no sleep even with mask and ear plugs. No WiFi as you can see in the screen shot.

    Location was central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    You can do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old and not very well maintained. No safe in the room (#402). Faux leather furniture cushions used as spare bed pillows. Only two hangers in the closet. The bathroom: The toilet makes a random growling/snarling noise, making sleep difficult. The main towel rack is missing. The brackets are screwed to the wall, but no rack. The towels are badly frayed. The glass shelf above the bathroom sink is loose and sags badly, so any remotely round or smooth item slides off. The shower floor might as well be a high grade of Teflon. It’s dangerously slippery. Just trying to stand up in there is a challenge. Standing up while closing your eyes to wash your hair is suicidal. Moving your feet at all invites disaster. Both the liquid soap and shampoo dispensers are empty and there’s a bottle of some watery liquid in a bottle labeled in Icelandic. No idea what that stuff is. The piece of steel trim running down one corner of the shower is rusty and the upper section appears never to have been cleaned.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was very good with great croissants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good with great croissants. The location was also excellent. The hotel from outside did not look great but the room was big, comfortable and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast is decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a middle room - no windows. Normally not an issue but there is no temperature control and it was really hot in the room (It was abnormally warm outside which probably contributed to the warm room). Is in need of a reno - things look dirty as they're old so it's hard to tell if it's clean or not.

    Breakfast is decent. The room has a fridge. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is right at the start of where things get good for their main drag.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff was extremely helpful with directions taxis bus routes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sulfur rich hot water, but my understanding is that its universal across iceland. Its like bathing with rotten eggs, takes a little getting used to.

    Staff was extremely helpful with directions taxis bus routes etc. breakfast was good. Comfortable beds. Everything was within walking distance, though some farther than others. No car needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location, value for money and expect the staff to look after you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location/Staff

    Reference other accommodation it was good value for money. Very well situated. I had three occasions to approach reception and all three receptionists were excellent. I heard them assisting others and it was always the case. Separate bathroom and toilet was not expected.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    3.8
    Close proximity to downtown Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor ventilation in room. Very stuffy and made it hard to sleep. Also need to have separate water closet room from the shower. If some one is using the shower you can’t get to the toilet. Poor design. Not worth what I paid for.

    Close proximity to downtown Reykjavík.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast fine and coffee available near reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not clean (floor, drawers, wardrobe had dirt on and sheets stained. TV had only 5 working stations. Fridge did not work in room, Lack of coffee / creamer in room and took 2 days to sort.

    Breakfast fine and coffee available near reception. Fair space and furniture in room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location for exploring Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location! Great free breakfast. Reasonable price. Not a luxury hotel, but we were looking for convenience at a reasonable price and this hit both those.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    So-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the other hotel for after hours check in was not very friendly. The shared bathrooms were very small and some not very clean. Not really close to the airport as advertised. Very expensive accommodation.

    The room was okay. The breakfast was not to bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Find another hotel. Not worth it
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet in the first floor rooms does not work. Rooms are very stuffy and mine had no window. Tv remotes has no back to cover batteries. Shared bathroom was dirty and gross. Water smells like sulfur .

    The included breakfast was very nice it’s really the only thing I can say that’s positive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was nice and in an excellent location for getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains aren't great at blocking out the run so you may want to bring a sleeping mask. Also if you want wash cloths you should bring your own as they are not provided.

    The hotel was nice and in an excellent location for getting to shops and restaurants. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was pretty good and staff were helpful with booking airport transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.3
    Entrences too the Town from the rare end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that mange rooms has shared bath, so read your booking carefully (memo to myself!).

    Very convinient at the End of The shoppingstreet Laugarvegur, the rare end, though. Rooms are basic, but clean. You sleep very good - our beds were just super good. The breakfast is Ok, but when they have breakfast until 10:00, then it is a bit strange see empty mugs and basketspiller already before 09:00.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Functional with a great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wasn't careful while reserving and found that I was sharing a bathroom with others and that there was no window. So, my expectations were higher than what I got. Also, the desk was too narrow for me to work on.

    Le petit déjeuner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.3
    Although it was still fairly expensive, it was one of the cheaper places to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bed wasn't very comfortable, the water really smelled of rotten eggs, the bathroom was done in black with only one small light above the sink, so it was quite dark in there. The elevator has seen better days.

    The location of the hotel was very good and the room and hallways were clean. The room had a small fridge. There was quite a bit of food being offered for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windowless room was a little stuffy at night even with fan going. Try to get a room with window.

    Very good breakfast buffet in a very expensive city to eat out. Very clean. Nice and helpful staff. Location was good, on the pedestrian shopping and bar street, and near the busses to everywhere,. One block to lovely waterfront.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay with little trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In bathroom pump was bit noisy & smelly.room wasn't clean on everyday basis.also door lock of 495 gave trouble while opening.

    Grey line tour bus pic up point was just outside the hotel. English breakfast was excellent. Staff were professional & helpful.beds were comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location and good value for Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was extremely basic with a shared bathroom and no windows so it felt more like a hostel than a hotel (we were expecting both of those things however so it wasn't a surprise). Plug sockets were in strange places and could have done with some hooks on the walls. other than that it was pretty good :)

    Great location and good value for Reykjavik. The sink in our room was useful and the breakfast was extremely good. Would recommend and use again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    This was a great spot for a solo traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I wish the room had a few more blankets and pillows, as it can get chilly during the evening. A noise machine would be nice too since the street can be noisy.

    This was a great spot for a solo traveler. Right by bus stop #10, breakfast is included, and right on the main street of where all the shops are. Although the room was small, it was sufficient for 1 person and I would definitely stay there again. I had a late check in and the staff got back to me very quickly and laid out clear instructions about what I needed to do, so it was very simple. I was a little wary about sharing bathrooms, but it was never an issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Basic but decent place to stay, close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletries (apart from hand soap) were provided. The in-room wash basin was small and hard to access due to the shelf just above the basin. The heating was hard to control - either too hot or too cold.

    Room size and general comfort were good. Wifi was fast and stable. Check-in and -out were smooth and efficient. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    3.8
    BED BUGS in my room - room no 411!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BED BUGS in my room - room no 411!!! :( Got several bites!!!! I have now found report on the internet about earlier bed bugs incidents in the precise same room as I had!!!!! :(

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - everything was great

    perfect location, free parking, amazing free breakfast, and the room was gigantic and had a great view. receptionist let us check in a little earlier which was cool, too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite surprisingly, WiFi was neither fast nor stable. I was not happy showering in sulfur water, but that was a unique Icelandic experience :-)

    Having read some reviews before my trip, I knew that 4th Floor's breakfasts were legendary - and I can now confirm this. Given that prices in Iceland are obscenely high, these wholesome morning meals saved me much money because I was full until the late afternoon. The hotel is located on one of the city's main streets and right next to it, besides the world famous Icelandic Phallological Museum, are a 24/7 supermarket, pickup bus stop No 10 for those wishing to go on the many tours outside Reykjavik, and several Thai and Chinese places, including an all-you-can-eat buffet across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Strong sulphur smell in our room and hotel corridors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sulphur smell in the room, and the late arrival of the receptionist on our first morning. Reception should have been open from 8.00am, but she didn’t arrive until gone 8.20am.

    The help provided by the evening male receptionist I overcoming the sulphur smell in the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    My mom's room 414 was not up to par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mom's room 414 was not up to par. Was promised the entire time there they would fix or get her s different TV. We were charged for a 3 person elite room but had a 2 person ok room. Ok place. But it seemed expensive for what we got. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money. Close to the center of Reykjavik. Clean and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV didn't work too well. The receptionist tried to help but didn't know what to do. I was able to watch YouTube which was better then nothing.

    Great location. Right on the Main Street of Reykjavik. Drop off and pick up point for excursions and airport right around the corner. Staff were very helpful, English speaking. Place was clean and good value for money. It did have an elevator! A big plus for me with my heavy suitcase. Felt very safe. I was traveling alone so this was a concern. Glad I didn't go with a hostel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Great central location down town Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in one of the rooms with no window. Felt quite small without any natural light, but a good option for budget travel and a quick one night stay.

    Great location within walking distance of restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for one night, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could have been a bit cleaner. But ok for a night

    Breakfast was awesome, the location was very good for our first night in Iceland. Would stay there again. Very nice staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.3
    The beds are comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is the worst place I’ve ever stayed in Iceland so far. The staff just gave us the key telling us the floor and didn’t even tell us where the toilets were. The place had a violent smell of bleach (at least it was clean). Toilets + showers were small and unwelcoming.

    The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    An okay central option if you are on a real budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner walked straight into our room without knocking the day before we were due to check out. The room with no windows is quite depressing. At breakfast, the electricity for the toaster kept tripping all of the power, so all of the hot food on the hot plates was going cold.

    The location is very central. Cheap option for the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Water from tap and in shower didnt smell and taste good. I had to brush me teeth with mineral water.

    Hotel is situated perfectly, it's very close to Laugavegur street, where all the stores and cafes are and its only few minutes from the bay with beautuful views of city and fiords. I got room with shared bathroom which was exactly as described when I booked it. It had sink, fridge, tv, and kettle with tea and instatnt coffe delivered daily, Wifi was available everywhere and it worked fine. Breakfast was fresh and you can choose from plenty of things fe eggs, sausages, waffells, fresh fruits, yoghurt and many more. They have garrage parking on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Very good breakfast and helpfull staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    room without window but clean.

    Very good breakfast and helpfull staff. Located in the centre of the city close to everything. Reykjavic is an amazing city highly reccomented for visiting but too expensive (In a simple restaurant a single plate of beef or lamp costs 45 euros ,chicken or fish 35 euros , a normal size of pitsa 30 euros .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Mild okayish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the room smelled time to time, and there was a constant toilet smell in the corridors. The room and especially toilets/showers would require renovation for some parts.

    Breakfast was good and the location was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    location great. but hotel was dirty, and staff was not friendly or helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    receptionist was useless and rude. It was a woman. Xavier the night receptionist was good. She couldn't or wouldn't help with any info about local pools, attractions, and just generally didn't care. bathroom was disgusting and filthy, ran out of toilet paper and th floors and walls and shower were grimy, slimy and just not acceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Fair pay for what they offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wifi Very poor tv package Rooms without windows are really small, but at least they aren’t noisy

    Good value for money Fantastic location Helpful staff Good breakfast Clean room/bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location but poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was locked out of my room after arriving back from the northern lights at 2am. I had to wait an hour for somebody to open a corridor door that should not have been locked. Another group had the same problem. Small apology but no measures take to ensure it didn't happen again. Because of this I was worried each night that I was going to have to sleep on a couch outside my corridor.

    Great location for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was very good and the location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was the budget room with no windows or bathroom which was excellent value for money but the bathroom was a bit away from the room and our room did not have a kettle when other rooms did.

    Breakfast was very good and the location is perfect. Walking distance to all the main attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    good location for Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no kettle water has a smell no parking space >> you have to park on the road

    We book a room with no window so it is tight ,no public area. Guests have to stay in room only Good location, a lot of breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms without a window for a quick overnight stay. Share Bathroom was makeshift and shabby. Ok for just a very quick night over I guess, nothing more unless your into a room with a dungeon feel.

    Location was good. Quiet. Literally a 2 min walk to the bus stop for the airport transfer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    For the price, the hotel was fine and not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a strange bathroom smell right off the elevator. The room didn’t have windows, so it did get stuffy inside. The bathrooms needed work. I would expect higher quality, maintenance, and cleanliness since there were only a couple of them and they are shared.

    The breakfast service every morning was amazing. It provided a good variety and didn’t end too early. The location was convenient and accessible to nearby transit, restaurants, and the main downtown area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.3
    Great location, but do not expect much from the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cleanest rooms, and a pervasive mold problem throughout the hotel. The common toilet and shower are not properly cleaned. It smelled like urine as soon as you opened the door and there was mold on the ceiling and walls, as well as green algae growing in between the shower tiles. We also were kept waiting for 30 minutes to check in because there was no one at the front desk when we arrived.

    Great location, but do not expect much from the facilities. You are paying a premium for being near a vibrant area of Reykjavik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    When I go back to Reykjavik, will definitely stay at 4th Floor Hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi did not work while we are in our room. We can only use it while we are at the reception area/restaurant. It is a bit noisy at night due to the location.

    Staff are great. Clean facilities. Perfect city base. Tour bus pick-up stop is a few steps away. The price is really good and there are options if you prefer to have a private bathroom. We were able to easily walk around and there is a convenient store/grocery nearby. There are also great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Broken tv, no wifi & unhelpful staff - but great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This windowless room had no internet and a faulty TV for my entire stay. They promised that someone will fix my TV and insisted strongly with me that it is fixed, only for me to insist they came and have a look themselves that the TV is broken. There was NO WIFI all weekend. The staff had the audacity to tell me that, ‘things in Iceland happen slowly and that I shouldn’t expect for it to be fixed’. I also found a disgusting strand of short hair on my sheets, which made me suspect that it probably wasn’t changed. Overall, a bad experience.

    The only saving grace of this place is that the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    the showers and Bathrooms were very clean, the bed was super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the Heater in our room wasnt working very well and it was colder inside the room than outside in the hallway. other than that we were very satisfied

    the showers and Bathrooms were very clean, the bed was super comfy and the room was spacious with great light

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    I think this hotel would be perfect for a 1 or 2 people however I would not recommend it for groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the rooms a bit small and the shared bathroom could get very busy with only 1 toilet and shower on our floor.

    The location and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location. Nice breakfast. Wouldstay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no kettle in the room when we arrived. When I asked for one at reception I was told as I had booked a "budget room" these rooms did not have kettles. When I checked on the hotel website, it read every room has a kettle and tea making facilities, which I pointed out. The receptionist advised she didn't have one but after complaining, one was sent up.

    We arrived at 1.15pm but had to wait until the 2pm check in which is check in time. Great location on the main street and bus stop for trip pick ups just on the corner by the hotel. Budget room was fine but missed having windows for our 3 night stay. Shared toilet/shower clean. Breakfast was nice although not hot but warm but filled us up for the day. Bed comfortable. TV in room and wi fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Met my expectations and the location was excellent and made it easy for me to get around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could do with a lick of paint in places, general brightening up. The outside looks like a business office, and mixed with another hotel on the 2nd floor. I can see why people get confused.

    The location is superb, central location within Reykjavik with 5-10 minute walks for sightseeing. Breakfast was easy to find and tasty! Bus stop 10 (Hlemmur) is 1 minute walk away, on the side of the building, excellent for pick ups and drop offs for tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast was really phenomenal, especially by European...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really phenomenal, especially by European standards. They had a mix of both a full English breakfast (hot eggs, beans, french toast, bacon, sausage) and Continental (bread, sandwich meats, cheese). Also a really good location for the two main streets where lots of shops are located. There was limited free parking in a garage underneath the building (I mean like 3-4 spaces) but we managed to get one each night so that was great! A bit of a walk to the harbor/old city area, but not unduly so. Also, fairly easy to get on the main roads out of town if you're driving.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.5
    Great location and breakfast. poor room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not helpful. I asked for towels and was told their normal policy is to change them every 3 days. Booking the room it didn't mention that it would be one toilet and shower shared amongst 4 rooms which could occupy up to 3 people per room

    Location and restaurants. Brilliant selection of breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.2
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The place smelled bad - Breakfast was barely adequate (though free) - Staff was pretty disinterested overall

    Value was okay. Location was pretty decent too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Fair value but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the hotel are a bit misleading. It is just 9 rooms on the fourth floor of a building. There are three bathrooms on this floor that are shared- they are all very small with a tiny shower, only one person can fit at a time. While we never had to wait for a bathroom, there were no fans, and unfortunately no way to ventilate the smell which left the whole floor smelling very badly for a few hours! The staff was pleasant but not there at all hours, so when we arrived late and wanted more coffee or service there was no one there to assist with that. We did save money and the location was very good, so I don’t regret staying there- but I was a little disappointed. Reminded me of a freshman dorm in college, so if that works for you and you want to save money this is a good option.

    The best things about the property were the location/proximity to the downtown area. Lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The room was clean (although very small, even smaller than expected!). The staff was pleasant, and the view was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    3.8
    Ok for one night, then stock up at breakfast and get out quick and go see the rest of Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had was terrible. Room 240. No window, right next to the shared toilet (so you can hear too much :-S ), awkward layout, very little space. Other rooms did looked better (but were at least twice the price), room 240 should be a cupboard and not sold to guests. The is a pile of loo roles in an alcove in the corridor, room 240 should be used to store those instead. Shared bathroom also very awkward layout. Breakfast staff either on their phone or eating from the buffet themselves rather than topping any of the food / drinks up. Considering the food prices in Iceland, the breakfast buffet is a welcome part of the package at this hotel (and has a good variety), but it could be run/topped up better. The staff had a small argument between themselves during breakfast about how badly run it was and then did nothing about it.

    Location is good but not much else. Good for a night right in the town centre but I wouldn't stay more than a night. Free parking below the hotel is good but it is not advertised/obvious where you can park and it is difficult to park an SUV there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.3
    Would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was awful. Dirty shower. Bad noisy plumbingand had Holes in the walls. Staff couldn’t get me into my room on time after long flight even though I paid for an extra night so I could get some rest early in the morning. Had to wait two hours in reception even though I had paid for the room. Refused to pack breakfast as promised for early departure . Had big fight about it. Elevator dirty, crummy and scary. Room radiator was hidden behind bed headboard so I couldn’t control heat. 3 plugs total— had to unplug things constantly. Fridge didn’t work. I want my money back.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Room was great, clean, bed was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a joke, no room sitting on the toilet, head and knees hitting the wall in front not even 1" space, the waters smell and taste is just plain awful, breakfast needs improvement, everything was cold, especially the Eggs after four Breakfast's we had enough, for the record Room#407

    Room was great, clean, bed was nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room (no window) With Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility which I didn't realise before booking.

    Stayed in a double room with no window and shared bathroom. There is no tea making facility in this room for fire and safety reasons. Also room might be too warm in summer months. Very comfortable bed. The breakfast was included Which was delicious and it started out day off well. Great location right outside stop number ten for your pick ups and drop off. Ideal. Close to everything to explore the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Fair for the price and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has a shared bathroom. Staff didn’t really talk. The bar wasn’t open.

    Great location right in the centre and has a bus stop that the excursion buses pick u up from just a few metres round the corner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Not bad at all for the value and price. Breakfast was awesome. No frills hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sucks the bathrooms are outside, design was a little awkward of the rooms in general, but I don't really need frills. Staff was a little cold to deal with, cleaning staff was very lovely though!

    Continental breakfast was really great value! Quiet location, and close to downtown core. Clean facilities, warm shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    the best breakfast buffet I had in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room without Window with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small so they squeezed two beds in weird way. And we couldn't find the staff for checking us out! Other staffs there told us they didn't know who supposed to work that morning and we waited for 30 minutes to be answered to leave our key on the desk.

    the best breakfast buffet I had in Iceland

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.0
    Horrible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms is so narrow, all rooms are not noise proof , my bed planks collapsed once we sleep on it , but the reception is already close. Couldn’t sleep the whole night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    3.8
    The staff was very not helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very not helpful. There was no parking available while they advertise free parking available and this was the main reason for us choosing this establishment. The "private" bathroom is actually outside the room. When we told reception that our room had a broken lamp nothing was done about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Not a good experience.
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't recommend this place. The receptionist wasn't really helpful and gave the impression that she would rather not be there. The water in the shower smelled bad to the point that I would have rather not showered... I normally search for affordable single rooms in hostels or small hotels and I often find simple places that are clean and comfortable, which is all I'd ask for. This was not the case.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The free Wifi worked just fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for expensive Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows were thin, so street noise was a little annoying.

    Beds were comfy; breakfast was good; rooms and facilities very clean; staff very friendly and helpful; awesome location. I liked that the windows could be opened.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was dreadful. When we first went which was pretty early the food in containers were not hot and I could see the grease just dropping off the food

    Great location. We were looking for something basic and not fancy the staff were great that we spoke to.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    GM's quick response to my situation made my day a lot less stressful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been a less stressful experience if I did not have to move hotels, the receptionist would have been a little bit more empathetic to my situation instead of offering "It's really not that far".

    Had an issue with the booking, I didn't actually check into the hotel at all. The general manager was able to relocate me to their sister hotel location. However, when I emailed indicating that the new location did not suit my needs, the GM was able to offer me a full refund on my non-refundable booking. I appreciated the gesture and he was very quick in responding to my emails and coming back with a proposed solution (and is quick to follow through with the refunds).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Well worth a stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No selection of white wine or draught beer in the bar is a big let down after a day exploring the countryside.

    This hotel is situated in a very good location. It was very comfortable and warm as the weather when we were there was very cold and snowy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast is HUGE and delicious, which is a huge perk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have a bathroom, and there were only two (single stall) bathrooms on our floor which were often full.

    The breakfast is HUGE and delicious, which is a huge perk when even a bottle of water costs $5.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    The staff was great, I was in a private room and I really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the 4th floor and the entire floor smelled like someone had just used the toilet in the hallway. Other than this issue, I had a lovely stay!

    The staff was great, I was in a private room and I really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.0
    Won't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming could have been better. The room was fairly clean,the floor was proper and visibly dirty,we put the sign outside the door to get the room cleaned but when we were back ,the only clean thing we had was the towels. For not to mention the kattle 😝 The toilet was clean I hope. I expected more for what we paid £432 for 3 nights booked way in advance.

    Beds were comfy,location was great ,there was a fridge in the room,which it was handy considering how pricy to eat out was.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    2.9
    Avoid , If you like clean accommodations !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a hotel, but hostel. Very dirty. The windows are so dirty that you can’t see clearly through. Old building , dirty room, and bathroom .couldn’t eat the breakfast, as everything around was disgusting.The Coffee was bad too. Can’t say one good thing . It was a huge dissapointment after we experienced two lovely and much cheaper accommodations for our first 4 days in Iceland.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Convenient and simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do wish the bathrooms were slightly bigger. It reminded me of dormitory showers. However, they were clean, which is all the really matters.

    4th Floor Hotel is on the main shopping street and close to the harbor. The staff provided the option to store luggage prior to check-in, which is very convenient when flying from North America.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    breakfast ok, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No parking available (!), wifi didn't worked (fixing it for months probably), really bad smell of water(extra smelly sulfat) and also in the corridor smell of canalization...

    breakfast ok, very good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.5
    Good spot for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff available when we arrived and we couldn't check in early.

    Comfortable beds and free parking was fantastic. We enjoyed the variety of fresh selections at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse 4th Floor Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: