Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. North Iceland hotel reviews
  4. Blönduós hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Blanda

Reviews of Hotel Blanda

Aðalgata 6, 540 Blönduós, Iceland

#6 of 11 hotels in Blönduós

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 697 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    8.3
    Nice hotel with an ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did explain that the shower knobs need a little nudging. I had no problems turning it on but my lady friends did need to use their strength to turn on the showers.

    I didn't know the hotel had an ocean view so that was a pleasant surprise. The staff are friendly and charming. The breakfast selection is sufficient

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2019

    7.9
    Convenient location and free breakfast made for a perfect overnight stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is slightly dated and could use some updating.

    My partner and I were making the drive from Snæfellsnes peninsula to Akureyri and Hotel Blanda was perfectly located for an overnight stop. Our drive ended up taking longer than expected and the hotel staff stayed up and waited for us, which was awesome. We are very thankful for that. As for the hotel itself, it's reasonably priced, located nearly right on the water, offers rooms with an ocean view, and serves a solid breakfast. There's not much surrounding the hotel but if you'd like, you can walk down to the water and sit on a rock jetty as you take in sunset. Just be careful not to drop your phone in the rocks like I did :(

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    8.3
    The owner of the hotel was really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located on the water, but unfortunately there are no walkways etc .. Also the city itself offers little opportunity to explore this within walking distance. The pretty little river island with hiking trails, is properly closed in the spring during the breeding season. The decor of the restaurant reminded of a canteen. Unfortunately, the tap water smelled extremely sulphurous, so that one had to partially hold the air while showering. A little sulfur smell has come to us more often in Iceland, but nowhere so extreme.

    The owner of the hotel was really friendly and helpful. The decor of the room was very good! The food in the restaurant was also good. Only the decor of the restaurant reminded of a canteen. The bathroom was spacious and modern.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2019

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was well below the standard we stayed in elsewhere in Iceland. The view was completely oversold/very misleading (old tractor shed and building site at the back). "Stunning view" is possible only if you are wearing horse blinders/blinkers. Bathroom was tiny. It was too dowdy and at least 50% overpriced. Blonduos itself is not worth a visit.

    Staff were very pleasant. Hotel did make a small gesture given our disappointment.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2019

    7.1
    Okay for one night but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is old and had a little smell. I felt like it was pretty expensive for what we got.

    The hotel was clean. We had a room that was facing the ocean which was very nice. The restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2019

    7.5
    Dinner at the hotel restaurant was the best in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner at the hotel restaurant was the best in town. Slow cooked lamb shank was their specialty, every table had at least one order. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    Excellent staff, breakfast, and views of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location had very little open late eateries, but everything was top notch other than that.

    The staff was especially excellent, so friendly and attentive. Breakfast was delicious! All and all, a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2019

    7.9
    Great location, shame about the restaurant being closed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was closed, so we had to find somewhere else to eat

    The room was quite large and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location on the beach, but a touch too chilly to enjoy the sea air for too long! Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    8.3
    Overall excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms can be small. Also, I took a shower wearing a silver necklace and it became brown ! I got it polished & its all good now.

    Yakub was exceptionally good as a the hotel host.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    A very nice place to stay and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. I have no complaints about our stay. The place had everything we needed and the owner was great to talk to. The view from our room was beautiful.

    We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Blanda very much. It is a very nice facility. It was very clean and the view from our room was amazing. The staff was very kind and accommodating. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    10
    Amazing location, it is very close to the ocean, we saw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location, it is very close to the ocean, we saw northern lights right in front of our hotel! Everything was very clean, and we felt super welcome.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    8.3
    Staff, location, room and balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant was closed on the day we arrived, was not even available for dinner. It would have been great if we were informed about this in advance instead of only at check in.

    Staff, location, room and balconies.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    9.2
    Decent hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner selection during winter time is quite scarce.

    The location of the hotel is quite convenient, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The hotel's decoration is a bit old-fashioned, but it is well maintained and cleaned. Good choice for a night's stop-over between Stykkisholmur and Akureyri.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.1
    Close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room door jammed and we could not get out. Had to call the staff and in the end climbed through the window from the balcony to get in through another room. Dreadful at 4 in the morning

    Close to the airport

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    It is perfect for a night passing through on our way back to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is perfect for a night passing through on our way back to the city. The manager was fantastic. Super friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is nothing fancy but perfect for the night!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.1
    Grate location, the Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old fashioned hotel (althought we already knew that When we booked and the bathrooms had been renovated). The restaurant was closed the night we stayed there so unffortunatly we could not haver dinner there. Breakfast was quite poor and we felt some minor adjustments could improve it Substentialy. Besides than the overall breakfast room and distes we quite dieta

    Grate location, the Beach. Very clean room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.2
    Property is a little dated but breakfast was good and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property is a little dated but breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful. Northern side of Iceland is not too popular during October so we didn’t see too many visitors there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    People complain about the dated rooms but they were very clean and we had a view of the sea so no complaints there.

    Very friendly staff. We felt welcomed for once. The property is old but very clean and well kept. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Amazing place and breakfast was really awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was pefrect

    Amazing place and breakfast was really awesome! Personal was really nice and pleasant. The surrounding villages are pretty. Also a really good place to watch aurora

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.8
    Recently renovated hotel under new management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Very friendly welcome. Owner / manager very helpful and obliging. Comfortable beds. Sea view from Room 210, once frequented it would appear by Eric Clapton, Ringo Starr and Barbara Bach - though presumably not all at the same time. Hotel restaurant serves excellent - if somewhat pricey - cuisine. Catch of the Day and Lamb first rate, Chicken Bourgogne and Vegetarian dish somewhat disappointing. Copious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.3
    The staff were quite friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They advertise on the signs in the town - Amazing ocean views. Well we didn’t have an ocean view at all just a view of a backpacker hostel and 2 street lights right outside our window.

    The staff were quite friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    6.3
    The surrounding beaches made this trip worthwhile. I would look for a different hotel if I returned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel came with free breakfast. Was awful. Really poor effort as it was a buffet and nothing was replinished. The assortment was poor.

    The hotel is O-K. Not bad though, nothing bad to say, it just is O-K.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    Dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water came from the geothermal system and so it was stinky and we didn't take a shower that night because of the smell.

    Dinner was excellent. Room was simple but adequate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    We would be happy to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was one of the largest we had in Iceland with an excellent water view with loads of ducks swimming just offshore. The restaurant also had the same lovely view. The decor is a bit retro, sort of 1960s and '70s, but very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay here and would have enjoyed exploring the town a bit more but we were late in the season and the Textile Museum was closed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.2
    The view on the ocean was nice (even if the hotel was not on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room appeared bigger on booking.com than in real life.

    The view on the ocean was nice (even if the hotel was not on the beach). Friendly staff. Good breakfast. We had a great stay, thanks.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.3
    Rustic !! Nice view of ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was very small and shower stall far too small with shower curtain which covered the drain

    Friendly staff . Meal at supper was tasty and nicely presented

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    The manager was extremely friendly - it was because of him...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The manager was extremely friendly - it was because of him that we were finally able to see the Northern Lights! The room was spacious and clean, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    Very cozy and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very cozy and clean rooms. The staff was extremely helpful. At Night we thought we saw the Northern Lights but we weren’t sure. The staffs actually came with us to the beach to help us spot it. The Breakfast spread was also great. Overall felt it was great value for Money. And the staff made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    8.8
    Great quiet place with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our second stay to Hotel Blanda - and definitely not the last one! We had one of the lovely rooms upstairs facing the sea. All that might disturb you there at night is the sea with its waves - which I don't mind at all. Breakfast was great again, it had a great selection of food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    10
    A nice place to stop for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an old fashioned hotel, but that's not a negative statement. The staff was very friendly, cheerful and helpful. The restaurant (at the time of our stay) was quite good. Lots of historic buildings around the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel located by the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice hotel located by the ocean. Our room was very comfortable and had a great view We really liked the breakfast as well and found the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great location - it was a one night stop between Akureyri...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was in general quite good - perhaps the decor could be updated, but that is really the only thing.

    Great location - it was a one night stop between Akureyri and Snaefellsnes on our Ring Road trip. The property is easy to find and the breakfast buffet was included in our room rate, which was nice. Everything was spotlessly clean and as expected based on other reviews of the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.9
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You just don't get a room with view unless you are lucky. We enjoyed watching incoming guests from the newest room's window.

    Friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    5.0
    Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can live with the hotel being old (cracks in the wall) and the rooms tired (old furniture). Can't live with a filthy room, especially the bathroom. Hairs and the formerly white tiles were greyish / dirty. Shower curtain was dirty on the outside.

    Staff was friendly and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly, helpful and went out of his way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is an odor of sulfur in the hallway. The water smelled a bit like sulfur as well which is common in Iceland. The breakfast was simple and fair.

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and went out of his way to help! The room was clean, small and basic. Overall, this was a fine place to stop for the night while traveling around Iceland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.2
    Easy check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That it didn’t have a ‘resident’ dog to go with the cat Lol. And that we didn’t have a chance to say bye to the young girl in the restaurant

    Easy check-in. The neighbors black cat roamed freely even in the restaurant, which I loved although I know some people would take offence too. The cat was very well behaved and did not bother anyone. Food in restaurant was excellent. Owner on site and very friendly. The local young girl working in the restaurant was very personable and we really enjoyed talking to her about Icelandic life and sheep farms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little noisy, you could hear every word from the neighbor rooms.

    Nice and convenient location Clean Very friendly staff Simple rooms Good breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was nice, we got a real feel northern Iceland, including "smell" the water in the bathroom and its taste after brushing:), we arrived at the hotel late in the evening and despite the late hour we got to eat in the restaurant. The food was very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    5.8
    Nice place but we didn't expect some things
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was on the ground floor and just behind the window there was a path. It was impossible to sit inside without closing the curtain. The breakfast was poor.

    The room was quite clean with new furniture

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    3.3
    Poor rooms and equipment, bed blanket like sandpaper, poor ocean view, Kitchen cleanest zero
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrive at the Hotel, I asked twice if we are really in the Hotel Blanda. I couldn't believe it. I suppose that the pictures I like on the internet show no more the reallity. They are surely the pictures made the first week of the Hotel opening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    7.9
    My room came with a very nice sea view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is definitely old and need some renovations. Breakfast offer is small and dull, particularly for the room rate that I was paid.

    My room came with a very nice sea view! The manager is helpful and gives some good suggestions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    5.0
    It was a sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The photos aren’t real... the room was very old style and very very tiny . The bathroom was old also and the water has a smell...

    It was a sea view room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel which should and could improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good. Eggs were cold. I guess they are prepared at 7 in the morning and left on a not heated plate until 10 o'clock. Toast was tasteless. Room with sea view - but the bath room was very small. The room was not yet renovated. Thus it was too expensive.

    The location of the hotel near the beach is nice. The man at the reception and the woman in the restaurant were very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in Blonduos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The soundproofing is not great so we did hear noise from other guests. They are performing repairs to the flooring in the hallway which was a bit untidy.

    The family room was spacious and clean. There were toiletries provided in the bathroom. There was Netflix on the tv which the kids enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and very good with our kids. Breakfast included scrambled eggs, sausage and baked beans in addition to the Icelandic fare. The views are beautiful and the location is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great view from the restuarant, one of the best breakfasts I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view from the restuarant, one of the best breakfasts I had during my stay in Iceland. The staff was very friendly, when we were talking about my next part of the trip around the ring road they gave some good advice for alternative routes that are more beautiful compared to just dricing along on the ring road. Spend 2 hours just standing at the beach behind the hotel watching the sunset - or rather lack of it, as it was end of may :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.9
    Staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sheets can be more soft.

    Staff was great! During breakfast I noticed there was maple syrup but no pancakes. When the cook arrived I asked him what the syrup was for and he said for the small pancakes and made them especially for me!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Great location, accomodations and good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made this reservation last minute and glad we did! Comfortable room and wonderful location right by the ocean and river, close to good restaurants, playground and pool. Staff was helpful. Breakfast (included) was very good! Highl recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    8.3
    Nothing Wrong with This Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a large room but no sitting furniture to look out the windows and enjoy the ocean views. Room was plenty large enough for some comfortable chairs.

    Large room with nice shower. Breakfast was good, included some hot items (scrambled eggs, franks, pancakes) in addition to standard Islandic cold fare. View of the ocean was nice and midnight sunset was gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.8
    Really nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't what we expected, there were only a few choices to select from and tables were dirty.

    The room was great, it was clean, big and all furniture was new. There are a few restaurants nearby but it is better to go by car, it takes a few minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    10
    An interesting change from the new slick, pared-down hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very expensive.

    Most of the hotels we stayed in while in Iceland were new, stylish and modern, and this hotel is older. But we had a very big, clean, comfy room with an ocean view, and the staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Tea, coffee and cookies were always available in the reception area, and breakfast in their large dining room was ample. This is a village that time apparently forgot - interesting to explore. I have never seen so many seabirds at one time - it's located on a salmon river and the birds were feasting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.9
    Good stop between Akyureyri and Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV didn't receive any channels - although didn't really bother us, would be better not to have one on the wall.

    Dinner was tasty. Room didn't have a see view but was clean and large ensuite was modern.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.2
    It is not a new hotel but it is very clean, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It is not a new hotel but it is very clean, comfortable and has a great location near the ocean. Tea, coffee and cookies are available all the time, stuff is awesome and breakfast is nice. Good hotel for short stay while driving through Iceland. Thank you for upgrading our room to the one with ocean view :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    7.9
    Good location but dated facilities and expensive restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with some freshening up on the inside. Although it was clean, it felt quite dated. We were looking really forward to our dinner in the restaurant as we read some great reviews online but unfortunately our meals were very oily and underwhelming. This was made more disappointing considering how expensive it was (approx. 5,000 ISK for a main meal).

    The staff here were some of the friendliest Icelandic folk we met during our travels of Iceland. They were very helpful and even gave us a room with a beach view which was very much appreciated. The hotel is right on the beach so you can literally walk a minute and look out over the ocean which would provide some epic views of the Northern Lights should they make an appearance. Our room was really big, warm and the beds very comfortable. We liked the big bar which served ice cold local beer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    staff at front desk kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff at front desk kind and helpful. Room extremely clean. perfect for our stay. right next to water. cookies and tea /coffee always at front area a nice bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    7.1
    On a scale of 1 to 10 I would give it a 6.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No in room coffee. Coffee not available in lobby until 7:30 a.m. Carrying luggage up the stairs was difficult. Staff did not offer to help.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    8.8
    The service was good and the place is easy to find, nice...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok

    The service was good and the place is easy to find, nice location nearby the sea. Staff was friendly, the room was good in size but it was a little bit old, but not to bad. Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Once I found it, it was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find. I entered the town from the north and expected to see signs as other places I stayed in the north were marked with signs. I had an extremely difficult time finding the hotel and a sign at the beginning of the town and again at the turn-off would have been very useful. I spent 45 minutes looking and it very late so there was nowhere open to ask anyone for help. The place did not come up on my GPS.

    Check-in available 24 hours so I could arrive late which worked best for my schedule.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exterior was a bit dated, however inside the room was all newly refurbished so that made up for it!

    Great value for money!! Staff were very helpful and friendly. It was our honeymoon and they arranged cute touches with extra champagne, beer and cookies :) Restaurant/ bar was very ambient. Common area had free cookies and tea/coffee so we could refresh ourselves after long day driving.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    5.4
    Needs some care and attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very tired in need of a major overhaul. Particularly outside. Restaurant separate , food very good, but only main course, no.starter or pud on offer. Also restaurant tables dirty and very crumpled cloths which we had to clear of crumbs before sitting down. Pity both hotel and restaurant could be hems if given a bit of effort.

    Fabulous location. We lucked out with the best room (10) - great sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    4.2
    not recommend to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely outdated, requires some modernisation..... Water smells a bit. Dreadful dinner experience, lamb chops and fish were overcooked to the point you can't taste what was inside.... On breakfast they served stale bread! After my comment, only toasts were left available. Really, there is no bakery in the town?? Selection of food rather limited. Cereal stood the whole time in opened containers. Awful experience.

    The only good thing is it's closeness to see. But view was distracted by an old buildings in front. OK, the room was quite big, but bathroom pretty outdated.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and spacious room and bathroom, with ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor soundproofing, we could hear the water running from the bathroom of the rooms next to ours, also the bed was a bit too hard for me. Old style hotel that has been refurbished but could do better with additional modern touches.

    Very clean and spacious room and bathroom, with ocean view. We also got offered complimentary coffee, tea biscuits and pastries at our arrival which was really appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    9.6
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing that bothered us was not having a kettle in the room.

    The staff! I can’t remeber his name (which I feel horrible for) but he was so pleasant, happy cheery guy, he helped us out in suggestions on where to go on a more local level, gave us all the info we needed for our travels, best guy ever. The room, food & location are that amazing that we plan on visiting again next time we’re there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    4.6
    The hotel name says it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was ok but the shower had a strong sulphate smell. The faculties were basic. The bed linen was not good. As for the great sea view. You could see the sea. There was no coffee making facilities in the room and the coffee downstairs was 2 days old.

    The hotel was in a good location as we had to drive from the north back to Reykjavík. It was a good place to stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    10
    We could check in in the middle of the night when there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could check in in the middle of the night when there was a snow storm and check out at 12 and got some free coffee and cookies in the morning :) Great view to the sea and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    7.9
    Good for short stay but expect basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower didn’t work, no additional pillars and restaurant was closed so no evening meal available. Asked where the closest place was and was informed it was a drive back into the little town over the hill

    Very friendly check in lady and the hotel is warm and clean. View from bedroom was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    8.3
    Nice, cosy place on the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was unfortunately closed when we were there.

    Hotel manager was very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious, and had a lovely view out over the ocean. Everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    10
    At the time of year we went we were the only ones staying at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At the time of year we went we were the only ones staying at the hotel but they allowed us to pick a time for breakfast at a good price and it was a sweet setup with lots of food. She also brought up snacks when we first arrived. The tv had Netflix access as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel owners & staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice hotel owners & staffs. The restaurant in the hotel is not managed by the hotel but the restaurant owner is also very nice. The buffet lunch serving good & casual Icelandic style foods & stew is good value & tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.9
    Adventurous and good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few things but all minor. It was just part of the adventure and we will hopfully get back soon.

    Staying there was a little adventure, like going back in time. We liked the hotel a lot. Out of our window we could se the surging waves (and the dreadful buildings at the shore). The sound of the waves was nice to hear while going to sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    10
    Lovely place with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed for 5 nights and we really enjoyed it. We got a new room with a very comfortable bed, nice chairs to sit and relax and the bathroom was just perfect. We enjoyed breakfast, which was just perfect for us and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They supplied us with all information that we needed. It will definitely be our place to stay next time we are in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    4.6
    I will not recommend my friends to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel have to improve the bad smell from from tube, redecorate the hotel, too old facility and furnitures.

    water from tube have bad smell, hotel is old style, restaurant is closed from 1st of September.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were upgraded to a bigger room so the room was very big. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a "Northern lights" as a service and this was the first place in Iceland where we actually saw a Northern lights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant and comfortable, would happily stay there again if in the area. ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closes end of August

    We were warmly greeted at reception upon our arrival, view overlooking ocean was pretty, beds were very comfortable, wifi was quick

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    10
    Beautiful location, super great staff, I have got my best time in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the best hotel that I have spent my night in Iceland. It seems to be a small town Blanda, and there is a nice lake in it, you can hear the birds singing. The room is big and really comfortable. Also the staff in the hotel is fantastic. He has helped us to carry the luggage to the room. We would like to cook that night, but there are no such facilities in the hotel. Though the staff just gives me the key to their Hostel so I can cook there. I do appreciate for the help so much! In the second morning, he has also suggested us a wonderful route to watch the seals and other great views. This is really fantastic. Also the piano in the hotel is quite nice to play :-) Thanks for all the great help and I will stay here for more time next time for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    6.7
    Good location, need improvement of cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smell funny. Toiler still has unflashed paper.

    Easy access from highway, easy parking, ocean front with couple minutes walk to ocean front. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Blanda Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: