Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Capitano

Hafnarbraut 50, 740 Neskaupstaður, Iceland

#4 of 5 hotels in Neskaupstaður

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 69 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly welcoming staff, good meals, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kata and her staff were very friendly and welcoming. This is a lovely town to visit, the hotel was very comfortable and has an interesting history. The dinner meals we had were very good and the breakfast was generous. We were able to park the hire car at the rear of the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here. It was quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in was a bit chaotic as one guy was handling the front desk and the restaurant, which was a bit busy when I arrived. Breakfast was a bit sparse, compared to what I'm used to.

    Room was clean, shower was great. Bed was very comfortable. I stayed in the hotel's annex building so everything was pretty new. Doors and walls were surprisingly soundproof as I had no disturbances from other guests. Staff did its best to give the best service they could. I arrived on a festival weekend (as I was also attending that festival) and staff was honest in telling me that many of them would also be attending that festival, and thus breakfast would be served later than normal (which was perfectly fine with me). However, we met each other halfway and I ensured I had enough toilet paper and clean towels to get me through the next 5 days, and that also worked out perfectly. Restaurant served good food, with sufficient variety. Service was prompt and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.4
    Wish I would have stayed at the Hildibrand Hotel instead. We had a great dinner there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old accommodations - needs updating. Beds and pillows are not comfortable.

    Lovely town but far removed from the ring road. Traveled 5 miles through a tunnel in the mountain to get there

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Cozy little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really far from route 1 and very hard to drive too (lots of mountain roads). This was not the hotels fault but if you are driving the ring road not the best choice of location.

    Cozy little hotel. Staff was nice and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside a bit shabby building, but inside o.k.

    Nice staff, clean rooms. We didn't have breakfast, left too early

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly, all good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, all good. Clean room. Nice view. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    almost great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    carpet smell

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place to stay while road tripping around Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place to stay while road tripping around Iceland... beautiful, clean and friendly!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Great value for Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses and pillows need updating.

    Room size - large room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    3.3
    Ridiculous price for this "hotel", €164 one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ridiculous price for this "hotel", €164 one night. Look for something else!! If the rating was 7,8 of 100, then I would agree.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    5.4
    Terrible smell from candles in the reception, seemed to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrible smell from candles in the reception, seemed to be meant to cover up for something. Mattresses stored in corridors. Broken lamp in the room.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms and excellent pizzas with free tea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfortable rooms and excellent pizzas with free tea. I felt at home.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: