Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Captain Reykjavik Guesthouse Ránargata

Different locations in Reykjavík city centre, 101 Reykjavík, Vesturbær, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#22 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 786 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Iceland was great but pick another place to stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much of anything to like !!!

    Absentee staff Doors in house were noisy No TV No service at all Self chech in/ out ??? Room ready first night, after that you’re on your own Smoke detector went off one night, it was locked in management closet Staff only there from 10 to 2. After that you can’t contact them Bed was absolutely atrocious Location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights in the living hall were not working, no hair dryer, not enough kitchen utensils ~ plates, bowls & cups. Also, difficult to find parking.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice stay in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast wasn't included, just breakfast making facilities. The staff weren't around very often but we didn't require their help too much either. We could have done with some extra pillows in the bedroom and maybe some warmer covers.

    The location was good. The bathroom was nice and wasn't packed given that it was one bathroom to three rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed a bit run down. The light on the door across the way was so bright! It's a good thing we had our eye masks. We were concerned about the midnight sun but it was the outdoor light on the other apartment that was a problem!

    Beds were very comfortable and towels were provided. We had lots of space with the bedroom, main room and the kitchen. Everything was clean. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    The place is modestly comfortable but needs more bathrooms for number of guests and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and beds not very comfortable. Only one shared bathroom for three guest rooms on floor!

    Great location within walking distance of many restaurants, etc. Nice to have access to a kitchen for making coffee and preparing food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hired a small partment at Captain Reykjavik. Unfortunately it was the worst hotel stay of our 10 days trip in Iceland. Overall it was very dirty, there was dust and dirt everywhere, especially the bathroom with hairs and stuff in the shower. The floor in the whole apartment was also very dirty so we had to go wirh our shoes inside. In the kitchen there was bad smelling and not so nice. One of our bed was extremely soft and made noice if you moved just a little.

    The location is excellent. You can walk all over the city with easy access to restaurants, shopping and museums.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a fantastic place to stay to get out of the hard rain and find a place to sleep last second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water came out of the tap smelling of sulfur, but that is kind of a given.

    The beds were comfortable, and even though there were four of us in a room for two. It was able to handle all of our belongings and our needs for that night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and the studio provides privacy and all you need to cook your meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a quick overnight stay here and it had all that we needed. If you are looking to cook and prepare your own meals this place is great. We rented the studio and had the privacy we wanted. The location is also perfect to walk around the center, too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location but nothing else to recommend staying at this substandard hostel-like place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was not clean. Old food was left in the fridge. Lamps lacked bulbs. The linens felt like prison rejects, scratchy and uncomfortable. The furniture was odd and over-used. It had the feel of a poorer hostel, not a typical spotless Icelandic guest house.

    The location was excellent, allowing you to walk to central Reykjavik but to stay in a quieter, more residential neighborhood. The nearby parking was free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Convenient, but not comfortable or clean and pretty cramped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was occupied by another tenant taking a bath. It was left wet, smelly, hairy and gross so I avoided it as much as possible. There were no sheets provided for the bed so I slept on my own travel towel. We requested two beds but didn't realize the two of us would be sleeping RIGHT NEXT to each other. And the staff person who arrived in the morning was rude and unapproachable. I was grateful to have had a place to lay my head, but I would never stay there again. I hope the owner can find more friendly help.

    This was a last minute booking for us since we were tired and didn't want to drive one hour to our Keflavik guesthouse. Tthe owner was very nice in helping us find the place late at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    A private room hostel, not a B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold and we couldn't turn the heating on. There was nobody around to ask for help or a different room and no way to contact anyone. This was pretty disappointing because our only reason for booking a room instead of sleeping in the camper car was to stay warm. The place was way older than it looks in the photos and there was only a partial blind on the windows. Since the sun is out all night in Icelandic summer, it seems obvious to put blinds in hotel windows. Breakfast was good but too small for people with big appetites. The free food bin helped though. Finally I didn't realize that there was no private bathroom. Considering the price and the name "guesthouse" and category of "B&B" I had thought it was a given. It was not the end of the world but I chose this more expensive place to try and get these comforts.

    It's only a short walk to some nearby shops and cathedral. The WiFi was not bad.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Awesome Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps, tight parking

    Easy checking in and out, on spot furnished kitchen. Clean bed, Freat location. Many frat eating locations with in Walking distance, all downtown Reykjavík attractions are at walking distance. Grocery store is 1/2 block way .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location close to the harbor, large room, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the furniture was old and run down (sofa in the room)

    Great location close to the harbor, large room, quiet neighborhood, easy check in, bike parking in the backyard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, great price, lots of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    Light was on the dim side and the place was a little worn.

    Spacious, especially for a downtown Reykjavik place. Very suitable for a family with 2-4 kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointed in facilities for the rate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we stayed in was poorly maintained. Hooks were coming off the walls or torn off the walls. The sink was partially detached from the wall in the bathroom and the toilet seat was hooked with only one screw. The patio area outside the room was dirty and with mud and cans with cigarette butts

    The location was convenient to many restaurants and shopping areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Nothing fancy. good location. fair value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room bathroom.

    I booked on line at a fair price. There was no staff present but a call button put me in touch with staff. I was buzzed in and my room was ready with the room key and front door key. There was no bathroom in the room. It was a common bathroom. It was clean except for the shower curtin which was moldy on the bottom. If you are looking for an inexpensive room near city center this is a good choice but nothing fancy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location with free parking available a few streets away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too soft, pillows offered no support, bathroom wasn't clean

    Good location with free parking available a few streets away. Light and simple room with a pleasant kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    They reply your email very shortly when you have questions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have to carry our suitcases to upstairs. Our room was just next to toilet is a little bit noisy. The toilet is not enough for 3rd floor guests . it was long queue during morning before check out , you may have to try 2nd floor toilet as well. and shower area is too small .

    They reply your email very shortly when you have questions or problem when you are late check in. location is good just near few restaurants. kitchen and the dinning area is separated .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Location was good - walkable to the main street with shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and furniture felt a little old but nonetheless clean. Check out experience could have improved a little bit. As we were right in the middle of Reykjavik, we had to pay for parking during the day (free at night).

    Location was good - walkable to the main street with shops and restaurants and to the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our first night in Iceland. We found parking just in front of the guesthouse (not for free - 170isk for an hour, which is not expensive). Close to the main street. Kitchen is well equiped. What we liked the most, was a reallyyy good breakfast for only 5€!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Super nice location, near old Reykjavik docs and bussy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive by car, you need to park at the street and pay for parking.

    Super nice location, near old Reykjavik docs and bussy shoping street with lots of bars. Free wi-fi and very friendly staff. Take the breakfast, it's healty and delicious. Apartment was clean and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    a place to lay my head
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were uncomfortable, it is loud, there was a couple fighting all night that kept me up until 4am then woke me at 8 with the police and more yelling,

    I liked the old building's character, the location and cleanliness of the the facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Really clean and quiet place with cozy rooms and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really clean and quiet place with cozy rooms and a great kitchen. The guys are very sweet and helpful. And it takes you about five minutes to walk to the center which is great cause you can enjoy the small streets and pretty houses around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Really nice, there was a lovely man mico I believe his name...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Really nice, there was a lovely man mico I believe his name was, who let us check in super early, we had an overnight flight so hadn’t had any rest and they got the room ready first which was so appreciated, the room was lovely big and clean :) lovely kitchen and dining room too!! Thanks for a lovely stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    We extended our stay for an extra night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not great, but you get what you pay for and it was acceptable.

    The breakfast was great, freshly home-made rolls and biscuits. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    I had a great stay here would recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was a little bit arrogant on the phone when i asked for the check in instructions. The apartment is in the basement

    I had a great stay here would recommend to others.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Was ok but would probably not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little shabby (ex, big holes in the wall where a bathroom towel rack might have been, knobs falling off old dresser that held kitchenware, only one coffee cup and one glass provided, four pillows but only two pillow cases - (we were told there were no more pillow cases), breakfast not included

    Great location, very clean, comfortable bed, very quiet, under-floor heating system very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Only stay if your in dire need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed killed my back and sleep was impossible.I slept on 3 days but literally the bed had no support and the sheets were not soft. Ruined a big part of the vacation.

    Good location to the main part of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable and right in the city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and budget friendly! Free parking in the street during evenings, nights and weekends. Really friendly and service minded staff - simply everything that you need for a stay in Reykjavik center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    All locations not as pictured
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    More like a college dorm. The light in room broken. The stair bannister was unstable and stairs very steep. The bathroom has mildew around tub. The bedding very soft poor support. The breakfast area run down but food smelled great and reasonable priced. We were requested not to wear shoes in room,

    The location was great walking distance to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Great central stopover for exploring Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely friendly girl on the desk allowed us in to our room when we arrived early, and was helpful in giving recommendations in the area for a Saturday night. Well-equipped kitchen meant we could prepare our own food, room was quiet and beds very comfortable. Nice, chilled, hostel-type vibe, can come and go as you please & an excellent base in the centre of Reykjavik.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    This place rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is great.

    This place was beyond awesome. The room, the location, the cheap breakfast – were outstanding. Will definitely recommend to friends and hope to visit again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, Excellent location, quite during the nights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    With freezing temperatures the window was open and the heating turned off when we got into the room. Even though the house was quite during the night there was a lot of noise during the early morning.

    Friendly staff, Excellent location, quite during the nights and they really made an effort to make something nice of the place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    The quality of the welcome and sense of service, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything is fine but a few hooks or a small stool to put your things in the bathroom upstairs and also few bowls in the kichen would be a plus :)

    The quality of the welcome and sense of service, the location, the breakfast (excellent value for money) which is homemade and very good, it is well heated and the kitchen is available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean and tidy. Room was perfect for a few nights stay and great being able to use the kitchen. Staff were extremely helpful and kind, also a great sense of humour!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Lovely place. Preferred to other Reykjavik location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing here that I believe was left to desire is to be able to pay online through booking.com if we wanted to.

    Having stayed at the other captain Reykjavík within the same trip, I can easily say I preferred this one. This one was more modern, and better located. We even got a room upgrade for free which was a very lovely surprise!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    It was comfortable to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was comfortable to stay here. The room was cozy and warm and the bathroom was clean. There is also a kitchen and a dining room on the ground floor which is convenient. The location is not bad. Staff are willing to help. It is better than what I expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    It was a great accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great accommodation. Warm room, clean, great kitchen, and really close to the center and all the bus stops in case you want to go on tours, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    We had a good time in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment was plain and somewhat worn couches.

    The service was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great. The beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok-ish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hated that you are forced to buy breakfast because the worker uses the kitchen ALL morning, so even if you want to prepare your own breakfast you have to wait till after 11AM to use the kitchen. And the bed in the description was for two, but in fact it’s two single beds put together... THIS DOES NOT MAKE IT ONE BED. It was very uncomfortable to sleep in as the two beds keep sliding apart.

    Location is good, and the place is generally clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient basic accommodation at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More/bigger pillows would be nice.

    The staff and the amazing breakfast (the best breakfast of any place I've ever stayed and the best food bargain in Reykjavik). The location is perfect, and the room was clean and comfortable. Perfect basic accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Awesome value and great location, walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a few staying with us, 5, and it was a little cramped. Ideal for 5, not the best bathroom.

    Awesome value and great location, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    very very good breakfast made from the bottom and great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom facilities to small for many rooms to sharing too expensive the rent for the room and facilities offered

    very very good breakfast made from the bottom and great price for the plate very very nice personel to take care of the breakfast, cleaning, hospitality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Quaint private room that met all of our needs for the night in Reykjavik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    We believe that there was a wasp nest somewhere in the room as we had to kill almost 10 that were flying around. This made our stay somewhat uncomfortable but staff seemed eager to solve that issue once notified. Hopefully it's been resolved!

    We liked the fact that the room was outside of the main building which offered more privacy. The beds themselves were comfortable especially after a week of camping! There was a kitchen with some supplies already provided such as a coffee maker, microwave and cooking utensils. The private bathroom had a spacious shower with warm water. We found that the room provided everything we needed for our last night in the city. The location was close by to major city attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    2.5
    Dont go there. Please try somthing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny.under steps.you have to crowl and band. Not connected to shower. More?????. Think thats enogh not to think to get closer to such place. And the price??? 120$ a night. Its a shame!!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value for a last minute booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for a last minute booking! Room was comfortable, breakfast was excellent. Location is super central and also quiet. Communication for checkin was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    Go see the Captain for Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a basement room so it smelled a bit moldy. The duvet on the bed was too hot, but there was no lighter weight blanket available. Consequently, I was too cold without it, but roasting with it.

    Breakfast was very good. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Fine but could be great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guest house had great possibility but was disappointing as it was clean but seemed run down and not given special care.

    Great location. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was tasty and well worth the price.The guest house had great posi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Friendly Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in the Studio ist only a cell. Studio was a bit noisy. Water smells a little sulfurous.

    Friendly Service. Good accomodation. Good breakfast. Nice kitchen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.6
    Expensive Disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a bathroom with 3 rooms. Bathroom was tiny. Sink so small my husband couldn't shave. No amenities! No staff on site most of time. We booked with breakfast included - had to argue to not pay - did finally receive it. Blinds broken in room.

    Big disappointment. Was conveniently located. Staff helpful when there - only at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here-rating says 3.8, I say 2.0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This room was so awful/outdated. Have pictures of based boards 1/2" away from wall, particle board that is rough everywhere and unpainted chips in bathroom and I could go on and on. It was fairly clean but way overpriced for worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Wanted to pay cash but didn't have change, etc.

    Itching

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    a one night convenient stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The steep stairs. Like everywhere in Iceland you feel you are paying TOO MUch for what you get. here is no better or no worse, inflated prices everywhere leave a bad taste in the mouth.

    The conditions are simple, stairs up to rooms on top floor, narrow and not easy to negotiate. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented, the location is very central to all major attractions of downtown Reykjavik. The guesthouse stored our luggage on the day we left which was very handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    An excellent budget option close to the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy doors upstairs. Blinds not light-tight. Extending our booking was problematic, as this could only be done online via website, which was not accurate re availability and price.

    Great location. Good value. Friendly staff. Kitchen available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Rooms are spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Great environment. Owner was super nice and helpful. He gave me a great rundown with a list of all the good bars in the area haha.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Guesthouse vs Hotel in Iceland
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a guesthouse, not a hotel. People need to know that. Therefore 7 people shared one bathroom. And it was occasionally noisy. Bathroom could have been cleaned more thoroughly daily.

    The host was very accommodating and very informative about tours, history, the people of the area. He was well-versed in lots of areas and we had a few good conversations. He provided a good breakfast for a very low cost. He was very willing to please the guests. The small environment made it a good chance to chat with other visitors and the overseeing host.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    I Hope to Stay There Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had what was called a studio and for some reason, unlike the rooms, they did not take responsibility for cleaning it daily. Not a big problem for me but seemed odd. Price was high but everything is expensive in Iceland, so it was in the normal range. No staff on premises after 3 pm BUT in any kind of problem situation there was a quick response. So not really a negative.

    Area of property very central. Only staff I met was very efficient and agreeable. Breakfast very good and, for Iceland, very inexpensive. Bed comfortable, shower and hot water excellent. Quiet at night. Easy stroll to center. The owner was very helpful answering my email questions before coming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location and big room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tub was a bit small but also tall and I almost fell getting out.

    The place was in a fantastic area close to restaurants and shopping. I didn't meet the owner but had a great chat with the guy filling in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    WoW! What Granola!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds could have been more comfortable. I thought we'd ordered a double bed but it was 2 singles next to each other so there was a gap between which one of invariably fell into! Also I had hoped to get an ensuite bathroom but they were already fully booked (I think teher are only 2 in the whole property?) But hey, early birds, etc.

    The breakfast was excellent. Rolls, cookies & granola baked at the property daily. The staff were really nice and helpful. The location was perfect for what we did over our long weekend (whale-watching from the harbour nearby/ museum visiting/ going out to ocal restaurants & basr at night) Brilliant!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    An amazing value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain in the shower was slow. That's honestly the only issue I had.

    Our room was actually a separate building, and we had total privacy, and total quiet. It was really lovely and comfortable and we didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place but the walls are too thin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin so I was kept awake in the evening and in the morning, you can hear all the sounds from the kitchen, bathroom and reception.

    The place has a great location and has a very good vibe. It is clean and the staff is very kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Old Town. Very comfortable, not noisy. The shared bathroom was not an issue. Very good breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money, nice rooms in heart of Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night

    After 4pm there is no staff at property, you have to ring a bell which is not marked well, there is only street parking (from 9am to 6pm)

    Nice rooms, bathroom was clean, there is a kitchen where you can cook your own food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Great little secret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light on in back yard all night!!!

    Breakfast was great, apparently true Icelandic. Host chatty and interesting. Location, despite initial impression was excellent 3 mins from harbour and restaurants and 5 mins from main shopping street and eateries.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice but spotty WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn't work in the basement room only in the kitchen. All of Iceland is pricey for Canadians.

    The staff were very helpful and accommodated my food allergies for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Stay here if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is phenomenal. So delicious! The guesthouse is comfy and cosy, spotless clean and easy to find. The location is fantastic, just a two minute walk to Reykjavik city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    Great location, 5 mins walk to downtown in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny little bathroom at the studio we stayed, it claimed to be the smallest toilet in Iceland and I believe it. Had stayed at another hotel next street and nothing was comparable to that experience. Shower draining was the worst, water flooded the whole bathroom immediately, and the sink inside the bathroom was just a joke, door was difficult to open and close. The studio layout was weird, then bed was in the middle of the whole room and left no space to walk around and no side tables next to bed for necessities. Pillows were saggy, had to put clothes underneath to support the weight for a more comfortable sleep. Bed was uneven, wasn't the standard bedding that one should expect. Door curtain was just big enough t cover the glass but at night outside lighting can still be seen while sleeping.

    Great location, 5 mins walk to downtown in a quiet neighborhood, easy to find and good access in and out.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable and reasonably priced stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property needs a few minor upgrades. One of the washrooms could use a refresh. Every fixture was missing light bulbs so washrooms in particular were dimly lit. The main floor shower room could use a stool or some kind of surface for clothes and toiletries - a mirror too. I know this property is a recent addition to their other location - I imagine they will continue to improve. I would still recommend it for anyone looking to avoid the typical hotel experience and cost.

    Breakfast was ample and delicious every morning. The staff were responsive and accommodating. They didn't hesitate to help us navigate the details of our stay in the city. The room was clean, as were the washrooms. Good linen. Overall, it was a very comfortable stay for the price and well situated. Always great to meet other travelers in the dining room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    4.6
    More like a hostel than a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i knew the room had a shared bathroom, but didnt realise we'd be sharing with 4 other rooms - 8 other people. it was pretty inconvenient in the mornings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showering did all the bathroom floor float. Nowhere to sit comfortably at the room except the bed.

    Nice place at the older location I think. All good and working. Very quiet and peaceful at the studio behind main building.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    5.0
    Dirty run down shabby hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room (number 7 [and 6] door is off the dining room so it's very noisy at breakfast. You have no chance of having a longer lie in bed because of all the talking and chinking of plates etc. Our room had a balcony door which couldn't be closed properly due to a damaged handle. Iceland is very cold at night and we had to sleep in thermal underwear with our coats thrown over us to try to stay warm. A plug hangs off the wall near the bed which is a fire hazard. There is no toilet on the same floor so we had to climb a flight of steps and share two loos which are not adequate to supply the amount of people. We often had to queue for the loo and with only one decent bathroom. The 'other' bathroom is disgusting (pink one) and it has chipped and broken tiles and brown stains down the centre of the bath. This is NOT a hotel it is a very cheap and shabby looking hostel. The stairway is thilthy and dirty and it didn't get much better upstairs.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    10
    This place is so cute & quaint and just a short walk from the pier and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower

    Love Conny and her friendly attitude and her willingness to help. Don't forget their plugs are way different than American ones. Bring your adapter.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    9.2
    Definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Ránargata 11
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows need changing - quite lumpy and not that comfortable. Main door is unlocked during the day even when no staff are around. As Iceland is expensive and you cannot always afford to be out and about, the hostel would really benefit from having a communal lounge with a tv

    Great staff! Comfortable. Rooms are spacious. Good shower pressure and temperature. Comfortable beds. Radiators nice and warm. Breakfast is tasty and filing. Location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Good reasonably price option in Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a downstairs unit with a "shared bathroom" - this ended up meaning that to shower we had to go outside then back into the guest house and upstairs to get to a shared shower area.

    Breakfast was amazing and staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Cheery, Simple, Perfect for solo or small group
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did originally think we were booking Renergarta location - so (at first) felt a little cheated. Plus, only worked out we were in a different locatiom by checking Booking.com - not stated in any email. However in the end glad of the change!

    We were in the second location (Southside) - which was lovely and quiet at night, and 5 mins from the BSI Bus Terminal (ideal for Blue Lagoon and Airport transfers). Easy walk into Laudevegar too, so didnt feel like we were out in the sticks. Breakfast was essentially a well proportioned taster spread- hot rolls, jam, oat biscuit, cheese, yoghurt and granola, fresh fruit - which was perfect to start the day. Staff very funny too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.1
    The location & thw breakfast & we s-used the lowe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Bergstadastræti 60
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one was present at check in. We tried to call several times & did not receive an answer. After 30 minutes someone called back. If no one is going to be present, a message should be sent with instructions.

    The location & thw breakfast & we s-used the lowe kitchen one night for dinner

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: