Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll 4 stars

Ingolfsstræti 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#43 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1143 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    We LOVED our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We LOVED our stay here. The location of our room (all the rooms!) overlooking the water was fabulous, mesmerizing. Being near the marina and bus stop only added to our stay, but truly, this hotel's location and European vibe, excellent dining room with its majestic view of the harbor and mountains in the distance made this an unforgettable experience. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible location. Right across the street from the concert hall and the sculpture walkway. Our room had a view of both. Breakfast was included and took place on the top floor with a great view. Food was delicious. Bed was comfortable. Wifi free. Modern furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    We had a sea view and it was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there 5 nights and the breakfast was always the same. It would have been nice to have some variety day to day.

    We had a sea view and it was great! Decor was fun and I loved that they had breakfast and the restaurant upstairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.1
    A Decent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor facing the ocean, so unfortunately we heard every vehicle and every person who walked by.

    Great, convenient location. Easily walkable to all major sites.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Friendly greeting and answered all my questions Restaurant for dinner and breakfast buffet in morning very good Great view on top floor while dinning Rooms great and quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice and functional room, not very big but enough for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was in the basement floor so you need to keep curtains on all the time. Not a big deal for a night or two tough.

    Nice and functional room, not very big but enough for a couple of suitcases. Mattress and pillows were very confortable. Heating ... it was funny to discover that the bathroom has underfloor heating, enough for the entire room. Breakfast has a good selection of bread, fruits, cereals, eggs, everything you may need; it was very good. We tried apettizers and drinks at the restaurant. Overpriced as any other place in Iceland, but they were good. Near the harbour and close enough to the center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was an easy short walk to the city centre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular. The lift was locked so you couldn’t get to the restaurant for breakfast before 7am. This was a bit odd.

    The location was an easy short walk to the city centre and had a great view from the restaurant. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Breakfast had a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    About the best luxury hotel experience we could find in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Closet/drawer space is incredibly minimal, especially if you're staying for a longer period of time. The rooms are nice and very clean, but they're also fairly stark by US standards.

    About the best luxury hotel experience we could find in Reykjavik for a reasonable price. Very much enjoyed the free breakfast and the bar with a beautiful overlook view. We were quite pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Harbor view was spectacular from our room as was that from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Harbor view was spectacular from our room as was that from top floor restaurant and breakfast rooms. A five-minute walk puts you right in the heart of the very lively “scene”, yet hotel itself was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The hotel is centrally located, near the Harpa Center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a bit small. To be able to close the door when leaving the room, you need to knock it and thus make a lot of noise.

    The hotel is centrally located, near the Harpa Center and the main shopping streets. The room was very comfortable, the wi-fi worked fine, tea and coffee were available in the room. A very good breakfast is served on the 8th floor in the restaurant area with a superb view over the old harbor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    very good expect the slight inconvinience of shower & toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no seperation on the floor between shower and toilet. Every time after shower,we must wash up the floor before using the toilet

    very good location for sightseeing among others in case of tour bus view from restaurant is very good; commanding the marvellous ocean stufsf are friendly and kind

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Really good hotel near to all the city facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location,comfortable room and good breakfast.Reception staff excellent, sorted out all are various tour transfers. Hotel near Harpa bus stop which most tours and airport use. Really close to the main pedestrian street.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is impossible to shower without making the whole floor wet, since there is no shower cabin but only a small swing-able glass wall.

    Fine for one night. Even though the hotel is situated directly at the main street, the windows are well insulated and you don´t hear the traffic. Nice view from the breakfast room/sky restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast. The staff were also very pleasant and did everything they could to make the stay as comfortable as possible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Center Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were very small but adequate as was bathroom - very european

    Right across from the Harpa and Harbor with great views and easy access to tours, sights, dining and shopping - top floor restaurant was great, breakfast included and good views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    New hotel, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is a bit of joke, there’s a glass door inside the bathroom and that’s the shower. Everything gets wet while using it. Really tiny space. The room in general is not worth the price. Really limited parking (I think there were 5 or 6 spots) having to pay for public parking since they are all taken.

    New hotel, clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not enough parking lots.

    Central location. The famous church is within 15 minutes walking distance. The room waz small yet cozy and included all the necessary amenties, there were even a sponge for shoes cleaning. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Good for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough tea bags or coffee. Easy to get more. 1 breakfast tea bag and one fruit tea is not enough. Little Icelandic character.

    Excellent location. Good breakfast, served in a restaurant with an excellent view. Polite staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Nice but Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loudest hotel in the city? Good luck getting a good night's sleep here!

    Their Sky bar offered great views of the city and a great deal on Happy Hour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed, considering the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left a wake up request--never came Hated wet-bathroom design Room was hot in summer, small Had to leave early for airport, could not take advantage of included breakfast. They only offered coffee and croissants. Asked them to throw in a Skyr and they refused. So, I paid for a decent breakfast that I didn't get.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    I couldnt stay in the hotel that night, before my intinerary...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldnt stay in the hotel that night, before my intinerary changed and I have called to the hotel 3 days before my reservation, but no one from the hotel say anything, and couldnt help, so I was charged it for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Functional basic Hotel in good location for central Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities are basic , and rooms fairly small.

    Pleasant staff and basic clean rooms and facilities. Hotel is close (a few hundred metres) from the center of Reykjavik where good shops and restaurants are located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is in a great location opposite the lovely Harpa concert hall with a view across the water. Although the room was small it was comfortable and clean and we had a good view to the concert hall and water. We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful but because we had a very early departure on our second morning we were provided with croissants and tea in the foyer at 4 am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location. Good breakfast. Nice view from room window ( we had room number 703) . Very kind and helpful staff. We enjoyed! We was lucky with weather. We had Fishing trip on one day and Golden circle Express trip (6 hours) on other day. We really liked both trips and recommend them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny. The swinging shower door partition ensured that most everything got sprayed with water. You have to be sure to squeegee the floor well or else you will step on a wet floor. The room itself had very little room for luggage. My husband and I both had one 19" carry on case. When they were opened up there was not room to walk around much in the room. This hotel only had about 5 free parking spaces. Otherwise you had to pay to park on the street.

    Staff was very nice and polite. They let us borrow a power adapter for our US phone chargers. Very helpful with local suggestions to eat and shopping. The location of the hotel was excellent, minutes walk to the main shopping area and direct view of the Harpa Concert Hall across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous locations, some rooms with stunning views and the staff will treat you like royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were treated like royalty and given a fabulous corner room with giant windows, one of which looked directly at the opera house and harbor. The breakfast is served in the Sky View Restaurant with amazing views of the water and mountains. The best part was the staff however.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful place for short stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We stayed 2 nights during our trip to Iceland. The room was lovely. The location of the hotel is perfect - walking distance and close to downtown Reykjavik, right across the road from the Harbour and pick up for bus tours from across the street. The staff were absolutely fantastic and keen to help with any questions we had. The breakfast on the top level was also lovely. Cannot fault anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good value right in the heart of old town Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing actually that we did not like and/or enjoy in regards to our stay.

    Great location, walkable (5 mins) to the restaurants and pubs in old town Reykjavik. Amazing waterfront location. The buffet breakfast offered by the hotel was out-of-this-world! Happy hour every day (4-6) was a nice bonus to come back to after a long day or exploring before heading out for dinner a fun. You must check out B5, a local pub with great live music, atmosphere (DJ Friday and Saturday until 5 am!) and a long 2 for 1 happy hour (6-11)! Bonus-- seek out the Olsmidjan Bar (10-minute walk) where they offer the cheapest beers in town (5.80 krona).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Amazing Location, fabulous Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location, only a few minutes walk into town centre. Stunning views across the lake to the mountains. Excellent bar also with stunning views of the lake and mountain. Short walk also to the boat harbour for watersports/river cruises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable pleasant hotel directly at the beach and not far from the town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room with sea view. It was beautiful, particularly with 24h day light. The breakfast contained a rich selection and was very good. Moreover the breakfast room had an excellent view on the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    I slept well and had a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    two duvets on my double size bed. I am quite large and have never seen this arrangement before. The harbor isn't actually much of a view so next time I'll stay on the main strip. Expensive for its size and service.

    The breakfast buffet on the rooftop cafe was extensive. I liked the efficiency of the small bathroom, with a crescent glass door for the shower instead of a whole stall. Just move the loo roll higher, so it doesn't get wet. I don't watch TV but liked that it had UK channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Honerous treat in The nortenest capital city of Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast layout not adequate when large groups of tourists need to have breakfast at the same time. superb view but the restaurant is too small for large groups. Large groups should be catered for at another place for breakfast to leave tranquility to private custommers

    A superb luxury treat , the view from seaside room is superb ever changing skies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    A great start to our Iceland touring holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are on the small side and are wet rooms. But not that bad really.

    Location is close to old harbour and town. Staff have good local information on restaurants and tours. The hotel restaurant where breakfast is served has fantastic views which gives a great start to the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    A good base for exploring Reykjavik and the rest of Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big thing for us was coming to grips with how expensive Iceland is for travellers.

    The location was great. We were close to downtown and across from the opera house which is a good location marker. There were two important bus stops close by. The breakfast was excellent. This includes the food and the view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    A very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room would be small for 2 people but some suitcases could be stored.

    The location across from Harpa and the harbor was wonderful. This was the view from my window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Good location, generally nice staff, mediocre facility, high prices, will not return here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Standard double room was very small for 2 people; we kept tripping over each other. Although admittedly, Reykjavik is super-expensive., the price we paid for this room was really unconscionable. An awful lot to pay for very modest facility and services. Breakfast ok; got the job done, but nothing special.

    Good location. Easy walk to most attractions. Nice views of the inner harbor. Front desk staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower has no floor so it’s one of those let’s get all the towels wet, oh and let’s only give you one each. Room was very basic but comfortable

    Great location.unbelievable breakfast with a view. Very nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice and quiet, perfect for the end of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is stating to show wear & tear and the need for a refresh. Tiles in bathroom coming loose. Carpet in hallways worn & tattered.

    Excellent hotel in a very good location. Quiet, comfortable and clean. Very modern look.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    I would choose the same hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer better ventilation in the rooms.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, ready to assist to plan our 2 days in Iceland. Well placed hotell and a great view from the roof terrace and skybar. Good breakfast which included the same great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in Iceland, would stay here again. Great location to visit Reykjavík and tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too few hotel parking places (approx 5 places) and no cupboards/drawers in room, just shelves. Good for a quick stop, but awkward for longer stays.

    Location, Sky restaurant, spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and bathroom are quite small.

    Excellent location with even a few, free parking spaces. Our rooms were on ground floor with a view of the bay. Rooms were small, but very functional. Superb breakfast! We also ate supper in the restaurant which was also very good. Nice lounge downstairs. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Reykjavik dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cramped. The lobby lounge had three steps down, a challenge for some.

    The city center location was perfect. Having a restaurant on the top floor was so convenient. The breakfast had so many delicious choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    when you take a shower you are flooding the whole bathroom...

    Excellently located across the Harpa, 2 streets next to the shopping/bar street. Very helpful friendly Stuff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly accommodations in a spectacular part of Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite warm and we couldn’t find a way to cool it other than opening the window, which let in some noise from the street.

    Very welcoming staff who put a jet-lagged and intimidated couple at ease. They helped us book a bus for the next day and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location. Rooms are quite small, Only if you pay extra you can get a nice view of the fjord. Mediocre breakfast. supermarket bread and scrambled eggs not made from fresh eggs are below standard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and good breakfast :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit tiny and the shower glass door was really squeeky..

    Really good bacon in the breakfast and the view spectacular :D The beds were comfortable and we selpt good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect situated hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sink was a bit tight, and the shower sent the water all over the bathroom. Only small things.

    The breakfast room had a wonderful view, and the breakfast was nice. The location was excellent. The room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    That was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and the curtains close so well that you can rest assured to wake up properly prepared for your daily adventures in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms clean but a bit on the small side. Not designed for long stay travelers - very limited storage and hanging space. Beds comfortable. In our room at least, the bathroom was a "wet room". The whole floor area became wet during a shower - no containment.

    Good location near waterfront and town centre. Rooftop bar/restaurant with great views, and good food and service. Good selection for breakfast served here, but timing important otherwise buffet becomes a bit hectic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Short but great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm. No shuttle from airport.

    Great location. Breakfast was a great added value (great views too). Was disappointed we didn’t try happy hour. Nice that room had mini fridge. Comfortable bed and quiet. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was cosy and very clean with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t mind the room being small but some people might. You could kind of hear a door outside slamming but as I wear earplugs regardless this was not a problem for me in terms of sleeping.

    The room was cosy and very clean with everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic located hotel on the seafront with views to 'die for'! Great for a short city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast area for the size of the hotel was very small and very busy, just utilising the bar surfaces for all the buffet food. Busy, congested and could be a problem walking around with hot drinks every morning. The breakfast food same every day but was sufficient with a small variety. The restaurant meal was very good although like all of Iceland was expensive! The shower room was extremely small, limited space on shelves but the power shower was good. The rooms had minimal lighting so made it quite dark getting ready in the evening or early morning. We were on the low second floor facing inwards into commercial offices etc courtyard so was overlooked by all, so little privacy and not a very nice view at all including all the commercial bins under our room!!!

    Hotel is in an excellent location nearly on the harbourside and sea with fantastic views especially from the 8th floor breakfast and dining area, day and night. Room was exceptionally clean and in good condition with all amenities altho very minimalistic! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tour buses just outside the hotel and a short walk into town. Great to have early check in and left luggage was a bonus. Oh and there is Happy Hour every evening which is a bonus too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Very expensive hotel but nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first, they had put me in a room right across from the lift so extremely noisy and I won't even talk about the size of the room it was ridiculous. I told them that I needed a quiet room that I can't sleep with noise coming from the lift constantly. They said that it was the category I had paid for (240 EUR is a lot of money for that type of room). Finally they found me another room but said I could only stay one day and that they would have to give me another one again. In the end, I was able to stay in that same room for 3 days. It was wonderful!

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoyed that we had to pay a higher price for a twin room versus a standard double. Certainly not a deluxe room. Also cleaners kept coming into the room even though we hadn't checked out. Twin beds were very small.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the ground floor (113) and were kept awake with noise outside and a drafty window. Parking was offered but there were only five guest spaces available (3 used by staff when we arrived) so we were told to pay for parking in the nearby car park. Food in the sky lounge was overpriced for the quality, in comparison to the rest of Iceland.

    Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful. When getting an early flight, they offered drinks and fresh croissants when checking out - really appreciated. The location was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    The perfect location for a trip to Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!!

    The view from the room was amazing! The staff were delightful with attention to detail & making us feel valued customers. The location was perfect for easy access to everything. With bus-stop 5 opposite the hotel it was perfect for pick up for all excursions we went on. I would not hesitate in recommending CenterHotel Arnarhavol to anyone who wishes to visit Reykjavík. The food and 369 view from SKY restaurant was the cherry on top!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    SkyBar as advertised, but parking limited and small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is impossible to use the shower without covering the entire bathroom with water. Parking is also very limited, with hotel guests fighting over 5 spots in back. Street parking is available for about 100 ISK an hour.

    The SkyBar is as advertised. We enjoyed heading up there for breakfast and happy hour with great views of the waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    A good location, a bad and expensive hotel. Not to be recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not extremely clean hotel, noisy (especially when you are on 7th floor, under the bar/restaurant). Very poor equipment in the room.

    Good location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely people and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was okay but not the widest selection of food (vegans may struggle). Hotel dinner for two was very expensive for with not very large portions. The steam room wasn’t working during our stay but spa access was the same price.

    The staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is new and very well located in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only 5 free parking spots. However, there a lot of public parking in front and around the hotel, which is free at night

    The hotel is new and very well located in the city center. Breakfast is also quite good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Perfect - a bucket list destination ticked off, overall brilliant holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a little tricky, its a glass screen and the water runs onto the floor. But it gets you clean.

    The hotel was in a perfect location. For anyone doing trips the bus stop was opposite the hotel. It took literally 2 minutes to walk to. If you are eating out you can walk to all the local pubs restaurants, could not fault this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great Hotel. Amazing view from the Sky Bar Restaurant which looks out onto water and snow capped mountains. Happy hour was good value for drink, (around €5 for a beer) on par or even a little cheaper than some surrounding places. We went for B&B and I was really glad we did. It was nice and had something for everyone. Receptionists were really friendly, professional and helpful. The bar staff were great also. Lovely clean hotel. I would have no hesitation recommending it but it goes without warning that Iceland is crazily expensive for shopping, food, drink and tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Will most definitely travell there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathropes are one size and we people are different in size. It could be great to have a men size and women size. A bigger and a smaller.

    Then room was very tiny, but ok as I was travelling alone. The hotel is situated in a perfect spot and the view from hotel restaurant balcony was just great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfy but a little overproced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this is a little expensive for what you get, a room for the night and breakfast.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy and despite being right next to a main road, very quiet. The breakfast was excellent, great choice and breakfast is on the top floor with a view over Reykjavik.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, great staff and all round a great place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite small and there was construction underway in parts of it. The rooms were fine, but small and there were some loose tiles in the bathroom here and there.

    The location was very central and incredible easy access to the city and all bus tours. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner is in an incredible location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a delux room thinking the spa was included but apparently the spa access is only included with delux rooms with a sea view.

    Breakfast had a good variety and the location of the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great central location. 2 minute walk from main shopping street and 5 mins from bars and pubs. Great sea views. Great breakfast. Clean and modern hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and good location with a friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower need to be improved, the water stayed for a log time in the bathroom on the floor.

    Very close to the city center and friendly staff. Good view from the the roof top terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic—close to the Harp conference...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are more modest than we expected.

    The location is fantastic—close to the Harp conference center and bus stop. The views from our room and eighth floor restaurant are great, too. Staffs are very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and comfort level disappointing given the price of the property. Breakfast was really lacking... I would not recommend at this price. Too many other availabilities at this cost.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is very convenient just across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a standard room and we were given a room on the first floor looking at the parking lot thus we could not open the curtains and let the daylight in, which was a bit annoying.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient just across Harpa and close to the center both through the Halgrimskirka and the port. The room space was ok for a short stay. The breakfast is great with alternatives and with the scenic hall it takes place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfy but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy! I'm a very light sleeper and did not sleep very well, as the central heating made an irritating clicking sound during the small hours. We could also hear people next door.

    Good breakfast and location. Very close to a bus stop for excursions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Great location and great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen was not sufficient. Water got everywhere!

    Located right on the harbour, Bus Stop 5 is literally across the street. So it's a great location. Restaurant up top has a great view and great food. I had their burger and it was outstanding. Room had a great view of the harbor and was very well laid out and functional. Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was really well done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Need a better shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, so little room to put our clothes.shower was horrible, no way to keep bathroom from being flooded when showering. They expect this and leave a squegeefor use to clean the floor! Danger of falling.Hallway rugs were filthy during our entire stay.Poor lighting near bed and too few outlets.

    the view, breakfast buffet and stafF.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, well positioned, great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite opting for a deluxe room, there wasn't really much actual space for chilling in the bedroom, you can't use the chairs or anything to watch TV from so this must be done from the bed, but the backboard is a bit uncomfortable to sit up next to, so we didn't really use the TV. The bathroom shower also seemed to be impossible to use without a bit of water getting on the floor one way or another.

    Breakfasts were excellent, lots of variety (crispy bacon! waffles!), amazing view and location. Was a very quick walk into the center to grab food and other bits. Staff are also very helpful and you get a clear heads-up on whether tours like the Northern Lights are on each day which is handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CenterHotel Arnarhvoll traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: