Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of CenterHotel Arnarhvoll This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ingolfsstræti 1, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#43 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 984 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This Hotel is in a great location opposite the lovely Harpa concert hall with a view across the water. Although the room was small it was comfortable and clean and we had a good view to the concert hall and water. We ate at the restaurant and the food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful but because we had a very early departure on our second morning we were provided with croissants and tea in the foyer at 4 am.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Perfect location. Good breakfast. Nice view from room window ( we had room number 703) . Very kind and helpful staff. We enjoyed! We was lucky with weather. We had Fishing trip on one day and Golden circle Express trip (6 hours) on other day. We really liked both trips and recommend them.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Location and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was tiny. The swinging shower door partition ensured that most everything got sprayed with water. You have to be sure to squeegee the floor well or else you will step on a wet floor. The room itself had very little room for luggage. My husband and I both had one 19" carry on case. When they were opened up there was not room to walk around much in the room. This hotel only had about 5 free parking spaces. Otherwise you had to pay to park on the street.

    Staff was very nice and polite. They let us borrow a power adapter for our US phone chargers. Very helpful with local suggestions to eat and shopping. The location of the hotel was excellent, minutes walk to the main shopping area and direct view of the Harpa Concert Hall across the street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    Fabulous locations, some rooms with stunning views and the staff will treat you like royalty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were treated like royalty and given a fabulous corner room with giant windows, one of which looked directly at the opera house and harbor. The breakfast is served in the Sky View Restaurant with amazing views of the water and mountains. The best part was the staff however.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place for short stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    We stayed 2 nights during our trip to Iceland. The room was lovely. The location of the hotel is perfect - walking distance and close to downtown Reykjavik, right across the road from the Harbour and pick up for bus tours from across the street. The staff were absolutely fantastic and keen to help with any questions we had. The breakfast on the top level was also lovely. Cannot fault anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good value right in the heart of old town Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing actually that we did not like and/or enjoy in regards to our stay.

    Great location, walkable (5 mins) to the restaurants and pubs in old town Reykjavik. Amazing waterfront location. The buffet breakfast offered by the hotel was out-of-this-world! Happy hour every day (4-6) was a nice bonus to come back to after a long day or exploring before heading out for dinner a fun. You must check out B5, a local pub with great live music, atmosphere (DJ Friday and Saturday until 5 am!) and a long 2 for 1 happy hour (6-11)! Bonus-- seek out the Olsmidjan Bar (10-minute walk) where they offer the cheapest beers in town (5.80 krona).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Amazing Location, fabulous Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location, only a few minutes walk into town centre. Stunning views across the lake to the mountains. Excellent bar also with stunning views of the lake and mountain. Short walk also to the boat harbour for watersports/river cruises.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable pleasant hotel directly at the beach and not far from the town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room with sea view. It was beautiful, particularly with 24h day light. The breakfast contained a rich selection and was very good. Moreover the breakfast room had an excellent view on the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.7
    I slept well and had a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    two duvets on my double size bed. I am quite large and have never seen this arrangement before. The harbor isn't actually much of a view so next time I'll stay on the main strip. Expensive for its size and service.

    The breakfast buffet on the rooftop cafe was extensive. I liked the efficiency of the small bathroom, with a crescent glass door for the shower instead of a whole stall. Just move the loo roll higher, so it doesn't get wet. I don't watch TV but liked that it had UK channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful Honerous treat in The nortenest capital city of Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast layout not adequate when large groups of tourists need to have breakfast at the same time. superb view but the restaurant is too small for large groups. Large groups should be catered for at another place for breakfast to leave tranquility to private custommers

    A superb luxury treat , the view from seaside room is superb ever changing skies

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    8.8
    A great start to our Iceland touring holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms are on the small side and are wet rooms. But not that bad really.

    Location is close to old harbour and town. Staff have good local information on restaurants and tours. The hotel restaurant where breakfast is served has fantastic views which gives a great start to the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    8.8
    A good base for exploring Reykjavik and the rest of Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big thing for us was coming to grips with how expensive Iceland is for travellers.

    The location was great. We were close to downtown and across from the opera house which is a good location marker. There were two important bus stops close by. The breakfast was excellent. This includes the food and the view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    A very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room would be small for 2 people but some suitcases could be stored.

    The location across from Harpa and the harbor was wonderful. This was the view from my window.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    5.4
    Good location, generally nice staff, mediocre facility, high prices, will not return here.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Standard double room was very small for 2 people; we kept tripping over each other. Although admittedly, Reykjavik is super-expensive., the price we paid for this room was really unconscionable. An awful lot to pay for very modest facility and services. Breakfast ok; got the job done, but nothing special.

    Good location. Easy walk to most attractions. Nice views of the inner harbor. Front desk staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower has no floor so it’s one of those let’s get all the towels wet, oh and let’s only give you one each. Room was very basic but comfortable

    Great location.unbelievable breakfast with a view. Very nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice and quiet, perfect for the end of our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is stating to show wear & tear and the need for a refresh. Tiles in bathroom coming loose. Carpet in hallways worn & tattered.

    Excellent hotel in a very good location. Quiet, comfortable and clean. Very modern look.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    8.8
    I would choose the same hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would prefer better ventilation in the rooms.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, ready to assist to plan our 2 days in Iceland. Well placed hotell and a great view from the roof terrace and skybar. Good breakfast which included the same great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    A great stay in Iceland, would stay here again. Great location to visit Reykjavík and tourist areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too few hotel parking places (approx 5 places) and no cupboards/drawers in room, just shelves. Good for a quick stop, but awkward for longer stays.

    Location, Sky restaurant, spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower and bathroom are quite small.

    Excellent location with even a few, free parking spaces. Our rooms were on ground floor with a view of the bay. Rooms were small, but very functional. Superb breakfast! We also ate supper in the restaurant which was also very good. Nice lounge downstairs. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    8.8
    Reykjavik dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cramped. The lobby lounge had three steps down, a challenge for some.

    The city center location was perfect. Having a restaurant on the top floor was so convenient. The breakfast had so many delicious choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    8.8
    Worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    when you take a shower you are flooding the whole bathroom...

    Excellently located across the Harpa, 2 streets next to the shopping/bar street. Very helpful friendly Stuff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly accommodations in a spectacular part of Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was quite warm and we couldn’t find a way to cool it other than opening the window, which let in some noise from the street.

    Very welcoming staff who put a jet-lagged and intimidated couple at ease. They helped us book a bus for the next day and made us feel at home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location. Rooms are quite small, Only if you pay extra you can get a nice view of the fjord. Mediocre breakfast. supermarket bread and scrambled eggs not made from fresh eggs are below standard

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and good breakfast :D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit tiny and the shower glass door was really squeeky..

    Really good bacon in the breakfast and the view spectacular :D The beds were comfortable and we selpt good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect situated hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sink was a bit tight, and the shower sent the water all over the bathroom. Only small things.

    The breakfast room had a wonderful view, and the breakfast was nice. The location was excellent. The room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    That was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and the curtains close so well that you can rest assured to wake up properly prepared for your daily adventures in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms clean but a bit on the small side. Not designed for long stay travelers - very limited storage and hanging space. Beds comfortable. In our room at least, the bathroom was a "wet room". The whole floor area became wet during a shower - no containment.

    Good location near waterfront and town centre. Rooftop bar/restaurant with great views, and good food and service. Good selection for breakfast served here, but timing important otherwise buffet becomes a bit hectic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    10
    Short but great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little warm. No shuttle from airport.

    Great location. Breakfast was a great added value (great views too). Was disappointed we didn’t try happy hour. Nice that room had mini fridge. Comfortable bed and quiet. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.6
    The room was cosy and very clean with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t mind the room being small but some people might. You could kind of hear a door outside slamming but as I wear earplugs regardless this was not a problem for me in terms of sleeping.

    The room was cosy and very clean with everything you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic located hotel on the seafront with views to 'die for'! Great for a short city break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast area for the size of the hotel was very small and very busy, just utilising the bar surfaces for all the buffet food. Busy, congested and could be a problem walking around with hot drinks every morning. The breakfast food same every day but was sufficient with a small variety. The restaurant meal was very good although like all of Iceland was expensive! The shower room was extremely small, limited space on shelves but the power shower was good. The rooms had minimal lighting so made it quite dark getting ready in the evening or early morning. We were on the low second floor facing inwards into commercial offices etc courtyard so was overlooked by all, so little privacy and not a very nice view at all including all the commercial bins under our room!!!

    Hotel is in an excellent location nearly on the harbourside and sea with fantastic views especially from the 8th floor breakfast and dining area, day and night. Room was exceptionally clean and in good condition with all amenities altho very minimalistic! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tour buses just outside the hotel and a short walk into town. Great to have early check in and left luggage was a bonus. Oh and there is Happy Hour every evening which is a bonus too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.1
    Very expensive hotel but nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first, they had put me in a room right across from the lift so extremely noisy and I won't even talk about the size of the room it was ridiculous. I told them that I needed a quiet room that I can't sleep with noise coming from the lift constantly. They said that it was the category I had paid for (240 EUR is a lot of money for that type of room). Finally they found me another room but said I could only stay one day and that they would have to give me another one again. In the end, I was able to stay in that same room for 3 days. It was wonderful!

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Annoyed that we had to pay a higher price for a twin room versus a standard double. Certainly not a deluxe room. Also cleaners kept coming into the room even though we hadn't checked out. Twin beds were very small.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    6.7
    Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were on the ground floor (113) and were kept awake with noise outside and a drafty window. Parking was offered but there were only five guest spaces available (3 used by staff when we arrived) so we were told to pay for parking in the nearby car park. Food in the sky lounge was overpriced for the quality, in comparison to the rest of Iceland.

    Some of the staff were really friendly and helpful. When getting an early flight, they offered drinks and fresh croissants when checking out - really appreciated. The location was great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    10
    The perfect location for a trip to Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all!!

    The view from the room was amazing! The staff were delightful with attention to detail & making us feel valued customers. The location was perfect for easy access to everything. With bus-stop 5 opposite the hotel it was perfect for pick up for all excursions we went on. I would not hesitate in recommending CenterHotel Arnarhavol to anyone who wishes to visit Reykjavík. The food and 369 view from SKY restaurant was the cherry on top!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    7.5
    SkyBar as advertised, but parking limited and small bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is impossible to use the shower without covering the entire bathroom with water. Parking is also very limited, with hotel guests fighting over 5 spots in back. Street parking is available for about 100 ISK an hour.

    The SkyBar is as advertised. We enjoyed heading up there for breakfast and happy hour with great views of the waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.0
    A good location, a bad and expensive hotel. Not to be recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not extremely clean hotel, noisy (especially when you are on 7th floor, under the bar/restaurant). Very poor equipment in the room.

    Good location and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Great location, lovely people and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was okay but not the widest selection of food (vegans may struggle). Hotel dinner for two was very expensive for with not very large portions. The steam room wasn’t working during our stay but spa access was the same price.

    The staff were friendly and rooms were clean. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is new and very well located in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are only 5 free parking spots. However, there a lot of public parking in front and around the hotel, which is free at night

    The hotel is new and very well located in the city center. Breakfast is also quite good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    10
    Perfect - a bucket list destination ticked off, overall brilliant holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a little tricky, its a glass screen and the water runs onto the floor. But it gets you clean.

    The hotel was in a perfect location. For anyone doing trips the bus stop was opposite the hotel. It took literally 2 minutes to walk to. If you are eating out you can walk to all the local pubs restaurants, could not fault this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great Hotel. Amazing view from the Sky Bar Restaurant which looks out onto water and snow capped mountains. Happy hour was good value for drink, (around €5 for a beer) on par or even a little cheaper than some surrounding places. We went for B&B and I was really glad we did. It was nice and had something for everyone. Receptionists were really friendly, professional and helpful. The bar staff were great also. Lovely clean hotel. I would have no hesitation recommending it but it goes without warning that Iceland is crazily expensive for shopping, food, drink and tours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    9.2
    Will most definitely travell there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathropes are one size and we people are different in size. It could be great to have a men size and women size. A bigger and a smaller.

    Then room was very tiny, but ok as I was travelling alone. The hotel is situated in a perfect spot and the view from hotel restaurant balcony was just great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfy but a little overproced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think this is a little expensive for what you get, a room for the night and breakfast.

    The room was clean, the bed was comfy and despite being right next to a main road, very quiet. The breakfast was excellent, great choice and breakfast is on the top floor with a view over Reykjavik.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, great staff and all round a great place for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite small and there was construction underway in parts of it. The rooms were fine, but small and there were some loose tiles in the bathroom here and there.

    The location was very central and incredible easy access to the city and all bus tours. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner is in an incredible location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a delux room thinking the spa was included but apparently the spa access is only included with delux rooms with a sea view.

    Breakfast had a good variety and the location of the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    10
    Great central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great central location. 2 minute walk from main shopping street and 5 mins from bars and pubs. Great sea views. Great breakfast. Clean and modern hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable and good location with a friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower need to be improved, the water stayed for a log time in the bathroom on the floor.

    Very close to the city center and friendly staff. Good view from the the roof top terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic—close to the Harp conference...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities are more modest than we expected.

    The location is fantastic—close to the Harp conference center and bus stop. The views from our room and eighth floor restaurant are great, too. Staffs are very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    5.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room size and comfort level disappointing given the price of the property. Breakfast was really lacking... I would not recommend at this price. Too many other availabilities at this cost.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel is very convenient just across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was a standard room and we were given a room on the first floor looking at the parking lot thus we could not open the curtains and let the daylight in, which was a bit annoying.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient just across Harpa and close to the center both through the Halgrimskirka and the port. The room space was ok for a short stay. The breakfast is great with alternatives and with the scenic hall it takes place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.1
    Comfy but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy! I'm a very light sleeper and did not sleep very well, as the central heating made an irritating clicking sound during the small hours. We could also hear people next door.

    Good breakfast and location. Very close to a bus stop for excursions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    10
    Great location and great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower screen was not sufficient. Water got everywhere!

    Located right on the harbour, Bus Stop 5 is literally across the street. So it's a great location. Restaurant up top has a great view and great food. I had their burger and it was outstanding. Room had a great view of the harbor and was very well laid out and functional. Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast was really well done!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    5.8
    Need a better shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny, so little room to put our clothes.shower was horrible, no way to keep bathroom from being flooded when showering. They expect this and leave a squegeefor use to clean the floor! Danger of falling.Hallway rugs were filthy during our entire stay.Poor lighting near bed and too few outlets.

    the view, breakfast buffet and stafF.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, well positioned, great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Despite opting for a deluxe room, there wasn't really much actual space for chilling in the bedroom, you can't use the chairs or anything to watch TV from so this must be done from the bed, but the backboard is a bit uncomfortable to sit up next to, so we didn't really use the TV. The bathroom shower also seemed to be impossible to use without a bit of water getting on the floor one way or another.

    Breakfasts were excellent, lots of variety (crispy bacon! waffles!), amazing view and location. Was a very quick walk into the center to grab food and other bits. Staff are also very helpful and you get a clear heads-up on whether tours like the Northern Lights are on each day which is handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    9.2
    Great location opposite bus stop number 5.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location opposite bus stop number 5. Staff are really helpful and the breakfast is just what you need for the days of exploring Iceland ahead of you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    8.8
    Nice central hotel which provides a good base for exploring Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard room was quite small but very clean and the beds were comfy. Parking was very poor as there were only a few spaces for the size of the hotel and on one occasion were told we would have to park in the nearby NCP pay car park which is not very good if using a car to explore. Breakfast time was absolutely crazy in the mornings, the restaurant is very small for the amount of people in the hotel and it was often hard to even get a table and then was a constant dance to manoeuvre around the breakfast area and get what you wanted. I would recommend they look at extending the restaurant ASAP.

    Hotel location was perfect for exploring Reykjavik on foot and by car with a very central location for shops, bars and restaurants. The staff were polite and helpful and breakfast included was very good and always freshly made. Great views of the sea and good spot to see the Northern lights form the Sky Bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    7.1
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For some reason using the shower with the door open to the bathroom sets off a fire alarm? Had the front desk call at least 7 times to open different doors to the room to air it out. This is weird and should be fixed as trying to get ready with the room door wide open is a bit of a pain.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    10
    Magical short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff couldn't do enough for you, super friendly! The restaurant on the top floor, the food is fantastic along with the breakfast each morning. Views are stunning. Beds are super comfy and rooms very clean. Location is fantastic opposite the harbour and a 2 minute walk to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    8.8
    Solid hotel with excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant is too small and really not convenient for breakfast (no room to move). Hotel should have a lobby aéra more cosy and comfortable. Here it is small, windy (near main door), and sofas are dirty. Staff at restaurant not really nice and welcoming.

    Location is excellent. Beds are very comfortable. Rooms are very clean. Staff people at counter very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2018

    9.6
    Interesting and busy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noise from other rooms. The soundproofing between rooms was poor - I could hear other people's alarm clocks, banging doors, and awful coughing from one person.

    The location was great - very close to the old streets and near the Harpa. It was also good for bus stop 5 and 6, so good for trips. The room was on the small side, but that wasn't a problem - it was clean and comfy. Breakfast was included and was plentiful with hot and cold food and drinks.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    6.3
    The property is in a great location with awesome views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shabby carpets Poor spa facilities and not good value for money Bathroom too small to be called a wet room Lack of communal seating other than in the lobby Lack of seating in the room; don’t need a desk!

    The property is in a great location with awesome views. Excellent selection for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not having time to enjoy the spa area, it looked heavenly

    The location of this hotel is great nice view to the concert hall the great bar on the top floor with amazing views. Very happy to help with any trips/rebooking any cancelled NL trips. Would defiantly stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    7.9
    Central hotel, clean with lovely breakfast but staff could be more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff at reception were dismissive, appeared disinterested. They would answer your question but then look away immediately.

    Central hotel, just a few minutes walk from the centre. Clean, towels changed daily. Comfortable. Had an iron and hair dryer. Breakfast was lovely in the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms basic, shower in bathroom lacking even a basin tray. Staff not engaging, no interest when asked about tiurs, where to go for food etc.

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.6
    Very chilled hotel - great location - and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very chilled hotel - great location - and good value. We moved from a soulless, more expensive and further out of the city centre hotel to here and we were delighted with our move.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Relaxing, good position. Fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa rooms were not active when we went in. Took a long time to start up and functioning. Steam room was s bit smelly for done reason

    All perfect. Breakfast varied and plenty of it. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    8.5
    Great location with amazing breakfast views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great, central location. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff in the restaurant. Rooms are compact and very functional, really good shower!! Would recommend

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Window was a bit drafty. That's about it.

    Great location. Just a 5 min walk to the centre of town. View from the bar and restaurant on the 8th floor is amazing. Brilliant choice for included breakfast. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    8.3
    Short term stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really small for 2 adults friends in the winter. There was no place for each of us to open our suitcases. We had to coordinate our movements because you needed cooperation to move from one area of the room to the other (the other person had to move too). The floor was not carpeted which was fine except it was constantly wet from our boots. There should have been a mop available to make up for that! It should not have been considered a double room-it was just too small. We weren’t a couple. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay.

    Location was excellent. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.3
    -The restaurant and the front desk staff were nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    -The shower area is quite small and is not enclosed, hence, the water goes all over the bathroom. -The reservation staff were inconsiderate and only money oriented.

    -The restaurant and the front desk staff were nice and helpful. -The food at the restaurant was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing much to dislike unfortunately du to bad weather trips were cancelled but that is not the fault of the hotel - staff were excellent they couldn’t do enough for you

    Comfy beds lovely and warm rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Perfect staff. Happy I chose them!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have liked milk in the room for tea/coffee. There is powdered cream only. However there is milk on offer at breakfast so can get some then.

    The staff are absolutely amazing. Will help in any way they can. Lots on offer at breakfast also, hot food, meats, cheese, fruits, cereals. Towels changed daily. Beds changed 3 daily but more often if you leave a card on your bed. Brilliant location perfect for tour collections.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a short break in the city of ice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was very good. Location excellent. The proximity of the hotel to the number 5 pick up for the tours is so handy. Staff helped in every way they could. Highly recommend this. Would come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic stay in Reykjavik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower in the room was a bit poor. It was in a bath, with a glass pane at the one end and it wasnt sealed properly so it just soaked the floor every time. Minor problem though.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, it was about a 10 minute walk to Reykjavik centre, had brilliant views of the mountains and was just across the road from bus stop 5 which took you to all your excursions and airport transfer. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and the rooftop restaurant had great views!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.2
    A very very injoyable stay😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If there was one thing that could have been improved,it was the corridors to the rooms looked a bit shabby ,and could do with a bit of spruce up,after all that is your first impression ,having said all of that it is just being picky we Injoyed our stay immensely and would love to return one day,perhaps in the summer to see another side to this amazing country

    The staff could not have been more helpful, the room was very cosy , it wasn't a great size but ample,the bed was also very comfortable .Breakfast was very good English and continental,and the view from our room was lovely Sea and mountains.Also the location is very good ,on our last day we virtually walked all around Reykjavik from the hotel. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    7.1
    Good one night stay near the town center. Beautiful views and fun little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower did not have a good enclosure and got water everywhere. This might be a cultural thing. No rugs in the room, and wet boots made a mess of the place. Carpet in the corridors was badly stained.

    The breakfast, view from top floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse CenterHotel Arnarhvoll Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: