Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CenterHotel Thingholt 4 stars

Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#28 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more availability of dairy free options at breakfast and in the room. These were available when requested though, but perhaps a jug of dairy alternative milk in the room fridge would have been perfect.

    Nice room, small but perfectly formed. In the centre of Reykjavík so very easy for sightseeing and for bus pickups for the various tours. Friendly staff and clean. We had dinner in the Isafold restaurant on one evening of our stay and it was extremely good. The spa was also nice, small but well designed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the second floor. The street noise was bothersome. In the morning, the restaurant in the hotel was cooking breakfast early (of course), and the smell of bacon was strong in our room, coming in the open window. We could have closed the window, but then its too hot in the room. The location in the city is so good, so we recommend staying on the 4th or 3rd floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    curtains could have been darker.

    The rooms are lovely, very trendy as is the whole hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for you. The spa was gorgeous, we managed to have it on our for the whole afternoon one day. The breakfast is just wow!! We had our final evening meal in the hotel's restaurant and it was well priced and well worth it....a fab way to spend our last evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hooks are needed in the room/bathroom to hang towels and bathrobes etc. There is also very little drawer and closet space.

    The staff were amazing and very accommodating!! The restaurant Manager came to speak to me directly about my food allergies and vegan food choices. I was very impressed!! The location is absolutely perfect for everything you could ask for in Reykjavik. The spa is small but inviting with a large cave-like hot tub to relax in. We had a loft suite which is a two storey room. It is modern and comfortable with a wall of windows to enjoy the city view. The blackout curtains were very much appreciated given it was still light out after midnight!! I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to a club and it was a Saturday so the noise from the club which by the way went onto the very early morning kept on vibrating through the whole hotel. Lots of broken glass bottles outside next morning.

    Close to everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms on the street side are too noisy due to a nearby club that plays loud music until the wee hours.

    Excellent location, great staff, nice free breakfast,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t notified prior to our arrival that the spa facility was closed and would remain so for the rest of the year. Only found this out when I asked to use the facility.

    Clean room and good choice of food for breakfast which was included in our stay. Excellent location for shops and restaurants. Only two minute walk to bus stop for tours, airport transfers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pricing is high, but that's the reality of Iceland in general, where everything is about double what you'd pay in most other European cities. The early check in charge is not something Americans are used to paying, but I expect that we'll see more of it as hotels look to expand revenue opportunities, especially in Iceland where most flights from the USA land in the early morning hours. At least the breakfast was nice and included in the early check in fee.

    Very good experience. Hotel is stylish. Rooms are small, which is typical for Iceland, and location was perfect for exploring the city. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost which is normal for Iceland which is an expensive country.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Great location, high standard of decor, cleanliness and nothing that we didn't like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In (standard) room, design triumphs over practicality. Only two small drawers for clothes (+ wardrobe). Some light switches difficult to reach. We both bumped our heads on the sloping ceiling by the bed. Room may not have had aircon although it was warm enough for us. It looked good though! No bus access, so transfers and tours are to/from stop 100 metres away.

    Very friendly staff. Stylish design. Good breakfast. Comfy bed and they will change sheets daily if asked. Very central location. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would’ve enjoyed breakfast more if it was situated in a room with natural light coming in through the windows. The breakfast area was in a dimly lit space, more conducive to late evening then early morning energy. The standard room we had was On the top floor with a slanted roof on which we were constantly bumping our heads. Not a good space for tall, generously built people.

    Breakfast options were really great! The herring and Smoked salmon were plentiful and delicious. Bread was outstanding There was a nice selection of fruit, cheeses, and eggs as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall "dim" theme of the hotel may have been a bit too heavy for my taste. Some may consider it "cozy" with a touch of drama and acquaint it with a chic modern bar for instance; though i am personally drawn to dynamic, bright and airy types of spaces. Otherwise, there were no disappointments really.

    The room was full of light, spacious and bright, which drastically contrasted the "coziness" of the lobby, corridors and strong-solid facade of the hotel; this effect made for a welcoming and unexpected surprise . The room-service-greetings which consisted of an elegant presentation of a hand-written greeting card accompanied with bright colored macaroons by the staff made for a warm welcome and a personal touch that certainly made a lasting impression.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest issue I had was that the bathroom door had clear glass on the bottom foot of the door and frosted glass for the rest. I also wish that there had been some outlets near my bed or even some USB outlets so that I could've charged my phone while in bed

    The bed was very comfortable, even if I thought it seemed a little low it was not an issue. The large pillows to prop you up in bed were also greatly appreciated. And staff was very helpful in finding me a breakfast location very early on a Sunday because my flight had arrived that morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey on a Friday Saturday night from nearby bars.

    The staff were excellent, very helpful. Good breakfast selection with waffles. Had a room ready and allowed us to check in at 10.30 at no charge. The gins at the bar were excellent. Parking on the street is possible but not cheap.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    The choice at breakfast is excellent, beds are really comfortable and the location is superb. There is an iclandic bar just around the corner which serves excellent food at reasonable prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was abolautelt perfect, in the middle of everything. Parking around the hotel was super easy as well which was an added bonus. The breakfast was good and he staff friendly. The property could not have been cleaner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard. Parking could be tricky. Luckily -We had free holiday parking on street but I could see it being a stressor on a normal pay for parking day.

    Loved this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers are big, the breakfast is fresh and full of variety. The staff are superb - friendly, attentive and helpful, and the location is fantastic - just around the corner from bus stop No. 6. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is slightly underwhelming. It should be at least included in the hotel’s price rather than being an extra.

    Loved everything. Great location. Nice hall where to chill. Nice premises.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant and breakfast area a little lacking in any kind of atmosphere. Rooms look like they were an eclectic brainchild of the 1970s, but a bit poor by today's standards. Weird furniture, annoying lighting, disturning faux animal-skin rug, etc. Just needs a new design.

    Bar area really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the location was great, unfortunately the downside to being near bars and restaurants was that a couple of near by clubs were very noisy on Friday and Saturday nights through to 3am. Our room was nice but quite short of storage space, nowhere to hang coats, put toiletries in the bathroom etc

    Staff were very helpful, confirming tours and providing us with local information.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa that one pays extra for really should be included. It is a steam room and a small swimming pool, and I feel it was too expensive for what it was.

    The room was very modern yet cozy and very clean. The room was the best part about the hotel for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. Not enough room too be able to relax for very long.

    The bar/ lounge area was very nice. Good selection for breakfast and the staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Chef is needed in the morning in the restaurant or someone who could prepare omelette and/or fried eggs, other ways everything was nice and tasty.

    Nice helpful and pleasant staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed weren’t hard enough. And even though we booked a double room, we were given two single duvets...

    The large choice for breakfast was excellent! You could also choose a wake up call for the northern lights! The hotel couldn’t have been better located! As soon as you stepped out of the hotel you were in the center with lots and lots of things going on all around you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two single quilts on the double bed was a bit strange! Like every where in Iceland drinks very expensive (large beer and double vodka and coke about £31!!

    Excellent position at the beginning of Laugavegur which is the main shopping street in Reykjavik and many restaurants in close vicinity. Good selection at breakfast and friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the central location it was quite noisy at night. The stay was still overall very pleasant.

    The breakfast was very good and the hotel decor is nice and modern.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom / toilet was simply a couple of glass panels dividing part of the bedroom. Shower and basin tap fittings need replacing. Not very private, but didn’t cause us a problem. By uk standards the room was expensive but Reykjavik is expensive so it was ok. It would have been nice if the “spa “access was included as it only has a small hot pool( no bubbles) and a steam room which was not on on the occasions I went. Lots of noise from the nearby nightclub on Saturday.

    Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff .broken shower part replaced when we asked. Clean. Great location. Quiet ( apart from Saturday ) I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not having been to Iceland before I have nothing to compare to there but our room was very small. I also thought there could have been a little variety from day to day in the breakfast buffet.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, the location was great. Walking distance to most things....restaurants and cafes, shops, tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you hire a car there are no free parking spaces close to the hotel, about a 5 min walk

    Really cool room (303), the hotel is very Scandi chic. The breakfast was very good, a little bit of English sausage and bacon and plenty of fruit, cereal and also Icelandic skyr and smoked salmon. Great location for shopping.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view left much to be desired but it was the centre of town. Spa very limited but was a bonus anyway

    Breakfast was good as was location. Staff were experimentally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is nice but as with most “boutique” hotels the form often overtakes the functionality! The rooms are always just a bit to dark, the bathrooms are the same and the furniture looks very trendy but isn’t really practical or for that matter overly comfortable I’m afraid. I also object to any Hotel that charges you for Water in your room! By all means charge for mini bar items but Water should always be free! We’ve stayed twice, first time in a suite which was a manageable size. This time it was just a standard room and it was definitely too small and ill equipped for a winter visit to a country like Iceland! The room really did feel cramped!

    Great location, Staff are lovely. The hotel has a great feel on entry, very trendy! Food is fine!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO PARKING! Very misleading that Booking.com states that there is parking when there is not. We had to wait 20 minutes near the P2 area round the corner next to Bonus supermarket for a space and carry our bags in the snowy slush. Not impressed! Spa was not very nice, the water didn't seem very clean and had bits floating in it Recommendation to put some eucalyptus or something in the steam room

    Breakfast really fantastic and good quality ingredients Friendly staff Wonderful central location Bar area was very swanky and cool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Treated to hot chocolate on arrival during check in. Cool and comfortable lobby/lounge area. Free breakfast spread in the mornings included- an it's a decent brekkie. Very helpful front desk staff, especially for organizing last minute activities. Room was large, light and comfortable with a big couch and bed for relaxing before and after outdoor activities. Clean. I was late checking out and the staff didn't mind much. Excellent location for walking the city or for catching tourist or public transport nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great, except for the temperature problems - the room was too hot, the water temperature in the shower varied and the hot food at breakfast was not really hot.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t as big as it looked in the photos, but it didn’t matter as we were hardly in there.

    Andrea on reception couldn’t do enough to help us and all with a smile on her face.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appreciate Iceland is an expensive place - For the price it was very average and quite noisy

    We were upgraded to the suit which was unexpected but considering what we paid made it more acceptable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance has you head right down 10 steps, so imagine flying overnight to get there and have to make 3 trips to grab large bags. No one offered to help, but it was early. We were given our room, and the view was of a pipe and a wall, so we were a little bummed as it is the first and probably only time we will be in Iceland. We didn't plan on staying in the room much, so didn't bother complaining about it. The room is small. The closet with the coffee and mini bar is where we stored our snacks (granola and such for the excursions) and it must have been 100 degrees in there, it melted everything. The heat itself was an issue. We had to turn on the AC. In Iceland!!

    This hotel is in the middle of the city! Walk to all the stores, bars, restaurants- the location cannot be beat. The breakfast spread is so much more than American's have come to expect- hot eggs, bacon, potatoes, anything you can think of. The hotel is lovely aesthetically with some funky touches, like most of Reykjavík .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard and pillows need to be fluffier.

    The bath soap, all the towels, the front desk woman andrea was amazing! The breakfast was fresh and delish. Literally center to everything! Very chill hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise of the heating/air con in the bedroom and bathroom 24/7 was really annoying after a while. Extreme white noise.

    Great location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    rooms were dark and not the biggest in the world had a sloping ceiling. some of the paint work needs to be updated esp on doors and public areas noisy on fri and sat night from bar in the street

    good location for the centre of town and getting around

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really welcoming hotel , the staff were incredibly nice and went the extra mile in service for us .The food was wonderful . The location was fantastic right in the heart of Reykjavík . I enjoyed the ambience and design of the hotel .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Took me a few days to figure out the best temprature in the room. Sometimes freezing then too hot. Got the hang of it by day 3.

    The showers are amazing. The location couldn't be any better for city center and pick up for tours. No noise either, considering its in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was not very big but was a nice addition so can’t really complain!

    The bed was lovely and comfy, the location was amazing and the staff were super helpful. The breakfast was lovely and I couldn’t stop eating!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of alcohol... happy hour only included wine and beer which was still 900 Isk for a glass.

    The rooms were modern and we had ITVBe on the telly which was fabulous! The spa we had all to ourselves and the waiter in the restuarant offered to bring in sparkling wine from the dinner menu with fresh fruit added to the glasses. The festive orchestra music and prett candles set the atmosphere throughout. Breakfast exeeded my expectations there was a brilliant selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Club that was near by on the weekends that was loud during the night depending on the room.

    Lovely and friendly. Spa was a lot nicer than the other centre hotels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the Double Deluxe Room. The picture showed a stand alone bath tub in the room quite close to the bed (you'll recognise it when you see the pic). However we didn't get this. Just a walk-in shower in the bathroom! Quite disappointing as it is the reason we booked that room (therefore parting with more cash!).

    Overall, the hotel was good value for money. It is modern and has good facilities. Our room was clean and spacious. Breakfast choice is good (continental, fruits, cereal, pastries). Less than 5 mins walk away from the bus stop for your excursions and plenty of restaurants on the hotel's door step. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second time we stayed we had a room opposite the loft shaft which can be a little noisy with people coming and going at all hours

    One of the best located hotels within a few minutes walk to everything. Nice boutique feel with friendly helpful staff and a bonus hot chocolate when we checked in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. Standard room is small, but fine for up to 2 people.

    Breakfast and dinner were terrific in restaurant. Very fresh, very creative, many choices. Good sized portions. The bar at night was a greasy place to get a night cap. Hotel lobby with very comfortable seating and tables is als a lovely place to meet friends or figure out plans for the day. Great location to everywhere. Sights, stores, buses and more.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the first floor, above the main entrance to the hotel. People would stand under our window and smoke. The smell would enter our room.

    Comfortable beds, great design in the rooms - lighting, etc. Breakfast was really nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested two single beds but only a double was available. Would have preferred a wider bed . Room was on the small side and lighting was poor. Our room was in the basement and opened on to a terrace which appeared to be smoking area. Not a problem in winter because it was not used . But would be an issue in warmer weather

    Very central location close to some of the best restaurants and an ideal base for self guided walks to the historical and cultural highlights. Comfortable bed and efficient bathroom. 24 hour reception with staff who are helpful in organizing trips. Good breakfast buffet. We especially enjoyed the fish, meats and cheese ; and excellent coffee. Large TV screen with availability of the major UK channels so we did not miss our favourite programmes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Wi-Fi connection was intermittent but was resolved quickly.

    The breakfast was amazing as was the evening restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went well beyond their responsibilities to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The rooms were clean and the shower was spacious. Would stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is legitimately nothing the hotel, room, staff, or amenities could have done better to improve the overall stay. Everything offered from service to the food/drinks were nothing short of incredible, it honestly made us want to come back and visit Iceland again as soon as possible.

    The staff was incredibly polite and helpful, despite arriving a day late due to a cancelled flight; even when we were checking in, they greeted us with hot chocolates since it was cold and snowing outside. The room was spacious, clean, and accommodated everything we could have hoped for during our stay. The morning breakfast was delicious, the free wifi was fast, the lobby was a cool place to just relax and have a beer at after walking around all day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much. If the TV available in the room could broadcast additional local channels instead of UK ones, to grasp a bit more of the typical Icelandic daily life.

    There are so many aspects that we have loved in our stay. The hotel is located in one of the best spot of Reykjavik. Our room was bright and very functional. Their morning breakfast was such a great way to start our days with all the delicacies needed, including some Icelandic treats. The staff was remarkably spontaneous and helpful to find solutions to any of our questions or requests. I have been switching from regular hotels to Airbnb stays those last years but, this hotel made me change my mind as they provide an extensive list of additional services with a smile. We will surely come back if we travel again to Reykjavik.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you use the airport transfer bus which almost everyone does because taxi's cost a fortune from the airport, then it cannot get outside the hotel. All buses, minibus or big coach, have to stop about a three-five minute walk from the hotel front door. This isn't far at face value, but its up and down hill, across two roads with kerbs, and over uneven pavements in what for us was icy and snowy conditions, all with big cases. If you are young and fit, no problem, but older or infirm, or with lots of luggage, then it could be difficult. For the hotel itself, nothing we didn't like! It was excellent.

    Location brilliant. Bed very comfortable. Hot spa pool lovely. Breakfast excellent. Particularly friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff so friendly and helpful. We had to leave at 3.30am and they organised coffee and croissants and fruit for us. And gave us the best advice on tours to take.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the honeymoon package which was nice, but not great bearing in mind it was £70. The bubbly wine was really sweet and tasted gross, and the breakfast was brought to us stone cold. They quickly and happily rectified this however. You actually get a better choice of breakfast if you go downstairs to the buffet as well.

    The staff are so friendly and helpful. They gave us a great tip for whale watching tour and it was excellent! They also helped us get to our rental car as well as gave us some brilliant tips /planned a route for us doing the Golden Circle by car (they gave advice already prepared for this). The hotel room was lovely and the bed is super comfortable. Location is excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Literally.

    This place exceeded any expectations we had. The lobby is hip and sexy while being welcoming and comfortable. The room was spacious (by European standards) modern, and so comfortable. I normally hate breakfast buffets at hotels but this one was pure Iceland and so delicious. Smoked and raw salmon and mackerel, cheeses, bread and possibly the best Skyr (Icelandic yogurt) I will ever have. We were steps away from the bars, restaurants and shopping of charming Reykjavik

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first night we slept on the 1 level. However so much sleep we did not get because of the noise which continued to far after midnight. So the street side of the hotel is not recommended unless you like noise.

    The hotel is lying in the city centre, the staff was very friendly. Breakfast and dinner were both very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar (b5) is opened to almost 5am on Fridays and Saturdays; and the music is very loud as well as the bars clients.

    Beds were comfortable, great modern decor, staff was helpful and very friendly. Hotel is perfectly located, walking distance to great stores and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    The staff were amazing,especially the two girls that were on the desk every day , hotel is beautiful , great position , but mostly the staff were the best

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I felt the person who checked me in would have prefered to talk to a male. I checked in for my husband and me since I made the reservations. My friends husband checked in for them and the checker seemed much friendlier. Even to telling him about the discount at the other Center hotel restaurants. I got an email about the same things he was told when I got to my room. He made it sound like they got these added things but I didn't. I also wish there was easier access to ice for the rooms rather than going to the bar and asking for a glass of ice.

    The breakfast was great. The eggs are really good. Our room was an end room and was very quiet. but our friends room who was closer to the elevator was noisy from a club next door that kept them up. Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location is wonderful. Our bed was also comfortable as was our bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the structure was below the expectations (both room and staff). Really well marketed but then the final product is disappointing.

    Staff was really nice and I like the welcome drink and Thank you gift. These are nice touches that prove care.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have a bathtub, the showers where to small, they didn't have an electrical converter for our US electronics, the room faced a busy street and we slept with it open because there was no temperature control and it was getting stuffy so we heard crowds until 5am.

    The location right in the center of town. Parking was easy to find on the street. The best part was the breakfast, far superior to anything we experienced in Iceland. The beds where comfy and the toiletries where great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was small and could have been designed so that it was easier to navigate. the access around the bed was tight plus the tv was sticking out from the wall and you had to dodge it every time you used the bathroom.

    location was excellent, offered a good selection at breakfast and served strong cappuccino! we had a good view from our room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested rooms be near each other and they were not. If you get a standard room some of them are VERY small.

    Very cool and hip. Perfect location. Nice and varied breakfast buffet. Comfortable lobby for having a drink or waiting on people. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Given no air conditioning, we had to leave the window open. Reykjavik doesn't sleep and neither did we. Our mistake for booking so close to all the action.

    Staff were great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't park near the hotel, no parking available. Very expensive hotel for what it is. Fitness room and spa should be free of charge.

    Comfortable hotel with a good feel and a great location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and room size

    Room was not serviced one day. On arrival the room was not very clean. The in room safe was left locked by previous guest so in useable by us. Had to have bulb in bedside light replaced. As we had an early flight out we offered a light refreshment which was cold coffee. A very disappointing stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceilings in rooms sloped from 3 feet high to 8 feet high. Only option for placement of bed meant that you often hit you head on the ceiling getting out of bed or walking near bed.

    Breakfast had great variety. Fresh baked bread. Delicious cold and hot smoked salmon. Excellent staff at front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy and comfortable, albeit a little confused with the bath tub next to the bed.

    The staff truly blew all our expectations by going way above and beyond to help us on more than one occasion during our stay. I really didn't expect it and doubt we would have seen such elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disorganised staff. Didn't reply to my emails asking about the spa. We specifically asked for three beds which were told was fine if we paid a bit more and we turned up and there was no third bed just a small sofa which was appalling. Illl never stay here again

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit too small; curtains can't block the light well enough

    Reception staff are very friendly and helpful; a very nice detail to provide bath salt in rooms with bath tubs; good breakfast although everyday is the same.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious and nicely arranged to separate business and leisure! Friendly personnel - extra nice. The whole service. The personnel was perfect and the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor shopping district next door does create some street noise but it died down later in the evening. The on-street parking meant we had to unload quickly at the door and then go find a parking spot.

    This was our last hotel out of 8 in Iceland...and we showed up tired and grumpy. The manager noticed and asked me what was wrong as he helped with our luggage. Once he discovered it was our anniversary, he upgraded our room and bought us a drink. The room he gave us had a living room area with a white leather couch and a nice bed. These are people who know how to turn frustration into mellow. The hotel is next to the old shopping area of Reykjavik. You can walk from there around the corner and find lots of shops and restaurants in old buildings.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: