Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka 3 stars

Hofdabrekka Road 1, Approx. 5 km East of Vik, 871 Vík, Iceland

#9 of 17 hotels in Vík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1917 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    Don't eat the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst shower in Iceland. Second worst breakfast in Iceland. We stayed in Iceland for a month so had a good cross section

    Hotel was ok. Most staff were ok

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay. Amazing location 5 mins from Vík. Super clean rooms. We had a triple room and it was perfect for 3 adults. Large bathroom. The hot tub and sauna are great at the end of the day and open until 11pm in the summer. Great breakfast (included with room fee). I highly recommend this hotel. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    wonderful hotel let down a small margin by lack of cleaning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We brought some sand and grit from sightseeing into the room, this was not cleaned away for the next day. The buffet dinner was overly expensive.

    Big room with comfy chairs, huge tv wonderful bathroom. Huge window with wonderful outlook. The breakfast buffet was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    3.8
    Very bad hotel due to the laid back atitude of the staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here during our self drive tour of Iceland. The location of the property is very good. But the behaviour of the staff & specially one of the senior lady though I forgot her name something to start might be with A - like Anna or whatever is very rude. The staffs are not at all helpfull . The breakfast is very bad with limited options. The buffet dinner awfully bad according the high price they charge. The most important part is the room which were provided to us had very bad smell from the beginning. When we complained the same at the reception the old lady made up faces & sent someone to check . Who on checking informed that it must be because the sun has come up after a long time & the damp is making the smell. But later we found it was from the toilet gutter. We had bad time for the entire night. Though the location of the Hotel is good but the hospitality & rude staffs specially the senior lady is ruining the hotel. Tap water is used as drinking water in Iceland. After consuming this hotel's tap water three of us had stomach upset. We stayed here on 31st May. We stayed at Foss Hotel Vatnajokull , Hotel Skoga Foss & Hali Country Hotel which were excellent. Foss Hotel was beyond our expectation. Please avoid Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in closed at 11 pm and we were not informed of that in booking stage. Luckily we called them and then we we're informed.

    Good breakfast. Traditional rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was tiny, I'm 5'2 and felt squished

    This was a comfortable nice stay. Loved the hot pool option. It's a short 5 minute drive east of Vik City Center. Quiet and Cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    One of the best places we stayed in Iceland and we did entire ring road. A little pricey but great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfy bed, great location. Super helpful and friendly staff and knowledgable about the area. A little pricey but one of the best places we stayed in Iceland and we did entire ring road.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Extremly dissapointing and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little hot water for shower, Shower taps broken, bathroom showed water damage. Hostile receptionist. On arrival we questioned whether breakfast included as website and booking differed. Was told very curtly that NO not for an ECONOMY room. Well our economy room was $189 so I guess I did expect running hot water for that - particularly in Iceland - Everywhere else we'd been the water was plentiful and piping hot. We complained about the items noted about and were told there was nothing they could do for us - DONT STAY HERE

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Host accommodated change of dates for our booking without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't waive the cancellation fee after I accidentally booked the wrong dates and tried to cancel immediately. While they did let me change the dates, overall this was not very good value for the price.

    Host accommodated change of dates for our booking without charging an additional fee. There was a tea kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    If I return to Iceland, I definitely want to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ,it’s all good!

    Had a wonderful stay , the room was spacious, clean. The staff is really friendly. My husband and I stayed 2 hours in the hot tub chatting with the guests from all around the wold . Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Excelent room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelent room. Very confortable and big, super clean also. The hot tub outside is really nice, we used it at night with our small daughter and we had lots of fun and we also met other guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar had an...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is like a hostel room. It was very warm and clean, but nothing special or luxurious, especially for the price of £230 for a triple room. The food was expensive and really average. Breakfast was ok. We went a la carte for dinner and the pizza was a frozen margarita pizza not worth the money. I recommend buying supplies for dinner at the Vik food market. The bar was great.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the bar had an atmosphere with a few groups.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Check in was extremely easy, appreciated the free upgrade to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature controls didn’t work so the room was very stiff/hot through the night.

    Check in was extremely easy, appreciated the free upgrade to a bigger room. Lovely area in the main lobby for visiting if you want to get out of your room. Breakfast was delicious, loved the selection (waffles, breads, jams, yogurts, cereals, etc). Rooms were very spacious. Tons of parking. Beautiful views of the beach and cliffs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced, unhelpful staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price seemed very high even for Iceland--we stayed at much nicer places for significantly less. The staff seemed to be aloof and not very helpful. Since we arrived before the restaurant opened for dinner we asked the check-in staff member for restaurant recommendations in the town of Vick. She replied that "we can google it". We found a wonderful place in town on our own, but this approach really left a bitter aftertaste (pun intended). The hotel is okay, but pretty generic.

    The location close to the town of Vik, free breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was in a nice location close to several sites in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a king bed and instead what they did was place two twin beds together. It made sleeping quite uncomfortable.

    The hotel was in a nice location close to several sites in southern iceland. The hot tub was a nice addition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    Had a great night's sleep - left after a satisfying breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instant coffee in room only provided enough for 1.5 cups of coffee. Lonely Planet review stated Hotel Katla has four hot pots, turned out they had only one hot tub. Chose the place because thought they had natural hot pots, so perhaps that is why I was disappointed.

    Bed was very comfortable, room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location in Vik, beautiful surroundings, AMAZING...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in Vik, beautiful surroundings, AMAZING having the hot tub and sauna on the property after a long day of exploring. The staff was lovely, though the restaurant leaves a little to be desired. Breakfast was great though, and our stay was wonderful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable rooms, quite hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is a bit impersonnel. The breakfast was good, we loved the bread and the waffles. But no scrambled eggs or omelet for breakfast. Quite poor in fruits.

    Very large rooms. The beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.5
    The room (in the new building) was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The details. Our room was nearly €200,- a night. I expect some luxury and comfort. We missed the amenities in the bathroom, minibar, good towels, a friendly staff by the reception and bar. The hotel should put dots on the ‘i’ - then it’s perfect!

    The room (in the new building) was amazing. So spacious, nice and large bed, amazing tv and very comfortable bedroom. We really liked the freshness of the breakfast (homemade bread!) as well. The hot tub and sauna were very comfy in the cold and rainy days.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Cozy, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely boiling hot when we checked in, so we had to keep the window open for quite awhile while it cooled down.

    We loved the outdoor hot tub and the beer selection in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Lovely, but offer a more varied menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and large rooms, very nice staff. Apparently set up for tour groups, though. We stayed a few nights and were very happy with the room, but the restaurant was not perfect. They had a buffet that was about $49 offseason and $62 in season, and if you didn’t want that you were limited to pizza, a burger or soup and bread. Very good burgers and pizza, but a more varied menu would be appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel near Vik with amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It lacks some "charm" (but maybe we are more used to guest houses and boutique hotels...)

    The beds are really comfortable, the hotel is nice, warm and practical, breakfast was huge and delicious The location is very good - 3min away from Vik

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    So overpriced, we could find much better place for better money and with free breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled so bad, we couldn’t stand it. We supposed to get a room with a large bed. Instead we get one with two small ones. The price was high and there was no breakfast included, witch makes it even higher There are a lot of better places to stay in this area.

    The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Phenomenal setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well - they cater to tours - and, the morning that a tour was there - oh my lord above, with that many people who had to get breakfast out of the way quickly - it was mahem. Other than that, very nice, well, except for one of the desk clerks - clearly she did not want to be there, and made it clear we were an annoyance - wanting to check in.

    Breakfast was phenomenal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of town location meant that you were dependant on the hotel for meals. However the hotel did not disappoint.

    On arrival we received a room upgrade. The room was fabulous, onsuite shower room modern and stylish. Breakfast buffet was delicious, evening buffet was the best meal we ate during our holiday in Iceland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a little revamp but the cleanliness of the place did not make it feel old.

    Facilities were very clean and rooms were decent size. Parking just outside the cabins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    wall located hotel near Vik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was too warm and it was impossible to lower the heating (the individual thermostat did not seem to work); the shower has a shower curtain (yuk!) which, in addition to being unhygenic, reduces the already small shower space.

    room was spacious and quiet, beds were confortable, breakfast was very good, varied and abundant; there is a well equipped kitchen for guests' use, convenient to prepare dinners.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    We arrived late and hungry, 10 minutes before the kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure wasn't great.

    We arrived late and hungry, 10 minutes before the kitchen closed. Not only did they still happily feed us but they also upgraded our room! A very comfortable stay with a good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Check out the deluxe rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a standard double room but got a free upgrade to the deluxe room in the new building. It was beautiful and just what you need after a long day of touring. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice but expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Snooty staff and (even for Iceland) high prices. Breakfast was not worth the money.

    Nice, great rooms with an exceptional bathroom. Free upgrade to superior room. Hot tube and small sauna in the outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    There's a open air bath and sauna room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is in a separate building so we didn't use it. The staff somehow charged me twice by mistake but the amount has been returned finally.

    There's a open air bath and sauna room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Great spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We LOVED the dinner buffet as well as the morning breakfast! The homemade bread was to die for! We had a good time hanging out at the hotel bar before dinner and loved relaxing in the hot tub after dinner! Rooms were clean and comfortable as well. We overall had an awesome stay here and would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Vik!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location, but very poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No clear heating system: the room does not have any radiators and the floor does not provide enough heating. There is a "heat regulator" on the wall, but it does not do anything - the temperature in the room does not change a bit. It only stays just warm enough to be able to sleep during a cold night, but if you need to dry your shoes or clothes after a rainy / snowy day in Iceland, there is no chance to do that. There are even no second blankets, if you get too cold during the night. The "sauna" and the "pool" were very disappointing - "pool" is just a small tub in the middle of the yard, and "sauna" is a mini house few meters away from the tub. Everything is located outside, in the yard. So if you want to enjoy a pool during a rainy day, you will have to sit outside in the rain. Very bad internet connection - keeps crashing every 5 minutes, and needs another 10 minutes, until it gets back on. Our room was not ready - missing towels. So it makes you question, how well is it cleaned.

    Very good breakfast - multiple options to choose from, everything super tasty. Good location - 5 km outside of city center, which makes it easily reachable, but not too much in the city. There's a water kettle and mugs in the room, so it's nice to be able to make some tea after a cold day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Beautiful location which is additionally in proximity to scenic Glacial Lagoon and others. Food (breakfast and dinner) started and ended our days on positive notes. Will definitely return here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited in choices, also no amenities in the bathroom like lotion and no phone to wake us up for northern lights.

    the room was gorgeous- we had the corner in the new building. Loved the cleanliness and spaciousness. Easy parking and about a 5 min drive to town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice property, rooms were big, quiet, had nice amenities on...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets and pillow cases were quilted- personally I didn’t care for the texture, but others didn’t mind

    Nice property, rooms were big, quiet, had nice amenities on the property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel, close enough to Vik. Buffet dinner excellent value but not gourmet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very large beffet dinner had a lot of choice and value for the money but the quality didn't compare to other a la cart hotels. Not surprising, it was a buffet. If looking for gourmet meal go to Vik. Otherwise, excellent, I tasted roast and cured horse.

    The staff was wonderful. They upgraded us to a superior, large room in the new wing. They also gave us great directions to spot Puffins. Happy Hour pricing best we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely no dislikes

    Friendly staff, clean and very modern room with excellent bed! We really liked the atmosphere of both the rooms and the main building. Breakfast was very tasty and fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    good if you are super quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wall are way to thin. We were told we were being too loud because we were on a phone call at 23h... It was a normal phone call, no shouting or anything special, but I guess our neighbors could hear everything... We also did hear more than what we wanted. When leaving we were checking around for stuff we could have left and realized that under the bed there were 2 socks and 1 bra that were not ours - I guess the room wasn't checked properly before we got it.

    Location is great, parking facilities and open 24/7

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in Vik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got to stay at one of their new rooms. It was very clean and the bed was comfy. The buffet breakfast was sufficient but they should add hot choices as well. It's just a 6-minute ride from Vik city center. Sadly, we didn't have time to try their gym and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    What I didn't like mostly relates to cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What I didn't like mostly relates to cleanliness. The towels seemed old and like they had been washed 1000 times. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets had a dark stain on them, as well as a few holes. The room itself was spacious and clean, but the linens, towels and shower curtain could all use an upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Amazing Trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything amazing, excellent clean & order, and the persons was unbelievable, we feel like our house, the hotel view wow without words, the best trip of my life.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, location - a little expensive compared to other options further out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been great to have cooked breakfasts available and whilst the facilities were very nice, the price we paid was a lot more than other hotels we stayed in (which had equally good rooms and customer service) during our 7 days in Iceland.

    Very clean rooms and perfect location for our trip to the Southeast. Good breakfast and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming, comfortable and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like here.

    We were up-graded to a superior room in what appeared to be a recently built wing. The ground floor room was fully accessible, spacious and very comfortable. The dining room at the hotel was excellent and the buffet dinner was very welcome after a long day. Breakfast was also very good. I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking to explore Iceland beyond the "Golden Circle".

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice location, good hotel, great breakfast (make your own waffles)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights above the bed head are too low, meaning you cant sit up in bed without hitting your head on them

    The beds were very comfortable and the shower was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    This property was a cozy place with friendly staff! Kathi from Las Vegas, NV USA
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish the breakfast buffet had featured a few items that Americans are used to: bacon, scrambled eggs, etc. It was more geared for Europeans. The soap dispenser in the shower didn't work, or I couldn't figure it out. It would be nice if they provided small soaps/body wash.

    The staff was so friendly and helpful. There was a hot tub outside! They provided us a currency converter for our cellphones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    A clean place to lay your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable and room was small and bare. we felt like we were staying at a repurposed summer camp. Wasnt able to try the breakfast As it didn’t start till 7:30 and we had a flight to catch, but we felt like, for the money it was one of the worst values for our 17 day trip.

    The staff was very kind and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Clean room and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad value for money. The room was small and super cold when we arrived; it was snowing outside and the heating was off.

    Clean room and nice breakfast. Good location, just outside Vik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Awesome Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Super friendly staff, got a room upgrade, very nice, spacious, cozy and clean room, great view, excellent breakfast, great location. Would definitely recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Compound style hotel a few minutes outside of Vik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compound style hotel a few minutes outside of Vik. Lodge style restaurant with buffet. Breakfast included which is always nice. The outdoor hot tub is a great feature as the compound is outside of Vik, so if you are travelling in the winter months, you stand a good chance of being able to watch the northern lights away from the lights of Vik, while soaking in a hot tub. Dry sauna right next door with an area to change also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, there are a few different buildings on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffet looked interesting (good selection of food and local specialities) but was very bland. Some dishes could have been warmer. Overall not worth the price (around 65 CAD each).

    Nice hotel, there are a few different buildings on site. It was very quiet. There is an outdoor hot tub.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Room was very spacious and well designed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows and comforter were not comfortable. The pillow case material and comforter material needs to be replaced....not because old but because uncomfortable. Unfortunate that someone chose that material because otherwise this is a great place to stay!! It didn't ruin our stay by any means but just was mystified why anyone would choose that material for a pillowcase/comforter (pillows were lumpy and not comfortable for us either). Everyone has different taste in pillow comfort so not everyone will feel as we did. If you can pack a lil pillow for traveling, that is always a good idea.

    Room was very spacious and well designed. Very clean and had a large tv. Good vibe in hotel...looks so much better in person than online! They need to update their pics of the bar and lobby. Not sure if just bad pics or older ones but I was pleasantly surprised by how much nicer it looked in person. Great place to stay...just a short drive outside of Vik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Family-friendly hotel located close to Vik with buffet-style restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property consists of a number of buildings and it is necessary to walk between them (which means repeatedly putting on and taking off coats and boots when it is cold and snowy). We stayed in one of the older buildings, which was a little musty and could use a freshening up. The meals in the restaurant are served buffet-style, but for dinner there was a choice to order burgers and pizza a la carte.

    This a family-friendly hotel. The outdoor hot tub is nice and it is a beautiful location at the base of hills that are in front of the ocean. It is located very close to Vik, which has many interesting activities available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The staff were really friendly and the location was stunning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was expensive but not as good quality as some other meals at other hotels - more home cooking than restaurant dining. The bedroom was also pretty basic.

    The staff were really friendly and the location was stunning and handy for visiting the glacier

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Great room close to Vik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Popular with coach parties and school groups - might ruin your experience of a relaxing soak in the outdoor hot tub and sauna sharing it with a school party. The dinner buffet is ok, but very expensive for what it is - although this tends to be the case everywhere regarding food in Iceland. Other than the buffet the menu is very very limited. At least here you have the option of dining in Vik but remember most other local restaurants close at 8pm

    Extra comfy bed, in a superior room. Excellent shower. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Two nights near Vik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds could have been a bit comfier. I personally would not choose the buffet dinner again, although the choice was varied and good, unfortunately as the meat/fish had been cooked and kept warm it was mostly overdone. Maybe if you had an early dinner it would have been better. Otherwise no complaint.

    Excellent location and beautiful view from property. Short drive from the small town of Vik and supermarket/petrol station. Just off of main southern route road. Good choice of items for breakfast. Wooden chalet feel to rooms, warm and clean. Staff helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is pretty good, we have a place (Krona i think)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall between rooms are quite thin, we can hear the conversation of the people from the next room. we were also allocated to the room next to where cars can be parked, so there is this car who switched their headlights on and was in the car the whole time. It is of course not the hotel's fault but the proxinity of the room and the car park causes a little invasion of privacy. There are few blocks of rooms so if you re lucky you might get the one not facing the car park! Restaurants close at 9pm and theres not many places where you get to eat nearby, so rmb to stock up before you check in if you re check in after 8.30pm!

    The location is pretty good, we have a place (Krona i think) to do our groceries, and if you are heading to the South, and finding a place to stay in a night or two, the location is great. it was snowing when we were at the hotel, so the view was amazing too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    good set up, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was only served until 9pm, we missed it on the first night as we arrived later in the evening (9.30) and there was nothing else available for us to eat.

    Good breakfast, lovely room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful location, appears to cater more for groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant at Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka, appears to cater more for larger groups with an extensive buffet style dinner. The non-buffet menu was fairly basic & included three or four main courses.

    Vik was our second stop on our Ring Road tour after Selfoss. Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka was slightly out of town but Vik is very easy to access by car and an ideal place to replenish supplies. The staff at check-in were friendly & we were upgraded to a superior room, which was very comfortable and quite large in size, especially the bathroom. Parking was free and extremely easy. Buffet breakfast was included, and they had quite a wide range of food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    It's clean and okay for an overnight stay but I would recommend to eat out in Vik for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food for dinner was really bad. There is a buffet for 4900 Krona or a pizza or burger for approx 1500 if I remember correctly. The buffet looked like they had tried to deliver too many options - not good quality for the price. My dad was not impressed. We waited for ages (over half an hour) for the pizza, and when it arrived it was the worst pizza that I have ever had, tasteless and very very dry. Feedback to the waitresses was pointless. Feedback to the manager resulted in a small discount and she said she would look into it. The breakfast was better. The fresh waffles are very good. There are coach loads of people turning up at this place so it is very busy and quite large.

    The location is great. The view is lovely. There is a hot tub at this property which was very popular, although you can see if from the restaurant so it is overlooked. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean , comfortable overnight stay . Nice country setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most expensive place we stayed, but not necessarily the nicest. Outdoor areas GREAT , but even in early spring always very crowded.

    Cozy rooms . nice social areas. Sauna and lovely outdoor hot tub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay when in Vik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than expensive buffet (which offered a lot and was good, there were limited dinner options.

    Location just outside of Vik provided a bit more seclusion. Nice selection at breakfast. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite expensive what we paid for one night but at Iceland in general is expensive! Some hot items like eggs would have been nice at breakfast and more toppings for waffles as were not replenished frequently enough.

    Location of this hotel was amazing, we had a superior room and the view out of the window was great! Nice comfortable and modern room. Good selection at breakfast, loved making your own waffles!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Nice breakfast in a old expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnitures are very old, the hotel has no charm overall and is very expensive for the service offered . Plus the staff is not friendly.

    The hotel location is good and breakfast buffet was very nice (good waffle)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    A comfortable base with hearty breakfast from which to explore the surrounding beach area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More hooks and space to hang things in the room. We had wet hiking gear that we couldn't lay out to dry.

    Enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. Room was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Good location close to Vik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one hot tub for all guests (not bad, just a heads up). Also, the power seemed to go out twice the night we were there, cutting out the wifi with it. Not quite sure why, and it came back on after a few minutes.

    Really great breakfast spread, with lots of options. Excellent location minutes driving from Vik (but I'm not sure it walkable). Clean room and bathroom, with towels and a hairdryer. The hot pot was lots of fun. Overall, no issues!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location and nice bedroom, but don't get too excited about breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff weren't very helpful, and breakfast was a huge disappointment. The tray of cold meats was sitting in direct sunshine, the fruit (which had been pre-cut) was all brown as it had been there for so long.

    Lovely room with a great view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    6.3
    Good location but best suited to large yours, not a couples retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub wasn't working but staff gave no indication of this so you stood outside in your swimmers in the cold. My boyfriend went and asked and the reception said it was an electrical fault but we met an American man who was told that there was no problem and that the water was meant to be that temperature... Staff were fine other than that but got the impression we were interrupting them whenever we spoke to them.

    Good location and basic facilities for the price. We booked very last minute and the price was ok compared to other places around the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of tour groups so it gets quite crowded. The interior seems quite old and does not meet modern standarts anymore

    Nice hotel with beautiful location, rooms clean and beds comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    We booked 2 rooms, one standard and one supreme.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room is with old-school decoration and the view is not that great compared to the supreme room.

    We booked 2 rooms, one standard and one supreme. The supreme is great, big enough, modern and with great view. It is able to enjoy the northern lights in the room through the big windows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    A good stop for 1 night - close to Vik with beautiful scenery all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner menu looked rather dull so we chose to go out.

    Very comfortable beds with delightful duvets. Plenty of space in our huge room with a wonderful view. Good breakfast with delicious homemade bread.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.8
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The atmosphere of staff - seems like they were watching your every move

    Due to the food choices - I did not eat breakfast - but had coffee-and one slice of coffee bread, so I asked for a box to make one sandwich for the afternoon - they said there would be a charge- I said never mind- so I made a half of vegetable sandwich to take with me- one slice of cheese - tomato and cucumber - I just wrapped up in napkin and put in my hat- I was not trying to hide - I just figured I would not make a big deal of it- upon walking out a lady came to me and said they charged my card $14.00 for the 1/2 of sandwich. I kindly said here is your sandwich back and laid it on the counter - she said how rude! I paid $250.00 for the room - I could understand if I were making several sandwiches - there just does not seem to be any common sense thinking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better but it has a good variety considering an overnight stay.

    The hotel has a very convenient location just outside Vik. Good to try to watch the northern lights! The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place I would recommend it and stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the buffet kept running out by the time we got to breakfast! They should keep it stocked up until the end of the service.

    The view from the room was the best I have ever seen anywhere!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    pleasantly surprised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guest had drinking glasses in hot tub which could’ve been dangerous if broken

    Rye bread fantastic, shower amazing, hot tub & sauna really good

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Katla Hofdabrekka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: