Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Edda Ísafjördur

Torfsnesi, 400 Ísafjörður, Iceland

#15 of 17 hotels in Ísafjörður

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I was extremely satisfied with my stay. Note that you will need to go elsewhere for an evening meal and that there is a short walk into the town centre. There wasn't a 'fridge in the room but I went into town and bought milk/skyr every day and kept it on the open window sill without any problem!

    I came to do a course, learning Icelandic, and stayed for 2 full weeks. I needed a good room to study in as well as a nice stay and this hotel provided both. The breakfasts were lovely and the hotel extremely clean, with very friendly staff. Choose a room with a private bathroom, which is better. I had brilliant internet for the whole two weeks but a lower floor room may not be so good? There was a TV to watch downstairs but not in the room, but the wi-fi was good enough that I could watch Sky news etc. on my iPad in the room. Lovely friendly staff who will help if asked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is only open during the summer holidays as it the boarding accommodation for a school the rest of the year. Looks like this but the idea is novel and was very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is so far one of the most expensive hotels we had been in iceland and it totally sucks. We asked for a big bed and what we had are two beds put together. The food was nothing special and they have inadequate staff not abling to clean the tables in time. As for the room expect just a bed, two lousy pillows and a bathroom... nothing more for more than 200 euros...

    Nothing to like about this hotel except its near the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nofacilities in the room. Very basic and not cheap. No value for money at all.

    The bed wasn't uncomfortable and the shower had good pressure & heat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Edda hotel is very much an old dormitory. It feels more like a hostel. The name seems like something of a misnomer. Communal baths and small dorm-like rooms.

    The receptionist is REALLY REALLY nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kitchen facilities in the room (nothing at all). Building not ideal, you have to carry your baggage for quite a distance.

    Big room, good beds (for 3). Good location (within 15 minutes walk of everything).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a higher education institution turned into a hotel perhaps in holiday season. The rooms felt university dormitory but very clean although the shower curtain fell down in the morning.

    It is considered value for money in Iceland.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no signage to the hotel entrance so you're not quite sure whether or not to drag your suitcases up the 15 steps or not. The accommodations were so basic, I'd go somewhere else with a little more character.

    The location of the hotel makes it easy to find as you enter Isafjorder. Not being 'downtown' is a bonus when the cruise ships are in port. The parking is free and plentiful. The accommodations were basic but clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO WIFI in the rooms. Wifi is only available in the lobby. (very poor speed) Room is like a college dormitory. Lights on in the hallway 24/7 which means you cannot darken your room. Beds are terrible. Worst hotel experience in Iceland. More like a motel or a college dorm.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like small student room. Corridors so dark. I would never pay that money anymore for place like that, it's the worst were I ever stayed in iceland.

    Beds were comfortable, breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit noisy.

    The location is great, facing Isafjordur's harbour. Easy to park the car. Clean hotel and friendly staff. The breakfast is good, with everything you might need.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was just fine for one night, but I would say a little over priced for what it is.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very dorm-like which is understandable since it is actually a school.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed at Edda by reputation because we needed a quality night lodging by that point of our trip. Needed to facetime home for a family birthday no wifi in ROOMS...ridiculous....this isn't a hotel it is literally a very modest dorm and that isn't the way it is marketed. When I asked to be allowed to cancel once I saw what they really had...NO BUDGING...girl at desk was overwhelmed, manager was called but wouldn't even talk to me. Lots of construction (for the school, I suppose, and dead bugs in the room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't fancy, and we booked a room with a shared bathroom. Simple spaces and small beds but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and well maintained. This type of place isn't for everything and it certainly isn't luxury. But it worked for us and is in a good location for walking both into the town of Isafjordur and for accessing all the hiking trails around it.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was extremely cold.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toiletries not provided

    Triple room is spacious, with private bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plates for breakfast were very small.

    They were very accommodating to meet our needs. There was an elevator for the handicapped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room looked like in a hospital. No bedstads and no lamps by the beds. No TV. Poor bedcover and pillows.

    Nice staff. Good brekfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disproportionately expensive breakfast. No fridge in the room.

    Spacious room, very comfortable beds, splendid view of the harbour.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic dorm room (this is really a college dorm) but close to town and hiking trails. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blind fold curtains missing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Edda is very comfortable & in a nice town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The access to the hotel is not good for elderly people.

    The staff was helpfull and dedicated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room, old shared shower/toilets, not so clean.

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirrors in room except WC and wifi really poor.

    Great location and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms down the hall were a surprise, but we managed just fine.

    Excellent breakfast! The place was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More a hostel - relatively expensive

    Good breakfast Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only in lobby.

    Close to town. Easy walk. Place is clean with no frills.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    this hotel is in a great location in the town, it's very clean and well kept. also found it warm for duration of stay. the Wi-Fi only works in the lobby but that was not an issue for me.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My complete bed should have been replaced 5 years ago (my opinion). It was like sleeping in a hammock. I managed to survive the night by putting a shelf of the large bookshelf above the bed between bed and mattress.

    Very clean

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This should be called a hostel rather than a hotel. We booked a double bed which turned out to be two single beds pushed together. Sleeping in a dorm room is not the experience we were expecting when booking a hotel. Hotel Edda should seriously consider changing their name to Hostel Edda to better represent what they're really offering. Also, the booking site said they had free wifi but it turned out to only be available in the lobby.

    The rooms were warm and the beds were nice so we got a good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fire alarm at 3am. WiFi only in the lobby!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    free wifi was only available in lobby

    you know what to expect when you book edda. solid room with boarding room charm. comfy bed, large room

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, guests with similar interests

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only WiFi in lobby area.

    Breakfast, price, location, very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was so expensive for so little. The hotel seemed a very old hospital.

    The location was good, but it was the only thing really.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared bathrooms, wifi only in the lobby

    Good location, clean, helpful staff and a decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good basic accomodation.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pricey for a shared bathroom. Wifi limited to lobby.

    Clean facilities with comfortable beds. Happy to get a room at short notice.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi only on ground floor, no communal kitchen, no kettle in room

    close to town

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: