Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Edda Skogar

Skógum, 861 Skogar, Iceland

#8 of 8 hotels in Skogar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 609 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    5.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    The room was quite comfy and it was well located along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet can be cleaner and should install better lighting.

    The room was quite comfy and it was well located along the main road. There is a nice living room where you can chill and read after a long day. There is a waterfall near the accommodation where you can visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    I really don’t enjoy my stay in the room, but I love the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like that the room looks like student accommodation (but I heard it used to be one). The desk, bed, wardrobe, pretty much everything looks super old and not in a good way (at least 50 years old). It really needs upgrading and refurbishing, but perhaps everyone seems desperate for an overnight stop due to the location, thus we don’t have much choices but to stay here. The shower cubicles were dirty (FYI, bathrooms and toilets are shared) and the carpet of the corridor is really old and filthy. While I was walking to the toilet in the morning, I even saw one of the guests walking around only in his underwear and I was really shocked. That’s not something I would expect when I pay so much to stay in a place called a HOTEL. I wouldn’t recommend this place if you expect to have an enjoyable holiday and is particular about comfort and cleanliness (like myself!).

    The receptionist was friendly and the view outside was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Very sad-looking and depressing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel looks like a Russian sanatorium or rehab clinic from the 50s (like much of rural Iceland). Very sad-looking and depressing rooms. The staff was plain and expressionless like people everywhere else in Iceland. There was a foul smell all over the place (maybe due to the geothermal system used to heat water in Iceland?). The shared showers were not clean.

    Good location (but not worth the money). I was planning to go hiking from Skogar to Thorsmork so I needed to be close to the trail but looking back, I would have stayed a bit further away in a nicer place (if such thing exits in Iceland).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Location is good, very close to the waterfall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked very poor. I believe the building is very old and the walls are very thin, so be prepared to hear what your neighbors are saying. My room was in front of the shower, so it was very loud all the time. Even though I understand Iceland is expensive, this hotel is way overpriced.

    Location is good, very close to the waterfall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    It used to be a school.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't included, you have to pay around 25usd per person.

    It used to be a school. The room is spacious with a closet, a table and a sink. It was very closed to the Skogar fall. We liked the dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was yummy and not expensive compared to other restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    pricey but basic hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was so poor that our shoes and clothes did not dry. Only 2 showers and 2 toilets for all the guests on that floor. Only 1 chair in a 2-bed room.

    quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    It was fine for a stop off but dont expect the standard of a typical hotel in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Main complaint is too many rooms sharing a bathroom (one ladies and one gents loo and 2 showers between 11 twin rooms in the annex, not so bad in main building ). This was a higher number of people sharing than we had in any of the Guesthouses or hostels we stayed in. It had all the disadvantages of a hotel (no kitchen facilities or even coffee making - they charge for a coffee from a machine in the lounge area whereas most of the Guesthouses and hostels provided free coffee) but none of the advantages you expect - ie a bit more comfort and better facilities. It would benefit from providing coffee-making facilities to make yourself a cup when you get in any time of day. Also it is a former school and still has a very institutional feel - like a Uni hall of residence, it would be nicer if made a bit more homely. Breakfast was expensive and no better compared to Guesthouses and hostels that provided breakfast.

    Excellent location near to Skogafoss. Rooms warm, clean and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    It‘s a hostel for the price of a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It‘s a hostel, not a hotel, rooms are very small and basic, quite cold and bad light isolation (was critical due to long light day in June)

    Close to the waterfall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Reception and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No private bathrooms

    Reception and restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful the entire 2 day stay. There are no private bathrooms. Although showers and toilets were in the hall, there was really no problem using them. The room was clean and comfortable with a desk and closet. It did not feel too small. There was no kettle in the room, but we were able to get hot water for tea from the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Very close to main road and with nice walks in the woods...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 2 persons.

    Very close to main road and with nice walks in the woods (yes, wood on Iceland!). Nice sheep strolling close by outside the window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were only two showers for our floor so you may have to wait to shower. Breakfast was quite expensive and not that great.

    Amazing location, close to Vik and about 500 meters from Skogafoss waterfall. If you have time take the hike up the side of the waterfall and along the river where you will see more waterfalls and a beautiful view of the coast. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    The place was clean, quiet and tidy, great that there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower facilities need some updating; the stall I used, the shower clip was broken and you had to hold by hand, there was mould in quite a few places. My daughter used the other stall and it didn't drian properly, she was standing in 4 cms of water when done. Sink in room was clean but also needing an upgrade.

    The place was clean, quiet and tidy, great that there are restaurant facilities on site if you need them, and the location, within walking distance of Skogafoss, was fantastic. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.2
    Honestly his place is a bit of a rip off, I know Iceland is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly his place is a bit of a rip off, I know Iceland is expensive but this was probably the most expensive place we stayed and the least equipped. Avoid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.1
    The place to stay when in Skogar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    we are not a fan of shared bathroom accommodations that cost $200/night. Breakfast was average.

    The room was quiet and warm. The other guests were considerate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Smelly, over priced. Try somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't a hotel. It's a hostel, priced as a hotel. The place is a converted dorm, but hasn't been updated since then, and that was 50 years ago. Linoleum floors, shared bathrooms with toilets that only sort of worked, the place smelled of mold. The heater didn't work. Breakfast was not included. Would not recommend.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Passable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleaning in the bathroom needs to be a lot better. Another minus was that breakfast was not included even though the room prices are quite high in relation to the standard of this hotel. The all over feeling was more like a hostel.

    The staff was amazing making you feel like you entered a luxury hotel. The room size and beds was okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.3
    The beds were very comfortable and the linens and property...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the shower doors did not close properly and necessitated locking the door to the entire area. The rooms were very small for the price.

    The beds were very comfortable and the linens and property were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    i was disappointed that i was staying in a dorm not a hotel. it was more expensive than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom and shower were down the hall. that's a dorm or hostel. i paid for a HOTEL! please don't advertise as a hotel if you don't function like one.

    it was clean. the staff was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Pretty utilitarian!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel reminded me of a soviet style. The shared bathrooms were strange in that there was a shower in on and a toilet in another and not together.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.5
    It is an hostel, not a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an hostel, not a hotel. It is outrageous the rate that they have, the rooms are very different from the pictures and it looks more like a hospital. Worst money spent in Iceland

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a former school and the decor and layout are very institutional still. It feels a little oppressive and was quite noisy as our room was off an atrium. Food menu was very expensive and seemed at odds with the cheap/school feel of the hotel.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Hostel not hotel, very expensive for what it is, facilities extremely basic, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of this accommodation does not reflect the quality and was well out of kilter with our other experiences having stayed at 9 other guesthouses. This is advertised as a hotel but is not hotel quality and would be better described as a basic hostel. The rooms are tired with lots of breakages and are in need of repair as well as being small and cramped. Bathroom facilities were poor. This accommodation is all about the location. Breakfast was acceptable but was not included in the price of the room and was expensive for what it is. Overall a disappointing experience and by far our worst accommodation of the holiday.

    Excellent location, just next to the waterfall with restaurants, museums and other walks very closeby. Easy access to Vik area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    4.5
    didn't enjoy the stay and couldn't wait to get out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are pretty dirty, leftover towels in the wardrobe and unvacummed floor. toilets are shared so its pretty inconvenient.

    there weren't much accomodation left in the southern iceland hence we settled for this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Clean comfortable room in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all.

    Clean, comfy room in a good location for our road trip around the Ring Road. Shared bathroom was never a problem, as there are several bathrooms and showers available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Decent and clean one-night stop hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room furniture could use a revamp, but I don't mind it — reminds me of Berlin-esque architecture from the 70s. Shared bathrooms, particularly the showers, could use a complete overhaul though.

    Clean rooms, pleasant staff, and it's right by Skógafoss. Very convenient location if you're doing the circle road, it's a decent one-night stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to Skogafoss waterfall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite large, but it was not possible to have double beds, only twin beds, and it affects our stay in the hotel. The building seems not a new structure, and the spaces are wet.

    Location is top, close to Skogafoss waterfall and convenient for transfers in the south. Rooms are quite large and are clean. Bathrooms are clean and available at any time. Breakfast varied and abundant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    2.5
    The accommodations were old dorm rooms that were VERY old and unkempt. Spend your money somewhere el
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were super smal, the linens we're old and in some cases thread bare, the grounds were full of weeds, dead plants and garbage that had been sitting in an open container right outside the entrance to the building for quite some time...rotting banana peels were our welcome! If there had been somewhere else to stay in that area we would have gone there. Everywhere else was full.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location of the hotel. We were located in the second building. Unfortunately the Wifi was not working there and there was no kettle . The staff was extremely helpful and find the solution.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    A place I wouldn't stay in again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is old ,small, and a bit dirty. The bathroom is not very clean, either, and does not offer showering gel. It's not an expensive place to stay in, but with this price I'd expect a better experience.

    The location is great and the receptionists are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely location but lacks facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main letdown was lack of facilities - no internet, no tv in our room, no hot tub etc. There was a shared lounge in the main building where we could get wifi so we spent about an hour over there. The restaurant had quite a limited menu and was expensive. There is a store next door on the Skogafoss Campsite but again very limited and the restaurant was closed when we got there. Overall good value but if you want more than a basic clean room keep looking.

    The location was great, walkable to Skogarfoss - we walked up there in the evening, it was very lovely indeed. The hotel itself is a converted school so it has a quirky vibe - the floors are concrete, the doors are heavy so it was very noisy when people were moving around to the bathroom etc - imagine sleeping in a school and you'll have it spot on.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.4
    very basic converted dorm rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic converted dorm rooms. Cleaning staff smoking on premises (in the building) Nothing within walking distance except waterfall. Would go to Vik next time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place Good location and extremely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extra washroom would be fine.

    This hotel is pleasantly located and has a wonderful and extremely friendly cooperative and concerned staff.One of the touring members had forgotten some valuables in her room but they were found and promptly sent to the next destiation Reykjavik.Indeed a wonderful gesture.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.6
    rent this location if you don't mind the smell of sewage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the washroom smells like sewage, there's a sink in the room, and the drainage of that sink oozes out the smell of sewage, the room ends up smelling like sewage, the corridor smells like sewage..........

    nothing but location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Stay in August 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was really good and in a great location, t improve the bathroom areas could be improved/ upgraded.

    Location and parking. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast and evening meals good quality food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.5
    Had an overall good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping staff unlocked our door and came in the room twice in the morning while we were still sleeping hours before we were supposed to check out.

    I loved that Skogafoss waterfall was right down the street within walking distance. There were multiple restaurants to eat at next to the waterfall. The front desk staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.6
    American traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom in room...room was very small... breakfast was very expensive

    Closeness to skogafoss waterfall and other sights...easy on/off ring road 1...nice restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    4.2
    Outdated, weird place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like the time stood still there. Very poor, outdated interiour. There was a very weird smell in the hotel. The room was small and dirty. The shower and toilet was also small and dirty. Everything screemed for renovation there. It looked like a youth hostel from a soviet era. I would not call it a hotel.

    The location so near to the waterfall

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    3.8
    Worst stay in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We weren't impressed. The beds were not comfortable, and there wasn't a bathroom in the room. It wasn't worth the money, and we are glad we stayed at Airbnb's for the rest of our trip. I wouldn't recommend this hotel, even though it is supposedly Iceland's main line of hotels. It felt like a dormitory and the walls weren't sound proof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean and conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the restaurant, it feels like a hostel. Don't expect anything extraordinary simply because it's called "hotel".

    Clean and conveniently located. Close to Skogafoss, make sure to go there while you stay in Skogar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Correct hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As most of the hotel and hostels in Iceland, there's share bathroom, which is not fair for the expensive rates

    There aren't many options in Skogar and this was the cheaper we could get. Said that, the room was quite big for us, travelling with a baby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    Good basic accomodation with no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That only shared bathrooms were available

    Hotel was well located and offered good basic accomodation. Surprised that there were only a small number of showers and toilets on floor to share

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent accomodations! We would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was prohibitively expensive.

    The staff was incredible - friendly, helpful, and they did everything possible to insure our stay was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Right next to Skogar waterfalls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms! 2 rooms to be booked next to each other but was booked in 2 diff buildings. Right next to Skogar waterfalls...everything else is very far.

    Right next to one of the best waterfalls in Iceland!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant location right next to Skogarfoss
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was initially offered a room with a large spider and spider web - however was seamlessly transferred to another room on my request

    Brilliant location right next to Skogarfoss Easily accessible on-site parking Lovely , friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    3.8
    worst accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful rooms, even the more awful and ugly shared bathrooms (one for about 40 people)- disgusting! We had a room in the neighbouring house although i had booked it 8 months before! Altogether terrible - never never again.A lot of money for nothing!

    Nur die günstige lage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location on southern part of Ring Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with every place we stayed in Iceland, price is high for the type of accommodation you get. We had a triple. Not much space in the room for the 3 suitcases. Most floor space taken up by 3 twins.

    The room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The shower area could use a little upgrade, but not too bad. More than one shared toilet for each gender unlike some. Very much like a hostel, but slightly better. Booked 6 months in advance, and still the options were limited. Extremely close to the waterfall. Breakfast was good and was included in our price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were more spacious than we anticipated. Clean. Very comfortable beds and excellent breakfast. Sharing a bathroom was not a problem; in fact no-one else wanted to use it at the same time as us. It may as well have been our private room. We spent time in one of the lounges in the evening - a pleasant place to go and be sociable. We had our evening meal in the hotel restaurant - lamb. Absolutely delicious! The guy on the reception recommended the fish and chips from the red wagon nearby for our lunch - an excellent recommendation! Lovely walk in the woods just behind the hotel and fabulous museum neaxt door. All in all a great stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Bare Bones
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bare bones and spare. In a place that has no darkness in the summer, blackout curtains should be a must. Breakfast was very expensive so we didn't purchase it. Dinner in the restaurant had only two options, but our entrée was very good.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Location was the main thing I liked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me, the check in was one place and the room was in another building, so everything that got carried in to check in got carried right back out again. Room was basic dorm style. Shower took forever to warm up and never got close to hot - that was my main complaint. Lots of sulfur (I assume) in the water as well, so unpleasant to shower or drink

    Location was the main thing I liked. Ended a long day at the falls, so this was very handy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Simple accommodation in a great location - excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying in the house next to the hotel. The rooms were very basic but fine for one night. There was only one shower between 5/6 of us which meant a bit of queuing. The shower had flooded which wasn't pleasant but the staff came out to sort it out even though it was late evening.

    The location was great for access to the local waterfalls and volcano and was just off the main Route 1. The museum next door was well worth a visit, as was the volcano museum just up the road. The food in the restaurant was very good and the local lamb was amazing. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    A rather basic hotel in a great location, about a 2.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel an old school dorm building, so shared bathrooms (one shower stall semi-functioning with some broken parts), very simple rooms (with condensation trapped between thermal pane window glass), limited amenities. Compared to other much more expensive lodging options in the area, this was somewhat more budget friendly and provided what we really needed: a simple place to sleep for the night.

    A rather basic hotel in a great location, about a 2.5 hour drive from Reykjavik and right near Skogafoss falls. Good location to day-trip out from to see Vik (about 30 minute drive), glaciers, waterfalls, coastline, views of the ice-cap, etc. If you'd like to take a short ride on an Icelandic pony, there's a stable in Vik (Vik Horse Adventure) that will take you onto the black sand beach for a relaxed experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location and laid back hotel - Skoga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Iceland Hotel prices - don't understand why basic Iceland hotels cost more than 5 star superb hotels at home. .

    The staff were friendly, the dining room food was excellent but best was the location - easy walk to Skogafoss.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Not the best place to stay in but very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner and breakfast offered at the hotel was much too expensive. No guests that we saw ate there. It is a former boarding school and although it was a bit novel to stay in a building so obviously institutional, it felt sterile and had no charm.

    We liked the location and the cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Clean, basic accommodation well situated for Skogar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, basic accommodation well situated for Skogar waterfall and a useful stop off if traveling to Vik and beyond. Food was very good in the restaurant. Bathrooms/loos were shared. Ideal for a one night stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Stay at the Guesthouse in Skogar if the price isn't much different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were cramped compared to other Guesthouses that we stayed at with shared bathrooms. Showers and bathroom were underwhelming. Many of the places we stayed offered free breakfast (one charged us $8) but here they wanted to charge $23/person for breakfast and $4 for a small cup of coffee. Even though the guesthouses were a little more expensive it made up for the price difference with the free breakfast especially since these places didn't mind if we took a light sandwich from the breakfast bar for a snack/lunch on our drive through the countryside.

    Staying in Skogar is amazing because you have direct access to Skogafoss which is literally right by the Hotel. This is a popular falls so it provided an opportunity to climb the steps and appreciate the falls with fewer people. It is also a great place to stop for the night after doing the Golden Circle on your trip around the ring road. We woke up early and walked the falls with almost no one else around and then headed out for a great day to the black sand beaches, pass Vik, by the Glacial Lagoon and all the way to Hofn in one day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.3
    OK stop along Ring Road.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have work on the Facilities, with the toilets being our biggest issue with the property - not as clean and it's old.

    Good location along ring road.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Cozzy Little Space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smaller than we were thinking it would be (pretty much bed and luggage room only) and the curtains did little to prevent tons of light from glaring into the room (middle of June, daylight was constant). Recommend only bringing an overnight bag into the room and a really good night mask to cover your eyes. Otherwise, stay was great and staff is very helpful!

    Great location with beautiful views of the countryside and a gorgeous waterfall right next door! Staff is very nice and the community bathroom was just down the hall (separate private showers and toilet spaces, clean). It was our first night along the Ring Road and a good first stop.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    A Short Walk to Skogarfoss
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a school converted to a hotel in summer times. The rooms and facilities are dorm-like with shared bathrooms and shower. The (dorm)room for three is a bit tight. If you don't mind these things, the hotel is a nice place to stay.

    Within walking distance (10 minutes) to Skogarfoss. Out in the country with sheep roaming on large meadows, quite a bucolic scene. The beds are comfortable and the bedding is clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.2
    "Hotel" type old boarding school ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything else, small and dated room. Looks like a cheap hotel and a boarding school. Shower and toilet (common) not very clean. No small soap, no coffee, no TV, basically just a bed and a sink. Sinister decoration.

    Well located, close waterfall, museum and vik town (black sand beach) Located between reyjavik and the glaciers of the east. There are sheep with sides. Price ratio compared to the others in June. Free parking with beautiful flags in front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms dirty. Room was mediocre. Former girls school turned into a hotel..Management did little to fix it up.

    Location close to waterfall and hiking trails.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the bedroom was sticky. The bathrooms and toilets had not been cleaned and wet towels were on the floor. There was a guest sitting room but a pile of linen was left sitting on a chair.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.6
    After checking in and going to our room, which was in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    After checking in and going to our room, which was in a separate building quite a walk away from the main building, I had to go back twice to request toilet paper for the women's washroom (because there wasn't any). It took three hours for someone to come and bring some! The place has a worn look to it, with worn fabric on the furniture and carpets. Very expensive - little value for the money spent. Will not stay at an Edda

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    If you must stay in SKOGAR....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a restaurant in the hotel, and one might want to eat there as Vik has so few options, and is a half-hour drive away. Also, breakfast is pricey, and there are no other options. (Vik has NO decent breakfast locations.) For older travelers, there are two sets of stairs to navigate to get luggage to the rooms. Being a somewhat historic location (old school), rooms are small dormitory-style, but clean. Depending on your rooms' location, the bathroom/shower could be a long way down the hall. I felt this place was way over-priced even by Icelandic prices for what is offered.

    Accommodations were historic, and in a beautiful setting. Very close to the museum, and to the waterfall. Nice place to grab a beer after the short walk; very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Accommodation in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WC are not quite clean, showers were bit dirty and stinky. Considering this facilities its quite expensive.

    Decent accommodation at a very beautiful location. Room is clean and comfortable. Around 10 min walk to the beautiful skogafoss waterfall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    5.8
    1, The hotel is located in the Skogar Park and very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I knew this building of hotel was a boarding school before booking this hotel. I read description and saw the photos on booking.com. I booked this site because based on both the location and trust of Hotel (Edda is a national chain hotel). I thought it should have many restrooms or at least one big restroom as a school facility , but i was wrong. Once we got in the dorm building , we just realized there is only one toilet for boy and one for girl! Toilet tissue has run out from late afternoon until next day when service people come to do cleaning. Skipped shower too.

    1, The hotel is located in the Skogar Park and very close to the skogar fall. 2, We had dinner and breakfast at hotel restaurant . Food was good and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.1
    Friendly staff but not so friendly showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No electric kettle in the rooms, the shared shower's drainage is not good and water clogged up while taking shower.

    The staff was warm and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    A former bording school
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt very institutional . I could never know from the original booking that we would be sleeping in small school dorms which felt more like a religious retreat center. The restaurant felt like a communal dining room and we wondered if this was in fact a Christian community holiday spot. They seemed to frown when we ordered wine and although it was for sale it was more expensive than anywhere else in Iceland. Very puritanical.

    It was clean and quiet in nice surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.1
    Staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would MUCH prefer a bed for 2 No kitchen or kettle in rooms or even fridge space - Food offered not great and expensive

    Staff were great Location allowed quick access to many beautiful places Well maintained and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay near Skogafoss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors very well. Shower pressure was poor.

    Location is great, you can walk 15 minutes to the waterfall. Overall clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.6
    A unique stay in a converted school
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building has an indoor pool which was closed to guests. It would be fabulous if they could open this up to visitors someday!

    This building was once used as a school, but is now a hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious with amazing views of the ocean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    6.7
    Terrible showers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly showers with low pressure. There are more than one building to stay and our´s definitely wasn´t a hotel! We stayed in many motels and guesthouses in Iceland and this was the only one we didn´t like.

    Breakfast though you have to pay 15 euros for it

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.7
    Pretty Okay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Distance from lobby and building we stayed in. Bathrooms were clean but not comfortable.

    Very close to Skogafoss. The restaurant served absolutely amazing food. The view from our room was Icelandic horses.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Great location by skogafoss but water smelled like sulfur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water from tap (sink and shower) as well as the rooms and hallway smelled strongly of sulfur. Skin felt a bit irritated after showering. We stayed in the guesthouse where ~12 rooms share two shower stalls and two toilets. I would not stay again mostly because of the smell.

    Convenient location by a great attraction. We stayed in the guesthouse where beds were comfortable. Cheap relative to location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    7.5
    Good location. Good value. Very basic. Like living in a college dorm (which it used to be).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upgrade the rooms a bit. Lighting (bedside lamps) were a bit of a joke. Like living in a college dorm.

    Good location. Good value. Very basic. Like living in a college dorm (which it used to be).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    5.8
    So-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet covers felt like they were made out of paper. The booking.com website said check-in went until midnight but it was only until 11pm. It came up under a "breakfast included" search, but in reality breakfast was an additional 2000isk each. The price for the room would have been ok if it included breakfast like I thought, but was expensive for not including breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Edda Skogar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: