Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Icelandair Hotel Fludir 3 stars

Vesturbrún 1, 845 Fludir, Iceland

#7 of 8 hotels in Fludir

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 285 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hot tub and views from restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was variable. One member of staff was particularly grumpy and one was particularly good. Hotel location was rather isolated and not much to do locally in the evening.

    Lovely hot tub and views from restaurant. Comfortable room. Close to Geysir and national Park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean modern updated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small window can be opened. Room was too warm. Piles of junk in the courtyard outside the room. Staff is kind of cold and unfriendly. Great location near Secret Lagoon.

    Clean modern updated room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Getting away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was wet room style but seemed not to drain properly and a floor squeegee was supplied.

    Really quiet, good breakfast. 2 hot tubs in the courtyard just outside the rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice choice for stay in Fludir as you tour Ring road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom layout causes floor to be wet from shower, bed is two twins pushed together, although this seems to be typical in most European hotels.

    Comfortable, the courtyard layout with hot tubs underneath the sky seems ideal for northern lights viewing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - had a fabulous stay!

    Everything was amazing, couldn't fault it! Particularly the gorgeous meal we had in the restaurant, followed by prosecco in the hottub under the stars. Great after a busy day sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Location is excellent—saw Northern Lights right out front,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls, but neighbors (including kids) were at least a quiet family.

    Location is excellent—saw Northern Lights right out front, although there was light pollution from the factory and street lights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    good rooms and plesant environment but terrible food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dinner at the hotel was very dissapointing, had expected good food because hotel is part of the icelandair hotel chain, known (at least in Reykjavik) for good food. The two meals we had were amateur-ish and not only unintersting but one was bland and tastelss and the other was a combination of flavors that should never meet in a meal. Perhaps Icelandair hotel chain is not intersted in creating or maintaining a state of food excellence in its hotels outside of Reykjavik. And perhaps they get away with it because there is a constant flow of hapless tourists, who stay only a one night in each place and never come back to Iceland. But they should do better.

    nice little hotel, spacious rooms and courtyard with hot tub very nice.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    The hot tubs in the garden were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room was a bit odd, literally every hotel in the world gives you a kettle! Means you have to pay if you want s coffee, feels like a money making exercise for them. Also this is the only hotel in Iceland we stayed in that didn’t have breakfast included in the cost of your room. Again, another way to get more money out of you. Also we couldn’t get the water in the shower any hotter than tepid.

    The hot tubs in the garden were amazing! The rooms were reasonably priced and comfortable. Bathroom felt a bit dated but the l’occitaine products were a nice touch. The dinner menu wasn’t a huge selection and by no means gourmet food, but burger and ribs were great after a long day!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Fav hotel in Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive restaurant on site

    Great hotel...Relaxing, welcoming staff, good facilities, stunning scenery/location and a great breakie the next morning!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    A good location for the Golden circle and secret lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eye wateringly expensive breakfast Not the hotel’s fault but there is lots of light pollution from the green houses if hoping to enjoy the sky at night

    A good location for the Golden circle and secret lagoon

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel in the middle
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been a kettle in the room, warm drinks are a must when it's -9! The hot tub wasn't very warm either which was a bit disappointing

    The food was amazing. So fresh and tasty, worth every penny.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was perfect for what we needed. Foyer bar area was nice for a drink in the evening.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young lady who checked us in was a bit clueless and we had to ask where our room was! The older lady in reception in the morning was miserable. But they did their jobs so no big deal.

    Spacious hotel, clean, spread out, we particularly liked the back door from our room directly out to the two hot tubs, breakfast was ample- you can make your own fresh waffles which was lovely. Fantastic views from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice place to stay- but don't expect to be treated like a guest. Bring your wallet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed put out- like we were a bother. No one smiles. No one asks how you are or how the food is (food prices here are outrageous for the quality- quality has gone down the last few years while prices have up- they have figured out that you can do that to tourists). That isn't an issue with this place- it is an issue with all of Iceland.

    I have stayed here several times. The property is nice and the location is top notch for seeing the golden circle area or visiting the secret lagoon across the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Secret Lagoon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Hotels in Iceland are expensive, and the price of breakfast extortionate unless you have a big appetite, so preparing your own breakfast and late evening drinks in your room saves a few krona and lack of a kettle is annoying.

    We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Secret Lagoon which is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel has a couple of small outdoor hot tubs but we didn't try/need these as the Secret Lagoon was amazing entertainment for our one evening stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Great place to stop for a night along the Golden Circle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower didn't have a door so the bathroom floor would get pretty wet while someone was showering. It wasn't everywhere, but it was still extensive.

    My room had a back door that opened up from the bathroom into the hot tub area which made it really easy to get in and out of the hot tub into a warm room. We could see the Northern Lights from the hot tub and that was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    we loved the hot pots, to see the northern light from there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom doesnt meet the standard which the rest of the room and the public areas in the hotel have.

    we loved the hot pots, to see the northern light from there was just amazing. dinner and breakfast were nice. good value for price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    A tranquil place to recharge on your long road trip across Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in rooms

    Great location - walking distance to the Secret Lagoon Fantastic views from some of the rooms and the restaurant Good food - both dinner and breakfast were amazing Nice and tranquil place for proper relaxation after a long day out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Decent enough for one night passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are designed poorly and the shower floods the entire bathroom. There's a squeegy in the bathroom for you to mop up the whole mess.

    The hot springs in the middle of the pool were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    OK, but be careful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Guests need to be very careful of the metal bar on the floor separating the bathroom from the entryway. The bar, which is presumably to keep water from flowing out of the bathroom from the open shower, is so high that stepping on it with one's full weight, which is easy to do in the middle of the night, can cause serious damage to one's foot!

    The hotel is fine as a base for exploring the Golden Circle. The cleaning staff and a couple of the restaurant servers were very nice, although the management/owners are rather grim. The hot springs near the hotel are great, but take the towels from the hotel since the spa charges for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Room was spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included and cost around $30 pp and there aren't many places around that serve breakfast. The staff were not particularly knowledgeable about tours and activities around the area which was surprising as this is an entry town to the golden circle.

    Room was spacious. Although there was no kettle in the room, it was free at the lobby Location for our purposes was good - close to the secret lagoon and to gulfoss. Great ethiopian restaurant within walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced but convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That breakfast was not included but we were not told that nor was it posted. So we ate a small bite, of toast and had a coffee. We didn't eat any of the other offeringsbecause all of the food had flys swarming around it and got charged the full price of a meal which was $50

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Great overnight spot from Gullfoss to southeast coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great overnight spot from Gullfoss to southeast coast. I would recommend renting a high clearance water crossing worthy vehicle if your are going to venture off some of the paved roads.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Overall, we had a great stay at Icelandair Hotel Fludir.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner in the evening at the hotel as there aren't many options in the town, the food was reheated and didn't taste of anything and the wine list was uninspiring. Also, in terms of room facilities - there was no fridge in the room where you can keep your food / drinks cold. However, the hotel staff at reception did offer a bucket with ice for our drinks in the room.

    The location is fabulous. Parking on site was easy to access. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast had good options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    4.2
    Outrageously expensive for the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a two star hotel that was so overpriced it was unbelievable. The food was mediocre at best. The only poor accommodation experience we had in Iceland.

    Very little

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Worth the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey but then everything in a Iceland is expensive.

    Location was perfect and close to Gulfoss waterfall. We also drove to Gjain which is a hike to an amazing valley with waterfalls. Definitely recommend the hike. Hotel room is a bit dated but was enough room. Breakfast was plentiful and offered a good selection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Staff wanted to charge us for putting coffee in the car mug.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wanted to charge us for putting coffee in the car mug. Breakfast was included. Other people were making sandwiches to go. We barely ate anything due to eating restrictions but for extra coffee it was $5.00!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Expensive stay for an average hotel - but location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were not the most friendly or helpful. They did not seem very interested from start to finish and mechanically went through the process with little to no conversation. With no kettle in the room, had to request for hot water from the bar which they obliged. No shower partitions or sunken shower area in the bathroom so after a shower, water is pretty much all over the bathroom and quite messy. Products in the bathroom was L'occitane which was nice.

    The hotel was perfectly located near a gas station and a supermarket . Secret Lagoon & the greenhouses was a 5 min drive away. Ethiopian restaurant Minilik is 500m away , again very convenient. Bathroom opens into a a small sit out , which is faces other cottages and a hot tub. This set up would be ideal for viewing the northern lights in winter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Best Center to the Golden Circle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ....

    We stayed at this hotel because it is close to the Golden Circle. We were hoping to watch the Northern Lights, but guess we were not lucky enough. :) No regrets. The trip was enjoyable. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious, odor free, double glazed windows. The beds are so comfy. The breakfast is good but nothing fancy. The internet was a bit slow. But hey, who would want to work online while in such a beautiful town? :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    we saw the aurora right from the hot pool in the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our only "big" hotel (as opposed to small family run cottages etc.) in our 12 days trip in Iceland and we have to admit it was the most unpersonal of all our hotels that we stayed. The waitress was not particularly friendly during our dinner and honestly the food was not that great and definitely not worth it the expensive (more than average for Iceland) prices. When you take a shower the whole bathroom will be flooded.

    we saw the aurora right from the hot pool in the garden. So we were really lucky and the hot-tub itself is amazing. Rooms are very spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    5.0
    Good stay, clean hotel, Poor Morning Staff, very poor food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was below average, breakfast was a rip off and the morning staff were rude, staring at guests and maybe not the best people to work in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.9
    great hotel at the middle of the golden ring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms had no view. it fell like a chian hotel, witch is not cool in a uniqe place like Iceland

    the hot tub are great. the view is amazing. and the stuff where so nice, they call as in the middle of the night to tell as to go out and watch the northern lights!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    I would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding area turns out to be the greenhouse growing center of Iceland so there is a lot of light throughout the night. So if you are looking for total darkness to see the night sky or northern lights this may not be the ideal location.

    The rooms were very nice and the inner rooms open directly on an interesting central courtyard landscaped with volcanic rock that includes 2 hot tubs. The hotel is also very close to the Secret Lagoon which was definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi no good - low powered restaurant expensive dinner finishes at 9pm, too early

    super quiet location big rooms bed with beds joined properly so that it actually felt like a double bed hot and cold water had no 'geothermal smell'

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liked everything....

    Great Hotel! Wonderful location. Clean, comfortable and spacious room. We had a room with a door directly connecting to the garden and hot tub. Enjoyed the tub in the evening watching the northern lights :). Specially appreciated staff asking at check in if we wanted a wake up call to see the northern lights. Thank you!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Watching northern lights from the hot tub. NBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Watching the northern lights while sat in the hot tub. Going to the Secret Lagoon which is FAR better than the Blue Lagoon and right across the road from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    6.7
    beautiful modern small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    limited choice in the restaurant : pricey too hotel is 3 star and 100kms from the city but was same price as city hotels

    beautiful new hotel. everything clean and new. double bed was two singles pushed together ( normal in iceland) but at least had one undersheet joining them

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much heat in room! We couldn't figure out how to lower it.

    Staff was friendly and helpful...ambiance restful...loved the door leading to the courtyard in our room. Breakfast not fancy, rather substantial and tasty

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    10
    South Iceland hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light in bathroom was poor. Shower was fine, but Americans might be put off by the small stall shower. No firepaces anywhere, would have been nice.

    Breakfast was good, complete. Room was large, comfortable. Lobby sitting area was pleasant. If you want to see the Golden Circle sites and not do the big city, this is a great central location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    other customers were quite noisy but that's not the hotels fault.

    Room was clean, bed was comfortable, hot tub was fantastic, staff was very helpful, dinner was great, there is nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.3
    The staffs were very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area didn't not come with the barrier to keep the water from wetting the whole bathroom floor. The noises when other guests opened and closed the door can be heard through out the night because the place was made of wood. The wifi disconnected itself sometimes.

    The staffs were very attentive. The bed was comfy and all but there were some flaws.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.8
    Meh. Fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly just a generic hotel, strange art choices in the rooms, expensive (but all of Iceland is expensive). Location near the secret lagoon was all I really cared about

    Really nice soaps/shampoo etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    !st time in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a quiet area at this time of year with not much to do so a car is a definite. No in room tea making facilities.

    The hotel was comfortable, stylish modern and was never cold, nice staff were always on hand to help. Meals were plentiful, breakfast was a feast with a great choice, for dinner there was small but very nice menu,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, but the hotel is a little tired and could do with a refurb. However, we barely spent any time there - we checked in, went to the Secret Lagoon, and only returned to sleep! Breakfast the next morning had a good selection.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot. Had to open the back door and leave it open to let some air in. Staff misinformed us about breakfast being included causing disagreement at check out.

    Geothermal hot tubs are great- probably reason we booked it as one of our stops. Little shop across the road for convenience. Breakfast is nice- but not worth 5000! (Is anything in Iceland worth the price charged?!)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    7.1
    Overnighting on the Golden Circle - 2 Rooms at the Icelandair Hotel Fludir
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel decor was dated. Rooms were comfortable but the furniture was dorm like. The wi-fi was unreliable as it worked in one room but not the other. The restaurant menu was very limited and pricey. It was like a 3 star hotel trying to be as 5 star.

    The beds were comfortable and the location is very good; it is very close to Gamla Laugin, which was the reason we stayed in Fludir. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.4
    Room was quite big and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you use the hot tub in the backyard there is no way to close the door to the apartment because there is no key for the door and you will not get back in if you do. The staff doesn't seem to interested in the guests. There are some parts of the room which need to be refurbished.

    Room was quite big and tidy. Free hot tub outside from which you can sure see the wonderful sky if you're lucky with the weather.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    Great stay on the Golden Circle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great welcome at reception when we arrived and we weren't shown to the room and had to work out where it was ourselves. We were advised at check in that we didn't have breakfast included but when we checked out apparently it was. Breakfast was great but we would have planned our day differently if we knew.

    The location was great and the room so comfortable. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Back door to Hot tubs in back courtyard (even though we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starter at dinner was extremely expensive (though that's Iceland for you).

    Back door to Hot tubs in back courtyard (even though we didn't use them). Radiator positioned under hand towel rail (sounds basic but not all places do this) and receptionist/ waitress was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful location, close to Pingvellir/ Geysir/...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside hot pools did not have lights on in order to access at night, which comes early- dark before 7pm.

    Wonderful location, close to Pingvellir/ Geysir/ Gullfoss and an easy drive to VIK the next day. Excellent dinner/ breakfast was substantial. Reasonable rate for a very expensive Iceland. Good WIFI connection/ TV via satellite. Very friendly/ helpful staff. Very comfortable clean bed/ room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.6
    Poor booking system and charged for a 2nd person staying in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See comments. Badly worded booking policy. Either its a double room with 2 people staying or its a twin for 2 people or if you are one traveller you charge a different price. Dont hide behind 1 person does not eat.

    Care when you book here, I booked a double room for 2 people and when I check out am advised that the booking is for 1 person and an extra charge is to be levied. So why does the system ask for the names of 2 travellers ??. In addition I paid in March 2016 and then after my stay in Sept 2016 they charge my credit card, refund it but I have to bear the exchange rate fluctuation which goes against me. I have spoken to Booking .com about this and told it is standard procedure, but out of 7 different hotels booked for this trip 2 have the same policy and 5 were spot on. Come on make it simple and show the actual price dont hit me for extra fees when I leave. Poor way to run a booking system, the others got it spot on. If I say 2 people staying I also want to feed both people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there for 2 nights and were pleased. No faults jumped out at us.

    Hot tub and courtyard were very soothing and pleasant. Breakfast selections were very good and very tasty. Desk staff and dining staff were very friendly and helpful.Lobby seating arrangement was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    5.4
    Outdoor hot tub was fantastic but the rest was unimpressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too hot and it was impossible to cool it down without leaving bathroom door open to the courtyard. Room window was too small for ventilation.

    Favourite part was the outdoor hot tub!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.3
    Quiet Location - nice rooms and courtyard garden, breakfast expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not included. It's really expensive as an add-on and there isn't an alternative in Fludir (the restaurant across the road is for their guest lodges only until 11:00). On our first morning went for Skyr from the supermarket and ordering coffee (very nice) from the hotel. When we returned for a 2 night stay we drove to Selfoss (30 minutes) and headed for Guðnabakarí - a great bakery (and we visited lots of bakeries in our two weeks) for Snudir and coffee (free refills). If you get a package including breakfast at a reasonable price then grab it! We stayed there for three nights in total and really enjoyed it so the negative is really a "be aware" and make sure you get the best deal you can. If our stay were typical you won't get any cheap deals - the hotel was full for two of our three nights (though didn't feel busy) as coach trips use it as an overnight base - I think they get the outside rooms without direct access to the courtyard garden.

    We really liked the Icelandair Hotel at Fludir because it gave us what we wanted in most respects (it was our seventh hotel in Iceland on this trip). The people running the hotel were brilliant at telling us what we could do in the area (we had no idea about Gjain and Haifoss - 4x4 only for both). The rooms are in two columns on both sides of an inner courtyard garden and if you have a room facing inwards you have a separate door from your bathroom giving direct access to the courtyard with it's two small hot tubs - we loved this as no one else were using the tubs and we could relax after a long days hiking. We ate in the hotel one night and the food was absolutely fine - burger and fries reasonably priced (for Iceland) and great; fish was fine. The rooms were typically Icelandic (i.e. normal ensuite hotel room, little worn at the edges) and the price typically high for this part of Iceland compared with West Fjords and north Iceland. Why stay here? Fludir is very small and a really quiet location with a very small supermarket across the road from the hotel and an Ethiopian Restaurant (really enjoyed a meal there). We picked the location as we were coming off the Kjolur route from the north and wanted somewhere quiet as we knew the south was a much busier touristy area than the north and West fjords. For you it may be because it's an easy drive to Geysir / Gulfoss and slightly longer drive to Gjain & Haifoss (4x4 only) and then on towards Landmannalaugur (4x4 only) all three of which were brilliant . It's also a quick drive (for Iceland) to Selfoss where there are supermarkets and bakeries (sit in) for a relaxing lunch and stocking up on supplies. If you're looking for somewhere buzzing with night life then don't head for Fludir. If you're looking for a quiet location to relax with the hills and mountains in the background then Fludir is a great place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    4.2
    This hotel needs to be renovated and updated to this day and age
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old hotel, seriously needs an update to this modern age, outdated bathroom, expensive, breakfast not included in the price plus breakfast was very poor (barely any choice, bad quality bread...)

    dinner and the view from the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old. Hot tube is small. Very hot in the room when sun is shining ( bad isolation). Attention for late arrivals: restaurant close at 9, shop at 10.

    Breakfast is very good. Nice hot tube area with lounge seats. You can enjoy your picnic there or a after dinner drink. Very easy and uncomplicated. Restaurant in the hotel or a nice one just opposite the street.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    6.3
    Overpriced for what you get...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was way over priced. I ordered stuffed a chicken salad. It was maybe the size of a side salad in Canada, and had 6 tiny morsels of chicken on it (maybe 1/4 of a chicken breast). For breakfast you must stay in the eating area. You can not take anything back to your room or they will charge you extra for it... Kind of a rip off if you ask me considering the price of the rooms and selection of food they offer. There wasn't a coffee maker in the room either so if you take your coffee to your room, you get charged more. The beds were not comfortable, and the room seemed to be very dated. The pictures on line do their job by making the hotel look better than it actually is.

    The hot tubs were nice, and the hotel was not very busy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect base accommodation to nearly all Icelandic attractions on the south
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location to main attractions (Landamannslaugar, Geysir, Gullfoss, Pingvellir etc) evening jacuzzi under the sky

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Stylish and clean room Good breakfast Tasty dinner Perfect staffs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Unless you have a meeting at the hotel or in the area, look for something closer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really out of the city. There is absolutely nothing next to it. Luckily we had a car rental and could go to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very clean and quiet room with amazing outdoor hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice room with a great hot tub right outside the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    People.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows extremely soft. Would be great to have an option!

    People. Food. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel good lcoation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay for visiting golden circle attractions.Secret lagoon about 5 minutes walk away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a bit harder

    Good choice for breakfast,tenderloin of beef was delicious,very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Private Hot Tubs are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel with hot tubs! Nice breakfast and view in the morning. rooms are started to get renovated. We liked the hotel garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    By far the worse Icelandair hotel ( I was in almost...
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    By far the worse Icelandair hotel ( I was in almost everyone). Old building, not welcoming staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Passages were so noisy, woken up by other guests

    Clean, nice sized room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Very tranquil, quiet & relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too expensive for selection available

    Very tranquil, quiet & relaxing. Loved the hot tub outside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    Hot tubs, central location, good beds, fast WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee machine or water boiler in room. Dated bathroom.

    Hot tubs, central location, good beds, fast WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Hot spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle to boil water.

    Hot spring

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    NICE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EXPENSIVE

    NICE PLACE QUIET

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Great location on Golden Circle and for the Secret Lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely expensive. No kettle in the room, would've been nice.

    Room was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Favorite hotel during my 3 night tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 of the hot tubs working, although we spent mist of the time in there alone

    Great location for northern lights and hit tubs are great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location, very near secret lagoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets are abit cramped

    Good location, very near secret lagoon. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    2.5
    The photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and the staff were very rude. Tried to make us pay for things included in our booking. Do not book this hotel.

    The photos

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place near secret lagoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 hot tub was out of order.

    Hot tub, rooms with garden doors, comfy bed

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Icelandair Hotel Fludir traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: