Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. Reykjavik Greater Region hotel reviews
  4. Reykjavík hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Grand Hotel Reykjavík

Reviews of Grand Hotel Reykjavík This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sigtún 38, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#47 of 80 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1140 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2019

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was very expensive, one night the only dinner option was a buffet that cost around £60

    Beautiful hotel, gorgeous and spacious rooms. Fully staffed 24 hours

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    Great place to stay at, and the location is exellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad do say about this hotel... not a fat chance..

    Truly a quality hotel in every way. Good location, great staff and the rooms superclean and nice. I'd recommend this hotel with my friends any day... This time I did not get to eat the breakfast there, but it is always nice to do that and the quality of the breakfast is always perfect.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    7.9
    Nice but away from downtown
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You will end up paying 40 Dollars extra per day if you want to do anything downtown! There is not much around the hotel, however the shuttle service is very limited (only 4 services during the day) and one way!! I don't know why there are not more frequent shuttles and why they don't return you to the hotel. This imposes taxi fares which are really high (at least 20 Dollars each way for a 5-minute ride downtown!), and almost forces one to have the expensive (yet good) hotel breakfast while there are many nice choices in the town.

    There was a mix-up about the reservation and whether breakfast was included. The staff were very helpful in getting us complementary breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2019

    10
    Due to high winds our 1 hr layover turned into a 3 nights stay in Iceland. The staff at The Grand Ho
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to high winds our 1 hr layover turned into a 3 nights stay in Iceland. The staff at The Grand Hotel were AMAZING, so kind and helpful, and the room was beautiful. Our stay here definitely helped make a frustrating situation as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    10
    We really loved this hotel and stayed one night and hoped to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium View Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really loved this hotel and stayed one night and hoped to stay the next night but found out it was fully booked so went to an AIRBNB for 3 days. My son wanted to come back here for our last night, he loved the breakfast. We were happy to stay here and it is a beautiful hotel. The stained glass in the lobby is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    7.5
    Good hotel close to the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub was a bit small, but the shower was good.

    Very good hotel with good location, although not quite in the the center of the city. The staff was very friendly and the room was spacious with good amenities.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    10
    Everything was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was superb. The breakfast had the biggest range we've ever seen. We were in one of the "basic" rooms, nothing basic about it, great size well appointed and we didn't need bigger. The staff were always very polite and very helpful (a very special mention for the overnight reception team who were amazing). Probably the best large hotel we've ever stayed in. Do be aware that all Icelandic bathrooms have a sulphurous smell, this isn't bad drains it's because the hot water comes straight from the thermal springs.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2019

    10
    Cool
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When I first got there my room wasn’t ready and I been had asked them to have it ready cause I was getting off a 7 hour flight and my time difference was off and I need rest.

    Everything about the place they do everything and the ppl there r nice.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2019

    7.9
    Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The spa is not included in price which is not transparent on web site, and closes to early at 7pm. Breakfast was fine.

    Rooms comfortable, loads of hot and cold water from tap

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    10
    Cleanliness, friendly staff, hotel couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything! Our stay was brilliant!

    Cleanliness, friendly staff, hotel couldn't do enough for us - this was a honeymoon trip and they made every effort to make it special. Spa was immaculate and a joy to use. Hotel room was spacious clean and very comfortable!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2019

    7.1
    Good enough for purpose
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking took amazing long even though everything had been pre-booked for our party. You even sent me a welcome mail before arriving.. As per normal in Iceland the Hotel costs are amazingly high

    Parking. Location were main reason for choice

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    9.6
    Absolutely FANTASTIC!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was close to the city centre. Also, it was very proximate to some supermarkets and i also saw a Subway nearby. This made it an idea stay for me. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and attentive. They made us feel welcome and safe. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Reykjavik. It had a lot of amenities and the rooms are very spacious.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    7.5
    Hotel was beautiful!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fire alarm went one during the nite twice which left us shattered! The next day the the fire alarm went off twice during the day also which was very annoying when we where trying to catch up on sleep!

    Hotel was beautiful!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    8.8
    Overall, I had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During dinner time the service was a little to slow. Not a lot of options on the menu.

    Outstanding breakfast, varied and fresh. Great service from the staff, very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent choice for a visit to Reyjkavik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    While it was a bit of a walking distance to the main downtown area - the hotel offered a convenient shuttle multiple times throughout the day, that was very nice. The breakfast was amazing - and not too crowded at all. The rooms were very nice, and the cleaning staff did a tremendous job every day.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2019

    10
    Everything was excellent here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was excellent here. Large breakfast with many organic options, nice variety of food at the restaurant, beautiful interior design, incredible spa and lovely, lovely people at the reception and at the restaurant. They helped us with many tips for tours and excursions. So friendly! Definitely recommend. Great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable beds! Location was close to city and excursions. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. The ground floor was very nice and modern.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    10
    Staff where wonderful and very helpful with sightseeing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Staff where wonderful and very helpful with sightseeing and very informative especially with the Northern lights . Rooms spacious clean and comfy. Mini fridge.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    6.7
    The service for dinner was very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service for dinner was very bad. Waited 20 minutes to be given a menu and and still half an hour after nobody had come to take an order not even a drinks order. Had to leave the restaurant without any food.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2019

    7.1
    Nice facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not sound proofed at all. Could hear the residents above us all evening. Shuttle bus only goes into the city but does not do a return. Also runs from 9-5 every two hours.

    Nice facilities. Spacious rooms. Reception was helpful and 24hours. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2019

    10
    The breakfast spread was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have to say my only complaint has to do with we had to change rooms I had requested a double room and received a single bed but it was fixed quickly without question.

    The breakfast spread was amazing. There was many choices from fruit to meat choices and a variety of local cuisine.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2019

    9.6
    We'll be back!! Next time we'll ask for a room with a view of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One if the main bathroom lights kept going out. Sad

    Loved the hotel , very nice and staff were exceptional. When one of our excursions was canceled the staff helped us plan a wonderful and memorable day around Reykjavik. Thank you!!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    9.6
    I'd definitely stay again. I very much enjoyed my time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    I loved everything about the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was a great size and the beds were most comfortable. The location was spot on! I can't speak highly enough of the hotel and I have trouble understanding why it only has a 4 star rating.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    The hotel was an excellent base for a very enjoyable 5 day stay in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing that we needed.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They hired a car for me and advised on places to visit and where to eat. The location gave easy access to the city centre by foot. The hotel is also on the bus route to the airport. I enjoyed the use of the gym. The meals in the Brasserie was excellent as was the breakfast. Overall very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    The location is close to the sea and not that far from city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some old accumulated dust I notice by the frame of bed 🛌 that was the only thing which I didn’t like. Overall 👍

    The location is close to the sea and not that far from city center . The staff were all friendly. The cocktails at the bar fantastic .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    7.1
    Breakfast buffet is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar menu and room service menu could provide more options. It was also very expensive for what it was but that is Iceland! Room was clean but bed could be upgraded and bedding was pretty old. A few hairs were on the bedding.

    Lobby is fantastic, free shuttle to the city centre, staff were great and best thing is the breakfast buffet, this is amazing and so much choice! Bathroom in the room was fantastic too!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.4
    The price of the wine at the hotel bar is acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow is very dirty, they don’t change it everyday. Breakfast is not included although I paid more than €300 per night. The reception is too busy, kept me waiting for a long time. Nobody answer the room service call. The window can’t be fully closed, the sound of wind blowed into the room every night.

    The price of the wine at the hotel bar is acceptable

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.3
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was OK, but for the £340 per night charge it did not match Sheraton Hilton or W hotels I've stayed at in the past for service.

    Generally the staff were very pleasant considering the hotel was very busy at this time of year.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.9
    The facilities were modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was fairly removed from most shops and restaurants. It was about a 20-40 minute walk to the main downtown area. The beds were very soft which may suit others, but our backs hurt a bit the next day or two. The breakfast buffet my husband ate was about $30.

    The facilities were modern and clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit further to walk to centre but offered a free shuttle service every day.

    Superb room and breakfast was excellent. Lovely views across Reykjavik. Spa was lovely. Staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    7.1
    Your average hotel with a great entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is quite transnational and in a rush, not very helpful. The house cleaning staff knocked our door at 8am then opened the door without even giving us a chance to reapond...The whole bathroom smells like sufher even when we use cold water, and the bathtub is clogged.

    The hotel lobby/entrance is beautiful; the location the great and convenient

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    8.8
    I would definetely recomend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water in the shower was a bit smelly; the breakfast could be longer than till 10 am

    The bed was very comfortable, good size of the room ,excellent breakfast-wide vatiety, good coffee from the coffee machine, free parking, helpful staff at the reception

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.1
    Overall, a great stay in Iceland with Grand Hotel due to the staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not like the shuttle service, they only have 4 a day which go to the centre but no return service and at inconvenient hours.

    Two members of staff on reception called Melania and and a french lady were absolutely brilliant, aesthetically pleasing hotel and the room facilities are great!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.5
    It’s spacious and a little further from the noise of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing struck us.

    It’s spacious and a little further from the noise of the centre. It’s a Tours pickup hotel. It’s comfortable and easy access to the centre by foot or the free hotel shuttle

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.8
    We didn’t realise that we would have to pay to use the pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t realise that we would have to pay to use the pool, sauna and steam room on top of paying for the room. The hotel also isn’t central- a good 30-45 minute walk from the centre which is a long way when it’s so cold

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    7.1
    Our bedroom looked out over the reception area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bedroom looked out over the reception area. This meant we heard absolutely everything that was happening down there. From people coughing, sneezing to the louder guests having a drink. This really effected our sleep as it went on to around 1am then started back up around 6am when people were leaving for trips. Also on the days we were there they had Michael buble on repeat very loudly around 5pm-10pm which was irritating as when we were trying to relax in our room all we could hear was him. Brilliant hotel, I’d just make sure to book into a different part to avoid the headaches caused by lack of sleep and buble.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    10
    This is a fantastic hotel to stay at for a short stay in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shuttle did not have a pickup when dropping off in town.

    Everyone at the hotel was very helpful. It was very easy to ask questions, get a cup of coffee, get an alcoholic drink, and they even had free water and biscuits available. Also, Beau, a Concierge was extremely helpful. My disabled daughter is an avid supporter of Chelsea FC and there was a picture on the wall of Eden Hazard with a member of staff, Johann Sigurolason, who was in the picture, He gave me a copy of the picture which I have had framed for my ecstatic daughter. Excellent customer relations. There is a shuttle which takes you into town during the day.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    10
    My stay at Grand hotel was a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff were so helpful. Location was great too which made it easy to book excursions as picking up from the hotel was never a problem.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet didn't work well in our room. Common areas were fine but we were at the end of the hall and barely had a signal. Thankfully we paid for mobile internet with our car rental otherwise we would have asked to move rooms.

    Beautiful hotel with comfortable, modern accommodations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't like that the front desk person told us it was free to park downtown after 4pm. That is not the case. We received a parking ticket. It is after 6pm that is free. We felt like the front desk should have known that.

    Everything was great! Very clean and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    Grand Hotel, Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is about 2.5km away from the city centre and while there is a free shuttle ferrying guests down, you’ll have to make your own arrangements to get back

    Rooms and facilities are really good, so is the food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    7.1
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor above our room was a dance floor I think. I don't want to be a kill joy and enjoy a good party myself but the night before we were due to fly out on quite an early flight,there was a disco or karaoke on the floor above, until about 1am. We were not aware this was going to happen. At £500 for 3 nights and no food with the booking, it wasn't too fun then being kept awake. Other than that lovely place. We would've like a slightly better stocked fridge, even just a couple of bottles of waters, especially as the water isn't drinkable from the sink due to the sulphur smell but understandable I think. Other than that it was a real treat.

    The location was good. Easy to get in and out of Reykjavik driving. About 40min walk out map app said from the harbour etc but good amount of parking so was easy to drive. Lovely vibe in the hotel and the one time we ordered room service, the burger tastes incredible. So good!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    Lobby area was lovely Beds comfortable and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • External View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the prices I expected a little more had to pay extra to use the spa facilities which I wasn’t happy about considering the price I paid for 4 nights £744. I understand paying for treatments.

    Lobby area was lovely Beds comfortable and breakfast was very good. Housekeeping were great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 143 needs the fridge / noise fixed. Room service kept walking in for cleaning checks (very proactive but perhaps that's down to the fact that I didn't put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. Suffice to say, a knock will do though in future - just in case I was out of my element, luckily I was always fully clothed!

    Ambience in the hotel was zen, the staff were very accommodating and welcoming upon arrival and through out our stay. The room initially allocated to me was on the 1st floor, next to the restaurant (wasn't a problem, but there was a noise coming from the fridge - impossible to relax through it). I raised a complaint at reception, and was promptly moved to a better / quieter room. Staff were deft and readily available to answer queries and make recommendations. Enjoyed breakfast thoroughly, a nice selection and spread to feast on, and staff were available to ensure guests were attended to and tables cleared. Had dinner in the restaurant at night as well, some delay in getting the food out but enjoyed my meal...I went on the Northern Lights, Golden Circle/Secret Lagoon tours, rounded off with a visit to the Blue Lagoon - they were all awesome and took some otherworldly pictures and videos...so, it was always nice to come back to a clean/cosy room after an adventure filled day. Overall enjoyed my stay!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff very rude and unhelpful ( day staff ). Private functions were very load until 1am and rooms had to be changed. Room services was not cleared from room for two days, shampoo and soaps not replenished.

    Bar and restaurant staff very nice and food in restaurant great,

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.2
    Really good hotel, the staff is fantastic, the receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location 5/10, half an hour walking from the centre,and taxies really expensive, but they provide a free shuttle to the centre 4/5 times a day

    Really good hotel, the staff is fantastic, the receptionist : Justyna,Birgur and Bibi were perfect, and really helpful. Room really clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.5
    The hotel itself is big.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is quite far away from the city center. It takes nearly 40 minutes to walk there. It was quite exhausting because it was rainig all the time and very strong and cold wind during my stay in Reykjavik. The room window did not face the street but the hotel hall. This has involved three inconvenience. First, the room got wet after a shower as the window did not open. Second, it was impossible to air the room (need a breath of fresh air in the morning). Third, my visit came on the weekend and in the evenings I had to listen to music downstairs, shouting and loud laughter of the guests who spent time in the lobby. The price is extremely too high for such quality.

    The hotel itself is big. The room is big enough for a comfort stay. Nice breakfast. It is possible to book any excursion right in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    8.8
    Almost perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location. A bit far out. There was not anything else I didn't like.

    Everything else: décor, layout, the spa and the great professional staff. Dinner was fantastic and there was a great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    i would come back to the same hotel should i return to Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    nothing - maybe a long walk to city in freeze and windy weather!

    everything! from friendly staff to cleanliness. buffet breakfast is excellent and they also provide variety of food for gluten free

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    2.9
    Parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rude staff, uncomfortable beds, smell of the showers and water, loud, no natural light, couldn’t open window, overlooked reception, heating in room too hot and controls didn’t work.

    Parking on site

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel if you many excursions round reykjavik planned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air con didn't work in our room and was constantly set to 25.9c. The air con panel appeared to be locked. No milk for making tea or coffee in the morning.

    Everything else at the hotel was spot on other than what was mentioned in the not so good comments.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    This seems to be a newer hotel with modern decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This seems to be a newer hotel with modern decor. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was helpful. The location was great for our needs and the price was much better than several other hotels of similar stature.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel, lovely furnishings, comfortable bed and bath...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was stiflingly hot and we were unable to modify as it overlooked the atrium and the windows were not adjustable. Also the water in the tap was so HOT that I brushed my teeth with Coke because I couldn't use the tap water. No matter how I angled the faucet lever, the water was burning hot... In sharp contrast to the room we had as travelers with the Colette group earlier in the same week.

    Nice hotel, lovely furnishings, comfortable bed and bath arrangement, fine breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Room was spot on and replenished every morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative was the spa was extra cost and was very expensive for what it was. And on one occasion we struggled to get a table for breakfast. Also had a grand piano in reception and when went to have a tinkle on it got told off as it was only for decoration!

    Room was spot on and replenished every morning. Taxi service was very quick. Bar area was spacious. I would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great hotel and the massage at the spa was fantastic We had a smorgasbord evening meal at the restaurant which was delightful thanks to an attentive chef.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    3.8
    I don't like being lied to and deceived and this hotel seemed to experts at that!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we're on a honeymoon and booked the junior suite, furniture was scruffy, dressing gowns had holes in them, bed was advertised as double but we got two twin joined together, and jacuzzi was spewing out rust, so naturally, we were disappointed and asked to reduce our stay to one night from two and pay as such. the manager at reception said that would be no problem at all, so we proceed to book to stay in another place and the next morning, Greta (the manager) said you'll be be charged for 2 nights as your booking was non refundable and was made through Booking.com, She mentions that the Grand Hotel can't refund anything unless authorised by Booking.com and says it was our fault and that we should have known , She does so in a condescending, sarcastic tone. An approval was received from Booking.com a few days later, this was communicated to the hotel, which they failed to acknowledge even after reminder emails. I would never stay their again and would not recommend it, stay at smaller boutique style places.

    Spa was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.1
    we had to change rooms, the first one had a drain problem in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had to change rooms, the first one had a drain problem in the sink and was really hot the second room was much better some staff was great, but one lady in particular just didn't care

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    9.2
    A very pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really.

    Our two rooms were very pleasant and well equipped with comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. The breakfast was superb with an excellent choice of juices, cereals, fruit, nuts, yogurts and a large selection of hot dishes. We particularly liked the organic section.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    9.6
    Quick check-in, great breakfast, 3 huge double sized beds in family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late in the evening, too tired to walk out to grab something to eat and didn't want to wait for delivery. Would have been nice if there were more choices of food from the little kiosk to just grab and go. Hotel is about a 15 min walk into the center of town.

    The hotel stay came with a pretty awesome breakfast. Catered to many varieties of palates. Specifically got the kids up to eat it :) We loved the modern crisp look and cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.8
    Food was generally good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    confusion over the rooms allocated . attitude of some of the staff . for example the safe was locked from a previous guest . Two members of staff came to fix , both failed , said they would be back no one ever came back or

    Food was generally good . Some members of the staff were helpful some appeared not to care . location is a way from any points of interests and you need taxi to get to the centre at around $25.00 each way

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.7
    Just Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, had to drive into the city area which was a pain because a lot of the roads get closed for events and then it is almost impossible to find parking.

    The room was a good size however smaller than I thought.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.7
    Fine, would stay there again but not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to wait in a que for 40 minutes to check in. The que extended through the lobby and almost out of the hotel. Having a broken foot and standing on one leg made this wait harder. Of course that's not their concern but being understaffed is. Did not expect to have to que for that long, never had to do that at any other hotel before. And paying 1000kr for delivering food up to the room is laughable. Delivery cost when ordering from restaurants in the city is cheaper.

    Hotel looks good and rooms are fine. Although the windows are pointing into the hotel and there was a wedding on the other side. Bit uncomfortable to have a whole wedding party outside your window. But you could close the blinds but the room was very dark with the blinds closed. Overall not bad, but expected more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2018

    9.6
    It was good value with helpful staff. I already want to go back to Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a little far from the town center but there is a free shuttle that will drop you off downtown. You have to find your own way back though. It's a pleasant walk or you can get a taxi back to the hotel.

    The breakfast buffet was included in the price and it was very good. A great selection of good food. We found a good restaurant nearby that was recommended by the hotel staff and was reasonably priced. There is also a cafe in the nearby botanical gardens that was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.4
    Unhealthy food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bakery chef, who can not distinguish between vegan and dairy/gluten free diet. He is clueless about labeling the ingredients of the food and bad educated in his answers to your legitimate concerns.

    Front desk people are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    Grand Hotel. A great place to stay in Rejkevek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tower View Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great, nothing to dislike.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. They all made great recommendations for places to eat and see. Great location. It was a very nice walk to the downtown, a bit long, but very pretty along the ocean with sites to see along the way. It is THE major hotel in town so all tours and transportation has door to door pick up and drop off. Morning buffet included was excellent. We were very pleased with our stay at the grand, and would definately stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.2
    Atrium view room was very nice (a bonus during the summer is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was busy! We might have just caught it at a bad time, but it was really unexpected.

    Atrium view room was very nice (a bonus during the summer is there is no midnight sun trying to peak through the blinds) Otherwise it was a very nice hotel. Breakfast buffet is large with many stations and variety of choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.7
    Nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was a bit odd and located way too far from downtown. I was ten minutes over my check out time because I had been ill in the night and a young man on staff came to my door and rudely said, you need to leave, you should have been gone ten minutes ago. No concern what so ever in fact, gave me quite an attitude.

    The breakfast was nice as were the bartenders.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.5
    The accommodations were clean and comparatively spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had an “inside” room, which potentially exposed us to all the hubbub in the reception area, but the hotel did a good job of buffering the noise.

    The accommodations were clean and comparatively spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    6.5
    Clean, restaurant available. Location just okay. Not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not ideal. Cot was uncomfortable

    Hotel was clean with restaurant available. They did not have our reservation correct and we had to pay to have a cot in the room so the 3 of us could use the suite tigether. The cot was extremely uncomfortable. Hotel location was just okay. Not within walking distance to many things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, clean, Nordic style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They did not provide the room pre-booked (with large bed, king size) Very minimalistic in terms of room equipment (no shampoo, body lotion etc ) you need to bring your own...

    Good location, clean, Nordic style

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    we were kept waiting in the hotel when we arrived to check...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were kept waiting in the hotel when we arrived to check in for several hours due to our rooms not ready which was most frustrating perhaps the hotel might want to look at this ongoing problem

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.8
    Ability to park a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price we paid I feel the bathroom was horrendous. Our bed was also two single beds pushed together with seperate bedding. For a couple, a standard king bed would’ve been preferable. Our room was on the lobby level, which was not mentioned in my booking. I would recommend booking a room higher in the building if you value your privacy and quiet.

    Ability to park a car

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful property staff was very accommodating bar staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Further from town had a shuttle but only took you into town not back didn’t understand that when booking

    Beautiful property staff was very accommodating bar staff very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.1
    OK, but to expencive.
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do not like the prices. IT is only two words for that, RIP OFF. For this price I could stay in a luxury hotel anywhere else in Europe.

    Good space to park outside hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.1
    Emjoyed town history of Viking settlement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atrium View Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not in the city center. $50 cab ride to go about 10 minutes into Reykjavik and back to hotel. $300 to get there and back to airport! Exceedingly expen$ive! Shocked by bill for $200 for hotel buffet with 1-drink each

    Emjoyed town history of Viking settlement

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: