Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Álfheimar Hotel

Brekkubær, 720 Borgarfjordur Eystri, Iceland

#3 of 4 hotels in Borgarfjordur Eystri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 129 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Adequate, fairly expensive for such a simple lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have more choices for breakfast.

    This was a great town to see the puffins. The lodge is very plain, but clean. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. We also had dinner, which was a fairly good value. It was pretty simple, with soup, two kinds of fish, vegetables, salad, and cake. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, warm and would stay again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow but I usually travel with my own. Puffins had gone but not unexpected as usually fly the coop by mid August so missed out by one week!

    Hospitality was wonderful. Lovely warm, inviting place. At short notice provided dinner for us - yummy 3 course home made meal. Very hearty. Wifi good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.4
    Clean and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t designed well. The floors of whole bathroom were very wet after shower, which made the floors slippery. This is dangerous for elderly.

    Clean and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    We had a wonderful stay despite losing our debit card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The manager was friendly and very helpful. My wife lost her debit card. The manager helped to search for it. Beautiful place especially the puffins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Simple but clean rooms, and wonderful location for doing day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple but clean rooms, and wonderful location for doing day hikes. The food was excellent, which was important because there were not many options in this small town/village. The staff was excellent - really helped us figure out where to go hiking and even dropped us off at the trail-head! We had one of our best Iceland hikes here and also our best puffin viewing experience!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Short stay but worth it to see puffins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late afternoon .the location was excellent as only a very small place .room was good size and comfortable the restaurant was an excellent choice good fresh cooked dinner and breakfast was good Staff very friendly and helpful as to where to go and when to go to see the puffin birds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Part of the 94 is gravel road, so when we arrived it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the 94 is gravel road, so when we arrived it’s already passed the check-in time. But the staff is still waiting for us. She also helped us check the puffins on the cliff. And gave us useful information on when and where to see those cute creatures. The room is spacious and clean. The breakfast is simple but freshly made. We would like to be back and stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Kindness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was tasty, but when we arrived we were informed that the restaurant was closed. Finally the owner/manager cooked for us: as I wrote, it was very delicious, but no menu "à la carte" was present. Since we booked and paid the dinner in advance, it was the only thing but totally fair.

    Kindness of the staff. Room was cozy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place for relaxation and hiking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That was a trip to the middle of nowhere. Just imagine that you drive for about 40 kilometers by unpaved road thru a couple passes and stay in a town with population of 60 persons. Yes, sixty, not 60 thousand! There is no even grocery store in the town but you feel comfortable and get whatever you need in this hotel! For dinner we got a delicious local fish Keila cooked by the owner. That was awesome. When you get sick and tired by big cities, traffic jams, lanes in supermarkets and restaurants, just go to this place and relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Would recommend to anyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. They provided many great suggestions on sites to see around the area as well as information about the town. They also provided suggestions on sites to see along our next route. The views and sunset were phenomenal! We got some fantastic photos and made lots of great memories here. The room was great! Beds were comfortable, we had a great view from our room window. And the shower! It was amazing!! It was our favorite part of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    We loved our stay and got to see puffins near by.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything.

    We were there in the off season and the local resturant was not open. We brought food but the host fixed us dinner and breakfast. The food was fabulous. The host was friendly and helped us locate the family farm in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was situated in one of the most northern villages in Iceland. We went over Mt. "Karatras" (LOTR pun intended) to get there. Through snow and ice, it took us a long time. It WAS worth it though. Friendly stuff, tasty breakfast and extra spacious and clean rooms. A MUST visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    We were the only ones in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff when we arrived. We had to phone the owner on a phone behind the desk. No refrigerators to store food in in the rooms.

    We were the only ones in the hotel.and a cat that loved there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The place to be in Borgarfjordur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just need to add a few bedside lamps and it will be perfect!

    Our host: warm welcome, lots of suggestions & travel tips, and the wonderful dinner masse just for us although we were the very first guests of the season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Clean and friendly guesthouse with good home cooking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mid sepember seems to be a little late to visit this area TEmperatures 3-5C and strong winds when we were there

    Owner was super helpful. Good evening meals. Great area for hiking. Simple basic clean accommodation and good home cooked meals

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice place for peaceful stay
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening dinner-buffet with fresh ingrediences (extra paid) and the breakfast (in price) was very good quality and delicious taste. Nice location close to the sea, beautiful view and silent place. Clean accomodation, comfortable bed and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Friendly family hotel in one of the most beautiful places of Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices are high like everywhere in Iceland

    Big family rooms with a nice view on the surroundings. The owners adapted the menu so part of our family could have a vegan diner. The little village is one of the best places we visited in Iceland. Puffins! And great hiking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Hiking and Puffin Heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing perfect. Thanks so much!

    Amazing place to stay for going to see the puffins in the nearby harbor at Hafnarhólmi and it is hiking heaven. It's more remote so despite the amount of people visiting Iceland these days there are less people in Borgarfjördur eystra. Highly recommend trail number 10 on the way out of town, and to see the puffins in the nearby birdhide early in the morning and or after dinner, it truly is puffin heaven in summer. The staff is great they will help you with anything and even showed us a live stream from the puffin birdhide to see how busy it is to plan our visits. Very special place in the world you won't regret staying here just go and enjoy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for puffin lovers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is quite small, especially when the guesthouse is almost fully booked. It's not actually a restaurant, because they had just a fixed menu (soup and fish) for dinner cooked by the owner and it's a little overpriced.

    Great place for going to see the puffins. Comfortable room, average bathroom. Nice, friendly and helpful staff. The owner has a lot of tips, you only need to ask him.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    We would recommend this welcoming place to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room next to the reception and banging door meant interrupted sleep. No hairdryer in the room meant I had to dress and go to reception with wet hair to get a dryer.

    It's hard to quantify but there's just something about this place that makes you enjoy your stay and want to stay longer. The staff are helpful, unaffected, and charming, and the interior has a tasteful modern yet homely feel. The restaurant on site was relaxing and the food was just my style. The fish was great. They looked after my gluten intolerance issues very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was wonderful.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The hotel is very clean and the surrounding area is absolutely beautiful!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    The best kept secret .. just for the lucky few
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have booked more than one night stay.

    The farthest you can get to the east of Iceland. Beautiful, serene escape to a small sea side -away from the many tourists crowding the ring road. Felt as if visiting the seaside in Doc Martin British series. The owner is extremely pleasant and welcoming, rooms are clean and adequate. The generous, great selection breakfast is freshly prepared that morning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated, wonderful place

    Great location, staff were extraordinary, they couldn’t do enough for us ,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    it was nise and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heat inside the room

    it was nise and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic locality. Remote quiet and plenty of puffins in an easy to view location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had booked because the room had a view, and initially gave us a room without one. On bringing that to their attention they gave us one.

    Locality, view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. Staff were very friendly. Included breakfast was good. We also had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice accomodation in lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice accomodation in lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The meal that the owner cooked was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal that the owner cooked was fabulous!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff was very helpfull with planing hiking trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpfull with planing hiking trip

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room, very friendly and helpful staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious room, very friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast and really delicious dinner! We'll be back some day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food is excellent. Staff is very helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Good in-house restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good in-house restaurant. Above average breakfast. Staff replied, "No problem", to every request.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place to view puffins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, nice view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for someone who appreciates nature - a little drive from Ring Road but really worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great view from the room window friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location to watch puffins up close for free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities in the room. No TV. Strong smell of sulphur from the tap.

    Excellent location to watch puffins up close for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    It is near to the puffin bird watching spot, 3 mins by drive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is near to the puffin bird watching spot, 3 mins by drive. It was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Comfortable, quiet room with a nice bathroom and lovely view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is not included, despite what guidebooks claim. Restaurant was closed at dinner.

    Comfortable, quiet room with a nice bathroom and lovely view of the hills surrounding the tiny, charming town. Friendly, knowledgeable owners. I dream of going back!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Where to start? Well,this hotel is located in one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well,I hate to say it but the breakfast was a little sparse compared to the other places I've stayed at. Nevertheless I will stay here the next time I visit this incredibly beautiful little village!

    Where to start? Well,this hotel is located in one of the most picturesque places I've ever seen!The room was the second largest during my 10 day stay in Iceland,second only to the presidential suite at Fosshotel Eastfjords,which I was lucky enough to get. Very comfortable and clean room,with an awesome shower!The view from my room was simply breathtaking!The staff was vert friendly and accomodating, pointing out the various sights around town and giving me a great suggestion on where to eat and what to order. The Alfa Cafe is very picturesque and the fish soup was absolutely to die for! Don,t pass it up!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The GPS couldn't find the place but the area was very small and we knew what the building looked like so we just drove around looking for the hotel.

    The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable of the area and available activities. The area was absolutely incredible. Best place that we have stayed at on our entire trip.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location, generous sized rooms, super clean &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Visited in low season so would have appreciated tea or coffee making facilities, even if shared.

    Amazing location, generous sized rooms, super clean & comfy and great staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice bed, very comfortable and staff really kind;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I know it's not staff fault, but road 94 is really a nightmare! Gravel and mountain.. with a 2wd is a little bit dangerous (and we were there in September, with no rain or snow!)

    Nice bed, very comfortable and staff really kind; Borgafjordur is also a nice place to visit

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Great wifi, clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot tubs like the other place in town

    Great wifi, clean, comfortable bed, good breakfast. What more could you ask for? Only place in town for rooms with private bathrooms.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except for the winding, unpaved mountain road that you have to take to get to Borgarfjörður Eystri.

    Very friendly staff. There is food, but it's not a full restaurant. There is just one guy who runs the place, and he cooks dinner for all the guests by himself. But he was very accommodating when we said we didn't eat something and everything that he made was delicious. The breakfast was also a nice variety, better than what you'd find at typical hotels in Iceland.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only the weather (but it's likely to change as it always does in Iceland).

    Location. Friendliness of staff/manager/owner. Best breakfast I've had in Iceland.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    The town was great and a fun adventure to access on a foggy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner had a set menu and there wasn't room to seat us had we wanted to eat.

    The town was great and a fun adventure to access on a foggy day. Great for puffin viewing from the shore and hiking access. The room was spare, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast at the restaurant was decent.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    9.6
    The property was charming and the staff incredibly friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The menu was a set menu for dinner so we had to eat elsewhere. The location was beautiful but a little far on the outside of town so better signs would have helped getting there.

    The property was charming and the staff incredibly friendly and helpful with recommendations of things to do and places to see. The house and room were great, very spacious and comfortable. The wifi didn't work fantastically from my bed but I assume it was because we were at the far end of the hotel in room 17. My sister sat by the door and it was no problem for her. We would definitely go back, especially if the weather had cooperated!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    The hotel was in excellent condition (like new).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was in excellent condition (like new). The room had its own private bathroom. The beds were very comfortable with fine linens. The staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    The location is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is really nice. The room had great montain and sea views. The hotel is new and it has great conditions. For the Icelandic stadards it's really good value for the price. The staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    Private bathroom with amazing showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast not included in the room rates, quite expensive at 1500 ISK a person

    Private bathroom with amazing showers. Comfortable bed and blanket. Wifi was strong enough to stream videos. Great view of Harbour and mountains. Friendly staff. Good standard breakfast with hot porridge

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Host friendly, staff all lovely, good views, great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be great to have a kettle in the room!

    Host friendly, staff all lovely, good views, great spot.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    The puffins 6km away :)
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast could have been included

    The puffins 6km away :)

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    I had the three course dinner when I got there, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had the three course dinner when I got there, the food was fantastic. A little pricy but surprisingly good.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The soup was delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing!!!!

    The soup was delicious!!!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.1
    Friendly Host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather

    Friendly Host

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.8
    Clean and simple and ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean and simple and ideally located.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    Peaceful, nice scenery, great walks around, great personnel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful, nice scenery, great walks around, great personnel and landlord with helpful advices for weather conditions, walks and other activities.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    We had the best puffin sightings of our whole trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had the best puffin sightings of our whole trip. We also saw a pod of whales as we drove in.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.5
    Nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and helpful staff. Borgafjörður is a beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    Personeel, kamer, omgeving, prijs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ontbijt was matig maar zeker genoeg

    Personeel, kamer, omgeving, prijs

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    9.0
    they give us ideas about hiking in the area according to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    they give us ideas about hiking in the area according to the weather conditions. super nice host.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    10
    The breath taking views, big comfy room and the puffins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breath taking views, big comfy room and the puffins!

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: