Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Árný

Illugagata 7, 900 Vestmannaeyjar, Iceland

#3 of 16 hotels in Vestmannaeyjar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 B&B reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the moment I arrived the owner was a wonderful host, showed me around, didn’t hesitate to put the hot tub on and overall I simply had a great experience here. The room was very clean and nice and the property is tucked away but still close and accessible to selfoss or wherever you were going in the south. Would definitely stay again and I appreciate the environment they created.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Lovely host let us see the puffin baby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was a little bit too basic... but it did the job

    Best part of our stay by far was to come across how local people who grew up there have rescue community network of puffin babies at the time of the year when we visited (first week of September). Arny the host came by to show us the little chicks which he was saving. How wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    The owner is really friendly, gives local tips and helps as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hangers in the room

    The owner is really friendly, gives local tips and helps as he can. The place is less than 10 mins walk from the harbour. It feels like being at someone's home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and quiet i
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It said breakfast was included but it was not. The price I paid was 40 dollars US more than I could have gotten it had I walked up that night.

    Comfortable and quiet i

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable, spacious, and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    We'll run, well kept place in a good location. Spacious with good facilities like the kitchen and a beautiful sun room (esp on a sunny day!), All at a fair price (better than I've found elsewhere in Iceland).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Friendly. Helpful. Clean. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was so helpful. He pulled out a map and sat down with us pointing out everything to see and made recommendations for food. We followed his advice and had some of the best meals I have ever had!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    The owner was great - we arrived without car in a rainstorm...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one recommendation that the listing describe clearly that u have to take a ferry to get here and book in advance, esp if u want to take ur car over.

    The owner was great - we arrived without car in a rainstorm and he was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Loveeee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This guesthouse was amazing! Very cute and helpful staff :) Gave lots of good suggestions and even rented us some bikes! We had an awesome time on the island! Would recommend coming to this guesthouse. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and cute! Bathroom/shower is nice and roomy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    It was a very homely guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very homely guesthouse. The beds were comfortable. The kitchen was very clean. The host was absolutely amazing. Very friendly and informative. When we could not get a taxi he even gave us a ride to Herjólfur the ferry. A very homely and friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Room was really cozy and nicely furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really cozy and nicely furnished. Everything was very clean. Probably the cleanest place I've visited. The owner was very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Offer of warm waffles on breakfast really made my day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can´t say anything bad..:)

    Offer of warm waffles on breakfast really made my day! Room was very clean and in quiet neighbourhood. Everything was close to the guesthouse.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Terrific place, superb host, great value for money - and the Island/history is a must see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was great.

    The host, Gaui, is very attentive to details and superb at making you feel comfortable. The breakfast was better than expected with fresh eggs, FRESH waffles, good coffee (better than most hotels), yogurt and all! This is a no brainer place to stay!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant owner, good location, good breakfast, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Darkening of room as usual in Scandinavia not sufficient for my taste

    The owner was super friendly and gave some tipps for local sightseeing, the place has an attractive location around the corner to the swimming pool and close to the harbor and center of town, nice breakfast with good variety and good quality, all rooms very clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly host who made us feel welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly host who made us feel welcome. The host made us waffles for breakfast and my son was so happy that he wants to come back soon. The facilities were clean and simple, nothing fancy but everything we needed. The view from our bedroom was gorgeous. I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    A very quiet, clean guest house with an excellent location for your stay on Vestmannaeyjar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guesthouse was perfect for our stay at Vestmannaeyjar. We stayed two nights, the first night we came in around 9 pm, which allowed us to spend the next day on the island looking for puffins and hiking the volcano. The host made sure that we were able to grab breakfast before we left early for the ferry back to Iceland. The accommodations were perfect, and the breakfast was one of the best that we had all week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not work but the owner was working on it

    The location is perfect; close to the harbour and the centre of the town. The guesthouse was fine, a shared bathroom but that was ok!! A bit noisy (we heard the neighbour snoring), but that is normal in such house. The owner told us about the island and gave us tips where to go. He also made waffles for breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have some time, take the ferry to the Vestmannaeyjar and stay one or more nights in this great accomodation... in short: friendly, uncomplicated, cozy, great breakfast, wonderful location in a beautiful landscape ... I would highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay. About a 15 minute walk from the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The host gave us great info for hikes and restaurants. Westman Islands were the highlight of our stay. The rooms was perfect for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay.

    Very friendly and helpful host, room big, cosy and comfy bed!!! We only spend one night there, we would have liked to stay longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice island and nice although expensive guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't feel very free, because the owner was most of the time in kitchen and lounge. Breakfast was average, expected to get something better for that price we paid for room.

    Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful Views from Every Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not a fan of sharing bathrooms, but there was one and a half and it worked out fine.

    Very comfortable, nice location with easy walking nearly everywhere, host was kind and helpful, breakfast was good in the morning in the little sunroom, there were beautiful views from nearly every window in the home.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Personal touch from host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more time to stay and explore the island.

    You will receive a personal attention from the host. Even a tour of the island and folk stories. Midnight golf amazing... had a chance to see puffins fly around when playing holes near the cliffs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Friendly host - great night sleep - Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a fantastic stay. We enjoyed the gracious host who was knowledgeable about the island. He had great dinner recommendations and suggested activities that was appropriate for myself who is 34 and for my mom who is 73. He also provides a great breakfast and the breakfast room is a very bright sunroom off of a common lobby!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    the host was very kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    the host was very kind. She shared with us stories about the island history. she also let us cooking some hours after the .check out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly host. Everything clean and the room was very cosy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Recommend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overall experience was very good. The bed was very comfortable. Gaui, the owner and manager, was very welcoming great to talk with.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Expedient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 shower & 2 WCs for all guests to share.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    The owner & his family are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was beautiful

    The owner & his family are very nice. Beds are comfortable & room very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Cute house really close to harbour with really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom on the floor and no fruits for breakfast

    Cute house really close to harbour with really nice and helpful owner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Friendly, clean and good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice. Gaui our host was very friendly and all in all it was a nice relaxed athmosphere and met our expectation. Would defenetly go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay, wonderful host, clean as a proverbial whistle. A rainbow on Heimay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal guesthouse experience. Also gave us a fantastic recommendation for where to eat lunch!. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one shower

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    cosy island stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, very sweet owner Completely new renovation of all rooms Modern shared kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay on a cute island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful

    Awesome host who gave great recommendations for things on the island! Very cute town and island

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    The owner is really nice, and he is doing a good job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is really nice, and he is doing a good job. The breakfast is really good, lots of choice to take a big breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Good beds & good breaķfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good beds & good breaķfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice guesthouse on a great little island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was friendly and made great recommendations for where to eat and what to do.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    It was close to everything, ferry and hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tacky decor

    It was close to everything, ferry and hiking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    4.6
    Nice garden in front of house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor WC and shower utilities. Very cheap breakfast, almost empty table, even though you have to pay extra.

    Nice garden in front of house. Reasonable WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Location, quietness, service, all was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The price was quite expensive.

    Location, quietness, service, all was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    Nice stay at only 1 min from the swimming pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice stay at only 1 min from the swimming pool!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.5
    Quiet and piasfull house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heat from the hestinn element.

    Quiet and piasfull house.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.8
    The hostess!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hostess! And her personal story.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    It's a nice and clean place close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast seems expensive for what is served, but it is in line with Island prices.

    It's a nice and clean place close to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.9
    Its clean,and it's like you didnt leave home because of...
    • Couple

    none

    Its clean,and it's like you didnt leave home because of the place.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46