Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Guesthouse Reykjavík

Laufásvegur 2, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#14 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1056 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    It's a clean and comfortable guesthouse in a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had asked for our laundry to be picked up and one at 8 am because we had to leave at 9:30. The staff did not show up until after 09:00 so we could only do the quick wash and then had to take our wet laundry with us to dry later. They still charged full price for the laundry.

    It's a clean and comfortable guesthouse in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Just okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was waaay too small for two people. It was also located directly above the front door which banged loudly whenever someone entered or exited. DO NOT stay in Room 11. Very uncomfortable for two.

    The location was perfect (center of town), and the beds very comfortable . Manager was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    This as an adequate place to stay for a night or two but would not stay longer. It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We never saw the hosts. Have no idea who works here. The rooms were really snug for 4 people. No place to put anything so we just lived out of our suitcases which were all over the floor. The location is very loud with busses and cars outside the windows almost all the time. You need ear plugs for sure to sleep well. Super creaky floors so you could hear everyone upstairs whenever they moved. The bathroom was not that clean.

    We liked the central location and it was an adequate place to stay for two nights in Reykjavik with kids as the city is very expensive to stay in for a family. It was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice location in Reykjavík
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have asked for a receipt under my name, I was promised to have it by Monday but still nothing. The owner lives in Colombia as I was informed by the cleaning lady (this information could be questionable though...) and there is a lag in the communication with the guesthouse.

    Location is amazing, apartment big, plenty of amenities I could definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Good place in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was fine.Very good location in centre of Reykjavik. Kitchen was large and good equipped. Room was clean and beautiful. The only problem was with a small numbers of toilets and showers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Central Guesthouse Reykjavik is a great place for a family stay in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I with tree kids (12,12,9) stayed in the guesthouse Studio 1A from 06/16 to 06/19. Studio has a separate entrance from the street and located in the middle of the town. We used it as a base while we were exploring south-west region of Iceland. Studio has everything that needed to accommodate a family of 4/5. Kitchenette has a fridge, toaster, microwave, stove, kettle, coffeemaker, pans, pods, plates, cups, silverware, etc. We had everything there to avoid spending money for the costly meals in Reykjavik. We were eating out only once a day, but you can avoid even that with well equipped kitchen. Central Guesthouse Reykjavík is a clean, modest, warm and cozy place. I would stay there again, if I travel to Reykjavík.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    We forgot to take away 3 large packages of meat, as we are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We forgot to take away 3 large packages of meat, as we are a big friends travel group , left in the fridge of their kitchen. Have send a email to ask to them to allow meat to be keep in their fridge until we come back to collect. They reply we can come to collect when we back. But when we back and find the meat was disappeared, only left one email to me and said may be someone takeaway by this day before we arrive ? ?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were too soft. Living room is not very comfortable (old sofa & quite small space).

    Very good location. All main attractions in the city are at a walking distance. Staff was very helpful and flexible, allowing us to stay around using guesthouse facilities after check out time (as we were just flying late at night).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Great kitchen, insufficient bathrooms, too much air freshener
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom situation at this place is less than ideal. There is one bathroom per floor, which was often insufficient. (Definitely do not recommend this place to anyone who has trouble going up and down a lot of stairs due to the bathroom situation and also not for people who have health conditions that require immediate toilet access). On our last day, I realized there was a bathroom off the kitchen, which would have been helpful to know from the start. There are no shelves in the bathroom for your clothes while you shower. The locks on the bathroom doors are old and fiddly, and one broke while we were there. No soap is provided for the in-room sinks. The room was scented, which bothered our allergies (it seemed like they might have perfumed it to cover up another smell). We left the window open most of the time we were there in order to try and air out the scent. Our room was a double with two twin beds put together. One of the beds was ok, albeit soft for my tastes. However, the other one was very uncomfortable. Felt like someone had done a cannonball onto it, making a crater in the middle.

    The highlight of this place is the kitchen. If you want to stay several days in Reykjavik and cook food for yourself (which is a good idea because the restaurants are SO expensive), this is an amazing place for that. The tables in the kitchen are plentiful and charmingly decorated. There are two fridges with labelled shelves so that your food doesn't get mixed up with anyone else's. Be sure to check the free food shelf in the fridge and in the cupboard under the stove! This place doesn't provide breakfast but you can probably make yourself toast and jam with the free food. Also, there is a cheap grocery store very close by. Also, the location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The room was very clean, comfortable bed, nice shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean, comfortable bed, nice shared kitchen facilities that were clean and well stocked with pots, utensils, dishes. Excellent location near the bus stop in the historic downtown. I would recommend this property!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Central. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is terrible and expensive (when parking right in front of the guesthouse). The bathroom could have been a little cleaner.

    We really did like the location, the size and the view out of our room. Easy to find and to check in. Free maps of Reykjavík (which we found very helpful). Great value considering location and size of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    A great, economical base for exploring Reykjavik, and the country beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was really nothing to complain about. Our room was quite basic, but it was affordable (important when visiting Iceland with 2 kids) so we weren't expecting 4 star hotel features. If you're expecting luxurious, top-end hotel facilities then there are plenty of other places to choose from - with prices to match.

    A great place. Clean, with good facilities and a friendly culture from staff and fellow guests. Child friendly. The shared kitchen works well, and the "leftover food" shelves where departing guests leave surplus items, can be a real help (don't worry, the staff keep an eye on this and clear out any out of date items). A cheapish (for Iceland) supermarket is nearby, and there are a reasonable number of streets around the area where you can park your hire car if required. Well positioned both for Reykjavik centre, harbour, and reaching roads out of the city for longer distance trips. The owners responded quickly to email questions prior to our visit. Photo shows the view from our room, just after midnight (taken end of May). Overall - recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great Value For Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We encountered no problems what so ever, would have liked to have met Loki or Angela but overall cant fault the guesthouse. Saturday night is party night for the locals and as the guesthouse is central expect some noise from outside during the night.

    Cosy guesthouse right in the center of Reykjavik, very clean and warm, great value for money considering the high prices for properties. We didnt get to meet hosts but check in and out was no problem. We went as a party of four so booked the studio (studio A), the studios give you the privacy and cuts your costs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Location is unimportant if the tour operators can pick up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door lock was broken, no usable electric kettle, a bit noicy at midnight as the studio was separated by a thin wall from the common room, and no responsive reception.

    Location and heating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Great location in the citi center and besides the bus...
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the citi center and besides the bus station though we dont use bus bcz in Iceland you should rent a car. Its very clean and convenient house with full of facilities. The Room is wide enough and nice. The Host is nice to help you. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Stayed here with friends and everything about this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was that road noise at night in room 6 can get quite bad. It virtually makes no difference whether the window is open or closed and it is enough you keep you up. A small investment in maybe better insulation would go a very long way here. This is my only complaint about an otherwise great stay.

    Stayed here with friends and everything about this guesthouse was pleasant. Nothing fell short of expections in terms of the property itself. The location was fantastic and the rooms clean. The kitchen was fully equipped so preparing meals was breezy. Would absolutely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in downtown, everything in walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee to be paid during weekdays and Sarurday. Airing of the room could be improved.

    Perfect location in downtown, everything in walking distance. Bright, good sized room with huge windows (you can see downtown movements from your bed).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One could readily hear sounds from the hall outside the door so the soundproofing could be improved. But in general the families/guests that were there were quite good about keeping noise levels downs.

    The guesthouse was very clean, family friendly, comfortable, and located very central in the city. The owner and staff were responsive and accommodating allowing us to check in earlier because the previous guests had already left and we had arrived from the airport in the morning. The shared kitchen was well organized and the shared washrooms felt clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice! But some improvement needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is separated from the main guest house but we still can hear noisy foot steps at 3 o’clock in the morning. That annoys me so much!

    Closed to the city centre! Comfy bed and enough equipment available in the apartment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Very spacey kitchen that allowed for every guest to prepare...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very spacey kitchen that allowed for every guest to prepare their meals without getting in the way of each other. Clean, comfortable and in a perfect location. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The best location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the room doesn’t drain properly. The tap water smells sulfure. We haven’t seen the owner or the administrator at al,. It was always over the phone.

    The best location in the city. The kitchen was the great and crucial since the restaurants for a decent meal are insanely expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Average accommodation - could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows were too high and quite uncomfortable to sleep on. Other guests were constantly coming in and out of the guesthouse making lots of loud sound with banging doors (at 3 in the morning, every night we stayed) Bathrooms & kitchen very outdated. The room we were given was very small.

    Location was good, right around the corner from bonus grocery store. Kitchen was handy to cook own meals (and not have to fork out absurd amounts of money for poor quality food in town). Communal tea and coffee, also other guests left over food you are able to eat from the fridge. Parking right out the front door, easy pay station also right out the front, £1 p/h 9-6 mon-fri or 10-4 on sat, sun free!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    From the Guesthouse it is easy to reach the city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    few sokets inside the room

    From the Guesthouse it is easy to reach the city center and the streets full of restaurants and shops. The room was very spacious with clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location and good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only minus might be, that since it is in the classical Icelandic townhouse, the rooms are a bit hear-through, so you could hear people walking or pounding doors in some cases. Also, the sink in our room worked as an echo machine for all the pipes and plumming.

    The location was excellent! Also the kitchen was great having all the supplies neccessary and the house overall looked clean and cozy. The rooms were super comfortable. And the beds!!! They are super comfortable, meaning - the noises won't bother you, because you sleep so well. Check-in and out was very easy and comfortable. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location, great value for money with super access to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Please, take away these dirty sleepers you recommend people wearing when in the building - this is not hygienic - Common bathrooms should be cleaned several times a day - all people are different and some are neat and considerate, but some are like they never used a bathroom before - this aspect of the stay was a bit dodgy and not quite comfortable

    - Location-location-location is just excellent - Comfortable rooms with all the basics you need to explore Iceland - Clean - Bus stop # 2 for all excursions is right behind the Guesthouse

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small for 3 but ok for 1 day stay.

    Staff was helpful. Near to bustop 2 and 3 which are used for pick up and drop for most tours from the city. Kitchen was spacious with books and toys for kids. Ok place for 1 day stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Attended by its owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attended by its owners. They are very friendly, they solved all the consultations and advised us on places to visit. The place is very comfortable and clean. The location is excellent, in the center of Reykjavik.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing family holiday in a comfortable and convenient place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an oven or grill to be able to cook more foods.

    The location and the convenience for bus pick ups. All local amenities very close by. Comfortable clean beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, friendly and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No freezer in the kitchen (that we found).

    Very friendly staff, excellent location close to restaurants/pubs. Easy to find free parking close to the hostel. Clean kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is on the corner of a main street. So noise is a issue. Bring ear plugs.

    Great location. Very central to all the main sites. Cute back garden that would be nice during the summer months. On street parking is available but you have to pay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    A lovely guesthouse in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location!!! Could not have been any better. Clean, nice size rooms, staff were super friendly and made us feel very very welcome. A lovely atmosphere and we would absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    beautiful old building in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beautiful old building, nice place close to everywhere, apartement has their own kitchen, clean and warm during thr winter time, view from 2nd floor was really beautiful, easy self check in, wifi works good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Central location, good for cooking and socializing with other travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building has little sound isolation, so you could easily hear other guests/staff walking in the corridor, especially in the early morning. It has just one bathroom per floor, so it's a bit difficult to use it during "rush hour". As an alternative, we found a bathroom in the kitchen (on the bottom floor) which nobody seemed to use.

    Central location with free parking from 17-09 outside. Well-equipped kitchen and large communal area for socializing with other travelers. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. There is also a nice garden and BBQ area for the summer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, clean and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Studio is in street level basement so you may get some traffic noise. Given basement location, it's best for sleeping in and then leaving to explore the town.

    Convenient location, clean and warm. Multiple beds and small kitchen area in the studio makes this an inexpensive options for families or groups visiting Reykjavik.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet and showers were combined in one space and often occupied. I think it would be better if the toilets were separated from the showers. It's never nice to have to shower with someone else's poop smell in you nose. Also I found it a bit noisy at times.

    Room was quite big and clean. Big kitchen/ dining area and a fridge you can use. Making your own meals can save a lot of money in pricey Iceland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location right in the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having our own apartment studio with private bath and kitchen was very nice. I would just say keeping it little more clean and providing extra toilet paper and paper towels would be great!

    Excellent location right in the center. Close to grocery shop and wonderful little bakery for breakfast! Staff was very nice and super helpful! Anita and her husband were so kind to provide great advice on what to do and see in Iceland and coached us on when we should be driving and when not to die to inclement weather. Thank you for having us stay at your place !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Excellent value for Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for Reykjavik. It's shared accommodation but you have a lot of privacy and the rooms and the kitchen area are very comfortable and well maintained. Very friendly staff working in the building.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Location, facilities, interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely cold room. Switched off heaters are common for Iceland, but in this place even after turning heaters on and having them run for the whole night it was still extremely cold in the morning. Staff looks unprofessional in communication, but rooms are clean and tidy though.

    Location, facilities, interior.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Perfect for 1-day stay: comfortable and clean accommodation at the heart of Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the 3-person room for €94.50/night but i ended up paying €100.30 in total. This is because the guesthouse charges in the local currency (quite understandable) but because they charge your credit card twice (1st half during booking and the other half the day before you arrive) whatever bank/credit card fees there are will also be charged twice. My fault for not paying attention to the fine print. Just be aware of this when you book your stay - maybe there is a way of avoiding this. I should note that the other 4 accommodations we stayed at during this 8-day trip charged us exactly the euro amounts stated in our original booking/reservation and 1 charged €2.89 more than the original booking price (understandably due to exchange rate and bankfees). - we could hear the cars driving on the road the whole night. Some may find this bothersome.

    In the center of Reykjavik, so groceries, restaurants, shopping area, harbor are all accessible by walking. Accommodation is very clean and noise-level inside is acceptable despite there being other occupants (it was full during our stay). Three spacious bathrooms/toilets for the entire house. Big, well-equipped kitchen/dinning area, with floor-heating everywhere (This is a very nice feature, especially in the winter - of all the accommodations we stayed at.) We got a 3-person room that was very spacious and has a sink in it (very handy). Coffee is free but you need to provide your own breakfast/meals. There is a well-organized refrigerator (each room gets a clearly marked shelf) where you can keep your food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Our stay was pleasent albeit the minor issues, the location was ideal and picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of sound proofing -noisy neighbours surrounding and above and on street sounded like they were in the same room. More entertainment available I.e. TV etc. The pillows are very poor and deflate apon contact.

    Property was clean, spacious, Included the basic amenities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    had a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    good area, cleaness, comfort and we have a pleasant stay. the check in is so easy..they already put room keys with our name near the enterence door :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic spot to stay, so close to the bus stop and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic spot to stay, so close to the bus stop and main areas. Was very reasonably priced in comparsion to the hotels! Owners were so accomodating when I had go change my booking and so helpful giving tips for day trips! Would recommend this guesthouse to anyone and will definetly be staying there again when I visit!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice, comfortable and awesome located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom didn’t have enough place for me to put down or hang on my clothes. If you drive by car you might have to pay a parking fee if you park right in front of the place; or you can just park a little far away in the near of the church, which is quite easy to access as well.

    The location in the city center was pretty perfect. The design had such a personal and lovely touch. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was big enough for many people to cook at two different stoves at the same time and was very well equipped for cooking any warm meal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Basic accommodation in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy. Our room was near front door and people stamping feet to remove snow of shoes was super loud. Walls thin! Room had no place to hang anything other than a wardrobe so wet towels just went over single chair. Simple touches like a decent lamp and hanging hooks would have made a big difference.

    Guesthouse was very central and just around the corner from the airport bus pick up point. Shared bathroom was good size and clean. Little reading relaxing space in ground floor as well if needed. Free tea and coffee in kitchen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front desk or staff to ask questions to help with the stay. They work short hours, 9-2 pm. If you are sight seeing then you'll always miss them as most excursions leave by 8:30. I didn't see them until my last day because I didn't have a tour. I felt that I was in an air bnb not a guesthouse.

    The location, the cleanliness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    In general was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little bit cold because the window cannot close tightly.

    In general was good. It is clean in whole building (even in kitchen), and the water was hot enough in winter. The kitchen was with a lot cooker can use.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location, perfect apartment to spend 4 days in Reykjavic with friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cannot think about anything. It was good!

    Location was great! Angela was really nice and helpful even before we arrived. The apartment was as nice as we expected with enough utilities to be there some days. :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.7
    Perfect for those looking for a basic stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't a reception which was fine but not very handy if you have questions about the area or like me, forgot your hairdryer! The room was fine, clean and well decorated but extremely hot as the bed was next to the radiator and it was on full blast with no option to turn down. Would be better if they switched the bed around. The room was also tiny. The space next to the bed gave just about enough room to unpack/ change but certainly not a relaxing space and added to the extreme heat. I wasn't a fan of the bathroom, it felt a bit grotty and it was tricky to get the temperature right in the shower. It's great that there is a kitchen with lots of facilities but again, a bit grotty. I'm not sure I would have cooked in there.

    The location of this property is amazing, it's extremely central and just a stones throw from the main street. Nice touch of asking to remove shoes and slippers to use instead! Lots of helpful flyers on entrance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Walking distance from everything in Reykivuk
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ideal if you are looking for some place quite. We didn't mind as we picked a downtown place to experience NYE not to get sleep ;)

    Central to everything. Stayed on NYE and could walk to the church and see fireworks from our window. There were treats left for all the guests in the key boxes and even thou it was self check in someone made sure to knock and check in with us that everything was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.7
    We wouldn't be likely to stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our experience was disappointing in several ways. First, no one greeted us at any point, we just got an email with the door code and then a key with our name on it was hanging just inside the door for our room. The room was freezing cold when we arrived and never got even moderately warm, because the heater didn't go past 3 (and geothermal energy makes heating very inexpensive). My husband basically didn't sleep the first night because he was too cold. We asked a cleaner the next day about getting the heating fixed or having more blankets, and someone brought us more blankets. Lastly, we never received any checkout instructions, which isn't a big deal, but added to our feeling of a lack of care and effort on the part of the owners.

    The location was excellent--right around the corner from bus stop #2, within 5-10 minutes walk of everything you want to see or do in the city, and within 5 minutes of good places to eat (cheap & expensive), and the guesthouse was nice overall.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic guesthouse in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was really friendly. The rooms have a useful sink and towels are provided. The kitchen is really well stocked and had a nice social area and tables. We’re really pleased and the beds were super comfortable - it’s in an extremely good location too - easy for day trip pick ups (bus stop 2) and walking to the Main Street (3 mins)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location and lovely clean guesthouse with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't a reception area so we never saw any members of staff. This was only an issue for paying the outstanding balance as my two friends wanted to pay this when we arrived. The payment was instead taken out of my bank account (as I had made the reservation) which was unexpected and I had not been notified of this.

    Lovely and clean with a great shared kitchen area. Room was nice and spacious and handy to have a sink in the room too. Great location and easy to walk to key areas in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Well situated accommodation, very friendly owners that will go out of there way to help you. Ideally situated for the bus route (2) Value for money !!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    A happy introduction to Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Angela was a delightful host - friendly and helpful. Beds were extremely comfortable. Kitchen was spacious and easy to use. Superb location. Would stay here again when I return to Reykjavik.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic guesthouse, easy to find, awesome location right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic guesthouse, easy to find, awesome location right by the Pond and central Reykjavik - lots of restaurants/bars nearby and local shops to buy breakfast and lunch, fully equipped kitchen means you can save a little bit of money. Parking immediately outside on the street - its about 100kronor for 40 mins or free parking a few streets across. Bus stop 2 is outside which is a pick up point for a lot of trips. Clean Toilets and showers on each floor - each one only shared by 4 or 5 rooms. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    We ill be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Private bathroom but we knew we needed to share when we booked and everything was incredibly clean.

    Light, clean and incredibly friendly and helpful hosts. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Loved it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was one of the more tiny ones not pictured. But we barely spent any time in there so not a problem plus for the price you can't complain!

    Amazing location. Great communal areas and well looked after.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    This was ideal for an overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for 4 people (all adults). Also it was not ideal to have a shared bathroom.

    Location is great. Kitchen was lovely and very handy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Lovely 😍😍
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really great hospitality,the owner help us a lot with the informations,meeting new people from all over the world. I really high recommend this place,near to city center and easy for everything. 😍😍😍😍

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Clean, quiet, great staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and friendly and accommodating staff. Clean, comfortable, quiet but very close to downtown Reykjavik. I will stay here for sure the next time I visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of everything. Example coffee $6.00 a cup

    Don’t expect normal facilities . Room just two twin beds and very small sink. Shared bathroom with three other like rooms. Iceland very expensive. Having said Thai, it was worth the money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable room, big cozy kitchen, central location, amazing hosts! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are a bit small, perfect for 1 person but a bit congested for 2. The bathroom is shared but that is mentioned clearly so it comes down to preference.

    The location of the property is amazing. Right at the center and the bus stop right in front is a pickup point for every possible tour. The hosts are very friendly and have maps and pamphlets to help plan your trips. The kitchen is a big boon as food in restaurants in Iceland is very expensive. Loved the cozy setup in the kitchen where we always met fellow boarders and had nice conversations. Absolutely recommend this place to everyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    The owners were so freindly and the kitchen area was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were so freindly and the kitchen area was well stocked. People had left food they had brought so there were plenty of spare things to eat in the guesthouse. The guesthouse really is central to Reykjavik in the middle of the old harbour and the church at the top of the hill! A top location and a fantastic place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description wasn't accurate. No TV or Toiletries in the room, and no lake facing view. This didn't bother us, but the description should be accurate.

    Great location. Warm, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfy, cozy, guesthouse within walking distance to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is at no fault to the property, but there was construction going on right outside our window first thing in the morning on weekdays. Would have been nice to know about this.

    Keypad entry made it really convenient (didn't have to search for keys in my purse in the cold and dark). There was a nice kitchen with space dedicated for each room. Staff came to clean the house/rooms every day and if you were there they asked if there was anything they could do/provide. Very friendly. It was also really close to everything in downtown Reykjavik.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff at check in.

    Great location. At the edge of the old city, near the lake, easy walking all around. Crowded shared bathrooms. Comfortable room. Location is what makes it a good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Walking distance to everything in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was not too comfortable and i didn't like that there was no staff to talk to during the day.

    Really good location! We booked the Studio A. Good place to stay if you're not gonna do much more than sleep there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Clean and safe place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We love our room. It was a shared bath room but it was ok. The wash room was clean. The Kitchen was clean and you are free to cook your food. Angela was a great Host. Thank you. You were so kind to us. We used the Grey line bus from the airport. Get off on stop 6 and only 5 minutes walk from there. The guest house is in the center of the city. The lake is infront of the guest house. The location was perfect. We will come back and we highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    really nice clean apartment (studio A), private kitchen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you can hear all noise from the street, if you go by car, it'll be really difficult to find a place to park your car

    really nice clean apartment (studio A), private kitchen (with free coffee and tea) and bathroom (with hair dryer), entrance from the side of the building, check-in can be later than check-in times, you'll get instruction to get your key, great location in the city center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location - close to centre of town and to the National...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quiet when I was there, but could be noisy if fellow travellers aren't respectful.

    Great location - close to centre of town and to the National Gallery and walkable to National Museum & bus station. The owner was friendly and helpful and seems to be there every morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Location was great (right in downtown Reykjavik) and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only metered parking, but we only had to go a couple blocks to find a place.

    Location was great (right in downtown Reykjavik) and the staff was super friendly. The room was decent sized and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    I would stay here again anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all!

    This is a great place to stay. The location couldn't be better, the hosts Angela and Loki were friendly and accommodating, there was free coffee, kitchen usage. I would highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud guests next door, as the walls are thin and there was a lot of noise from the city such as road work at midnight. Location is close to everything but that also means it's loud. Also be aware that when you book in Canadian (booking.com) it will be converted to Euro and then to ISk krona. So when it's converted months later, depending on rate, it could be a much higher price than you committed to when you booked.

    Location was good. Close to everything including Bonus supermarket. Fifteen minutes from the bus terminal. Was able to checkin early which was a awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Odor, maybe sulfur(ish).

    Great location in Reykjavik and had shared bathroom/shower on each floor. Room was small but comfortable. Note that the kitchen is in the basement. Check-in is a breeze with the supplied code to enter the building. Right near restaurants and shopping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got in with a code because of late arrival, all good. The next morning we met one guy who was working there, first thing he shouted was to take off our shoes (sorry dude!) second thing was that they already charged our card and we were aloud to leave.

    The rooms where clean

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Central Guesthouse Reykjavík traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: