Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Keflavík 2 stars

Vatnsnesvegur 9, 230 Keflavík, Iceland

#25 of 27 B&Bs and Inns in Keflavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 561 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom (next to the kitchen!) was unappealing. It still had wet towels from other guests and didn't look recently cleaned. We left without using the shower.

    The buffet breakfast across the street at the hotel was generous and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt that the receptionist at the hotel got a bit rude one they found out that I came to stay at the guesthouse and not the hotel. Not sure why though.

    Everything was good and clean. Good place to rest for the night for few hours if u have a flight early next morn. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, the door could not be fully opened.

    Basic room with access to kitchen facilities. Great breakfast in the hotel on the opposite side.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening, straight from the airport. The reception is at the hotel across the street from the guesthouse, so we went to check-in over there. The lady at the counterwas very nice and offered us a free upgrade to the hotel, which we accepted. So I can't say anything about the guesthouse, bu our experience was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like - it was truly amazing!

    We booked the Guesthouse opposite the hotel, and received a free upgrade to a lovely hotel room. Couldn't have asked for a nicer finish to a wonderful holiday trip to Iceland. Unfortunately the bar/restaurant of the hotel was undergoing renovation works, but the helpful and friendly staff recommended the most amazing cosy little bar around the corner, where we had some delicious cocktails at very reasonable prices. The breakfast at Hotel Keflavik is outstanding! A culinary delight with plenty of options to choose from. I highly recommend staying at this fantastic hotel. Thanks to everyone there, who helped to make it memorable to us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived it stank of fish everywhere, we went into the guest house and decided we wanted to leave and find somewhere else to stay but the hotel upgraded us to a beautiful room in the hotel for nothing.

    Pretty hotel, nice breakfast and good gym. We seen the northan lights from our room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet and shower facilities but this seems to be standard in Iceland.

    Guesthouse off of a lovely hotel with nice reception and Restuarant. Does have a spa but didn’t use it. Guesthouse has a kitchen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered a room with shared bathroom in the Guesthouse Keflavik but when we arrived the nice surprise was awaiting for us - the room was upgraded to the double room in the building of Hotel Keflavik (located opposite to the guesthouse). Great breakfast, clean bathroom and location near the centre of the town (not far away from the airport too) makes Hotel Keflavik really comfortable place to spend the night or two while your stay in Iceland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet and shower room dirty, kitchen dirty, other guest’s dirty clothes on shower room floor, curtains no where near the window so all light got in, walls incredibly thin so kept our 3 year old awake when other guests came in late, door across the hallway rattling/blowing in the wind all night.

    The location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in room 103 in the guesthouse who know was the smallest room by far. The door would not open all the way because it hit the side of the bed and the closet could not open all the way without hitting the bed. The other rooms seemed larger, asked about an upgrade, the additional price was 50 USD a night.

    The breakfast buffet was great. Lots of choices, buffet staff was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not honor the booking. I had to argue when we arrived to get a room with a single bed like was booked, then when I checked out they overcharged me, told me the price on booking.com wasn't how it was done there, and I had to renegotiate then and there because I refused to pay $20.00 more than I booked the room for.

    The breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are understandable small, but my door did not even fully open due to the bed. Worked OK for a simple night before departing from KEF.

    Check-in was simple, staff were great, breakfast was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative

    Very good location as this is near to the airport (and Blue Lagoon). We didn't hear any noise from the airport, rooms are well equipped and comfy. Staff very nice and helpful, check-in and check-out fast and simple.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking it wasn't clear that we were booked into the guesthouse across the road from the hotel. In the guesthouse you share bathroom facilities which was fine as we arrived late and were leaving early the next day - just somewhere to put our heads down for a night. However if booking again I would want to be in the hotel which had much larger rooms than our little box - the only place to put our suitcase was on the bed.

    The breakfast is amazing! Beautiful presentation and wonderful range of hot and cold food. The best breakfast we had on our 6 day journey round Iceland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mold on the ceiling and the ceiling got damp. The communal table to eat was right outside my room which wasnt appreciated when drunk guests came back at 2am and decided to have a late night snack and sit there talking. It was a very stormy weekend and the door on the room opposite was gusting against the door frame loudly most of the night.

    Great location, friendly staff, great coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Received a free upgrade from guesthouse to hotel, which was very stereotypic (in good meaning) nordic hotel, breakfast was super. Very good hotel for the price, would suggest when arriving late or leaving early through Keflavik airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the airport, found with ease, parking was free and although we were booked into the guesthouse we were give a room in the hotel at no extra cost. The breakfast was the best we had during our week long stay in 6 other hotels/guesthouses

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing :)

    The guesthouse is located opposite the main hotel building. Our room No. 105 was equipped with two bunk beds, table with chair, and a wardrobe, and with large on-wall TV. It was clean, with nice carpet, and perfectly functioning central heating /out stay - January/ :) Other facilites of the guesthouse includen hall with table and chaurs, shared bathroom and kitchen with all you need for a stay - cooking plate, dishes, microwave oven, fridge, wash mashine... We appreciated everyday room service and supply of clean towels. You will find there all you need! Reception staf fis very friendly and helpful. Breakfests were supreme!!! We can only recommend this facility!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think there was an issue with the restaurant during our stay but it was no issue for us as we had intended eating out, other than that no negatives what so ever

    We were upgraded to the main hotel after booking a room in the Guesthouse across the road, nice surprise and a great finish to our holidays in Iceland. Very nice upper class hotel, great location for catching an early flight next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit far from the city

    Good breakfasts, so close to the airport, they have a very good deal with the tours, people are very helpful and friendly, and the gym is really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to the 4-star hotel in front of the Guesthouse, where the breakfast was happening. The room and installations were amazing, the personal helped me to get a new toothbrush since I forgot mine, and the breakfast was complete and delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we went to check into the Guesthouse, as we were checking in the receptionist told us that we had been upgraded to the hotel for free. Our stay in the hotel was amazing, all the facilities were top notch and the breakfast was outstanding!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is out of this World! If nothing else you need to stay there for the breakfast. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. You are a block away from a very pretty harbor. I would stay there again 100% for sure!!!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt actually stay in the guesshouse as We were given a free upgrade to the hotel. The hotel was Amazing. Very close to kef airport. Only 10mins by car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got a free upgrade to the hotel right opposite the guesthouse. Seemed like the guesthouse is not very operational during low season, but we were more than happy to be upgraded. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    upgrading and breakfast from 5 a.m. on as flight back was very early we had time to enjoy the buffet

    Guesthouse was closed so we were upgraded into double room in Keflavik Hotel 4*

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all...

    Excellent accommodation. We had got a free upgrade to hotel room with bathroom. Excellent and very tasty breakfast. Low price comparing others around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    need shuttle to/from airport

    i was very impressed with my stay at guesthouse keflavík. there was nothing "budget" about it aside from the price. good location, close to airport (tho the cab fare is still fairly hefty ~$30). they upgraded me to a deluxe suite (from my $60 standard room). and the free breakfast is as impressive as everyone else has mentioned.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit small and noisy, which was the people in the other rooms. We did not rent a car so we used the city bus but it was a 15 minute walk to the bus stop.

    The included breakfast was awesome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delicious breakfast. We lucked out and had booked the guesthouse across the street, but when we arrived, we ended up in the hotel. We picked this place as we were only in Iceland for 24 hours and wanted to be near the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We had booked a room in the guesthouse across the street but at the check-in we got an upgrade to a hotelroom for free. The location near the airport is also very nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was awesome. The staff gave us the opportunity to upgrade us at the hotel which was really nice and cozy. Definitely, was the best beginning! What to say about the breakfast..plenty of many options to have..delicious:)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated furniture

    BEST BREAKFAST ever, super delicious! Got upgraded to the opposite sister hotel instead of the guesthouse which is terrific! Spacious and clean room, comfy bed, free coffee/tea facilities in the room as well as in the lobby. Great value!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was next to front door that banged each time it was closed. The stairs up to the entrance were quite high which would be difficult for someone with a heavy case.

    Breakfast. Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet did’nt clean everyday.Our first day is clean but the rest of 2 days there are bras and panty hanging inside the bathroom and the towels didnt change.Place is not recommendable because when we arrived it smells fish outside in the main door and the receptionist said it is normal is that area.Seriously?And we did’nt inform on the details of the booking that it’s a sharing toilet anyway.Toilet is disgusting already on it’s second day.

    Food is good for breakfast.A complete set of menu breakfast.The desk receptionist on our last day was very accomodating since she helped us to print our flight tickets

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, although only 4.9 km from the airport, cost $30 in taxi fare to get to. The guesthouse offered airport transport for the same price for two, which seems an outrageous price for the distance. The price of the lodging was also high for what it was, but all of Keflavik was very pricey

    The breakfast buffet was the best part of the stay. Good variety and quality with plenty of coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was that the room smelt of cigarette smoke.

    The best thing was the breakfast. The breakfast was the best buffet breakfast I have ever had. So many options and really fresh. The room itself was in a smaller building opposite the main hotel. The room was quite small and a little dated but perfectly comfortable. Lots of parking and close to Airport. Perfect for a early or late flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very rude and didn't gives us the remote or internet password when we check in. When I went back to ask for it she acted like I was asking for a huge thing and didn't even spoke to me, only made a disgusting face. The room is very small for the price and is truly like a road motel, but the cheap kind. Also the mattress were terrible and broke. The wifi didn't work properly inside the rooms.

    The only good part is the breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi in the guest house never worked, felt a big let down. Guest house is on first floor with no elevator, so you need to haul heavy luggage's like what we had. Rooms are small, barely enough for four luggage. Receptionist was not very friendly.

    Breakfast at the opposite hotel is the highlight.It starts at 5 am and in fact it opens by 4:50 am itself. Breakfast spread is so exhaustive and is one of the best I have seen in Iceland. This is the only point which makes it a value for money proposition. This place is around 6 kms from airport, so it is a 15 to 20 mins drive. There is a small shared kitchen with Tea and Coffee facilities and a shared refrigerator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the size of the bathroom, if was small even by European standards. Plus private bathroom. They had the slightly annoying put your card in the room or you don't have power card holders.

    This review is on hotel keflavic, we were upgraded so there is a plus! The rooms were pretty decently sized and overall quite good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kitchen was really underequipped. I didn't mind as I was just staying one night before flying out, but for travellers staying longer that could be a problem.

    Very convenient location for access to the airport, much appreciated in case of an early flight. The breakfast buffet starts at 5am, also super convenient. Incidentally that breakfast buffet is awesome, best I had in Iceland. Overall it is good value, the prices are quite decent, and the rooms are reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very narrow space with limited sharing facilities. OK if you just need a bed to sleep, not recommended for those who ask for more.

    Breakfast is fantastic! Must try! Varies choices with good taste, this is the best hotel breakfast I had in Iceland, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shuttle service, you have to pay a taxi (fix price of 2500isk) even if another hotel guest is Taking a free shuttle (shuttle is included when booking a hotel room not guesthouse) at the exact same time

    Good location when coming in late or early flights. Great breakfast and gym access included, which is good when you have an hour or two for spare before the flight . Good facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no sink in the room. We had to wait for the toilet facilities to be free, as well as the single shower.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff cordial. The dinner very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big disappointment was that the hotel is advertised to have a spa, but it's actually a gym with a sauna. The rooms were ok, but everything felt very budget, especially compared to the hotel opposite. Next time I would consider staying in the hotel instead. It's a good place to stay a night before or after a flight, but for a longer stay I would prefer to stay closer to Reykjavik.

    Breakfast was amazing, probably one of the best I've had. It started at 5am, which was great cause we had to leave for the airport at 6am. Even this early the breakfast had a lot of options from pizza and pickled herring to cornflakes and cakes. The Guesthouse had a small communal kitchen if you like to cook for yourself. The staff was really friendly and helpful and booked us a taxi for the morning (about 10min ride, costs about 3000 ISK). There is also a public bus (no 55) going from and to the airport and stopping 10min walk from the guesthouse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    great for budget travelling, simple but for one night more than enough comfort, close to the airport - whole night there was a noise from arriving guests :-(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfornately, there was mold in the corner of each of our rooms (we stay two separate times) and mold covered the bathroom ceiling. It was also very warm and stuffy as we couldn't open our window thanks to two of the biggest, grossest spiders hanging out literally right on the outside of the only part of the window that opened. There's also a very tall staircase outside to haul your luggage up and no place to put it once inside. These rooms are definitely built for backpackers or one person.

    An awesome breakfast is included at the main part of the hotel across the street. There's also a great kitchenette next to the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like a wet dog/dirty clothes. It was dingier than a Soviet-era dorm room. The two bathrooms BOTH ran out of toilet paper. The pillow was absolutely useless. I wouldn't have minded this room if I had paid $30 for it--I would have recognized that I was saving money and getting what I paid for. But I paid $140 for it! I will not use Booking.com anymore--I would have expected better quality control!

    Guesthouse Keflevik is across the street from fancy Hotel Keflevik and to check in, I had to go to the front desk at the hotel. The staff there was friendly and helpful. The wifi was fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guesthouse had shared bathroom facilities and good kitchen. It was a typical guesthouse, but we got to use the facilities of the hotel as well. The hotel's breakfast was astounding! Reception staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and when the staff came to clean the shared bathroom they only put a few paper towels in the dispenser.

    Location is good And the breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We only needed a place to sleep before catching an early morning flight the next day. Great to have a shared kitchen in the Guest House part. Very basic but all we needed. The breakfast (in the Hotel part) was very very good. It also opened at 5:00am meeting the needs of early morning travelers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping in a barn would have been a better experience,believe me! The room was small,dirty,ugly,too much lighted during night and FAR TOO NOISY (phonic isolation ZERO). Bathroom was shared and was smelling bad,the small one. The big one had water on the floor because of a guest who took shower before me. Early in the morning I had to pay for the taxi who took me at the airport,while the guests who slept in the hotel (and slept therefore in much better conditions than me) didn't have to pay for the Taxi because the hotel payed! How unfair that is!!! I definitely don't recommend this property. It costs a fortune and offers NOTHING!

    A decent breakfast in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place for early morning flight. Would stay again. Checkin at reception in hotel across street was very pleasant. 5AM Breakfast across at hotel is good. Hotel shuttle is not included in the cost for the guesthouse, unless specifically stated. Taxi could cost 3000 Krona - but double check. A few of us cooked a meal in the kitchen - it was OK, I did wash everything before hand as the kitchen was a bit messy. Overall a positive experience. Airport was a madhouse at 5:30AM, and we needed extra time as the Iceland Air bag tags fell off while in line, but nice staff sorted us out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. After we got stuck with a $61 taxi fare from the airport, our room was occupied. even though it showed we had a reservation. No more rooms for that night. But wait, someone didn't show up last night for a suite. You can upgrade to it at discounted rate of +$30 a night. WTH? You give away my room, and don't have another one unless I upgrade? It took two days to sort out, but a staff member finally agreed to rate at which I booked original room. 2. Told at airport to take taxi to hotel and hotel will pay, so we did and ran up a $61 taxi fare. Only the ride TO the airport in a shuttle van is free for guests. Take a local bus and save a lot of money. 3. No rooftop hot tub for all guests. 4. If you arrive early, breakfast is $50 per person for about an $8 meal. If you leave early, before 5AM, no included breakfast for you.

    Very quiet place to sleep off overnight flight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy (thin walls) and there is only one toilet for about a half-dozen rooms. Small beds. The kitchen is too small for a table, so you have to eat in the hallway, and when other guests cook it fills the entire floor with smells. Dingy and tired decor.

    Very close to airport. Easy parking. Excellent breakfast (included in the fee) at the hotel across the street. Lots of pillows in the closet. Comfortable (for us) beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was filthy and smelly. It looked more like an hostel than a guesthouse. The floorplan comprise a small common room with the kitchen and five bedrooms have doors directly on the common room, therefore there is no privacy at all and it is extremely noisy during the night as people leave for the airport very early in the morning. You will get no sleep. Only one shower for five rooms. The common areas should be cleaned at least twice a day, instead they are barely cleaned in the morning.

    Easy to get to the airport in the morning

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tiles in the shower, I was scared all the time to slip and fall and break my hip. The beds was very low. The sightseeing tour was a little bland compared to the description (very good marketing or maybe too good!).

    The cleanliness and support from staff. Great breakfast buffé

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints at all, everything was amazing!

    I highly recommend this Hotel, the location is close to the airport and you can walk to downtown Keflavik, the room was very clean and the breakfast buffet is outstanding! The check-in was fast and the staff is very friendly and helpful, I could even upgrade to the beautiful hotel! Location is close to the Blue Lagoon, they offer free airport shuttle and they even offer early check-in and late check-out. The hotel was the perfect choice for my last 2 nights in Iceland, I really loved the room and I will definitely be back on my next trip :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bonus of having breakfast was amazing! So delicious! We arrived after our flight at 1:00 am, and check in was no problem at all. Simple and close to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wifi Working in the guesthouse. Guests had to walk across the street to use it. Walls are thin. Some other guests were up late packing.

    Great location if you are going or coming from the blue lagoon or airport. Great breakfast. Kitchen was useful. Two bathrooms was nice!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One shower between 5 double rooms

    Arrived into KEF around midnight, hostel was a quick 5min taxi ride and easy to find. Check-in at the hotel across the street was quick & simple. Room was clean and cosy. The shared shower, when available, was hot and powerful. Just what you need after a long flight! The breakfast was the real highlight though, seriously delicious and probably the best you'll find in Iceland for the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small, it felt stuffy. It looks smaller than on the pictures.

    Good breakfast with a wide selection in the hotel Keflavik opposite the guest house. Close to airport, very practical specially if you are arriving like us very late at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in Guesthoust Room #103, Room is very small. It is on the second floor without an elevator, elderly may have a problem getting up. The light in the room produced an annoying buzz continuously. The bedside lamp is not plugged in, as a matter of fact, there is no outlet for it at all! There are six rooms up there sharing one bathroom, and the wall is very thin. We heard people using the bathroom, coming and going all night long and did not get any sleep at all. The door locks are very loud. I would suggested to spend more money and stay in the hotel part instead. They are the same establishment.

    On the hotel side, the Front Desk Staff are friendly. Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems our door was left open after staff came to provide new towels. This was concerning as we had items of considerable value in the room and it would have been easy for someone to walk in and take something

    The breakfast was amazing. Was concerned there would be competition for the shower but it was always available when we wanted it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I checked i was first sent to a room with four bunk beds, I complained and was then moved to a room with two single beds. The room was freezing and the knob on the radiator wouldn't turn

    Excellent gym on site and great smart tv in room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one shower for all the rooms, the heating in our room didn't worked Overall it was quit nice

    The bed was comfortable, breakfast in the hotel was nice, only 5km from the airport

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guesthouse is poorly constructed: the radiator was next to my head, so I burned myself several times during the night. The windows were beating constantly, and the conditions of the common areas were terrible.

    Breakfast: It's the only reason to go to the guesthouse

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was wonderful and reception was very nice and helpful! It locates pretty close to the airport, one petrol and one shop. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was more than helpful, we got a free upgrade without asking :) , the general atmosphere was very welcoming and calm, the breakfast was very good - we will come back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in Room 128 which is no elevator can reach it directly, must go downstairs by hand carrying big luggage.(it's not a problem if don't have big luggage)

    (1) Location is good, close to the Keflavik airport. It takes about 5 minutes from airport to the hotel(Guesthouse is in the opposite just cross the street). (2)Bed is very comfortable, we had a very good sleep. (3)Breakfast is fantastic! various of hams, bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit...etc, they even serve pies and cakes !! yummy! (4)Staff is friendly, we were late check in at 1:30 am due to flight delayed, the receptionist is waiting for us with smile, and we were lucky to upgrade to hotel room instead of guesthouse originally.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient hours of breakfast (from 5 a.m. to 10 a.m.). Very tasty and varied breakfast (in nearby four star hotel). Very good location (close to an international airport).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not able to check I early which was VERY disappointing since our flight arrived at 6am. They wouldn't let us check in until 2pm!!! Yikes!!!

    Great breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought we were booking into a family run bed and breakfast but this is actually a part of the Keflavik Hotel. It is just an old building bought by the Hotel to house extra guests when the hotel is fully booked. The room is old although clean. The shared bath is insufficient for the number of people booked into this building. It is noisy as you would expect given it is primarily for people wanting quick accomodations for the airport. People are coming and going all night so doors are being opened and closed, people are clanging about with luggage and cars, taxis and buses are in the street all night. Dinner at the restaurant, like all restaurants in Iceland, is overpriced even though the food is fine. There is absolutely nothing in the neighbourhood to do.

    The free breakfast was much better than expected and was actually very good. Much better than what you would get at a similar hotel in The United States. Given the price of food in Iceland, this was a real treat. The location is very practical for those arriving or departing at the airport and who need a place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were supposed to be in the guest house (owned by the Keflavik Hotel), when we arrived there, it was 2 bunk beds so I asked if we could be upgrade into the hotel, the receptionnist found one room inside the nice hotel and we didnt paid anything extra. The breakfast was amazing, so much food, good and fresh

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room walls are thin, and beds are inconsistent. I get that it's a guesthouse, but the pillows were like pieces of wonder bread, torn up, then placed in a cotton sack.

    The breakfast is from 5-10, and it's in the hotel across the street. Parking is handy, and it's very central to all things Keflavik. It's also about 8 minutes away from the airport, so it's great for the night before if your flight out is early. The common fridge is large, and has a freezer as well, which is a nice touch if you have a cooler.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guesthouse Keflavík traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: