Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Pavi

Brautarholt 4, 105 Reykjavík, Iceland

#57 of 58 B&Bs and Inns in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2029 hotel reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noisy guests arrived late in the night and someone even tried to open our bedroom door. But all this is not the guesthouse's fault.

    Good location. The girl that received us was very friendly. We stayed in a different location, just a couple of minutes away, and she drove us there. We liked that the house had a small kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi didn't work in the room so I had to sit in the corridor to surf the internet. Check-in may be a little bit inconvenient, since you have to call them up, but for us that was smooth since our check in and check out times matched well with their requirements.

    The room was well heated, bathroom was spacious and clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    We had three nights at the Pavi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No television, but the walls are a bit on the thin side. so probably a good idea

    We had three nights at the Pavi. Great location, comfortable room, excellent value in Reykjavik, and friendly staff. Would stay again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    value for money this is the best place we've stayed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    value for money this is the best place we've stayed in Iceland. It is cheap, clean. good kitchen, friendly host and a big room it is true that you have to call before you ariive since thr host is not there at night overall i highly recommend!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cheap guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait 15 minutes while the receptionist was coming to give us the key.

    We found the guesthouse very nice, especially after 10 days living in tents :) Was nice, and relatively cheap with respect to other places.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.0
    Bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They send us to another place, a basement. Sheets are dirty, toilet is dirty, they even write the words very unpolite like: if the customers leave later than xxx, we will charge you xxx, if u lose the key, u have to pay xxx. I have to say the cost is lower than other hotels, but the room is still not worth that money. Definitely not recommend.

    Location ok

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Close to Hlemmur bus station, hallgrimskirkja and main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside is very debilitated. General “seedy” feeling. Communal staircase is dirty. No lift. I didn’t realise there was no communal kitchen. So no cooking facilities. The nice man who let me in, did give me a kettle. Had to place it on the floor and use tooth glass. No lift, no bedside lamp

    Close to Hlemmur bus station, hallgrimskirkja and main shopping street. Good swimming pool, 5 mins walk away. En suite was functional. Water was hot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Stay for sightseeing Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel located in the city center of Reykjavik, close to attractions. Nearby is Bonus and other shops. At the corner Coffee Roasters. What is important, the hotel is super clean, shared bathtooms are brand new and all the time checked and cleaned. The Room is spacious, with bery good heating system.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    Not a hotel, no staff to help, no luggage storage options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luggage storage facilities, pillows and sheets were uncomfortable. We had to take our luggage with us all day until 3:20 when the person finally showed up to let us in.

    Location is pretty good, right near a coffee shop.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Good place for a cheap night
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was little, they were still painting the room next door so it smelled a lot, but that's something temporal.

    Hot water was great, and we did not use the kitchen but It seemed fine too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    room space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no soap/shampoo upward incline for those with luggage no elevator check in was the worst experience, there is no on site clerk. they are managing this property as a part-time job. many were left outside to the cold weather till the clerk arrived and opened the door for the check-in.

    room space

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Room with private bathroom was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at the property at around 4pm. Check-In is from 3pm. The property was locked and we had to call the number provided at the door. The person responsible for checking in the clients was in charge of multiple guesthouses around the city. She arrived at the property within 15min and was very friendly, though.

    Room with private bathroom was very spacious. Location only a few minutes walk from the city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Close to downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nobody in the property, the only way to contact them is by phone(additional problem). Check in is apparently at 3 pm and there is no way to come earlier and leave your luggage there(you have an information sheet on the door that says go to bus station to leave your luggage. We were calling them several times in order to check in before, but they insist being at 3pm. However, I told them Well be there at 3pm and nobody comes.A bunch of people waiting on the street with the same issue. We need to call them again and wait till a friendly girl came. We checked in at 3:40pm. Not coming back!!

    Close to downtown area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    We are pleased to remember the days spent here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked the location. Guesthouse is located close to the church - one of the main attractions of the city, to the ocean. The room clean. The room has everything you need to stay in Reykjavik for a few days. We felt we were welcome guests here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    very payable for Reykjavik with private bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the wifi does not working. Without a kitchen or we did not find it.

    Very nice, clean room, huge bed (although by reservation was requested a twin room), wonderful private bathroom, close to big city bus station Hlemmur (2 min walking).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location; adequate accommodation; more affordable than many options in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in process left much to be desired -- phone number on a paper taped to a poorly marked entrance of an accommodation where we did not actually stay (had to follow host in our car to our actual accommodation). Since we do not travel with cell service, calling to check in was not easy.

    Good location; accommodations were adequate but not luxurious by any means.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great Staff. We arrived late so we just gave him a call and he was there in two minutes. The bathrooms was very clean. It is really a good place if you want to stay in Reykjavik especially if you are on budget travelling.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.2
    Shower stall in kitchen, very unsanitary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stall in kitchen, very unsanitary! No toilet paper in WC. Electric socket had been pulled out of wall, safety risk for electric shock & fire. Basement felt like a dungeon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    The heating was perfect and it was very clean, the beds were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no lamps near the beds and it is difficult to read in the evening. It was not possible to open and close the window easily, we had to climb on a chair !!! There is no kitchen , no kettle to make a tea or something else. There is no place to sit and speak with others, no armchair to share a moment outside the bedroom. It is not a guesthouse !

    The heating was perfect and it was very clean, the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Unexpected and not in a good way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was late, we were waiting outside and freezing! Then were told we were at another nearby location: a house, where we had to share a toilet (different from what we had booked) - the house was generally not in very good shape either..to think we paid €88 for a night here makes us cringe >:| Overall it was a pretty bad experience, we wouldn't recommend and we will definitely not be returning!

    Not much except perhaps the size of the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Decent Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lobby area or staff on site Gross sheets that had holes and stains. Our bedroom felt like a prison cell with just beds and a sink lol Only 2 power outlets in the room, including the light. Couldn't figure out how to lock our door from the inside, someone came in in the middle of the night (probably someone just lost looking for their own room, but still a little creepy!)

    Comfortable beds. Very close to the heart of Reykjavik. Clean bathrooms. Free parking. Definitely a low budget type place, but not bad at all for what it is!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Waste of time and money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a dump. Let’s start with the “check-in” process where you walk up to the door and it tells you to call a number and someone will show up. I did this and he person said they be there in 5 minutes. As I wait four more groups show up and 30 minutes go by and I call the person back and she says she didn’t see me. Eventually she agrees to return. After waiting an hour in the front door with piles of trash strewn all over the place she arrives. We’re led a dusty room and to our collective gasp we are all shown the collective bathroom, which was pretty clean. The main worse problem was the noise - outside the hotel’s window was a bus stop picking up the noisiest people on earth all night. There are even cars parking outside blasting radios as loud as possible all night. I watch people throw trash at these noise makers which explained the trash outside on the street. Also our guaranteed parking spots were generally taken by who knows. This place was terrible for a guy and his teenage son. Perhaps if I was 20 and partying all the time I wouldn’t care - but I’m not and I do.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Perfectly acceptable -- though expensive -- accommodations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive for what it was.

    We stayed in one of the other places they have nearby, not the main building. The room was nice and there was a kitchen there for our use. The woman who came to meet us at the hostel at check in time was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.5
    good location but noisy and very simple place without kithcen facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very noisy rooms (walls like paper with all noises from neighbours) no space to boil water, no kitchenette, no fridge (while this exists in the house as a private room!) no cleaning of the room at all (even trash not cleaned for 6 days)

    location of the guesthouse close to center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    It was clean, with great sharing bathrooms and showers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The odor of the water it was shocking. Some noises from the upstairs rooms during the middle of the night. There was no coffe and no breakfast.

    It was clean, with great sharing bathrooms and showers. Good location and enought parking space. Freedom of hours to check in or out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.6
    Close to the main center of Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt dirty Bed was broken and very uncomfortable Shower in the kitchen Calling to check in Location is different than the one online (350m)

    Close to the main center of Reykjavik

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Decent place to stay if you're looking for something cheap to start your trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our pillows and blankets had a few hair from previous guests so we used our own sleeping bags and pillows since we brought camping gear. They only have stairs so if you have heavy luggage it can get tiring lifting it up and down two or three flights of stairs.

    The location was great. It was easy to get to some attraction's in the heart of the city. Souvenir shops we close by, within an easy walk. Shared bathroom we clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. The bed is not really clean, and uncomfortable blanket. Could you please replace the blanket because it seems like being used for 40 years :)

    Good location. Clean toilet. Easy check in and check out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    We stayed only for 1 night but it was ok for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a kettle in the room would be perfect ;-)

    We stayed only for 1 night but it was ok for us. The room was clean and location perfect,near is Bonus supermarket and also the main street of Reykjavik.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.0
    i will not consider again this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more then a guest house was a apartment , we weren't in the place pictured but in a property near by , in the morning we where us 2 and other 5 with one toilet , the owner they need to be a more specific and realistic as he offer apartment where someone will come and open for you eventually at 3 in the afternoon in a guest house you can leave your baggage early as in most case the lodger live in or near by you are offering a apartment for the price of a guesthouse

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Good guesthouse Pavi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have 5 total facilities in the area. Also the street names actually change even in the middle of a round about and it was confusing to find it. The host was very good and helped us through. It would be nice to have a gps location coordinates available on your website at booking.com Thanks

    Very good location and price. Clean. Friendly owner/staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    I waited to long to do the reservations, so this was the only place available
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    they tell you what time to be there and you need to wait outside for somebody to show up to do the check in, then they leave.

    we stayed in a different place than what you see in the pictures. It was an apartment building with rooms on the second floor. the room was very small with only two twins beds, a table, and two chairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not usable, as the reception was too weak. The shower was great to use, but the arrangement of the shower / toilet / basin was a bit awkward. Address is 4 Brauterholt

    Very close to the main street and friendly building manager. Easy check out at any time, suitable for early flights or late check-in. Restaurants nearby closed around 9:30pm or 10pm. The water supply in Reykjavík is thermal spring and glacial water, tastes great and is wonderful for your skin. We are already missing it since arriving in France.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows would be very welcome for those who need harder ones. A good night sleep still important

    Great check in reception by Paul. Very easy and explained everything. Room was great and pretty good located.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was big enough, as well as the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more sockets in the room. The one only one was kind of broken, but still I was able to charge my laptop and phone from it. Also, it was kind of frustrating to deal with opening three doors to get into my room. But overall, it was by all means an okay-apartment, albeit perhaps a little too expensive.

    The room was big enough, as well as the apartment. Also, there was a microwave and fridge in the kitchen, which was good. The bathroom and the shower were comfortable as well, and the apartment was in a good distance to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    "You get what you pay for." Location was very handy for shopping and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses need upgrading. Only one hand towel and two bath towels were available for the two of us. Bathroom had no towel racks. No housekeeping for the three days of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    1min walk to the supermarket
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we lived on the third floor, the ceiling is a bit too low we could not even stand up straight, though that is area near the window

    1min walk to the supermarket

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the bathroom set up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location want the greatest but the coffee house two doors down made it better.

    I really liked the bathroom set up. Like a public bathroom at a mall...one big room with three private waterclosets including a shower. The waterclosets are totally enclosed little rooms with everything you need in there...toilet paper plus a shower with towels. My room was very small but very clean. Basic setup which is all I needed and it had a nice new sink too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    There was construction going on outside, but you couldn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were met right at check in time, and she was very friendly, however after that 15 min span there were never any staff there so if we had had questions or concerns I don’t know how they would have been taken care of.

    There was construction going on outside, but you couldn’t even hear it inside, it was really quiet inside the room. Everything was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Third & Second world housing has more dignity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt badly for the reception employee who had to show us our room. I believe he was embarrassed to be showing us these accommodations. We walked into a very worn out boarding house. The room spare, w a mixture of curtains & bed clothed literally washed to tatters. Our door was across the way from the kitchen. As the evening wore on, several people talking in central kitchen (that had no doors that could be closed) were good enough to go out for the evening at 10pm. However, the next morning their loud conversations while gathering in kitchen was reason enough for us to wake up & leave two hours before planned. Do not show a new or newly renovated room w fresh bedding in photos, only to escort guestsa to a spare room with tattered bed clothing, non fitting curtains & heavily worn towels. We felt fortunate there we did not have bed bug bites the next day.

    Very fine, responsive employee met us at the locked door of where we booked, escorted us by car to an across the street no pay parking, to walk is into our accommodations. Very nice reception! Our room had two sets of curtains that darkened room. Our fatigue & Beds were sufficient enough, we slept until early hours. Bathroom was the door next to our door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Beyond expectations! A very good value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no kettle and table in rooms.

    Host is super friendly. Rooms are clean. There are two shared toliets and three shared showers, never have to queue. Internet is fast and stable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.6
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we requested the room to be cleaned, the answer we got was that 'this is a guesthouse and most people only stay for a day'. I am not a hospitality connoisseur but I do not know what type of answer that is. In any case, there aren't any major positive or negative points to report. It is only a place to sleep and it is affordable for such an expensive country. So, one should not have high expectations, or any expectations at all.

    Everything was okay for the price you pay of course in such an expensive destination.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Friendly staff and decent location for its price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were old and even if washed , looks dirty.they need to replace it. There is no reception and it took us 45 min to get access to the building and to our room because the manager was away to manage other guest houses. However he was polite and friendly.

    Friendly staff and decent location for its price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Reykjavik is a lovely place with plenty to see and easy access to tours of the rest of the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I said it was basic but clean and tidy. Perfect for my needs.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic but clean and tidy. For the price and location in Reykjavik this place was a bargain. I'd happily stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great check-in and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived pretty late at about 2am, but Paul was able to check us in and still run through the various facilities. Although we stayed for only a night, everything was great. Our place was also conveniently located opposite a supermarket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    We were accomodated in another house though we booked in ...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were accomodated in another house though we booked in Pavi. The room was very uncomfortable, with low ceilings. One bathroom for too many people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    budget friendly... good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    have to wait for check-in... make sure if you have a phone to call if arriving very late... bad soundproofing front door not obvious

    location shared bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Repairs need to be done,as the oven was broken. Good location for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Things are missing in the kitchen,eg a cutting board, a sharp knife,a coliander, at least 4 big cups are necessary. The ladder to reach the top bunk bed was missing a step.

    We were 4 people with a room for ourselves and a kitchen, which was a bonus as food is so expensive in Reykjavik. Having a key for all doors was good,but we would have liked to have another set to be more independent from each other.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are checking in after 3 pm, you have to call the landlady otherwise you cannot even access to the building.

    We got a very large room. Bed were comfortable and the bathroom was pretty new, with a very nice shower box.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked my trip one day in advance, but the travel day I realized that my card was not approved. Since I live in Iceland, most of the things here could be done by using ID number or debit card so I tried to come to the place and ask if they can take my debit card( I have the prepaid credit card but it was Saturday night so I couldn't refill it). The man who works there said that he can't do anything because otherwise this place would be full of jerks but few minutes latter said that he can take my payment but he has to bring the card machine and he left me for like 15min waiting outside. When he came back he told me that if something happens or I do something bad I'll be kicked out of there and I asked if he wants to write down my credit card number. He did so, but after the whole experience I felt really really bad. My advice is if you have the specific rules, try to follow them with a little bit more of respect for customers because they are not your friends who stay there for free and you do not make them a favour.

    Convenient location, good value of money, quiet place, very clean despite strange dark spots on sheets

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfy bed,clean and convenient bathroom, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since there is no concept of a receptionist we had to wait for extra 25 mins till the girl who manages check in to come and give the keys. In the Iceland weather we were all wet and dying to get into a warm room,but unfortunately she was not there at the time of our arrival.

    Comfy bed,clean and convenient bathroom, spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate just for an overnight stay only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and run down. Stove in kitchen seen better days. Mattress in my room quite dirty. Needs a complete renovation.

    Within walking distance to main Street and church.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Great for the money, clean, comfortable, roomy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in process was very awkward. No one on site. Had to call to get admitted and we did not have a phone, had to find a kind person to let us borrow their cell phone.

    Great for the money, clean, comfortable, roomy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay,cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No thick curtains,difficult to go to sleep as it was still day ligth late evening.

    We had spacious room with two bunk beds.Room was warm ,clean.There was kitchen as well which was convinient as we travelled with two kids.Quiet place ,close to city center,grocery shop opposite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    I’ve stayed at Pavi 8 years ago, then it was a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of kitchen or a common room or maybe I just didn’t find one.

    I’ve stayed at Pavi 8 years ago, then it was a little disaster. Now it’s much much better. New bathrooms, quiet, clean, still quite poorly “decorated”, but as for Iceland very cheap and I have nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    4.6
    Is not a guest house, neither a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not a real guesthouse, neither a hotel... there is not front desk or somebody to receive u without a previous call; in the confirmation I was never notified I should call before my arrival in order to get the keys, so it was very hard for me to get communication with the receptionist. The sheets are old and with holes. The internet is so poor and they don’t offer nothing for the guest, such as coffee or water... the feeling is not nice inside the rooms, but at least I could sleep at least...

    The water for the shower is delicious hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls, hear everything outside. Too early checkout - 10am. No luggage storage. No reception, have to wait for the staff to open the front door for 10 minutes on the street. Poor bad linen. The door to the room was hard to open. The key to the front door and to your room is the same - not safe for your belongings.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.3
    Glad it was only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No reception - wait outside until someone shows up! They took me to a random run-down house somewhere in town and said I was staying there. Everything was dirty or broken. Unbelievably unprofessional.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Bed was super comfy!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too much supplied... as in no shampoos, no kitchen facilities/microwaved. There wasn’t really a check in reception and we weren’t allowed to leave our bags anywhere until check in time which was after 3pm.

    Bed was super comfy! Shared bathrooms and toilets were kept very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    It wouldn't be my first choice and if I was more aware I would have been more at ease andexperience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water smell-very sulfuric and the pillows I think had only five feathers left in it. When you arrive you have to call for someone to come check you in. More like a hostel than hotel it served its purpose but a nice hotel across street

    I got a private bath and it was close to the harbor. The room was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Well situated cheap, but clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found it a little hard to find as no real sign. Also had to ring to be let in.

    Just out of the centre so free parking. Rooms very good for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    4.2
    They charge you more than booking says it costs and you cant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charge you more than booking says it costs and you cant know where you are staying as they have multyble buildings and just put you up where it suits them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.0
    If you just need a bed to put your head down at night then it's sufficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Small Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a box. I don't mind box rooms but there was only 1 corner of the entire room where I could stand up straight. The toilet I had to limbo to use. The shower cord only reached up to my chest making me have to sit down in the bath to have a shower.

    The location was really good, 5 minute walk to the shopping area of Reykjavik & it was cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Many people complain about having to call the staff for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibility to leave your luggage before or after check-in. Could be a bit of a pain if you leave Iceland at night but you can make arrangements with other places.

    Many people complain about having to call the staff for check-in. Yes it's a little annoyance but not a surprise since they mention it everywhere. You know what you get when you book, so that didn't affect my ratings in any way. For $50 a night we had a very comfy large bedroom and private washroom/toilets, more than you could get in any other capital cities. Location is great, no need to take the bus or a car to visit Reykjavik. Plenty of restaurants in the commercial Street nearby and a delicious cafe right next door. The room was clean, the shower was great, no noticeable noise and we slept 8 hours straight. Our only disappointement: staying for 1 night. I wish I had stayed more to enjoy the room a bit more !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Very small room in private building (not hotel) but everything was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived to the hotel and were told, that our room is in different building... Which looked like a provate house, not like a hotel at all. Our room was very small and the sloping roof made it hard to move around even for a short person as I am.

    Hotel is located near the center of Reykjavik, the lady who welcomed us was nice and helpful. Room, bathroom and kitchen were clean, windows had thick curtains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no reception, so you need to call staff to check in. In few rooms there are pipes with hot water, that are causing extremely high temperature in the room.

    Excellent location, very nice staff, accessible even late at night. Rooms, beds, towels and toilets are clean. Easy to find parking space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of noice on the street. Also Doors in the hall make a lot of noice while closing

    Clean bathrooms Enough space in the room Free parking outside Dark room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of I can think of.

    Good location. Cheap supermaket next side of the street. A very warm room! Cozy kitchenette available. Very lovely stay in general and a very smart price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Cheap and comfortable, but basic cleanliness and lack of facilities were issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had not been cleaned prior to me arriving. There were crumbs on the table and disgusting stains on the toilet pan. The bedside lamp was not working, as the bulb was blown. No front check-in desk. When you arrive you have to call a number, which although is clearly displayed on the door, could nonetheless prove to be a big problem if you happen to be experiencing issues with your phone (ie no credit or battery power). A microwave or basic communal cooking facilities would've been nice.

    Girl who checked me in was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was cheap and value for money. The general comfort of the room was good (a pity that it had obviously not been properly cleaned).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit far from the center but still in walking distance. No reception. Not so comfortable bed.

    Friendly staff. Clean room and sheets. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels were super old as well the sheets and the mattresses very unconfortable. Also I called days after because I lost something important and they never were willing to answer if I lost it there.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    You cannot expect so much with this cost-value ratio. It served its purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower. the showercord is way to small. The booking site makes it possible tot choose an arrival time, but before 15.00 no-one to open the door. Ringing the number does not have any effect. More guests were waiting outside (in the rain)

    Cheap, so you cannot expect so much. I am not sure about the cleanliness of the beds. Room was ok, I wanted to stay until the FlyBus departed, It served its purpose. One bathroom on many visitors. The booking site makes it possible tot choose an arrival time, but before 15.00 no-one to open the door. A nice and friendly young woman who welcomed us and gave us a quick tour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.5
    I don't reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't have any place to leave the luggage and no reception. Rooms very small , I rented a studio and didn't have microwave, clutlerry and nothing else beyond a kettle.

    Localizacao

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, dirty sheets, but close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room reeked of cigarette smoke even though it was a non smoking room, and the bed and sheets were not clean, and the floor was tearing apart.

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    They directed us to another house about 3 mins walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They directed us to another house about 3 mins walk from Guesthouse Pavi as they have no more 4-beds rooms in the buidling. Rooms were clean, with accessible wifi and basic utilities (utensils, kettle etc.).

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guesthouse Pavi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: