Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nordurey Hotel Reykjavik Road 3 stars

Reykjavikurvegur 72, 220 Hafnarfjördur, Iceland

#10 of 12 hotels in Hafnarfjördur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 634 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2018

    6.3
    Room service was meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought i would get good room service when i pay so much for a room, i could not find a sign for the door incase i didnt want room service and there was no sign saying we should leave towels on floor incase we want fresh ones (so we did not get fresh towels) Shower button keeps turning by itself making the shower get hotter and hotter First it shoots cold water before the extreme hot water comes out.

    The bedroom was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    Great value, clean and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite tiny, especially if you have big luggage. The shower room door is a bit difficult to close up. We had a room facing highway, which can be a bit noisy at night with the traffic. The night I stayed was windy and the sound of the wind is quite loud too.

    The location is pretty good - just 5-10min drive from Reykjavik. It’s of great value - decent room plus breakfast. Overall the place is clean and cozy. The staff was welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Very nice, Very Clean, not many bins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice, Very Clean, not many bins... great location and the rooms were perfect for what we needed. i would stay here again as it was great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    10
    The young man up front with the dark hair and beard was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing I didn’t like!

    The young man up front with the dark hair and beard was extremely friendly and helpful! Also the woman with the dark blonde hair was able to help us schedule a taxi when our bus forgot us. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and come back when we visit again!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    9.6
    Now that we know how to find the hotel, we'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was a bit difficult to find until we got to know the roads better. It's not in town and would require a car to make it easier to get to it. On the other hand, if you have a car it's not far from a huge mall, about a 15 minute drive away. There's no restaurant nearby so the mall might be the best bet for meals other than breakfast.

    Breakfast was excellent. Staff were amazingly helpful, especially Eduardo at the front desk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    5.8
    Further out than we thought- on a bus route-good- satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot food for breakfast- defiently- average Lips on the floor in the door ways- made it difficult to wheel the wheelchair. Shower in the bedroom not really disabled friendly- although the staff found us a stool to put in to help- thankl you

    Big room- listened as we are disabled so kept on the ground floor- thank you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t near much but it’s close to the highway which is what we needed

    It was an easy place to check into late at night on our way south.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Overall great place for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water smelled very sulfuric despite running it for a while.

    The room was great for the price. It had a small kitchenette and the size was ample for 2 people. The location is approximately 10 minutes from the city but with a rented car getting to and from there was easy. Also free parking and WiFi!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    Good option for visiting Reykjavík, if you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The location is not great, but if you have a car, it is decent. In ~10 mins you’ll be in Reykjavík; - The people at the reception weren’t very friendly; - Only one small tube of shower gel/shampoo, for two people and two nights is a bit extreme.

    - Good value for the money; - Good breakfast options; - Big enough room and bathroom; - Spacious parking in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    8.3
    The location was great, near a bus stop that would take you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a nice corner room with large windows across both sides. But unfortunately the sun shining in caused the room to get hot and there was no air conditioning.

    The location was great, near a bus stop that would take you into Center City Reykjavík. Also near shopping and the main highway to go along the South Coast Rd.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean budget accomodation with private bath and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is really very small.If you need more than 2 nights you better look else where or if you have just small backpacks can be ok.There is no space to put your clothes, so the room will end really crowded.We expected to be small the standard room( around 80 euros), so it wasn't a shock.I saw they have also bigger rooms ,but they are also more expensive .So for more money we chose an accomodation that was more fancy and also big for our last days in iceland.

    Was very clean , the price was better that in better areas.But if you have a car this shouldn't be a problem.The breakfast was useful as everything is expensive in Iceland.Is a good accomodation if you don't want to spend too much.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic. Rooms are spacious and clean. We were surprised there was a full kitchen and living area in our room. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.5
    Everything is ok but location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Caution! There’s another hotel branch with the same name in the city! This one is out of the center, and it takes 25 minutes to get to the city center by bus. And you can’t get to this one by airport express shuttle!

    Everything is ok but location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and convenient Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place to stay if you are driving. Easy access to Reykjavik and Keflavik. Clean room with lift , bathroom, wifi, good breakfast. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent on way to the airport, the rate is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottom of the bathroom shower has black mark, not clean.

    The location is excellent on way to the airport, the rate is reasonable, the breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms heat was on while the curtains were drawn and the heat from the sum made the room uncomfortably hot for 4 hours until the sun went down. There was no air conditioning. I was in room 207 which was load and every time someone took a shower I heard it.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place close to Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a fantastic stay! Even got a free upgrade to a suite... It's a 10 minute drive to Reykjavik and around a 30 minute drive to the airport/blue lagoon. Great breakfast. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Modern and functional place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small. It's about 15 minutes by car to the city centre.

    Compared to other Rejykiavik Hostels this one has a better quality-price rate. I appreciatted the modern furniture and the tv-screen with free Netflix.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Everything, this hotel was by far my favorite throughout my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😊

    Everything, this hotel was by far my favorite throughout my travels in Europe. The location is great, breakfast was plentiful and good quality, the room was super clean and modern and the staff was so sweet. I’ll absolutely stay here again next time I visit Iceland.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The position is perfect, half-way from Keflavik airport and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect.

    The position is perfect, half-way from Keflavik airport and Reykjavik. That's perfect if You plan to visit Reykjavik and the Golden Circle, or, like we did, for the first and the last day of Your vacation in Iceland. The reception is available 24/24 and that's very important if your flight is in the night. Also, if You are using a car, parking is not a problem at all. The staff is very friendly and professional. On our second staying they even upgraded us to the superior suite with no charge, since the normal rooms were not available anymore. Breakfast is super, one of the best in our staying in Iceland. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Price is very reasonable, compared to standard in Iceland. We absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    The stay at the hotel was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay at the hotel was good. The breakfast was dilissius and the room was clean and well furnished. It was staff at reception 24/7 and they were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Free breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for travelers with 2 suitcases, but probably normal for Iceland. Bathroom was clean but smelled of sewer.

    Free breakfast was included. Clean and modern room. Plenty of parking lots.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The best way to start and end Your vacation in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The position is perfect, half-way from Keflavik airport and Reykjavik. That's perfect if You plan to visit Reykjavik and the Golden Circle, or, like we did, for the first and the last day of Your vacation in Iceland. The reception is available 24/24 and that's very important if your flight is in the night. Also, if You are using a car, parking is not a problem at all. The staff is very friendly and professional. On our second staying they even upgraded us to the superior suite with no charge, since the normal rooms were not available anymore. Breakfast is super, one of the best in our staying in Iceland. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Price is very reasonable, compared to standard in Iceland. We absolutely recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean and confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im the morning when we were going to check out the front desk guy was sleeping, we tried to wake him up but he was almost not able to open his eyes, this delayed us some minutes on our way to the airport. Not a big deal but perhaps they should make sure the stuff sleeps well before the night shift :)

    Clean and confortable. 20-30 minutes to the airport by car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    We rented the family room and it said it had 2 bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented the family room and it said it had 2 bedrooms. In reality it was a studio flat with 2 alcoves and no doors. Mattress was very uncomfortable and used.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Probably the last time we’ll stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet did not flush properly (gross) shower did not drain properly (also gross), reservation for double bed and not two single beds pushed together didnt work, reservation for ground floor room also did not work out.

    Staff are really pleasant and totally helpful! Location is great for getting on the airport bus with sport luggage. Hafnarfjordur is a lovely little town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    The room was nice and bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely no place nearby to get dinner past 9pm... I was directed to walk to the harbor where there are several restaurants, all either closed or closing at 9:30pm.... Even the Subway and Chinese place closed up at 10pm. Get dinner elsewhere or go into downtown (15 min drive)

    The room was nice and bed comfortable. Given how expensive Iceland is it was a pretty ok deal. Breakfast was good. Convenient to get in/out to/from Keflavik.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Cool room, good breakfast and a fantastic price.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool room, good breakfast and a fantastic price. Iceland is expensive enough so save some money by staying here and driving less than 10 minutes into the center of the city. Rooms are rather small so order a bigger one than you might think you need. Located in a nondescript strip mall but don’t be put off by that.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was great and loved how close it was to the capital
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reasons I couldn't get the water to get any warmer, but that was probably my fault for not going to ask the desk

    Breakfast was great and loved how close it was to the capital

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had two windows with no curtains or blind. We were on a stopover. We couldn’t enjoy the included breakfast as had early flight. There is a big market for morning to morning bookings (to compliment the airline stopovers) and no hotel is taking advantage.

    Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Ideal alternative to Reykjavik hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated room interior, but perfectly fine.

    Functional room for a good night's stay. Easy access to both Reykjavik or downtown Hafnafjördur. Decent breakfast with plenty of choice. Dinner options at short walk. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Pleasant last night in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed reno. No fridge in room

    Rooms were roomy and renovated except for the bathroom. Excellent breakfast. We stayed on our last night before flying out. Still a few ks from the airport but a good run on the highway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Will not be returning...too bare bones.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They say you get what you pay for but I’ve stayed in places that were cheaper and got a 10 rating. The bed was hella awful, not even a fridge in room. TV channels and phone didn’t work. I needed to at least see CNN when return from long day trips. In their favor, the staff were the best part of hotel as they were helpful and friendly. It’s a 20 min bus ride to center of town so transport can get expensive to and fro-ing. This is a one-nighter not a more than two day stay. I won’t return. Not the hotel for me.

    Ease of bus route.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Great Hotel. Worth the money to stay in suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing at all.

    This Hotel was about 15 minutes drive from the centre of Reykjavik. It is a semi commercial area, but was really quite. We had a suite which was a super sized room, with microwave and fridge. and a big sofa. Was great having a kitchen because you could buy food from the supermarket just around the corner. Room was clean and warm. Stayed in June. Did some washing and put over the radiator heaters and were able to dry our clothes. You should try the pizza place just down the road...excellent. We never tried the breakfast, so can't comment on that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with really helpful staff and nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The window was large, which is good. But the part you can open is tiny and doesn't let enough fresh air inside to my mind. A very personal opinion.

    The heater under the window was really large and hot! We have used it to dry our clothes, shoes and tent(hanged it on the door) before packing up and leaving to the airport. A proper heater is important after a long walk in Icelandic rain =) I liked the selection of jams for breakfast as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    disappointed in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small room, hard to navigate around in it despite minimal luggage; pillows were tiny and similar to foam and therefore did not sleep well; not many restaurant options in the area

    the breakfast, which was included;

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and friendly
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price

    It was perfectly clean, the staff were really helpful and the fact that there was a Wasserkocher and a Kühlschrank in the room was wunderbar. Iceland is way too expensive for my budget however. This was an emergency stay, a bit of luxury after a stressful 6 months.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some black mold on in the shower stall - caulking could be replaced to fix it. The shower drain was a bit slow.

    Easy to get to and close to highways. Instant heat was nice. Actually had to have the windows open to balance. Breakfast in the morning was a bonus. It was very quiet. Very accommodating for our late arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the money and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not very spacious but good enough for short stays.

    Bus stop to downtown Reykjavik is right across the street. You can get the tickets directly from the Front Desk staff. Staff and very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    3.8
    The service staff was a bit rude and not in a good mood.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service staff was a bit rude and not in a good mood. There was supposed to be breakfast involved but it was cancelled at the hotel. We were supposed to have internet and tv stations since it was included in the price but it didn’t work in our room and the staff didn’t care. Waste of money is my opinion.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A very clean comfortable location within easy driving distance to Reykjavík. I would stay there aga!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description said there was a hair dryer in the room but there wasn’t. I have very short hair so it didn’t matter to me but that should be corrected.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Amazing place for Iceland stay! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We really liked our stay at Nordurey Hotel :) Our room was super clean and cozy. Breakfast was really great, especially chocolate muffins. Stuff were very friendly and helpful and location is great for roaming around Iceland.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Easy, clean room - value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff okay, didn't inform much when we arrived neither when we left.

    The hotel was very tidy, free parking. We had a kettle, microwave, fridge and toaster in the room which was a good thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Convenient and fine for the price. Otherwise meh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The sheets never got changed when they came to clean the room. It was very noisy, as our room was facing the loading dock, and also there were people yelling all the time. I had to ask three times to get extra pillows, and when I asked for dinner recommendations (literally anything interesting), the guy at the front desk recommended KFC.

    This is a great location if you have a car and want to save some money. It is really easy to get to Reykjavik and also out of the city from here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Very nice jams for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the room was very weak and did not stay up on the mount so we had to hold the head. The breakfast buffet did not offer much of a selection for what British visitors would expect. Uncomfortable pillows (only one pillow, very lumpy) WiFi did not reach our room

    Very nice jams for breakfast Helpful receiption staff Very reasonable price Good proximity to Reykjavik Room was cleaned daily and bed was made

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money; good coffee; ideal place, if you travel with a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some things - but we already told about that to the staff and problems were solved (by changing room)

    Good value for money; good coffee and breakfast; parking for free; rooms are like small apartment-studio, with refrigerator, coffee- tea maker - there is possibility to prepare some foods, if necessary

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't do it again - unless the staff improve.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff weren't very friendly, especially the younger male ones, who could be downright rude. So never really felt welcome here. Kettle, but no tea or coffee! High windows, so no aspect. You need a car.

    Passable breakfast, and reasonably good value. Parking quite easy, for the car you will need to hire being this far out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Minimal offerings with value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom needed more detailed cleaning or redecorating. The shower was showing signs of mould and had a slow draining - blocked outlet.

    The accommodation is location in the outer suburbs of the city. 10 to 15 minutes drive to the heart. The location is great for bookings with own transport - car. The room has had a resent basic makeover with fresh paint and basic furniture. Room size was standard with minimal facilities, eg fridge and kettle. Good natural sunlight and ventilation with car park facing rooms. Complementary breakfast in the morning was nice with a minimal offerings. The hotel has many small areas of improvements but value for money is here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    This was a last minute booking for a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a last minute booking for a friend. This will be her home in Iceland from now on! She loved every aspect of her stay. The bus stops right out front. Great restaurants in Hafnarfjordur!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    4.6
    Good location but really bad hygiene!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom because the shower tub was leak and there was fungus in the shower. The picture on the online site were not comparable with the room we orderd.

    Check in time, and it was really easy to find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.5
    Overall it wasn’t bad but I’ll be picking a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely tiny. Most tour companies did not pick up there - only gray line did.

    The breakfast was free - which is a big deal in Iceland because eating out is extremely expensive here. The bathroom and room was clean and the showers had good pressure. If you have a rental car then this isn’t a bad location. It’s on a main road only about 10-15 minutes from the main city of Reykjavík.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, clean and nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great!

    The staff were really friendly and always went above and beyond. Nothing was too difficult to sort out and always done with a smile. Our microwave broke and they had a new one up and running within 15 minutes! Breakfast was really nice. The room was big, clean, warm and tidy. The beds were comfy too! There were always loads of parking spaces available. I would recommend staying here for your trip in Iceland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wanted to check in early but that option wasn't available even though I requested it just after booking.

    I stayed for only one night, the bed was so comfortable! The room was very clean and the staff was pretty nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Just regular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff told us that our room is very big (even too big for couple with baby) but there was just one double bed, small sofa for 2:), small TV and bathroom... Not big at all.

    Just regular hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff was so nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was so nice! They were so helpful when it came time to book excursions and taxis. They had a smile on and helped with any question you had for them! In general I found the Icelandic people extremely warm and friendly! What a lovely place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Good and clean option for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much.

    Our room was clean and large. Price was good. We booked this one as we came from Keflavik airport and needed a stop after a long day of travelling. Took us about 45 minutes from the airport. There are a few restaurants nearby and it has one itself. Supermarket Bonus is nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    A bit to expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception smelled like dirty toilets when we came in. Room cleaning was still in progress when we were send to our room. Big room without decoration, no atmosphere at all.

    Noting in particular stood out during our stay. Close to the bus stop. Room was clean. Breakfast was okay, nothing special though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Clean rooms, lots of space and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Photos did not correspond to the room that they gave me. The hotel Manager said they were remodeling the hotel so some rooms where outdated, they should inform the guests or put info in the website saying it (Overheard other guests complaining about it). Stayed on the ground floor there was not much of privacy as if you would let the curtains open to get some light inn everyone passing by could see you. Hotel car park right in front of the rooms on the ground floor.

    Clean rooms, lots of space and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Prefect place for exploring and relaxing. Breakfast was lovely. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff- at times brittle but once they warmed to you very helpful.

    Prefect place to come and relax after a busy day exploring. Close to the city. Great location for ring road and blue lagoon. Staff could of been a little more friendly- need to warm to you to help. Breakfast was lovely, no tea and coffee in room but close to supermarket to buy some. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Just outside of Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were poor. Two single beds pushed together. Would expect a little more for the amount it cost (however, it is Iceland).

    Just outside of Reykjavik. Far enough to have less light pollution. Not too far to be a drag driving to and from though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Excellent for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was recently renovated, so a room was modern, beds were comfy and wifi was good. Breakfast was delicious! Overall, excellent for one night stay, as not far away from Reykjavik (about 15 min by car).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Chose this one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness... Design... Breakfast!

    We had booked in to the Viking Hotel near the harbour but found it so disgusting we moved here for the rest of our trip. It was such a refreshing change!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Basic but pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thin pillow when i asked for a second one they only had blanket to put in a pillowcase.and they gave a customer our room key...luckily we was In the room at the time and they asked us to then pack to move rooms then told us we could stay in it after all.

    Quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Premier location for Tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The oven was out during my stay, so I had to venture out for food. It wasn't terrible, because I was able to get familiar with the area. It was just an inconvenience for some long days where I didn't want to walk to get food.

    The staff was great and super helpful. They were able to help book various tours and helped to reschedule my Northern Lights tour a few times for me. The hotel is basic, so if you are looking luxury, keep it moving. It gives you basic amenities with a friendly staff. The bonus is they offer breakfast daily, which is really important with the expensive food in Iceland. The location is about 15 to 20 minutes from Reykjavik, so just be mindful of that; however, it is a hotel that tours will pickup from, which was a huge help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    Great value comfortable friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very reasonably priced with free continental breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beds were super comfy and room was clean and spacious. Easy to find and would highly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very small. No plug sockets next to the bed.

    Good choice at breakfast. Good coffee. Friendly reception staff. Let us check in an hour early. Location very good if you are hiring a car. 10 mins drive from Reykjavik downtown.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    We liked the location, comfortable beds & overall value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were pretty small but that was okay since we didn't spend much time in our room.

    We liked the location, comfortable beds & overall value of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.0
    Staff, breakfast, room & location was all fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower holder would not stay put and kept falling, the only annoying factor, but not a real issue.

    Staff, breakfast, room & location was all fantastic. Would recommend to everyone, and 100% stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to avoid the pricey joints in downtown. Having a car was helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The blondish guy at checkin was very friendly and helpful. Man, that dark haired guy staffing the desk at checkout was not friendly. But who knows why. The staff at breakfast were happy and smiley.

    Good breakfast since it included boiled eggs and sliced sandwich-style meat. Good coffee. The location was fine since we had our own rental car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    priced ok if renting a car, reconsider cost of public transport to city center for longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not as near to city Center when you are planning to take public transport which is very expensive per ride. After midnight, you have to take taxi from city to this location and could be expensive base on distance unless you are sharing with several people. Also, the room we got was smaller than shown on the pictures. But can fit 2 people ok and clean.

    Front desk staff was very helpful.Good breakfast buffet included, reasonably priced, modern cafe and lounge area, good size bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Good value for an expensive country; nice room for an economy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Mattress was new but could have been of better quality. Didn't rent a car due to winter driving; location was far enough outside of Reykjavik that bus travel was a daily effort. Hard floors collected tracked-in sand but we noticed only one sweeping in several days.

    Quiet. Good breakfast. The desk staff was very helpful. All staff spoke excellent English. Room was spacious and (important in Iceland) warm. Good-sized bathroom. Convenient to several good budget restaurants. Competitive rates. Directly on Bus Route to downtown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Good price, good breakfast, helpful staff, not great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was supposed to have full bed and electric kettle, was twin and no kettle. I asked about this and they said it was correct. Don't know why they thought so when booking clearly stated full bed, electric kettle.

    The staff were so great upon my early arrival letting me check in early! Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel overall but one staff ruined it all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who was working on the night of the 23rd of January was rude,arrogant,racist and most of all sexually harassed my friend...Hooe youll do something about it...

    The room is nice and clean....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay again, given the opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have nothing bad to say about this space. Staff was friendly, room was gorgeous, breakfast was Icelandic

    We were trying to extend our Air BnB with our host but they didn't get our email in time. We found the hotel with a quick Google search and came in to book a room. The staff saved us some money by recommending that we book through this website. Incredible!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the beds were ridiculously comfortable, to the point were I almost preferred it to my own bed. The location was very good, about a twenty minute bus journey from the centre of Reykjavik (get the number 1 bus from the stop right outside the hotel). We got a room with a lovely view of the Icelandic mountains and there were corner shops very close by. Would definitely use this hotel again and highly recommend it. If going to Iceland don't take any money, they use mostly card (I paid to go to the toilet with my card), and the currency is controlled meaning you can only take a certain amount in and out of the country. The exchange rate is better when using card. You will only need cash when using the bus, about 500 ISK one way into the centre (they don't give change). This hotel is also a pick up and drop off point for coach group grayline on all their tours. We went to the blue lagoon and on the golden circle trip and were picked up and dropped of at our hotel, so the location wad very good and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: