Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Icelandair Hotel Hamar 3 stars

Borganes, 310 Borgarnes, Iceland

#2 of 6 hotels in Borgarnes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 712 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    10
    Best facility among the hotel we've stayed in Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best facility among the hotel we've stayed in Iceland! The restaurant was great and the staff is friendly. They have wake up call for northern light and we see the first northern light in our room, it was amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Best ever!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was awesome. The hotel has something very unique that I didn’t see anywhere else, they give a wake up call for the northern lights!! It was amazing! The hot tub and sauna were superb. The staff was perfect and very friendly/accommodating. The shower is phenomenal in the room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    We had an exceptional experience at Hotel Hamar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had such a great visit. I can't think of anything to criticize.

    The location was convenient to visiting area sites. The facility provided all the amenities we needed. The staff provided exceptional service and assistance.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location and beautiful setting on golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff were rude and not accommodating. But everyone else was phenomenal.

    Great location and beautiful setting on golf course. Got to see the northern lights so it was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Super clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot even with windows open. Would be nice to have a fan. Also would be nice if the robes and slippers were complementary for hotel guests.

    Super clean!!! And very comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot tub outside at night w a glass of wine!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice setting and great hot tube
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippers, towel and a bathrobe for the hot tube should be provided free of charge.

    Everything was perfect, nice setting with beautiful views towards the mountains, excellent food (however small portions) and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    No wifi - very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi - was told at 7pm that there had been a power failure and the wifi was off. It was still off at 7am the next morning. Apologies from staff but no answers or attempt to make amends. This was a real problem for us in terms of answering work emails and very annoying given the cost of this hotel. It was the only hotel on the five week trip in Europe with no wifi. Really spoilt our stay and I would have gone somewhere else if I had known. Also paper cups for coffee and tea not up to the standard I would expect and difficult to re-use.

    Despite a simple exterior, lovely modern and well furnished rooms and we were upgraded to a junior suite with lots of space and nice views. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious with separate bath and shower. Nice toiletries. Big TV and not bad on storage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice shower with good water pressure and temperature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice setting by golf course but disappointed that there were no walking paths. Would have been nice if breakfast were included at no additional cost.

    Nice shower with good water pressure and temperature. Good soundproofing as long as window was not open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The location and scenery of this hotel is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is under construction so the view is completely blocked. For the price of the food, there should have been some sort of discount or bonus to the guests for this inconvenience. I saw one couple go into the bar area for their dinner (with a view) but this was not offered to any of the other guests.

    The location and scenery of this hotel is wonderful. It was the nicest hotel we stayed in during our 9 night visit to Iceland. The hot tubs are fed by natural geothermal waters and the sauna is very nice. The food was great and there were dishes we had not eaten before and enjoyed trying. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms well equipped and current. There was plenty of space for suitcases and hanging items. It was very nice to have the door open to the outside. They were able to put our adult sons in the room directly next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Icelandair hotel in magnificent surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An extension is being built at the moment with the inevitable , though limited, disruption but I am confident all will be splendid when complete.

    I have stayed here more than once. The hotel is situated in a delightful fiord with rocks and vegetation, including a grass golf course, nearby and mountains in the background. The staff are friendly and helpful on each occasion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Location is very convenient for sightseeing in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are really small. Probably not the best option for families.

    Location is very convenient for sightseeing in the area. Golden Circle, Snaefellsnes Peninsula and the airport. Staff is helpful and they have a restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful stay in Borgarnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was abrupt at first but was fine afterwards. Would have like a warmer welcome.

    I like the hotel with its view of the golf course, the fjord . It also had a hot tub and sauna which were a bonus. It was close to the town and the value for the money was great. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable 1-night stay whilst touring the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No basic personal amenities provided, no provision of fridge or extras for breakfast ( though available selection all tasty and fresh, but basic )

    Well-designed room, clean, quiet location, adjacent to golf course

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They upgraded our room for free :D. Besides, views were really nice and the breakfast one of the bests we had. Big room with good bath. I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely short stay to explore peninsula
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey for whst waa included compared to ither hotels around the iceland and the world. You paid for the view

    Beautiful location with mountain and gof course background. Enjoyed hot pool and sauna and rooms were clean. Stadf helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Would stay again but bring own bathrobes, and make sure tubs are turned on early in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for the bathrooms wad ridiculous and the slippers were shoddy and cheap and broke at first use. Construction in progress was not mentioned on booking.com and only became aware when they commenced work at 7:00 a.m. Was VERY disappointed tha hot tubs were ice cold in the morning as the heat was not maintained nor was it turned on early enough for a morning dip.

    Room and bathroom were great as with all Icelandic Air Hotels. Great room with small terrace opened out to the hot tubs area. Sauna was nice and the hot tubs were fine when turned on. Disappointed to wake up in the morning to discover that a the heat was turned off at night and the tubs were ice cold in the morning. Location was great so we decided to stay two nights. Great break from busy Reykjavík.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    beautiful view and great place for golfers
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was not putting any thing extra, they did have staf working at 8 am in the garden and they were noise and wake my uo, breakfast not good

    beautiful view and great place for golfers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    A welcome stop over on the way to more remote places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction going on outside restaurant. Isolated from the nearby town

    The view from the hot tubs is great, but there are only two for potentially a large number of guests. First room with proper curtains we stayed in, and we slept well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Receptionist great help identifying things to see on next day’s driving tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Generous sized room with the first bathroom counter long enough to hold my bathroom stuff out of the 12 hotels we’ve stayed in this vacation! Loved the hot tub too and visiting there with other guests,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    The view was fantastic, beyond my (high) expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was fantastic, beyond my (high) expectations. The hot tubs and sauna were perfectly situated. We had the staff make us espresso drinks each morning, and they were excellent. Bathrooms were clean and stylish. Beds were comfortable. I really have nothing negative to say about our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great place to make a home base while exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable rooms. Comfortable bed and consistent hot water in the shower. The view of the mountains is fantastic! The hot tub fed by the hot spring is great!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a perfect one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It`s hard to reach there without a private car. The bus doesn`t stop on the highway.

    The room was perfectly placed and equipped. The facilities in the bathroom were very nice. The view outside was so beautiful. The desk staff was very helpful. The outside jacuzzi and sauna were the best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    perfect stay for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    the hotel is just perfect for the price, everything was good, the receptionist at check in was super nice , we asked for ice to drink our whisky she threw in some crackers as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely rooms, epic views and relaxing thermal spas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very expensive restaurant and lack of fridge in the room.

    Hotel Hamar was a delightful surprise when we checked in. It's positioned on the fringe of town on a golf course and has epic mountain views from the comfort of your room which was modern and decently sized. The rear door from our room opened out onto the beautiful vista of Borganes. Even better was the natural and very hot spas outside which we could relax in whilst enjoying the splendid views of the mountains--even whilst it was snowing. It was one of the highlights of our trip in Iceland!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very nice and clean - beautiful surroundings and lovely mountain views. Very peaceful place. Hot tube and sauna were great. Breakfast was really good. We ate one night at the restaurant, and food was great, my seafood pasta was very tasty. Highly recommend this hotel, will return, if come Iceland again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The best hotel we stayed in during our visit, fantastic in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful location, room was clean, modern, very well equipped, french door out to sauna/hottub. Friendly helpful staff. Great restaurant, had the best meal of our stay here. Breakfast also was amazing, included in price. This was the best hotel we stayed in during our week in Iceland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.0
    Great place to stay with the hot tubs being a highlight after long days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have done with a small fridge in our room.

    Great base to explore the Snæfellsnes peninsula. Really nice feel, with comfy beds and friendly staff. Very clean. We didn't eat here so can't comment on the food. The hot tubs were a highlight and greatly appreciated after a long day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Nice place to pit stop on your travels around Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were happy to be allowed to check in early. The hang out area with board games and books was cute. Food at the restaurant was delicious and accommodations were comfortable. Nice that shampoo and body wash were provided as well as coffee and tea in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Great place to relax, enjoy the views, and explore the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice if the room included bathrobe and slippers (especially useful for the hot tub). They are available in the reception for a fee.

    Perfect location with views of the mountains. The hot tub and sauna were a big plus. Good wide-ranging buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, and a glimpse of the Northan lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal for exploring the west of Iceland. We arrived late but the staff were very helpful and they offer a northan lights call which we agreed too and luckily caught a glimpse. We purchased breakfast and was very pleased with it. Good selection of items and as much as you could eat. Room was very comfy and loved the complimentary products in the room. Hot tub area was very well set out. Just a little to cold outside for us to go in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, clean, friendly service. Plan on having meals in town though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was so-so; included in our room rate so price wasn't the issue. Dinner was adequate but quite pricey for what it was.

    Clean, well-equipped rooms. Friendly staff. Very helpful staff in allowing late check out and advising us on adjusting travel plans when a gale hit (and closed most of the roads temporarily). Easy parking. Reasonably close to town (5 min drive).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we ordered wine at the restaurant it was simply placed on our table. We had to open the bottle and pour it for ourselves. I have never experienced that before but was only a minor inconvenience.

    Rooms were clean and the view was amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel to explore from whilst ticking all the other boxes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard rooms are a little too basic in their appearance.

    Great hotel - great location. Staff and service were above expectation Food was superb The suite is fabulous Hotel is warm and cosy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Practially perfect in everyway! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. For what we needed it had everything - even the forgotten gifts for back home were available at the hotel!! Cannot fault at all :)

    Breakfast was very filling and a variety of options were available. Every room has an outside patio door. Our room opened up onto the hot tubs and sauna. The views were literally out of a fairy tale novel. The views of the mountains were beautiful whilst having breakfast before a busy day ahead. The staff were very friendly and helped on all aspects. Beautiful hotel and would love to go back again,.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant hotel with mostly pleasant surprises
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was being told by staff that wearing hotel bathrobe for breakfast was not considered acceptable which is strange as I was wearing clothes underneath and this is a sort of a spa hotel. Such unnecessary stiffness should be reconsidered.

    Upgraded to a room turning south toward the mountains and just few steps from hot tubs & sauna. Very friendly service, the hot tubs are wonderful and the whole surrounding. Very quiet & peaceful place, stylish & comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent if you're looking to splash out a little
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young man, i forget his name but he was Hungarian, was excellent. Really helpful, informative, polite and friendly. Breakfast was brilliant! We stayed in the hot tub until 23:30 :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Come see the Northern Lights at clean, modern resort with an amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a small refrigerator in the room!

    Beautifully clean and modern facility with great breakfast! The dinner the night before was also delicious and our waiter Danny was amazingly knowledgeable, helpful and attentive! The woman at the front desk was great too...she was kind enough to call our room twice in the evening to see the NORTHERN LIGHTS!! This place is a must go if you are lucky enough to be going to Iceland!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice golf hotel, which I can also recommend in winter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect, rather bigger hotel not so individual. Still very ok!

    Very nice golf hotel, which I can also recommend in winter (no golf in wintertime ). Good place for starting excursions or daily Trips. Great service!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely one night stay. Super friendly staff, great breakfast, pretty location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there could be vegan margarine for people who won't or can't eat dairy. but that's being extra picky ;-)

    The staff is so nice there! Breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit, and I loved the style of the hotel. The rooms have terraces and there is a northern light wake up service and several hot tubs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Modern, friendly hotel with warm, comfortable rooms and nice public areas within easy reach of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like. The hotel is a little bit remote and you need a car to get anywhere but you can drive to town in 5 minutes.

    We loved the room - the big fat cushions on the bed, the lovely view and the great shower. Coffee making facilities in the room is a nice touch. The thermostat in the room allowing you to adjust the temperature was great. The TV in the room showed English and American channels. We loved the cosy lounge and the friendly staff. We didn't try the hot tubs as the weather was so bad they were closed up.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Great located hotel, tremendous staff and super food offering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say we didn't like it - however the basic twin room is very simple. Very comfortable but very bland. It may be that I put my parents in a suite and we were simply jealous :)

    An amazing little hotel that surprised us with how lovely it was. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was outstanding with everything you could want to set you up for the day including a hot selection. The evening meal offering was outstanding - Iceland is expensive, the hotel food was five star contemporary and dekicios, at regular prices. Just loved this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall the hotel was great!!!! The staff was the best part.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full bed is not a good option, for someone who enjoys sleeping in the middle of the bed. Also there is no refrigerator to cool beverages.

    West Iceland was beautiful! The staff was awesome and very accommodating!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.8
    The staff are nice and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor hot tub was closed not sure due to the cold weather or under maintenance. My wife and I kind of disappointed we could not enjoy it.

    The staff are nice and polite. The room and bathroom are both clean and comfortable. The view outside the room facing the back is outstanding especially after the snow.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Standard and comfortable hotel with possibility to find aurora!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator! Dryer and curtain somewhat uncleaned. Not very good sound-proofing.

    Standard and bright room. Clean bathroom with sufficient hot water and good drainage. Room cold at first but warm later. Cozy bed. Nice staffs. Nice view facing fjord.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was nice, however quite expensive for what it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that our room was cold on our arrival and we had to wait quite a bit for it to get warm.

    The hotel was nice, however quite expensive for what it offers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After driving right round Iceland, through storms and blizzards, this was a very welcome respite for our last night of our trip. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you dont want to spend a lot of money in the restaurant you need to drive 10 mins to the town

    Very comfortable Very nice hot tub with mountain view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Amazing Hot Tub & Mountain Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our dinner! The burgers were great. The room was comfortable and had everything that we needed. The hot tub was perfect in the evening and we wished we had arrived earlier to admire the sunset and mountains in the backdrop. It was also a great location to be based for snowmobiling and going into the glacier that departed from Husafell - 50 minutes via car.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have an armchair in the room.

    The staff was very helpful and lovely. The restaurant is excellent and the surroundings are beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing and awe inspiring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly welcome. Receptionist volunteered lots of useful local information. The prime location of the hostel was down on the water front, the garden actually reaching the beach in the bay. Superb restaurant right next door. Views of mountains around the bay were stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    The dinner was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like that it was advertised outside on a sign by the road, that the Bistro was open daily for Lunch and Dinner. We arrived at lunch time to find out it was closed for winter.

    The dinner was good. The hot tubs were relaxing. The staff very accommodating for us arriving early, and having an issue with our shower-they moved us rooms immediately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    I absolutely love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us a while to find the hotel since it's close to a golf guesthouse and Google Map leads directly to the guesthouse.

    I absolutely love this hotel. The free sauna and outdoor hot bath are excellent. It also has a piano in the common room, where also provides books and games for children. The staff are generally nice and we enjoyed our stay here. Also the hotel is near a small town so it's easy to find a bakery or gas stations nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Large bathrooms, good size room and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Conditioner container was empty in the room and they did not have the option for a hot breakfast.

    Large bathrooms, good size room and comfortable beds. Nice hot tub and sauna area as well. Very clean facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Like the location of the hotel and the room has a door that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included. Room and shower are small.

    Like the location of the hotel and the room has a door that leads you directly outside where the views are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    We purposely booked this hotel because we would wanna See the aurora
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing so far that I didn’t like

    I like the cleanliness of the hotel, friendly staff. The Hotel staff even helped us on wiping away the ice on our car front mirror .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable and relaxing stay at a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food well prepared and good, but stocks were rapidly depleted when coach parties were breakfasting (often by people taking food to eat later in the day) and there was sometimes a delay in replenishing them. Also liked the fact that large coach parties took dinner in a room separate from ordinary guests, which made the eating experience more relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Great room at a good price (for Iceland).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included, but we knew that when booking.

    Great room at a good price (for Iceland). Very nice grounds & hut tub. Even in the light rain it was very relaxing. More upscale than most of the places we had stayed over the previous 10 nights. About a 2 hour drive to the airport for our flight home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.0
    Don't pay for better quality rooms...they are the same as the twin rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were overpriced. We booked 2 superior king rooms but got nothing extra over the basic twin rooms despite paying £80 a room more. Hotel claim that extra is due to 'guaranteed view' although if the weather is bad or there is low cloud this would be the same as any other room. We were shown a twin room further down the corridor with the same view but told we could not change reservation as no vacancies. Manager said next day that we should have been offered different rooms and that all facilities were noted on booking.com. The pictures, however, are for deluxe rooms. We were also told that our rooms were larger but the info on Booking.com shows that they are 3m2 smaller Rooms not ready when we arrived. Fair enough as we were a little early and we waited in bar. But despite maids only having just finished in there, beds looked crumpled, end bed cover was creased from previous occupants and towels looked like they had just been hung up to dry. Hotel clerk agreed that this was not right and took cover away. She said she would speak to housekeeping. Complained and was told that manager would sort it out the next day. Eventually, complimentary bathrobe and slippers were delivered to the room (normal cost ISK1200) Breakfast was adequate Hotel did reduce price by £34 next morning but this was after some arguing with the manager who seemed to think that we did not have a valid point. Couple staying in next room paid £156 for superior room with no breakfast. We paid £219 with breakfast and managers discount. I am not against paying the extra when you can see something for it but this just left us feeling ripped off. Prices are very expensive in Iceland but we stayed in many hotels during our 13 day road trip and this was the worst and most expensive. Use Fosshotels.

    Free parking Did reduce price slightly after much complaining

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stopover between Husafell and Reykjavik. Enjoyed the settlement museum cafe and exhibit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine by the glass. Was confused bc when I booked in Iceland I misread the euros as dollars--so between kroners, euros and dollars, its important to pay attention!

    Nicely renovated in Scandinavian simplicity and comfort. Front desk staff very helpful and kind. Gave us us blanket as duvet was too warm. Sauna and hot tub with view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced even for Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    $53 for breakfast for 2 people was outrageous for what was offered. At check in, we were told our breakfast was included -- then we got an extra $53 bill!

    Nice quiet area near a golf course

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Property on golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property on golf course. Hubby and kid enjoyed a round of golf (golf clubs available for rent) in early morning before we headed out for more sightseeing. Good sized room and bathroom. Room opens out to sauna and practice putting green.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    The morning receptionist was extremely helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The morning receptionist was extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions and helped us with useful suggestions for our circle trip around Iceland.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Desirable hotel at an undesirable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Let's make this clear, a stay at Hotel Hamar is a pleasant thing indeed, well worth recommending. However, the prices charged for the privilege are over the top. I had to pay £275 for one night without breakfast! Iceland is a very expensive country and the exchange rate for the pound was unfavourable at the time of my stay but, even so, compared to most other Icelandic hotels, this price was unjustifiable.

    Hotel Hamar is situated in an idyllic valley, part of the Borgarfjordur fiord in southwest Iceland. Much of Iceland is treeless and barren but Borgarfjordur has many trees and bushes, enhanced by tantalising volcanic rock formations, a river and spectacular mountains. The hotel has its own golf course. For those interested in the Icelandic sagas and cultural history, the hotel is a convenient distance away from Reykholt and its Snorri Sturluson heritage site. As an Icelandair hotel one would expect the status facilities that are available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Depressing view of parking lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others have noted, try to get a room with a mountain view. We were assigned a room facing the parking lot, despite having requested at time of booking for a mountain view, and also requesting when we checked in (fairly early in day). There was a tour bus there and I suspect they got all the good rooms. The parking lot rooms should be a lot cheaper; the price is the same as for mountain view. Ridiculous.

    Breakfast was fine. Room was clean and comfortable. Lots of bathroom counter space.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Loved Icelandair Hamar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A pleasant surprise with the modern rooms and fabulous on site restaurant and bar! So convenient when you can check and enjoy a fabulous dinner!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Great stop in Borgarnes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Borgarnes is a very small town with nice scenery. Hotel is located on a golf course with great views of the mountains and harbour. One of my favorite hotels. Very clean and modern. Great hot tubs (2) just out the back door. I would request a room with a mountain view other wise you are looking at the parking lot. Breakfast was expensive so we drove just 5 minutes to the city center and ate a great little cafe/flower shop. Quaint little place with couches and home made food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    5.0
    Stay at a guesthouse instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive but small, cheap rooms. The vent in the bathroom made a lot of noise so it was hard to sleep. The bed wasn't comfortable and the room was too hot.

    It was in the town we wanted to stay at.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Hotel Hamar a Happy Retreat - lovely experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really anything to complain about, except they were in the process of switching over their computer program system, which took things a little longer - but okay.

    Pleasantly surprised with hotel, did not know what to expect. Staff very, very nice, hotel comfortable and cozy. Rooms, although smallish, each had their own patio door access to the back area where hot tubs located and it would have been a great spot to see the northern lights (rainy and cloudy when there). The restaurant/bar is on the premises with a fine menu. Breakfast was included, which was quite good assortment of hot and cold foods, beverages. Staff helpful when recommending car rides to see some nice sights. Go to Barna Foss! We don't golf, but the hotel is on a golf course.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.6
    I stay in Suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is not good at the room.

    I stay in Suite. The room is very good with space. The bed is comfort. The bathroom is good. The view from the room is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    A good Value. Great Staff at Front Desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The meal was marginal and the restaurant staff was marginal as well. The room is simple and nothing special.

    Loved the staff at front desk. They were super friendly and helpful. The design of the restaurant was very nice, clean, and sleek. The soaking tubs were a treat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    3.3
    No staff and can not contract property by the number from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff and can not contract property by the number from booking .com until we arrived . We got staff tel. no.from the paper in front of the door.After call 15 mims the staff came to open.i think it should not be a hotel becouse it was no guest.and facity look like a dome more than hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our view was on the first floor of the parking lot. Given the cost of the room, it's unfortunate they weren't able to situate all the rooms on an angle so the view would be of the mountains. Or charge less for a room without a view. It would not affect our decision to stay there again as everything else was wonderful.

    The location at the base of the mountains was unbeatable. The shower was the best on our 10 day trip! The design of the rooms was wonderful -- plenty of space, a lot of light. Staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. All except the view was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit on expensive side. But that's what you get in Iceland.

    Unexpectedly high standard. Fantastic thermal pool outside. Good food. Beautiful landscapes. Good place for watching auroras. Friendly staff speaking several languages. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge.

    Heated floors! Toilets are excellent, comes with l'occitane toiletries. Has a back door for quick access to the Carpark. Offers aurora wake up calls.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    10
    The room was perfectly clean with an amazing view, the hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfectly clean with an amazing view, the hot bath outside is even better then how it look in the website photos. The staff is very helpfull, Svala, the girl who helped us was fantastic!! They asked us if we wanted be advise when the northern lights started and we agree. We get lucky and they came to advise us during the dinner and they switch off all the hotels lights. MY BEST EXPERIENCE IN AN HOTEL!! Just one tip.. you have to try the lamb here, never tasted nothing like that, I'm Italian so I'm very picky but this one is just perfect!

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: