Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Welcome Hotel Hellissandur 3 stars

Klettsbúð 9, IS-360 Hellissandur, Iceland

#3 of 4 hotels in Hellissandur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.5
    Location was very good, a perfect distance from Reykjavík.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It woukd’ve been nice to be able to pick up a few breakfast items for the road before needing to catch the ferry. We didn’t want to bother the managers at the time of night that we arrived, so we’re not able to request food to go. Perhaps a breakfast that began earlier than 8 would be nice.

    Location was very good, a perfect distance from Reykjavík. Although it was right on the main road, it was very quiet. Oh, and it was amazingly clean!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Basic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff makes it feel isolated. Very basic, no frills accomodation

    Self check in/out was an easy process, breakfast was basic but fine. Fine for a quick nights accomodation traveling around but nothing more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Eerily quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not sure if I liked that no one was at the front desk and everything was automated. We felt like we were staying at an abandoned property (although it was very clean)

    Breakfast was very good. The hotel was very quiet but absolutely no employees.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    very unfriendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very unfriendly hosts. Rooms are not well isolated. People on the first floor where moving there bed around for half an hour. If they took a shower, it felt like they where taking it next to my bed. Doors make a lot of noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This facility is with self check-in and check-out system. Everything worked smoothley. Free coffee and tea with breakfast included. When you book this facility, you will get an additional e-mail with all informations that you need (not instantly), so check your e-mail before gooing to this facility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Must have your check in codes sent to you prior to your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have your check in codes sent to you prior to your visit to access your room and the property as there was no staff. The WiFi did not work but no staff to help with the problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    the location, at the foot of snaefellsnes, was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no staff at all for check in. Breakfast is much lighter than our other hotels in Iceland. Also, we aren't sure when the room was last cleaned: there was popcorn on the floor!

    the location, at the foot of snaefellsnes, was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    This was satisfactory as a place to stay but was very impersonal and had no atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impersonal to have no staff at the desk. It worked OK but was like staying in an empty building. There were a couple of staff people at breakfast and a phone that we could have called.

    This was a good and convenient place to stay on our last night in Iceland. It was a real advantage to have an elevator for all the final repacking! Breakfast was good. The room was comfortable. The price was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very nice, comfortable place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No -

    It was very nice, comfortable place. Just wait when hotel will send you the codes for entrance as there is no staff. But it does not make any difficulties, so just go ahead with this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.0
    Personel at place was nice but people working in the telephone/e-mail info weren't helpful at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no person at the reception to ask about anything. There was a telephone to call when needed but nobody answered it. We tried to contact via e-mail but the person who was corresponding with us was very rude... And it was hard to get clear information as he/she wasn't responding directly to the questions we asked. What's more, we arrived at 9 pm and couldn't even help ourselves with a cup of hot tea because the coffee/tea table was behind the closed door and of course THERE WAS NOBODY to ask for hot water (we had our own tea so all we needed was boiling water - normal thing to ask for in any hotel).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Quiet place, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not really clean under the beds (we had to move them to have twin beds instead of a double bed). To shower means to flood the bathroom. The breakfeast was on very low level. The breakfeast room is closed outside the breakfeast time so no possibilty to sit down in the evening with friends and have diner. Only one person showed up in the morning who filled to breakfeast buffet but nothing else. I'd prefer to pay a bit more and have somebody at the house as contact.

    Quiet place, comfy beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Over all it was a good experience..just a few things not right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like not having any staff on site when we checked in or checked out. I was missing towels. And the lobby restrooms were out of towels and toiler paper.

    The breakfast was great, and the chef was super friendly. The room was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.8
    The self service check-in was simple enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The included buffet breakfast was pretty simple and uninspired. The lack of any staff on site was a bit unsettling.

    The self service check-in was simple enough.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    The automatic check-in / check-out system
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Linen need changing - they look like they have been used for a very long time. One of our towels wasn't cleaned well. Would have expected better for a 3-star hotel.

    The automatic check-in / check-out system

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Lack of staff a problem in an emergency
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of staff on site was a problem when the power went out on one side of the building around 11 pm. Guests were wandering in the halls, unsure what to do -- since my side still had power, I was able to find the emergency number on an in-room card and they told us someone would be there soon. I had assumed there was staff in the building, but apparently not. 45 minutes of work did not restore power to my kids' room, and we had to ask that they be moved -- they were unhappy that there was no wifi in their new room.

    The basic rooms had everything we needed, and there was free coffee in the lobby at all times (although no staff -- this is a self-service facility where you get the key codes to the building and your rooms via email). The dining room was spacious, with plenty of seating. The breakfast was basic but sufficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Self check in hotel, so wait for email from property with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self check in hotel, so wait for email from property with access codes! There is no staff on premises and no one picks up the phone you should call when needed. We booked a few hours before arrival and didn't know that hotel has no staff, left wifi and so didn't receive email. We got in after some other guests advice. Booking.com should have some notice how it works. We were not the only ones that night who could not get in. Otherwise it's good place to stay and breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    the hotel staff, rooms and restaurant were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really great staff, food and location.

    the hotel staff, rooms and restaurant were perfect. the coffee and food was amazing and the location and view was stunning. a great location and find in Iceland. highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice space in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Many dishes were not clean for the breakfast buffet. Our shower curtain smelled moldy. Nice otherwise

    Nice space in room. Comfortable beds and linens. Could have used extra towels in bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    the room is large and quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wait for the reception staff for a long time and I think they should give u door code when u book the hotel or u have to wait out of the door.

    the room is large and quite

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing. Not worth its money due to the missing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Staff. The room did smell like rotten eggs. There were 4-5 spiders in our room as we arrived. Free coffee in the entrance hall, but the milk stood there all night long and even during breakfast no one changed it.

    Piano at the reception, but it needed tuning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay on your trip around the island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee, by far needs improvement. Iceland has such great coffee, the owner would do good by investing in a nice coffee self serving maker.

    Nice property with a great view of the snow capped mountains. Check in very simple just need to remember they send all instructions through e-mail, there is no receptionist at the property. Property is well secured, someone did show up to help other guest out as they were having issues retrieving their codes. During breakfast we got to meet the friendly staff. Room was very comfortable, dining options are not available in this town, a short 5km drive took care of that. Nice spacious room with private bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Great starting point for national park exploration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is unstaffed, only credit card payment

    Great location with view on snow-capped mountain, clean and simple room, comfortable beds, decent breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Codes to get in and beautiful hotel, just as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contact with staff was very difficult -- to the point we thought the hotel did not exist.

    Codes to get in and beautiful hotel, just as described. Good included breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.9
    Bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really basic. The bathroom very small. In the room there wasn't enough place to open two baggages. The breakfast was basic as well. The city doesn't have any interest. I suggest to find a place to stay in Olafsvik.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    The location is the only plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one around to help when you needed anything. The doors to the rooms were difficult to close. Hotel does not suggest any restaurants in town and there are two good restaurants. They are slow in answering emails.

    The location is the only plus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive. No reception. You can call if you need help but considering how much it costs to stay there the least they can do is have a reception for parts of the day.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean, quiet and modern hotel in Hellissandur
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could be a little friendlier. Shower area is tiny (which seems to be quite common in Iceland).

    Clean, modern, two-story hotel, with private en-suite bathrooms. Easy check-in with electronic access to the building and the room (but make sure you actually read your confirmation emails as it will include the details). Comfortable sized rooms with nice mattresses. Decent breakfast choices. Stunning views from the room of the sea AND the mountains. Plenty of things to see and visit nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Value for money in Hellissandue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were never able to communicate with the hosts. The phone number they provided goes to a recording that says that all lines are busy. If you have any issues with the booking, it might be really difficult.

    We stayed at Hotel Welcome in Hellissandur for 1 night. The beds were comfortable and the shower was good. Parking is easily accessible and on site. There is a lift which makes it easy to carry luggage with you. They have a breakfast which was ordinary. Everything was done electronically, so one can check themselves in without any intervention.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.6
    Skimpy rooms, no service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think you can have hospitality without people. There were several things missing such as a floor mat for the shower, hot water for tea that we really didn't want to bother talking to a person on the phone. Only request we had was to refrigerate some food overnight ant it was turned down. After having such a favorable and welcoming experience in al the guest houses, this was a true disappointment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    3.3
    Snefjellsnes national park close by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self service checkin: supposedly I would have received a mail witk codes to enter the building and the room which i didn't. Poor breakfast. Overall: no value for money at all

    Snefjellsnes national park close by

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    The hotel seemed to be quiet and the breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no one to greet us and I never saw anyone at the reception. The shower was dirty and the staff at breakfast did not speak English (or Icelandic for that matter).

    The hotel seemed to be quiet and the breakfast was acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and simple hostel on road 1 (no staff available, except for breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to see or do near the hotel, the nearest supermarket is in the nearby town. No staff available.

    Easy parking near the front door. Good value for money. We were positively surprised by the quality of the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff on site except except at breakfast. Kind of creepy. Bathroom had strong sulphur smell and not the cleanest. TV did not work. Would not stay here again.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Good breakfast, comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was next to bathroom and smelled like a toilet. We called for assistance and they quickly switched our room for a nicer one away from bathrooms.

    Good breakfast, comfortable and clean. Decent location. Self service system was seamless and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    As we booked on the same day we got a heavily discounted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we booked on the same day we got a heavily discounted price, therefore the price performance ratio was very good. The regular price, I would say, is too expensive. There is nobody at the reception; it all works by codes which you get through email - but that system works well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.4
    Impersonal. Make sure you get a hotel and room code by email before you arrive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impersonal. No staff to contact and locked outside hotel for over an hour. Called number as per sign but got answer machine. Said lines were busy. Tried over 30 times. Disgraceful!

    Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Self Check-In
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only met staff the morning after self check-in. Check-in without anyone there working at such a large facility was odd, but we were given easy to follow instructions along with key pad numbers, so everything went smoothly. Nice breakfast and coffee. Very clean facility.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    2.5
    Depressive stink hell hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stenche, the sewer smell was allmost unbearable. We had to open window and room door, shut the bathroom door, to make it liveable. Breakfast was okayish, choise of cold coffee or warm eeky coffee. Bread etc ok. In bathroom there was no handsoap. And they lie about silence, absolutely NOT sound proof. You could hear people next and above talk, snore and going to the toilet (the plumming also sings). It's that we could not find a free place, a little bit affordable (max 200) that was free for the night. Worst euro189 spend ever.

    Best to say about this stinky hellhole is the room size is ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Simple no frills stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was a bit cramped (just a table in the back corner) otherwise ok.

    The check in was simple and easy - just codes so you could come and go as you pleased. Simple rooms with great mountain views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, very close to the national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weirdly there was an odd smell in the hallway leading to our room. Once in the room I acclimated, but it took my daughter's a bit longer. It was a 'sewage' smell.

    Excellent location, very close to the national park. There's a park ranger office next door - a good place to get hiking/historical viewing maps. Restaurants and grocery stores are about 12-15 minutes away. The hotel is very quiet and staffed by a wonderful pair of helperes, but are only there in the a.m. The free breakfast was well stocked and we especially enjoyed the fresh fruit. The self check in was easy and nice if you aren't into welcoming small talk. It was perfect for us weary travelers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    4.6
    Close to national park and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't very clean and old. Bathroom had a bad smell. And breakfast was terrible. All the food was very old and dirty taste.

    Close to national park and beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    Complain about payment !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choose option to pay by cash and in the end they charged me from my account without my permission. When I arrived to hotel I found some note about payment. They don't take cash whenever on their webside is writen that you can pay by cash. All of the rules should be written clearly. Also there was no member of staff to solve my issue. At that point I'm very disappointed.Paulina Jonas

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Great ghost hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one there to ask questions regarding the area and no restaurant for lunch or dinner.

    The hotel was very clean and modern. So modern that it ran itself with no personnel . U check in via a code on the door and a code at ur room door. There's no one there at all except for 2 hours in the morning a gentleman prepares breakfast which was very good buffet style. Otherwise there's no staff at all . Very strange but it seems to work. Very profitable if there's no personnel. Costs!! Lol. I recommend the place and would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.1
    Amazingly, the breakfast was ready at eight and there were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in this hotel during the low season, there is nobody at the reception desk ! We were alone in the hotel

    Amazingly, the breakfast was ready at eight and there were freshly cooked pancakes

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Good value for your money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel might look a bit basic. Could have lighten the place up a bit.

    The hotel is very efficient in their processes through mailing codes and procedures in advance. Very handy and quick process. No staff is included but is not needed this way either.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad mattress. Breakfast was just ok. No hotel staff to ask questions. You had to let yourself in. The hotel was hotel was empty but they put us by the front door. The views upstairs would have been nice to enjoy.

    Room was good size

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Inviting Hotel with Incredibly Friendly People
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it truly was a fantastic hotel experience.

    The hotel was warm and inviting, clean and felt comforting like you were in a homey lodge while actually being quite modern. Elin was incredibly friendly and helpful. Actually, Elin was the highlight of an already wonderful hotel experience. She was outgoing, informative, and just such a delightful person. The hotel provides great maps, and she helped us map out restaurant and hiking locations, even helped us to pronounce a few words! We talked about holidays in Iceland and she told us all about the traditions and Yuletide Lads, which we didn't know about. She even helped us research residency in Iceland (as soon as you travel here, you want to move here!).The room was delightful and had a lovely view, and was right up the road from a gas station with a small grocery. The hotel was also near an amazing national park and several small villages. The next time we are near Olafsvik we are definitely staying here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Location is great to visit the peninsula.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great to visit the peninsula. Breakfast buffet was good. I don't know if it's because we went off-season but we had a self checking so we didn't see any staff member

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    2.5
    nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dreadful place. Don't stay here. No staff. No breakfast. No lunch or dinner service. Restaurant completely closed. No tea or coffee in rooms, none in the hotel or local. They charged for breakfast, the restaurant was closed when we arrived and no staff were around to reason with. They charged for something they're didn't provide. Other guests were also complaining. We rang their receptions hone number, which no one answered. They charge premium rates, for the worst service in any hotel I've stayed in around the world. Arrogant staff. Avoid this hotel.

    nothing. No redeeming qualities at all. Had they charged cheap rates for this awful service, it still would've been too expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Great little place to explore from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tissue wasn't replaced when it was empty and we could have used an extra pillow.

    The self check in was very easy (as long as you check your email for the code!) and the front desk was always staffed - very helpful with suggestions of local places to see and eat that aren't in the guide books. Internet was fast and reliable. The rooms were clean, but simple, quiet, and average size with control over the temperature. Breakfast was adequate and the bar had beer and wine for unwinding in the evenings. Enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    2.5
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not stay at this hotel - it is not a hotel, it is an unstaffed, poor quality hostel. There is a self check-in system which doesn't work - we found 2 other guests checking into our already occupied room with the same "secure" code. The email address for queries does not exist and the telephone just goes through to answering machine. Breakfast was poor. All round, a terrible experience

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    2.9
    What a disapointment!!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We called early the day to ask for an early check-in and were flat-out turned down. When we did arrive at check-in time there was no staff present and the telephone was not answered for 45 minutes. We had to wait to that long to get in to find a deserted and un-staffed hotel. We decided to not stay there (even though we had been charged for the rooms). We were there for a photo shoot and traveling with tens- of thousands of dollars of camera and video equipment and did not feel safe or secure there as there was no security or staff present. This was a very over-priced hotel and the worst that we experienced in our seven days in Iceland. All other hotel experiences were above expectations. Unless you want to stay at a very expensive hostel do not stay here.

    This is an expensive hostel- should not be called a hotel- no staff and no service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable stay in Snaefellnes Peninsula
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are clean and functional, but slightly dated. There are not many places to eat dinner in the area, but Hellissandur's breakfast area has a microwave and dishes you can you use to make something to eat.

    They have an easy self check-in. One week before your arrival, they send you two codes, one to enter the building and another for your room. Location is conveniently right outside Snaefellsjoekull National Park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    2.9
    Would never stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nasty lumpy pillows, no staff. Breakfast was odd also - hard boiled eggs instead of soft boiled (they were in cups so one would expect soft boiled), spreads were unopened so no one used them.

    No staff on site. Totally a strange, eerie feeling that no staff at the desk or on the premises. Beds were uncomfortable - seemed to be old. The pillows were just this side of disgusting - lumpy and nasty. The place was clean that is about the only positive thing I can say about it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.0
    Find another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception staff. Check in was by email. No-one available to solve problems, you had to phone for help and they didn't always answer. No ice machine, no coffeemaker. No comfortable chairs in the common area. The nearest restaurants were in the next town, 6 miles away, so you might as well stay there. Several hotels in Olafsvik make it a more attractive location. Breakfast was mediocre.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    An amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire experience was just amazing. You check-in with the help of the codes you receive via e-mail, the interior of the hotel is very nice, the rooms comfortable and clean. Althought the reception is always empty, the cleaning staff are amazing: the cleaning lady cleans the breakfast table as soon as the guests leave, the rooms are cleaned perfectly. There are several brochures available near the reception to get to know the vicinity and tea and coffee making facilities are available throughout the day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice, but not the hotel as promoted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel promoted a restaurant and bar as part of the amenities. When we actually arrived it was completely self service. This meant we needed a code for the front door and our room. We were informed there would be no staff available till the next morning. I learned that the hotel was "self service" in an email one week prior to check in (several months after booking). To access the entry information you were required to open the confirmation email, then a PDF attachment to find the details. Never again would I stay in a place like this. For anyone looking for the amenities promoted I would not recommend this hotel. If all you want is clean and convenient, this would fit.

    Nice location with clean comfortable rooms. The staff that was on site was extremely nice but not in a position to really help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.6
    A Fine, Clean and Comfortable Self-Service Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having had a bad experience at another hotel in the "Welcome" chain, we were surprised and delighted with this hotel, especially as we were paying less here than at other hotels with rooms that were not as nice as this one. Yes, even though we'd been at several "self-service" hotels earlier in our trip to Iceland, it was still slightly weird to enter a rather substantial hotel with no staff present (we were given codes for the front and room doors). I suppose I can't say much about its charm, but everything here was fresh, clean, modern, and in fine shape! The lobby is a nice space (it's a shame the still fully supplied bar in front was not open) and our room too was quite ample in size (in contrast to most of the rooms we had in Iceland, which were mostly just fine, but rather cramped). Here, the room was very clean and quite comfortable. The private bathroom too was clean, larger than most others we'd had in Iceland, fully supplied, and nice. In the morning, there were staff present for a fine breakfast buffet. We loved our time in the Snaesfellsness Peninsula and this hotel only added to the excellent experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    6.7
    Good for one night stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had heard a lot of bad things about this hotel and actually we where a bit worried, but everything else in the area was booked and it was only one night so we decided to not change anything. We where actually pleasantly surprised with our rooms, they are very clean and it was no problem to check ourself in, as there is no staff at the hotel..which is a bit strange but then also a bit nice too, you do not have to tip anyone.. the breakfast was so and so. I feel that the price was a bit to much one night 215Euro for two people. it is the same price as a 4star hotel in Boston or New York situated at the airports. so bit expensive but otherwise ok :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    7.1
    Location was very good and easily accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no staff on duty on arrival so it felt a little sterile just putting numbers into key pads - and having to drive again to get food/ diner not too good, might consider asking folk is they want a meal in the hotel as part of the booking process and then provide it? Breakfast was served by efficient pole though. So I'd stay elsewhere

    Location was very good and easily accessible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    5.8
    clean, close, and costly
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in Iceland is extremely expensive, and so was this. No ammenities, no staff, no vending. I'm trying to figure out why it cost so much. Also...no place to eat close by

    Location was perfect The room was sparse but very clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.5
    Position of hotel allowed to see great northern light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absence of staff, even if clearly declared, is a pity because nobody available for questions.

    Position of hotel allowed to see great northern light. Comfortable rooms. Efficient Wi-Fi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.3
    Practical, beautiful location, but no lunch/dinner option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is no longer a restaurant : be aware of this if you planned to eat there for lunch or dinner ! A little expensive, but there's not much choice in the area. Self check-in, but you can leave your luggage in the common room after check-out and get it back later in the afternoon : there are surveillance cameras and restricted access.

    The location is ideal to go hiking, but don't expect to shop or eat in a restaurant in such a small city ! The next city is not pratical to reach on foot, be aware of this.The breakfast is good in the big common room. Calm and functional.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    3.8
    Worse than a youth hostel, and charging 160 Euro per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic furnishing. No carpets, synthetic floors!! No coffee facility in the rooms, not even a water kettle. Small and basic shower, even lacking a bathroom mat. Breakfast was as basic as the hotel. Cheese was out.The only waitress preferred spending her time in the kitchen rather than filling up things. When asking her, I got a growl, and with some delay, some cheese. The whole house is run without a regular reception. In the evening the were zero, in the morning exactly three employees who were unfriendly as I have never seen before in Iceland, simply interested into getting visitors out of the hotel as soon as possible. Worse than a youth hostel, and charging 160 Euro! Avoid if possible, there were much nicer hotels in Òlafsvik, very close by!!!

    Single positive argument: located close to Snæfellsjökull State Park and the northern Lighthouse (10 km) with beautiful sunsets.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small town of Hellisandur does not have much to offer for restaurants or any other accommodations. But other towns are a short drive away.

    Great hotel to stay. A short drive to all Snaefellsness has to offer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Superb location but clumsy check in. Worth it though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The self checkin was a bit clumsy at first. I had a passcode but it didn't work and I had to call and they only answered on the third call. Had to drive back to Olafsvik for a restaurant.

    So close to the National Park! And the drive south around the glacier is spectacular with many surprise points of interest.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    No reception or welcoming staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception or welcoming staff. Far to exspensive with no service at all. Thought this would be the high end luxury stay of our trip most exspensive. But it turned out not to be.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.5
    Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no staff, so you just check yourself in and out with codes. It was all a bit impersonal, but it sort of worked.

    Room was good. No frills, but nothing wrong with it. Breakfast was ok. Not a lot of choice in this location. No restaurant for dinner, but a good restaurant about 5 mins drive away in the next town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    3.8
    No staff at premises, over charge customers without their consent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked for 3 people, 2 adults and one kid. They charged us almost $500. When we reached there we found they have given us 2 rooms. We did not need 2 room, unnecessarily paid twice the money. Alos note: there is no staff at this hotel. When we arrived there, the doors were locked with a phone that is answered only during check in hours. We called and they said we should have received emails in which they had sent entry codes. There was no email! Anyway, we got the entry code over phone. If you arrive outside of check in hours.. God help you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    3.3
    Do NOT book this hotel (expensive but terrible)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was terrible NO staff available NO information Phone call to staff was not answered Check in 30 minutes duration due to unavailability of staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    4.0
    No restaurant at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no restaurant at the hotel, though the info said so (and promised it to be a good one, too) . At the village there wasn't any place to eat, the nearest restaurant was 10 km away. It was a big disappointment to enter to Hotel Hellissandur, tired and hungry!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    5.0
    Very expensive; minimum facilities; great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the preview said it had a excellent restaurant. It had NO restaurant at all. There were no staff about when we arrived. The remote checkin instructions were provided by email at a time that I was not connected. We eventually got in to reception to be able to phone up someone to give us the code for our room. We were also starving and ended up driving two towns away to eat. We wish this info had been on the website. The hotel was VERY basic for the price even by Icelandic standards. Location was great but that's all. I guess it's supply and demand.

    Location: location: location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    3.8
    Only stay here if you really cannot find anywhere else in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No facilities in Hellissandur, you are better off staying in nearby Olafsvik which has restaurants and shops. I would not recommend this hotel. No staff on site and we had problems with our booking. If you have a problem you will have to use the telephone at reception and will need to speak English. No restaurant service in the evening. Breakfast is included but it is not very nice and the hours are limited (8.00 - 10.00). The hotel is overpriced for what it is.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    3.8
    Expensive hotel with no atmosphere and minimal facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View poor (the windows were not facing either the sea or the mountains, but instead looked at the dreary village). The price was exorbitant. There were no staff (other than two cleaners who hardly spoke) and the telephone and e-mail were not answered. The curtains in the room did not keep out the light.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    3.3
    Don't stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not stay at this hotel. We had ordered and paid 317 Euro for a tripple room for one night, but got a double room with an extra bed squeezed in. When I called the staff on phone (the is no staff in the hotel!), he said I could write an e-mail! When I said that I did not want to write e-mails, but that I wanted a bigger room or an extra room for our daughter = him to solve the problem, he hung up. Luckily we travelled with some friends, who had space in their bed-and-breakfast, so our daughter slept there. Breakfast is like plastic. No restaurants in town. A ghost hotel. Find something else.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Welcome Hotel Hellissandur traveller photo gallery