Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. North Iceland hotel reviews
  4. Varmahlid hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hestasport Cottages

Reviews of Hestasport Cottages

Vegamót, 560 Varmahlid, Iceland

#1 of 11 hotels in Varmahlid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2018

    10
    From the moment you arrive to the property, you know you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    From the moment you arrive to the property, you know you are somewhere special and well cared for. Cabins are situated around (not tightly) around a very picturesque hot pot. The cabin interiors are dreamy and obviously are the result of love and pride. This was our absolute favorite place in our 3 weeks in Iceland.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2018

    10
    Great equipment, cozy house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We got everything we need in Hestasport cottages. Nice kitchen and living room. The best thing was we saw northern lights just in front of the house!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    10
    A perfect stop traveling from north to west
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. So perfect place for northern light if the sky is clear. It is a small village setup with a natural hot spring in the center of the village. It will be perfect places for groups of fiends to occupy a few villas. The villas are very clean and comfortable. The hotel owner owns a horse riding company. It will be a good opportunity to try the horse riding in the valley.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    10
    The cottage was cozy and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The cottage was cozy and new. The location was perfect to see northern lights and the hot pool was amazing. If you want you can buy horse riding with hestasport staff: they are very gentle and nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    10
    Adorable little cottage, fully equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was only moderately comfortable

    Adorable little cottage, fully equipped. Beautiful view of mountain scenery and Northern lights. Stone hot tub fed by natural hot spring. This was our favorite accommodation in Iceland! We wished we could have stayed more than one night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2018

    9.6
    We arrived late but easy for self check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late but easy for self check-in. The cottage was spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped kitchen. Very comfy gorgeous hot spring outside. Had a wonderful stay here! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    I love this place so much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this place so much! Stayed here before and wish I could just live there. Super cute cottages and love the hot pot and horses. So cozy! Can’t wait to stay again!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    One of our favorite places we stayed in Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water was extremely hot.

    Our cottage was larger than we expected, very clean and it was decorated in a tastefully done country sheep theme. We had a collapsible cooler that we brought with us so we stopped at a nearby grocery store and stocked up and cooked a wonderful meal in our cottage. The hot spring pot was very relaxing after a long day of hiking. We got to meet some of the other guests and we talked about some of the things they had seen and done. You pick up your key at a different location...pay attention to their instructions. It all went smoothly for us. We did a 11 day trip around Iceland and this was one of our top 3 places we stayed!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    A very cosy cottage near to the famous Black Sand Beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blanket and towels are optional item, so it could be good or bad depending on individual preference. There is no Shower soap or shampoo provided. Also, they only accept cash payment, which is rare in Iceland.

    A very cosy cottage near to the famous Black Sand Beach. It is quietly located just next to the ring road, and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. You can view Sunset at the living room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    So cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water smell

    So cute! Hot pot with robes provided. Full kitchen facility. Comfortable beds. Water had the sulfur smell so shower didn’t make you feel clean but not the management problem. Breakfast items in refrigerator would have been nice like yogurt and toast. Coffee provided. Had to pick up key at horse riding location so make sure to plan before arriving at cabin.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    A second wonderful stay at Hestasport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner is friendly and helpful, and his dog is adorable! The cottages are cute, clean, comfortable, and in a beautiful setting. A good spot to stay if you want to take day trips to the Highlands, Akureyri, or explore the Tröllaskagi Peninsula. Bonus points for the hot pot! When planning my return trip to Iceland, staying at Hestasport again was #1 on my list. If I could move in, I would.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Exactly what I was looking for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining options are limited in Varmahlid so plan ahead. The shower is small and the pipes get VERY hot to touch--they do warn you about that,

    We're a family of four with two children ages 8 & 9 & stayed in the 6-person cottage (Rafthus) in July 2018. The cottage is neat, clean, and spacious. The setting is quiet, and serene, with excellent views of the Trollskagi mountains to the east. We didn't try the hot tub. There is no office on site, so you drive a short distance to the Hestasport office to pick up the keys. I highly recommend the horseback riding and river rafting package,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice and cozy cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot spring at the cottage is a very nice way to relax after a long day driving. The cottage is very well designed and feels comfortable and cozy. Kitchenware is adequate for making any type of meals. Self checking in is smooth. There is a less known waterfall and natural hot spring right by the river about 10 minutes drive from the property, don't miss it if you have the time because it's a beautiful waterfall with much less people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    We can't say enough about this cottage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    We can't say enough about this cottage... The location is perfect, you have a little town near but far enough to feel that you are in the middle of nowhere! The kitchen has everything you need to cook, so well equipped. The cottage it self if amazing, so comfortable and warm that you really feel at home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely little cottages, felt like a storybook house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor hot tub could have been hotter. Hard to find a good restaurant nearby. We drove 40 minutes to another town for a quality meal.

    Beautiful little cottages that made me feel like I was at home in the countryside. Clean, nice shower facilities, and a kitchen for cooking in. One could easily live here for a few days or longer. Located in a beautiful valley. We ended up doing horse back riding with Hestasport and highly recommend them for that as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    The cottages are very cosy and well located on top of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are slightly too soft but confortable anyway

    The cottages are very cosy and well located on top of the hill of varmalio. We booked last minute and could grab the keys late in the evening. Staff helpful and friendly. Great hot pot to be shared with the other cottages.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    This is a fun location as it has a geothermal pool on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a fun location as it has a geothermal pool on the property. The individual cottages circle the pool and are surrounded by trees. They are spaced far enough apart to give a feeling of privacy. The gas station grocery store in Varmhlid has limited selection so if you plan to cook in the cottages, do your shopping in a larger city. Dinner options were either the gas station fast food or one other restaurant. We ate at the restaurant which was very good and bought food for breakfast as the store. This is Icelandic horse country and the host of the cottages has information on riding in the area. Worth staying a few days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Best experience in Iceland for accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING. Everything was perfect.

    They were very warm and welcoming. The contact for picking up the keys was perfect and easy. Cottage delightful and beyond our expectations. \Very clean and cozy. Appointed with everything needed for cooking and bathing. BEST was the Hot Pot. Great temperature, quiet, available all hours of the day and night. We were sad we had other bookings or would have based many more of our days there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    THE place to stay in Varmahlíð
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be good to also have spare pillow(s) in cottage.

    Immaculate cottages, very well equipped for self catering. Great shared hot tub in centre of properties with view of the mountains. Helpful, friendly staff at check-in. Wished we had the time to stay here longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Excellent cabins with fantastic host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The cottages are lovely and comfortable. The host, Magnús, was extremely friendly and hospitable. We also had a great time as absolute beginners doing a 2 hour horse ride. Highly recommended and we hope to return in the future.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    An absolute tip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely stunning location, really cozy cottages with a hot pot! The staff was incredibly friendly and the horseback riding tour is recommended, a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend Hestaspirt Cottages. Great experience. Warm, friendly and knowledgeable. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows.

    The owner and staff were wonderful! The cottage was roomy with everything we needed. Incredible views out sl windows. We also went horse riding arranged in advance with Hestasport. Wonderful experience. Wow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Love the hot pot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be warned that the smell of sulphur can be strong in this area. Remove jewellery before getting any water near it....silver goes yellow otherwise!

    Our third visit to Hestasport so I think that says a lot! Love the hot pot! Comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful cottage! Informed and fun staff. Could do horseback riding, hiking to local waterfall that was gorgeous and other activities. Close to groceries and gas. Hot tub out of this world!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    The most comfortable cottage
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It might be a little bit expensive.

    The hot tub is really wonderful. It’s a great place to see the northern lights. The staffs are nice and patient. Their horse riding tour is also amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Loved the cottage and the hot pot and the icelandic horse riding was really something special!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cosy, comfy and welcoming cottages after a long drive! In addition, we went horse riding the next morning which was a wonderful treat - beautiful animals led us through some stunning scenery even in the February cold there was plenty to see and we were well looked after by our guides Gelgur and Weitze who could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    The cottage was beautiful, simple and authentic, with a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage was clean for every essential matters (bed, towels, sheet, general state of the property) but details were overlooked - the kitchen cabinets were greasy with sticky fingers traces from many guests before us.

    The cottage was beautiful, simple and authentic, with a nice parking. All required amenities were there including necessary kitchen items. The little hot pot was clean and nice to watch the stars.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay with private cottage and hot pool outside...Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place wasn't easy for us to find as we arrived on 31st evening and nobody was around for directions. The host was kind enough to keep the keys in the letterbox as well as provide directions on the map page.

    The cottage was really really good place to stay, fully equipped kitchen, Christmas decoration inside, natural hot pool outside of cottage and beautiful comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended stay in North Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cottage is stunning: spacious, clean an cozy. The outside hot tub at the center of the garden shared among different cottages was excellent for star gazing. Saw northern lights from outside the cottage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little cottage - wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little confusing as the where to go to collect the keys since it is not close to the actual cottages. We found it okay but ended up having to direct some other guests who showed up and didn't realize there was a different location to go to for their keys. The mattress and pillows were not great compared to other places we stayed, but honestly it didn't matter much because everything else was great.

    Loved this stay! The cottage was very cozy and the perfect place to spend a relaxing evening. The best part was the hot pot in the middle of the cottages. We checked in earlier than the other guests staying that evening and ended up having it all to ourselves during a great sunset view. Surrounding area is beautiful, mountains, farms, etc. Kitchen had everything we needed to make a simple meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful cabin in a peaceful location - longer stay next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water here, in this area, has the sulfur smell, but that's normal for Iceland.

    I was sad were were only spending one night - a lovely, cozy cottage set up on a hill. Beautiful wood interior and spacious. Fully equipped kitchen, which made it handy for making dinner that night - especially since there's not a lot in the area. Next time we may visit, hoping to spend more time to enjoy the activities in the area. :-)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Cute, romantic cottages with a bonus hot tub and great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included. Food is expensive in Iceland so it's great to have an included meal. Not many restaurants close but there is a small grocery store and gas station right nearby. The shower was small, didn't drain well and the shower head needed to be replaced.

    Great location along the ring road. Cottage was cute, comfy and clean. Has a kitchen for preparing meals and they provided towels, robes and slip on shoes for heading out to the hot tub. The hot tub is a fantastic touch. We stayed in the cabin outside the circle of cabins, Odin's house, and it was super quiet and romantic with great views. Wish we could have stayed longer. We also did the horse riding tour offered by the owners and it was fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    The Wifi is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi is very good. The cottage has everything you need for breakfast or simple meal. The water is really warm for showering. The outdoor hot tub is also amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    One of our favorite of 11 properties we stayed in throughout...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ONLY complaint we have about this property is the mattress. It is thin and uncomfortable and you can feel the wood boards of the bed through it.

    One of our favorite of 11 properties we stayed in throughout our trip. We stayed in the "sheep shed" cabin which was adorable and fully outfitted with everything you could need. Property was beautifully maintained and the communal hot tub was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful team in the office when we collected the keys and checked out. A warm welcome after a long drive was really appreciated. Cottage was really well laid out and very clean. Location was great and I saw the Northern Lights for the first time whilst there. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    No convenient for pick up the key,they should put some light...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No convenient for pick up the key,they should put some light in the house and the lock box for the key, the reception is far away from the house, also the hot tube area should have lights, very dark in that whole area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    We have stayed at some great places on our trip but this one...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't stay long enough.

    We have stayed at some great places on our trip but this one gets our highest rating. From the moment we checked in at the office the staff were so friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Their dog can even open and close the door for you! When we arrived at our cottage it was gorgeous! So clean and had everything you needed for your stay. Then we went to the private hot pot in the evening to relax and star gaze. It was magical! The next morning we had booked a two hour riding tour with them as well and thus made the whole experience even better. We both had very little experience with horses but with the helpful staff instructing us we were soon galloping and experiencing the unique Icelandic pony tolt gait. What an amazing experience. We highly recommend Hestasport as a destination to stay at and experience everything they offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Great Hot Pot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chalet was in need of some renovation as the shower was stained. Also, the oven was greasy. In addition, the chalet was advertised as having a washing machine and dryer and there was neither of these

    A fantastic hot pool and a lovely location. Generally well-equipped kitchen and comfortable accommodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    everything! super cute cottage, very clean modern and confortable. Awesome hot tub in the middle of the cottages. check out at 12 so you can enjoy the place. We went for a two hours horses ride with Hesta sport and it was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    great experience, we will recommend it to our friends and would stay there again anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroomg was quite small for a cottage for 6 people, could do with a little updating

    lovely cottages, quite spacious, lovely hot pot. Staff very friendly, great activities like riding and rafting, both a great experience, thanks a lot to all the friendly guides!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Heaven in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There should have been bottled water to drink.

    Almost everything! We could have stayed there forever! We loved the pine boards on the walls and ceiling. There were good views from all the windows - and lots of windows. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had extra heat. Everything was very clean. There is a geothermal pool lined with stones - marvelous!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay. Do not miss it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ONLY thing we didn't like was we felt we had to rush right out as soon as we arrived to use the hotpot because on checking in we were told there was a school group staying in 3 of the cabins. They were away for a few hours. Sure enough as soon as they got back they jumped into it. The kids were good, well supervised, just lots of them having fun, and the relaxing quiet hotpot was not a place to go hang out when they were all in there. I would def go here again, I just would ask if there is a school group coming or that has cabins reserved. I'd just rather have other quiet adults.

    Loved it very much, cozy cabin, clean comfortable beds, lots of room, easy parking. Beautiful thermal hot pot right outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Hot tub!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of sulphur in hot water - though that's not their fault really...

    Cottage was very clean and cute. Hot tub outdoors available to all guests made the difference in our overnight stay! Reception staff was very friendly and helpful, too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Best cottages in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved this place.

    This was our favorite guesthouse of the trip. The cottages were adorable. They provided robes and crocs for the guests. In the center of the cottages was the most adorable hot tub that looked like a wishing well. This was a truly magical place. If you get the change to ride horses with them too, I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly host and cozy cottages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water and hot tub smelled of sulfur, I know it's like that in the entire country but it's the only thing I can think of.

    Incredibly friendly owner, he gave us a bit of insight about the history of the area and Iceland in general - great guy. Cottages were secluded and cozy. I loved the wooden furniture inside and well as my bed on the second floor (I had to climb a cute set of wooden stairs to get to it). Serene surroundings and an amazing hot tub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Top notch accommodation in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Just the most beautiful property, and a perfect stop if you are driving the ring road. The cottages surround the stone hot pot...the views of the mountains are stunning. I would go back and stay longer!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Staff was waiting for us on our arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was waiting for us on our arrival. They gave us all the instructions to find the place and recommendations for an amazing walk. The place is so beautiful and enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Totally recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a bit of a problem with the tv but this didn't worry us - and we were encouraged to contact reception if we had any problems at all.

    Friendly welcome from reception. Lovely detached, peaceful cottage with amazing views. Everything about the cottage was excellent and no doubt, if we revisit Iceland, we will rebook. We deducted a point from the 'bonus bathroom' question as we like a bathtub.....but this seems rare in Iceland! Otherwise the bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside to hestaport cottages was the fact that we had to leave after two days.

    The cottages were very comfortable and well set up and provisioned with basic necessities. The cottage development was well planned, sited and fitted into the landscape. The hostess Katya was delightfully helpful and provided information, on topics of our interest, without prompting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    8.8
    Cute cottages
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the beds were not as comfy as other places we stayed. Everything else was really great.

    Amazing cabins with lots of room, very well decorated and kitchen was a good size with everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    A lovely cottage in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen was well equipped with larger items, including an oven and microwave, but needed a few more utensils to make cooking a little easier - simple things like sharp knives and wooden spoons for stirring. And some chairs or a small outdoor setting on the deck would be a huge bonus for enjoying sunny afternoons or watching the northern lights.

    The cottage we had was one of seven, but we thought it was the one in the best location for views and privacy. The cottage was really comfortable, and beautifully decorated. Sculpted mounds around the cottage added to a feeling of isolation and privacy without reducing our views to the surrounding mountains. And we had fantastic views of the Northern Lights from our wraparound deck. The outdoor hotpot looked lovely - although the cold wind put us off from trying it out!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cupboards and drawers could be fitted with anti-slam mechanism.

    Good functioning hot tub, cute cottages, comfortable for 3 people. Property responds to your queries very promptly and staff are friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Gorgeous cottages. I recommend them to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An absolutely beautiful and clean cottage with a naturally heated hot tub. What could be better? Great value for your money as it's comparable to most guest houses, but the cottage gives you your own bathroom and kitchen! We did not want to leave!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Lovely cottage in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about this cottage.

    This was a very comfortable, well equipped and very clean cottage in a beautiful location. The host was very friendly and had a very well communicated process for picking up the keys after hours.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    A piece of pure Iceland !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we did not plan more time there !

    The attention to detail in every aspect, the friendliness off the staff, and the breath-taking beauty of the surroundings!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Peaceful and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything negative.

    Cottage was very well detailed and presented. Very quiet, comfortable and warm. Hosts very welcoming, food and fuel available very locally.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    These cottages are situated in a beautiful setting very glad we stayed two nights there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cabin was very clean,comfortable and spacious. The hot pot was truly a highlight and we were able to enjoy the northern lights while we were there!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    lovely cottage! Owner was super nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strong sulfur smell in the water. Common in this area but it was strongest here.

    Very nice cabin. Spacious and clean. The hot tub/hot spring was very enjoyable. Owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    10
    Best stay ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best stay ever!! Wonderful house with beautiful surroundings and to complete all of this, personal hot pot at 50°. Best experience ever! We will come back for sure! Great price as well and very friendly people! :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    An Iceland paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not of great quality, they were difficult to push together so my husband and I could sleep together.

    Beautiful, private location! The cabin was priced very reasonably for everything g it offer. Upon arrival there were chocolates, bathrobes, shoes for the hot tub. The kitchen was large enough that it allowed for an extended stay. The hot tub was beyond amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    9.6
    The cottages have themes, which is a nice touch, but you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cottages have themes, which is a nice touch, but you probably won't see the inside of them often: the hot tub in the central ground is heavenly. Enjoy the stars or even the Northern Light by night and a great mountain view by day from this peaceful and quite location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    A family favourite hideout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not too many food options here except for the petrol station mart.

    This is my family's favourite hideout. Its very isolated and quiet yet connected to the world via wifi. We returned here after two years and requested for the same cottage and got it again. Saw the northern lights again but of course we were very lucky. Horse riding is offered at hestasport / reception for those that are interested. Icelandic horses are one of a kind! Would not mind staying here again if we visit iceland yet another time.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    A trully amazing property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This property is indeed amazing. Located at the outskirts of the small town Varmahlid, the cottages complex will fulfill all of your expectations and more. They are equipped with everything you might possibly need. They are clean and decorated with taste. The highlight is the hotpot in the center of the small complex with it's 39 degree Celsius water which you can enjoy at anytime. If you want to visit be sure to take your bathing suit it is worth it. It is also a great spot to see the Northen Lights, while enjoying the hotpot. Personnel is very friendly and helpful and they make sure your stay will be excellent. This was one of the best location to visit the nice places around. If you are thinking to stay in Varmahlid book a cottage here you will not regret it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    9.6
    The spacious cottage has a well equipped kitchen and is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spacious cottage has a well equipped kitchen and is very well laid out. We very much enjoyed our stay here. The hotpot is a fantastic bonus for guests as well as the robes they provide!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.3
    A very nice place for staying when you're passing by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses have to be changed urgently! They don't match the quality of everything else. And we tried them on two cottages.

    Staff, cleanliness, confort of the cottages, hot tub and the spot itself.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    10
    Best stay in Iceland!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Left my bag with packed lunch in the cottage :( my fault!! Amazing place and nothing we don't like about at all

    Best stay in Iceland!!! The hot spring is amazing! And the whole cottage is so cozy and homy with lots spaces! We miss there!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2018

    10
    The hot tub which was amazing after our drive through a snow...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub which was amazing after our drive through a snow storm. It was the place where we saw the northern lights too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2018

    10
    Wonderful place - will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and fantastic hosts!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Amazing little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike about this place

    Amazing little gem

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    9.6
    It was a great stay! Nice location and nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    kitchen a bit small.

    Outdoor hot tub was good. Bed was comfy. Nice location to see northern light! Nice ambience and nice view!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Perfect stay in a perfect cottage in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! Wish we had booked more nights at the cottages. They were perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    A real gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better

    A real gem!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic property quiet, has everything for a short stay and the bonus of the hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cottage was as described, extremely clean great position and the hot tub a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    They were very accommodating to your family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were very accommodating to your family. We were traveling with our 2 year old. They reached out to us and set up a crib for her.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Very nice staff and nice place for northern lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cottage (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and nice place for northern lights.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Browse Hestasport Cottages traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: