Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Holt 4 stars

Bergstaðastræti 37, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#32 of 76 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    It was fabulous and I will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like, but when walking the staircase, which is such a lovely experience with original art work, I noticed that the wallpaper had some stains and could use replacing.

    The breakfast was wonderful, with home made pastries, fresh fruit, cereals, hot dishes and wonderful coffee. The staff is so attentive and the hotel and it's staff are a bit of old world charm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bath was quite narrow and wasn't easy to get out of. Also they gave me two single duvets on the double bed rather than a double duvet, which was rather confusing.

    The staff were very nice, the room was clean and comfortable and the location was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    One of the most welcoming hotel i have visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the size of the room, really below my expectations. I did not like the housekeeping services, forgetting one day to put shampoo & a piece of soap, & the second day a towel & a bathroom mat. I did not like the empty fridge.

    I liked the location of the hotel, close to the city center, but away from the noises of the center. I liked the cosy ambiance of the lobby floor, the wood decoration, the paintings everywhere. I loved the kindness & friendliness of the reception welcome, the professionalism of the reception staff. I loved the "concierge" work done by the receptionist, her desire to show us the best of her country, & to give us exactly what we wanted. I loved the fine dining restaurant & their amazing langoustines.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Very helpful staff and a great location made up for poor facilities, so overall an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The facilities are in dire need of upgrading. There is only one small restaurant, causing queues at breakfast; the (free) wi-fi is very slow and patchy, as is TV reception, and our room and bathroom were both cramped and gloomy.

    The location was brilliant, only 15 minutes walk to the city centre and harbour on one side and the BSI bus terminal on the other. Shops, restaurants and the start point for many coach tours in easy reach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    It was thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent. They were very helpful. They suggested tours and booked them for us. The charge went on our hotel bill which is great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    one of the best hotels we've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    curtains let too much light through, very expensive though other hotels are too, breakfast was good but could have been better.

    Superb hotel, lovely art on the walls, friendly and efficient staff, felt right at home, comfortable room, fabulous public areas, nothing pretentious or corporate, very good restaurant, well located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel; I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Street-side rooms are noisy - Icelanders party hard - and is on the flight path for the local airport. No drawers in the room.

    Comfy bed in a reasonable sized room, kept spotless by the cleaning staff with regular changes of linen. Good breakfast (a little monotonous after a week) and a short walk into the centre of Reykjavik. There is a restaurant which is obviously popular. Downstairs decor is a mix of art gallery and London gentlemen's' club.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Iceland is a wonderful country and we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The fact that the restaurant was closed.

    The staff were amazingly helpful in handling the tours. Snow blizzards caused cancellations and necessitated new bookings. Room was large and kept to a high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    we had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service was zo nice and kind. Really helpful. The location is great. Few minutes walk from the main street of Reykjavik. Also 10 minutes walk from the big busstation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is well maintained and the house keeping is excellently performed. The staffs are very helpful to provide suggestions for tours and dining. The hotel location is perfect for tourists. Many good restaurants and key bus terminal are within 10 min walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    Terrible dated hotel lacking any facilities and supremely overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room and bar was closed for our entire visit with no explanation. The breakfast was sub standard and in my opinion the cooked produce was inedible. There was no set of drawers in the room ... where are you supposed to keep your smalls. The hotel is in need of complete refurbishment and is charging well over and above.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one lift but didn't impact our stay.

    Great location. Walking distance to city center with all the shops and restaurants. Close to the waterfront. Very clean accomodations. Very large rooms. We had a junior suite with king size bed and seating area and a balcony overlooking the city. There for New Years Eve and staff provided us with champagne upon arrival from the festivities. Nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Would absolutely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff not as attentive to the dining room as they could have been such as replacing place settings when used ones were removed. Could have been more friendly as well instead of just talking amongst themselves.

    Loved the front desk staff. Each person was always so very friendly and more than happy to be helpful. I loved the location which was so close to the center of town but quietly tucked away on a quaint little street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    The decor is uncommon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room. Some of the furnishings are flimsy - the bedside nightside attached by hooks to the wall fell off the wall, spilling glass of water and other items. The reading light on one of the beds was not functioning.

    The decor is uncommon. It has character. Lovely breakfast. Staff are friendly and helpful. Central location in Reykjavik. Many of the shops and attractions are within walking distance. Easily accessible parking lot right next to hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money, helpful and pleasant staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a particularly long and rather cold day, I would have welcomed a bath! (Shower only in room)

    Very helpful staff who spoke excellent English. Breakfast provided variety and good quality healthy (and vegetarian) options. Good location within easy walking distance of the principal sights but just beyond the bustle of the city centre and nightlife noise. Good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Our September, 2017 stay at the Strand met our needs, and I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although traveling with friends, I stayed in a tiny, single, standard room. Hanging space was an open rack with a few, regular wooden hangers. If you need clip hangers, bring your own. My room faced another building, and I needed to kept the drapes closed. Room safe is very small. Breakfast was adequate, but don't expect bacon and eggs....mainly breads, pastries, cheeses and cold meats.

    Lovely location on the canal; front desk and breakfast room staff efficient; room immaculate; immediate assistance with bringing luggage from entrance down the steps to reception; sheltered overhang outside front door (weather was cool and rainy;) easy to summon taxi via front desk; bed very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Really enjoyable stay in an excellent location, close to the centre of Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a bit small given the overall size of our room, which was very generous.

    Very comfortable room, lovely staff and interesting art on the walls.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Excellent stay! Do not hesitate to book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a great experience overall; the breakfast was fine, but could be better.

    Staff very helpful and excellent customer service. As we had a celebration, we were offered an upgrade to a suite for half price as well as a bottle of champagne in the room. Thank you so much! The staff made great suggestions for restaurants and took care of our excursions bookings. The hotel is situated in a quiet area while at 5-10 min walk from the main attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.3
    Pros and Cons; would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: Size of the bedroom was OK although there was little space to put our things. The bathroom was so small that 2 people could not fit in it at the same time. We are both on the slim side and we could not do it. The HVAC is not adjustable in individual rooms and it became incredibly hot and stuffy during the night. But the biggest problem was noise. Our room was on the street side, 2nd floor, and at night we could hear people talking as they walked past the hotel. One night there was a private party in the function room; at 1 AM we had to go down to the front desk to ask that they quiet down. There was a band and singer as well as all the guests. They did respond to our request. Also noticed that while most of the hotel was clean it is beginning to show signs of wear on the walls, moldings, carpeting, etc.

    The Hotel Holt is in a great location off the main thoroughfare but close to all major activities. Pros: breakfast was fabulous -- great variety, coffee was very good, white linen tablecloths, bright sunny room; bed was comfortable and there were a number of pillows; numerous works of art installed everywhere which the hotel is known for; staff very very helpful and friendly; bathroom very clean and recently remodeled and nice towels; lovely toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.0
    Hotel Holt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is high compared to the states. When i stayed in a room on the 'entrance' side of the hotel, the street noise, and the people on the sidewalks, were loud enough to wake me up more than once through the night. (It was Saturday night).

    Wonderful staff. Very good buffet breakfast, with a big variety of food, included in the room charge. Nice clean rooms with good amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.0
    Not good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the most expensive hotel I booked for our trip and had the least value for the money. The hotel is old, musty and dark. The bathroom is tiny and you barely had room to turn around. There was no counter space except for small glass shelving high above the toilet. The room smells moldy and musty. The carpet does not look clean. You can hear the airplanes taking off from the domestic airport.

    Free parking and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely in the heart of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated but still a lovely place. Expensive but so is everything in town.

    Check in desk was helpful and very sweet. The room was clean and nice and had parking on site. Everything in town was expensive but it was very centrally located and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Would recommend hotel, but not Gallery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Trouble with the TV remote. Put in new batteries, but still didn't work. T bone steak at the Gallery was tasty , but tough. Too expensive for quality.

    Breakfasts were wonderful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Electronic converter worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    The staff were all friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel comfortable and relaxed. We had an wonderful meal in the restaurant. It is a place with charm and character. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.7
    Great location but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could feel the springs in the mattress and the room was a bit dusty. The toilet was too close to the shower, you almost tripped over the toilet getting in and out.

    Great paintings and artwork in the lobby and throughout the hotel. The location was great! Only a few minutes walk to downtown Reykjavik and about 10-15 minutes walk to the bsi bus station. Front desk staff available 24 hours a day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Great ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were tired with frayed edges and the scrambled eggs tasted like egg beaters...however, would stay there again in a minute!

    Almost everything....loved the artwork, excellent helpful staff, comfortable room,overall great ambiance, quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel with lots of Icelandic beautiful art of painting etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud speaking other guest during breakfast -almost entering a chicken farm...

    Comfortable chairs at the reception area, good food in the restaurant, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of renovation. Certainly not current 4 star level accommodation. Bathroom really small. Mold, tiny towels. No mirrors not in bathroom. Lounge area over crowded with dated furniture. All carpets needed a good vacuum. Breakfast laid out in a corridor. Bedroom furniture from the '70's. Art on the walls is nothing special. Expected a lot more. Delivered very little

    Location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.0
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what they offer, it is very old, dark and a litlle depressing, mainly the lobby. People at reception very seriouss, few personal, you had to wait for everything: key.... Restaurant was closed during Chistmas

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    Great Location For Exploring Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our third stay at Hotel Holt and we will stay here again. Nice staff, comfy room and great location for walking around Reykjavik. Lovely main floor bar to relax and have a drink by the fire. Beautiful artwork in every space of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location, good breakfast, a little dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decor of public rooms is very gloomy - dark wood paneling and dark carpets and furnishings.

    Very accommodating staff - allowed us to check in to our room early and were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillow was too soft. I couldn't sleep well. You need to give the key all the time

    Free parking breakfast was good beautifull reception and bedroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wouldn't have changed a thing.

    The beds were so comfortable with the perfect pillows. Loved that we had a balcony and I could see the Northern Lights one night from there. Enjoyed all the artwork. Great location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Birthday break to see the Northern Lights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everywhere was clean and well maintained. The staff were really friendly and extremely helpful. We had been let down by an excursion company and the reception staff booked us with their preferred company for the same excursion for that night! Hotel was located a short walk from the main streets of Reykjavik where there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    10
    Quiet luxury, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drink prices at the hotel bar are very high.

    Staff was lovely & very accommodating. Room (facing away from the street) was very quiet. Bed was comfortable. Excellent location for exploring Reykjavik on foot. Great rate for booking this 4-star hotel in advance through booking.com.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Short lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short lovely stay. Staff was exceptinal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Very interesting hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel includes a lot of artistic pieces and is very well situated in Reykjavik

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Clean friendlystaff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buses do not come to hotel

    Clean friendlystaff very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel holt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel really enjoyed staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mothing

    Staff very kind and helpful Good area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent - perfectly located and great atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not eat eggs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Very short stay but very enjoyable. The staff could not have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    I've stayed in the Hotel Holt four times and always enjoy it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather expensive.

    Excellent location and very interesting artwork.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    I love the artworks in the hotel and in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the artworks in the hotel and in the room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    Not again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property need a urgent renovation Breakfast is not worth a visit.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    The receptionist was very helpful and suggested a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was very helpful and suggested a walking circuit in the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Room was very comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little small compared to American hotels.

    Room was very comfortable; breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    The price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, easy to access w rental car, very kind staff. Wish we had stayed longer.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little far from restaurants, especially in poor weather for walking

    staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Excelent hotel, friendly staff, very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate there two times and both times Breakfast bacon was cold.

    Excelent hotel, friendly staff, very good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    Good service & location but way too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Aging furniture. Noisy. All in all too expensive for this quality.

    Great location and service. Great effort on art pieces hang on walls.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Well-located, small boutique hotel within easy walking distance of the heart of Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More space in the wc/shower room. And a bath would have been good as well as a shower.

    Comfy beds and an excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Convenient,clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast early on day of departure.

    Excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    5.8
    Great bar, unforgivable cleaning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, I found little curly hairs in the bathroom sink. That is completely unacceptable for any decent hotel, not to mention to this rate.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Northern lights hunting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was enough big, and located near the Main Street of city center.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.5
    Good choice for a stay in Reykjavik. I would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast left much to be desired. Scrambled eggs were fake.

    Good location, free parking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel well placed for shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel well placed. Good breakfast. Good Restaurent Comfortable beds and pillows

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.8
    Got a room with a double bed when hotel staff noticed my...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a room with a double bed when hotel staff noticed my length

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room amenities feel short, mini fridge was broken and snacks expired.

    Breakfast was included. Short walking distance to downtown and harbor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Comfy stay at Hotel Holt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Very comfortable hotel with wonderful art collection. Breakfast was good & bed & shower were great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    The hotel with most character in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    We loved the location, the very friendly staff and all the wonderful art.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls were thin and our neighbour's alarm kept going off starting at 6:45 am and they had left their room. The front desk staff was unable to help so we weren't able to go back to sleep.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome and plentiful. The location was excellent, easy to find and close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    It had double towel bars for 2 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A make up mirror would be nice.

    It had double towel bars for 2 people. 2 books for make up bags or towels. A mirror outside of the bathroom. Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    Great small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi in room very spotty. Mine was not good, friends were fine right down the hall. Minor issue, lobby wi-fi is good.

    Great small hotel. We stayed for six days. 5 minute walk to downtown area. Rooms very clean, bathroom is small but newly refurbished. Beautiful Icelandic artwork everywhere. The staff were wonderful. They went over and above to be helpful. Thanks Hotel Holt for a great stay

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    5.8
    Staff was very pleasant and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is listed as 4-star--it is not. Rooms are dated and need renovation. Free parking for the hotel is in a very small area with only a handful of spots which were all taken, had to find street parking instead. Nightly rate was too high for the value.

    Staff was very pleasant and friendly. Close to downtown.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.3
    very comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite expensive for single travellers especially for one of the four us with a very small bedroom. We are budget travellers so maybe are a bit on the mean side!

    very comfortable bedrooms.. We liked the tea tray. Cheerful bar with comfy seats. beautifully warm. Good location. Near centre for sightseeing, but in attractive residential area

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Super location for walking around the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super location for walking around the city centre. Parking easy too. Very clean comfortable and well appointed rooms. Wide choice at breakfast buffet. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.3
    Superb location, great service and extra helpfull staff.
    • Couple

    The wall to the neighboring room was thin as paper, you could listen to phone calls or hear snoring at night. Bring earplugs.

    Superb location, great service and extra helpfull staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.9
    Good location, the bed was comfy, breakfast was nice as well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the lobster soup was not nice. we got upgraded to a double room but one of the beds was a pull out bed - bad!

    Good location, the bed was comfy, breakfast was nice as well as dinner. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.3
    Comfy bed , good breakfast with plenty of variety , great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very warm first night , we had a window open after that which was fine as it's so quiet .

    Comfy bed , good breakfast with plenty of variety , great coffee !

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little expensive. Dinner in Gallery wasn't top notch, just ok.

    Breakfast is good. Bar is really cool - retro look. Staff helpful. Rooms large and comfy. Nice desk for computer.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    9.6
    The reception staff were brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV signal was terrible. There is some road traffic noise but in a city it's actually much quieter than London or NYC would be. Breakfast tables are shared. Basically I am being picky because I really liked this hotel.

    The reception staff were brilliant. Helped us with our queries; from where to eat to calling tour companies. Very friendly, most helpful and a real pleasure to liaise with. We had a suite which was a lovely size, giving us a living room and a bedroom. The bits & pieces in the bathroom were a useful touch which is disappearing from other hotels. The art was not to my taste but I liked how they had a good variety running through the hotel. Location is great for everything in Reykjavik.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast excellent, Choice and quality good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy, especially in the rooms overlooking the back of hotel and staff entrance. My husband was unable to sleep properly on 3 of the four nights. The Saturday night was the worse when we were both woken at around midnight and he was woken again about 2 am with further noise. We could hear people in the corridors and staff arriving and leaving. Vans pulling up engines running and doors being slammed. People talking and laughing with no apparent care that people might be sleeping. These rooms need a health warning!

    Breakfast excellent, Choice and quality good. The rooms reasonably comfortable and the location ok. However the falling down building adjacent to the hotel didn't add to the external look of the place.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: