Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hótel Fljótshlíd

Smáratún, 861 Hlíðarendi, Iceland

#1 of 4 hotels in Hlíðarendi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 302 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Very lovely hotel with beautiful view and a farm nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very lovely hotel with beautiful view and a farm nearby. Nice staffs. The restaurant provides fresh food from the farm. Kids love the farm animals so much.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Amazing place with delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to find, very nice room, friendly staff and breakfast was the best! Homemade bread, homemade Nutella, some traditional meals.. simply awesome!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Icelandic hospitality at it’s best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t change a thing.

    Every staff member we interacted with was so wonderful and we loved being on a working farm in May... so many lamb babies! Also, the breakfast spread was insanely delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was super friendly and the view was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had really high expectations for the breakfast - but we were disappointed. It was fine, but nothing special.

    The staff was super friendly and the view was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect hidden gem! Would absolutely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely loved this hotel! Very comfortable, clean and friendly staff! The location was perfect, close enough to gas station, supermarkets and restaurants but secluded enough where one could truly relax. The hotel grounds were well kept and having a farm in your front step was a great bonus! We also ate at the “Barn restaurant” and it was great!! All products used by the restaurant come straight from the hotel’s farm. So glad we found this gem!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay with amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not very comfortable.

    Incredible location, friendly hosts, ans absolutely amazing buffet breakfast, with homemade skyr and bread and huge range of food. Large area with pool table to chill. Kitchen in separate area but had all we needed to cook dinner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff, especially the waiter, offered fantastic customer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, especially the waiter, offered fantastic customer service - really polite, friendly and offering helpful travel advice. The food was fine dining standard, absolutely delicious! The location was stunning too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a tad bit in . They have a bin that differentiate the recycle and trash but it was not cleared from the last guest stay.

    The room was big and driving towards the hotel you could see the cows they have. Extreamlt helpful and friendly stuff !!! The even took the initiative to explaine their breakfast spread to each guest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    I can´t be objective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can´t be objective...we saw the northern lights just through our window!! This place was wonderful, the staff very kind. There´s a kitchen with everything you need for cooking. Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved the breakfast layout (especially the homemade Skyr!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast layout (especially the homemade Skyr!) and the recommendations by the staff for scenic routes to take and waterfalls with fewer crowds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Location is excellent. The vegetarian lasagne is delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were acceptable but not great compared to where else we have stayed.

    Perfect location. Hotel has thought of everything to keep you entertained if the weather keeps you indoors. Snooker table chess puzzles games piano and plenty for the little ones. ATV’s on site for the adventurous. The food is delicious and well presented. A truly charming hotel in the mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the hot tub wasn't working during our stay. Also, a mini-fridge in the rooms would be appreciated.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. It's away from the busy towns in a great quiet spot, perfect to try and see the northern lights! The staff were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and all home made! There is also a great selection of books and puzzles within the reception area that are ideal if the weather isn't great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.7
    Farm, where?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was broken. The beds were on wheels and slid all over. Stacked up pillows and bed scooted away from walls and I ended up with no pillows. It was s farm, but no idea where the farm was.

    Food was very farm to table and quite good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi could have been stronger I think.

    Really loved the environmental aspect of this hotel!! This hotel cares about its impact on the environment and its carbon emissions, and that's awesome!!! They also just happened to have a give/take clothes swap for its neighbors, and I basically did my Christmas shopping (more like free taking) then and there- got off with a sweet beanie and shirt! Breakfast buffet was delicious! Most of it was served cold, but that's the norm it seems. The food was really good and good quality though. You can also see the volcano in the distance. Pretty cool!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Best trip ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! I have nothing but great things to say!

    Everything about this place was perfect! We stayed there three nights and used it as a base for day trips. Coming home after long days of driving was a total pleasure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Exceptional service, facilities and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What a fantastic hotel! The staff are lovely and took an interest in our activities and us. They all made our stay very special by making us feel welcome and offering helpful tips on local attractions. They also alerted us when the Northern Lights were visible. This led to us being able to experience the most spectacular show of lights that any of us could of possibly hoped for. The bed was very comfortable, the room spacious and exceptionally clean and warm. We had a lovely view of the snow capped mountains and volcano. At breakfast we were offered a range of quality fare, including home made breads, jams and skyr. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant, the food was right up there among the best restaurants we sampled in Iceland, including those in Reykjavik. Hotel facilities also incude a hot tub, bar and pool table and a comfortable area for playing board games and/or reading. The hotel is also within easy reach of most of Icelands attractions in the south, including Geyser, National Park, Golden Circle and Rekjavick. We would like to thank everyone at Hótel Fljótshlíd for our lovely stay and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone visiting Iceland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    We loved loved loved the view of the mountains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved loved loved the view of the mountains. Not only did we get it from our room, but also breakfast and dinner every day! Fantastic staff, amazing food-from farm to table done exceptionally well. We stayed 3 nights and ate there every night, it's not cheap but ballpark with other nice restaurants in Iceland and the food was top notch. Would have been perfect for northern lights if activity was high enough but we missed them there. Horses were gorgeous. Beds comfortable. Staff all so nice and accomodating with whatever we needed. No fridge in the room but can get ice for drinks etc on request which they are happy to do. Wish we stayed longer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More like a hotel than guesthouse.

    The horse farm is located about 15 minutes from the ring road which some people may consider inconvenient but we liked it because it's remoteness made it easier to see the Northern Lights!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service with a smile. Would recommend my friends and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff who would go all the way to tell us the good attractions around, made calls for us to ensure we get to go for horse riding when theirs were fully booked. Allowed us to visit their horses. However the staff are really busy we had to wait for them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture in the rooms is outdated, but the location, food, and staff more than made up for that.

    Great breakfast and dinner. Friendly staff. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful value for the money and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quet place in southern Icel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little out of the way, but located in a beautiful valley within site of volcanoes.

    Very clean large rooms, very friendly staff and farm like setting. The morning breakfast included in your room rate was very good. Excellent value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed walking around the area, breakfast was replete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited dinner option (one entree, fixed menu). Too much property light limited star and northern light viewing. The hot tub contained tepid water and required cleaning.

    We enjoyed walking around the area, breakfast was replete with homemade bread, jams, veggies. The property is eco-conscious, and we appreciated the large bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.9
    Serene and quiet, friendly place to stay not too far off the ring road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot say we liked the beds. WAY too soft and springy, both the mattress and the box spring. My wife had to remove the mattress and put it on the floor to get a comfortable rest, which is not something you really want to do considering the prices.

    They very kindly kept their restaurant open a bit later than their normal hours and served us a full dinner, no pressure to finish up. Very relaxing and very good meal. Also, the location on the farm is downright serene.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    "Green", clean, peaceful and pleasant sum it up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in Iceland is expensive and this was no different. However I will say that the 3-course special meal was actually a very good value!

    Farm or table restaurant was fantastic! My husband and I really enjoyed the freshness and flavor of our dinners during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location for a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing really to fault. Perhaps they could provide real juice at breakfast.

    Fabulous setting on a farm close to the volcanoes with plenty of birdlife around. The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly. The room was warm clean and comfortable after a rainy day outside. As it was fully booked we could only stay for one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place off the beaten path
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little dated but to be expected off the beaten path.

    Restaurant was surprisingly excellent. Huge portions, flexible with meal choices. The views and surrounding property reminded me of Big Sky country in Montana. Great out-of-the-way choice on the Ring Road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a simple, comfortable hotel in a great location, with walking trails, ponds, and beautiful views. We loved staying in a valley that was near the homes of some of the characters in the Icelandic sagas. The birdwatching was excellent (we were there in early July) and it is possible for guests to fish and go horseback riding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    Lovely, quiet location. Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl in reception could stop repeating "How the hell did you get this price". Felt like a cheap bastard after check-in and same after check-out.

    Comfortable beds Lovely surroundings Little old, but nice furniture, had a pool table, chess.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Lovely Pastoral Location, Convenient, Great Service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff that knew how to take care of guests. (We loved Iceland, but some lodgings are still figuring out the whole "dealing with tourists" thing; Hotel F. already has it figured out. Room was clean and comfortable and a working TV with BBC! (one of the few places that had that). Room was larger than others we stayed in during our 2-week Ring Road trip in Iceland. A basic motel room, but by Iceland standards, very good. Included "continental" b'fast was very good, many items from their farm. Horses and other farm critters right on the property. Great view across extensive fields towards mountains. You can even see the Westman Islands on the horizon. BTW, this is a great location for a visit before/after to the Islands. They also serve dinner, but we didn't partake. Take Rt 261 off Ring Road (Rt 1); very pretty drive so don't be put off by it being a little off the main road. Easy to find (recommend checking out google map satellite view so you recognize the property). Warning - do not take rt 250 - it may look a little shorter, but unpaved and rough in spots.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful staff who went above and beyond .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive meal - house wine only and set menu = $200 Aud for 2 . Would not eat there again because of expense though a nice meal .

    Very helpful staff who went above and beyond . Comfortable pleasant and interesting place on a horse farm . Wonderful location and views Warm room and good bed .Enjoyed our one night stay as part of a road trip .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Exceptionally quiet and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture in bedroom was quite old fashioned - heavy dark wood. Breakfast was basic but fresh and acceptable. No hot food unfortunately. Sausages or bacon would have been welcomed. Young restaurant & breakfast staff were pleasant but inexperienced. Hot-tub looked unused as water was green. These are nothing though that would put me off returning...

    Location was amazing in beautiful Icelandic countryside. Exceptionally quiet and peaceful. Evening meal was tasty. Pool table in the hotel reception was fun. Option to go horse riding was a real bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Room was cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was cozy and clean. Coontinental Breakfast buffet had homemade skir and jam and alao it was delicious. Hotel was in beautiful horse farm.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    We loved the tranquil farm setting of Hotel Fljotshlid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the tranquil farm setting of Hotel Fljotshlid. The hot tub next to the field was a special treat! Every room had a wonderful view of the valley.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked everything, no complaints!

    Location was very scenic and pastoral. Loved the view and the animals peacefully grazing all around. Good base camp for trips to surrounding scenic spots. Very nice breakfast selection and the versatile staff was very friendly and accommodating. Felt very safe and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    Great location and farm, but lack of privacy and constant foot traffic extremely off-putting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking situation leads to very little privacy for guests. Consider this when booking - if your window is open you will hear people talking as they walk, smoke, drag luggage, etc. as they cross gravel very close to your room window until at least 9:30. It does not make for a relaxing situation with constant foot and vehicle traffic - especially if you have a room next to the reception area. The hostel leads to additional shouting and running on gravel later into the night. The restaurant adds yet more for more foot traffic directly by your window. Consider asking for a room as far from reception as possible.

    Great location, nice restaurant. It was enjoyable to watch the horses and a working farm directly from your window.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite soft beds, so if you are used to hard mattresses - it can get quite bouncy!

    Fast wifi, great breakfast and really nice staff. We had an issue with the room not being cleaned the first day but the manager really went out of her way to make up for the oversight. Things can always go wrong, but it's great to see that someone actually cares when they do and fixes it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had underfloor heating that had not been turned on and neither were we told to do so on arrival. Consequently it took ages for our room to warm up. Also the hot tub wasn't warm as it was not working properly.

    The fact that it was in the middle of no where as we were keen to see the northern lights. Sadly it was cloudy that night so we didn't see them.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Quite comfortable stay in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were expecting to be able to ride horses but they don't have them in the off season. That was the one unexpected disappointment.

    There was only a few guests at the hotel so hard to say the atmosphere in high season. We left before breakfast but the staff did their best to prepare some foods for is to take with us the night before which was greatly appreciated. Mattress not super comfy but other than that, very nice and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    A bit noisy but excellent staff onsite with great restaurant food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy , with paper thin walls, I think maybe they need a fan or white noise generator in the room

    Staff were extremely friendly. Restaurant was great with a nice burger. Beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel set in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very peaceful and the room was very comfy. We booked the room at very short notice and when we arrived there was no record of the booking in their system. I had my confirmation email from Booking.com and everything was ok. We arrived late about 8.00 pm and there was no food available, however the young lady recommended somewhere for us to eat which was an excellent choice. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and if we ever return to Iceland we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location to access more remote areas within south-west Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Initial impression of room appeared good, but actually felt too much like a 20-year old major chain environment. - Room furniture heavy and dark, in contrast to the clean, light, minimalist approach found in several other Iceland hotels. - WiFi was poor - Maybe tried a bit too hard with the wrong things !

    - Location perfect as point to head off into more remote areas, while still not too far away from the 'Golden Circle' area. - Breakfast was excellent with a stunning view across to Eyjafjallajokull.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Great Semi-Rustic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great setting. Stay in one of the tiny chalets. Perfect for a family of four with children just old enough for bunk beds. The staff treat you like long-lost best friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Staff were brilliant, the evening meal we had was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were brilliant, the evening meal we had was amazing! Lamb straight from the farm; the best I've ever had! The hotel is off the beaten track but is worth the journey for the surrounding landscapes. Can't wait to come back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside the building it is a bit of a mess. It looks dated and could do with a revamp. Those with rooms opposite the zaccuzi will be disturbed by the noise of the people using it late at night -:(

    Great location with hot springs and pots with great views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Stay here, you will be so glad you did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were so nice! The room was clean, the bed was comfy, and the shower was great. Our favorite part was dinner. It was beef stroganoff, made from the items from the farm. It was the best meal we had in Iceland.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel with nice peaceful & surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the lobby/reception area is locked between late night and early morning. Could leave the key for early check out. Maybe a drop box will help

    The scenery around the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    I loved the beauty of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the beauty of the location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Dinner was delicious both nights. The room was great and comfortable, but the bed was a little soft and no washcloths. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    A lovely peaceful get away in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the loveliest location with a stream meandering along the property, Icelandic horses grazing, and a volcano and glacier as a back drop. Totally gorgeous. The staff are gracious and lovely. We had the most delicious gourmet dinner in dining room of the restored barn section of the farm. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    horseriding: we got availability the next morning and Saskia...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is on the countryside. when we came the kitchen was closed, but there was a "buffet" which consisted of a lamb&curry dish with rice and salad at a flat rate of ISK 3000. too much if you are vegetarian or do not like lamb- no alternatives were around the interior looked a bit like a mixture of 80ies and new but we did not find appealing, but we didn't care. the in-built alarmclock in the room furniture however did not work any more, so maybe they should refurbish all.

    horseriding: we got availability the next morning and Saskia, the instructor was very kind and explained all very well. we loved the setting in front of Eyjafjallajökull and crossing rivers. good breakfest choice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.3
    Including breakfast is always a good thing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lodgings were very basic (like a motel); breakfast was less enjoyable than the other guest houses we stayed in and the staff was barely to be found. Don't use route 250, it's a mess. Instead, double back to Hvolsvöllur from the east if you have to.

    Including breakfast is always a good thing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.8
    Rural location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit soft and bouncy. Otherwise fine.

    Rural location. Lovely building. Friendly staff. Great icelandic breakfast buffet. Also really enjoyed a meal when we arrived - seemed quite traditional, I had local lamb with their own potatoes from their farm.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.8
    The breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of homemade...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very few items in the bathroom could use repair. The door handle fell off (a screw needs tightening) , and the sink had a surface crack or two. Basically normal wear and tear, perhaps projects for the winter.

    The breakfast buffet was delicious with lots of homemade food. Setting is beautiful, with a stunning view of Eyjaflallajökull. Friendly staff, rooms are relatively large, location on a horse farm is pretty and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful location with glaciated mountains in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fire alarm went off by accident at 8:00am on the second morning of our stay.

    Beautiful location with glaciated mountains in the background. Friendly staff. I ever caught a large brown trout in the pond on the property, and the fishing license was very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    The staff was very sweet and welcoming during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at, which, to be fair, is pretty reasonable for Iceland, but it's far from a luxury hotel.

    The staff was very sweet and welcoming during our stay. The location is wonderful, just a little bit off from the Golden Circle, and a great location to start the Ring Road. Breakfast was wonderful, with homemade and delicious bread and skyr. The view from the dining room was incredible as well; I felt like I was eating with the goats with the backdrop of the mountains!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    If you come to Iceland stay at this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit off the main road

    The location while a little out of the way was amazing The on site resturant was very good. The only guest house we stayed at with our own TV The horse farm was beautiful If we every return we will stay here

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    there's nothing to complain about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there's nothing to complain about this hotel. the staff is very friendly and helpful. the dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent. breakfast buffet with homemade bread, jam, skyr.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice people, great food, so so rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is not new. It could use a facelift. The beds not very comfortable. No fridge in the room but a common kitchen in the guesthouse to use. Wonderful homemade skyr for breakfast. Lots of offerings from the farm for meals.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. I heard the receptionist offer to make a late arriving family some food since the restaurant was closed. The receptionist gave us tips on what to see and do.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    Amazing place, breath taking views. Wished we stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff!! So friendly and helpful Breath taking views and setting Homemade Skyr was delicious Breakfast was substantial. Would visit again in a flash, best place we stayed all holiday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel, an example for others in Iceland to follow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is a farm hotel with local staff, which is a big bonus in a country that seems to employ a lot of seasonal staff. The staff seemed genuinely friendly and happy to help you. The food options were great, we enjoyed the special set menu in the evening and breakfast had lots of homemade produce, including excellent homemade banana bread. I would recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    6.3
    I didn't have to share a bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The set price menu in the restaurant was terrible. I got the distinct impression that whoever was running the kitchen had no idea what he was doing. I clearly asked for my meat to be rare and got well done. I did not have the energy to send the good back to the kitchen. I just wanted a decent meal. What I got was inedible. Not only was the meat overcooked, so were the vegetables. Ugh! At least the soup and dessert were edible. The meat was also tough. Bring your own food if you stay at this hotel. There are unfortunately no nearby alternative restaurants.

    I didn't have to share a bathroom. The breakfast was free. There was a thermal bath but I did not use it. They I fer horseback riding. Might be attractive if you have kids.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wish we could come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We loved watching the lambs romp around while we ate in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    a very good one in that area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinning table in the shared kitchen was not clean. It got a tea towel with rotten pomegranate seeds on it.

    Fast wifi and really nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    The food was excellent, the accomodations great and the staff were very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in six different places and it was the best of them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent staff, were very friendly and ready to go above...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, were very friendly and ready to go above and beyond to help

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Fab breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fab breakfast!!! Lovely views and location, thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice environment around. Very quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and quirky with wonderful home produced food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent burger dinner was great value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant staff, quiet location, fine for 12 hours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food; Dinner. Yep, didn't eat that.

    Warm. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a beautiful location and the staff are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a beautiful location and the staff are amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Great place middle of nowhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely breakfast with lots of fresh food. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Great location. Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark. You could easily see northern lights

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Very relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm, friendly atmosphere at the property which was located in a tranquil rural setting Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    A peaceful location in the middle of nature but with all the modern amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms very spacious and clean and warm. Very modern yet with a farmstay feel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Staff was very helpful - even turned out the outside lights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpful - even turned out the outside lights so that we could enjoy a spectacular display of northern lights.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hótel Fljótshlíd traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: