Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Island 4 stars

Armula 9, 108 Reykjavík, Iceland

#46 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very very helpful and friendly. Location is approximately a 20 minute walk from the main street There is a supermarket less than five minutes walk away and places to eat start around that distance too. Room had coffee & tea making facilities & was adequate for our requirements.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some street side parking was a little dangerous with cars moving pretty fast. It wasn't cheap, but compared to other Iceland hotels, it was very reasonable, and I think, well worth the money!

    The sauna, hot tub, and cold plunge were excellent at the hotel! Our use was included with our reservation. The views from our top level room (on the last 2 days) were amazing, you could see all over the city, and down to the ocean! We were always able to park right by the hotel. We used the hotel as a central place to go visit the fantastic scenes/sites around beautiful Iceland! Internet service was good, so I was able to work when I needed to. There is a great coffee shop 100 yards behind the hotel, and a phone company if you are having phone issues!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit pricey but compared to other hotels in Reykjavik their room rates are better.

    The view from our room was beautiful. Room 705 was a corner room . Can see the cityscape and the harbor. Staff were very accommodating. Pick-ups and transfers are right at the hotels doorstep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather impersonal hotel. The restaurant was convenient and informal. We found the portions were quite small with the same high price found in all Icelandic restaurants

    The location was convenient for car access to the airport and you could walk into the city centre in about 20 mins. The National Stadium and the Botanic Gardens are an easy walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff during check-in. Did not greet nor inform about anything practical. Standard room is dark and aged. Walk ca 30 mins from down town one way.

    Ok breakfast, big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, matress, blackout curtains

    Rented 7th floor mini suite for about $250 per night. Matress not firm enough, sound of wind very loud. Decor very minimalistic (modern?). No blackout curtains so we had to sleep wearing masks. Single-sink Bathroom had shower and very slippery floor tiles when wet, with one small sink. “Bar” of soap was 1.5 inch sq. Gym was ok, with contemporary machines, but small (adequate for the property). Single lap pool and hot tub ok. Breakfast ran out of items daily (one day no more oranges, another, no more orange juice). In general, breakfast was adequate but not inspiring or exciting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Maybe an additional small washing sink over at the coffee making area. Was not being told on the free WiFi though during the check in.

    I have booked for the suite, hence the spacious seating area, bedroom and bathroom. Very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower would not drain the water and when we called down about it, he says maintenance would come look at it. Waited 25 mins no call and no maintenance. So I went down to the main desk and he said that maintenance was not in today. Then switch is room. I wish they would have called us to let us know that

    The location was good and same with the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were quite rude when we arrived and were thereafter very frosty towards us. They told us that because it was Good Friday holiday the spa, which we had been promised in our booking, was closed. We queried whether this was indeed a tourist hotel, they said it was, and we were quite surprised at this given that Good Friday is surely a time where lots of tourists would visit. We booked this hotel on the very basis that it has a spa as we would like to have been able to relax prior to our onward trip to Greenland. Further, the reception staff seemed disinterested in helping us find shops that were open as we had something urgent to purchase. We were also told that nobody could help us with our baggage and that they didn’t provide this service. We were gruffly presented with the luggage trolley which we loaded ourselves and took to our room. The room further didn’t have a full of complement of tea and we had to come down and ask the restaurant a favour to supply us with some. Interestingly, after the holiday period, some different staff came on duty who were extremely pleasant and helpful. It was like chalk and cheese. Within the room, the floor was reminiscent of a cheap B&Q laminate flooring and beds were not particularly comfy. Overall this hotel did not meet the standard that I would have expected expected of a four star hotel. I do wonder how it has managed to get this rating.

    When the holiday staff came off duty they were replaced by staff who were quite polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better

    What a room, we booked a junior suite but was upgraded, views all over the city and mountains, stunning bathroom with lots of windows , we were there for my wife’s 40th and this was the icing on the cake to a beautiful country

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beyond the front lobby the hotel is quite dated and could probably do with an upgrade. The rooms aren't dirty, they just look a bit grubby particularly the bathroom. On our second day we noticed a number of towels placed along windows and on the floor of the second floor corridor - assuming a leak but didn't look great and they were still there on day 4. Also noted pizza crusts which I'm guessing had been thrown out of a window and landed on the roof which is visible from the same corridor. Just a bit gross!

    The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into the city. This actually worked to our advantage as we were the first hotel drop off coming back from day tours. Staff were friendly, breakfast was adequate and hotel was warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish it had been a bit closer to city center which would allow for late dinners etc and walking home.

    Great hotel and excellent customer service from your reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    having to pay to use thermal suite and gym , no complementary hour given , considering the cost of the hotel this was a let down

    most comfortable bed ever , breakfast was decent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would’ve liked to be able to have at least one complimentary use of the spa in the hotel

    Reception staff were really friendly, polite and happy to help. Breakfast was good. Restaurant is nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff behind the desk were very unhelpful and verging on rude. Ask for some things like tea bags and they just shrugged their shoulders and said there was a shortage, but yet they had some on the housekeepers trolley for the other rooms. Asked for a bathmat as our shower leaked loads of water all over the floor and they said they didn't have any so asked for an extra towel to put on the floor and it was like we had asked for the mountains to be brought to us. The shower only had two setting which was boiling hot or freezing cold and there were a lot of stains on the sofa!!! When I checked out they just took our key and said that's it, and then turned too the couple next to me and asked how their holiday has been and did they have a nice stay. Clearly they choose the people who get good service and those who don't. I paid a lot of money to stay there and had gone for the more expensive room to give myself and my partner a more memorable first holiday together, just wish I had gone to a different hotel.

    The breakfast was very nice and the housekeepers good and helpful. Some of the staff behind desk were helpful, but unfortunately didn't see the helpful staff often.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feather bedding is a problem for people with allergies. The spa/ sauna in the hotel is not available for us by guests while the listing doesn’t make that clear.

    One of the more affordable places to stay in Iceland.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very dated. The pictures are a little misleading on this website. The double room we booked ended up being two single beds with two single duvets! There was no sofa bed either, despite our description saying we had one. Unfortunately we only had a chair. The TV is fuzzy and seriously lacks channels! The trouser press didn’t work! But the fridge in the room is a good touch.

    The staff were very pleasant and always so helpful. The breakfast is lovely and there’s plenty of it!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 321, superior double room. Sofa dirty with holes. Bathroom without hair dryer. It felt grubby. They charged my card for a night and cash for the other night even if the contract said that the payment was at the hotel. Overall not good I am sorry.

    Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your bed comforters were too small for single person.... they need to be extra big to snug in comfortable

    The rooms were big and spacious, close to good selection of restaurants

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are terrible and room could use an update.

    Breakfast is fantastic! This sounds weird, but the female staff were very friendly and super helpful. Unfortunately the guys seemed annoyed to have to answer questions or assist with anything. My wife and I both experienced this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff could be more friendly. Lounge is not very cosy.

    Our room had a magnificent view on the town, and the fireworks! Breakfast was plenty. Possibility of lunch and dinner. Parking facility on the premises.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was further from downtown than anticipated. to get to any place of interest we had to take the car, and parking in downtown is hard.

    Iceland´s architecture is impressive already, very modern and "Scandinavian". This hotel is not different - minimalist, clean and efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great bath but no plug - even after asking for it. No menu available at restaurant. We only wanted a light dinner - soup - but were told we had to have a ISK7000 three course meal or nothing. Service lacked any care factor whatsoever.

    Good breakfast, clean room, spacious

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant has very limited choice for veggies and even on request they can hardly do anything. The menus remain exactly the same day in day out. No water or any snacks provided in room, mini bar. No room service.

    The location was perfect as it is very popular for tour pick ups and drop off. The hotel has an on site convenient restaurant that comes in handy. The pillows and beddings are really comfy. The breakfast is amazing, variety of choices to pick from. Restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very comfortable, although there were no extra pillows. Worst part was the room was a bit warm, though better with the heat off and the window open (in winter). Breakfast was OK. Front desk staff was responsive when we had trouble with the hair dryer and when we asked about the heating. WiFi was excellent. While there was only street parking, we never had trouble finding a spot right in front of hotel, and there was no charge or time limit for parking. Location slightly outside downtown was safe and easy with a rental car, and it only took 5 minutes to get to the heart of Reykjavík.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public transport was expensive

    Breakfast there was a lot of choice between hot and cold items it was within walking distance of the city centre and near shops tour buses turn up on time

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area gives the impression of a modern cool hotel however once you go towards the bedrooms it is a very dated hotel. The spa you were required to pay an additional fee to use which was not mentioned in the hotel booking summary. There was no tea making facilities in the bedrooms - being a cold country we would have thought this would be a given. And lastly the room smelled of stale smoke the entire time of our stay - we are not smokers.

    The breakfast was excellent with plenty on offer for all choices

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had good options The room was very spacious The beds had a massager in them, very relaxing The hotel is one of the first drop-offs coming from the airport or any tours Good heating in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive, none of the facilities listed are provided free of charge, facilities are closed most of the weekend, 10 min drive to reykjavik old town. Breakfast is expensive and not included in room rate.

    Large room, clean and quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wet room did actually get very wet and was a bit annoying as it didn't seem to drain away properly and went all over the floor.

    Excellent service with very friendly and helpful staff, it was probably my easiest and friendliest check in ever. The room was huge and well equipped. The breakfast was great and had lots of hot and cold options. The Restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel was a little far out from the centre of town, not well placed for walking to restaurants and bars it was an easy taxi ride. Personally we prefer to walk around though.

    Hotel was immaculate, room was fantastic and very comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. Staff were friendly and helpful, we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a charge to use the spa facilities and the hotel was a little further from the centre than I would have like though all the tour operators picked you up at the hotel so that was okay.

    Breakfast was really good and had a great variety. Hotel was very clean, bistro was good and prices quite reasonable for Iceland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Please consider adding smoked lachs to your breakfast buffet menu.

    The buffet breakfast was very good/excellent. The staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful. I will recommend the Hotel Island to anyone visiting Iceland.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was absolutely amazing (not sure if we got upgraded or not) - it was on the 7th floor, very large, with new furniture, well decorated and with a huge window in the living room with a nice view (watching on Reykjavik). Great breakfast and good location (10 minutes drive from city center and a walking distance from a large grocery store, open 24 hours a day - Hagkaup).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The furnishings in the room were worn. Things need to be updated a bit. I was happy with everything being clean.

    The staff was wonderful, friendly, accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive Old rooms Breakfast not included

    Its nice big rooms I took the one with private bath The night reception crew were really nice people and helpfull actually wiling to help you Good job guys Nice resturant at the looby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was overly warm for the first couple of days of our stay, even with the window wide open. It was odd as the heating did not appear to be on and the outside temperature at night was around 5 degrees.

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff was very helpful Our arrival was before our room was ready, and they let us store our luggage in a secure area The breakfast was delightful. In addition we had a dinner in the dining room, and it was delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and remarkably quiet! The location was a little removed from the main downtown area, but still within walking distance. The breakfast was a full buffet of delicious food. The staff were very helpful with dropping off bags early and borrowing power adapters.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely old, with stained wallpaper that was peeling off the wall and stained carpets. The couch was also stained and the tv was small with 3 channels. The room also had no temperature control so I had to open a window for air.

    Breakfast was great and the lobby area was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not centrale localed but with the car you can move easily. In the morning someone came into the room, I guess to check if we left and clean the room but we were sleeping and he/she woke us up. That is why im not happy about the hotel.

    Good breakfast, nice rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were incredibly helpful. We particularly liked the fact that they automatically provide breakfast for those departing to catch an early flight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On street parking was less then desirable.

    Our junior suite was a superior room at a reasonable price, with amazing views high above the city and the harbor, overlooking the national sporting stadium and complex. Very spacious and comfortable. Our seating area became the gathering place for family members housed in standard rooms. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the dining area was sufficient for the number of hotel guests. No problem with crowding in the dining area. The bus tour groups were few and did not overwhelm the hotel as we experienced at other hotels. Staff was warm, welcoming, and friendly with excellent sightseeing and restaurant suggestions. The area restaurants were high quality and within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far from downtown Reykjavik, but the local bus was a nice way to travel. About 30-35 min walk to downtown.

    I had a very nice stay! Large room with a nice view. The staff was polite and helpfull, gave me many helpfull information regarding travelling in Reykjavik, especially the local bus. Good continental breakfast (included in price). And: very good black coffe!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from 3rd floor was of multiple construction sites right outside our window. Loud noises all day. Room floor and furniture was old and dirty. The clerk at check-in was not very friendly and gave us the feeling that we should go somewhere else. No help provided in places to visit ect. Location was in a business district.

    Room size was good. Beds were comfortable. Bistro for evening meals was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We upgraded the room to supreme for a little more. I believe the ground floor and level 5 had been refurbished and our room was excellent even with electronic massage bed. The breakfast for a continental was also the best ever had. Although a bit outside of the main area don't be put off, half hour brisk walk or taxi at around £14 which we shared. The staff it has to be said couldn't be more friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bed was very comfortable, location perfect. 7th floor room with fabulous views over the city. room was spacious and clean and we loved having the balcony

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only used the hotel to to flight cancellation so very short time in hotel, so nothing really wrong with hotel

    Friendly helpful staff and good accommodation.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a loud AC that couldn't be turned off or down. The windowsill made a noise when raining - for a light sleeper this was disturbing. We were a bit unsatisfied with the daily cleaning - for example no new drinking glasses or shampoo were provided during a 3-night stay.

    The location was convenient for a car and the parking was easy just across the street (public parking) - although the hotel is a bit far from the city centre so if you are planning to get to know the city on foot, it takes awhile. The breakfast was good and had plenty of choices (note to our co-guests: it's not very classy to steal half a loaf of bread or a dozen of apples and bananas for lunch from the breakfast buffet, even if food in Iceland is expensive...). Wifi was working well. Room was spacious, with lots of room for luggage and a convenient sofa. The interior was modern and clean with a nice view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of building site from an "executive" room . Builders able to look straight in. TV never worked.

    Beds. Very comfortable and electric adjustable with massage facility. Staff couldn't do enough and always happy and smiling. Hotel very smart and clean altho I understand the rooms not yet been renovated were poor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly & helpful. Room was spacious, walk in shower & electric bed which gave a nice massage. Breakfast was lovely and we had a great mountain view from our room window. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is slightly remote but the city can be accessed easily through public transport within a five minute walk.

    Beautiful modern room with a fabulous bathroom

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite booking our room six months in advance, we were given one of the old rooms which are not shown in the photographs. There was a bad smell when we came in and I thought the mattress smelled a little. We told the woman on reception and she just told me she couldn't smell anything and was rather unfriendly. We had to ask for a fresh sheet which helped a bit but were not offered a new room. The bed still didn't smell great but we lived with it, it didn't have that nice fresh bedding smell you expect from a hotel - I expect it was due to be replaced. The room also didn't come with a kettle and tea and coffee which was very unfair because we saw there were mugs and tea/coffee on the cleaners cart so clearly other rooms had these facilities. We felt the room was not worth the money.

    The Lobby area and breakfast were nice. Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. The dinner was good and reasonably priced compared to most of the restaurants in Reykjavik. The room was warm and we could adjust the heating if needed. I'm sure if we had a nicer room this review would have been much more positive, I think we were unlucky.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower in huge tub was a little difficult to enter and exit, but we were able to!

    Our room was gorgeous!! Seventh floor mini-suite. Breakfast was included and it was a wonderful selection of various foods and drinks! Staff was more than helpful! Convenient location!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor slightly dated, but still clean.

    Comfy beds. Quiet rooms. Great Shower. Good choice at breakfast (cooked / continental / healthy options) Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Superior' Room was old and filthy, tears in bed sheets, stains on lamp shades and seating, smoke detector was broken and fastened together with foil.. too many issues to list; when we complained to reception we were told that they knew about the problems and there's nothing they can do! So paid over £100 a night for something a hostel could've done better

    The free breakfast was nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I looked at the photos when I ordered the hotel and I saw a modern room with gray walls and everything looked so fancy and then we just got an old room with nothing I expected.. We just got engaged and I wanted to do someth

    We liked the spa and the breakfast it was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only complaint is that it would have been nice if housekeeping would have left more bath toiletries, toilet paper, cleaned out the trash and filed the tea and coffee each day. They did provide clean towels and made the beds. The front desk happily provided everything we needed when asked but it was a bit annoying to have to go ask for these items after housekeeping had been in the room each day since we were there for several days.

    We traveled with my disabled MIL and stayed in two rooms on the ground floor. The rooms were lovely. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom modern with a great shower and towel warmer. The breakfast was wonderful! We had dinner twice in the hotel restaurant too and the food was wonderful both times and staff friendly. Parking was easy and free for our rental car. A bit of a hike from the central part of downtown but a good location with other restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea in the rooms and its expensive at the snack bar. Pressure of shower. Hairdryer in room was rubbish but they had a newer one at the front desk. No welcome pack in room, didn't know how to call reception to get the hair dryer. Cleaning ladies just let themselves in even if your in bed or in underwear. You have to shout at them to not come in. Otherwise fine.

    Location if you have a hire car. Breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Important Note: Spa facilities are NOT included in the hotel cost, this is an extra cost if you want to use think around ISK 4,000 per day use. This is a very basic and dated hotel. No tea/coffee facilities in the room. Very simple and small bathroom with a box shower and a curtain that sticks to you. Also only provide 2 n 1 shampoo/body wash, no other toiletries. Plus, water will be brown when you first turn on the tap, not very pleasant but becomes clear after a while. The staff could be more friendlier. The area is quite far from city centre, about 35 min walk away or a taxi is ISK 2,000

    The beds were comfortable and the breakfast options were good. I wouldn't stay here if you are after a romantic 'get away' but if with a group of friends and purely using the room to sleep in, then it suffices.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could do with updating as looking tired. Reception level is lovely this should be carried on throughout hotel. Spa should be included for hotel guests as it is expensive roughly £20 to use.

    Basic hotel but had all we needed. Rooms spacious and clean. Staff very serious but helpful (one man on the desk translated the dominos menu & ordered it for us to be delivered to the room at 1am after northern lights hunting!) bistro has lovely food but tiny menu. Hotel will change £50 per day but the bank is a 5 minute walk (BEWARE banks closed on weekends) hotel organised all of our trips through grey line which were great and also gave us directions to restaurants near the hotel and bus information to get into the town centre

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is really a bit far for the downtown area a. A really 40 mins walk. It would be nice if the hotel can provide shuttle run from hotel and downtown every hour, it would be a 4 - 5 star hotel. The room decor and bathroom is out of date. hope they can renovate soon

    Very good variety of breakfast included. the junior suite is really spacious for a family of 4. The staff is really friendly and helpful. The bed is really comfortable, even the sofa bed is not that bad.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interior was quite dated (and not like the pictures on the website), access to the spa wasn't part of the price which wasn't made clear on the website, and it was a bit of a way out of town.

    Breakfast was really good and the food and atmosphere of the Bistro was great too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast time was very busy, but wasn't a problem as seating was available in the Bistro area.

    The standard of accommodation was excellent, the breakfast was brilliant with lots of choice, and the staff were superb, very helpful. A very convenient pick ups/drop off point for excursions, everything ran smoothly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower has a little mold

    Breakfast so good, fresh food, comfortable beds, one of the receptionist named Christopher is very helpful,attentive and very nice ... we are so happy we chose island hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unrefurbished room was tired and scruffy. Very busy at breakfast with tour parties.

    We requested a room transfer after being given a room in the unrefurbished section. We were given a lovely large refurbished room at the same rate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's about a mile into Reykjavik from the Island hotel. The walk along the coastline though does make up for this, with stunning views a plenty. A take ride from here is no more than 2300 ISK.

    Hotel was nice and clean. The staff always went out of their way to help, nothing was too much trouble. A prime example of this is when I locked my room door card inside the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside and it really was minor was the lack of tea & coffee making facities in the room. Although we were able to takeaway hot drink from breakfast.

    We were lucky to be allocated a newly refurbished suite (7th floor)...amazing!! Beautiful decorated room with stunning views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Buses were close by and useful. However distance to center city was not really walkable.

    The staff was exceptionally helpful. Each time we needed information or help, they were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a kettle and cups in the room.

    The hotel was very stylish, the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was first class.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person (lady) who run the bar was unfriendly and seemed to be bothered when asking for something.

    Breakfast good and always well stocked. The people at the front desk were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Female staff at the front desk at 0200 hours on September 18th was amazing. She saved my from missing my flight. Please tell her and her supervisor how great she did.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was very comfy. Our room was very clean and modern, we had a balcony and walk in shower which we was extremely pleased about! Breakfast was excellent too! Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was a nightmare during the daytime, since local workers seem to occupy most of the on-street spots, but it was o.k. at night. The location is not as convenient to downtown as some other hotels.

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable, although the furnishings were a bit faded, and the breakfast was pretty much the best our group enjoyed during our 10-day trek around Iceland.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    far away from the city centre, very very expenssive, construction site near the hotel so many rooms facing the site- very noisy (including mine- see the pictures of the "view" from my room). when complaining the manager told me that according the Icelandic law she doesnt have to update the guests about the connstruction. they do not charge the credit card in Euros (like other big hotels) but in Icelandic Krones using very high exchange rate.

    very big room, very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Island traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: