Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hótel Laugarbakki 3 stars

Laugarbakki, 532 Laugarbakki, Iceland

#1 of 2 hotels in Laugarbakki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 961 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Good and nonexpensive (as for Iceland).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The stay in the hotel was not planned. We found the place during the weather breakdown when we were looking for anything that would be placed next our route. Finding Laugarbaki was a lucky coincidence. Anyway, the hotel rooms are cosy and quite spacial especially if you compare them to the Iceland's norm. :-) The tosts for breakfast were delicious and the breakfast itself was also delicious. You just cannot expect more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was extremely comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been friendlier.

    The room was extremely comfortable and spacious. It had a beautiful and spacious bathroom. There were two hot tubs. The breakfast was very good as was the dinner. The hotel is located a short distance from the Ring Road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is relatively new.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant is a bit mixed. Some dishes was good, others (eg the risotto which was actually dry rice and mushrooms) was not very good. Although the breakfast was nice, they cleaned away most of the food before the end of the advertised breakfast time.

    The hotel is relatively new. The room was very comfortable - nice beds and good black out curtains. Good breakfast included in the price. Lots of parking available. The family room was really comfortable for 4 adults.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Hot tubs and laundry
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have poor ventilation and our towels and swimsuits wouldn't dry. You have to drive to everything. Our room was not well insulated and it was hard to fall asleep. The risotto was just rice and mushrooms that had been poorly cleaned.

    Great decor. Good breakfast and most dinners. Laundry price was reasonable. Hot tubs were nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    An excellent choice for couples/travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much in the immediate area; not a terrific view per se.

    Really comfortable, cozy room; breakfast in the morning was a muesli bar with lots of options, waffle maker, cheese and meat. Great coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced, but a decent option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for a hotel that's not nearby anything noteworthy, with very average restaurant/amenities. Breakfast wasn't that great. Parking lot is gravel and a decent distance from the front door, so getting rolling bags to the front door wasn't great.

    Outside looks a little shady/run down, but the inside is fairly nice. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked this room we booked a “river view” but didn’t get it. When we asked about this the clerk switched our room but still didn’t get the river view. It couldn’t have been because we checked in late because we didn’t.

    The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A Surprise Find & Recommend Highly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the best hotel we stayed at during our vacation thru-out Iceland, even better than the Foss Hotel Glacier Lagoon which we thought was great. The beds were the most comfortable of all the hotels, and the largest triple room of all the hotels we stayed at. Enjoyed the complimentary robes, which we did not receive at any other hotels. Breakfast buffet had a nice variety and was attended to by staff to ensure cleanliness and stocking of items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable and welcoming. The team that works there are all very accommodating and extremely helpful. We will definitely be back. Also, the hot tubs were an absolute plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    The menu of the rooms in the rooms is different from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu of the rooms in the rooms is different from the menu in the restaurant! There were only five dishes on the menu instead of ten. And there are no other restaurants in the area so we had to eat in the hotel restaurant. But it was fine and tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in good location - would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited menus - selection was o.k but could do with a wider choice and maybe a few hot options for breakfast like sausage, bacon and scrambled egg!

    Reception and waiting staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel is easy to find off the main road. It looks a bit spartan from the outside but inside is great. Bedrooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    A comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the room with the balcony and we didn't get it, the guy at the reception claimed it was not cleaned and he claimed it was no price difference between the rooms. I think it wasn't true. The way they run hotels in Iceland generally should be improved.

    Breakfast was very good (taking into consideration it was in Iceland) and the room and the bathroom new and fresh. It was close to the main road around Iceland.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many rooms face the parking lot And no sign on actual hotel building that we could see

    Very nice room and bathroom. Fantastic dinner and great dinner staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    From the outside it is a large and boring looking building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside it is a large and boring looking building but don't feel bad! Because inside it is very well done and delightful. The rooms are very large and designed with a very pleasing style. Large bathroom is far away from the sleeping area and there is a lounge area in between. It was the largest accommodations we had during our stay in Iceland. The breakfast is included in the price and it is very nice with a large variety, all you can eat. Staff are very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Okay! We are very regular visitors to Iceland but we won’t re- visit this Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on April16th a little later than anticipated. We hadn’t eaten since breakfast that morning and we knew the Hotel did food in their restaurant. No evidence of food , tables weren’t set - no food smells. We soon found out they only had two rooms booked out that night in this massive hotel. Okay, not to worry we will order a sandwich and crisps. No crisps “they put in an order to- day” Sandwich please ...Sorry no , nothing to make it with. So my question is ...where did all the breads,cheeses,meats, eggs come from for breakfast at 8am the very next morning ???

    The bed was very comfortable - breakfast adequate- price was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for s stop over, but wouldn't stay long
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very much far away from other amenities and features. Our shower was quite weak so hard to bathe.

    The hotel was clean and well placed between Reykjavik and Aukereyi. During our stay of a night it was quiet. The restaurant has a simple menu, but does have a vegetarian dish of the day. Breakfast was a simple continental, and pleasant enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Peace in quiet, with great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Staff was very helpful and nice. - The restaurant has great service, and provides a varied menu if we consider that the hotel is in a remote place. The food was super super tasty. - Breakfast was delicious and had several options to choose from. Bonus: it had a waffle maker!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Peaceful location, restaurant offered limited choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What we found disappointing was the on site restaurant, from looking at the hotel website I was expecting to be able to choose from the selection of 'Main Courses' from their menu, unfortunately we were only offered dishes from the 'Light Courses' menu and one fish dish.

    Our choice for our seventh location on our Ring Road tour was at the Hótel Laugarbakki, out of town and in a very quiet location. We chose a superior room which was a reasonable size, although the bathroom was huge. The buffet breakfast was included and had a reasonably good selection of hot and cold food. The hotel had ample of free parking and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing night in a beautiful room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view wasn't so great - but it was such a relaxing night in a hotel with such nice staff that we didn't even care. There were some outdoor bathtubs, however the only one open to use was a bit dirty which was a turn off for us.

    The room was amazing. The staff (a blonde young woman) who welcomed us at check-in was awesome and was able to offer a superior double room, cheaper than the triple we booked (which was the smallest room showing in booking.com). She also advised a great restaurant to have dinner. Super comfy pillows and a beautiful and completely new bathroom. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Absolutely loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved this hotel! Facilities were excellent as was dinner on the evening. After a long drive we were ready for a good shower and some hot food, we got everything we wanted! Breakfast was incredible being a coeliac I struggle with breakfast but they had so much gluten free options to offer it was just excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing reception. Really helpful staff. Newly rennovated hotel with exceptional facilities. Amazing breakfast. Everything that you are looking for. We will recommend it for friends, families and couples. Nice garden to go and hunt nothern lights. The receptionist was always willing to help. They definitely exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice cosy rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible storm during our stay meant didn't sleep very well due to some rattling doors.

    Nice cosy rooms. Good stop off point from Rekyuvik to Akureyri. Near to the seals of Hvamstangi which were amazing. My wife and I were one of only two pairs of guests in Feb but the restaurant breakfast and hot tubs were all fully open.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had an outdoor hot tub which we soaked in at night when it was snowing so that was really nice! Pity it was cloudy otherwise we might have been able to see the northern lights!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Good hotel on ring road with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter this was a quiet large hotel with lots of facilities and space including a small playground. Not our normal choice of accommodation but we really liked it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Super friendly, n
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well - you have to walk past reception and very close to the open restaurant area if you wantto get to the hot tub which sort of looks out on the parking lot so could be a bit more idyllic ;-). The coffee was Icelandic ;-). The only thing that really bothered me though was the fact that the shower had zero pressure and took ages to get warm.

    They went out of their way to provide me with a vegan selection. There was pretty much everything you could ask for at the buffet. The hotel is a lot nicer inside than it looks from the outside which is a pleasant surprise. The gentleman at reception is was ever so nice and helpful! I would give more than 5 stars for service if possible :-D

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was amazing! They helped us arrange for a tow truck as we drove off the road a few kilometers from the hotel during a snow storm, and were fantastically nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Recently renovated hotel (was an Edda Hotel before) with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small thing: The waffle maker didn‘t really work (not enough heat) and the batter was too thin

    Recently renovated hotel (was an Edda Hotel before) with very modern design, price in the winter okay, but in the summer too expensive (thats why we didn‘t choose it then), very good breakfast with a small exception

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    We had a pleasant stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to write our information again on the hotel check in card even though it's all available in the system.

    The receptionist allowed us to check in as we arrived early. The hotel was easily reached as it's well signed on the road. The hotel was clean and with modern facilities. We enjoyed the good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...we loved it!

    The facility is brand new with a lovely view of the city. Our host even knocked to let us know that we could see the Northern Lights! We were the only guests (slow in winter)...but he prepared a lovely breakfast for us in the morning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    A great hotel, with cold rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too cold even with heating at maximum. The bathroom has no heating whatsoever and it is vital during winter, as it was -10 outside. Also, the curtains cover the radiator, hence at night, with the blinds closed, all the heat was wasted

    The Christmas buffet was great, as well as breakfast. The staff was friendly and helpful all the time. The room was clean and the bathroom had everything we needed. Also, it has hot tubs and were amazing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Enjoy the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is cold as the heater is position near the table but not the bed.

    Bed is super comfy. Breakfast spread is very good with DIY waffle. Hot tub is bonus (but you have to access from the main entrance).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Comfort in a modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms and the addition of a lounge area would have been welcomed.

    Modern property with one of the most comfortable beds I've ever selpt in. Hot tubes & great Northern Light veiwing. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Best bed in whole of iceland very comfy lovely breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing lovely stay

    The best bed ever for whole stay in Iceland so comfy, loved the breakfast good location for if you need a pit stop loved the hot tubs and would have been good location if the lights showed!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location for the northern lights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -the bathroom had poor insulation and no heater. We had a room at the end of the hall, so the bathroom was very cold. We decided to forgo showering bc it was so cold in there. - staff indicated that there was a "special" buffet for dinner starting at 8pm. We rolled in at 8:30, only to find out that they were still setting up and that the dinner was to be held in the gymnasium. There was a huge tour group there at the same time, so it was loud, zero ambience, and not enough staff to accommodate all the guests. We bailed and fortunately found a restaurant that was still open in town. This is not a cozy, romantic, or even enjoyable set up for dinner unless you want to relive bad prom memories.

    Good location for the northern lights. The hotel itself is too bright, but you can quickly find some dark areas nearby. The room was nice and big- we were able to spread our stuff out for repacking. Clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Good place just for overnight stay on the way to Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to see around the hotel. It is only the hotel located in the big field.

    Big hotel with necessary facilities. Good for a break from Akureyri to Reykjavik. Good breakfast and clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in the countryside, very large and spacious room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast wasn't until 8 am.......would have been nice to eat at 7:30 to get an early start....but the breakfast was very nice :-)

    Our room was wonderful...very spacious and quiet. The bathroom was enormous...loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely, comfy hotel. Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub area was unattractive and sparse. No socket to plug the kettle into apart from on the bedside table and paper cups for coffee! Seemed rubbish for the general quality of the hotel.

    Large clean room. Super comfy bed. Nice location. Huge range of lovely food for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful room (suite), very close to Hwy #1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were over the kitchen and the food prep sound woke us in the morning. Breakfast was warm, not hot, although it was a buffet and that is understandable.

    The room was amazing. We had a junior suite and it was very well appointed. The view from the hot tub(s) is wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass doors on toilets are weird. The water pressure was not as good as anywhere else we have been in Iceland, but that may not be the hotel's fault.

    The beds were comfortable and staff very helpful. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During breakfast everything ran out and was not refilled, we needed to ask for extra coffee, extra milk, extra bread

    Had a bar that was opened until 23:00

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    It's ok in general but compared to other places we stayed in Iceland, the value for money is a bit l
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not very big, the lights in the room are too dark. The cafe for breakfast was too crowd and we needed too wait for cafe, milk and other items.

    Easy to find, room is clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A really nice and quaint hotel in the small town of...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really nice and quaint hotel in the small town of Laugarbakki. Don't be fooled by the facade of the hotel - the rooms are actually really modern, comfortable and cosy. Good breakfast spread included in the hotel as well. It's near another town Hvammstangi where we managed to catch the seals in the waters. Beautiful place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is in the middle of nowhere but it’s new and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets were kinda scratchy. Our room was in a separate building from reception and the dining area. I didn’t like having to walk outside in the cold to go to breakfast.

    The pillows were fluffy and there were robes in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a couple touches such as no real cups in the room, only paper cups. Over priced slightly.

    It was clean and comfortable, staff were nice. Breakfast was good, had a nice selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    One of the best restaurants we experienced in Iceland, hotel rooms were average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and building were institutional and boxy. The breakfast that was included with the cost of the room was fair in comparison to breakfasts served at other hotels we stayed at

    The on site restaurant was wonderful for dinner. The menu offered fresh, local ingredients and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very nice but the room was VERY small. the door to the bathroom let the light from the window come into the room.There was no place to put your toiletries, no drawers, shelves, flat places. No space in the bathroom.

    It was a lovely, clean, new hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Good option on your way up North!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had really low water pressure. Sliding frosted door for bathroom door may not be everyone's idea of privacy. Our room (211) was beside the conference room which you had to walk through to reach the elevators. There was a conference going on when we were checking out which made for an awkward walk, through someone's presentation... Wifi signal was weak in our room. Exterior of building is a bit dated and does not match up with interior.

    Modern interior. Good sized, quiet rooms. Fairly close to the ring road (less than 5 mins south on paved road). Comfortable bed and linens. Good counter space in bathroom. 3 outdoor hot tubs available. Reasonably priced (by Iceland standards) dinner, cod was very fresh. Good variety of foods for breakfast. Friendly staff. Heater in room worked well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Good location for us to stop for the night, between points of interest for our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was fine

    Good location between major points of interest for our driving tour of Iceland. Conveniently off Hwy 1 and good place to stop for the day, driving from the North to the Western areas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just OK. They didn't replenish food or juices after they were finished. We went for breakfast at 8:30 and many things were gone. Shower pressure wasn't that great.

    Clean rooms. They have hot tubs but we didn't use them, but they seemed nice. Internet was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    A great welcome, good attention to guest needs, reasonable in cost, and a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The front desk gentleman went out of his way to accommodate us. He made sure we had a suitable room, breakfast included. We left laundry at the front desk mid afternoon, and it was returned to us clean and folded before breakfast. The location is very pastoral and makes one want to stop and sit with the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Good location for aurora hunting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    More remote than staying in Hvammstangi so buy your groceries first. There's only one petrol stationin Laugarbakki - a 24 hour automated Olis.

    New hotel with well maintained facilities. Restaurant on site and breakfast quality was good. Great location as surroudings are dark - we caught an awesome aurora display just by walking 50 m towards the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel has very modern decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 4-bed room but the room itself is a bit small. Anyway for one-night staying it is not a big problem.

    The hotel has very modern decoration. They have almost 24-hour reception so a late arrival is not a problem. Staffs are friendly and they provide excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Modern, new, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service during dinner was subpar. First they forgot we ordered soup, then gave us the wrong soup, then told us the soup we ordered is not available anymore, then I overheard them offering the same not available soup to a new table near by......No idea why they would tell us that it's not available. We were disappointed but did not make a scene and just dealt with it.

    Modern, new, clean. Decent buffet breakfast. Good dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Modern, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one outlet conveniently located in the room, but that wasn't really a big deal.

    Modern, comfortable hotel. Included breakfast had a range of offerings. Restaurant and bar on-site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Confortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    modern, clean and comfortable facilities. Enough space in the room for three. Spacious and comfortable bathroom. Restaurant with a correct menu with variety of courses. Hot tube available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Middle-aged couple driving the ring road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel claims the gym as an activity, but essentially every piece of equipment was broken or missing pieces. There isn’t a lot to do in the area, so we were counting on playing basketball, but all of the balls were deflated. I also didn’t care for the sliding frosted glass door to the bathroom, but it wasn’t a deal breaker.

    We stayed one night at Hotel Lauggarbakki. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom modern. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The hot tubs were nice- three different temperatures. There aren't a lot of activities in the area, but it is a good stop-over location. We found a short hike to the ocean nearby (see the pics).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Unexpected and very welcome comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolated area, and the hotel has a scruffy exterior, but it has great rooms, pleasant and helpful staff, an excellent dinner in the in-house restaurant and a very good breakfast. Altogether an unexpected and very welcome oasis when driving the Ring Road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    The free breakfast is an excellent Icelandic spread!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater in our room wasn't working when we arrived and the first staff member we told just told us to wait a bit and see if it would turn on instead of checking with us initially. But the second staff member came to our room with us and fixed the heater almost immediately!

    The free breakfast is an excellent Icelandic spread!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    New big rooms with everything you could need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location was just somewhere to stop on the way around the country but it was kind of in the middle of nowhere with nothing much of interest nearby.

    Rooms were new and very big, and included everything you could need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    The hotel is super clean, personal very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super clean, personal very friendly. Beds and pillows are comfortablee, and is a great location to see the Northern Lights, actually that was the first thing we saw when we parked at our arrival. It was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel with a 360 view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with 360 view of nice scenery. Breakfast is great. Restaurant at the hotel has lot of menu options which are reasonably price for Iceland. Rooms and bathroom are clean, spacious and modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Lost in Laugarbakki
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unjustified high price. On top of that, booking should allow to book in the local currency as they play with the currency exchange and I finished paying more than expected

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel although not particularly pretty from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel although not particularly pretty from the outside as it is a converted high school The staff were really good and booked us some horse riding with a local stable and they were great. I would certainly book the riding through them if you have a spare 2 hours in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Complete lack of character with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complete lack of carachter. Standard hotel with bureucrartic and uninspired staff and very average food

    Only positive thing is located halfway between Reukjavik and Akuryeri

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Brand new equipped rooms with very nice bathroom and good breakfast. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tubs directly near the main entrance did not have any privacy so that we did not use them. One of our children had to sleep on a sofa bed.

    Brand new very stylish equipped rooms with small refrigerator and tea facilities. Friendly staff. Recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.6
    By all means avoid this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a renovated school and based on the room and building itself the high prices are a result of the costs to change a school to a hotel. There was no responsible supervision of the staff and it showed in their interaction with the guests and their general behavior. They appeared to treat the place like a clubhouse. The restaurant was HORRIBLE! See the attached photo of the pasta they served my wife. She didn't touch it and ate 1/2 of my meal. It was very unfortunate that we ended up having to stay here on my birthday as it really was the only dark spot on our trip to Iceland.

    The bathroom amenities were good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    a very peaceful place to recover from some driving and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a very peaceful place to recover from some driving and whenyou need some slow down time. not many activities in the actual facility apart from the spa and gym. Lovely, newly renovated old school (dine with great taste). good food at their restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Modern, new hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only drawback to the room was the frosted glass sliding door to the bathroom. Didn't feel like it gave the privacy of a regular door.

    Very good breakfast. Spacious, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very narrow, rectangular, so, this was a bit strange and unconfortable. This room donesn't appear in the photos of the hotel

    The design of the rooms is nice. The breakfast was very good. The staff very friendly, they were serving food after the limit time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Secluded Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner wasn't available (except for a limited buffet) as the kitchen wasn't fully operational so had to go into the next town. Recommendation from the front staff was good though.

    The hotel was nicely decorated inside. Quiet setting and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a hidden gem! This place proves that you cannot judge a book by its cover; the rooms, the food, and everything overall far exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful property but expensive . Improvement needed in services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at the restaurant could have been much better. We had to wait quite a while to get a table and even after that nobody attended to us for about 15-20 minutes . It took the staff more than half an hour to serve us after taking the order. Even water/drinks were not served until we reminded the staff. Then they had to be reminded to give us the cutlery to eat the food. All in all not a good experience of dining . Also felt that the property was too pricey and could have been better priced. Considering the price the hotel could have given basic things like water, toiletries etc which are normally given in all good hotels.

    The property is beautiful and in a picturesque location. Great to go for long walks in the fields closeby. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It was great to relax in the hot tubs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Very Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bright in the room in mid June when the sun is at full force all the time. Light comes in through the glass bathroom door, but we were able to rig a makeshift curtain over the door that helped a bit. The stay was a bit expensive, but if you utilize all the amenities it's worth it. Otherwise, very luxurious stay!

    Beautiful school turned hotel. The facilities were modern and clean. Loved the hot-tubs outside, certainly utilize these! There is also a indoor basketball court that is huge if you want to get a work-out in. The included breakfast was a HUGE plus as it was the only place on our trip that offered that...and it was delicious!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Modern, clean and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt that the hotel was middle of nowhere but it was handy location for us after driving the whole day with a baby. The location was very peaceful. We stayed in the other building in the ground floor and in the end of the corridor which was nice as it was very quiet :) Our room was spacious, modern, clean and beautiful. The breakfast was also one the best during our 1,5 week stay in Iceland.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Probably not my first choice on a return visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building was new, so there were a lot of issues that were still being worked on when we arrived. The water was running in all the rooms due to a "plumbing" issue. The room was clean, but the walls were paper-thin...could hear the young men partying in the room next door until very late. Also, the black-out curtains weren't the best - 2am sunlight was our wake-up call.

    The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied...great muesli and coffee. Also, the location was good if you are traveling the ring road and just needed a quick over-night stop on your way to other areas. The staff was polite and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75