Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Highland Center Hrauneyjar

Road no. 26, 851 Sprengisandur, Iceland

#1 of 1 hotels in Sprengisandur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was incredible and the room was clean with a picture window facing the vast expanse of the Highlands. The staff was courteous and extremely helpful! While much of Landmanalaugar was closed due to the weather and recent snow; there were sights to see in the area and quite a special place to visit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Destination is wonderful, the stuff really kind and friendly. Breakfast was tasty and made with love. Beautiful stop before your track to Landmannalaugar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food in the evening was a disappointment. We expected it to be expensive, even by Iceland standards, but the choice for our two night stay was burgers or burgers or burgers (with french fries), and realistically there's nowhere else to go to eat on a snowy, windy winter's night. Also, I was a little concerned to see that the description of the property said it was accessible without needing a 4x4. I think it would have been impossible, or at least very dangerous, to try to get there without a 4x4 when we visited.

    Great location - miles from anywhere but just right for experiencing some of the wilderness of Iceland's Highlands in the winter, and although some of the places we hoped to visit were inaccessible (or perhaps we were just too timid to risk crossing frozen rivers in our 4x4 without knowing whether the ice would hold the vehicle or how deep the water was underneath), we managed to reach some without any problem and without going on any "closed" roads.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options limited, especially for a remote area. Although I know winter isn't as popular to visit the location.

    Able to see the northern lights perfectly!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms, but ok. If u can upgrade!

    Great location if you plan to visit Landmannalaugar!!! They offer late dinner at the bar (not included) and good breakfast! We spend only one night there!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing around this accommodation. Nowhere to walk, but good point for Landmannalaugar. Perfect for one night. Clean and good staff. Good hamburger in restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very sad! Not as good as on the pictures! They offered room for half the price as I payed on booking.com.

    Sauna and shampoo. Quiet area in the nature but still easy to reach. Really nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room/bathroom is spartan, but just as represented - no problems there.

    The restaurant was much better than I expected from a motel that caters to hikers. Very yummy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room was laughably tiny for the price, as was the bathroom. The hot water supply was inadequate, and th shower facility so small I could not bend over in the space provided.

    Restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could be more informed . We were trying to get answers about the park - no go at all, no one knows what kind of trails exist :(. We also got incorrect information about restaurant schedule. Not a big deal, overall impression was good. The room we stayed in was really tiny.

    Close to the park. Fair value for money. Breakfast was very good. It was very nice to be able to use sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water in the showers only lasts for 5 minutes and then takes about 20 minutes to get warm again- they warned us at check in though which was nice

    This place knows what it is- the only place to stay near landmannalaugur. It's full of hikers and has everything you need (beds, food, bar) but is very basic. It is in the middle of nowhere which makes it great for viewing the northern lights!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outdated facilities that require upgrading and improving.

    Very good location for those who wants to explore Icelandic Highlands. Provides dry and warm accommodation, food for you and fuel for your vehicles (the last gas station out there). Friendly and helpful personnel. Easy to find (no more buildings around within several miles). Very often you'll feel yourself being on another planet after driving just 10 minutes from the hotel :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little sparse, and the shower is very tiny. Hot water tank only holds about 5 minutes of hot water, and then needs to charge for about 20. Stood at the register to pay for about 7 minutes with staff constantly walking past me, but no one stopped to help. They also charged me commission when paying by credit card. Food at onsite restaurant is just so-so.

    Beds are very comfortable. Loved that you had to take your shoes off at the door, kept everything nice and clean. Great sauna. Excellent location after a hike at Landmannalauger.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I had booked very long in advance, booking.com only had small double rooms available; so as we did not want to camp this was our only option. The area is very sought after by hikers and the accommodation choice is very limited. I looked regularly to see if other rooms would become available, but that was not the case. However we noted that there are a lot of nice, renovated rooms available- however those never appeared on booking.com - I assume they are given to tour operators for their groups or you have to book directly. The Centre is heavily frequented by groups. In the morning we had to go the the furthest corner in an annex room room to find a space as the groups' members were scattered around the breakfast room and there was no space there for individual travellers. For someone working in hospitality the staff at reception were very indifferent (they know that they get the business anyway, so why bother). As for the room, what can I say- yes it is extremely small, reminds you of a youth hostel - we hardly managed to get our suitcases in there and we could only open one after the other was closed and rolled half way into the bathroom. The bed was attached to the wall, so the person lying by the wall had to wake up the other or crawl over if he wanted to get up. The bed was tiny and one of the worst I ever slept in; quite frankly, we did not get a lot of sleep during the 2 nights we stayed there as it was so uncomfortable. You could also hear your neighbours snore. I would have happily paid a bit more, to get one of the newer and bigger rooms and be able to sleep properly - this room was youth-hostel standard for a hotel price, quite a rip-off, but after all Iceland is expensive and, once again, there is no big choice in that area. By the way, the picture of the Center on booking.com is not up-to-date; by now another wing has been added.

    Breakfast as well as dinners and sandwiches to take away were very nice. The staff at the restaurant were extremely friendly and efficient. This was not the case with the staff at reception, therefore the staff rating relates to the hotel staff (reception) and not the the restaurants staff - they would have deserved an excellent. The Centre is probably the closest accommodation (apart from camping) to the Landmannalaugar hiking area, so its location is pretty good. We also liked the fact that in the evening the large groups did not monopolize the dining room but had their own arrangements in an adjoining room; so the noise level was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No microwave in apartment kitchen. Multiple emails sent after reserving but before travelling were not responded to. On-site store is really sparse -- no milk even.

    Great location for a full day trip to Landmannalauger.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the booking.com website, I got the impression that we booked for the Highland Center. When we arrived there it turned out that we were booked for the Highland Hotel, another building, 1,5 km away.

    All was taken care of very well by a young a friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the staff was from Poland. The hotel owner, however, didn't allow the staff to talk to Polish customers in Polish. I really don't like this policy and I decided I will skip this hotel in the future and I will advice all my friends to do the same. It is a shame, but I think there is no room for discrimination in 21st century. Iceland is promoting themselves as a friendly, openminded place. Apparently, this hotel is an exception. Also, they still have the "no shoes" policy in place. This is a really big hotel (it is not a guesthouse, this is not a mountain shelter either), and yet they still require the guests to remove their shoes or to wear a blue protective thing. This is a cost savings went too far in my opinion.

    Location is great. Also the food quality in the restaurant is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room 60% more expensive than the basic room - no reason to pay more becouse facilities and room comfort are the same. We've booked this room only because the cheaper one was not available for this date. So value for money is not good.

    Generally OK with good kitchen facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great. It was very quiet given the large number of guests. People seemed to be very considerate of others. The beds were quite comfortable. I would definitely recommend and would certainly stay at The Highland Center again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, with a good restaurant menu. Latecomers still have the grill menu to choose from. Check-in was easy, with a top notch and modern room. Parking is free outside, with a fuel pump on the same parking area, enabling you to refill the car and head on out into the highlands.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in one of the older rooms, which we knew was gonna be small since they were cheaper. But I would've spent a little more on an upgrade. Also, we were advised to only take 5 minute showers because it took 20 minutes for the hot water to come back. The water probably got a little cooler after 7 minutes. It wasn't too much of an issue. And the pillows were flat and lumpy like most accommodations in Iceland.

    Breakfast was included in our stay. One of the best breakfasts in Iceland- many options. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location for a day trip to Landmannalaugar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the hamburger and that you had to take off your shoes in a messy and small room.

    I liked the newly renovated rooms, the amenities such as a water carafe and the bed lamp was at the exact right position with the exact right amount of light (not too dim, not too bright).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really to small for 2 adults, especially when one is close to 2 meters. The room on itself was also really small

    Closely located to Landmannalaugar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was comfortable with own bathroom. Breakfast was good. They have a information desk to provide maps and information concerning the Landmannalaugar back county. There is also a gas station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent one night in HCH before out trip to Myvatn via Sprengisandsleið (convenient to travel to Landmannalaugar as well). Good location to tank up. The renovated rooms are small and simple but clean. Nice breakfast. Good restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception is only available in the afternoon early evening. Staff in central reception not at all friendly or helpful with information

    Location. A cross roads before taking the bus to Landmannalaugar. A newer building a mile from the original hotel, but clearly specified. NIce breakfast, though expensive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility is a little starting to show its age, however it is maintained quite well

    Nice breakfast was included, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Kitchen was good and reasonably equiped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like everything in Island this place is too expensive for what it offers ; breakfest buffet is ok but crowded and in case you are rather late you might not get what you want; like in other crowded places in Island the staff is not able to manage the big load of guests!

    rooms are quite simple but you have everything what you need - despite rooms are small Location is very good to go to the highland - in fact there are not many choices except you want to camp

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heater in the bathroom was very close to the toilet - one wouldn't want to be very "broad in the beam"!

    This was an apartment and the extra room that this provided was very welcome for sorting out and repacking clothing on our almost last night in Iceland, as well as for having a comfortable sitting room. The bar staff gave us a small jug of milk to go with the tea we made in our room, much appreciated. The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to kitchen for our own meal preparation. Very small room considering cost of accommodation (however compareable in cost to similar accommodation in the area).

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Meals were lovely. Great base for hiking at Landmannalaugar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small (even though it was as advertised) and you could hear the people walking in the hallway. The bed and pillows are very soft and not comfortable at all. No space to eat in the common areas, if you brought your own food. Too expensive for what it is.

    The room was clean, breakfast was ok and the staff was helpful. Good location, only 1h away from Landmannalaugar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic room, not really worth the money considering all other GH's and B&B I visited in Iceland. Basis breakfast.

    The location near both the F26 up north and the F208 is very good as a starting point. Hostel-like atmosphere. Great personnel. Clean room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Good breakfast, clean and spacious apartment with good facility. Good view from living room and main bedroom. Very clean. We used private sauna for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We slept in the old part, where the rooms are very small. We saw the other rooms, and they were bright and more spacious. (So try booking these). They are the only accomodation in the neighbourhood, so they can ask what they want pricewise. +170 euros for a small room is a lot.

    we ad read a lot of bad reviews on tripadvisor, so we were not expecting a lot. But it turned out fine. Nice location when you go visit Landmannlaugar, otherwise a bit(very) remote. Interior is very clean (you have to take off your shoes and there are slippers in the room). Food is ok, there are a few relatively cheap options. Breakfast is pretty extensive as far as we can compare with other accomodations (sweet and savoury options, different kinds of bread, a lof of different cheeses).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the Langanmanaugger national park which is the only thing near by this accommodation and the reason we booked it was closed. It's really challenging to find information about the national park's potential closing months (which vary) so we found our after we arrived and had already booked two nights accommodation and ended up leaving after the first night. This isn't the fault of the hotel (which was great) but just something worth noting to other travellers.

    The staff were super friendly and the accommodation was really comfortable. It's not a fancy hotel but you know exactly what you're paying for and the photos reflect reality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was really nothing serious, it would be better, if the rooms have darker curtains

    right to the road beautiful countryside (if someone like this kind of environment) delicious breakfast good restaurant, but limited selection private parking own petrol station very quiet

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our rooms were very clean and comfy. Katie took amazing care of us. She made a lovely dinner that even included fresh caught char. The steam room was a nice way to end a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was delicious as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this hotel under the impression that it was a centre for activities, meaning that they had many activities onsite to choose from and that when we arrived, we would be able to book an activity for the next day. However, it became apparent that if you want to organise an activity, you must pre book well in advance as the activity providers they have are coming from Reykjavik and need a lot of notice, and you need an activity or two while you are here because there is absolutely nothing around for miles.

    The staff was nice and friendly. There is a large guest's lounge with board games and television. The hotel was clean and there was also a sauna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We visited Hrauneyjar for photographing northern lights in November, and it is among the best spots in Iceland because of its remote position in the highlands far from light pollution, which can be very severe in many parts of the country. The staff was very friendly, and the place is very comfortable. Breakfast was great and served late upon request, and the kitchen surprised us with a very high standard of cooking while offering meals that were not on the menue. The only drawback is the bright light outside the building, which cannot be turned off, so you have to walk or drive a few hundred meters. There is almost no traffic at night. I would highly recommend Hrauneyjar if you are an aurora photo pro.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    It is very close for those who want to explore LML. Plus, it has a small petrol station in the front. Although situated far from the town the accommodation was great - modern and very clean. The food at the cafe was delicious. The stuff is very very friendly, nice and extremely helpful. We enjoyed our stay a lot!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I hadn't had sms feedback on my mobile I would have paid the room twice. Paid when I arrived, then when I left I had to go back from the parking why to charge me with the same sum. It was cancelled immediately. But if had had no sms???

    Clean common bath, small room, but for one night sleep is more than ok. Lot of Icelandic beer in the bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to high demand compare to limited supply, I guess we have no choices. But so far it was not bad, however it could be better to make it worth what we have paid for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no shared kitchen, but there was an ok restaurant in the hotel, so it was not a problem.

    Great place to stay before driving to Landmannalaugar. The staff was able to tell us that road 208 was still passable up to Landmannalaugar (we were there in October).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being in middle of nowhere is plus and minus point both depending what plans you have for your trip. We had to minimize our stay to one day coz we had a 2 wheel drive and roads ahead are F Roads.

    Best place to stay if you are planning to visit Landamalugar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is small, but as advertised. Sauna was cold, even when turned on for a long. Shower was leaking, created a swimming pool there.

    The lamb soup was amazing! Very clean. Well located, a few minutes after getting out of the 4x4 road for Landmannalaugar. Free postcard posted for you.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Feel's like a college dorm setup. Nice but nothing fancy.

    There is not a lot of choices in the Highlands of Iceland. The facilities were adequate. I was not surprised as it was as advertised.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a quite a big and expensive hotel, and yet they require you to remove the shoes or wear additional shoe protectors like in a hospital. The competition 1 km away doesn't require you to do such a weird thing. The warm water in the shower lasts for 5 minutes only. After that you have to wait for re-heat.

    Great location, of course.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet was rather basic. Menu for dinner was limited as several items no longer available.

    Good location at the southern end of Sprengisandur and good to go to Landmannalaugar. Spaceous, modern room. Comparatively good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place seems to have had a recent upgrade. Everything seemed pretty new and clean. There were some nice simple touches. The whole hotel is no-shoes — leave 'em at the door. Love it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough toilets and showers for the number of beds

    Good location for travel in the Highlands. Staff were excellent and food was good. Prices reasonable, cheapest beer in Iceland despite monopoly location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price than facilites. Far from landmannalauga. Terrible shared bathroom. Disgusting atmospher inside. I really regret my choice. Camping is better than staying here. Staff sends me rude e-mail twice, "You have checked out without paying for room". But I had already paid when I check in . Even I was also waiting to receive my change. I feel really bad.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is absolutely not the hotel's negative, it is rather the gusests'... If it is clearly marked that you have to take off your shoes (and half of the guests do so), the others should be warned not to walk in muddy boots where others walk in sandals/slippers or in socks.

    It is right at the entrance of the Highlands. The rooms are clean, the bed is comfy, the breakfast and the restaurant is good, staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food quantity is less than normal resturant though taste is good

    40km far ( less than 1hours drive via F208) from Landmannalaugar high land, gas station in front of hotel, restaurant service till 21:00 and bar till 23:00

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Significantly overpriced. Room is more like a mini cabin on a ship (10m for our twin with private bath). Hot water in shower is only enough for 1. Staff - nice kids but not professional.

    Location is good, not much more options in this area close to the Landmannallaugar park. Beds were Ok, facility generally is clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water only for 5-10 minutes at at time but I figure this is expected for such a large hotel in a remote area; there might not be much they can do about this.

    We liked having the park rangers onsite right at the entrance to the hotel, this made planning our stay in the Highlands much easier. They had great advice about where to drive outside of just Landmannalaugar and told us how to get to a beautiful oasis in the area, that was very much off the beaten path. Hotel was much better than expected based on these reviews. The room we were in was clean and modern, looks like recently renovated. Private bathrooms were very much appreciated as this is rare in Iceland. Dinner can be ordered in restaurant onsite till 9 and late burger/sandwich menu till 11. Staff were accommodating. We had somehow missed breakfast (I somehow heard it was 730-930 instead of 7-9) and the staff were able to pull items together for us to eat e.g. sandwiches , fruit, cereal, etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night we had a tiny and simple room. Noisy corridor due to footsteps. No sun blinds (for summer nights in Iceland). We didn't sleep.

    The breakfast was very good. Friendly staff. We complained about the lack of sun blinds. The second night we got an upgrade room with sun blinds and good beds. Good location for exit and entry from Landmanalaguar.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom - Sleeping Bag Accommodation
    • Stayed 1 night

    Know the season, because during certain times of the year (eg. the melting season), many roads are closed off.

    Friendly staff. Environment there is a nice area for walking: one route goes along waterfalls between 2 small lakes, with dams, hydro-reactors, etc. Bit barren though, which might not fit everyone's taste.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi could be faster. Our friend was in a room in the old part of the location. Heating was on the whole time - could not be changed. His room and the chared bathroom looked old and not very nice.

    Good place when coming from/going via the F26 or if you want to go to Landmannalaugar. Comfort of rooms depends a lot on category you book! Small petrol station in front of hotel. Very useful when beeing in this remote place! Offering warm meal till 22:30h. They also sell sandwiches, softdrinks etc.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot shower was limited to around 5min as the hot water tank was not a very big one. Was told that we had to wait for 20min for the next tank to warm up.

    Breakfast spread was satisfying. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet, good location for visiting highland!! The hot water doesn't work for a long time, but it is OK for us, if you take care. Anyway, everything is perfect!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small, very simple bed, and the shower was just OK...

    Breakfast was great. Location very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in the old (original) part of the hotel and the room was tiny but adequate. The food at the restaurant was good and the breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More optional menu

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with small beds. There were everything quite old.

    Location at less than 1h from Landmannalaugar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly. Facility was really clean and comfy. Would book there again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom smelled like urine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is set in a beautiful location. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No possibilities for self cooking.

    Super location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and good food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gluten free bread or cereal available for breakfast.

    Comfortable quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain in the bathroom did not work well

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice rest stop in the Highlands. Comfort food, good breakfast, nice sauna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got two very small rooms. Almost only room for the beds. Hot water barely for one shower. The rooms we had needed refurbishment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was ideal for group

    Great location, good facilities, excellent staff and good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't see anything that I don't like.

    Best place to stay if you are visiting the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Highland Center Hrauneyjar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: