Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hvolsvollur

Hlíðarvegur 7-11, 860 Hvolsvöllur, Iceland

#12 of 14 hotels in Hvolsvöllur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 766 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kettle is very small. There is some sound of the cars passing by at night. The view from the window is not very nice, trees and road.

    All very good! The room was clean, spacious and the bed is comfortable. Tasty breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great!! Would definitely stay here again. Everything is clean and tidy the only thing is that the shower is a little small and the room has no fridge or microwave.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain was a but blocked

    Very nice hotel with polite staff. It is very easy to find. There is a pizza place nearby and you can take the pizza into the room. The hotel has hot tubs but we didn’t use them. Recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on first room and close to the road, so at night you could hear cars passing by. Didn't sleep very well.

    Excellent breakfast. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining area with the glass roof. It was nice to have breakfast while it was raining outside. We also liked photoes and interesting facts about Iceland on the walls in the hall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner they were offering just soup and salad. Disappointing!

    Rooms were very spacious and clean. Bonus was the hot tubs which is not anywhere on the booking.com page. If we knew would have arrived early to enjoy them. Breakfast was lovely, got to make some pancakes :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the insufficient parking.

    Comfortable if minimalist rooms. Good showers. We were there in off season but the weather xcellent lamb soup and salad were quite nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed a delightful view of a corrugated iron wall, but it did not bother us in the slightest - we were there to explore Iceland, not stare out of a window!

    Clean, large room. Very comfortable beds. Food available at reasonable (in Icelandic terms) prices. Excellent continental breakfast buffet. Fantastic location for exploring the South Coast, with nearby amenities eg. Supermarket, garages, liquor store, pizzeria.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower enclosure was very small with older, plastic sliders that didn't work well. The sheet on the bed was thin and scratchy. A hot tub was advertised; however non-functional when I asked to use it.

    Friendly, cooperative desk staff. Easy check in and out. Large room size and convenient location just off the major highway. Easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was abundant and very tasty. As a single woman traveling alone, I felt safe here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room with a somewhat outdated decoration but clean and good. We had the hotel buffet for dinner, which was very good, and breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t use the hotel restaurant as it was booked by a tour group Hot tub wasn’t working

    Good location to stop on the ring road Pleasant staff Rooms clean and spacious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have appreciated some cooking facilities but I know that this not so straight forward to arrange.

    The staff were excellent, breakfast was also good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bad. When we arrived we were told that the restaurant was fully booked for dinner, apparently for the whole evening. Kind of bad to not be able to accomodate their guests when they know that they are coming. We even called ahead and asked how long their kitchen was open.

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Aren’t all the Icelandic people always so nice? The room that we got was big enough for us. There were 3 of us sharing sharing the room, all adults.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very clean, but simply decorated. Our room was quite roomy. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend for future travelers. The hotel was a great value and we loved the location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have the sign of name of the hotel! We had to drive around, looked for the name of the hotel and we couldn't find it until we stopped there just to ask for the direction to the hotel and it turned out that that was our hotel. I attached a photo of the sign at the hotel. You should really fix this though.

    Friendly staff. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. There are no signs indicating the entrance to the hotel. We circled around once and still had to guess. 2. The hotel's hot tub wasn't working so we went to the public pool, but that too was closed for the last 10 days. This is a tiny little town and going to the public pool is huge in Iceland. I would have expected the hotel to be up on local info, especially when their own hot tub was out. We did mention that we'd go to the public pool instead. 3. We asked if we could be notified in case of the Northern Lights (our previous hotel did) and the staff simply said they don't. In the morning we discovered that they have a covered patio with clear skylights...again I wish they had been a bit more proactive and offered that as an alternate. 4. Finally, and this one is mostly minor and hopefully temporary, the large window in our room was blocked by a huge dumpster/cargo container. I think this hotel services tour groups mostly who have their own guides, so the staff doesn't really care about enhancing the traveller's experience.

    The room was spacious and there was an extra bed for my son.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If an elevator instead of climbing stairs. I'm older and out of shape, difficult to carry luggage up the stairs.

    The room was very spacious and the front desk lady, Angelica was exceptionally helpful and kind. She realize we were Americans so gave us larger room. The breakfast was the greatest!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty finding only because the name of the hotel was not visible from the street.

    Modest hotel (undergoing renovations), with a surprisingly good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property under renovation. No sign to identify hotel.

    Staff moved our room after we had an issue with the shower door and even offered us a drink for our trouble. Room was very cozy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Name on Hotel was different (not signed as Hotel Hvolsvollur) which made it difficult to find in the dark

    Basic but functional. Good sized room. Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not have any indication, not even the name, allegedly because of renovations. The wrong rate was applied (higher of course). TV did have no channels, they had to be scanned again. No food in the restaurant, except for two big groups. Individual travellers had to find food somewhere else.

    No frills hotel close to highway 1. Appropriate for stop over.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    really friendly staff who explained the options we had for eating. Once the main season is over the restaurant is closed unless there is a group booking requiring that facility. As it happened there was a group staying, so we were invited to join them for a light evening meal. We decided to eat elsewhere. We enjoyed the breakfast provided - varied selection and ample amounts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we came for breakfast on every single table was a reseverd sign, this was a bit confusing. So we needed assistence of the breakfast staff, however problem was quickly solved. :)

    Friendly receptionist, easy and quick check in. Good breakfast, really clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went there because they have a jacuzzi, and both of them were empty...even though we were told they were open until 10 pm.

    Very clean and well maintained. Good breakfast in the morning. Helpful staff at the buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - few parking spots - had to park along the Road - was worried if nth happens with the car

    - breakfast was awesome! A great;variety of food, everything is so stylish! - the room is spacious, enough place for luggage! - good internet; - easy to find; - we checked in after the check in time as there was a lady working in a bad who was waiting for us; - finally you feel that you re in the hotel, not in the guesthouse 😁

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking on site was convenient but space could run out later at night. It's a bit difficult to drag luggage through front yard/parking lot as its surface is unpaved gravel. The place seemed to be popular with bus tour companies so it could get quite crowded.

    Best value among all 6 lodgings we stayed at during our Iceland vacation. The lowest daily rate and the only one with breakfast included. Checking in and out was smooth. Kids loved playing on the computer in the hall and we enjoyed looking at the beautiful photographs of Iceland scenery on the wall. Good location right off Ring Road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could be better. I found hair on pillow and on duvet when I first entered the room and a big hole in the sheet. Shower was blocking easily after few minutes.

    Great breakfast. Good location close to the main roads.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was somewhat smelly. I can't really describe the smell. Not sewery, at any rate. The smell did seem to get less over time; possibly because we got used to it. It wasn't so bad we felt urged to complain; I'm sure the staff would have helped us solve the issue if we had. Our room had a view of a wall, just a metre from our window. Light got in, but no view, really. I didn't mind, since hotels are for sleeping. But if you like to stand by your window for hours, it might be an issue. Once again, I'm sure the staff would have helped us if we had complained. I'm sure not every room lacks a view.

    Roomy room with tv. Excellent beds. Great breakfast (continental/Icelandic, possibly English, but can't remember for sure). Friendly staff. Nice and quiet. Near the 1-road with supermarket and gas station. Gallery pizza restaurant nearby recommended -share a 16" piza for about 4000 ISK; my adult son and I were full after five slices and got the rest in a box, which made a nice lunch the next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was disappointing... the beand were cold.. there was no scrumbled eggs, just hard boiled and cold... everything was cold...

    The room was neat and nice... a bit of 80s style

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really Old, the staff are not nice and cold. The shower has mold and not clean.

    Hotel for a good price for Iceland. It is not expensive for Iceland furthermore the hotel offers a breakfast (Even if it is not good, it is great to have something before the trekking)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as good as the photos suggest. The water didn't drain in our shower so it obviously hadn't been cleaned - no excuse for a plugged up drain! Hottub dirty and doesn't have bubbles and has a cover so you can't see the sky. We got there early so parked no problem but car park got very busy as it's quite small.

    Great staff - receptionist was really friendly and helpful. Ease of location. Rooms fine and comfy beds. Blackout curtains so we slept really well!! Good range of options for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like hot cooked eggs and bacon. Not an option here. Yes, I know there are no hogs in Iceland but still other hotels did offer bacon. Yes, hot food takes a little more effort, it is worth it.

    Location was good, reservations correct, room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water in the shower was either boiling hot or freezing cold, very difficult to adjust.

    Location was great. The room was larger than most other rooms we stayed in during our trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A jacuzzi rather than a hot pot would be really welcome

    Great location for exploring the south coast. Very reasonable rates, not something you find often in Iceland! Breakfast provided was really good, and the evening buffet was also good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By far the best value on our trip to Iceland for a huge comfortable room for a family of 4 near the major tourist attractions in South Central Iceland. Excellent breakfast buffet as well. While the exterior seemed a little ho-hum, we were very surprised at the size and quality of the room, recently renovated. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need warmer blankets! We were cold! The shower is oddly some sort of portable / collapsible contraption.

    We got a private bathroom unexpectedly. Quiet accommodations. Plentiful hot water. Breakfast was pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but nothing special - we missed scrambled eggs and bacon ;)

    Having stayed in different hotels across Iceland, this one had definitely the largest rooms. Otherwise very clean and comfy - can recommend stating here! (They have a hot tub!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited parking. We got there late and there was no more room in the lot. However, they made a place for us around back, so it worked out well.

    Extensive and delicious breakfast. Very good value. Room was very large, with 4 beds, sofa, coffee table, and even a tub. We couldn't have been more delighted!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was full (or close to that) and we had some difficulty parking the car, because the parking lot is not very large.

    Very confortable Hotel, location excelent for people in a road trip like we were. Tha breakfast was good, and it was very nice that it was included. We also had dinner at the Hotel buffet. It is a litle expensive (about 3900/adult) but considering the prices all over Iceland we thought it was worth. t had a great variety of food and very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do in the area, this is really more of a pit stop along the way.

    Hot shower was very appreciated after many days camping. Breakfast was good with lots of choice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just something to keep in mind, there is no one onsite for a late checking (you have to call a number and they help tell you how to get your key etc). In my case, the lock for my first room didn't seem to work and I had to call a couple times and switch to a different room

    Room was clean and spacious, and was flexible for a late checkout.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was varied and delicious. This hotel is close to many interesting areas and important cities. Ideal for 1 night stay if you travel on road 1 and do the round of Iceland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No decaf coffee. Pricey. Breakfast not included.

    Excellent nights sleep. Historical building. Accommodating front desk clerk. Clean. Interesting decor and past photos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be more spacious. The hotel is favored by large tour groups.

    Large, clean comfortable room. This is a large tourist hotel that caters to groups. It is located right in town and at a convenient distance to Reykjavik. We had to be in Reykjavik by noon on the day we left, and the drive was about two hours.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower had the worst leak which meant the water went all over the floor, a bit annoying.

    Very comfy beds, polite staff. Great location for heading to jokusarlon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Limited wine list. Caters to large tour bus groups.

    Conveniently located near the Saga Center that provides an overview of the most renowned Icelandic saga from the 13th c.. Modern amenities and comfortable rooms with satisfactory spaces. Dinner buffet offered characteristic Icelandic dishes not readily available in other locations we visited, attractively presented. Good breakfast buffet, with more choices of fish than most.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Doesn't really good from the outside but nice inside as most of the hotels and guesthouses you will find in Islande. the room was big and the beds very comfy all was very clean the breakfast was very good too with lots of choices we didnt' try to restaurant in the evening and went outside to have pizza in a place near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, due to OTHERS stealing food for their lunches NO backpacks are allowed in the dining area. It was VERY worrying that your that your small backpack, with our passports, won't be given to the wrong guest when it was held at reception ! Breakfast was very, very basic on the first morning, only when guests of a tour bus were booked in on the second morning DID the motel offer pastries and offer a better selection of cold meats etc!

    The standard room was very comfortable with two chairs and the double bed was a good size, though the bed was very close to the wall on one side . However, there was Definitely enough room to position two suit cases and our two back backs etc without tripping over them ! A wardrobe to hang jackets was great . Reception staff were wonderful . We stayed two nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels i've been in, the room and beds are so comfy. And the dinner buffet it's the best buffet i've seen and tasted. And the staff is the best staff in the world.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist Rosana was friendly, underatanding & helpful. For the room rate we paid (€120 for double room), the choices of breakfast was much more than expected.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room window was facing the street, noise from vehicles passing, though not many, can be a little intrusive.

    Close to highway #1, gas station & supermarket. Breakfast was decent and you can.take away a sandwich for a small fee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was the least helpful of any on our trip. We felt like we were bothering them when we checked in, checked out, and the one time we tried to ask for help finding a local attraction. We went out to see the northern lights and got locked out of the hotel. the key they gave you didn't open the door and you had to call security which took awhile.

    Reasonably priced option on way around ring road. Room was big and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the single one room is too small but with a big washing room, it is not well designed.

    The room is comfortable, the breakfast is ok, hotel is very big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One think that bothers me is that you can not but drinks on the lobby bar to your room. Strange.

    Location is good and the staff is very good, freindly and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed a little cold. Both the receptionist as well as those in the dining area during breakfast. Stayed a total of 7 nights in Iceland and this was the only place the hotel staff seemed average. When it was closing time for the breakfast buffet, some staff suddenly came through and put a barrier between the food and the seating area. They didn't care to ask any of the guests who were still dining if they wanted anything before they closed up the area.

    Our room had a double bed and was very spacious. Clean and comfortable. The bathroom too was pretty big. Had a good night's sleep. Decent value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff was incredible helpful with us. They helped us get along with tours and information about the best places to eat. Town is quite small but cozy. The hotel is well equipped (Even computers for us to use, it helped me backup my photos and that is very important as a photographer, most places in Iceland lack this) ... Breakfast was delicious and with several options, they also offered "to go boxes" so it its a good deal. Loved the lot of photos on the wall, really feels like you are in the middle of Iceland history, I treasure that. Fully recommend I place like this to stay while traveling to the South part of Iceland and even as a base place as most of the places south are not more than 2 hours driving. Thanks everyone for the effort to makes us feel great there! Luis & Ana

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Included breakfast was great (variety and all you could eat buffet style), nice considering high cost of food, eating out in Iceland. Room was perfect for 3 adults and hotel supplied crib for our 6 month old. We were able to walk to a small pizza restaurant from our hotel. Good location on Ring Road after Golden Circle, then on to Southeastern Iceland. Only 30 minutes from ferry to Vestmannaeyjar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner at the hotel restaurant wasnt available shorlty after 9pm.. breakfast could have been a bit more varied.

    Good location along the Road 1. Rooms and bathroom are spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our coffee machine didn't work and no milk for tea but I think we could of got some in reception.

    Family room so the four of us had a comfy bed each and breakfast included was a great start. We were lucky to see the northern lights from bedroom window

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot tubs weren't in use, not enough parking space, staff wasn't very friendly, showers super slippery and had quite some lime stains,

    good location just off the ring road, spacious bathroom, breakfast selection was quite good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not that friendly, room wasn't very large (but not expecting much for the fantastic price).

    Great price, beds were comfortable, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower heads need maintenance and the rooms could use a repaint.

    The room space is big which is good for luggages, with coffee and tea. Just by the Road 1 which is easily accessible. Breakfast is good Really excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally with all Icelandic hotels it would be better if the price was quoted in Icelandic Krona rather than Euros so you would know exactly how much you will pay rather than having 2 exchange rates to work out!

    Lovely rooms, comfy bed and good breakfast ... and they also got the hot tubs ready specially for us!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we staid only one night, and we had a very good overnight sleep.

    The family room was very big, and we had (2 adults + 2 children) plenty of space. The room was actually bigger then the one visible on the web. The room was at the 1st floor, very tidy, clean, well heated and quite. The two ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful. In the morning a well equipped breakfast was offered. There was sausages, beans, different kinds of muesli, bread, fish, marmalade, yoghurt, ham, cheese, cakes .... the kitchen also organized warm milk for the children, so just perfect for the prize paid. The location is also well situated and very close to the ring road and a fuel station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the hot tub was a little tricky with no outdoor lights on the stairs. Wished I would have brought outsoor shoes that could get wet in the rain!

    How accommodating the hotel was. The breakfast included was excellent and made it an easy transition into exploring a new culture.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast. Right across the street from the Saga Center, a fantastic place to spend a rainy afternoon. Staff helped us find a local tire repair shop.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deco is run down and walls are quite thin btw rooms. Pillows not very comfy and bathrooms need updating.

    The hot tub was a nice plus and rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Staff were friendly and allowed us to check in early even though check in was at 3pm. The breakfast was great -the majority of the food was cold (bread, cereal, hard boiled eggs) but they did have some warm sausages and baked beans, even scrambled eggs on one day! I appreciated that hot water and tea available at all times. The rooms and the building itself is slightly older but the room was very clean. Overall it was great value for the money and would definitely recommend as a stop during a trip to south Iceland!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk people stayed late until I arrived, and I loved having my own little room and bathroom after having spent two nights in a hotel for nearly the same price!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were a bit run down. We had to call for maintenance. The breakfast was sort of standard but not very good-nothing was very nice. At breakfast space was reserved for specific groups but no one was using that space. There were a lot of dirty dishes on the tables when we were eating breakfast. We had trouble parking as there was not enough parking for cars when busses were there.

    It was (literally) a refuge in a storm for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better - of course imported vegetables and fruits tend to look sad by the time the make the shelves, but there's great local produce that could be used instead.

    Staff was great! Very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with a water pipe outside our room that was making some noise (dripping) and they happily moved us to a nicer room. Ace! It's also a great location for the all the trekking in the area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy cleaning staff. To be fair though, they probably weren't expecting guests to be in their room during the day.

    It was nice to have on site hot pots

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of date, but that's okay.

    Slept very good. Hot tubs worked great but are a little funny to have roof, nice for a steam. Good assortment of breakfast but they ran out of crossaints. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was little high, but that's Iceland!

    Breakfast was awesome, a real variety of Icelandic favorites. Staff was very helpful;especially Roksana!

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75