Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jökull

Nesjum, 781 Höfn, Iceland

#1 of 5 hotels in Höfn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    If you may such a price for one night, than you expect...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really that bothered me.

    If you may such a price for one night, than you expect evertthing tot beste excellent. And in this cadeau it was true. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom is super. The breakfast was very good. If would recommend this to everybody.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Modern comfortable hotel, small room, excellent breakfast, just outside Hofn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped

    Very clean hotel and room, very modern, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, bathroom directly across the hall since we shared a bathroom with others, having a sink in the room, view of glacier from the hotel, comfortable lounge, comfortable beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is directly on the ring road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room price was too high compared to other places in Iceland where we stayed. When checking in we didn't get all necessary information (WiFi password, what time does breakfast start) and it wasn't available neither in the room nor in the hotel building where our room was located.

    The hotel is directly on the ring road. Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Not the best place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel experience was similar to staying in a college dorm. Paper thin walls, doors slamming all evening and morning.

    Shared bath had an adequate number of showers and toilets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, helpful and friendly Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, helpful and friendly Staff. Perfect food and service. I forgot my GoPro camera and the Staff contacted me and offered to send it by post to my home address.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful scenery...I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast was served even though I could not eat much of it due to dietary restrictions. The staff was very kind to provide me with extra hot water for my thermos. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    -Convenient location near Höfn and off ring road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Paying around $200 to relive college dorm days is pretty disappointing; at least the shared toilet and showers are clean -the rooms are exceptionally bare-boned

    -Convenient location near Höfn and off ring road -the breakfast is hearty though a tourist group overcrowded the small space -the shared spaces and room are clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the town however was not a problem as we had a car

    Very big free car park, very nice and quiet location, very good breakfast, best breakfast that we had in all of the hotels we stayed in Iceland and was included in the price. Very clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.5
    Clean, great breakfast, great location 10 mins outside Höfn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are uncomfortable — new but bad mattresses — and the blankets tiny. The facilities are nice but it feels like they really cheaped out on beds/bedding.

    Clean, great breakfast, great location 10 mins outside Höfn. Also they were nice about accommodating our third son in a room for 2 rather than making us book a third room as the Booking.com site would have required.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Good, convenient room with nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our area there were only two shared bathrooms for many (6-7) rooms. Parking is a little far from entrance.

    Good, convenient room with nice view. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charged me for my stay onsite, claiming that I hadn’t paid for it. Even though I pre-paid for it in Booking.com. In short, I paid for my stay twice. Still waiting for my refund.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive and didn't fulfilled our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the most expensive stay at our trip to Iceland and our first impression from Hotel was very good. But at the end, the room itself didn't fulfill our expectations.

    The location of the Hotel is very good. The hotel itself looks excellent for Icelandic standard. The breakfast at this stay has been tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Modern, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noice in the street outside during night time. No breakfast but bakery across the street.

    Modern, clean building with large rooms, private rest rooms and TV, best sofar during our trip to Iceland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Pricey accomodation but good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was way overpriced for the quality that we got. The shower was squeezed next to the toilet with only a curtain and about 1 cm lower floor keeping the water from splattering everywhere. However, there are only a few small guesthouses and cottages in the area and booking an accomodation near the Glacier lagoon or Vatnajökull National park was very difficult because everything sells out months before.

    The breakfast was very good, lots of choice, warm food (scrambled eggs and bacon) as well as cereals, pastries, bread and the usual. The room was average size and the bathroom rather small. The room had a view on the mountains on one side and on the sea on the other but in the front was the parking lot. The hotel has a good restaurant. We had tortellini with langoustines which was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, sufficient for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late after a long day. After we settled in, we went to the restaurant hoping to get dinner. Hostess said, sorry, they were closed. It was 935, they closed at 930. Wish they could have been more accommodating..we were tired and it was too far to drive to find a place to eat.

    Very clean, bright, cheery. Room pleasant w/nice view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    A great place to stay if you are driving the ring route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blinds weren't great as we were there in the summer and we struggled to get to sleep. Also the shared showers were very cramped and nowhere dry to stand afterwards.

    The Hotel Jokul was a comfortable stop for us on a road trip. The staff were friendly, the breakfast delicious and the room adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast is really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little far from the town Hofn.

    Breakfast is really good. Worth the money. Staffs are helpful and kind. Bathrooms are neat and clean. Shower is really comfortable. And you can see nice views from the bathroom’s window. Inside the room you can find a basin to use which is very sweet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the was amazing. Breakfast was perfect, lots of tasty choices! We arrived quite late and the receptionist waited for us before je went to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The property was SUPER clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was SUPER clean. Not a single bit of dust in sight!! Check-in and out was easy and efficient. The complimentary breakfast was good, had a nice spread. The staff members were very kind. They helped with everything we needed. We had some perishable food, and the lady at the desk stored it for us for the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Every place is expansive in this area of Iceland, this hotel is comparatively acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice to have a sink in the bedroom, which made the shared bath room not too busy. Glad that we got the last minute special rate. Excellent breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    great price - very modern and next to a gas station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is not walkable or near the city center or any supermarket - you will need to drive maybe 10-15 minutes.

    the price was great. It is definitely a hotel the room was big for Icelandic standard. Huge windows - we had a corner room so we had a great view of the parking lot. the toilets and showers were clean. For a hotel with a shared bathroom this is my first - so I guess its ok. the people at the reception were nice and welcoming. Love the breakfast it is great per Icelandic standards I would say. Its buffet style all you can eat. there's a gas station right outside the parking lot. There's plenty of parking. I am not sure if the breakfast area turns into a restaurant or they have a restaurant on site. great free and fast wifi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Shared bathroom down the hall;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom down the hall; room was a corner suite with glass on two whole walls. Very bright during Icelandic “night.” And beds were all together in one room. Not great with kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well decorate and very clean. The breakfast is very good (juices, yourtes, fruits, cheeses, several kinds of bread, bacon....). We stayed in a room without private wc but there was not a problem because toilets and baths were ok (clean and empity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    The bedroom was large with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had shared bathroom. There were not so many bathrooms and they were not so clean. This is unpleasant, especially if your room is in front of the bathrooms. Furthermore, walls are very thin, so you could hear everything from other rooms.

    The bedroom was large with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent, with a great variety of products, ranging from Icelandic breakfast to continental one.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if the hotel had offered something else than an expensive three course dinner. A simple bar menu or soup would have been great.

    Good breakfast and comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was actually looking for a guest house type of accommodation with kitchen facility. Didn't expect it was a hotel and found out only when I arrived. Anyway, a nice hotel overall.

    Hotel provided extra bed for the kids. Helpful and nice staff. Very good breakfast!! Close to the Horn town where you can find everything, strategic location for a stop over traveling around the ring road.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints, breakfast was good and the room was comfortable. Shared bathrooms were fine, showers were just ok. Location is off the main road and 10min to Hofn. Pakkhus is a great restaurant to visit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay in Höfn
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was not so warm but ok overall.

    Very modern and clean rooms, nice view on a field, through a large window. Good breakfast and ultrafast Wi-Fi!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Great experience, great location, outstanding owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful caring owners, warm and welcoming atmosphere. Owner attentive to everything. Great location. Highly recommend by experience Travel Agent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean place 10-15mins before Hofn town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no hot items in breakfast, other than breads which you could toast when we went. Rest of the stuff was typical icelandic breakfast - cheeses , cold meats, cereals etc.

    This hotel is about 10-15 mins before Hofn Town, and when we stayed it had only opened a week as I guess its closed during winters. Our room was in an annexe building , and was very clean though with minimalist interiors. Had a private bathroom and lots of parking onsite. Icelandic breakfast was included in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Once you understand it's kinda like a hostel and you...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad sound proof.

    Once you understand it's kinda like a hostel and you can't really find a more affordable place around. One night stay is fine. Oh, and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved staring at the glacier from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to drive to town for provisions and restaurant, otherwise it was fine.

    The hotel was very clean, staff helpful, breakfast was good, and the view of the glacier from the room, along with he serene pasture was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Check in was very easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one was at counter to check out

    Check in was very easy. Room was comfortable. Hotel clean. Room had sink inside and you have bathroom/shower in hall that you share with other guests. Our rate included breakfast which had a lot of items.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    This hotel was a good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a good value for the money. Located just outside of Hofn, it is easy to find, clean, with friendly staff and a great dinner - try the grilled lamb with blueberry sauce, it was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Free breakfast, the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the shared bathroom an we could hear everything, people having showers until midnight An everyone going to the bathroom in the morning. Everything they did we could hear.. an I mean everything. Our head board of the bed was on the same wall as the toilet. The room was just a room with a bed , no tv, there was a kettle but no cups or coffee/tea. The building is an odd mix of new and old, I think it should be one or the other.

    Free breakfast, the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Clean hotel near Hofn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the towels- it smelt like wet dog.

    The view from our rooms were amazing. The rooms were nice and clean. It had good amenities. Breakfast was basic but good enough. The room was spacious enough. The hotel is about 6 km away from Hofn.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night in a Twin room with shared bathroom and toilet, there was a sink in the room. An electrict kettle was provided, good to make own hot drink any time we like. Room was clean and comfortable. There were 2 shared bathroom with toilet near our room, never encountered queuing, were big enough and clean. Breakfast was excellent at the restaurant which we could view the glacier, beautiful view. Always double check your booking room rate while making payment, our case was the receptionist has given us a more expensive rate compare to the rate given by bookimg.com., but has been rectified and refund immediately to us after I shown my booking on booking.com. The receptionist was a handsome and polite man, very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, beautiful setting, fantastic staff, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am allergic to cow dairy, and the restaurant did not have very much selection that could be prepered without dairy. Grilled chicken salad was the only dinner item I could eat. But the menu is fantastic if you can eat all dairy products.

    Front desk staff were amazing. Very friendly, welcoming and helpful. They provided us with lots of information about the surrounding area. The complementary breakfast was very good. Lots of selection, lots of fresh fruit and vegetables, cold cuts/cheese and pickled fish, cereal, and fresh bread. The fresh bread was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Clean, comfy, and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much furniture in the room so people had to sit on the beds instead of chairs. Only 1 small bedside table for 3 beds.

    Spacious, clean rooms, on-site parking, huge breakfast selection, about 1 hour drive from the iceberg lagoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.9
    Attentive and helpful staff, clean and comfortable room, and very nice breakfastt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to the amount of light around the hotel it was necessary for us to drive a short distance from the hotel to try and view Northern Lights -- a minor inconvenience.

    Clean and comfortable rooms and bedding. The shared bath facilities seemed well planned relative to the number of guests at the hotel when we were there. The hotel was quiet and the staff very responsive to our every request. Breakfast choices were abundant and very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location but lacks individuality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at 3pm, an hour after check in, our room was still not ready. The kettle doesn't fit under the tap in the bathroom so you have to fill it with a glass. Although the rooms were nicely decorated and the staff helpful the place felt soleless.

    Good location close to Höfn and the glacier lagoon. Petrol station over the road for convenient refuelling. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    On site breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Iceland accommodations are overpriced, not specifically blaming the cost of this one.

    On site breakfast was great. Room very quiet. 5 to 10 min drive to Hofn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    This was a beautiful, quiet, private, modern and clean facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its very expensive.

    This was an excellent facility in an excellent location. We are return visitors. It is very expensive compared to other facilities we stayed during our trip but worth it for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    The young lady at the reception desk went out of her way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lady at the reception desk went out of her way to be helpful. I noticed she did several jobs as she also waited on customers in the restaurant and she got us our drinks in the lounge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been nice to have a queen sized bed instead of the two standard beds, and the price was steep, but that's Iceland hehe

    The breakfast had many options and was very nice. The room had a pretty view and was comfortable. Staff was helpful and personable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Good food in prime location just outside Hofn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 large groups staying on our date. One loud bus load monopolized the buffet.

    Friendly staff. Nice view from room of glacier. Restaurant very well run. Evening meals good and reasonably priced by Icelandic standards. Breakfast buffet items constantly being refreshed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was close to the toilets and showers so we heard a lot of door opening and closing during the evening.

    Breakfast was delicious. Good variety of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Nice hotel on the outskirts of Hofn. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a good size for the three of us. Beds were comfortable. Bureau space and closet were fine. Bathroom was roomy. Breakfast provided was ample with lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    This was one of the best out of all the hotels I have chosen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was simple and sufficient for my family( Kettle, towel, television, heater and a spacious toilet). Everything was clean and in good condition. The location may not be within a town but it was easy to locate along route 1. The breakfast was great with a wide variety of choices. The staff were very approachable and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Quiet, easy to locate(right off Hwy 1), quick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet, easy to locate(right off Hwy 1), quick check-in/check-out, staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were standard. Clean. Internet was great. Breakfast was a typical scandanvian breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Ok for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom was not a highlight.

    breakfast was really good, staff was very kind. For one night it is ok, but you need a car to get around. Bathroom facilities could be nicer, esoecially for this price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    A good breakfast to start the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decent sized room with en-suite - and in common with most rooms in Iceland - no frills. For example, just two coffee sachets and two creamers were left in the room! Breakfast was good though and there was a hot buffet of eggs and bacon - a rare treat. Well done. Friendly staff who talked us through the best and least visited local attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    breakfast was sumptuous, with crispy bacon, hot scrambled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no shared kitchen facility, and does not even have electric kettle in the room

    breakfast was sumptuous, with crispy bacon, hot scrambled eggs and some Icelandic breakfast selection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms (some) are in a different building so in order to get breakfast or dinner you have to cross (no big deal really, it is a great place!)

    Great place! Great base to visit vik and the glacier. Loved it and the people were very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Relatively cheap, definitely not for romantic holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise in the dining room, the relatively uninteresting location (compared to the beautiful landscapes scattered everywhere else in the area), the hygiene in the common bathrooms. Soap in the common shower was finished on the evening when we arrived and had not yet been refilled by 10 am on the next day. The morning receptionist at first was not aware that we had paid upon arrival, so we had a rather unpleasant discussion until she realised that it was her mistake. The hotel was probably filled up with guests, but the organisation seemed to be poorer than the usual Icelandic standards.

    Handy hotel for travellers, relatively clean, not too expensive for Icelandic standards, close to the main road, very easy to find. Busy staff, not too friendly and not too precise. Small dining room, overcrowded. Decent breakfast table. Large room, at a reasonably warm temperature. In sum, a budget accommodation (for Icelandic prices) in a favourable position, close to Jökulsárlón and just outside Höfn.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value along the Ring Road
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Separate soap and shampoo would be convenient.

    Bedrooms were very comfortable and included an extra sink for washing. Shared bathrooms were okay, though soap was empty in one of them.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast was good and rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The distance from Höfn.

    The breakfast was good and rooms were clean. Gas station just next to the hotel, so you don't have to drive to Höfn to get petrol.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Simple, clean, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean decent size room with comfortable bed and linen. Room also had a television. We took adavantage of the breakfast which was more than adequate as well as the common area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    Good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, very average breakfast and wifi did not work when we arrived, eventually after many request the owner rang and had it fixed. Had a musty smell, no fridge, It is a long way out of Hofn.

    Good view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.7
    The staff was friendly and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is pretty sterile and costly, given the spartan amenities it provides. It's not a bad hotel but it has no charm and not too much to recommend it.

    The staff was friendly and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is stuffy as there is no A/C in the room. Since there is no window screen, leaving window open is not a good option as small insects would fly in.

    Location is good. Breakfast is good as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    A stop along the way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don´t particularly like to stay in Hotels that don´t have private bathroom, like this one, so that was the one thing I didn´t like, and why I don´t think this Hotel is apropriate for familys with kids. Nevertheless, the bathroom was not far from our room and very clean. There was a coffee maker in our room, but no coffee or tea were provided.

    The room was not very spacious, but it was enough, and the Hotel provided a child bed for our daughter wich was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.8
    The facilities are clean, the beds comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very expensive. The dinner offered was about $70 per person. Iceland is expensive, eat elsewhere, safe money buying groceries at the stores.

    The facilities are clean, the beds comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent recently renovated building - cozy and warm :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely modern facility! The bed was very comfy! The room was spacious. The bathroom was great - a nice wetroom-style shower. Right off the ring road, so very easy to access!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice , clean , good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in were to the side of the hotel . Had to walk outside to access the lobby . Our view was partially of the parking lot .

    The breakfast was good nice local choice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Best Option in Hofn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a new section of the property. I felt the upgrades were well chosen in design and comfort. I loved the walk in shower and the layout of the room. It was just enough space for us!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Large triple room, shared bathroom needed work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only real issue was with the shared bathrooms. There was only one men's shared bathroom (a room with a toilet and a shower) and one set of women's shared bathrooms (one room with a toilet and another room with two showers). The door to the women's shower room would not close fully, and there were no good hooks to hang you towels and clothes on. I ended up throwing my stuff over the door of the shower, but this was difficult for my elderly mother.

    This hotel is right on the Ring Road, but we had to drive into town (a few minute drive) to find a restaurant open at the late hour we arrived. This was the largest triple room we had during our two-week trip in Iceland. It was also the most expensive. The triple room we had was on the first floor, the first room on the hallway in fact, and was near the shared bathrooms. The room itself was comfortable and had helpful furniture in it such as a desk and extra chairs. The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.5
    nice location, close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    very small bathroom, basic breakfast, no lift

    walk distance to black beach, a popular resturant nearby, big room, coffee and tea free in the hallway, very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Simple room but clean and nice. Nice breakfast. Excellent value for money as the hotel was quite a lot cheeper than comparable hotels of same standard in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    the room was spacious,had a sink in the room which was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price was very high for what it was. Breakfast had very few choices.

    the room was spacious,had a sink in the room which was very convenient. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great Place!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The breakfast was excellent -huge variety, fresh, high quality. Dining room attractive and comfortable, triple room was large and very comfortable, staff were extremely competent and friendly, building very clean and modern, and the shared toilets and showers were very clean and more than sufficient for the number of people using them. Baths and toilets (separate rooms) were close to our room and never saw another person while I was using them. Price was was very good value. Wish I could say the same for any other accommodation we used in Iceland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    It was fine, I had expected more from a hotel though.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are not inside the room and are not very nice. I think it is a little overpriced considering there are hostels that offer private bathrooms and much nicer rooms.

    It was fine, I had expected more from a hotel though. The was breakfast included which was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    one of the nicest hotels I have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the nicest hotels I have stayed. The receptionist waited for us until late night. The room was small but very cozy, clean, spectacular view of Vatnajokull. I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Little costly but a very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally didn't like the lack of tea and coffee considering that the room was very costly in comparison. Since they gave us a kettle there was little to complain about and it changed the whole perception of the place.

    Just outside of Hofn was fine for us as we had a rental car although I've seen many reviews complaining that this isn't advertised. The breakfast was very good as well although it was very busy for us as there were a couple of tour buses staying there the same night. The bedroom is very basic and the facilities are shared, this didn't bother us and they were kept clean and appeared to be cleaned regularly. I would recommend staying here if you're needing to stay near Hofn. We didn't have any access to tea or coffee later in the evening, we asked at reception and they offered to make us some which was a lovely gesture but in the end offered us a kettle for our bedroom, even better. Staff are lovely throughout, one of their staff that we encountered didn't speak great English and as a result was a bit unsure of what we were asking and couldn't give us an answer but we couldn't have expected everyone to know our language if we didn't know any of theirs, there are plenty of staff on hand to help. Area of Hofn is great as well for shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.8
    Sub par accommodation near Hofn with rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite dirty and we weren't aware that we had to share toilets and bathrooms with other guests. The worst of all was the attitude of the night staff. He actually yelled at us for eating in the public area. We weren't sure whether we could eat in the public area, but even if we couldn't, he could have spoken to us in a much nicer attitude. Breakfast was included but the choices were quite limited. We were expecting a lot more for the price that we paid.

    The public areas are very nicely decorated, and we enjoyed the environment and especially the common room.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: