Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Keilir by Keflavik Airport 3 stars

Hafnargata 37, 230 Keflavík, Iceland

#11 of 12 hotels in Keflavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1146 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Intriqing place!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was pretty cold and dreary.

    Friendly staff and service, close to the airport, comfortable and clean facility, really nice breakfast, next to a great Thai restaurant and not far from shops, banks, and other restaurants. The sea is right behind the hotel for a great view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location! Clean and comfy if small room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite limited

    It is a close ride to both the Blue Lagoon and the airport. It is also just a few doors down from an excellent seafood restaurant — great,,,,,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.5
    An economical choice for near the airport, but no lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we were researching where to stay near Keflavik airport before heading home, we found limited options, mostly overpriced for our budget. Hotel Keilir in downtown Keflavik looked interesting and the price was right for two days when we’d basically be there to sleep and pack for the trip home. It was perfect for that. From what we could see when we arrived, the property is set up for backpackers and small family groups on budget – lots of rooms with 2-4 beds. We had a nice room that was quiet and looked out on the water. We liked that we were given the choice between looking out on the street with balcony or on the back out to the water. Alas, we were on the third floor, had heavy bags, and no lift. We lugged our stuff up but, thankfully, the staff helped us down on the day of our departure. The frig was unplugged. When plugged in, we had to keep the deck door open so the frig would stay cool. We have encountered this many times when properties enclose small refrigerators in small cabinets without vents. The bathroom was small and the floor of the shower was slippery, but we managed. This was one of the few places we stayed on this holiday that provided a bathmat. Lodging comes with breakfast – served early we assume is to accommodate early departures. It didn’t seem that they replenished very often as the pickings were slim when we arrived one hour before closing. If you have a car, there’s free parking on the street out front or in a lot out back. We found the staff here to be welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for a hotel near to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast person was also covering reception so items not refilled very quickly

    It was good for an overnight stay ready for an early flight for our family of four. Two doubles and one single bed plus a big TV with English channels. The breakfast was fine and from 5am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    glad we went, hotel was in great place, was not prepared for the other insane costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    did not like that shuttle does not pick up at airport, and also does not begin early Taxi, bus, and most other things are insanely expensive in Iceland. $35USD airport to hotel, and $195 KEflavic to Rekyvic downtown, just insane

    check in and service was GREAT

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    The staff was terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was terrible. There were 4 people at the reception 2 of them did not speak any english 2 did not know the program for reservations. It took me 20 min to check in. When I finally got the key I had to go to 3rd floor to the last room. The key did not work. Had to walk down. The man at the reception did not understand the problem. After 5 minutes of explaining got a new keycard. Did not work either. 3rd time they just let me in with master key. In the room the TV did not work. Had to walk down again. After 5min of bargaining got a new key, but man from reception followed me into the room and was demanding which bed I will be using. When I pointed the bed, then the man took off the other bed sheets, blanket and pillow. Absurd service! Totally do not recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    Rude staff and smelly room = not worth the money. Stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk receptionist was rude, argumentative, and impersonal. The shuttle service is only offered between 5:00am and 12:00pm (noon) and only at certain times, not even once an hour. When I asked for shuttle service outside those hours, the front desk receptionist was unhelpful and almost mean. The first room didn't have the two twin beds we requested and the key didn't work so we were moved to another room that had hair in the sink, the sink was clogged, and it smelled like a locker room. The room was also quite loud from hallway noises. The front desk offered to watch my luggage while I went out exploring but after reading my poor review on tripadvisor.com, the front desk receptionist kicked me out, instead of taking the opportunity to right the wrong. There are MANY other hotel options that are close to the airport with ACTUAL shuttle service and friendly staff - stay there instead, this place is not worth the price.

    There is a good view of the water and local restaurants to check out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good location for early flight departures from Keflavík...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle in the room with cups to make tea or coffee when we arrive.

    Very good location for early flight departures from Keflavík airport. Huge shower bathroom area. Great beds and duvets and pillows. Very clean. Breakfast was good and served from 0500 for early flight departures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    3.8
    Room with a view but little more to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best part was that it was close to the airport after that every category goes downhill. Staff was Kurt and not very helpful.

    Had a beautiful view of the ocean out of our room.. Breakfast was OK. Location was pretty good but the room was a mess and had a mail order ever present in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable space to spend a night between flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Response from ‘booking assistant’ non-existent. I emailed twice, no response. Not sure if booking.com or hotel at fault, but lack of essential knowledge cost me a $30 cab ride (to go 2 miles. Do not get a cab in Iceland!). The hotel staff kindly gave me a free upgrade by way of apology, in case it was their error, so I felt a bit better over that.

    Pleasant, quiet room with view of ocean. Warm, clean, and comfortable. Just right for a one night layover near airport. Good breakfast buffet, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast and the shuttle was included to get to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High taxi cost from airport to hotel over $30 for 2.5 miles...

    Breakfast and the shuttle was included to get to the airport. Hotel staff were very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel Keilir - Good Value for the Money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift— no amenities in the bathroom which would have been a nice touch for short term travelers.

    Location, it was clean, safe, acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.5
    Could not sleep a wink - total disaster
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place itself was fine, but right across the street is a very loud nightclub which played loud music until 3:00 a.m. (at least - I just got up and went to the airport). Police were called twice to break up fights. The taxi driver said this was notorious and that no-one should stay there if they want to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    If you need a quick, efficient stop over place whci is reasonable priced it is a very good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel should provide an economical option for transfer to the BlueLagoon and Airport. Taxi service is good, but horrendous in price.

    Nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place to rest before your flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was spotlessly clean and quiet. Check in was simple and no nonsense. The location was ideal for easy access to food, groceries,entertainment, walks along the shoreline. Rooms are modern and well maintained. Located seaside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Spacious, clean and basic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were two people and the room was equipped for one person. (1 towel set, 1 pillow). The tv and phone was not working.

    Spacious, clean and basic breakfast. Value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay near the Keflavik airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stay near the Keflavik airport. The rooms are spacious and clean, staff is friendly and pretty good breakfast is available from 5 in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Everything I expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room overlooked the bay which is a fantastic sight. In addition the room was warm and comfortable with an armchair unlike many hotels. There was also a small desk. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. The staff were friendly and hospitable. The location of the hotel is excellent and there is private parking at the back. It's about a five minute drive to the airport. Close to the hotel is a very fine restaurant with a view of the bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful stay. Close to many facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They put 2 twin beds together rather than giving an actual double bed so it kept moving apart.

    The sea view was amazing! And it's so close to local amenities. There is a halal restaurant 5mins away. A cinema right next door. And an iceland store which is opened 24/7. Great location. Staff is also very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exactly what we expected and more. The people were helpful and lovely. It is close to the airport. The room was impeccable. Walking out to the sea was easy. Our shuttle back to the airport was on time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    Only stay here if you're happy with the bare minimum in hotel accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not as advertised (A "large double" was just 2 singles pushed together) and uncomfortable to boot.

    Proximity to the airport. Breakfast was satisfactory

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Ragnar, the son of the owner, was at the reception when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I coudn’t get hot water for a shower before we left in the morning, but I didn’t have time to make a complain nor having it fixed. So I can’t say if the problem was I or the shower.

    Ragnar, the son of the owner, was at the reception when we arrived. He was extremely helpful providing information and suggestions and making some calls to accomodate our visits to the museum, the Blue Lagoon and our car booking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    The hostel advertises airport shuttle service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel advertises airport shuttle service. This was not the case for us. When we contacted the hotel from the airport approx. 2:00PM. We were told that the shutttle only ran in the morning. Bottom line- had to hire a taxi to get to the hotel. We only reserved the room for a few hours to rest before flying out at midnight the same day. Did manage to get the lobby staff to organize a shuttle to the airport (which was advertised) after a deal of complaining. Room was ok- no kettle, cups etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room extremely hot(no thermostat in room), floors dirty, shower door broken, sink would not drain, towel stained, very loud outside room on street, shuttle did not leave at 6 am as promised

    Located close to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall, I enjoyed my stay in the hotel. The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was spacious but a little basic. It could have done with better lighting as the poor lighting made it harder to pack. There could have been better toiletries than the two sachets of shampoo that were in the shower. The bed could have done with a bigger duvet as the duvet was small for a double bed. The hotel's own shuttle bus to the airport only starts at 05:00 which I only found out about after booking the room.

    The staff were very helpful, and gave me recommendations on where to eat and where to find the supermarket and post office in town. They also organised a taxi for me as I had to be in the airport at 04:00.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    A short but nice one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff should be more informed about the guests. When they check bookings on their computer system, they should know how long would it be, how many persons. They should help them getting to their room, directing them and if it's possible helping with suitcases.

    Comfortable beds, silence at night. Long, thick curtains that don't let any light inside from streets. Abundant variety of breakfast foods. Very close to Keflavik Airport, in a nice village, shops and fast food restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    2.5
    If you are coming from US ... you will be highly disappointed and disgusted
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terribly small rooms ... felt cheated and looted for that price ...

    Most rooms didn’t had a bathroom attached ... was a shock to me ... i felt cheated and horrible... for the price they charged and offered a room with shared bathroom like a college hostel ..... sucks ...never stay here unless you are prepared to share a bathroom...then they charged me extra to upgrade ....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean spacious room and great airport shuttle service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were too hot at night, had to turn off the radiator and open the window. Not the most attractive street to be on, a great place to stay if you're waiting for a flight the next day.

    In the middle of Keflavik town and a 7 minute car ride to the city centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The airport shuttle was fantastic, took us to the airport at 5am on the dot was very much appreciated. The room had a smart TV so we could watch shows from our phone with screen mirroring. Clean rooms and nicely spacious. Had a gorgeous view of the sea and the mountains.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.8
    more like a hostel than a hotel, not like the photos on their website at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very, very basis-no tea/coffee, our room was at the street side so very noisy most of the night! more like a hostel !! Breakfast was also very poor- no warm food!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great clean place to stay in the downtown area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the city center. Not what I was expecting based on what the website said. But it was close to the airport. Breakfast was basic cereal and toast, coffee and some fruit.

    Front desk attendant was excellent. He helped us with information on looking for the northern lights in the area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    If you do not attach importance to cleanliness and friendliness of the staff the hotel is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person at the reception was unfriendly. As we arrived in the room we discovered a half eaten sandwich in the mini fridge and long black hairs on the floor of the bathroom. We mentioned it to the receptionist (it was another person). The woman wanted to see the room since it was allegedly the first time that someone complained. She just took the sandwich and the hairs. After she left we discovered other hairs all over the floor of the room. Furthermore, the bed made squeaking noises.

    Some rooms have view on the ocean (not ours).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude, but it was only one. The wifi does not work at all in some rooms. Upon arrival, several rooms were not even cleaned yet. Cars passing by outside is loud.

    Very good location. Close to the airport and in a somewhat busy town, so getting food or groceries is no issue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good Selection of Bread from the buffet, view out the window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    two single beds pushed together & check in was unorganised

    Good Selection of Bread from the buffet, view out the window is amazing, smart TV & good Wifi

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Location is closed to the airport and huge room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the hotel introduces itself near to Keflavik airport, it should have expected guests are checking out early. It wasn't a problem until we requested a take away breakfast because it is only served only at 5 but we need to leave at 4. Other hotels would have provided this kind of service, an easy sandwich will be fine though. Check-in was a bit of a fuss, form is needed and credit card needs to be shown to the reception. Based on my stays at any other hotels in Iceland, I just need to mention my name and room key is passed to me. To note, payment has been made via booking.com Also, please note this hotel has no lift. You have to drag your luggage to the room by stairs.

    Location is closed to the airport and huge room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    2.5
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service, very cold in a room! No elevator even in hotel. You should carrying your language yourself. very rood personal and they even charge twice taxes! Never back to this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay beat to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choices of breakfast are quite limited. The shuttle service only runs from the hotel to the airport, so you have to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. It’s fine it only runs in one way but I think the hotel should say that in their descriptions.

    The room was clean and has a nice sea view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel for stay near Keflavik. Convinient for catching early morning flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee tray in the room would have been concinient.

    Free parking. Amazing view from room. Free drop service at every hour between 5am to 10pm. Convinience of access to airport for catching early morning flights from Keflavik airport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WI FI at third floor was not present. This hotel is without an installed lift. You have to carry yr luggage all the way up. As it is an airport hotel, expect lots of noise during the night / early morning. Spec. slamming doors.

    nothing in particular

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable for short stay but below expectation and NOT value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed linen changed after 3 nights which is inadequate. Every second night would have been more appropriate else given a choice of when to change them. The lobby gave a false expectation for the rooms. Breakfast choice very limited.

    The lobby looked like it was recently decorated and had a welcoming feel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Only works as a stopover before going for the airport. But we didn't sleep at all because of the noise. Doors banging ,you hear anything on the next rooms. Even thought most people use this hotel before going to the airport and even though most flights are 6/7 am breakfast only starts at 5am which makes impossible. They should have choice with or without breakfast . And also advertised shuttle which starts late for this flights . It is ok to stay here because of location but you won't have a nice rest

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Nearby airport and good TV facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First room was damp, second room had a blocked sink. Free transfers are only between 05.00 - 12.00, when we asked for help getting to the airport due to delayed flight and bad weather the hotel were unable to help us find a taxi. Have to pay for tea / coffee

    Nearby airport and good TV facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Handy for the airport and plenty of nearby eateries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was slow and the staff member seemed unfamiliar with the system. Struggled to find anyone to check-out until found someone in the kitchen. No on-site parking as advertised, though it may have been the snowed-in bit round the back that was blocked by a hotel van. On-street parking is free however. No brew facilities in the room though there was a fridge, but it was unplugged.

    Handy for the airport and plenty of nearby eateries. We had a sea view which was appreciated, though the wind noise was a bit noticeable. Best in-room TV on our travels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Staff make up for the little bits which we didn't enjoy our check in man was absolutely lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking facilities in the room, room was not cleaned once throughout our 5 day stay two small towels each which were not changed, rubbish bins not emptied staff had been into the room to replenish toilet paper but left all cups and cutlery for our whole stay on the table. Breakfast was average

    Staff were friendly and good locations

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is really good. Lots of shops and restaurants around. The hotel appears to be making upgrades newer tvs flooring etc...however a couple of the electrical outlets in our room weren't installed correctly and hanging out of the wall hooks to hang up your towels would be nice in bathroom. The views of the water are a nice bonus and the bed is comfortable. The breakfast was a great selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Affordable and scenic hotel on the waterfront near Keflavik Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One minor problem with the shower but the owner had it fixed promptly.

    Excellent location right on the waterfront. Beautiful view of the ocean from rooms on the side away from the street. Adequate breakfast included in room price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful people—shocking prices!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sky high prices in Iceland. For example, $45.50,for a 10-minute, 2-mile taxi ride from the airport to the hotel, $32 for a salmon baguette and coffee in Reykjavik!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    I would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish you could have tea/ coffee any time.

    Staff was friendly. The view was amazing. Rooms were clean! Breakfast was an added. Bonus! I was not feeling good and staff went above and beyond to make sure I was ok and gave the help i needed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    I had to reach the 05.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to the street with traffic noise

    I had to reach the 05.00 shuttle and breakfast started 05.00. In spire The Night portier arrangeded that I was able to have a small breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.4
    Nice sometimes. Few Imperfections.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortuanetly what did let the experience down was the room was only made up once while we was there and the breakfast wasn't great either there was no hot food at the time of our stay and the toaster was very powerful so i ended up having warm bread with some butter.

    We loved the location seeing as it was easy to access the other places that we went to view and plus it was next to the sea unfortuantely we was faced the street way but it didn't bother us too much afterwards.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, but not friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception. After having spent half the night in the airport because of weather conditions, we checked in at 5 am ( 24h reception) and the lady was really not welcoming. Not helpful and avoided contact even in the morning when we wanted to ask questions about the surroundings and the road conditions. She did not also mention the free breakfast provided and the timing so we missed it. Without this, it would have been perfect.

    The room and the view were great !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    2.9
    Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of kindness at check in, quality of the hotel, design, 2 single bed together, poor breakfast, poor restaurants nearby, no lift, no help, none at check out, leak in the sink in the bathroom.

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable and will be going back again 10/10 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Our four night stay was very comfortable and relaxing.the staff were nice and friendly . Our room had views of the coastline which were lovely ,parking was good only a minute from the main door . The hotel is only 20 minute drive from the blue lagoon and 5 minute drive from the airport . We will be going back again 10/10 .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Way too expensive for a hostel trying to be a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what the hotel offers. There's no elevator. Bed are very uncomfortable. I can understand it's low season so they don't have to many costumers, but doesn't justified they don't tell you at what time is the breakfast and you have to ask them. The fact you have breakfast in the dark because they don't switch the lights on. Bathroom doesn't have any soap or shampoo. Such a lame option with all the nice places in keflavik.

    Next to the beach

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.0
    Very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, bed,shower. Open pack used soap in the shower. Blood type small spots in the shower. No remote for the tv and looking for any buttons around the tv couldn't find. Small bed uncomfortable and only small thin blanket. Very disappointed will never go back.

    Front desk lady was nice (polish lady)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    2.5
    The hotel needs to work on its customer service!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were rude and unorganized. Although we booked well in advance did not organize room allocation until we arrived. The lady in particular was rude. The rooms were overcrowded and very dimly lit. Shampoo provided was a very poor quality. No soap or conditioner were provided. Although breakfast was included when we booked we were told that we had to make a choice of eithe breakfast or the shuttle service to the airport. We could not have both.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed but noisey and basic facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea and coffee making facilities and the parking that was meant to be out the back we couldn't get to as there was a van blocking the entry which I believe was the airport shuttle bus run for the hotel. There was only one small light in the bathroom so showering was very dark. There is a nightclub just across from the hotel which played loud music until 4am which could be heard clearly as well as voices outside all night.

    Comfortable bed and continental breakfast included which was served from 5am.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    really convenient for the airport, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very bland and had a clinical feel. Parking was on the street and convenient but not clearly marked as free parking.

    really convenient for the airport, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.2
    Disgraceful to call them selves hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in desk made our check in very difficult and all wrong information as to how many rooms and wanting women to sleep in same room asked for free shuttle bus as per information we were told we either had breakfast or shuttle list can go on for many pages there was 13 in party staying all left with bad experience if it had not been pre paid we would have left and looked for other accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Although desperation brought us here, I would now stay there again out of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little difficult to find by public transport but again this was a last minute booking.

    A very pleasant last minute stay due to problems with airline booking. The room was excellent as were the staff who went the extra mile to sort out transport problems caused by the airline company. This hotel basically saved the holiday from becoming a nightmare

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    I would stay here again before flying home from KEF.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower door and faucet were broken, but still worked fine. A little pricy for what you get, but it's super convenient.

    location was good. Got a solid night's sleep before flying home the next day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff, while helpful, were not very friendly. I don't want to give the impression that they didn't do their job well because they did. However, they didn't seem to have much joy in doing their job.

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, lovely sized rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the room would be a bonus.

    Great location. Close to airport but no noise from the planes. Close to Blue lagoon. Shops cheaper in area than the main city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    3.8
    Would avoid it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was poor and even asking her for help 3 times she just gave me an answer that she could not be bothered and she can’t help me because they are short of staff. And I paid about $100 over dollars for one night. Bad location and only accessible with taxi. No lifts at all. They do not provide service. Poor breakfast selection. Very very bad stay here. They also gave me a lousy room with poor ventilation and lock broken. Lack of shampoo and bath soap. Had to use my own. WiFi was poor as well.

    The spacious room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.8
    Super convenient to the airport. But for the price paid, I think there are nicer hotels in Keflavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not look as nice as the photos on the website. The kettle had crust around the spout. No dedicated parking for the hotel. When arriving there were no parking spots in front of the hotel. But later in the evening we were able to park in front of the hotel and bring up our heavy luggage. We stayed on the second floor. There is no elevator. It's not a terrible place. For the price I expected more.

    The convenient location to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    Good short stay for Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on the front desk was odd and joking when he shouldn't be. I had to let him into the hotel the following morning at 8am. No staff was around at 0800 when I came down to breakfast (which starts at like 5am and ends at 9am (too early) I had to turn on the toaster. selection was disappointing.

    The price and location and free shuttle to airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    OK for money good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was given in booking confirmation will get a wine or Champagne but at hotel they denied !!!!!! breakfast options were very limited, and free shuttle was written in confirmation that too at reception he was talking with attitude ... conversation like "ohh is it included " "let me check if i can arrange" "only till 12 its available" "only for 7 people its available" cant understand if its written cant they read and 9 people are booking then obviously we need for 9 not for 7

    Near by Beaches views , other guy at breakfast was very helpful,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.3
    Would not do it again
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not encourage anyone to stay at this hotel. Firstly I was over charged, they still have not acknowledged this or refunded my money back. When you arrive they ask you for your bank details and passport number. (Which could cause Fraudulent actives as it written on paper and not stored safely.) not destroyed after you give back the key. They don't have a bus shuttle to the airport. this hotel and booking.com should take this section down for false advertising because it is not offered in any way shape or form. The rooms are very small, the bed makes a lot of noise, no drinking water available, no kettle, no mini bar. Just an room with a noisey bed and a TV with super Thin blankets Again says all room have a balcony, they don't. Another fasle promise from booking.com and this hotel. The showers are small and the water isn't hot. Woke up to a cold room because centre heating was off. Honestly regardless of how cheap you need a hotel do not pick here to stay. This place is an joke. Worse experience at a hotel ever.

    This hotel is really bad standards, the staff try their best to make your stay enjoyable but it's a rubbish hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for catching an early flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine. Not glamorous nor homely, but well priced for a comfortable, quiet and brief stay.

    We arrived 19.00 and left at 04.30. It was very dark all the time we were there, but seemed fine. The room was pleasant and comfortable. We got an early morning wake up call. It was very easy to get to the Airport...less than ten minutes drive on snowy roads.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect if you need to fly early!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a strong WiFi signal in our room (3rd floor), so we had to come downstairs if we needed to have access to the internet. No elevators.

    Close to the airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    4.2
    Back to (real) basics
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nobody at the reception when I arrived. Ringing the bell didn't help so in the end I had to call the hotel to be able to be checked in. I was staying there for 2 nights and in this time nobody came to pick up wet towels, clean or even make the bed. Based on the dust in the room I even wondered if they did sweep before I arrived. Room amenities are limited to 5 ml soap bags. Stability of the Wi-Fi is not that great.

    Hotel was quiet and enough restarurants at walking distance. Breakfast was OK but very limited. Airport shuttle is available from early in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyable, relaxing and breathtaking views from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative was that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room and also a hot breakfast would have been nice.

    The hospitality was second to none. All the staff were so kind and went all out to make our first ever stay in Iceland one we will never forget. So much so we are going back next year, all being well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice place to rest before or after flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because we arrived about 3 am, the owner was a little grouchy...but I don't blame her because we were an hour late

    The room was exceptional well appointed and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    4.6
    If you are looking for a place to stay before go to airport, this place is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The cleanliness and comfortable room with also no have a lift for guest who have a big luggage.

    The location was good, near airport and has a lot of restaurant around the hotel. Also, this hotel offer for a free shuttle bus to airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Super one night stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and alcohol is very expensive, but about the same prices all around Iceland. Would have loved another drink but was too costly.

    Bed was comfy, great view to the ocean, quiet and peaceful room. Lent me the correct plug in for my computer, really appreciated that. Breakfast was super, good selection. Free shuttle to airport, only 8 minute drive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location to get to the airport the next morning and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment on arrival rather than online through booking.com. Price was unchanged, but this caused some confusion at check-in.

    Great location to get to the airport the next morning and shuttle bus included in hotel stay. Comfy beds and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Keilir by Keflavik Airport traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: