Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Icelandair Hotel Klaustur 3 stars

Klausturvegur 6, 880 Kirkjubæjarklaustur, Iceland

#5 of 9 hotels in Kirkjubæjarklaustur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 781 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NONE

    Lovely reception and very very comfortable rooms with excellent hot showers with soap and fresh towels provided! Beds and sheets were clean and new, and the views from the rooms were great too. TV was big and had a good number of channels. Wonderful place to crash for the night if you're doing the ring road round Iceland.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be great if there was a swimming pool in the hotel. I know there is a public one close by, but it opens at 11, bit too late if you want to take a swim before sightseeing.

    Good place for the price considering we are in Iceland. Excellent staff, decent rooms and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate blackout curtains made for very poor sleeping during our late May visit. The curtains were old, curled, cracked, and had tears and holes all over. The room never got dark.

    Loved hotel decor. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a children's menu in the restaurant. Bathrooms feel tired. Bathroom flooring looks dirty but isn't.

    Cheery staff all made us feel welcome. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom wasn't as clean as I would like and the drains smelled bad - but our friends' rooms next door on either side were fine, so it was just ours! I don't understand why none of the hotels have better curtains given the fact that it is light pretty much all night. Take sleepmasks!

    We stayed in several Icelandair Hotels; they are all excellent, a little quirky and with delightful staff. This was the least of them but that isn't a bad thing, it just says how good the others were! The bathroom could have been cleaner - it was tired and the floor was grubby - but it was generally clean, bright and a good place to stay. The food was very nice - just as well as there were no other nearby places! A great place for a couple of nights with a group of friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large coach party tours staying there meant noisy dinner and breakfast times (and at breakfast, the buffet had been picked over by the coach tour guests and not replenished)

    Staff were friendly and the location was good for touring the south coast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were paper thin. You could clearly hear the entire conversation of the guests in the room next to you. The overall experience was lacking, especially compared to other Icelandair hotels.

    Nicely decorated and convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and superb helpful front desk. Delicious food too. Nice view from room. We had problem with the rental car and front desk pointed us to a mechanic who looked at it same evening. Extremely happy with the hotel and the staff. Recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only cons would be pillows were a let down and not very comfortable nights sleep. We wanted to have a few drinks in the bar after our meal but all the staff disappeared and could not enjoy a relaxed drink. Breakfast they took away all the food whilst there were still people in the restaurant but they did warn they would be doing this.

    This hotel is rated 3 star but could actually be a 4 star. Facilities were modern & clean, the staff were really friendly. Location is great just off the Route 1.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location. Drove to Skaftafell National Park and walked to the glacier. The walk to the top of the waterfall stunning. Bed and room very comfortable and Food at the restaurant lovely. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a while to check out (as nobody was at the desk)

    Really nice and spacious bathroom (cool toiletries too), big room. Complementary coffee and tea in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too soft, but I am used to a fairly firm mattress.

    Dinner was excellent & everyone was friendly & helpful. The hot water pressure in the shower was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dingy and outdated rooms. Lights were dingy and not working by the bed very well. The bed was awful. Could hardly find an outlet to plug in electronics, and they were old and not working very well. I think the rooms had not been updated since the early to mid 1960s. We had a very nice stay at an Icelandair hotel in Akureyri. It was a lovely, modern hotel. This one was completely opposite. But, it was a place to stay.

    The happy hour and wait staff were very nice. There was a nice, not too expensive casual restaurant within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    even if excellent the breakfast is a bit expensive

    The structure is located in a very suggestive location. Very kind staff. Clean and spacious rooms with excellent bath products. Excellent continental breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not friendly at all. We were forced to book two rooms at an outrageous price because we were told they did not have rooms that accommodate three people which I found out from others who have stayed there is not true. The wifi was non-existent and the rooms were not very clean or comfortable.

    Nothing about our stay was enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were a bit plain and cold. In addition, the bedding was a bit itchy.

    The staff at the hotel made this an amazing experience. We checked in after a very long day hiking to find that their restaurant was closed. Barbara had the chef make us a pizza and set us up a table in the bar for us to enjoy our dinner and wine. It was our anniversary so she gave us a free dessert and made the evening very enjoyable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and over heated. Bed was not very comfortable. Even though it was nonsmoking, people opposite were smoking and we could smell it.

    It was adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nearby the hotel there isnt any restaurants or place for groceries after 9, so if you are arriving for check in late, be prepared to not have any chance of having dinner. the restaurant in the hotel closes at 9pm too.

    The staffs and receptionist were extremely friendly and helpful. The room is clean but pretty basic. we only stayed there for one night so didnt get to use or see any of the facilities around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having two single beds as a married couple

    The staff were a mixed bag. One was exceptionally helpful the other it sounded like he had never been to Iceland before.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a fabulous stay! They upgraded our room and it had a lovely view of a cascading waterfall. The room was spacious with a most comfortable bed. It was a standard small bathroom but the addition of L’Occitane toiletries took it up a level! The location was ideal for touring the sites of the south and the glaciers. We weren’t expecting much out of the restaurant and ended up having one of the best meals of our week in Iceland.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff are not good representations of the Icelandair brand. Very unfriendly and uninterested in guests. The rooms are so tiny, walls paper thin so you can hear others in the hallway and in other rooms. The rooms resemble a dorm. I don’t mind simple but having stayed in other Icelandair hotels it is a disappointment.

    Location is great. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful. Restaurant staff are wonderful. Service was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner here is very pricey, but just down the street is a very delicious restaurant with better prices.

    Very clean rooms. Bathrooms were excellent and comfortable. Rooms were well heated and comfortable. The hallways are very nicely decorated and there’s lots of lounge chairs to sit on. Lobby is nicely designed. Reception staff are all very well dressed and approachable. Excellent overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sounding proofing of the rooms could be improved. Along with having real queen beds rather than two singles being pushed together.

    Modern hotel that is exactly as pictured with friendly staff, they even offer a northern lights service whereby they will call your room if there is aurora activity during your stay. There is an on-site restaurant (although overpriced with average quality food). Overall a great stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing to rooms could be improved, as noise from corridor and adjacent rooms were a problem.

    Good location and a very friendly and helpful receptionist, even gave us a call to view northern lights. Well appointed room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls seemed paper thin so there was no sound barrier - we heard everything going on next door and down the hall which made for a noisy night’s sleep.

    The bar and restaurant staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was barely warm. When I told the front desk in the morning they were like "Meh. I guess we will have someone from maintenance look at it."

    Location was great. It was 1 hour east past Vik which made it easier to meet our glacier tour. Restaurant food was outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very generic and food was expensive. They mostly cater to big tour groups.

    The burger was good. There was a happy hour. The staff seemed kind and attentive,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of food at the hotel was very expensive even for Icelandic standards.

    Very modern tidy and comfortable place. Great place to unwind during the evening's.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room cleanliness wasn't the greatest... The toilet wasn't clean as there were some pee stain on the toilet seat from the previous guests... Also, the kettle is not clean either as there were some leftover noodle inside the kettle... I guess the previous guests use the kettle to cook instant noodle or something... but still, the cleaning staff should have spot it and replace or clean it before checking-in the next guests. The hotel did provide us a new kettle afterwards.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be a little weird to arrive early ahead of much of the tourist traffic and tour buses. Hotel is very quite as is the town. When we arrived there was literally nobody there save hotel staff, by 7pm the place was packed.

    Great New Years celebration orchestrated by the hotel. We were looking for an Icelandic New Years off the beaten path and that is exactly what we got. Kudos to the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at this hotel on two separate days within the same trip and I can attest the walls are very thing and not sound proof. You can hear your neighbour’s TV, conversation etc it was quite annoying especially at night when you are trying to get some sleep.

    Compared to other similar hotels we stayed around Iceland, it was one of the nicest ones. Food was good (hefty price tag - but isn’t it all in the country?). Modern layout, l’occitane amenities, cozy rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was less than friendly. Booked this hotel to get a good view of Aurora. It turns out there were too many street lights near this hotel. I was able to find a good location with few miles of this property. Wish the staff was friendly and suggested few locations to drive to for Aurora viewing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in all pretty good but it just feels like a normal hotel...

    Loved the decor of the lobby, friendly staff and that they offered a northern lights alert call!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Why are the bath towels so small ......

    rooms are medium size , but good enough , heating was excellent , food was very good ( although expensive on the high end .. ) . We choose this hotel since we wanted to see the Lagoon and it was winter ( so driving may be , and proved to be a challenge ) , and the hotel was mid-way

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer the giesthouse accommodations, so I am little biased, so overall for a hotel it was excellent, jut missing the Home style accommodations. Food was good at restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was run down and the furniture was so old. Our bed was sunk in and we did not have a good night of sleep.

    It was part of a quaint little town that looks very pretty. Staff were helpful and the breakfast spread is good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My fourth visit to the continent and a three week duration this trip. I booked a room in May, asking for a quiet room with a view. Arrived mid-October to a view of a building - after 3 rooms, found one that was satisfactory. The plug for one of the lamps continued to fall out of the socket (staff remedied the issue). Room was tired - floors scuffed, stains on lamp shades, mattress torn, paint cracked on walls and the bathroom shower was not as clean as it should be. Breakfast is NOT included with the room rate. October is considered shoulder season, however, the consistent and steady increase in tourism has now extended high season well into winter. I have found that at all properties, fully booked or not, are short staffed as vacations and interns have left for the season. Show less

    Easy to find. The staff was incredible. Long narrow lobby sitting area with many books on Iceland to peruse. Nice happy hour, bar area. Demand a room with a view. Higher floor is new and rooms more expensive. Nice selection and variety at breakfast. You do receive SAGA points if you are a member...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The level of service was uneven though it might have been some communication issues. The room was not cleaned when we arrived after a long journey and the level of cleaning was not up to standard with the bed not being made on the last day of our stay. Only the bins were emptied.

    Good location and functional rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was super accommodating despite a mixup with an extra bed in the room. They went beyond expectations offering us a free drink while they made the room right. Excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproof isnt that good. You can hear the noise from people walking in the hallway and people showering next door.

    Lobby is very nice and great design.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor room standard, could hear through the walls, old bathroom, stained and spotted floor, terrible flooring in the room-scratched and discolored

    good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than others we’ve used on this holiday - & walls very thin, we could hear people talking in the next room

    Stylish and comfortable, friendly, helpful & welcoming staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive dinner menu, our party ate out at a nice restaurant two minute drive, you do expect paying over the odds in Iceland but we were not prepared to eat at their price.

    Breakfast menu excellent range but pricey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included in the room rate. We went to the concierge at 9:20 am the next morning thinking of paying extra to have buffet breakfast at the hotel restaurant. We were told breakfast would be served until 9:30 am but they reassured us that they could make special arrangements to make sure we were given sufficient time to enjoy our breakfast. However, the restaurant didn’t bother to refill the empty food trays. We had no choice but to pick up from what’s left over....meaning very limited choice of food. What’s more, the staff started to remove everything including the coffee pot and tea bags at around 9:40 am! For 2,900 krona per person, we could only have less than 20 minutes to pick up our food from the leftovers and could not even have the luxury of an additional cup of coffee!! This is the worst hotel service I have ever experienced at a hotel and i consider this totally unacceptable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very expensive and the meals were not at all affordable... we had to go elsewhere for dinner and breakfast.

    The hotel provides comfortable rooms and upscale shampoo. Be sure to request a mountain view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was fantastic. I wished i could stay longer

    I like the big toilet with heater as well as the nordic room design. Best hotel among all my other Icelandic hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had and unappealing odor. It wasn't dirty; it was more like an appealing solvent. The furniture in the bed were cheap. The room had a peculiar arrangement.

    The service, particularly at the front desk, was excellent. The surrounding area it was absolutely beautiful, with a stunning waterfall and incredible hike beginning literally right across the street. The restaurant was acceptable, not great, but certainly satisfying.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurant options around hotel.

    Great mid-point location for exploring the South Coast of Iceland. Happy Hour in the bar from 17:00-19:00. Showers that work as designed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the rooms could have been a little bigger. But they were very adequate for our needs.

    Breakfast was delicious and the staff was wonderful and very helpful. The whole place had a very modern and contemporary European feel. I loved everything from the construction, design, and furnishings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a tv in the room but none of the channels worked. We never asked the front desk about it, so perhaps we just didn't know how to use it.

    Everything was very clean and tidy. The shower heads were nice and strong and the bathroom was big and came with fancy shampoo and body wash. The room came with a kettle, tea and coffee. The beds and comforter was also very comfortable. There are seating areas outside the rooms near the reception that are very nice and comfortable as well. A good place to chat with friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't ready when we arrived just after 2pm when check-in was 2pm onwards. It still wasn't ready when we returned just after 4pm, even though we were given the key there was a lady in it still preparing it for us. Although the lobby is well presented the rooms are really basic and need renovation. The floor was really scratched and although it was clean it looked dirty.

    The receptionist was really friendly and told us about some interesting places to see in the local area. The lobby was beautifully furnished and parking was easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very small and separated with kind of card board. So others can hear you and there was an embarrassing moment as well. Not worth the money we paid. 29 Euro for breakfast per person

    Friendly staffs. Bar and restaurant facility. Near to super market and fuel station. We traveled with a group and hotel staffs arranged extra bed for one room without any additional cost.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They accidentally made an error and double billed our credit card for our restaurant charges but when we called to inquire, they immediately fixed the problem and apologized for the error. We were very impressed with their professionalism and prompt response.

    restaurant was great. We thoroughly enjoyed two dinners and breakfasts there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tall blonde had a pretentious attitude. Our shower had a piece of rubber missing resulting in a drenched floor after my shower. We had an empty tissue box. Also, there was water on the counter so when I placed my makeup bag it was all soaked. The room we had was room 104. Make sure you don't get that room. Also, it gets moist and stuffy after showering because there is no fan and you cannot open the window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about, though we did have a chuckle about the dated décor

    Easy to find, great staff, comfortable room for a night's stay. The Arctic Char I had for dinner was excellent. Breakfast was good. A nice comfortable stay on our driving holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small beds

    We had a last minute booking due to flooding in the nearby areas and road closed.. they were nice to accommodate us.. very friendly staff and helped us a lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel beds are extremely comfortable. Also, note that there is a public outside pool and jacuzzis close by (250 m) with views to the waterfall. Great for relaxing before a good night's sleep and after a long day sightseeing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not included in room rate. TV didn't seem to work ( or we couldn't figure out how to use it ).

    Staff very friendly. Restaurant food was good and reasonably priced (by Icelandic standards). Bathroom had hairdryer, and good shampoo/conditioner. Location is very convenient, just off the main road and within walking distance of a supermarket and gas station / fast-food restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was easy to find.

    Very surprised at the poor sound proofing . We could hear the person in the next room snoring . There alarm clock went off at 6 00 AM and woke us. For the cost of the hotel this is not acceptable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit more pricey than we would have liked, but most things in Iceland are. The pool closed earlier than we hoped unfortunately, so we weren't able to visit.

    The hotel was very nicely appointed, clean, modern, comfortable. The hotel restaurant was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late one night on our way around the ring road. Hotel is nice, clean and meet all our needs. My biggest issue is that on our two week tour around the island this hotel ranked high in terms of price and low in terms of remembrance. It was good but nothing special like many of the other hotels we stayed at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furniture and bathroom (our room). For the price level the room should have a proper coffee machine (pods) not a jug and a few sachets.

    Hotel has a good position and access.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was expensive for what turned out to be a pretty basic hotel room.

    Good food at the hotel restaurant. Staff were attentive and offered recommendations on things to do in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is extremely expensive compared to other accommodation and breakfast is not included (and way more expensive than anywhere else we experienced). Staff were pleasant but not over friendly.

    This was our only proper "hotel" stay of the trip. The hotel is modern and well decorated and very comfortable. Luxurious in comparison to guesthouses with own bathroom and large room. Location is a convenient stop over on a tour of the ring road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive but then everything in Iceland is expensive

    Excellent location with modern conviences. Nice outdoor space and bar. Restaurant served a variety of breakfast food. Pleasant and quiet stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was a bit small.

    Clean. Bathroom was roomy compared to the bedroom. Great location, with a few minutes walk to supermarket and a waterfall (opposite direction). Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was good food but we spent a lot of time waiting for refills of the items. We waited for glasses, then orange juice, salmon, orange slices and finally chocolate croissants. Disappointing for an approximately 26 breakfast buffet.

    I loved the quietness of our room and the hotel overall. Our view was of a beautiful field with wild flowers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Compared to the sophisticated design of the public spaces, the rooms appear severely outdated. That said, they are clean and comfortable, just not the style we were expecting to see.

    Comfortable stay along our route, with excellent lounge spaces throughout the lobby / bar area. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel rooms are a little bit old. In comparison to the rest of the hotel the rooms were not modernized for some time.

    Very good was the restaurant with local food. The position of hotel was also very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did I mention the VERY small shower ;-)

    Convenient, clean hotel on the ring road in southern Iceland. Nice breakfast (which is important because there is nowhere else to eat breakfast near this hotel). VERY small shower. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't believe they told us we would be charged for taking 2 bread rolls from the restaurant after breakfast! So miserly given the cost of accommodation and food- and we left a very large tip at dinner........not impressed.

    Very comfortable and clean, modern facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in Iceland is very expensive..not the problem of the hotel, just a warning. Breakfast for 4 is almost $100

    Near sites we were going to see and hiking.. It was plainer than most Americans would be used to...but very friendly, comfy beds. Great breakfast...and dinner..best gravlax I've ever had, and yogurt...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are quite thin - easier to hear people in other rooms (e.g. we could hear someone snoring). This wasn't too much of a problem though as we were already tired after a long day!

    We stayed here as part of a stopover en route to jokulsarlon - it was a good location on the way there. The room was comfortable and clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt taken, as the cost was exhorbitant . Yes, it was a very positive experience, but Weve been traveleling 34 days through Norway Iceland d Ireland and travel in the USA. It seems unfair to tourists to charge so much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are older and yet to be refurbished but functional. Old school bathrooms from school camp

    Fantastic and upgraded foyer / entry. Convenient location on the ring road. Stellar restaurant with great beer!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Icelandair Hotel Klaustur traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: