Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Laxnes 3 stars

Haholt 7, 270 Mosfellsbær, Iceland

#9 of 9 hotels in Mosfellsbær

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 255 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Very homey, simple but clean place to stay - good value right outside Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom sink drained slow - we notified the staff but wasn't fixed during our stay. Also room darkening curtains worked to a point, but didn't cover as well on the edges -- dusk at midnight makes it hard to sleep at times.

    Nice staffers. Breakfast in the pub in the morning was really nice - wide variety of items to choose from. Very homey but simple place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    3 star
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    On arrival, TV not working. Shower soap almost out. Was never filled up. (6 days)

    Room had small cooking macine. It is a very small apartment more than a room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Conveniently situated hotel with reception staff too casual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One wonders if one or more of the reception staff is prone to carelessness as they charged me in advance for an extra night I had not booked and I had to go to the trouble of having to contact them in order to get my money back! Following on from this I gained the impression from more than one of the reception staff when I was there that their attitude was too casual, though they were friendly nevertheless. The rooms were enormous - I was there on two separate occasions so experienced two different rooms. Their size was fine for a family of five or six but was I paying as a single person for a family sized room?

    Hotel Laxnes is in a delightful town with trees ( an important consideration in Iceland ), named Mosfellsbaer or Moss Mountain Town, so conveniently situated far enough away from the frenetic traffic of the city of Reykjavik and yet near enough to the city to get there quickly. Hotel Laxness is a cultural reminder of the nearby Laxnes region where the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1955, Halldor Kiljan Laxnes, lived. The hotel is conveniently placed next to an award winning KFC and other useful facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    3.8
    Room well below Iceland hotel standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is well below standards of all other 7 hotels we stayed in Iceland. A big room but ... both table and stand lamps bulbs were blown, room was dim; bed sheet had holes; furniture worn out; no heater in room so it was cold, uncomfortable. Hotel is next to the road with vehicle and some pedestrian traffic. Our road level room bathroom large window facing the road could not be locked, the latch was faulty; I had to secure the window with strings to sleep with a peace of mind. All these at a room price 3rd highest of 8 hotels.

    Walking distance to supermarket, restaurants, fast food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The rooms exceeded my expectations and were more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms exceeded my expectations and were more than comfortable. WiFi connection was perfect at the hotel after reading previous reviews it was something I worried about, but there were no problems at all with the WiFi. Breakfast was good as well for a complimentary breakfast. The hotels location was quite conveniently located to the bus stop outside which takes twenty minutes to get to Reykjavik’s center. Finally, upon leaving the hotel was incredibly accommodating in watching our belongings while my friends and I hung out around the premises waiting for our shuttle to the airport which they helped us arrange.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, sizeable room, good brekky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. The breakfast variety was good and there were fruit and vegetables. Easy parking close to shops and restaurants. A great place to stay as you are on the ringroad to the airport, whereas staying in town, it's a mission to get to the airport highway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Mountain views and more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful mountain views, great friendly staff, great food, really salacious comfortable room and even a hot tub area looking at the mountain, what more could you want?

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little tired.

    Good location, easy walking distance from places to eat and drink. DIY breakfast had everything we were likely to want. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Value for money hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Even when we had a little emergency, they were happy to help. Great breakfast and guest facilities. Couldn't have been nicer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel for the price, but may be less convenient for those spending time in city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no Wifi in the rooms which was an issue since I have a young child at home and needed to get work done, as well. They said it was being fixed, but we didn't have it for our entire stay. We had some issues with our key to our room, and although the staff helped us figure out how to lock it, it remained sort of a "pain". I would have liked to have a restaurant on premises. There are very few options to sit down and eat around the hotel, although there are grocery stores and fast food in walkable distance.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. I liked being a little out of the city, and most tours could be set up from hotel. It's expensive to get around from there if you don't have a car or don't want to rely on bus. There is a bus stop right there though. Next time I would probably stay right in city just for convenience though. The breakfast was good, and it's nice to not have to pay for at least one meal while in Iceland, since food is so expensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    A really fantastic well run hotel with great amenities. Can’t wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I could improve one thing it would be the wifi as it’s a little patchy at times which was a little problematic if there was any changes to tour schedules which were emailed across.

    The hotel is perfectly situated with views overlooking the mountains. Our room was very clean, tidy and spacious with a balcony to enjoy the view even more. All the staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast plentiful and delicious - especially the Icelandic waffles! Highly recommend a stay here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Great all round place to stay when visiting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were seperate in the double room with separate blankets which weren’t overly comfy.

    The pool table and games were a great treat. We played most days which was a great added extra. The rooms were nice and the hot tub in the snow was perfect! The views were also lovely. We hired a car so the trip into Rejkavik was not very far and easy enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is within a couple of minutes walking distance from a sports bar with ok food and a really lovely cafe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing hotel for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds didn't have a sheet which we found odd and the comforter was a bit scratchy.

    The staff was great and the hotel location was exceptional, especially if you have a rental car. The parking is easy and convenient and the hotel is close to the city while being far enough away that you can see the northern lights. It's also very conveniently located to grocery stores and some rooms have a little stove in them to cook. Overall, great experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Ideal location to connect onto the main roads. Bonus supermarket near by as with fast food outlets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been prepared a little better. Only very minor touches like not enough towels for two of us only left one set when we arrived but quickly remedied. As loads of snow when the rain came the courtyard became very treacherous underfoot. Could have been cleared

    Spacious rooms very warm. Friendly accommodating staff. Breakfast very good. Plenty of food. Basic continental but fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    First class.....we will certainly stay here on our next trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, this was our second stay at Laxnes and better than last time! Breakfast was excellent with the most amazing waffles!! Perfect base for exploring the sights. Staff are always friendly and helpful, nothing to be negative about when recommending this wonderful gem of a hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    had a nice relaxing week. but never saw the northern lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    more storage space in room.

    view from rooms amazing, very warm and comfortable. good bus conections. breakfast was ok but exactly as promised. some fruit for breakfast would be nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Very happy with a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were only there 1 night but would happily have stayed more. Weather wasn’t ideal for seeing the northern lights but I’m sure the room would have been great if the northern lights were out as there was plenty of sky views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely icy car park No Hot Tub More like a motel than a hotel They couldn't process the payment on my card even though i booked it with this card and had enough cash in the a/c had to use another credit card! Room was for three but not much space-wardrobe was very small

    The view from the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    Hotel laxnes was everything we expected it to be, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Hotel laxnes was everything we expected it to be, the breakfast was plenty full, the pop out balcony is a fabulous idea, the room spacious and very warm, just what you need after a tourist day out. The bar staff helpful infact the whole team at laxnes were helpful, we really enjoyed our stay and would easily recommend hotel laxnes especially if you don't want to stay in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, friendly and for Iceland good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not have a restaurant, very close by are fast food joints such as KFC, Domino pizza and a burger place, but we're not fond of fast food, however if you had a car you could find better places to eat. Some of the tours we wanted to book would not pick up from here, so check the company does when booking any tours.

    Very good, small independent hotel, just outside the city, so quiet. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Downstairs rooms seemed to be better and are a good size, with good sized bathrooms. The hotel is very clean, but is quite basic, although there is an outdoor hot tub. Although a little way out of the city it is easy to get the bus, as the stop is directly outside the hotel. Some of the tour companies will pick up from the hotel and Grayline airport buses and most of their tours will pick-up here. It has parking. There is a small bar, which does show sports e.g. some handball and football matches when we stayed. There is a free pool table for guests and a selection of games and books. Breakfast is good, cold buffet of meat, cheese etc, porridge and cereals, toast and a waffle maker and batter to make your own, which we loved. The staff are great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Thanks for a lovely stay, high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dressing gowns and slippers to get too and from the hot tub!

    Loved it! We had a fantastic weekend, the hotel was located in a nice spot, great views, friendly staff and comfy bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Really big and spacious room with beautiful view, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two programs on TV, We miss shampoo and other stuff on bathroom

    Really big and spacious room with beautiful view, delicious breakfast, nice location of hotel, shops near by hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Nice, big and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jacuzzi is without bubbles.

    Nice, big and clean room. There was a Bar too and a room with pool table and some games. The Bar person who also checked us in (young gentleman with blond hair) was very kind and helpful, went the extra mile to help us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Functional not flashy but perfectly adequate and reasonably priced. Definitely recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sadly the hot tub was way too hot on the night we wanted to use it. 45 degrees C. I reported this to the manager and he proactively responded. The vegan rice whippy cream for the waffles was pretty terrible. Normal whippy cream wasn't available. General minor maintenance in the room would have been good, a bulb replaced, missing toilet roll holder, and headboard reattached to bed would have been better but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. It's a well priced, well located functional hotel.

    The staff were great, especially the manager Shaun. The room was a really good size and my wife loved the bed. The balcony and view was beautiful although the winter stay limited our use of the balcony. Breakfast was functional and included so economical in an expensive country. We loved the waffles. It's also really well located for the Golden Circle and Reykjavik.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    We loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could perhaps be updated, fixtures and fittings are a bit worn and the television was an old CRT which I think is quite rare in 2018! These are very minor problems, it’s a lovely hotel with beautiful views which is what we came for! Also not related to the hotel, taxis are really expensive for such a short, traffic-free drive into town. The cost of most things is higher across the board but it felt especially tough in a taxi. Consider hiring a car or a multi day bus pass.

    Very comfortable beds and very warm, underfloor heated rooms. Very warm bar and reception, happy staff and friendly and welcoming atmosphere after walking out in the cold. Excellent bath and shower. Superb WiFi, we watched Netflix happily on an iPad. Transport links are excellent, tours pickup and drop off at the hotel and the local buses are very cheap.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Unique older Hotel that provided a great setting for our Northern Light show right on our Balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't as remote of a location as researched, but turned out to be a perfect place to see the Northern Lights.

    Best Northern Light show of the trip right outside our window.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    This was our favorite hotel of the trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any lights on in the hall when we arrived. There are light switches at the end of the hall so you can turn on the lights, but it was just kinda dark. We didn't feel in danger at all, just didn't want to run into anything!

    This was by far our favorite hotel on our trip. It's a smaller, older hotel with a bar, but the staff was so authentic and friendly and the décor was so random and neat. We were on the second floor, where the room had a strange layout with large windows with a great view of the city and landscape. It would have been a great place to view the Northern Lights, but no luck. Had everything we could have needed for our stay, we just regret not going to the bar the night we arrived. Seriously, it's just such a cute place with a great vibe. Breakfast was decent with somebody refilling whatever ran out and explaining the food to anyone who asked. The guy that checked us in was nice and the one that checked us out was so friendly and answered all of the questions I had collected throughout our trip. I could have talked to him all day. We would totally come back and move in if we could.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.2
    They offer freshly made Icelandic waffles for breakfast that...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A double bed would have been preferable in the upper rooms instead of two singles pushed together.

    They offer freshly made Icelandic waffles for breakfast that was simply delicious! The house was nicely decorated and the upper rooms have wonderful sky windows. The staff was really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Icelandic Adventures
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I have just spent 5 nights at Hotel Laxnes and have had a fantastic and enjoyable stay. We were initially drawn to the hotel because of other reviews and the location being out of city but still good bus connections to downtown. Shaun's name came up a lot in these reviews for his helpfulness and for just being incredibly kind so he had some expectations to live up to and I must say he did not dissapoint. In fact all staff at the hotel were very friendly and all knew a very good amount of english. The room itself had a beautiful mountain view, comfortable beds and was surprisingly warm. There was also a heated towel rail in the bathroom which came in very handy after being out in the snow/rain. The room also had many plug sockets which is always helpful.   WiFi coverage was very decent across the room and bar/reception area. The hotel has a very good location for non-adventous food lovers with a KFC, subway and a dominos very close by.  There are also 2 supermarkets very close. As I said before the hotel has very good bus connections to downtown Reykjavik, just a 25minute journey, the bus stops are super close as well. The breakfast was continental with a nice variety - bread, cheese, ham, cereals, tea, coffee and a favourite of mine was the waffle maker!  When the northern lights decided to come out they could be seen along the mountains behind the hotel, which was lovely! (although advice for any northern lights hunters you need a decent camera and a tripod).  We had an issue with our flight home, cancelled due to bad weather conditions, yet again Shaun was incrediblely calm, helpful and accommodating, at such a stressful time. Fortunately there was availability for us to stay another night and he instantly rang to change the airport transfer.  Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel Laxnes as a place to stay when visiting Iceland and would like to thank Shaun and all the staff for making us feel very welcomed. 

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    This hotel was all we needed for the evening.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was all we needed for the evening. Location was convenient to start the a Golden Circle early in the morning, giving us a head start on those starting in Reykjavík. A little worn but overall fine:

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Iceland is expensive. For the money is great deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bad - no napkins in the room. only toilet paper. no shampoo. washroom faucet is too close to the sink wall and hard to wash hands.

    Bed was good. room enough space for 4 people. breakfast standard but was enough and saves you money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Fun and funky hotel with a friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside of central Reykjavik in a suburb so not ideal for exploring the city. Found a few stray hairs on the sheets.

    Great location for starting a driving tour of the Golden Circle. Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Quaint and cozy environment. Bathroom had an actual bathtub. Fun activities like pool, darts, and board games in the bar/lounge area. Lively bar. Outdoor hot tub available upon request.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Would certainly stay here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The suite was surprisingly large - very easy to settle in to for a 2-night stay. Breakfast was more than ample - didn't really need a lunch afterwards. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Hotel Laxnes is my home away from home in Iceland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of this wonderful hotel is perfect. It sits just about 10 minutes from Reykjavik. Even if you don't have access to a vehicle, public transportation stops right in front of the building. The staff was phenomenal in every way. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a comfort every morning. A selection of meats, cheese, breads, an assortment of spreads, cereal, coffee, tea, juice and even a waffle maker! The bar has a great selection of brews and we took advantage of the pool table and board games. We loved every minute of our time here. On our next trip to Iceland we will be staying at Hotel Laxnes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice location to Reykjavik and Golden Circle route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House keepers smoking near open doors made the stairwell and hallway smell like smoke. Front desk staff not very friendly at check in.

    Nice staff in the breakfast area. the room was clean, large and skylight which opened up to a balcony was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Clean room, nice staff, noisy but convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room faced the Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant. Not a pretty view and very noisy especially one morning when the staff decided to wash down the facade of the restaurant at 06.40 (o'clock) with a power water hose. Quite a lot of noise from the main roads. Breakfast quite limited in choice (for instance no Icelandic brown bread). Fresh fruit: only orange. Terrasse door could not be locked.

    Friendly staff. Clean room. Fresh towels every day. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was only one small heated towel rail in the bathroom and it was not really enough for two persons.

    - Hotel is situated in a quite place. - There are several supermarkets nearby. - The room was clean and contained all needed facilities (including electric kettle). - Breakfast was also quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Room was large and on ground floor so easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was large and on ground floor so easily accessible. Management and staff very friendly and helpful on special requests and driving directions. Recommended restaurant, Hviti Riddarinn, was our dinner spot on all days of stay - very good choices with fish, chicken and burgers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Management & staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Management & staff were very friendly and helpful. First night room temp was a little cool, staff immediately provided a heaer fan which solved the issue. Management gave excellent recommendation on nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows not sound proofed, so could hear the traffic outside. Blinds not black out, so fi you cannot sleep in the light (Iceandic midnight sun), take a sleeping mask. Breakfast basic but suitable - no hot food with the exception of waffles.

    Clean, comfortable room and bed, friendly staff, a hotel with character. Convenient location for both countryside and city access.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    The staff is amazing, the guys helped so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is amazing, the guys helped so much. Met lots of local people. Plenty of grocery stores and food places around. Very quite, can really feel like a true Icelander.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    „Calm accomodation near nature and near Reykjavík“
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did expect an orange juice for breakfast, but it was more like kind of a lemonade. :D

    Very nice hotel, perfect service. We even got a room upgrade. Had a perfect view on the mountains. Room was quiet and bright and just wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    3.3
    Not worth visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on the hotel was deceving . The hotel was located at the traffic junction , surrounded by street lights and lighting from the surrounded building. Therefore, it is impossible to catch the glimpse of the northern light. It is motel standard . Furniture were old , there were limited selection for breakfast . We stayed there for 3 nights , They staff tidy up the room without cleaning the bathroom. Overall experience was horrible . The hotel was too pricy. You can get a better room in the city, with good breakfast and lower cost .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    6.3
    View from room and towel heater in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotub hours .. asked the staff when itvwould open was told 6. At 7 pm the guy started to fill it up. Other travellers during my stay also had this happen The buffet -225$ a night and no eggs n bacon. Morning staff did not speak English

    View from room and towel heater in the bathroom. Hotub although the website sent tell you it's only a few hours each night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel and very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    1. I was upgraded to a suite FOC. 2. I was allowed to use the hotel kitchen. 3. Owner and staff (Kjartan) were so nice and friendly. Thank you hotel Laxnes for everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    2.9
    Location not as described, horse stables receive better meals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was horrible, location is in the parking lot of a gas station and KFC and intersection of multiple highways. Owners should be ashamed of the New Years dinner they served.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been better, but was all there for a continental breakfast, waffles were a nice touch.

    Sean and the staff were amazing and a brilliant shower!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    8.3
    The location was 25 mins bus ride out of Raykjavic and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was 25 mins bus ride out of Raykjavic and the bus service was quite frequent so there was not a problem when we wanted to go into town. There was take away and restaurants located across the road as well as a supermarket so was very convenient. We were very fortunate and were able to see the Northern Lights on 2 occassions, 1 of which was a display for 30 minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrid smell of sewage coming from drain in bathroom. Room not cleaned or replenished once in 4 days! Hot tub only filled on request, full of leaves and no chemicals to keep it clean.

    Booking of trips was easy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Loved Hotel Laxnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control room temp.

    Bar, pool table room, walking distance to super market and restaurants, Shaun the general manager, breakfast, and bus stop right in front.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.5
    Better value than city centre hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slight smell in bathroom. Reception said it was sulphur in the water but we were not entirely convinced it wasn't just smells coming out of the gratings in the floors due to poor drainage. One dead light bulb

    Porridge at breakfast. Big bath

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.5
    Clean spacious room with decent toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows are too soft!

    Clean spacious room with decent toilet. Warm staff with sufficient breakfast spread. A good transit or short stay hotel before starting or ending your journey!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Ok For A Quick Sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a little pricey for the location. The refrigerator was off, the hot tub was empty and the back yard area was unkempt.

    Convenient location just outside the city for an early morning departure. Bar & lounge area were the nicest features.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    6.3
    Friendly staff, far away from downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from downtown, no activities within walking distance, too expensive for location, would need a car to stay here unless plan on taking 20-30 minute bus ride into downtown

    Breakfast is included in the stay, staff very friendly, clean room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Fabulous stay at Hotel Laxnes!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We really loved the location, the views, the management and the breakfast.

    Hotel Laxnes made our stay in Iceland wonderful. We had a family suite with a balcony, and the view of the mountains was stunning. The hotel was charming, clean and comfy. Sean and Nunu helped us plan our outings before arrival and once we were there. The hotel is about 10 minutes outside Reykayvik and a welcome calm from the bustle of that city. The hotel breakfast is quite bountiful and a very good value give the extremely expensive food in Iceland. You even get a 10% discount at a few nearby restaurants with your hotel key. Just up the street, you will find a grocery store where you can stock up on snacks for your adventures, a chic, gourmet bakery, restaurant and ice cream shop. Definitely highly recommend a stay here-- you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay at Hotel Laxnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I was very happy with my stay, nothing to complain about.

    My stay was super comfortable - the beds are so soft and wonderful! The staff was beyond helpful and kind. I enjoyed the breakfast and have zero complaints.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Its a clean, comfortable quiet little place
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you Nicolas for all your help.

    Its a clean, comfortable quiet little place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    location was gòod and KFC and Dominoes next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location was gòod and KFC and Dominoes next door. suitable for family stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Our room was spacious and had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. The Hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    6.7
    It will do for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old. Maybe needs a remodel. Breakfast was very minimal.

    A good starting point for a trip around the golden circle and then the south.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for much cheaper than staying directly in Reykjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They have a pool table that is free to use for hotel guests. There are grocery stores, gas stations, and restaurants all within waling distance,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location for day trips to Reykjavik and Pingvellir.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was clean and in a good location with decent views. The check-in staff and breakfast staff were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in the bathroom was leeking

    It was clean and a comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Spacious clean bedroom, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious clean bedroom, good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Space homy and close to all services
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space homy and close to all services

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Good place if you want to stay just outside of Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the road

    Near golden circle. Decent breakfast. The suite with the balcony had a nice view of the mountains but cost extra.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. Bed and pillow not comfort. Bed sheet also not smooth. Like old.

    Location near gas station, KFC and supermarket.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    The view from the room was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They said there was wifi and TV in the rooms. The wifi was un-connectable and the TV had 4 channels.

    The view from the room was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    internet and TV do not work

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast and proximity to town, however, disappointed the wifi was down. Neat place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't wifi in the rooms, only in the foyer.

    The uniqueness of the interior.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    I would stay here again as it’s value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not changed every day Bed linen torn Didn’t complain staff were very friendly

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs more variety for breakfast. And better pillows.

    The room was clean and quiet! The staff was out of the world helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Laxnes
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find any fault in the property. I was satisfied with property

    It was a prefect location, nice and peaceful with beautiful scenery

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    super
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfust, big rooms , great view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More Motel than Hotel. Would have liked on site dining.

    Warm, good staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: