Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Leifur Eiriksson 3 stars

Skolavordustigur 45 , 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#54 of 70 hotels in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Terrific Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom smelled and there were very few bathroom shelves. I don't care for the step up to get inside bathroom.

    Excellent location and super comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    Loved the old part of Reykjavik where we stayed. Happy with our choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator so carried our luggage up stairs. View from our room was awesome so we lucked out there.

    Food was really good and the dining area was cute and friendly. Enjoyed being so close to all our shopping needs. We liked the location best. Cost was expected in Reykjavik. Expensive because tourist season is so short. Room was tiny. That is the same for most places there. I loved the 24 hour front desk service. They phoned bus for us and had breakfast available at 5 am. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    I would return to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They gave me a room in adjacent building, right next to the exterior door (door closing noise throughout the day). While it met my basic expectations, the room was a bit small for my preference given the cost. If you book a room at this hotel, be sure you request a room that: (1) is not directly beside a high volume doorway, and (2) is large enough for your comfort preferences.

    Location was excellent - near shops, groceries, attractions, bus stop to airport. Easy reservation process. Most staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    The location was near the center of the city which allowed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and there were no elelevators.

    The location was near the center of the city which allowed us to walk everywhere. The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    You can always find your hotel, just look for the church!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty old style, very standard but a we did not spend much time in the hotel, it was ok. For work travellers, the breakfast starting at 7.00 is pretty late. Toast ok anyway

    Tea and coffee available at all times at the reception. Small "brekkie" available when leaving early (toast, cereal..), friendly staff, airport bus stop just next to the corner, easy access to the airport. Easy to find as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Leifur Eriksson Hotel is well kept and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If sightseeing is your aim in Reykjavik, starting at Leifur Eriksson Hotel is smart, as it sits directly across the street from the iconic Hallsgrimskirkja, and your room, like mine, may well look directly at it. The location is quite close to the new Reykjavik Swimming Pool and Hot Pots, next to the lovely ROK Restaurant, and just a few blocks from the main shopping street, Laugavegar and the town center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the shower was cold most of the times. I ordered a double-room and it was quite small - just enough for one Person.

    Very good located in the Center of Reykjavic. The personal and custumer Service was top. the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all perfect.

    Amazing location, very central & perfect for trips at the number 8 bus stop. I emailed in advance to request a room on the top floor with a view of the church. This was granted & the view was awesome. Room was ready early so got into our room earlier than the stated check in time which was great after an early morning flight. Nice clean tidy rooms. Breakfast great & 24 7 complimentary tea/coffee/hot chocolate was greatly appreciated. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. Would definitely return back to this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed this hotel and would definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers seem odd to me as there are no barriers to keep water contained though I found this to be the case in other parts of Iceland also, so I'm sure it is a culture thing. And I guess that is why we travel, to experience other cultures!

    Like most people we stayed here for the location which is perfect for walking around Reykjavik. Parking is free as long as you can find a space in the church parking lot across street, won't be too close though and you may have to carry bags up 3 floors though they did offer to help. Breakfast was a very good variety and free coffee or hot chocolate was available all day. Our room viewed Hallgrimskirka which was nice to view during night when it was still light. Showers are different as they get the whole bathroom floor wet so be careful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    Iceland a great place to visit but there are better hotels to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is our 3rd visit to Iceland and we were disappointed with this hotels rooms. The rooms we stayed in were quite dated, with mismatching furniture. All Icelandic hotels appear to have smaller than normal rooms but the room we had was really small, with our 2 suitcases on the floor we couldn't access the 1 tiny cupboard provided and so had to live out of the suitcase. The TV on the wall was broken / disconnected and they had left it there with the replacement on the small table, so no room for our stuff. The bathroom was even worse, a tiny cloakroom sink, no sink plug, old cracked and stained lino, all lit by a single harsh strip light. We visited in May and had almost 24 hours of bright sunlight. the rooms curtains were thin , didn't reach the window sill on one side and were about 20-30 cm away from the window, so the sunlight just streamed in. We had to wear eye masks so that we could sleep.

    Good location, friendly staff, nice breakfast and a central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff, great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electronic keys to the building and room were tempermental and we had to get ours reset twice. This was a minor issue for us.

    The staff were exceptonally helpful, always patient and polite, going out of their way to assist. The free and unlimited availability of coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the comfortable dining area was especially nice, given there is no kettle in the room. The included breakfast was plentiful, too. Location was ideal. Our second floor corner room had a lovely, uninterupted view of the Hallgrimskirkja and Bus Stop 8, the pick up point for Flybus and tours, is just across the street. Loved being able to open a window for fresh air, and the blackout curtains assured a good sleep even while it was light well into the wee hours of the morning. The bathroom is squeezey and the shower set up means the entire bathroom floor will get wet, but this is manageable with care.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the shower drains to the floor. Once the shower is used the bathroom is pretty wet. Plan accordingly.

    Great location in Reykjavík. Friendly and accommodating staff. Breakfast was very good with an assortment of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    The location was very good, across the road from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were accommodated in a separate building to the one in the photograph and no mention was made on the website to indicate that you could be.

    The location was very good, across the road from Hallgrimskirkja and not too far to the city centre. Great free coffee and tea 24 hours a day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were not very comfortable. Breakfast was okay, but nothing special. Waffles were a nice touch.

    Really enjoyed our stay. Staff at reception is really friendly and helpful! We decided to extend our stay one extra night and before we even mentioned it to them they were already working on letting us keep the same room to make it easier for us. Breakfast staff is really hard working, making sure everything is refilled quickly! Coffee and tea are complimentary 24/7, and the bar/breakfast area is extremely cosy and nice to be in, with a fine musical selection! Rooms are cosy and nicely decorated, with plenty of space and light coming in! Super nice location!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    The time was amazing. Staff was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could have been a little softer.

    Breakfast was great, buffet style with fresh waffles, fruit and a selection of delicious breads. The view was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Would thoroughly recommend for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we had was quite compact and someone (from the council) thought it would be a good idea to jetwash the pavements outside our room at 7.30 on Sunday morning!

    The location is ideal for sightseeing. The staff were most friendly. Farouk made everyone feel welcome and was a great source of advice. Breakfast set you up for the day and the lounge/bar area had free coffee/tea for guests. There's a convenience store 100m from the hotel so you can stock up on provisions before you go out for the day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location, comfortable hotel and extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was very dark...dark decor, poor lighting and not as expected from the website photos

    24hr tea,coffee, hot chocolate in a warm reception/bar with welcoming and helpful staff (especially Farouk)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfy at a reasonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was unreliable, ok for basic browsing but it was not possible to have video chats.

    The room was clean, reasonable comfy and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Some of the nicest staff we have ever met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were scraped in our room. There was no dresser. There was a rug that slid across the floor and no rug for the shower area. The shampoo and hand wash were the same. They had no remotes for the tv that worked, even though we tried six different ones.

    The staff were amazing. Friendly, informative and always happy to assist. They let us check-in early. They made reservations for our anniversary dinner which included special treatment by the staff at that non-affiliated restaurant. They gave excellent recommendations and perfect directions. They always advised us well. We call Iceland Niceland to all of our friends because of the staff here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Great Location - Free Breakfast - Lovely room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really can't complain about anything - I loved this hotel!

    Our room was gorgeous. The design of the room really made us feel like we were in a different part of the world. Not just some cookie-cutter hotel. Our view was amazing. I loved to watch the sun come up over the city in the morning. Also, the breakfast was amazing! It was really nice to have that in a city that can tend to be a little more expensive than usual. There were a ton of options, including really delicious waffles. The staff was super helpful and gave us directions and recommendations with a smile. I've been to a ton of hotels - this was really nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Location. Location. Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and basic rooms (the bed was comfortable though!), but I wasn’t in my room that much. Bathroom floor would get flooded after a shower, as there’s no shower door.. just a flimsy shower curtain. Weak wifi in room, but not that big of a deal as this was vacation! ;)

    Loved the location of the hotel, which was steps from Hallgrímskirkja, and bus stop 8 (for tour pickups!). Easy to get around the city centre. Also loved the free continental breakfast and free hot beverages all day. The cozy lounge and lobby was perfect for relaxing after a busy day. The staff were also really great. They provided me with an adapter for my electronics; and the night shift manager, Farouk was especially kind and fun to chat with. Thank you for your kind help during my stay, and the free beer and snacks! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    A very welcoming hotel with a nice personal touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit outdated and the bathroom not the best...gets a bit flooded when you have a shower.

    the staff was very nice and welcoming. The common room is comfy and there is free hot coffee and tea all day. The breakfast was nice, not the richest but the waffles are a nice touch. There is free parking just opposite the hotel, by the church. the location is just unbeatable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    The location is perfect for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to be moved from our original room as it did not reflect the pictures we had seen of the rooms in the hotel. The bathroom was tiny and the sink so small it was useless. We were moved straigh away to a room that met our expectations

    The location is perfect for exploring the city. The staff are very helpful. The hotel is clean and warm, which is important in winter.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the ground floor so was really noisy on the Saturday night where there was a party in the bar. Also from people walking past and standing outside shouting. But I think if you had a room on another floor it would be overall excellent. We asked to swap rooms but they were full so couldn’t.

    Excellent location and really good breakfast. Also really close to the bus stop for going on trips. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    This hotel is across the street from Hallsgrimkirkja - very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is across the street from Hallsgrimkirkja - very well located. Our room was tiny and a little below street level right on the corner, so pretty noisy. The room did not smell very good. The breakfast was warm, inviting and very very tasty. Overall a bit pricey for the room but the location and breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Location is ideal for Bus Stop 8 if you need to get picked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little smelly, but that could be the geothermal heating system? You get used to it though!

    Location is ideal for Bus Stop 8 if you need to get picked up for tours. Bar, restaurants etc all within easy walking distance. You can walk to hotel from the BSI bus terminal (where Flybus arrives from airport) in about 10 mins. Free water, tea and coffee in the modern cosy lounge breakfast area is really useful. Room was bigger than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A perfect stay, would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting a bit dim in the room.

    Excellent location, right opposite the bus stop for tour pick ups, and next to shops, bars and restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful, including tour bookings. Complementary breakfast and tea/coffee were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    It’s was a good stay as long as you only came back to sleep and not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the tiniest room and the matress and sheets were hard. The room was very small and I was expecting more value for my money.

    I liked the proximity of the hotel to everything around me

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.2
    Hotel is capitalizing on its location – and leaves it at that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    TINY, cramped and unpleasant rooms, floorspace entirely consumed by the bed. (Top floor seemed to have lower ceiling and smaller windows, which made them feel even more claustrophobic.) Rooms would be small for a single, they're sold as double. Dark, worn wall decoration. No wardrobe (just a small corner with a few hangers), no desk. Non-matching furniture. TV hanging in the way when moving around. Was not able to control the heating. Weird, loud noise at times from what seemed to be plumbing. Travellers should be prepared for noise outside the hotel from tourists, bar visitors and cars. This is not the hotel's fault, but be prepared to bring earplugs.

    Location directly opposite Hallgrímskirkja and in walking distance from city center and pickup point for tour buses. Supermarket, shops and some bars around the corner. Breakfast is acceptable. Try their waffles.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    nice hotel, well-positioned and staff pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast a bit busy at times. room with sloping ceilings a bit difficult to negotiate but gave it character and a great view. steps up to room might not suite everyone and bathroom floor in wet room not great in terms of drainage, beds super comfy.

    very helpful staff at reception desk. free coffee all day. location great for town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, with great staff. Nice rooms, and great location. Our price also included a continental breakfast and free tea/coffee etc throughout the day which is nice in such an expensive city! Would certainly return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.3
    Dirty rooms no WiFi in rooms and free silverfish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything apart from the view which maybe why everything else was so poor because people will stay because of its location

    WiFi did not work in room. Staffs response yes it does. It did not. Silverfish in wetroom no bath. Radiator by toilet so piss ridden it was rusting only 2 channels BBC news or sky news as their satellite offering only one person could see the tv anyway. Staff did not care

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Friendly hotel in great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom on top floor had great view out of Velux window but v limited headroom. Not much storage space for clothes/suitcases.

    Free hot drinks 24/7. Friendly cosy bar/restaurant area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    Iceland November 2017 ,6days
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in we were told our room was in the building next door ,we should have being informed of this at the booking stage as we had to cross between building for breakfast ,and tea & coffee (its cold in Iceland ) the room was ok ,tv had 3 channels in icelandic, but the bathroom is (very ) small( to small ) problems with the heating, noisy radiator pipes

    Location great across the road from the church and bus stop number 8 for grayline pickup ,very close restaurant and shopping area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location, very convenient and plenty parking options. Close to restaurants and stores!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was neat but it was hard to keep things dry when I showered. The shelving helped and the room could use some more light.

    Loved that tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available outside of breakfast hours!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Accommodating and comfortable - Staff really likes to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms have drafty windows, but it is nice to have the heater going all the time. For thoose unaccustomed to European heaters, in room instructions might be helpful. Also, in room 412, the bathroom is not sufficient. Recommendations were left with the staff.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, THANK YOU!!! On regular stay, you get a generous breakfast with variety, but not so if you need an early departure the offerings are a little more restricted... The cooks are still under cover, understandably so. Thank you for switching our rooms!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The accomodation was perfect for my requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation was perfect for my requirements. Lovely to have a bathroom with a large window. This is no frills, but breakfast was good, 24 Hour coffee machine and excellent Wifi and welcoming staff really made for a great memory. Thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    The hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were basic and small, but for a guy traveling without his family it was more than adequate. Air conditioning would have been nice.

    The hotel was great! It was located within walking distance of a ton of museums, restaurants and shops. The bus station for tours is located right across the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    We'll probably come again!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very, very nice, and promptly helped with luggage, all our questions, and ordering taxis (which was a necessity because the bus service advertised on Iceland Air flights was not as expected). Thanks to the hotel reception staff, we didn't have to worry about making our flight back. Apart from the staff, the view was really, really great (from the window we could see the largest church in Iceland as well as the statue of Leifur Eriksson), there was enough pressure in the shower, and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.8
    Not bad but much too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room, too small for a double bed - The bathoom. Ridiculously microscopic lavatory, not even a shelf to put a toothbrush on... - The price, much too high for such a room. But well, this is Reykjavik...

    - Friendly staff - Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.7
    Good for a single night trip in downtown Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the hotel is directly across a landmark church, the streets get rather noisy, even in the evening. Also advertising "free parking" is a bit misleading, since there is no dedicated parking lot connected with the hotel - the street parking is the free parking.

    The breakfast downstairs is great! Icelandic waffles are a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    6.7
    Spartan accommodation, noisy, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room in the basement, below street level, same level as lobby/breakfast room and next to the hotel toilet. Very noisy: the street noise was coming through the window, the hotel one from the door. All of the preparations for breakfast could be clearly heard, every customer closing the door of the toilet cold be heard, everybody walking on he street as well. Spartan room.

    Location is great. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Location, staff was super friendly, and breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed black out curtains especially with the sun out 24/7, and constant traffic outside the window.

    Location, staff was super friendly, and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.8
    Friendly personnel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been really Good otherwise but now (May 2017) there was a building construction and drilling the rock in the ground literally 2 meters from my room and extreme noise All day every day between 9-18. Should not Cost 180 eur for one Night ( Friday-Saturday). Where Can I complain to get a compensation? Can booking.com help me to do the Claim? It was totally impossible to stay in the room nor the hotel cafeteria during the day from 9 am to 6 pm! Max 80 eur per Night in This noise! Advice to Go there only after the drilling is over or if the price is lowered.

    Friendly personnel. Good breakfast. Great location. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for 3 separate nights, which means we stayed in 3 different rooms. For 2 of those nights, we did not have a working tv and were not informed of it before checking in. It would have been nice if they had told us when we were checking in. Also, the bathrooms were so tiny and without shelves or hooks to hang anything up. I get that small spaces are the norm in Europe. I don't have a problem with that. Small is fine if there are shelves or hooks. There was no place to put your things when you showered.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    I was given a nice enough room at the back of the hotel but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    I was given a nice enough room at the back of the hotel but requested to move to a brighter one at the front. The owner very kindly did so, and I was given a room on a higher floor with two big windows directly facing the Hallgrímskirkja. Amazing. She was hilarious by the way! Next morning: really good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.9
    Awesome view in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great, the room was very small but adequate, the view was Awesome from our front room. No lift to the 4th floor but help was available with our luggage. Good breakfast and free tea/coffee/hot chocolate anytime. Good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    Better than hotel Andrea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing we could think of was that we were not in the main building.

    Very comfortable, good Size room, nice looking hotel. Easy to park, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, staff very friendly and helpful, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space in room, tiny bathroom. All ok for one night but probably no more

    Very good location, staff very friendly and helpful, good breakfast, Reykjavik is very expensive, but probably a reasonable price given that

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    small hotel in center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small rooms (goes with the price), some traffic noise (goes with the location) no elevator may limit some people's access

    good breakfast, good price, comfortable beds, helpful staff, walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Well located budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bed was small (but I was in single), as was the duvet. The showers smell of sulphur (but not sure anything can be done about that!)

    Fantastic location and great value on a deal. It was great to have free tea/coffee/hot chocolate in the communal area 24/7. All staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the rooms could be better. Only 5-6 working channels on TV. But it was not such a big deal.

    Excellent, in fact the best location in Reykjavik. Absolutely great staff. Free coffee and tea 24/7. Good breakfast. 100% recommended

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in a perfect location. Book early as it gets full fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think they need to get some black out curtains installed as the church is all lit up and its very bright with the lights outside.

    This hotel is in a great location opposite the church. It is a very friendly place and you can help yourself to coffee and tea from the bar, anytime you want. The breakfast is a great spread and lots of effort is put into it. A very relaxing place and i would stay there again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    Three-flight climb, but nice view of Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their cocoa and juice at breakfast were a bit watery. Could use a bit more flavor.

    Great location. Our room was on the top floor under the eves. No elevator, but they helped carry the bags. Funky and fun!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    Great Place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 307 is the best...largest one there I think. We had that one and one on the 4th floor. 4th floor is the attic so our room was smaller. We had the sloping roof line so it was a challenge moving around...but we managed. Lighting though was far too dim. My only real suggestion is the lighting in our 4th floor room and bathroom need to be improved. And hooks and towel racks would be great in the bathroom. No real place to put clothes as you get into the shower. But room 307 was great (I believe it is a triple room) -2 windows and it was on the quiet side of the hotel. Rooms on the front side get a little traffic noise but not that often. I would absolutely stay there again-and ask for a room on the 3rd floor!

    The location is excellent, literally just across small street from the famous church. And the church has free parking...we never had a problem parking. The breakfast and the breakfast room are wonderful...you can hang out there at anytime..it's cozy and you can have free coffee/tea/hot chocolate at anytime. Staff was always accommodating. There is a little sitting room with books on 3rd floor between the 2 wings of hotel. You can relax there and go out on the small balcony to get a great view of the church. I will stay here if I ever get back to Iceland! Easy walk to everything in REK!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location and excellent, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of an elevator might be a hindrance for some if you want an upstairs room - but if not its worth the extra climb for the views facing towards the church. Could use a bit more light in the bathroom and closet area.

    The staff were great, and the upper rooms have nice views. I didn't have any noise problems, so maybe that depends on where your room is (I was fourth floor, facing the church plaza).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    helpful staff; ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bed was two single beds pushed together with two single sheets put on horizontally which weren't changed for the length of time we were there. the shower in our ensuite was very small.

    Fantastic location; reception staff were brilliant with any request we had; free tea and coffee at any time was a real bonus. the hotel was very central and within walking distance of everywhere. it was a listed hotel for all tour excursions so we didn't have to worry about any transport issues, it was all on our door step.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Ask for specific rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The specific room ... The ceiling was so low my husband kept hitting his head. Have stayed there many times and have been very happy with the accommodations

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Small room but everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room but everything was ok. The breakfast is food and complete.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Awesome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location, great value for money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Efficient for a short over night stay in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and value for money does not quite add up.

    Location and staff, super nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    had a lovely stay in hotel and staff were very friendly food good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    more light in the room and a little bit small

    good breakfast, but didn't see any croissants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    The location in the city could not be better for walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location in the city could not be better for walking around the town. The morning brunch was a perfect way to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    This is a lovely place in a great location. The best part was the staff who went above and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions

    Great location, lovely facility, staff went above and beyond to make our experience positive!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, expensive but everything is expensive in Iceland for U.S. for U.S. exchange rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would have preferred to have had a room in the main hotel.

    The breakfast was great, plenty of foodl

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    The bed was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was very comfortable. Which is always a good thing when on holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic friendly and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could hear the noise from the main road

    All the staff were super friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect! Close to all major tourist places. The breakfast was lovely and we got free hot drinks all day. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms and bathrooms. Absolutely no amenities in rooms. Not even soap or a hairdryer.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Location and staff very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I guess Reykjavik is always expensive! Very expensive for a room that was simple.

    Location and staff very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Room too dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too dark

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in old and not well maintained

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    clean & cozy accommodation, we would stay there defini again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very close to everything you need. Our hotel room was clean and cozy and the room view was fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Room quite small but cosy and warm and bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small but cosy and warm and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: